4.9
89 Reviews
5
94% (84)
4
6% (5)
3
0% (0)
2
0% (0)
1
0% (0)
99% Recommend this product (88 of 89 responses)
By Paul W.
Crescent City, CA
So good I just bought my 2nd after 6 years
September 20, 2020
Just received the second MXJ5.8:1 that I have purchased. This one is for my wife. I have fished the first reel for six years landing hundreds of rockfish, lingcod, and albacore tuna. The fit, finish, and quality materials used in this reel are outstanding and the reel looks and operates as well today as the day I purchased it. The 5.8:1 gear ratio combined with the length of the handle gives it a pretty speedy retrieve but still has plenty of power to fight fish to 40 lbs. with confidence. It's made in America and most importantly, my wife thinks it's pretty! ( She's pretty too and also catches lots of fish)!!
By Bill
Napa County California
Avet MXL 5.8
August 19, 2020
Love this reel hooked up many a Salmon with it.This is my 2nd Avet MXL 5.8 for my back up pole
By John
Harpers ferry , WV
Avet Reel
June 13, 2020
Awesome feel , great buy !!!!
ProsSuper fast shipping , great prices
ConsNone
By Adrian
Ocean View, NJ
Great reel
June 12, 2020
Super versatile reel. I’ve used it bottom fishing in the near shore reefs, offshore wrecks and trolling near and offshore.
ProsHolds a ton of braid, smooth drag, smooth retrieve
ConsBearings tend to go after a year or two
By kenneth
kinnelon, NJ
mxi 5.8 mc
June 6, 2020
put the 15lb pound line that came with the reels on them and I'm glad I did. the line is actually pretty good stuff. the line fit perfectly on the reel.
Prosgreat drags on these reels. very comfortable in hand with or without a trigger grip type rod.
By Todd
Tumwater , WA
Great tuna reel
May 24, 2020
The Avet 5.8 is a solid reel for albacore tuna. Great drag this little reel can stop even larger fish. Plus there is many color choices.
ProsSolid reel
By kl
NJ
MXJ5.8
March 29, 2020
Great reel, paired it with Shimano's TFC 6'3" Trevala MH and Momoi 20lb mono. Awesome little set up!
By Cobb
Glenmoore, PA
Mxj
March 2, 2020
Great reel and very strong drag is very strong drag good for long days where you don’t want a bigger reel well worth the money
ProsLooks good Great handle Simple design
ConsNone
By Dan
Alaska
Great American Made Reel
December 25, 2019
Great reel made in America and well built.
By martin o.
NC
Love this reel...will be putting to the test soon off Beaufort NC when the Albie's start running
September 19, 2019
Well constructed, true precision and quality. Very light and strong.
By Michael
Pelham, NY
Avet MXL - Great Reel
August 13, 2019
Fantastic and very durable reel - used from Florida Keys to the Northeast, grouper to striped bass. The lever drag allows for precise control of the fight.
By Robert
,
Avet mxl
July 8, 2019
Great casting reel own 3 and i love shark fishing with them caught 5ft sharks and big bull reds
By Robert G.
NY
Strong and fast
May 26, 2019
This is my third MXJ. I use it bottom fishing up North and drift fishing down South. My first impression of the reel was that it was too small. Although its a small framed reel, it holds a LOT of braid. Capacity, strength, and smoothness make this reel a winner.
By william
New Jersey
Absolutely fantastic reels
April 4, 2019
Was always a Penn guy but i switched over to an Avet after trying a friend of mines new one. These reels have great drag power behind them and will catch fish bigger than what they are rated for.
By Gil
,
Small Powerful Reels
February 10, 2019
Love the Smaller Avet line- very powerful, durable, high line capacity on small real- very fun
By Alex
Los Angeles, California
Great workhorse reel
January 20, 2019
I've been fishing my Avet MXJ MC on SoCal party boats for years and it's usually the first reel I grab when the bite is on. The reel is just smooth and reliable and has plenty of drag to be fished with 30lb mono. It's also very easy to maintain, which is a major plus because I do all my own reel maintenance.
ProsEasy to maintain
ConsLess drag than some of its newer counterparts.
By Mick
Chico, California
Love this reel
December 19, 2018
The best brand of casting reels out there. Eastcasting, smooth retrieve, and high line capacity for size. This is my second Avet reel!
ProsSmall size, easy casting, and high line (braid) capacity.
ConsNone
By Jeremy
St Clair
Great reel
December 16, 2018
Perfect musky reel for twin 10s and giant swimbaits. Don't let the lever drag and no line guide deter you the line will go on perfect from the resistance. Great in the late season also because of no line guide freezing up.
By OBX351
mclean, VA
GREAT REEL!!!!
December 16, 2018
These are GREAT reels! I have one and have fished several others in NY for stripers and they are fantastic. I've used them for trolling and bottom fishing but I've been told they are great for jigging as well. They are very smooth and are very well made.
ProsThere's not a better reel on the market.
ConsThey aren't cheap but definitely worth the cost.
By Jessie
nj
Seen them in person and are fantastic
July 21, 2018
best looking and dependable reels on the market, especially this one!
By Jessie
nj
Look no further for your next reel
July 21, 2018
i have a nice MX I use for fluking. Spend the extra money for the Magic cast, its worth the price difference and is less hastle. if you have people who are not experienced fishermen use your gear as guests MC is great.
By THOMAS
PLYMOUTH, MA
Made in USA
March 23, 2018
SOLID reel for a good price
Prossmooth strong drag light weight
Conssloppy anti reverse
By Chris
San Antonio
Excellent Reel
December 9, 2017
Smooth and sleek. Fits almost any rod and has the power to haul in almost any fish
ProsSize and weight. Light durable and can take a lot of line
By Tom Z.
Brick, NJ
Nice reel, it just works
August 31, 2017
Purchased the MXL 5.8 reel, returned it for the MC casting model, works nice, good quality.
ProsQuality built in USA
Conshaven't found any yet.
By Hey N.
NYC
This reel is like a winch
August 21, 2017
I have a few of these and absolutely love them -
By Micheal
Salisbury,North Carolina
Awesome Reel
July 29, 2017
This is my first avet reel can't say enough about it. Well built construction awesome colors, good reel for trolling or even live bait fishing.
ProsSmooth Well built construction
ConsNone
By Greg P.
Sugar Land, Tx
Beautiful reel
July 24, 2017
I love the craftsmanship that Avet puts into their products and how sturdy their reels are. The only minus of this purchase was that I was new to Avet reels and didn't order a MC version. The MC feature is worth having if you're an occasional user.
ProsSturdy Beautiful Functional
ConsI didn't think to order the MC model
By Tod H.
Washington
Tuna time
July 22, 2017
North Pacific coast yellow tail tuna are in and this gets the job done great ! 65lb braid. I use them for bottom fishing and tuna, first season with them and all good.
By sean
Carlsbad, CA
Avet quality
July 17, 2017
Bulletproof Avet as usual. Love this reel and love the Avet product. Use this on my live bait rod
By DJ m.
Kingsville, Texas
Love it
July 5, 2017
Love this reel I have the avet MXL 5.8.1 and I love it everthing is truly Made to stands up to a high quality level I do not have the mc series because that takes away from how far you can cast
By BP
OBX
Great Conventional Reel
April 27, 2017
My first saltwater conventional reel. Learned to cast with this. MC works great, can tell a definite difference in setting. Lever drag is easy to use. Do read the instructions on setting up the drag.
ProsAll good
ConsNope
By Ben
Reedville, VA
Decent Reel Made in the US
January 23, 2017
This looks like a decent real, not the best, but certainly worth the money. The fit and finish is good, you certainly get what you pay for here. There are other reels in this category which I like better, but this is a good one.
By robert
williamstown, NJ
Avet Wins my Money. Top Notch
December 12, 2016
Superior finish and smooth casting. Awesome bay and inshore reel, that can tackle heavy stuff if needed. Great casting reel.Left handed to boot.
ProsAmerican Made. Fit and finish superior.
ConsOnly available Special Order for Lefties.. Otherwise stuck with silver.
By Andrew
Galveston , Texas
Avet mxl
December 1, 2016
I have one of these reels and it is amazing. It cast a mile and is very light.
By BRIAN
JUPITER, Florida
The best reel on the market
November 8, 2016
The AVET MXL MC is my favorite for use in bottom fishing south Florida. Fantastic reel. Very smooth and very strong.
By Dennis
Redding, CA
Awesome Reel for Chinook Salmon
August 19, 2016
What a smooth reel! The drag works exceptionally well. The reel is a great compliment to my 9'4" Red Line rod. The reel is lightweight and is super powerful with the 5.8:1 gear ratio. I had no issues catching a 25# King Salmon in the ocean! One item that I really appreciate, the reel is 100% made in the USA.
ConsThe only thing I wish Avet would do, is create a level wind with a line guide.
By LTM
Anson, Texas
BombProof & Multifunctional
August 12, 2016
Its a Bombproof saltwater reel, but the thing can be used really well as a big catfish baitcaster as well. I stuffed it on a berkley big game rod as well as a slightly modified whiskerseeker Chad Furgeson rod in medium heavy 7.5 feet, run 20lb stren and the thing casts a mile. So, you spend more bucks on the Avet than one of the larger round freshwater baitcasters, but you come out ahead the minute you run it on two different rods.
ProsBomproof quality, Big capacity in a small machine, value priced, stainless steel guts, MADE IN USA, not Chicom, and the thing is stunningly lovely art form in CNC.
ConsAbsolutely not a one.
By Jay
stuart, fl
Reel Tough
May 14, 2016
solid all around reel if you want to crank hard on fish avet is the way to go and they have a maintenance service as well.
By Charlie
Northwestern Washington State
I really appreciate this reel.
February 4, 2016
This is the 3rd Avet 5.8 that I have owned. This one has the lever drag which the others don't. The lever drag just makes a great reel better.
By Weldonk
San Diego
Solid Reel
January 19, 2016
Got this for west coast albacore, yellowtail flylining live bait . This is a very well made reel that is solid and casts fairly well (MC). I have it spooled with 50 lb PowerPro and and a 100yd topshot of florocarbon leader in 25 lb. First time out last month got into an epic bonita bite (10-12 lbs) that had the drag screaming and one break off (should have retied) I stopped counting after 15 and then figured it was time to go below and have a beer.
ProsFirst L/D and first Avet which have a great reputation in the San Diego area. As said this is a well made, solid reel that is well machined and has a great handle which makes crankin' easy. Also the drag is very smooth with no stuttering. Fairly easy to control when in free spool which can be a problem with L/D reels in my limited experience with them and with the drag just engaged (I put marks to show where drag starts-is at strike on the frame) I can feed out line to keep the bait lively and moving away from the boat. I found it easier to control my line than another major brand L/D I had previously borrowed that had line spilling all over the place without lots of "thumb on spool" time.
ConsWish it had a higher drag rating (9 strike-14 full) as I would like to move up to 30 lb topshot for bigger fish without being near the max drag rating. Still getting used to a L/D but so far have the MC set at Max 5 with few backlashes. Drag rating issue kept it from 5 stars.
By Reginald
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Well built reel
December 28, 2015
I love this reel, it's compact and solid definitely gets the job done
By Tim
Raleigh NC
Avet MXL 5.8 MC
August 19, 2015
Solid compact reel with great drag and power. Smooth and great casting.
By Richard P.
Massachusetts
Good reel
August 16, 2015
Exactly what I needed does everything I want
By John K.
Southern Wyomig
Quality made in USA product
May 24, 2015
This is my first non level wind and I'm extremely impressed with it. Using it for trophy pike and catfish and large baits in big current. It is easy to use and tough enough to handle anything in freshwater (will try gar in a few months). For the first time I do not have second thoughts about the reel I'm using for big fish, confidence in your gear is so important and the weak link should be the person holding the rod, not the gear he's using. It wasn't cheap but the 100$ reel that only lasted for 8 months and wasn't used in the winter only burned a hole in my pocket and it's own gears, this reel has already paid for its self. I lost a potential fish on a sub par reel that stripped it's gears. Never again. I can cast it over 100 yards in good conditions easily (7' 6" rod) today I got 70 yards with strong wind in my face. Out performed other reels with aftermarket ceramic bearings. I would highly suggest it to anyone who is thinking about making the purchase.... You will not regret it.
ProsEngineered, manufactured, and assembled in the USA Cast ability Smooth drag Power of a winch For 3 ounces heavier, a reel that is quality built Did I mention made in the USA?
ConsPrice, spend the money once not three times and have a real that will not fail on a potential state record fish.
By Glenn L.
Bayville, NJ
Small size big strength
May 10, 2015
I only used this reel one time so far but, it is clearly superior to other reels I have. It's small size compared to it's strength is great. I used it for blackfish and it also handled shark, cod and sea bass with no problem. I put 500 yards of 50 lb braid on but, it will hold 680 yards. It is important to setup the drag preset properly for the line you use. Read the owners manual on the enclosed disc.
By andre
Boynton beach, FL
avet mxl
April 30, 2015
Great live bait reel.
By andre
Boynton beach, FL
avet mxl
April 30, 2015
Great casting lefty reel.
By andre
Boynton beach, FL
avet mxl
April 30, 2015
Great casting reel.
By andre
Boynton beach, FL
avet mxl
April 30, 2015
Great jigging reel.
By andre
Boynton beach, FL
avet mxl
April 29, 2015
great reel has a very smooth drag.
By andre
Boynton beach, FL
aet mxl
April 29, 2015
great live bait reel for inshore or offshore.
By andre
Boynton beach, FL
avet mxl
April 29, 2015
great for live baiting inshore.
By andre
Boynton beach, FL
avet mxl
April 28, 2015
Overall great reel with a really cool color
By andre
Boynton beach, FL
avet mxl
April 27, 2015
great reel to match a pink rod.
By andre
Boynton beach, FL
avet mxl
April 27, 2015
This reel is great and has caught me so many fish.
By andre
Boynton beach, FL
avet mxl
April 27, 2015
super smooth drag an overall great reel.
By andre
Boynton beach, FL
avet mxj
April 27, 2015
solid reel
By andre
Boynton beach, FL
avet mxj
April 27, 2015
Great reel.
By andre
Boynton beach, FL
avet mxl
April 26, 2015
Awesome reel.
By andre
Boynton beach, FL
avet mxl
April 26, 2015
great reel.
By Michael
Boynton Beach, FL
really nice reel
April 23, 2015
Solid reel great drag
By Michael
Boynton Beach, FL
best reel for the money
April 23, 2015
Solid reel great drag
By Michael
Boynton Beach, FL
Great reel
April 23, 2015
Solid reel great drag
By Michael
Boynton Beach, FL
work horse of a reel
April 23, 2015
Solid reel great drag
By Michael
Boynton Beach, FL
great all around reel
April 23, 2015
Solid reel great drag
By Nicholas
Madison, CT
Avet reel is the best
April 14, 2015
avet makes the best reels. These are so strong and powerful. I recommend these to anyone looking for quality and durability.
By keith
Athens, OH
good for beginners
March 5, 2015
I am new to casting round reels in the surf. the magic cast is impressive. you hardly need to do anything when casting. I thought I would have to put in some time learning how to tune it to the large surf rig leads. but it casts heavy and light weights with ease.
Prosconstruction ease of casting line capacity
Conslight drag for heavy surf
By Imran
miami, FL
great reel
February 4, 2015
i use this reel for light bottom fishing in south fl, first day i was amazed at how smooth the free spool was. first drop 14 lb mutton snapper, i must say i am satisfied with my purchase
Prosamazing free spool and line capacity for such a small reel
By sam
United States
american made quality
January 3, 2015
Smooth and handles very well. Just grabbed a sx as well. Tackle direct best prices around
ProsEverything
ConsNone
By Christian
Boynton beach, FL
Avet mxl
December 6, 2014
I purchased an avet mxl a while back and I have fished it ever since. It is capable a catching snook,tarpon,tunas,wahoo,and etc. It holds a lot of line and has the drag to cover it. I would recommend this for any top notch fisherman.
ProsSmooth, great line retrieve, awesome line capacity, and a lot of drag to stop big fish.
By max
Redding, CT
Amazing!
December 5, 2014
I recently bought this reel for kayak fishing and intend on using it for stripers and blue fish. I loaded it with 50lb kast king braid and so far it has performed amazingly. My dad also owns an sx and an lx and we both love the avet reels. Amazing reel for the price. I was debating between this and an accurate and I decided this because of past experiences and the price. The accurate was around $350 for the same size/concept reel.
Prosweight, size, smoothness, line capacity
Consnone
By George
Florida east coast
Excellent casting reel for someone used to spinning reels for the surf
December 3, 2014
I purchased this reel for surf fishing after lurking on several discussion forums for comments on Avet from surf enthusiasts. Comments were overwhelmingly positive for build quality, customer service, and owner serviceability. The only other casting reel for the surf I own is a custom mag'd Penn 545 and everything else is spinning. I am used to larger reels generally and was concerned about the small size of the SX and MX models and did not have the opportunity to try it out before the purchase. I ordered the MXJ MC model and it's a perfect match for the 10'6" St. Croix Mojo surf rod. Though small in size, line capacity is more than adequate. I have it spooled with 30lb PowerPro braid super slick. I have only practice-casted with it thus far. The mag mechanism is highly effective for someone used to spinning. I recommend following the directions and practice starting at mag set at 5 and gradually decreasing it to find your sweet spot. Each increment down to 1 on the mag adjustment makes a noticeable difference in braking. Very solid reel.
ProsBuild quality, simplicity, choice of anodized finish.
ConsNone so far after practice casting.
By dale
Tomball, TX
great surf reel
November 5, 2014
Avid mxl reels with the mc work well for surf castings. I have switched all my surf rods to the Avid mc (magnet cast) reels. Very smooth, light and powerful. I use braid and top shot of florocarbon. The different colors options make it easy to identify when multiple rods are in use.
ProsQuality construction, easy to service
ConsDo not drop in the sand, can get gritty and will have to be serviced.
By Rudy G.
West coast
Great reel
October 5, 2014
Avet has great stuff . Put it on the right rod (black fin #88) for the money you pay. Under $500 for both. You get the best. Very smooth reel and pound for pound the best reel out there......
ProsLow price
ConsNone
By AJ
East Coast, U.S.
Avet MXL 5.8
September 20, 2014
I've owned one of these reels for a few years now, and I absolutely love it. I filled it with 50# Accubraid and paired it with a 7'11" cut down century surf rod that I custom built to match it. I've performed very little maintenance on it and it still runs like a champ. I've used it for everything from throwing eels to popping to trolling for pike and lake trout. It casts very well and is not very prone to backlashes. While I do love the reel, I wouldn't mind having some more drag capability without having to splurge on a raptor series MXL. Also, the drag cam increases the drag very quickly: Basically from freespool, one to four pounds, six pounds, strike, then full drag. Then again, it's not made for heavy appilations, so it's not a handicap. The high retrieval rate is also great, as many reels of this size are fairly slow. Overall, it's a good reel for a fairly good price.
ProsSmooth drag system, light weight, high retrieval rate, good freespool, looks great
ConsNot the highest drag rating, difficult to cast weights under 2oz, it's a bit expensive now
By Rob D.
VENICE BEACH CALIFORNIA
Doesn't Get Any Better
August 19, 2014
I love this reel super smooth. I reel in 20-40lb. Tuna & yellowtail all day. Perfect for casting live bait to any size lures &jigs, just adjust the MC lever & cast without worrying about backlashes. The color of this reel is amazing.
ProsNo backlashing
By Willie T.
Hudson Valley, N.Y.
Fish On
May 14, 2014
At best I am a novice fisherman. Went striper fishing for the first time this season. The mighty Hudson has giving up her bounty. To date 14 fish on deck all on the Avet MXL 5.8. Looking forward to fishing the sound.
ProsGreat value. Great Color. Envy of the fleet.
By Chris
New Matamoras, OH
AVET SALE
January 24, 2014
I was so jazzed to see the 20% sale on the MXL 5.8 mc. The reel was shipped in 7 hrs from the time I paid for it and that is what keeps me coming back.. Thank you for the great service. Ordered the black and blue camo to match the Okuma pole I just got from tackeldirect.
By Matt
El Cajon
Great reel
December 26, 2013
Have two and love them both
ProsStrong durable
ConsNone
By SL
Greenport, NY
excellent reel
November 29, 2013
used it blackfishing in long island sound.
By KEVIN H.
United States
great product
November 7, 2013
First avet reel and was very satisfied. Smooth reel and great feel.
By amor
bakersfield, CA
small but powerful!
November 2, 2013
I love this little devil! casts very well, narrow spool helps you concentrate on bringing in the fish and not worry too much about line lay, no trouble encountered with barracudas and yellowtail. haven't caught white sea bass though but i'm sure it will do very well. I just wish it has instant anti reverse.
By Big A.
San Diego
American made excellence
September 15, 2013
Incredible quality, totally dependable, and capable of fighting much bigger fish than I intended it for.
ProsQuality, smoothness, compact size, dependable
By Ferdinand
Brooklyn, NY
You Can Cast!!!!!
September 11, 2013
I love this reel!!! I have tried casting with an open reel, and it was a no go! But the Avet with MC makes it very easy to cast by setting the control on the side. I've practiced with the setting at 5, and am now working towards setting 3. The higher the setting the tighter the control for casting. Like the YouTube videos show, you don't really need your thumb to control the line as it leaves the spool. Not as smooth as a Talica, but I am now using my Avet way more than I do my Talica.
ProsLight weight, and the Magnetic Cast Control cannot be beat!!!! Avet MC controls way out does the Penn Squall 15 MC by a million miles!!!!
By Harry J.
Southport (weekends) & Raleigh (weekdays) NC
It's an Avet...Need I Say More?
July 21, 2013
In my opinion Avet is the king of reasonably priced, high quality, machined aluminum reels. There may be better reels (but not by much) but they'll cost a lot more. There are obviously many less expensive reels, but they just can't match the Avet's in terms of construction quality and features. I did a lot of research before purchasing my set of Avet's, and I believe they provide --by far-- the biggest bang for the buck in the world of small-medium conventional jigging/casting/trolling reels. I have 2 SX 5.3's (on Penn Torque Jigging rods), 1 MXL 5.8 (Kunnan live-bait rod), and 3 LX 4.6's (Penn Torque Gamefish rods). The MXL/Kunnan combo (third from the left in the picture) will be used primarily for live baiting king mackerel, blackfin tuna, dolphin, etc. while I am anchored or drifting in 60"-90' of water offshore of Southport NC, mostly in close proximity to Frying Pan Shoals. It will also serve as a backup jigging rod. I am just starting the process of adding line (40lb Rapala Stretch Braid on the SX's, 25lb/30lb Yo-Zuri Hybrid for the MXL/LX's; all backed with additional 40lb/50lb PowerPro braid) to the combos and getting my boat ready to go, but so far I am quite impressed with the Avet's overall. Smooth drags, simple & functional construction, and a feeling of quality that just can't be described in words. By the way, all of my Avet's are gold; gotta have the bling, baby! :)
ProsDrag system, quality construction, reasonable pricing.
ConsNone (that I am aware of yet).
By Luis
Aventura, FL
Can't get enough - great reel
July 10, 2013
Second purchase!! The AVET MXL 5.8 is a great reel for all sorts of deep sea fishing. Its a great competitive reel for tunas, wahoos, dolphin, sail fish and why not a nice Marlin. You can have over 600 yds with combination of mono and braid. Highly recommended reel and a great option if you are looking for a powerful small weight reel with great line capacity.
Proseverything about the reel is good, great material use, lots of line
By Luis
Aventura, FL
The ultimate reel
July 2, 2013
The AVET MXL 5.8 is a great reel for all sorts of deep sea fishing. Its a great competitive reel for tunas, wahoos, dolphin, sail fish and why not a nice Marlin. You can have over 600 yds with combination of mono and braid. Highly recommended reel and a great option if you are looking for a powerful small weight reel with great line capacity.
Prossmall, powerful, weithless, over 600+ of line
Consreel bag is an optional item
By Michael
Pontiac, IL 61764 USA
Solid smooth powerful well made.
June 27, 2013
I have owned this reel for over a year now and I'm very impressed. My use is different than it's intended saltwater design. This is my primary Lake Sturgeon reel used once a year below the Prairie Du Sac WI. dam on the Wisconsin river. Casting is a dream using the Magnetic Cast feature, so much so that you can learn to completely leave the spool "unthumbed". It's something you need to try to believe. Many reviews of these reels diss the low drag range as not enough. My own drag is set far below maximum and I find it is more than I want to hold for an extended fight. Learning a conventional lever drag reel without a level wind for me was easy and straight forward. My next planned use will be Blue catfish in the Alton IL. area. Hoping for a 100lb trophy, this reel can handle it. I was able to load 300yds of 80lb PowerPro braid. Avet includes a warning on braid slippage and recommendations on proper braid spooling. In summary I am happy with my purchase and plan to add other Avet models in the future.
ProsNice fit and finish, strong and well built. USA made. Right size to use all day.
ConsAvet reel foot design is a "maybe" on some rods. Some of the small parts chrome plating has peeled on my reel. I did not contact Avet about it because it just didn't matter enough to me. I believe they would fix it if I had asked. I prefer the unplated stainless look to the shiny chrome so I left it "seasoned".
By MC
PA/NJ
Love it so far...
May 28, 2013
Bought this reel for the spring striper season. I caught a few nice fish with no problems at all. Fun reel to use. Cast control works awesome. Paired the reel with an Ugly Stick Tiger Lite 7'0 rod. Balance seems good and sensitivity very nice. Only thing I would change is the bait running clicker is a bit stiff for picky fish. I feel as if the clicker was a bit smoother it would be a 5 star reel. I will be buying an MXJ next.
ProsStrong drag and sturdy construction Fun to use. Attractive. Cast control works great
ConsClicker a bit stiff for picky fish

Page 1 of 1