4.8
80 Reviews
5
85% (68)
4
11% (9)
3
3% (2)
2
1% (1)
1
0% (0)
99% Recommend this product (79 of 80 responses)
By Bill
NY
Who needs bait
April 12, 2021
At times works better than bait
By Bill
New England
Great Grub
March 31, 2021
Great bait for catching fluke and monster Seabass. Bigger size makes it More diff for scup to steal bait
By Alan
Oregon
6” grub nuclear chicken
March 30, 2021
Would have given 5 stars except for price and a little soft. Use this in the Pacific Ocean with bullet head jig in the 2oz to 4oz sizes. I would put this up against anything but live bait and might even then. These are my first pick for black bass, cabezon, big lingcod. Hate to let the secret out on these. I’ve been using for years now and always have them on the boat.
ProsFish hold on to them. Swim well.
ConsPrice per unit. Soft to toothy fish.
By Fishinzak
Eastern Shore
Flounder Pounder
March 30, 2021
I love this size and color. This color works really well on a bucktail in deep water where I fish for big flounder. The bright color of this out fishes most of all my other colors I keep on hand. I have caught Seabass, Flounder, Bluefish and even weakfish on this color. My go to Gulp.
By Bill
Wappingers Falls, NY
GULP...The name says it all
March 20, 2021
Good price, great shipping, excellent customer service. Tackle Direct..I will always deal with them
Consnone
By Tim
San Juan islands area
Lingcod and cabazon
February 13, 2021
Started using these last year for lingcod and cabazon rockfish seem to love them also unfortunately we can't keep any rockfish Color seems to make a difference day to day this was one of my favorite colors I don't know if it's the action or the juice in the package but they work Unfortunately quite often the fish seem to bite the tail off and then it's time for a new one
By Maverick
Buzzards bay
AH-MAZ-ING for fluke and seabass!
December 6, 2020
I rigged them on a bucktail or silicone jig and caught many fluke and seabass this summer!
By Taco
Smith river
Any color catches fish
June 4, 2020
Bought after local recommended these and boy was he on. Catch fish everytime I use these in any color. A must have for jetty or surf fishing.
ProsReusable bait option
ConsNone
By ernie
Philadelphia, PA
Vivid color
May 26, 2020
Good color for the grub, use for fluke in back bays
ProsDurable
ConsExpensive
By ernie
Philadelphia, PA
Fluke bait
May 26, 2020
Use with a 4-6oz jighead deepwater fluke fishing
ProsDurable
ConsExpensive
By Nick
Odessa, DE
Best fluke bait
April 18, 2020
You don’t need any other bait just a bucket or gulp and a few jigs
ProsGreat new colors excites the fisherman
ConsMuch softer then original gulp
By Joe
Medford, NJ
FLUKE
March 26, 2020
I love this bait for fluke fishing in New Jersey whether it be in the back bay or on wrecks. Fish love gulp both the scent and the action of the tail. I always grab a bunch of packs before fluke season starts.
ProsEverything
By Cobb
Glenmoore, PA
Fluke killer
March 2, 2020
Fluke seem to love the color and it has amazing action also great for deep water seabass
ProsFluke seem to love the color Scent is very strong
ConsPretty expensive wouldn?t recommend using for smaller fish like blues and weakfish because they get torn up
By James
Riverside, NJ
The only bait to use!
February 28, 2020
Gulp is the best bait for fluking hands down. Good results with the salmon in 2019.
ProsThe best!
Conssofter than older formulas
By JIANN C.
Pleasanton, California
Great curly tail lure
February 22, 2020
Pairs with 1oz jig head. It swims great and catches the first fish on the third cast.
ProsSimply great with scent.
By Kai
Carpinteria, CA
Rockfish candy
February 7, 2020
Who needs bait when you can fish this stuff.
By Novaryder
Cortlandt Manor, NY
Berkley Gulp! Saltwater Grub - 6 in. - Orange Belly Shrimp
January 31, 2020
Color attracts the bite (grouper & snapper) in Key West, jigging. The right combination (color, scent and tail) that works.
By Shawn
West Yarmouth, MA
very good and very durable
January 29, 2020
used them for the past three years for fluke and sea bass and threw bouncing cape cod bottoms they are very durable and stand up to multiple landings of decent flukes and sea bass. if anyone is looking to use them very recomended
By John
Smithtown, NY
Hottest fluke color in the LI Sound !!!!
January 28, 2020
Last year wasn't the best fluking in the LI Sound , however this color out fished all others 4-1
By Carl B.
Marco Island, FL
Grouper Candy
January 27, 2020
I use these on a heavy jig with a small piece of squid and this combo catches red grouper almost as fast as the bait reaches the bottom! Went through about 6 of these Gulps! in about 15 minutes! The grouper love their action and smell! I have to restock SOON!
ProsThe scent and the action on the tail are obviously a huge attraction for red groupers!
ConsNONE! I run through them too quickly! But catching a lot of fish!
By Len
Rhode Island
gulp bait
January 27, 2020
I use all these gulp products when fishing for fluke and have not been disappointed yet. Great product.
By Wayne
Ny
Old reliable!
January 26, 2020
Gets the job done !
ConsNot as sturdy as original formula
By Steve
Tuckerton
Gulp is the best
January 26, 2020
Love gulp. 5 inch grubs was the feat idea they had
By Jeremy
Quakertown, PA
Necessary Evil
January 4, 2020
These things catch fish. You will go through them, but they will keep you catching. Try not to pull them away from smaller fish to save tails.
ProsGold Standard Fluke Teaser
ConsDurability of Tails
By joe
great neck, NY
the best
December 11, 2019
love gulp, i buy the 6 inch and after it gets chewed up i make it a 5 inch, only negative is the cost.but no running to the bait shop great for big fluke
By David
Manhattan Beach Ca.
Lingcod and Halibut
July 28, 2019
These baits produce. Great realistic action and the lingcod love them. Any rockfish will swallow these things whole
By LDS
NJ and Florida
Good for larger bucktails
July 12, 2019
Great color and sized well for larger bucktails. Fluke magnets.
ProsGood tail action, color is a proven fish catcher. Sized large enough for good action on a larger bucktail.
ConsTails get chewed up, but they catch fish
By tflo
Ocean City, NJ
its gulp! just buy it
July 1, 2019
if you've used gulp before then why are you even reading reviews? if not, just buy it. bigger gulp! for bigger (and even smaller) fish, smaller gulp! for all fish. i like the big grub for targeting large flounder, but beware if shorts or sea bass are around bc these tails won't last long. not a bad idea to keep a jar of otter tails with you to tip these grubs when the tails get bit off (that's a john skinner tip and it has served me well)
By Steve
NJ
Quality
June 23, 2019
quality, long lasting and my go to color for finicky Fluke
Prosquality, long lasting
By thekad
New Jersey
Gulp is a fantastic proven bait
June 13, 2019
Gulp 5" and 6" grubs work great for fluke, cod, stripers etc.
By James
Great Neck, NY
Salmon Gulp is the hot new color the past couple of seasons
May 29, 2019
Like my title said, these seem to be the color that fish want to attack the past couple of years. My favorite is white but these Salmon ones have produced good results as well
By James
Great Neck, NY
My favorite Berkley product
May 29, 2019
I have caught all sorts of fish with the white Berkley Grub! They are my favorite and I find them to be the best color in general when you're not sure which to use.
By Big J.
Oneonta NY
Best color ever
May 25, 2019
The salmon color gulp has got me more fish the fish can't resist it
By Grigoriy
Boston, MA
Fluke fishing grub
May 15, 2019
This grub has excellent action. Work well with tsunami glass minnow. In this combination fluke takes it aggressively. I also noticed it is more specific for fluke and less for sea bass.
ProsEasy to use Attracts fish Scent
ConsOnly works with big hooks
By Scott
Williamstown, PA
Berkley GSG6 Saltwater Grub - Salmon
April 29, 2019
These are everything I heard about. buy them now before they are gone.
By NovaRyder
Cortlandt Manor, NY
Gulp - Nuclear Chicken Grub
March 23, 2019
Primarily use for fluke, seems to attract and get the hits. Good product and worth the expense.
ProsPlenty of hits to bring up.
ConsNone
By NovaRyder
Cortlandt Manor, NY
Gulp - Saltwater Grub
March 23, 2019
Used jigging for grouper got constant hits and landed several. Color and tail seems to bring them in for the bit. Will not leave home without it.
ProsPositive action
ConsNone
By Leo
Medford, NJ
Gulp
February 27, 2019
Salmon color can't wait to try them. Gulp always great
By Robert
Point Pleasant, NJ
Berkley gulp
January 31, 2019
Great product, best bait for summer flounder. Get it now before its all gone!
Prosworks better than live bait
By jon
oceanport, NJ
go to fluke bait
January 30, 2019
unbeatable for fluke fishing. Gulp grub outfished everything else I used.
Prosbig tail creates a lot of action
Consthey don't sell grub in the containers like for the swimming mullet and shrimp
By Lonnie
Panama City Florida
Berkley GSG6 Saltwater Grub
January 25, 2019
Berkley saltwater grub- salmon.Is a must for any fishing for Red fish.
ProsYou get what you pay for.
By Joe g.
Nj
Baits
January 22, 2019
Better baits with Berkeley
By The K.
Jersey
Great Bait
January 3, 2019
This may be the best bait gulp has produced.
By Vinny
New Jersey
6” Gulp penny
November 25, 2018
I use this one the least only when I run out but this still will get the job done
By david c.
West Chester pa
salmon grub
November 6, 2018
perfect for tipping the end of a buck tail, you can cut the grub down as well, I love the orange on one hook and a white grub for the other hook fluke fishing
By Herbie
Wantage,NJ
Smokin' Salmon
November 4, 2018
Heard this was the hot late season color for fluke 2018, didn't get a chance to get out for the later season fluke but this is my go to cod fishing trailer. Tie this in front of a 12oz. gold hammered jig and you've got a groundfish slayer.
ProsPerfect color, action and can stand up to a few fish
Consnone
By Anthony
Cape May
Salomon Gulp
November 1, 2018
Have not used as of yet but know people that have used them and had good results
By Bryan
New Jersey
Gulp
October 28, 2018
Works great.
By Michaelangelo N.
Pearland,tx
4 pounder
October 27, 2018
Catch a 4 pounder near the galveston area
ProsFish like the color
ConsHard to find a proper jig head that it won't slide off of
By Ramon
Alexandria, VA
Salmon gulp craze
October 25, 2018
These things flew off the shelf. Gulp are great and having a variety in colors is good. Stocked up on these in case this color dosent restock.
By Jessie
waldwick, nj
fantastic bait!
June 27, 2018
been using them for years for fluke and Seabass. might even pick up a random tiderunner with them. try them on a jig head and you can't fail!
Prosgreat bait for pretty much anything bottom fishing
Consnone
By the k.
New Jersey
Great baits
June 3, 2018
Work great for fluke and cod.
By the k.
New Jersey
Love these baits
June 3, 2018
Scent and action. works great for fluke,seabass, cod.
By SHANNON B.
outer banks nc
VERY NICE PODUCT
May 18, 2018
TACKLEDIRECT HAS POSSIBLY THE BEST CUSTOMER SERVICE OF ANY GROUP I DEAL WITH IN THE FISHING WORLD..
By The K.
Jersey
Great Bait
March 29, 2018
The saltwater grub works great on a bucktail for fluke and as a teaser for cod.
By Jesse S.
Jasper, Mi
Gulp Grubs
March 14, 2018
Used for jigging in the keys with spro heads. Found out quickly they were not durable enough for the kings and blues that were inhabiting the wreck we were fishing. Went through an entire bag of tails in less than 30 minutes.
By Dave
Asbury Park, NJ
Fluke can't resist!
February 7, 2018
Just the right profile to entice even the most finicky.
By Michael
Pelham, NY
Fluke Killer
June 10, 2016
The 'new penny' pattern is by far my favorite type of gulp to use to Fluke - off a dropper loop this is sensational.
By Craig
Ringwood, NJ
Fluke Candy
March 24, 2016
These have become my go to fluke bait. We always bring squid and spearing with us but there are not many days the real stuff out performs the gulp. I have used all colors with success but have my favorites. Only negative i can ever say is when the blue fish are around they bite the tails off these guys really easily but that does not happen often.
By Tony
Pasadena, MD
Best trailer
December 3, 2015
These are prefect trailer for buck tails for trolling. I also use them on umbrella rigs as teasers. very durable to withstand multiple strikes.
By Mike
Webster, NY
Good Artificial for a bucktail
July 20, 2015
They are tough and hold up well used this with a bucktail and it did catch fluke. This fits better on a bucktail hook than a jig because of the smaller head.
ConsNeed to keep sealed or will tryout
By Michael
E Moriches, NY
Worked on Fluke
July 16, 2015
Used this with a bucktail to catch fluke can't say they out fish live bait compared to others fishing with kellys and spearing on the boat but it did catch larger fluke. This fits better on a hook than a jig because the grub has a narrower head. They are tough and hold up well. Good product.
ProsScented durable Berkely rebate promo
ConsLive bait is free
By Michael
Marietta, GA
Great
April 23, 2015
My favorite soft bait, throw them on a buck tail and these things are irresistible!
By JC
Victoria, BC
Awesome Grubs
February 15, 2015
Great Price and fast shipping!
By andre
Boynton beach, FL
good bucktail trailer
January 20, 2015
This grub tail is great for grouper as a bucktail trailer. It has a great action and is very durable
By Jon
Eatontown, NJ
A Great Teaser Fished Above a Spro For Fluke or When Added to the Spro
December 17, 2014
The Fluke really love them and I really enjoyed eating all of the Fluke I caught on them!!!
By Dustin
SPRINGFIELD, NJ
Awesome for Fluke
October 5, 2014
I bought these for Fluke fishing and had a few real nice fish with them. They have a lot of action just letting them drift but I also had a lot of hookups with a fast jigging motion. A few times I had a fish just as soon as I hit the bottom. They hold up pretty well and I only needed to change bait a few times in a day, mostly from dogfish tearing them up. These are larger bait so you will tend to get the larger fish with them.
By Todd
Stuart, FL
Great Saltwater Bait!
July 29, 2014
Use them with a jig head to catch cobia or send to the bottom for grouper and snapper. They are tough and hold up well. Good product.
By Jason
Red Lion, PA
best bait for fluke
June 4, 2014
Have been using the sw grub for fluke! Cant be any happier!
ProsGreat action!
ConsPrice
By Josue
New York
great action
April 17, 2014
grubs on a bucktail can't get any better then that!action they provide for striped bass fishing is intense! u add both & believe me u will get more fish
By Alejandro G.
South Florida
Gulp Ease
March 10, 2014
When I'm tired of hardcore jigging or want to catch groupers and snappers the easy way I add one of these two a 2oz-8oz jig and just let the tail draw them in on the drift and the scent make them bite. I've found that imparting no action tends to draw the most strikes but I've also caught fish dropping and then retrieving Calofornia YoYo style.
ProsScent and action
ConsThose packs don't seal well and best to place into an air tight container once they are opened. Would be nice if they sold them in larger packs in the tubs like the 4" shrimp.
By Alan
Eagle Point, OR
Good for jigging
January 6, 2014
These are good on lings and halibut
By C K.
N.C.
Berkley gulp
December 23, 2013
Have not use this yet, but I do look forward to that time!!!!!
By Christopher
nj
great for flounder
December 22, 2013
these go great on a bucktail or on a top teaser on a bare hook. This is just one variety of the regular gulp arsenal I carry
By Joe
Brooksville, FL
Great bait
December 22, 2013
Use in saltwater for trout, flounder and redfish
ProsScented bait works significantly better than unscented. I only use scented baits.
By Ronald
Allentown, NJ
Berkley Gulp
October 20, 2013
Wouldn't go on a trip without them. For me, over the past several years gulp has proven to be just as effective as fresh cut bait. Just wish they were a little more durable.
By Wayne
Allentown, NJ
Berkley grub
July 26, 2013
Can't have too many of these!
By Denis
Canberra, Australia
Berkeley soft plasitcs
October 28, 2012
One of the best grubs I have discovered for snapper and king fish when jigging soft plastics.
ProsEverything especially the design
By Jonathan
Washington, NJ
Fluke killer
October 1, 2012
I like to use the Berkley Gulp grubs on the bucktail and on the dropper loop hooks when fishing for summer flounder in NJ. Catch keepers at 3-1 or maybe 4-1 compared to squid/killie or squid/spearing.
Prosbest fluke bait
Conssome of the newer ones seem softer than the ones I had last year, so they don't hold up as long
By adam
brooklyn
very efficient
September 6, 2012
i used it for fluke fishing and i caught nice fluke ans some very nice sea bass up yo 5 lbs . very nie and highly recommended when fish is picky and does not respond to regular colors
Proseffective stay on hook longer than the bait no mess like with regular bait
Consnone

Page 1 of 1