4.9
123 Reviews
5
97% (119)
4
2% (3)
3
0% (0)
2
0% (0)
1
1% (1)
99% Recommend this product (122 of 123 responses)
By Martin
San Diego, CA
Silky Smooth and Tough
September 26, 2022
Set this up with #40 braid and #20 Flouro top shot. Casts like a dream, and the MC really helps prevent backlashes.
By Nick
Lexington, SC
Amazing reel!!
September 21, 2022
This reel has quickly become my favorite reel. Not much bigger than your average bass reel, super light and easy to cast.
By Glenn
North Carolina
Powerhouse
May 3, 2022
This reel is a powerhouse. It’s light enough to jig with but has the power of a much larger reel. If your questioning it, just buy it.
By Ronald
Delray Beach, Florida
Love My New Reel
March 16, 2022
Arrived within three days of placing my order. It is exactly as dteailed. Light, quick, smooth. Excellent performance.
By Joe
BETHLEHEM, PA
AVET RAPTOR
January 22, 2022
POWERFUL WELL MADE REEL HIGHLY RECOMMEND PAIRED WITH A NOMAD SLOW PITCH ROD
By Bob
NY
Avet SXJ Raptor
December 23, 2021
Solid reel for inshore jigging. Smooth and strong drag. Paired with M Grappler jigging rod. Nicely balanced. Great service from Tackle Direct team
ProsPricey but worthwhile investment that should last many yesrs
Consnone noted
By Louis
San antonio, tx
Nice reel
December 23, 2021
Had to try the 2 speed MC and man, have to say no complaints so far!!
By Louis
San antonio, tx
Compact
November 26, 2021
Nice small compact reel with the great stopping power!
By A K.
Nor Cal
Super reel
November 14, 2021
Great reel for 75 feet and deeper fishing heavier jigs in the salt. Super reliable and great looking. Drag system is the best. The handle is big and I like that. It's not a bass bait caster, it's for salt water.
ProsEverything is great.
ConsExpensive, but you get what you pay for.
By Bob
NY
Avet SXJ Raptor
October 15, 2021
Awesome reel, great quality paired nicely with Shimano TVC70ML. Very smooth gearing. Should last many years
By Daniel
Texas
ABSOLUTE UNIT OF A REEL
September 30, 2021
In the short few months I’ve owned this reel, I’ve caught several bull reds in this years red drum run. I have mine spooled with 50lb suffix braid and I can cast a mile with the help of the MC Cast. It has plenty of stopping power to put the brakes on 40” reds. Have also caught a few sandbar sharks up to 3ft. Never been worried I was under powered or felt like I was gonna be spooled. The raptor model is definitely worth the extra money.
ProsTons of drag Easy to use Lower gear ratio helps wench in big fish Durable
ConsOnly con is I wish I had two
By Blake
Destin Florida
Amazing
September 19, 2021
Super light and smooth. Can use it all day. I use it for slow pitch jigging
By bob f.
Bay Area ca.
reel
July 30, 2021
Went bluefin fishing down in San Diego for 3 days, what a nice reel it worked like a champ reeling the fish. I will be buying 2 more for bigger fish.
By Brian
San Diego
Solid reel with plenty of power for its size
March 22, 2021
Great compact reel with two speeds and magic cast. Will be used for offshore bass and school sized tuna.
By Michael
spring, TX
very smooth
March 6, 2021
easy to cast but the magnetic cast control makes it even smoother and easier to control, very durable and no flexing or unnecessary moving parts.
Prossmooth when casting and reeling, easy to maintenance
Consnot easy to find what (colors, raptor) you want in the left hand models and cost a bit more for them
By updateCategoryParentRick
Punta Gorda Florida
Perfect grouper reel
December 28, 2020
Was looking for a lighter reel that still had the guts to handle a 30” grouper. The Raptor 2 speed fit the Bill perfectly. Light, solid and love the 2 speed. Wife can leave the rod in the gunnel holder, flip into low speed and easily lift grouper off the bottom! Nuff said!
ProsSolid drag rail that clicks to position
ConsDrag has been a bit grabby durning break 9n period, but after several outings, it is smoothing out ? wish Avet would improve the the drag smoothness out of the box.
By Anonymous
Jeffersonville, IN
One Beautiful Reel
December 28, 2020
Did a search for ocean reels and found theses. Never heard of them. Bought one and I can't believe I've never heard of them. One of the finest reels I've ever seen and used. Wont buy any other reel from now on.
ProsQuality number 10+
ConsCan't find anything
By BSacamano
York, ME
Hard to beat!
December 10, 2020
This reel puts out a tremendous amount of drag for the size. Raptor drag has a much more gradual drag curve than my non-raptor avets. Super smooth. Fit and finish are excellent. Came well greased. It is a little noisier than the MXJ Raptor but still very quiet.
Pros-Tons of Drag with a good drag curve -Small & light -Very smooth
Cons-Anti-Reverse could allow for less reverse movement. I caveat that this AR seems completely bomber and indestructible.
By JV
Long Island, NY
This reel is a tank!
December 5, 2020
Throw anything at this reel. Getting your iron out there, and landing stripers and blues from the surf is what this reel is all about. Paired it with an 8-ft Shimano Teramar and it’s perfect. After getting the hang of casting with it and getting muscle memory dialed in, it’s a lot of fun. Lightweight setup with cast control and a good amount of line, just drive up to the water or jetty and fish for hours. Easy to service too. 5 screws and you have access to everything you need to clean and lube. This was the start of my Avet obsession!
ProsEasy to service. Drag for anything you could ever land from the surf. Line capacity. Unbelievable performance for a reel this size.
ConsYou?ll gonna want another, and another...
By Evan
WILLIAMSBURG, VA
Is the raptor worth it?
November 21, 2020
I bought the reel as a multi purpose cobia reel in the spring and surf casting reel in the summer. I had a hard time deciding if the raptor was worth the money and after having it a few months ill give my opinion. For my purposes the extra drag really helps. How ever the MC seems to have little to no effect and its pretty easy to cause a rats nest if not careful, even with years of experience on similar reels and a some practice time on this on. If you need the extra drag my opinion is to get the raptor. If you are considering it for the MC, ive casted the same reel model without the MC and there is little to no difference which really disappointed me.
By Wa
Philadelphia, PA
One of the best!!
November 10, 2020
Two speed reel , light weight, powerful, I use it for sea bass
By Adel m.
Ny
Best reel
August 29, 2020
Love this reel. Lightweight and it is like a winch strong as an oz! Don't let the size fool you.. this thing is a beast .super fast shipping another win from tackle direct
By Ricky K.
San Francisco
Avet sxj mc 2 speed
August 6, 2020
Perfect little reel.
By Luis
Florida
Great 👍
July 21, 2020
It works amazing been fighting a lot of fish and this reel always hauls them in I love it
ProsStrong Came in mail fast
By Chris
Chesapeake Bay
Pretty Mind-blowing. Love Em
July 6, 2020
Purchased one SX Raptor and one SXJ Raptor, 6 trips out and these reels continue to impress. Very smooth and enough drag for huge fish. Would feel quite confident going after pretty much any species with these reels.
By Ribton
California
Avet SX 6/4 MC Raptor
June 2, 2020
Small but very well designed and extremely powerful for it’s size. Worth every penny!
By Roger
Florida
Avet SX Raptor
April 28, 2020
Small, strong and a joy to fish with this is one of 6 avet I own, don' fish with any other reels and I've tried many others
ProsLite, strong, smooth
Consnone
By Tom
New Jersey
MINI Muscle
April 7, 2020
Been using this reel as a go to for live baiting stripers, and casting / jigging mahi and tuna for years, never failed. Drag is strong but has a steep curve once engaged. One of the best compact reels in my fleet.
By Rob K.
Conshohocken Pa
avet sx 6/4 raptor
March 28, 2020
I used my fouther in-laws had to get one of my own smooth fast retrieval, building the rod for her now ! cant wait to use .
Proseverything
Consnothing
By Justin
Hampton beach
Packs a punch
March 2, 2020
I have 4 of these that I use to haddock fish, light weight and very strong!
ProsLight and compact
By Van
SoMD
Tiny, light powerhouse of a reeel
February 12, 2020
I was looking for a casting reel that was small but had good capacity. I got my hands on this and I was absolutely blown away. This reel is tiny and light but I was told it's as strong as the SX and it has the same crank and handle. It's not cheap but if you're looking for a light and VERY strong reel this is the one.
Prossmall, light, good capacity, great crank and handle and it's very strong
Consit's expensive but you get what you pay for
By Jay
Los Angeles
Great reel
January 13, 2020
The Raptor series covers all the bases. Can fish up to 40 with ease and even 50 if absolutely necessary.
By mayramkit
mobile al
avet sx6/4 mc raptor 2 speed
December 31, 2019
small but strong and lighter compared to other brand
By Dan
ALASKA
Great American Made Reel and Price
December 25, 2019
Great reel made in America and well built.
By Dan
Alaska
Great American Made Reel and Price
December 25, 2019
Great reel made in America and well built. Good Price
By Dan
Alaska
Great American Made Reel and Price
December 25, 2019
Great reel made in America and well built, great price
By Adventure M.
SWFL
Strong little reel
October 14, 2019
This is my second Avet needed a smaller 2 speed reel for Snapper and grouper. This reel is perfect
Pros2 speed, great drag
ConsNone
By Derek
Apopka, FL
Great reel!
July 22, 2019
Have purchased a number of these reels from Tackle Direct. Great price, always have them in stock, color choices. The reel has over 30lbs of drag, using them for grouper and snapper fishing, and they can handle everything other than Goliaths. Light, great when paired with Shimano Trevali rods.
ProsLight, plenty of line, tons of drag,
ConsNone, price if fair for what you are getting
By Chris
Charleston, SC
Great reels
April 15, 2019
I have 2 Avets and they are work horses. Best part is they are light so you're not tired jigging them all day.
By william
New Jersey
Absolutely fantastic reels
April 4, 2019
Was always a Penn guy but i switched over to an Avet after trying a friend of mines new one. These reels have great drag power behind them and will catch fish bigger than what they are rated for.
By Wayne
California
Avet SX 6/4 Raptor 2 - speed lever drag
March 31, 2019
Nice and compact, but still carries plenty of line for lingcod fishing on the west coast.
By Justin
California
Avet raptors speak for themselves
March 17, 2019
It’s a great reel and very smooth. Quality like this is expected from avet. Highly recommend
ProsEverything but price
ConsNothing but price
By Leo
Medford, NJ
SXJ 2speed
February 27, 2019
Great power in a small package.
Prosgreat looking
Consa bit heavy
By Adam C.
Delaware
Awesome....
February 11, 2019
Went to shop and told them what I was fishing and paired me up with a nexus jigging rod . Went fishing week later bang .
ProsLight weight reel very powerful. Rod is awesome, light and plenty backbone
ConsNone . Only if you shop somewhere else .
By Don
Humboldt,CA
Amazing piece of machinery
February 9, 2019
This little reel is amazing, small but very powerful. I was truly amazed with the overall performance and reliability. Big punch in a small package.
ProsSmall with a ton of power
ConsNone
By Arnold
Houston, TX
Beautiful Avet SX
January 26, 2019
Gorgeous reel! Just waiting for my next fishing trip to use it.
By Mark
Parkesburg
Great reel
January 3, 2019
I absolutely love this reel. It is very smooth and very well built. I like that it is made in the USA also. This reel is compact enough that it could be used on many different size rods. I am going to use it for salt water and fresh water for large flathead catfish
ProsWell built. Impeccable quality for the price point.
ConsNone
By Kelly
Connecticut
Reel
December 21, 2018
Bought this for my husband as a surprise. He loves loves loves it!
By John
Central Florida
Avet SX
September 30, 2018
Its a Raptor...nothing more needs to be said for a 5 star review. I only wish I could get green or red or purple in a left hand retrieve model...thats what I really wanted.
Consnot left hand retrieve!
By Derek
Orlando, FL
Awesome reel and awesome service
July 30, 2018
These Avets are incredible. And Tackle Direct seemlessly corrected my mess up when I accidentally ordered a left hand retrieve reel. Easy return and timely shipping of replacement at no cost to correct my mistake.
ProsAwesome reel, tons of power, smooth as silk

Page 1 of 3
1