4.9
98 Reviews
5
97% (95)
4
2% (2)
3
0% (0)
2
0% (0)
1
1% (1)
99% Recommend this product (97 of 98 responses)
By Ribton
California
Avet SX 6/4 MC Raptor
June 2, 2020
Small but very well designed and extremely powerful for it’s size. Worth every penny!
By Roger
Florida
Avet SX Raptor
April 28, 2020
Small, strong and a joy to fish with this is one of 6 avet I own, don' fish with any other reels and I've tried many others
ProsLite, strong, smooth
Consnone
By Tom
New Jersey
MINI Muscle
April 7, 2020
Been using this reel as a go to for live baiting stripers, and casting / jigging mahi and tuna for years, never failed. Drag is strong but has a steep curve once engaged. One of the best compact reels in my fleet.
By Rob K.
Conshohocken Pa
avet sx 6/4 raptor
March 28, 2020
I used my fouther in-laws had to get one of my own smooth fast retrieval, building the rod for her now ! cant wait to use .
Proseverything
Consnothing
By Justin
Hampton beach
Packs a punch
March 2, 2020
I have 4 of these that I use to haddock fish, light weight and very strong!
ProsLight and compact
By Van
SoMD
Tiny, light powerhouse of a reeel
February 12, 2020
I was looking for a casting reel that was small but had good capacity. I got my hands on this and I was absolutely blown away. This reel is tiny and light but I was told it's as strong as the SX and it has the same crank and handle. It's not cheap but if you're looking for a light and VERY strong reel this is the one.
Prossmall, light, good capacity, great crank and handle and it's very strong
Consit's expensive but you get what you pay for
By Jay
Los Angeles
Great reel
January 13, 2020
The Raptor series covers all the bases. Can fish up to 40 with ease and even 50 if absolutely necessary.
By mayramkit
mobile al
avet sx6/4 mc raptor 2 speed
December 31, 2019
small but strong and lighter compared to other brand
By Dan
ALASKA
Great American Made Reel and Price
December 25, 2019
Great reel made in America and well built.
By Dan
Alaska
Great American Made Reel and Price
December 25, 2019
Great reel made in America and well built. Good Price
By Dan
Alaska
Great American Made Reel and Price
December 25, 2019
Great reel made in America and well built, great price
By Adventure M.
SWFL
Strong little reel
October 14, 2019
This is my second Avet needed a smaller 2 speed reel for Snapper and grouper. This reel is perfect
Pros2 speed, great drag
ConsNone
By Derek
Apopka, FL
Great reel!
July 22, 2019
Have purchased a number of these reels from Tackle Direct. Great price, always have them in stock, color choices. The reel has over 30lbs of drag, using them for grouper and snapper fishing, and they can handle everything other than Goliaths. Light, great when paired with Shimano Trevali rods.
ProsLight, plenty of line, tons of drag,
ConsNone, price if fair for what you are getting
By Chris
Charleston, SC
Great reels
April 15, 2019
I have 2 Avets and they are work horses. Best part is they are light so you're not tired jigging them all day.
By william
New Jersey
Absolutely fantastic reels
April 4, 2019
Was always a Penn guy but i switched over to an Avet after trying a friend of mines new one. These reels have great drag power behind them and will catch fish bigger than what they are rated for.
By Wayne
California
Avet SX 6/4 Raptor 2 - speed lever drag
March 31, 2019
Nice and compact, but still carries plenty of line for lingcod fishing on the west coast.
By Justin
California
Avet raptors speak for themselves
March 17, 2019
It’s a great reel and very smooth. Quality like this is expected from avet. Highly recommend
ProsEverything but price
ConsNothing but price
By Leo
Medford, NJ
SXJ 2speed
February 27, 2019
Great power in a small package.
Prosgreat looking
Consa bit heavy
By Adam C.
Delaware
Awesome....
February 11, 2019
Went to shop and told them what I was fishing and paired me up with a nexus jigging rod . Went fishing week later bang .
ProsLight weight reel very powerful. Rod is awesome, light and plenty backbone
ConsNone . Only if you shop somewhere else .
By Don
Humboldt,CA
Amazing piece of machinery
February 9, 2019
This little reel is amazing, small but very powerful. I was truly amazed with the overall performance and reliability. Big punch in a small package.
ProsSmall with a ton of power
ConsNone
By Arnold
Houston, TX
Beautiful Avet SX
January 26, 2019
Gorgeous reel! Just waiting for my next fishing trip to use it.
By Mark
Parkesburg
Great reel
January 3, 2019
I absolutely love this reel. It is very smooth and very well built. I like that it is made in the USA also. This reel is compact enough that it could be used on many different size rods. I am going to use it for salt water and fresh water for large flathead catfish
ProsWell built. Impeccable quality for the price point.
ConsNone
By Kelly
Connecticut
Reel
December 21, 2018
Bought this for my husband as a surprise. He loves loves loves it!
By John
Central Florida
Avet SX
September 30, 2018
Its a Raptor...nothing more needs to be said for a 5 star review. I only wish I could get green or red or purple in a left hand retrieve model...thats what I really wanted.
Consnot left hand retrieve!
By Derek
Orlando, FL
Awesome reel and awesome service
July 30, 2018
These Avets are incredible. And Tackle Direct seemlessly corrected my mess up when I accidentally ordered a left hand retrieve reel. Easy return and timely shipping of replacement at no cost to correct my mistake.
ProsAwesome reel, tons of power, smooth as silk
By Steve
Alabama
Great reel
July 14, 2018
Use snapper fishing love the lighter tackle. Third one I've purchased. Caught 300 pound shark reel performed great.
By Jessie
nj
Best reels on the market in my opinion
July 1, 2018
I have three Avets and I have used many....many..... more reels over the years! My buddy owns a charter boat, and another works on a party boat, plus i have my own boat, and bring guests all the time so i have the fortunate luxury of getting to try all kinds of reels and poles. Nothing really compares to these guys. They cost more money but it is worth it by a mile. These are reels that you buy if you want to hand them down to your kids and they hand them down to your grand kids! Just bought a 30/2 wide to add to my collection for sharking and WOW! no comparison! This line of reels is the New Penn in my opinion!
Prosgreat quality. Best drags on the market. Line capacity. Last years. tough as nails. beautiful finish. smooth reel action. cast as far as........Ahem....not going to say the next word out of politeness.
Consnone, unless you are a person who does not like to catch fish.
By Jessie
nj
Best reels on the market in my opinion
July 1, 2018
I have three Avets and I have used many....many..... more reels over the years! My buddy owns a charter boat, and another works on a party boat, plus i have my own boat, and bring guests all the time so i have the fortunate luxury of getting to try all kinds of reels and poles. Nothing really compares to these guys. They cost more money but it is worth it by a mile. These are reels that you buy if you want to hand them down to your kids and they hand them down to your grand kids! Just bought a 30/2 wide to add to my collection for sharking and WOW! no comparison! This line of reels is the New Penn in my opinion!
Prosgreat quality. Best drags on the market. Line capacity. Last years. tough as nails. beautiful finish. smooth reel action. cast as far as........Ahem....not going to say the next word out of politeness.
Consnone, unless you are a person who does not like to catch fish.
By Jackson
Arroyo Grande, California
Amazing reel
May 13, 2018
This reel is amazing. It is small, but an absolute workhorse. I got the SX 6/4 MC 2-speed and it’s worth every penny. The small size holds a good amount of line and is so stable while reeling in. The MC feature is incredible. The reel has a reverse magnetic drive system that slows the spool during cast to virtually eliminate backlash, yet you can huck lures for miles. I paid the little extra for the 2-speed model and that is an awesome feature as well. Reeling in a 25 lbs lingcod from 300 ft. deep is much easier now. All it takes to switch gears is the flip of a switch on the crank handle. I highly, highly recommend this reel, or any Avet MC reel for that matter. So versatile, I use it for bottom fishing at 300ft., use it for inshore casting, and even surf fishing. All pieces are made from solid blocks of aircraft grade aluminum, and they are made right here in Southern California. Bad ass reel
ProsMC cast option 2-speed option High quality aluminum Small and compact
By Rcb2
Pensacola,FL
High quality reel
May 9, 2018
I caught a King Mackerel yesterday with this reel. I thought I would get spooled but the lever drag and two speed makes all the difference . It's the best reel I own.
ProsLever drag and two speed with easy adjustments.
ConsNone
By Jordan
Hughson, CA
Great reels
April 19, 2018
solid reels that get the job done on big fish.
By John
Sacramento, CA
Great reel
January 6, 2018
Great reels and they are easy to maintain. Have used these on a kayak in saltwater for 20 trips and I just dunk them into a bucket of freshwater as recommended after each trip and it's as smooth as it was when it was new. Very durable reels with alot of cranking power. I've winched bat rays that were 50#+ with these.
By Derek
Apopka, FL
Awesome little reel
December 9, 2017
Got for Gf, different story, but the reel is incredible. Smaller than I expected but matched up with a Shimano jigging rod, its the perfect setup for anyone and perfect for a smaller female companion.
By Matthew
Stapleton, Alabama
Tiny Powerhouse
December 2, 2017
SXJ Raptor I spooled it with 40lb JB solid core braid FG knot to 10ft of 60lb flouro. I like this reel because of how tiny it is. I prefer the narrow frame version of the reels because the line lays easier. It puts out 25lbs of drag which is unreal for it's size, it only weighs 16ozs. The only thing it lacks is line capacity. I think i got a little over 200yds of 40 on it. I caught a nice size cobia with it and he pulled a good bit of line off the reel. I never thought I was going to get spooled or anything like that but I could tell there was a decent bit of line missing off the reel (about 1/3). I did make a pretty long cast to the cobia to start. Towards the end of the season we started catching snapper that were averaging 10-12lbs and we caught quite a few that were 15-20lbs. I had this reel set to 22lb at full drag. It did perform very well with the bigger fish but they tended to pull a little more line off this reel than the other reels that had higher drags. I had one very big fish get me down in some structure and I lost him. After that I really never used this reel at my big fish spots and I used the bigger reels with more drag. I used this reel to fish higher in the water column and it worked excellent for that, it also worked great for butterfly jigging. Don't get me wrong, it's a great snapper reel even for the biggest of snapper... but why use it when I can use reels I have set to 30-35lbs of drag at max? I really enjoyed using it to catch beeliners and it worked great on triggers too. If I were to do this one over I might would opt for an SX or maybe an MXJ to get a little more line capacity, it somewhat limits what you can do with this reel. Then again maybe not, I really like the narrow spool. I purchased this reel for an ultra-light, compact, 2 speed bottom fishing reel for snapper. It does that just fine but it is really not ideal for lighter drag applications such as fishing for king mackerel. I guess I'm trying to compare it to the versatility of the JX a little too much. All in all it's a pretty awesome little reel.
Proslight weight made in america 2-speed stainless gears shielded bearings affordable compared to talicas and accurates
Conslimited due to line capacity
By Kai
Carpinteria, CA
Big reel preformance in a small package!
July 31, 2017
The SX Raptor is my absolute favorite reel for California yellowtail! Filled with 60lb braid, I can fish a wide array of topshots between 20lb â‚€œ 50lb fluorocarbon without worrying about drag capability. Fishing a small lightweight reel allows me to cast live baits further, plus itâ‚"s more enjoyable to fish than a larger tank of a reel with equal or less drag performance.
ConsExtremely soft "clicker", but rarely use it, so not a deal breaker...
By Jarrid
Nh
Top notch reel
March 22, 2017
One of the best reels I've ever used. Only reason for four stars instead of five is because I'm a lefty and the only color available for a lefty is silver, but the reel operates flawlessly.
By Bob M.
Allentown Pa
Avetsxj6/4 mc 2speed
July 26, 2016
Works great assume jigging reel.
By Tony
NY
Loose handle
July 14, 2016
I was ecstatic when I got this reel in the mail today. But after I turned the reel handle a few times to get a feel of how the 2 speed mechanism worked, I noticed that it was loose. I thought when turning the handle, it would be smooth (which it is), and would feel nice and TIGHT, but the handle is loose and goes BACKWARDS, freely, about an inch worth? I hate when that happens! It feels like the reel is a cheap knock-off. Not what I was expecting, especially from a $400~ American-made reel. Is that supposed to happen? Is that normal? If it's not, ... talk about first impressions... I don't think I'll ever purchase an avet reel, ever again. If that's supposed to be like that, then all is well. I'll still spend my hundreds of dollars on a different reel.
ProsLooks nice, sleek, compact, and powerful.
ConsFeels LOOSE, due to the handle turning backwards freely an inch. Also, perhaps you can seal the reel in an air-tight, plastic bag before you sell it. After I opened the box, I found that the reel was filthy!
By Matt
Palm Beach, Florida
Lightweight , but Very Strong Reel
July 10, 2016
I love the Avet raptor!!! It's so lightweight, it will immediately become your favorite reel. We caught 2 BlackFin Tunas in South Florida on it last week and it was a pleasure reeling them in !!
ProsLightweight Strong
ConsNone
By John F.
babylon, ny
Great Fluke Reel
May 30, 2016
I love this reel. light and easy to handle.Great for Porgy and Fluke.Hope it works as well with the Local Sea Bass Season coming in July. Also curious ho it handles in Deep Ocean waters.
By Robert t.
Cortlandt manor ,New York
Great product
March 30, 2016
Very smooth piece of machinery
By Brett T.
Virginia
Small reel with plenty drag
November 1, 2015
Great compact reel with plenty drag, will be adding a second Sx raptor to the boat!
ConsNone yet
By Julio
Barstow, CA
Amazing small reel
May 6, 2015
This is a great reel for multiple applications. It has the power to handle large fish and small enough to cast all day long. I use this reel for Tuna trips in san Diego and the drag is excellent. This small compact reel also casts like no other. I use it to cast of the surf in south Texas. It casts smoothly with excellent free spool. I can cast this reel about 110 yards, enough to get past the third sand bar and it has enough power to stop a 5-6 foot black tip from the surf. Line capacity is great for the small compact size.
ProsGreat Drag Small and Compact Excellent casting with MC
ConsSmall handle
By andre
Boynton beach, FL
avte sxj
April 29, 2015
great reel for smaller jigs.
By andre
Boynton beach, FL
avet sxj
April 29, 2015
great jigging reel for girls.
By andre
Boynton beach, FL
avet sxj
April 29, 2015
awesome light tackle jigging reel.
By andre
Boynton beach, FL
avet sxj
April 29, 2015
great casting conventional.
By andre
Boynton beach, FL
avet sx
April 29, 2015
this reel is bullet proof and great for a lefty
By andre
Boynton beach, FL
avet sxj
April 27, 2015
Great jigging, two speed reel
By andre
Boynton beach, FL
avet sx
April 27, 2015
This reel is aick and has and amazing drag
By andre
Boynton beach, FL
avet sxj
April 25, 2015
Great jigging conventional.
By andre
Boynton beach, FL
avet sxj
April 23, 2015
Great reel.
By andre
Boynton beach, FL
avet sxj
April 23, 2015
this reel has a very heavy drag and can put the heat on fish.
By Michael
Boynton Beach, FL
magic cast is awesome
April 23, 2015
Solid reel great drag
By Michael
Boynton Beach, FL
Amazing reel
April 23, 2015
Solid reel great drag
By Michael
Boynton Beach, FL
Outstanding reel
April 23, 2015
Solid reel great drag
By Michael
Boynton Beach, FL
solid made reel
April 23, 2015
Solid reel great drag
By cristian
Lake worth, FL
love the reel speed
April 23, 2015
this reel is very fast and is strong and looks good with my custom rod
By cristian
Lake worth, FL
cool color
April 23, 2015
this reel looks good with the red cajun line think everyone should have one
By Michael
Boynton Beach, FL
Great reel
April 22, 2015
Solid reel great drag
By Michael
Boynton Beach, FL
Awesome reel
April 22, 2015
Solid reel great drag
By Michael
Boynton Beach, FL
Nice reel
April 22, 2015
This reel is a beast will last a long time
By Michael
Boynton Beach, FL
worth the money
April 22, 2015
Snookage and poon get taken on this reel
By Michael
Boynton Beach, FL
awesome for the money
April 22, 2015
Solid reel great drag
By Michael
Boynton Beach, FL
compact reel
April 22, 2015
Solid reel great drag
By Michael
United States
Amazing reel
April 22, 2015
Best reel ever
By Michael
Boynton Beach, FL
solid
April 22, 2015
Love the two speed
By andre
Boynton beach, FL
avet reels
April 22, 2015
This reel has a great finish and performs great.
By andre
Boynton beach, FL
avet reels
April 22, 2015
this reel catches fish and peforms very well.
By Michael C.
United States
really good reel
April 22, 2015
Solid reel great drag
By andre
Boynton beach, FL
avet reels
April 22, 2015
great reels, super smooth drag.
By Michael C.
United States
really amazing reel
April 22, 2015
Solid reel great drag
By Michael C.
United States
really nice drag
April 22, 2015
Solid reel great drag
By Michael C.
United States
awesome compact reel
April 22, 2015
Solid reel great drag
By cristian
Lake worth, FL
Great reel easy to lose
April 22, 2015
Great reel besides you can't leave it in the grass cause I lost my first one due to the camo
By cristian
Lake worth, FL
Don't be fooled
April 22, 2015
This is an outstanding reel caught my biggest 45 inch snook on this reel
By Mark
Pinole, CA
Great reel!
March 4, 2015
This is a great reel for the size/function at this price. I seriously doubt you will find better at this price. It has way more drag than most can use in a reel this size. It casts very well and shifting the gears is almost foolproof.
ProsThe drag on this reel is unexpected in this size. The shifting between gears is fast and easy while fighting a fish. The different colors that are available will help to customize your harem.
ConsAttaching a safety line to the reel could be easier if something was provided on the reel clamp, even as an optional purchase.
By Cristian
Lake worth, FL
good investment
February 2, 2015
good reel great for snook on piers
By RB
Santa Cruz CA
SX Super Star
January 28, 2015
Don't let this little reel fool you, this thing has the power to take down some large fish. I spooled this up with 300yrd Jerry Brown 50 solid and a 75yrd 30lbs mono top shot. Small, lite, power full, what else can you ask for.
ProsQuality, price point, Avet guy who has many, best reels on the market for that price point, the MC casting isn't to bad either
Consnone
By Cristian
Lake worth, florida
Drag
January 27, 2015
Great reel especially like the drag and the casting feature on it
By Brian
lake worth , florida
amazing reel
January 27, 2015
dont get fooled by the size of this reel! i have caught a 43 inch snook and many big grouper off piers and bridges with the amazing drag system on this reel.
Prosdrag
By Scott
Pacifica, California
Avet sx 6/4 raptor
January 22, 2015
very solid little reel that I was able to get for a great price. The drag is silky smooth. The mc casting feature worked flawlessly. Very pleased with this product and I anticipate adding a few more to my collection when the time comes.
ProsEasy to use Smooth drag Two speed and large power handle are sweet
ConsPricey but you get what you pay for
By Mike
Akron PA
very well made
January 2, 2015
This is a very well made small strong reel.combined with a G loomus pro blue rod 50lb braid and a good boat capt big fish well past it's lb class are on the deck.The raptor models are well worth the extra cost. If shimano made this reel it would cost $2000.
By amor
ca
powerful little devil
December 21, 2014
used it for the first time yesterday catching yellowtail! perfect for jigging, narrow, light. 2 speed gear worked like a charm, hi spd to entice a bite, lo spd to winch in the fish.
By Jon
Long Branch, NJ
As OUTSTANDING Reel - Great for Wreck Fishing and Jigging in Deep Water
December 17, 2014
Avets are quality reels and are worth every penny spent on them...This particular reel is a workhorse with a great gear ratio to add in deep water fishing...AWESOME!!! Pair it up with a Shimano Trevala Rod and you will have the best combo money can buy!!!
By Lin
Virginia Bch, VA
One of the best reels in my arsenal.
December 7, 2014
Love this reel. I have had it for over an year now and I absolutely love it. I came from the world of spinning rods so I had to learn how to use this properly. Once I got the hang go it, I fell in love with it. I have bridge fished, deep dropped, surf casted, I've baited this reel and it does each equally well. It totally overbuilt for what I use it for. That being said, I wouldn't have it any other way. This is an American made gem, and you deserve to have one and cherish it and appreciate it like I do. Its made to be put to work.
ProsAmerican made. Tuff. Beautiful finish All around use
Consnone
By Tom
United States
Solid Reel
December 4, 2014
Very smooth reel. The lever drag works great. I live line 10 inch bunker for stripers at a light drag setting. When they take the bait and run I slide the drag to the preset strike position and the fun begins. Also a great reel to cast with.
By george
Long Island, NY
Avet SXJ 6/4 MC Raptor reel
November 5, 2014
great reels!!! caught a 12lb blackfish off CT. might be small for striped bass but certainly enough drag capacity. Tackledirect is "Hands Down" the best supplier
By Ahmed
Dubai, Dubai
Small and Powerfull
September 28, 2014
I Loved this Reel it is so powerful light and smooth Light Jigging all daylong
Prossize weight
Consnothing yet
By Tim
southeastern PA
Compact yet Smooth and Powerful
September 25, 2014
I use these reels on striped bass to 50# and yellowfin to 70#. They are light but carry exceptionally strong gearing. The MC feature makes it particularly well suited for live lining larger bait. I chose this particular model Raptor for the higher max drag limits of 17# in the strike position and 26# full forward. I set these on the scale and they do not vary. This reel does not feel stressed one bit on these size fish. No need to gear down on the bass but it comes in handy on the tuna especially during the pinwheel. Reel is compact with a big handle. I liked the first one so much I just bought its twin. Enough said.
ProsCompact lightweight for the fish it handles....this is definitely the wave of the future. 17# drag in the strike position Very smooth drag system
ConsCouldn't think of any.....
By Bret
Santa Barbara, CA
Beautiful
July 9, 2014
Shipping was great as well as well as customer service. Bought some braided line thru amazon from Tackle Direct and now appreciate and trust this company. What can i say about the reel. Its everything they and I say. Pairing it with a G-Loomis PDR84-30c SV-7 25- 40 lb fast Ordering it soon from Tackle Direct. Ill give you a final review on both later thanks guys
By samuel
santa barbara, CA
Great quality
July 3, 2014
My 16 yr old son used this reel. Loves the speed and action of the Avet.> Great quality and workmanship
By Brian
West Coast
Great Reel! Small but powerful.
June 30, 2014
The Avet SX is one of my favorite reels. It can handle fish much larger than one would think.
By Brian
Califorinia
Best Reels for the Money
June 6, 2014
One of the best reels for the price. The design makes it easy to maintain and I prefer the MC version as well as the 2 speed models.
ProsReasonable price Easy to maintain
ConsThe colored models tend to show scratches more but then, if it ain't scratched it's not being used...
By Terence
Dubai - United Arab Emirates
Avet SX 6/4 L/H Raptor
February 7, 2014
Really Great Reel - Indestructible. Great line capacity.
ProsEasy Drag set up. The two dente positions make the switch from cast to strike quick & easy. Magicast settings easy to change and use. Very rugged and durable. Left Hand Retrieve!
ConsCasting on a full spool caused a lot of overwinds -
By NickyD
carneys point nj
Camo Green Raptor SX 6/4
January 18, 2014
A Great addition to my Arsenal to go along with my other Avets. Looking forward to hookin up with a monster Cow Tackle Direct is the BEST place hands down to buy any Fishing Equipment and the Shipping is LIGHTNING FAST at the door in one day !!!
By amor
bakersfield, ca
worth it!!!
December 8, 2013
this little reel is GREAT! made in usa and very proud of it!!! smooth, light, powerful, retrieve on low is in the 20s (my preference), casts very, very well, mc is a dream to use, too many good qualities to list! with its drag capabilities, those thinking about getting jx avet might as well get this gem of a reel! I paired it with a 7 ft penn bluewater carnage and they are perfect for each other.
By a
ny
Perfect size For fluke
July 27, 2013
Very well built made in the USA reel! This is a small niche reel. Perfect size for fluke and porgies but can handle just about any fish you come across.
ProsUSA made! Solid one piece frame!

Page 1 of 1