4.8
131 Reviews
5
86% (113)
4
12% (16)
3
1% (1)
2
1% (1)
1
0% (0)
98% Recommend this product (129 of 131 responses)
By Joshua
Philadelphia,Pa
Awesome Reel
April 26, 2022
I have one of these on my tsunami slow pitch jigging rod. I have it spooled with 20lb power pro super slick v2. Perfect bottom fishing reel. Jigging fluke, sea bassing or ripping tog outta structure. Also American made!
ProsGood little bottom fishing reel
ConsNone
By Michael
North Wildwood, NJ
Amazing, Tough Reel
February 18, 2022
LOVE this reel! Whether in warm weather fluking, Fall Sea Bassing or mid December Togging, this reel outperformed my expectations each an every time. The design and silver color is really slick. Many colors to choose from. Can't wait to purchase another one of these in near future.
By Bob
West Chester PA
Great Reel
February 12, 2022
Love these little reels. Smooth drags easy to cast with. All around go to reel for wreck and reef fishing. Great for jigging stripers too.
ProsLight weight
By Frank
Crystical coast nc.
Avet sxj 5.3 mc
December 11, 2021
Excellent size looking foward to surf fishing nc coast. Avert makes great reels own several. Always depenabld!
Prosdependable! Size, price,
ConsPerfer in blue not black
By Bobby C.
South Carolina
Great Product!
December 8, 2021
Great little reel
ProsStrong, Affordable, and great line capacity
ConsA little heavy
By Dave
Barnegat Light, NJ
Great reel!
April 11, 2021
I’ve used this reel for the last couple of years and love it. It’s even spent about an hour submerged on muddy bottom after getting knocked off the dock. Cranks super smooth and I’ve caught everything from small sea bass and fluke to medium sized shark.
By Jay
California
WORK HORSE
April 2, 2021
My wife uses this reel for rockfish, bass, and yellowtail. She loves it.
By Rudy
Corpus Christi, TX
Have you EVER...
February 11, 2021
Went out on a wonderful evening and Wade fished out in grass flats with an Avet SXJ 5.3?! LET ME TELL Yuh- the 1st time I had heard that clicker goo and I mean Gooo! I knew from that point on that was going to be a reel for my personal selection. That 1st take ended up being a nice 37" Bull Red, caught off a Carolina rig. Let me explain that cast, mind you (for the moderate and experienced) this reel does not contain no worm guide as you would find on most other star drag reels and some lever drag reels. I can cast a mile with this reel, compared to the cast of my star drag baitcaster. I've pulled many fish and I'm still currently fishing this reel. Be sure to maintain reel and rod maintenance! I'd recommend this reel. I personally enjoy fishing with this reel.
ProsLove the color choices! Love the durability!
ConsToo bad there wasn't a con I could think of.. ooops. Ohh heres one, birdsnest will occur. Once you get yours dialed in youd be casting further and fighting in no time!
By Joseph
Bayonne, NJ
great real
January 13, 2021
great reels I owne 3 of them and want more great for all different types of bottom fishing and jigging its a must to have these reels
By Brian
Mantua, NJ
Son loved his very own Red Avet reel!
January 10, 2021
The color is very nice red. There are no negatives to say about this reel it’s an Avet! I own 4 of them myself and got this one for my son for Christmas. No he is part of the Avet club. He can’t wait to get out and use it! Black Sea bass here we come. Thank yoy
ProsCheck comments
ConsCheck comments
By George
,
Great reel at a great price
January 5, 2021
Love this reel. Smaller than initially expected but great lightweight reel for flounder fishing. If buying again I would get the g2 model with more drag.
By Leon
Randallstown, MD
Avet SXJ 5.3
December 19, 2020
I brought the Avet SXJ 5.3 Speed Lever Drag Casting Reel in Gunmetal finish. This will be my go-to reel for black sea bass and tautog.
ProsMachined out of lightweight aircraft aluminum makes for a light but tough reel.
By dave
Pacific Ocean
Avet sxj 5.3
December 18, 2020
Great reel, does what it's supposed to.
By Jose
New York, New York
Best reel in the game
May 13, 2020
Worth every penny
By Lou
Cape May, NJ
Avet Reel
April 27, 2020
This is my second reel and love it. Perfect for bottom fishing or jigging. Paired with a Shimano Trevala rod.
ProsLightweight and compact. I like the drag.
ConsNeed to put friction or hockey tape on spool before putting on braid. My Penn reels have a rubber seat but no big deal, tape works fine.
By Devon
East Hampton, CT
Feels Right
April 24, 2020
I bought this reel for a lighter tackle jig set up as it was on sale. The construction is great, it feels solid. fits comfortably on the rod and the handle should provide plenty of power. the lower profile will make this a great all around rod for the north east.
By ChuckD
Clayton, NC
Made to Last!
April 2, 2020
No matter what kind of fishing you do, these will endure whatever you throw at them. These come with hard to beat quality at a respectable price point.
ProsTough
ConsNone
By Shawn
Hollywood, Florida
Good light weight reel
March 17, 2020
I got the sxj for my girlfriend because of how light and small this reel is. And it's still strong. I am a big avet fan after my lx g2 and sx g2. Just ordered the hxw raptor for my trip to the middle grounds this summer
ProsStrong, lightweight, and durable
ConsNone
By Tim
Long Island, NY
Excellent quality
January 29, 2020
Great quality versatile reel
By Sancho
Metro Manila, Philippines
Great Reel and fast delivery
January 20, 2020
Reel was as expected. Heard many good things about this reel Can't wait to try it here in the Philippines.
By Vincent
HUNTINGTON NY
Works great
January 18, 2020
very compact and easy to travel with and holds a lot of line for the size.
By Dave
Pasadena, Maryland
Sweet little reel!
December 30, 2019
I have only use this real one time fishing for Seabass. It was smooth as butter and did a great job hauling up fat Seabass two at a time. Fits perfectly in your hand and cast pretty well too.
ProsUse in many fisheries.
Consnone so far.
By Donnell P.
Humboldt,California
GREAT BUY!
October 16, 2019
This was an outstanding purchase I have to say I’m extremely pleased with its small but strong ability. This little reel packs a big punch as usual with the ever great Avet reels. If you are looking for a smaller reel with great capabilities this is it.
ProsSmall Durable Smooth Perfect amount of drag and line cap
ConsN/A
By RG
Colorado
Great Reel Great Service
October 10, 2019
I was very happy with quick delivery time for this purchase. This is my second Avet reel and will not be the last. Thank you
By Big B.
Long Island NY
Excellent small powerful reel
October 5, 2019
I have been a customer of tackle direct for a while and appreciate their excellent service and quality products sold by them. I am also an Avet fan ; with most reels having been purchased from tackle direct . The Avet SXJ single speed reel while being compact in size has excellent line capacity and power which equals or exceeds larger Products , I have used it on many of my fishing trips as a primary or backup reel . I can highly recommend the Avet SXJ to any one who is Either a beginner or more experienced fisherman. it’s ability to capture a variety of Fish will not disappoint users .
ProsCompact Powerful Good line capacity
ConsNone
By Michael
Barnegat NJ
Great Reel
September 29, 2019
Love this reel plenty of power in a small package. Primarily use for fluke in summer and stripers in spring fall.
ProsLight weight
ConsNone I’ve found
By Mike
MA
customer service nonexistant! When working reel is great. wears and breaks easy
September 2, 2019
When functioning this reel was so impressive I bought two more. They cast like a dream and never backlashed. I wish they had a line guide but when chunking or bottom fishing with them it is not needed. What I found out is that after a season of catching lots of fish they break. I clean them religiously after every outing and baby them in cases until they go on rods. They always come inside after use/cleaning and hang out in a temperature and humidity controlled room like all my sporting equipment. Breaking is no big deal, I kind of expect it when they take hits from several or more 30+ lb fish daily. Problem with these reels breaking is that means dealing with customer service of avet (communication is non existent to my requests for repairs). It says in their manuals the reel should be serviced after a certain number of outings (I believe 28). I definitely exceeded that number but didn't think it would be a big deal due to other cheaper reels of mine lasting longer. As of right now I can not reccomend this reel due to the poor customer service. My Abu c3s and c4s have held up to 10 years+ abuse under the same circumstance and conditions with out fail. My ABU's do not cast as far but reliability Trump's casting in my book (it's not like the avets out cast them by that much despite being much easier to cast). If you like to feel like your begging to get a reel serviced avet is your company. If you want a tank that will handle big fish with out breaking go to ABU c3 and c4s . I will continue to try contacting Avet for assistance but, I've kind of lost faith in them at this point seeing as it's my second season of them being broken and my requests for assistance go unanswered. When paying for a quality reel I expect it would also come with quality assistance, this so far has not been the case with my avet. Tackle direct if you could help me out getting my two reels repaired and serviced that would be amazing.
ProsWhen working reel is smooth, strong and a pleasure to cast/use
ConsTerrible customer service from Avet
By Christopher
North Bellmore, NY
Great reel
July 4, 2019
Awesome reel would recommend
By Joseph
Chesterfield, VA
Well built, easy to cast
June 20, 2019
Very solidly built reel. The narrow spool on the 'J' models makes it easy to thumb the line and control the cast. This is my first lever drag reel and takes a little getting used to but I do like it. Cast control is on the strong side but that not a bad thing. Overall, a great reel.
By William
Montclair, CA
Wife loves this reel
May 30, 2019
Bought this reel for mothers day for my wife and she absolutely loves it, small size lots of power perfect for bottom fishing.
ProsSmall Size, Good drag, Lots of power, Cast Control
ConsNo rod clamp
By Rich
Melbourne Florida
Excellent Real
April 26, 2019
This reel is so powerful for its size and cast great.
ProsThe size and power.
ConsNone
By Kevin
Miami, Florida
Absolute Workhorse
April 16, 2019
The first Avet I bought and I truly don't regret it. This is a reel you will have for years if you take care of it. Definitely worth the price for what you get. Make sure to use a good rod with this reel and you'll catch some crazy stuff!
ProsHigh Quality Lightweight
ConsLine Capacity
By Dean E.
East Cape Baja Sur
Avet lever drag
March 24, 2019
Excellent reel for light tackle but can handle big fish as well. Chunk for big yellowfin with no problem.
By Curtis
Harrisburg, PA
Quality product
March 13, 2019
This is the second AVET reel I've owned. Would put it up against any of the competition. This is a nice light weight reel with plenty of capacity for anything inshore. Everything on the reel works flawlessly. Love the MC option which I wish I'd have gotten on my other reel.
By Greg
Eden, UT
A Samson of a Reel
March 2, 2019
Can't believe how compact and light this reel is for the drag it delivers...outstanding
By Brett
Cape Cod
Great Option for a Custom Rod
January 11, 2019
Building rods for my daughter, Avet makes it easy with all the options they have available on these quality locally constructed reels.
ProsColor options on a quality product
ConsA line feed to the spool for young anglers would be nice to avoid tangles.
By Kurt s.
Jacksonville, Florida
Workhorse
January 10, 2019
Bought the six 5.3 was worried about not having the mc. Haven’t used a bait caster in about 5 years. Not a problem with this little guy. Cast farther than any reel I have. Only backlash once. I have been catching a lot of oversized reds out of my kayak. The reel handles big reds with ease.
ProsYou won?t find a quality reel for the price. Light weight and easy to cast.
ConsNONE!
By RALPH G.
PA
Second Avet Ive purchased
September 16, 2018
Great reel at a reasonable price. Made in the USA and extremely durable. This model has a smaller spool width so take care not to add too much line. If the reel is over wound it tends to bind if you don’t keep the line retrieve even and allow it to bunch on one side. Matced this with a Tsunami TSSPJC-681H and the rig weighs around 20 oz's
ProsSmall size and weight make it easy to fish for extended periods of time without fatigue
Cons This model has a smaller spool wudth so take care not to add to much line. If the reel is over wound it ttends to bind if you dont keep the line retriveeven.
By Jessie
nj
Best reels on the market in my opinion
July 1, 2018
I have three Avets and I have used many....many..... more reels over the years! My buddy owns a charter boat, and another works on a party boat, plus i have my own boat, and bring guests all the time so i have the fortunate luxury of getting to try all kinds of reels and poles. Nothing really compares to these guys. They cost more money but it is worth it by a mile. These are reels that you buy if you want to hand them down to your kids and they hand them down to your grand kids! Just bought a 30/2 wide to add to my collection for sharking and WOW! no comparison! This line of reels is the New Penn in my opinion!
Prosgreat quality. Best drags on the market. Line capacity. Last years. tough as nails. beautiful finish. smooth reel action. cast as far as........Ahem....not going to say the next word out of politeness.
Cons none, unless you are a person who does not like to catch fish.
By Jessie
nj
Best reels on the market in my opinion and magic cast makes them better!
July 1, 2018
I have three Avets and I have used many....many..... more reels over the years! My buddy owns a charter boat, and another works on a party boat, plus i have my own boat, and bring guests all the time so i have the fortunate luxury of getting to try all kinds of reels and poles. Nothing really compares to these guys. They cost more money but it is worth it by a mile. These are reels that you buy if you want to hand them down to your kids and they hand them down to your grand kids! Just bought a 30/2 wide to add to my collection for sharking and WOW! no comparison! This line of reels is the New Penn in my opinion!
Prosgreat quality. Best drags on the market. Line capacity. Last years. tough as nails. beautiful finish. smooth reel action. cast as far as........Ahem....not going to say the next word out of politeness.
Consone, unless you are a person who does not like to catch fish.
By Jessie
nj
Best reels on the market in my opinion. Want to grab one of these pink ones for christas for the girlfriend
July 1, 2018
I have three Avets and I have used many....many..... more reels over the years! My buddy owns a charter boat, and another works on a party boat, plus i have my own boat, and bring guests all the time so i have the fortunate luxury of getting to try all kinds of reels and poles. Nothing really compares to these guys. They cost more money but it is worth it by a mile. These are reels that you buy if you want to hand them down to your kids and they hand them down to your grand kids! Just bought a 30/2 wide to add to my collection for sharking and WOW! no comparison! This line of reels is the New Penn in my opinion!
Prosgreat quality. Best drags on the market. Line capacity. Last years. tough as nails. beautiful finish. smooth reel action. cast as far as........Ahem....not going to say the next word out of politeness.
Consnone, unless you are a person who does not like to catch fish.
By Jessie
nj
Best reels on the market in my opinion
July 1, 2018
I have three Avets and I have used many....many..... more reels over the years! My buddy owns a charter boat, and another works on a party boat, plus i have my own boat, and bring guests all the time so i have the fortunate luxury of getting to try all kinds of reels and poles. Nothing really compares to these guys. They cost more money but it is worth it by a mile. These are reels that you buy if you want to hand them down to your kids and they hand them down to your grand kids! Just bought a 30/2 wide to add to my collection for sharking and WOW! no comparison! This line of reels is the New Penn in my opinion!
Prosgreat quality. Best drags on the market. Line capacity. Last years. tough as nails. beautiful finish. smooth reel action. cast as far as........Ahem....not going to say the next word out of politeness.
Consnone, unless you are a person who does not like to catch fish.pleae make these in Dorado.
By Jessie
waldwick, nj
Best reels on the market in my opinion
July 1, 2018
I have three Avets and I have used many....many..... more reels over the years! My buddy owns a charter boat, and another works on a party boat, plus i have my own boat, and bring guests all the time so i have the fortunate luxury of getting to try all kinds of reels and poles. Nothing really compares to these guys. They cost more money but it is worth it by a mile. These are reels that you buy if you want to hand them down to your kids and they hand them down to your grand kids! Just bought a 30/2 wide to add to my collection for sharking and WOW! no comparison! This line of reels is the New Penn in my opinion!
Prosgreat quality. Best drags on the market. Line capacity. Last years. tough as nails. beautiful finish. smooth reel action. cast as far as........Ahem....not going to say the next word out of politeness.
Cons none, unless you are a person who does not like to catch fish.pleae make these in Dorado.
By Jessie
nj
Best reels on the market in my opinion
July 1, 2018
I have three Avets and I have used many....many..... more reels over the years! My buddy owns a charter boat, and another works on a party boat, plus i have my own boat, and bring guests all the time so i have the fortunate luxury of getting to try all kinds of reels and poles. Nothing really compares to these guys. They cost more money but it is worth it by a mile. These are reels that you buy if you want to hand them down to your kids and they hand them down to your grand kids! Just bought a 30/2 wide to add to my collection for sharking and WOW! no comparison! This line of reels is the New Penn in my opinion!
Prosgreat quality. Best drags on the market. Line capacity. Last years. tough as nails. beautiful finish. smooth reel action. cast as far as........Ahem....not going to say the next word out of politeness.
Consnone, unless you are a person who does not like to catch fish.pleae make these in Dorado.
By davidk
Union City, CA
great reel
January 25, 2018
compact yet powerful with good line capacity.
By Leo F.
Los Angeles
Avet reel
January 25, 2018
it is a very nice reel
Proseverything
Consnone
By Green T.
South Florida
This is my second one
January 18, 2018
After using my first SX for over two years I decided to purchase a second one because of the ease of use , cast ability , large handle knob and Gear ratio. I feel very comfortable fighting 5 and 10 pound fish with this reel on the bridges in the Florida Keys and it is very fun. Check out this load of yellow jacks I caught on a recent two day trip. These are primo eating fish not Jack Cravales. All caught on my SX in a screaming current . Smallest fish 12 inches largest 24
ProsNational recognition and service centers in my area of South Florida
Cons I would like to the clicker to be louder as I generally have spread of five or six rods out.
By Mike
Silverton Oregon
Turns hard when drag engaged
January 10, 2018
I bought this reel because it has cast control on a small lever drag reel. Quality is ok but not any better than the accurate fury that I own. What is really disappointing is when you move the lever from free to drag the handle gets progressively harder to turn the more drag you apply ....according to dealer, this is â‚“normalâ‚. Maybe Avet should hire someone from accurate to show them how to make a high quality and functional reel.
By john
bordentown, NJ
just great
December 13, 2017
these reels are the best great for in shore fishing
By Michael M.
Central Jersey
Great Reel !!
November 29, 2017
At first I thought it was small, but after using it it packs a nice punch.
ConsNone

Page 1 of 3
1