Track Orders
Don't know your order
number? Log in
1-888-354-7335

4.6
30 Reviews
5
73% (22)
4
17% (5)
3
10% (3)
2
0% (0)
1
0% (0)
93% Recommend this product (28 of 30 responses)
By william
New Jersey
April 4, 2019
Never really used shimano for saltwater for extended periods
Tried them a few times, but was always more of a Penn guy when it came down to saltwater. They seem to be smooth, but i've been burnt before by the likes of Daiwa and their crossover to saltwater from fresh. One minute the reel is fine, and the next the internals are blowing up in your hands. Much rather stick to my proven Penns and Avets when it comes to saltwater applications.
By River W.
WA, Olympic Peninsula
September 26, 2018
Great Plug and Diver pullers!
Go to reel for anadromous species hunting in the NW United States. These have just the right amount of line capacity t get it done in a guided environment, and allow for a 5 minute line change when a newbie gets spooled..... Very durable, low maintenance, and not a bank breaker; yet ready for everyday use. Solid choice, solid reputation, good price for a tough player. Shimano has never let me down.
ProsRight capacity. Drag works well, even if clamped down too much; forgiving reel. Easy for anyone to use and learn. Easy to maintain, with a TINY bit of maintenance.
ConsSome say cost, think it is worth the money.
By Hector
Tampa, Florida
December 18, 2017
Perfection
I'm new to round reels and have loved this one since day one. It's weight and build quality are amazing and have shown how good they are time and time again. I've spooled it with 30lb braid and a 20lb fluorocarbon leader for saltwater fishing. It has been reeling buttery smooth and the brake on it is amazing. I did my research before buying and it hasn't let me down. If you're debating getting this reel, don't. Buy it and see for yourself how awesome it is!
ProsButtery smooth retrieve Strong brake Gorgeous finish Decent line capacity
ConsI can't really think of any
By Jeffrey
MONROE TWP, NJ
September 21, 2017
Calcutta is Great
this is my 6th Shimano Calcutta, Get design and function. brought in many fish (salt Water) years of use and no problems.
ProsAluminum Frame
Consnone
By PLN
Puyallup, WA
September 8, 2017
Awesome Reel
I've used these reels for salmon for years. Love them!
ProsThumb button for to release bail Ultra-smooth drag
By Beau
Dickinson, TX
October 4, 2016
Saltwater Pier fishing
This reel is awesome for fishing from a pier for reds and other heavy hitting bottom feeders.
ProsBeautiful Reel Smooth Casting
ConsDrag is a little on the light side
By Ethan
Birmingham, AL
May 28, 2016
Best Reel Ever
This truly is the best reel ever. I have caught 30lb tarpon and 45lb back drum on this reel and there is no jerkiness in the drag and the retrieval is smooth as glass. Many people complain that the reel is too heavy, but if you want a built tough heavy fish catching machine this is the way to go. People complain about the line knotting up because the guide eye does not move when a fish takes drag but I have never had this problem. I use suffix superior monofilament on this reel.
Prosheavy duty smooth retrieve, casting, reeling Increasing drag as you lose line
Consnone
By Gerardo
Montevideo, Uruguay
March 26, 2016
Excellent reel
Tremendo reel. Muy suave para recoger. Fuerte, cómodo en la mano. LO compré para pescar desde el kayak. tamaño ideal.
Prosfuerte suave para tirar y recoger
Cons----
By Kevin
Orange Beach, AL
February 28, 2016
Best reel I have ever owned
I have had a 200B for 15 years. This thing is a workhorse and is the smoothest, most reliable reel I have ever owned. It will catch anything from bass, to redfish, to bonita. Great all around light tackle reel.
By myong
long Island, NY
July 7, 2015
great for inshore / ocean fluke fishing
own this reel for five years and great for fluke fishing.
Prosworks great for casting as well
By Chris
Milton, New York
February 15, 2015
Great reel
light and strong. own three of these.
Proslight and strong.
Consnone
By Cristian
Lake worth, FL
January 30, 2015
great invetment
this reel is one of my favorite paired up with a volatile does the job caught some of my biggest fish on this reel
By brent
Kingston, OH
December 22, 2014
Awesome reel
The only thing I got to say is wow what a reel. I used to use ABU GARCIA 6500 cs pro rockets for catfishing. Well I started looking at other reels. So one summer we took a trip to Florida so one day we decided to go fishing with a friend of mine. So we were going to target some blue fish up around the piers so when we got there he ask me if I ever used a bait caster and I said yes. So he pulled out a Calcutta 400b and let me tell you what first fish I caught on that reel I was hooked so when I got home from our trip I ordered 2 of these reels and bought two more for my son and I tell you what I'M staying with this reel I caught big fish on these reels and they haven't let me down yet. So if you are thinking about getting one don't think just get one and you will see for yourself trust me you will not regret it.
ProsIts well built and can handle big fish
By Mateo
Argentina
November 27, 2014
10 points!
everithig excelent! thanks!
Prosfast delyver!
By Daniel
Port charlotte florida
August 8, 2014
Great reel for bass but nothing bigger
Great real but when drag goes out the guide does not move with the line so it causes nots had to reed pool it 2 times
By Jose
West Hills, CA
June 20, 2014
Great versatile reel.
Use it for fresh and saltwater, all around a great reel.
By David
Hutchinson, Kansas
June 19, 2014
Great high quality all around reel
I have wanted this reel for sometime and finally it has arrived. The Calcutta 400b is everything you could want in a heavy duty high quality reel. From musky to largemouth bass to catfish. Very smooth and a powerful drag that will put the brakes on almost anything your after.
ProsSolid high quality construction. Built with the finest components to last a lifetime with the proper maintenance and care.
ConsNone !
By Don
East Lyme, CT
February 8, 2014
Excellent
Top notch saltwater reel. Great reel !
By Joe V.
Santa Maria Ca
January 29, 2014
Flaming Gorge Jigging
I LOVE IT! 40# Lake Trout.
By Sean
west islip, NY
December 22, 2013
Good reel, but poor design
It is a nice looking reel but the spool is considerably smaller than the rest of the reel and not only makes it look weird but also makes it hard to palm the reel and keep your thumb on the spool. The reel is very wide which adds to the lack of comfort. I find it to be not as powerful as i expected. I have used mine for livelining as well as jigging for bass and blues and it seems like it just doesn't put out the power that other reels i use for the same function do. I think for the price, you can go with something smaller and better designed
ConsWide body, small spool, a little heavy
By Sean
west islip, NY
December 22, 2013
Great reel
This is a great lightweight reel that can be used for a wide variety of fishing. I use mine for fluke and bottom fishing. I have had mine for 5 years now and have never had a problem with it. This winter i will be installing the upgraded drag washers and a power handle
ProsLightweight and simple
By Scott D.
Pacifica
August 15, 2013
Great reel for the price
I use this reel for lake trolling for trout. It's lite weight and perfect for 12" rainbows but has no problem reeling in a 10 pound Lahontan Cutthroat from Pyramid Lake, Nevada.
By Big S.
Midwestern U.S.
August 12, 2013
First impression - Looks real nice, but a bit heavy.
Upon taking it out of the box, I was impressed. The reason I bought this reel was based on durability and excellent drag. As for the long haul, ask again when the next generation uses it. This thing is built like a tank. I'll never wear it out. I fought several reel buster carp and saw excellent performance in the drag. They were thirty plus inch carp (25 pound class), and the drag preformed like a hydro-static snubber; no jerkiness at all. Adjustments to the line braking features was fairly simple if you know what you have to do. Most folks now days are clueless in that regard. Too bad; this reel is a joy to use. But, most new style bait-casters can perform for the knowledgeable angler. The lack of line twist, better drag, and longevity, make having to learn how to use the bait-casting reel worth your effort. Buy one; learn how to us it, and enjoy the fishing.
ProsSmooth runner Excellent drag Top quality workmanship
ConsWeight (this is why the last so long)
By Michael
Pontiac, IL
June 28, 2013
Beautifully made reel, but lacking in ability.
This reel is really well made, pleasing to handle and look at. That being said, I feel it is not suitable for many fishing styles. It is quite heavy to hold and use all day. I ordered it sight unseen, and found it physically larger than I expected. I spooled it with 100lb PowerPro braid, and couldn't fill the spool with the yardage expected from the spec sheet. For the overall size it just doesn't hold very much line. The drag is smooth but at max feels just less than I hoped (sorry I have no scale to measure actual pressure) The reel is wide and imparts a lot of wobble on the retrieve. Casting, even with a lot of weight was a disappointment. I have since cleaned and oiled the spool bearings with a synthetic reel oil and have improved casting distance quite a bit. The manual spool engage/disengage is a chore. I wish the reel was a bit more narrow and had a thumb bar release. I am still searching for the best way to use this reel in my fishing arsenal.
ProsWell made and smooth operation.
ConsOverall design does not lend itself well to most fishing styles I have tried to use it for.
By Robert M.
Holmdel, NJ 07733
June 20, 2013
The best fluking reel made!
This is the best all around reel, and the best fluking reel. Plus, cleaning is only two knobs away, and you are in and the reel doesn't explode in your face. I love the drag, and the ease of casting, I cast from the boat, and get a good 35 yards. I have also, caught many stripers this spring with no problem. I use Nanofill 10lb for fluke and PowerPro Super 8 Slick 15lb for stripers Thanks TD RJ
Pros1. Ease of cleaning 2. Casting 3. Great drag
ConsNone
By Tim
Garner, NC
March 17, 2013
Shimano Calcutta CT200GTB
I love this reel. Light weight with great power to land those angry reds. Great casting, smooth excellent reel. Built to last.
By dlbarlet
nj
February 5, 2013
dale barlet
the reel is just what i was looking for. SERIVICE was super thank you
By Scott D.
Pacifica, CA
January 14, 2013
Great reel for the price
I have my Calcutta B CT400B paired with a gloomis MBR 842C GLX. This reel is perfect for fishing leadcore line for 5 pound trout at Eaglelake, CA. I also use this reel for lite tackle mooching for strippers and halibut in the San Francisco bay.
By Anthony
Miami Florida
January 3, 2013
Fantastic live bait reel
I purchased this reel for quick pitching of live bait. So far it has exceeded my expectations. The drag is tough enough for the big fish but smooth during retrieval. The frame is clean and light. Great all around live bait casiting reel
ProsLight, smooth, good drag
Consnone yet
By Dave
Pasadena, Md.
September 23, 2012
Shimano Calcutta B CT200GTB
This is a very comfortable and versitile reel for a variety of saltwater applications including: Casting plugs to breaking fish. Drifting live or dead bait for stripers fluke or bluefish. I would have given it 5 stars if the levelwind was non-disengaging. I believe this is hard on the levelwind when a big fish runs off drag and the line is at a steep angle to the spool.
ProsVery smooth operation of the drag and when cranking. Small size makes it very easy to handle. Fit and finish are second to none.
ConsDisengaging level-wind.

Page 1 of 1


Sign up for exclusive sales and offers
Be the first to know about product news, exclusive sales and events.
TOP RUBBER BAITS FOR SPRING STRIPERS
Fri, 26 Apr 2019
Striper fishing is lit up right now in New Jersey, and its just the start of the spring run. While there are varied tactics to catch bass via trolling, livelining, snag-n-drop, etc. jigging bass with soft baits is always an adrenaline juiced affair... Read More
In-Store Events & Promotions
Back Bay Kayak Fishing Seminar
at TackleDirect Retail Store
May 18, 2019
10AM - 11AM
New product reviews and guides
Contact Us
Call or visit our retail store today! 6825 Tilton Rd Bldg C
Egg Harbor Township, NJ
08234-4426, USA
1-888-354-7335 Toll Free US/CAN
1-609-788-3819 DIRECT INT'L
8am-6pm ET Mon - Fri
9am-6pm ET Sat
© 1997-2019 TackleDirect® All rights reserved