4.9
124 Reviews
5
97% (120)
4
2% (3)
3
0% (0)
2
0% (0)
1
1% (1)
99% Recommend this product (123 of 124 responses)
By Derek
Orlando, FL
Awesome reel and awesome service
July 30, 2018
These Avets are incredible. And Tackle Direct seemlessly corrected my mess up when I accidentally ordered a left hand retrieve reel. Easy return and timely shipping of replacement at no cost to correct my mistake.
ProsAwesome reel, tons of power, smooth as silk
By Steve
Alabama
Great reel
July 14, 2018
Use snapper fishing love the lighter tackle. Third one I've purchased. Caught 300 pound shark reel performed great.
By Jessie
nj
Best reels on the market in my opinion
July 1, 2018
I have three Avets and I have used many....many..... more reels over the years! My buddy owns a charter boat, and another works on a party boat, plus i have my own boat, and bring guests all the time so i have the fortunate luxury of getting to try all kinds of reels and poles. Nothing really compares to these guys. They cost more money but it is worth it by a mile. These are reels that you buy if you want to hand them down to your kids and they hand them down to your grand kids! Just bought a 30/2 wide to add to my collection for sharking and WOW! no comparison! This line of reels is the New Penn in my opinion!
Prosgreat quality. Best drags on the market. Line capacity. Last years. tough as nails. beautiful finish. smooth reel action. cast as far as........Ahem....not going to say the next word out of politeness.
Consnone, unless you are a person who does not like to catch fish.
By Jessie
nj
Best reels on the market in my opinion
July 1, 2018
I have three Avets and I have used many....many..... more reels over the years! My buddy owns a charter boat, and another works on a party boat, plus i have my own boat, and bring guests all the time so i have the fortunate luxury of getting to try all kinds of reels and poles. Nothing really compares to these guys. They cost more money but it is worth it by a mile. These are reels that you buy if you want to hand them down to your kids and they hand them down to your grand kids! Just bought a 30/2 wide to add to my collection for sharking and WOW! no comparison! This line of reels is the New Penn in my opinion!
Prosgreat quality. Best drags on the market. Line capacity. Last years. tough as nails. beautiful finish. smooth reel action. cast as far as........Ahem....not going to say the next word out of politeness.
Consnone, unless you are a person who does not like to catch fish.
By Jackson
Arroyo Grande, California
Amazing reel
May 13, 2018
This reel is amazing. It is small, but an absolute workhorse. I got the SX 6/4 MC 2-speed and it’s worth every penny. The small size holds a good amount of line and is so stable while reeling in. The MC feature is incredible. The reel has a reverse magnetic drive system that slows the spool during cast to virtually eliminate backlash, yet you can huck lures for miles. I paid the little extra for the 2-speed model and that is an awesome feature as well. Reeling in a 25 lbs lingcod from 300 ft. deep is much easier now. All it takes to switch gears is the flip of a switch on the crank handle. I highly, highly recommend this reel, or any Avet MC reel for that matter. So versatile, I use it for bottom fishing at 300ft., use it for inshore casting, and even surf fishing. All pieces are made from solid blocks of aircraft grade aluminum, and they are made right here in Southern California. Bad ass reel
ProsMC cast option 2-speed option High quality aluminum Small and compact
By Rcb2
Pensacola,FL
High quality reel
May 9, 2018
I caught a King Mackerel yesterday with this reel. I thought I would get spooled but the lever drag and two speed makes all the difference . It's the best reel I own.
ProsLever drag and two speed with easy adjustments.
ConsNone
By Jordan
Hughson, CA
Great reels
April 19, 2018
solid reels that get the job done on big fish.
By John
Sacramento, CA
Great reel
January 6, 2018
Great reels and they are easy to maintain. Have used these on a kayak in saltwater for 20 trips and I just dunk them into a bucket of freshwater as recommended after each trip and it's as smooth as it was when it was new. Very durable reels with alot of cranking power. I've winched bat rays that were 50#+ with these.
By Derek
Apopka, FL
Awesome little reel
December 9, 2017
Got for Gf, different story, but the reel is incredible. Smaller than I expected but matched up with a Shimano jigging rod, its the perfect setup for anyone and perfect for a smaller female companion.
By Matthew
Stapleton, Alabama
Tiny Powerhouse
December 2, 2017
SXJ Raptor I spooled it with 40lb JB solid core braid FG knot to 10ft of 60lb flouro. I like this reel because of how tiny it is. I prefer the narrow frame version of the reels because the line lays easier. It puts out 25lbs of drag which is unreal for it's size, it only weighs 16ozs. The only thing it lacks is line capacity. I think i got a little over 200yds of 40 on it. I caught a nice size cobia with it and he pulled a good bit of line off the reel. I never thought I was going to get spooled or anything like that but I could tell there was a decent bit of line missing off the reel (about 1/3). I did make a pretty long cast to the cobia to start. Towards the end of the season we started catching snapper that were averaging 10-12lbs and we caught quite a few that were 15-20lbs. I had this reel set to 22lb at full drag. It did perform very well with the bigger fish but they tended to pull a little more line off this reel than the other reels that had higher drags. I had one very big fish get me down in some structure and I lost him. After that I really never used this reel at my big fish spots and I used the bigger reels with more drag. I used this reel to fish higher in the water column and it worked excellent for that, it also worked great for butterfly jigging. Don't get me wrong, it's a great snapper reel even for the biggest of snapper... but why use it when I can use reels I have set to 30-35lbs of drag at max? I really enjoyed using it to catch beeliners and it worked great on triggers too. If I were to do this one over I might would opt for an SX or maybe an MXJ to get a little more line capacity, it somewhat limits what you can do with this reel. Then again maybe not, I really like the narrow spool. I purchased this reel for an ultra-light, compact, 2 speed bottom fishing reel for snapper. It does that just fine but it is really not ideal for lighter drag applications such as fishing for king mackerel. I guess I'm trying to compare it to the versatility of the JX a little too much. All in all it's a pretty awesome little reel.
Proslight weight made in america 2-speed stainless gears shielded bearings affordable compared to talicas and accurates
Conslimited due to line capacity
By Kai
Carpinteria, CA
Big reel preformance in a small package!
July 31, 2017
The SX Raptor is my absolute favorite reel for California yellowtail! Filled with 60lb braid, I can fish a wide array of topshots between 20lb â‚€œ 50lb fluorocarbon without worrying about drag capability. Fishing a small lightweight reel allows me to cast live baits further, plus itâ‚"s more enjoyable to fish than a larger tank of a reel with equal or less drag performance.
ConsExtremely soft "clicker", but rarely use it, so not a deal breaker...
By Jarrid
Nh
Top notch reel
March 22, 2017
One of the best reels I've ever used. Only reason for four stars instead of five is because I'm a lefty and the only color available for a lefty is silver, but the reel operates flawlessly.
By Bob M.
Allentown Pa
Avetsxj6/4 mc 2speed
July 26, 2016
Works great assume jigging reel.
By Tony
NY
Loose handle
July 14, 2016
I was ecstatic when I got this reel in the mail today. But after I turned the reel handle a few times to get a feel of how the 2 speed mechanism worked, I noticed that it was loose. I thought when turning the handle, it would be smooth (which it is), and would feel nice and TIGHT, but the handle is loose and goes BACKWARDS, freely, about an inch worth? I hate when that happens! It feels like the reel is a cheap knock-off. Not what I was expecting, especially from a $400~ American-made reel. Is that supposed to happen? Is that normal? If it's not, ... talk about first impressions... I don't think I'll ever purchase an avet reel, ever again. If that's supposed to be like that, then all is well. I'll still spend my hundreds of dollars on a different reel.
ProsLooks nice, sleek, compact, and powerful.
ConsFeels LOOSE, due to the handle turning backwards freely an inch. Also, perhaps you can seal the reel in an air-tight, plastic bag before you sell it. After I opened the box, I found that the reel was filthy!
By Matt
Palm Beach, Florida
Lightweight , but Very Strong Reel
July 10, 2016
I love the Avet raptor!!! It's so lightweight, it will immediately become your favorite reel. We caught 2 BlackFin Tunas in South Florida on it last week and it was a pleasure reeling them in !!
ProsLightweight Strong
ConsNone
By John F.
babylon, ny
Great Fluke Reel
May 30, 2016
I love this reel. light and easy to handle.Great for Porgy and Fluke.Hope it works as well with the Local Sea Bass Season coming in July. Also curious ho it handles in Deep Ocean waters.
By Robert t.
Cortlandt manor ,New York
Great product
March 30, 2016
Very smooth piece of machinery
By Brett T.
Virginia
Small reel with plenty drag
November 1, 2015
Great compact reel with plenty drag, will be adding a second Sx raptor to the boat!
ConsNone yet
By Julio
Barstow, CA
Amazing small reel
May 6, 2015
This is a great reel for multiple applications. It has the power to handle large fish and small enough to cast all day long. I use this reel for Tuna trips in san Diego and the drag is excellent. This small compact reel also casts like no other. I use it to cast of the surf in south Texas. It casts smoothly with excellent free spool. I can cast this reel about 110 yards, enough to get past the third sand bar and it has enough power to stop a 5-6 foot black tip from the surf. Line capacity is great for the small compact size.
ProsGreat Drag Small and Compact Excellent casting with MC
ConsSmall handle
By andre
Boynton beach, FL
avte sxj
April 29, 2015
great reel for smaller jigs.
By andre
Boynton beach, FL
avet sxj
April 29, 2015
great jigging reel for girls.
By andre
Boynton beach, FL
avet sxj
April 29, 2015
awesome light tackle jigging reel.
By andre
Boynton beach, FL
avet sxj
April 29, 2015
great casting conventional.
By andre
Boynton beach, FL
avet sx
April 29, 2015
this reel is bullet proof and great for a lefty
By andre
Boynton beach, FL
avet sxj
April 27, 2015
Great jigging, two speed reel
By andre
Boynton beach, FL
avet sx
April 27, 2015
This reel is aick and has and amazing drag
By andre
Boynton beach, FL
avet sxj
April 25, 2015
Great jigging conventional.
By andre
Boynton beach, FL
avet sxj
April 23, 2015
Great reel.
By andre
Boynton beach, FL
avet sxj
April 23, 2015
this reel has a very heavy drag and can put the heat on fish.
By Michael
Boynton Beach, FL
magic cast is awesome
April 23, 2015
Solid reel great drag
By Michael
Boynton Beach, FL
Amazing reel
April 23, 2015
Solid reel great drag
By Michael
Boynton Beach, FL
Outstanding reel
April 23, 2015
Solid reel great drag
By Michael
Boynton Beach, FL
solid made reel
April 23, 2015
Solid reel great drag
By cristian
Lake worth, FL
love the reel speed
April 23, 2015
this reel is very fast and is strong and looks good with my custom rod
By cristian
Lake worth, FL
cool color
April 23, 2015
this reel looks good with the red cajun line think everyone should have one
By Michael
Boynton Beach, FL
Great reel
April 22, 2015
Solid reel great drag
By Michael
Boynton Beach, FL
Awesome reel
April 22, 2015
Solid reel great drag
By Michael
Boynton Beach, FL
Nice reel
April 22, 2015
This reel is a beast will last a long time
By Michael
Boynton Beach, FL
worth the money
April 22, 2015
Snookage and poon get taken on this reel
By Michael
Boynton Beach, FL
awesome for the money
April 22, 2015
Solid reel great drag
By Michael
Boynton Beach, FL
compact reel
April 22, 2015
Solid reel great drag
By Michael
United States
Amazing reel
April 22, 2015
Best reel ever
By Michael
Boynton Beach, FL
solid
April 22, 2015
Love the two speed
By andre
Boynton beach, FL
avet reels
April 22, 2015
This reel has a great finish and performs great.
By andre
Boynton beach, FL
avet reels
April 22, 2015
this reel catches fish and peforms very well.
By Michael C.
United States
really good reel
April 22, 2015
Solid reel great drag
By andre
Boynton beach, FL
avet reels
April 22, 2015
great reels, super smooth drag.
By Michael C.
United States
really amazing reel
April 22, 2015
Solid reel great drag
By Michael C.
United States
really nice drag
April 22, 2015
Solid reel great drag
By Michael C.
United States
awesome compact reel
April 22, 2015
Solid reel great drag

Page 2 of 3
2