4.9
80 Reviews
5
94% (75)
4
6% (5)
3
0% (0)
2
0% (0)
1
0% (0)
99% Recommend this product (79 of 80 responses)
By martin o.
NC
Love this reel...will be putting to the test soon off Beaufort NC when the Albie's start running
September 19, 2019
Well constructed, true precision and quality. Very light and strong.
By Michael
Pelham, NY
Avet MXL - Great Reel
August 13, 2019
Fantastic and very durable reel - used from Florida Keys to the Northeast, grouper to striped bass. The lever drag allows for precise control of the fight.
By Robert
,
Avet mxl
July 8, 2019
Great casting reel own 3 and i love shark fishing with them caught 5ft sharks and big bull reds
By Robert G.
NY
Strong and fast
May 26, 2019
This is my third MXJ. I use it bottom fishing up North and drift fishing down South. My first impression of the reel was that it was too small. Although its a small framed reel, it holds a LOT of braid. Capacity, strength, and smoothness make this reel a winner.
By william
New Jersey
Absolutely fantastic reels
April 4, 2019
Was always a Penn guy but i switched over to an Avet after trying a friend of mines new one. These reels have great drag power behind them and will catch fish bigger than what they are rated for.
By Gil
,
Small Powerful Reels
February 10, 2019
Love the Smaller Avet line- very powerful, durable, high line capacity on small real- very fun
By Alex
Los Angeles, California
Great workhorse reel
January 20, 2019
I've been fishing my Avet MXJ MC on SoCal party boats for years and it's usually the first reel I grab when the bite is on. The reel is just smooth and reliable and has plenty of drag to be fished with 30lb mono. It's also very easy to maintain, which is a major plus because I do all my own reel maintenance.
ProsEasy to maintain
ConsLess drag than some of its newer counterparts.
By Mick
Chico, California
Love this reel
December 19, 2018
The best brand of casting reels out there. Eastcasting, smooth retrieve, and high line capacity for size. This is my second Avet reel!
ProsSmall size, easy casting, and high line (braid) capacity.
ConsNone
By Jeremy
St Clair
Great reel
December 16, 2018
Perfect musky reel for twin 10s and giant swimbaits. Don't let the lever drag and no line guide deter you the line will go on perfect from the resistance. Great in the late season also because of no line guide freezing up.
By OBX351
mclean, VA
GREAT REEL!!!!
December 16, 2018
These are GREAT reels! I have one and have fished several others in NY for stripers and they are fantastic. I've used them for trolling and bottom fishing but I've been told they are great for jigging as well. They are very smooth and are very well made.
ProsThere's not a better reel on the market.
ConsThey aren't cheap but definitely worth the cost.
By Jessie
nj
Seen them in person and are fantastic
July 21, 2018
best looking and dependable reels on the market, especially this one!
By Jessie
nj
Look no further for your next reel
July 21, 2018
i have a nice MX I use for fluking. Spend the extra money for the Magic cast, its worth the price difference and is less hastle. if you have people who are not experienced fishermen use your gear as guests MC is great.
By THOMAS
PLYMOUTH, MA
Made in USA
March 23, 2018
SOLID reel for a good price
Prossmooth strong drag light weight
Conssloppy anti reverse
By Chris
San Antonio
Excellent Reel
December 9, 2017
Smooth and sleek. Fits almost any rod and has the power to haul in almost any fish
ProsSize and weight. Light durable and can take a lot of line
By Tom Z.
Brick, NJ
Nice reel, it just works
August 31, 2017
Purchased the MXL 5.8 reel, returned it for the MC casting model, works nice, good quality.
ProsQuality built in USA
Conshaven't found any yet.
By Hey N.
NYC
This reel is like a winch
August 21, 2017
I have a few of these and absolutely love them -
By Micheal
Salisbury,North Carolina
Awesome Reel
July 29, 2017
This is my first avet reel can't say enough about it. Well built construction awesome colors, good reel for trolling or even live bait fishing.
ProsSmooth Well built construction
ConsNone
By Greg P.
Sugar Land, Tx
Beautiful reel
July 24, 2017
I love the craftsmanship that Avet puts into their products and how sturdy their reels are. The only minus of this purchase was that I was new to Avet reels and didn't order a MC version. The MC feature is worth having if you're an occasional user.
ProsSturdy Beautiful Functional
ConsI didn't think to order the MC model
By Tod H.
Washington
Tuna time
July 22, 2017
North Pacific coast yellow tail tuna are in and this gets the job done great ! 65lb braid. I use them for bottom fishing and tuna, first season with them and all good.
By sean
Carlsbad, CA
Avet quality
July 17, 2017
Bulletproof Avet as usual. Love this reel and love the Avet product. Use this on my live bait rod
By DJ m.
Kingsville, Texas
Love it
July 5, 2017
Love this reel I have the avet MXL 5.8.1 and I love it everthing is truly Made to stands up to a high quality level I do not have the mc series because that takes away from how far you can cast
By BP
OBX
Great Conventional Reel
April 27, 2017
My first saltwater conventional reel. Learned to cast with this. MC works great, can tell a definite difference in setting. Lever drag is easy to use. Do read the instructions on setting up the drag.
ProsAll good
ConsNope
By Ben
Reedville, VA
Decent Reel Made in the US
January 23, 2017
This looks like a decent real, not the best, but certainly worth the money. The fit and finish is good, you certainly get what you pay for here. There are other reels in this category which I like better, but this is a good one.
By robert
williamstown, NJ
Avet Wins my Money. Top Notch
December 12, 2016
Superior finish and smooth casting. Awesome bay and inshore reel, that can tackle heavy stuff if needed. Great casting reel.Left handed to boot.
ProsAmerican Made. Fit and finish superior.
ConsOnly available Special Order for Lefties.. Otherwise stuck with silver.
By Andrew
Galveston , Texas
Avet mxl
December 1, 2016
I have one of these reels and it is amazing. It cast a mile and is very light.
By BRIAN
JUPITER, Florida
The best reel on the market
November 8, 2016
The AVET MXL MC is my favorite for use in bottom fishing south Florida. Fantastic reel. Very smooth and very strong.
By Dennis
Redding, CA
Awesome Reel for Chinook Salmon
August 19, 2016
What a smooth reel! The drag works exceptionally well. The reel is a great compliment to my 9'4" Red Line rod. The reel is lightweight and is super powerful with the 5.8:1 gear ratio. I had no issues catching a 25# King Salmon in the ocean! One item that I really appreciate, the reel is 100% made in the USA.
ConsThe only thing I wish Avet would do, is create a level wind with a line guide.
By LTM
Anson, Texas
BombProof & Multifunctional
August 12, 2016
Its a Bombproof saltwater reel, but the thing can be used really well as a big catfish baitcaster as well. I stuffed it on a berkley big game rod as well as a slightly modified whiskerseeker Chad Furgeson rod in medium heavy 7.5 feet, run 20lb stren and the thing casts a mile. So, you spend more bucks on the Avet than one of the larger round freshwater baitcasters, but you come out ahead the minute you run it on two different rods.
ProsBomproof quality, Big capacity in a small machine, value priced, stainless steel guts, MADE IN USA, not Chicom, and the thing is stunningly lovely art form in CNC.
ConsAbsolutely not a one.
By Jay
stuart, fl
Reel Tough
May 14, 2016
solid all around reel if you want to crank hard on fish avet is the way to go and they have a maintenance service as well.
By Charlie
Northwestern Washington State
I really appreciate this reel.
February 4, 2016
This is the 3rd Avet 5.8 that I have owned. This one has the lever drag which the others don't. The lever drag just makes a great reel better.
By Weldonk
San Diego
Solid Reel
January 19, 2016
Got this for west coast albacore, yellowtail flylining live bait . This is a very well made reel that is solid and casts fairly well (MC). I have it spooled with 50 lb PowerPro and and a 100yd topshot of florocarbon leader in 25 lb. First time out last month got into an epic bonita bite (10-12 lbs) that had the drag screaming and one break off (should have retied) I stopped counting after 15 and then figured it was time to go below and have a beer.
ProsFirst L/D and first Avet which have a great reputation in the San Diego area. As said this is a well made, solid reel that is well machined and has a great handle which makes crankin' easy. Also the drag is very smooth with no stuttering. Fairly easy to control when in free spool which can be a problem with L/D reels in my limited experience with them and with the drag just engaged (I put marks to show where drag starts-is at strike on the frame) I can feed out line to keep the bait lively and moving away from the boat. I found it easier to control my line than another major brand L/D I had previously borrowed that had line spilling all over the place without lots of "thumb on spool" time.
ConsWish it had a higher drag rating (9 strike-14 full) as I would like to move up to 30 lb topshot for bigger fish without being near the max drag rating. Still getting used to a L/D but so far have the MC set at Max 5 with few backlashes. Drag rating issue kept it from 5 stars.
By Reginald
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Well built reel
December 28, 2015
I love this reel, it's compact and solid definitely gets the job done
By Tim
Raleigh NC
Avet MXL 5.8 MC
August 19, 2015
Solid compact reel with great drag and power. Smooth and great casting.
By Richard P.
Massachusetts
Good reel
August 16, 2015
Exactly what I needed does everything I want
By John K.
Southern Wyomig
Quality made in USA product
May 24, 2015
This is my first non level wind and I'm extremely impressed with it. Using it for trophy pike and catfish and large baits in big current. It is easy to use and tough enough to handle anything in freshwater (will try gar in a few months). For the first time I do not have second thoughts about the reel I'm using for big fish, confidence in your gear is so important and the weak link should be the person holding the rod, not the gear he's using. It wasn't cheap but the 100$ reel that only lasted for 8 months and wasn't used in the winter only burned a hole in my pocket and it's own gears, this reel has already paid for its self. I lost a potential fish on a sub par reel that stripped it's gears. Never again. I can cast it over 100 yards in good conditions easily (7' 6" rod) today I got 70 yards with strong wind in my face. Out performed other reels with aftermarket ceramic bearings. I would highly suggest it to anyone who is thinking about making the purchase.... You will not regret it.
ProsEngineered, manufactured, and assembled in the USA Cast ability Smooth drag Power of a winch For 3 ounces heavier, a reel that is quality built Did I mention made in the USA?
ConsPrice, spend the money once not three times and have a real that will not fail on a potential state record fish.
By Glenn L.
Bayville, NJ
Small size big strength
May 10, 2015
I only used this reel one time so far but, it is clearly superior to other reels I have. It's small size compared to it's strength is great. I used it for blackfish and it also handled shark, cod and sea bass with no problem. I put 500 yards of 50 lb braid on but, it will hold 680 yards. It is important to setup the drag preset properly for the line you use. Read the owners manual on the enclosed disc.
By andre
Boynton beach, FL
avet mxl
April 30, 2015
Great live bait reel.
By andre
Boynton beach, FL
avet mxl
April 30, 2015
Great casting lefty reel.
By andre
Boynton beach, FL
avet mxl
April 30, 2015
Great casting reel.
By andre
Boynton beach, FL
avet mxl
April 30, 2015
Great jigging reel.
By andre
Boynton beach, FL
avet mxl
April 29, 2015
great reel has a very smooth drag.
By andre
Boynton beach, FL
aet mxl
April 29, 2015
great live bait reel for inshore or offshore.
By andre
Boynton beach, FL
avet mxl
April 29, 2015
great for live baiting inshore.
By andre
Boynton beach, FL
avet mxl
April 28, 2015
Overall great reel with a really cool color
By andre
Boynton beach, FL
avet mxl
April 27, 2015
great reel to match a pink rod.
By andre
Boynton beach, FL
avet mxl
April 27, 2015
This reel is great and has caught me so many fish.
By andre
Boynton beach, FL
avet mxl
April 27, 2015
super smooth drag an overall great reel.
By andre
Boynton beach, FL
avet mxj
April 27, 2015
solid reel
By andre
Boynton beach, FL
avet mxj
April 27, 2015
Great reel.
By andre
Boynton beach, FL
avet mxl
April 26, 2015
Awesome reel.

Page 1 of 2
1