4.8
53 Reviews
5
83% (44)
4
13% (7)
3
2% (1)
2
0% (0)
1
2% (1)
96% Recommend this product (51 of 53 responses)
By Robert
Oakland, CA
Amazing Reel
September 4, 2022
IT has a handle that is durable and it is a fish slayer. No issues after many years of use.
By Bruce
Manning, SC
Great Option
January 11, 2022
Avet puts out some really good gear it is awesome that they still produce a more classic rendition of their conventional line. This is not a raptor but for the money it is a great deal especially when you don’t need the extra drag. The only downside is that the leaver drag is kinda mushy and imprecise compared to the plate versions.
ProsPrice, aesthetics, line capacity
ConsAnemic drag, imprecise lever drag
By David F.
Cape May NJ
Great reel
October 19, 2021
Great reel, great power, holds enough line to lose rigs in 85 ft of water and not worry about re-stringing it! I use it for strippers, sea bass, trigger and flounder. Got a 7 pound flounder this summer! No issues. Best part, MADE IN AMERICA!!!
ProsHolds plenty of line, 60 pound braid you set the drag almost to the max!
ConsBack lash, have to use thumb to move the line side to side when reeling.
By Andy
Texas
Great
October 2, 2021
Great reel for the Texas surf.
ProsLightweight Color looks great Good line capacity
ConsNo complaints here
By Chris P.
Lytle Tx
It’s an Avet
May 19, 2021
Excellent reel for my bay fishing requirements. Over 700 yds of 65lb hollow core braid, plenty of drag and lots of torque power
ProsPlenty of line capacity
By Joe B.
Parkton, MD
Very happy!
February 23, 2021
Smooth drag, clicker works well, quality reel
By Idratherbestriperfishing
Georgia
Frickin Sweet
December 20, 2020
Great reel so far. The body is slim and not bulky. Clicker isn’t too loud. Seems really well built and made in the USA
By MIKE M.
NJ
Solid high speed lever drag reel
October 14, 2020
reel work well casting striper surface plugs as well as trolling umbrellas and cranks.
By JT
Florida
Best conventional
June 2, 2020
Avet is where it’s at with conventional reels. I own 8 avets some are 12 years old and work the same as the day I bought them. Super easy to maintain and have smooth powerful drags. Wouldn’t even consider a different reel for trolling. I spool the lx’s with 500yd of 65pound pp with about a 75yd 40lb mono top shot. Can’t ask for more from a reel this size.
By Michael S.
North Carolina
LX 6.0 SINGLE SPEED
April 4, 2020
Great reels this is my 3rd lx and like all before great craftsmanship and as always great service from Tackle Direct
Prosvery strong built to last
Consnone
By Brandon
Houston tx
Awesome
November 27, 2019
Perfect for bull red run
By Tyler J.
Freeport Tx
Great
June 24, 2019
Great reel
By Earljamm
Gloucester mass
Rugged and well made
April 11, 2019
Very solid strong and reliable and made in the usa.Have not tried the magnetic anti backlash yet but it sounds great if it works
ProsSmooth solid performance, looks great.
ConsThe newer model g2 has sealed bearings so for 35 bucks more it should last even longer.
By william
New Jersey
Absolutely fantastic reels
April 4, 2019
Was always a Penn guy but i switched over to an Avet after trying a friend of mines new one. These reels have great drag power behind them and will catch fish bigger than what they are rated for.
By Jerry
Antioch, California
Solid
February 15, 2019
Perfect for my sturgeon pole!
By Jessie
nj
This reel and the whole line of avets is great!
July 10, 2018
Guy at my marina Who is a old salty dog has three of them and swears by them. I've had mine for probably going on three years now and it can be used from anything from fluke to stripers. I have the luxury of being ambidextrous, but for some people have to use the reel with their non dominant hand, so i like that Avet has taken the time to make a lefty reel!
ProsWell worth the price, Good for any fish you could ever want to catch inshore that isn't a Megaladon. When properly taken care of these reels will last a lifetime. Made in the U.S.A!!!!!
Conspricey but worth it
By Jessie
nj
This reel and the whole line of avets is great!
July 9, 2018
Guy at my marina Who is a old salty dog has three of them and swears by them. I've had mine for probably going on three years now and it can be used from anything from fluke to stripers. I have the luxury of being ambidextrous, but for some people have to use the reel with their non dominant hand, so i like that Avet has taken the time to make a lefty reel!
ProsWell worth the price, Good for any fish you could ever want to catch inshore that isn't a Megaladon. When properly taken care of these reels will last a lifetime. Made in the U.S.A!!!!!
Conspricey but worth it
By Jessie
waldwick, nj
This reel and the whole line of avets is great!
July 9, 2018
Guy at my marina Who is a old salty dog has three of them and swears by them. I've had mine for probably going on three years now and it can be used from anything from fluke to stripers.
ProsWell worth the price, Good for any fish you could ever want to catch inshore that isn't a Megaladon. When properly taken care of these reels will last a lifetime. Made in the U.S.A!!!!!
Conspricey but worth it
By Jessie
nj
This reel and the whole line of avets is great!
July 9, 2018
Guy at my marina Who is a old salty dog has three of them and swears by them. I've had mine for probably going on three years now and it can be used from anything from fluke to stripers.
ProsWell worth the price, Good for any fish you could ever want to catch inshore that isn't a Megaladon. When properly taken care of these reels will last a lifetime. Made in the U.S.A!!!!!
Conspricey but worth it
By Tony
Kent Island, MD
Great Reel
June 1, 2018
This is my go to reel, I use it for it for trolling and chunking inshore and offshore. Great reel and every durable.
ProsStrong and plenty of power.
ConsNone.
By radley
savannah, ga
Great value in a durable reel
May 26, 2018
Wanted to start replacing my current setups with longer lasting all aluminum lever drags. My research led me to the Avet LX, and so far I am very impressed. Drag is super smooth, and it appears as though they will last a long time. Theyre a great value for a 1 peice aluminum reel.
By John
Yukon, OK
Great reel
February 19, 2018
I've been using this reel for about 3 years now and it's still going strong. Great amount of line capacity for its size, strong drag, and distinctive bait alarm from my other reels. Wish the bait alarm was a little louder, but can hear it fine in most conditions.
ProsLine capacity. Drag. Durability.
ConsSoft bait alarm
By Wes R.
Jefferson city, tennessee
REALLY!!!!!!
November 16, 2017
So i just got my new avet reel in the mail. The packing was done by a 2 year old. The hardwear was loose in the box with nothing to protect the reel during shipping leading to scarches on the face of my brandnew 300.00 reel along with some barring noise thats not supposed to be there (may work its self out). Im a customer of tackle direct have been for a few months and have spent close to 1000.00 in the past 2 months. Everything i have orderd has been well packaged and deliverd quickly. I will be ordering my next 3 avets from avet. I gave the reel a 3 star rateing i give tackle direct a 4 star rateing and no stars to who ever packed my reel they need to be fired.

Merchant Response:That is how Avet reels leave the factory. Also, Avet does not sell reels directly.
ProsLove avets Solid built Killer drag
ConsPacking was very poor Reel was scarched up during shipping Making barring noise
By Austin
Tampa fl
Very pleased
July 23, 2017
Great compact reel Outstanding drag No complaints
By Elliot
,
Amazing
November 3, 2016
One of the greatest reals I have ever bought best conventicle for its price I've been stomping everywhere from 40 inch snook to stomping 100 lb sail fish with this reel love it and amazing !!!!!
By Modawg
Arroyo Grande, CA
Love the left handed
October 28, 2016
Clicks nicely. I've been waiting for this reel for a very long time. Hoping to catch 100lber in SD.
By Donald
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Avet LX
September 18, 2016
Used this reel for beach fishing for sharks in Florida and was very pleased. Smooth drag, plenty of line capacity for a small reel and good resilience in the salt. Very pleased
By steve
belmont , MA
avet
July 18, 2016
I own multiple avet reel from mxj to exw these reels are great cant beat the product for the price highly recomended
By Mark
California
Good for 4 trips
June 27, 2016
Bearing failed after 4 trips, only rockfishing, cant imagine what an Albacore would do to it. $200 piece of Rubbish Back to Penn
By Eric
Fort Myers, Florida
My go to reel
June 16, 2016
Love this reel, I use it for everything. It's a little noisy though.
ProsSolid, Looks, Strength
ConsNoise
By bill
va beach
great reel
May 21, 2016
soild construction. smooth operation. great look, great quality. built to last
By Kenny d.
Delray beach
Tough reel
March 26, 2016
I own 8 a vets and love them all, very tough reels.
By John S.
Cochran Ga
AVET LX 6.0
October 30, 2015
we tournament fish offshore for Kingfish very good quality with good drag system very pleased with these we now have 14 of them
Consnone
By Christopher
Cochran, GA
Great Kingfish Reel
October 8, 2015
Great reel for kingfishing. The drags are very smooth, and the 6.0 speed is great to catch up to a fish running at you. The drag adjustment can be a little tricky with the LX. It can go from very light to very tight with minor movement of the lever. This can be fixed with a drag washer change (so i hear from other sources). Once the reels get some use, this doesn't seem to be as much of an issue.
ProsSmooth drag, good line capacity, fast retrieve
ConsDrag adjustment can go from light to heaver with minor adjustment
By John
Venice, LA
Perfect reel for medium offshore big game fishing
June 2, 2015
This 6.0 size Abet reel has plenty enough drag and line capacity to allow fishermen to handle tuna, Maui mahi and wahoo, and many reef reef fish. It's very light and easy to handle
ProsLight, good drag
ConsNone sobfar
By Daniel
Martinez, GA
Great Product
April 30, 2015
This is an awesome reel, looks great in blue. Shipping was really fast. Great product
By Michael
Boynton Beach, FL
really good reel
April 23, 2015
Solid reel great drag
By Michael
Boynton Beach, FL
Sick reel
April 23, 2015
Solid reel great drag
By Dusty
hampton, Va
best midsized conventional
April 5, 2015
AWESOME REEL!!! I have several of these reels now and have had no issues from live baiting to light trolling this reel does it all!!!
ProsLightweight, very smooth drag, built to last
By gabe t.
mobile, Alabama
Love doing business here
March 26, 2015
Just what I wanted and free shipping
By andre
Boynton beach, FL
great lever drag reel
January 24, 2015
This reel has an amazing drag and can be used for s l most anything like kite fishing for sails to love bsiting mullet for snook and tarpon
By Danny
Miami Fl
great reel
January 8, 2015
reel looks great in blue. Fast shipping and great price. Drag is smooth and feels great
Consdrag goes from free spool to full lock pretty quick
By Mark
Huntington Beach, CA
Strong and Smooth
December 10, 2014
The perfect mid-size reel for most fish in the sea...Drag is strong enough and gearing is smooth...Best value IMHO...
By Loren
Long Beach, CA
Avet LX 6.0
September 17, 2014
This is a solid real for 30 to 50 pound mono. Works well for jigging or fishing live bait. Also a solid reel for fishing trolling and has a nice loud clicker. Great reel for under $300 and made in the USA
By Angler M.
Palm Beach Gardens, FL
Best value overall for durability, performance, and price point
August 19, 2014
If you haven't used one, you should, these are bullet proof aluminum tanks... strong, smooth, great line capacity, the perfect 20-40 pound class reel, all round great. We have charter fished these reels tough and they hold up. Kingfish, sailfish, wahoo, cobia... its a great kite fishing reel too because its fast.
ProsEverything, really everything is great
By Hunter
Virginia
Quality
June 11, 2014
Great reel, well constructed & thought out. Clicker is better than previous generations but still not best in class.
By Ron
Annapolis, Md
AVET Forever!
April 29, 2014
I love these reels, made in USA. Not one as broke, not ne has let me down. If your not using these or Fin Nor reels your missing the boat.
By phillip
Kaneohe, HI
top notch item
March 26, 2014
purchased this item for my daughters birthday and was very satisfied at how the color came out. As a shore caster here in Hawaii we do not normally like usung lever drag reels because they never seem to free spool properly causing less distance. To my surprise I could cast this avet lx just as far as a sealine or Seagate. Have yet to test it out on a big strike but thus far has landed 20lb giant trevally and exceeded my expectations.
Prosstrong drag pressure, solid construction, simple to maintain.
Consonly problem I can see is it may be difficult for me personally to get parts if it will ever need it
By Brian
Hightstown, NJ
AVET LX 4.6
February 14, 2014
This is my go to deep drop reel. The 4.6:1 ratio is perfect. It's a great value for the dollar.
Prosdurable and smooth like the rest of the Avet line. I love this reel for tile fishing.
By Michael
Pontiac, IL
Solid well built USA conventional reel
January 26, 2014
This reel was my first Avet purchase. After handling my friends new Avet SX and experiencing it's amazing freespool I had to have one. I wanted a larger LX for it's line capacity. I matched it to a (discontinued) St Croix 7'6" Premier saltwater rod that came from TackleDirect. Well balanced and a dream to use. I sold the reel after deciding it was overkill for the Lake Sturgeon fishing I used it for. Mistake! I now have some Florida fishing trips in the works and I will likely buy another. This time I will add the MC Cast feature. I was able to fill the LX with a Mono backing and still get 350yds of 80lb braid on this reel. If you need line capacity like this, look no further. I have two other Avet models (sxj and mxl both with the MC Cast feature) and enjoy using them.
ProsSuperior Fit & Finish. Endless freespool.
ConsRubber Knob could be bigger for a more secure grip.

Page 1 of 2
1