4.7
87 Reviews
5
80% (70)
4
15% (13)
3
2% (2)
2
0% (0)
1
2% (2)
99% Recommend this product (86 of 87 responses)
By Justin
Florida
Best bang for the buck
April 13, 2020
Use my 4000bg for mostly snook fishing with twitch baits. Paired with 15lb braid it is a perfect setup
By Cobb
Glenmoore, PA
Amazing reel
March 1, 2020
For the price this reel is incredible it is comparable to my stradics which cost twice as much. Good drag and feels sturdy
ProsCheap and has a very easy to use line holder easy to clean and feels very sturdy
ConsKind of heavy but for its strength and smoothness the weight is not a big deal.
By Jimmy B.
Corning, New york (Upstate Western New York) Near
Best, smoothest reels I own, even my Stradic that 10 years old is starting to become tight
February 15, 2020
I originally bought the BG 3000 for use on a medium heavy st croix rod for pike fishing. I fell in love with it right away, great drag, smooth reeling and cast a mile. So anyway I just bought 2 more of the 2500 size to go on Sixgill Medium Light rods for walleye fishing. These are exceptional reels especially for the price so I will definitely be buying more to outfit the remainder of my other ten spinning rods. My next purchase is going to be a 4000 size to go on my 8'6" Heavy action musky rod and another 4000 size to go on my 10'6" Medium Heavy salmon/steelhead rod which currently has a 4000 shimano stradic on it. I have the 3000 size wound with 30lb Power Pro Braid and the two 2500 size wound with 15lb Pokee Poizen Braid. These rods are great because they have a rubber strip on the spool that makes them braid ready. I definitely recommend these reels to all my friends and family as well as anybody looking for a great reel with great performance!!
By Andrew
Roanoke Va
Awesome Reel !
February 14, 2020
I have nothing but praise for this reel...it totally lives up to all the hype...I have two of them and use them in the surf paired with St Croix rods and am in love with the strength of the drag and the reels overall smoothness and durability...
ProsDurability, smoothness, price
ConsNone
By scott
West Palm Beach
Solid reel for the price
February 5, 2020
After using this reel for a combination of bait fishing with sabikis, mackeral fishing and an occasional Kingfish, i was pleased with how the drag held up. The paint on the reel fails pretty quickly, but it has not affected function.
ProsInexpensive Good drag system
Conspaint is not going to last very long, so take good care of the reel after each use
By Reese
,
Great reel
January 31, 2020
For the price this reel is the best you can get around 100$. The drag is easy to use. It is very smooth and it can hold quite a bit of line
ProsSmooth Handle fits nice in hand
By Bluewater B.
Rockport Texas
Great Reel
January 12, 2020
I've had my 4000 BG now for one season. I love this reel. Super Smooth drag, good line lay which translates to long casts. Great reel for the budget minded.
ProsWell built, looks great, can handle heavy weight fish for its class size
ConsThe reel is a little heavy and the bail can trip premature on long casts.
By Tyler
Delaware
Hard to beat
December 18, 2019
I’ve used the 3000, 4000 and 5000 sizes for just about everything over the past couple years and in my opinion they’re the best in their price range and even comparable to some alternatives that are $100 more.
By Rob B.
TREASURE iSLAND FLORIDA
4000
December 6, 2019
Super smooth, beautiful tough finish. perfectly balanced.
ProsSuper smooth, beautiful tough finish. perfectly balanced.
ConsBail wire could be a little more robust, kinda thin for such a great reel
By Bikash S.
Dhaka, Bangladesh
Beauty and efficiency
December 6, 2019
Beautifully made and meticulously arranged all moving components...long distance casting is so easy and retrieving my bg 4000 reel have the feel like knifing in butter... the handle knob is exactly what I wanted. Click sound is not that loud but sweet. Presently I’m using this reel with Fenwick Methods Travel Rod without any problem and very satisfied... Thanks to TD for delivering the reel safely on time.
ProsLight weight, Metal body, powerful smooth drag & retrieve... overall very nice finishing.
ConsNone yet ...
By cam
New Jersey
Awesome
November 20, 2019
I use the 5500 for Stripers, Bluefish and Mahi. Smooth drag and feels great for the price. Feels smoother and more durable than most competing reels in this category.
ProsLight, smooth, strong
By Jim
Pocono Lake PA
Premium reel at great price
November 20, 2019
The Daiwa BG series is an excellent choice for someone looking to spend $90 to $130. What you get is a reel with features found on reels costing up to $200 or more.
ProsPriced right Very smooth
By Kenny
,Maryland
Absolutely the best budget reel
November 17, 2019
I purchased the 4500 for the surf and to use as a cheap reel for travel incase anything happens, boy this thing is built like a tank. Remember daiwa is a size larger than your average manufacture so if you need a 2000 buy a 1000
By Alex
NJ
bullet proof
November 10, 2019
The BG line is tough as nails especially at the price point. Smooth drag. And they look great
ProsDurability
By Salvatore
, Florida
Beast of a reel
October 16, 2019
Just a tank of a reel very durable
By Seth
ESCONDIDO, CA
Awesome
August 5, 2019
Great reel. Paired it up with a 7'6" MH 30lb Californian tri helix. It is a sweet setup for top water jerk and popper baits. Running 50# power pro braid.
By Dillon
Delaware
Great Reel
July 29, 2019
I've been using this reel all summer long vertical jigging throwing plugs and it's been great.
By Eathen
Palmcoast
Amazing reel
July 23, 2019
Great reel I got the 8000 reel and it was able to bottom fish during red snapper season and caught 21 lb red snapper
ProsSmooth
ConsHigh gear ratio slips a little while bottom fishing
By charles r.
Norcal
Crushes the competition
July 18, 2019
Best $100.00 reel on the market---period! Well built, solid you can feel it. Top of the line bearings, smooth drag . The machined handle threads in and, zero play between the handle and reel body, no back and forth between the handle and the handle knob. I've been a Shimano guy for years but, they have nothing near this good unless it's 2-3 times the price. Never thought I'd say it but it's true.
Prosall features
Consnone
By Daniel
Houston, Texas
Great Reel! Highly Recommend!
July 17, 2019
This is a wonderful reel, I’ve owned the 4000 model for over a year now and it’s still silky smooth. It’s taken numerous dunks under the water in the surf, and been dropped many times in the lakes and creeks surrounding my neighborhood. After some fair self-servicing and cleaning, it’s as smooth as the day I bought it. The only complaint I have is the line roller bushing, it’s worn thin, wish is was a bearing instead.
ProsGreat all around reel!
ConsRoller bushing has worn thin and line roller get stuck sometimes.
By Rob
Corpus Christi
Diawa bg
July 15, 2019
Bought a 5000 series bg powerful reel slammed big bull reds jacks and few other species definitely recommend this reel for the price
By Thomas
Ellington, CT
Awesome Reel
July 11, 2019
Just purchased the Daiwa BG6500 reel to put on a 12' surf rod. This reel holds plenty of 17LB mono and the drag system is outstanding. Been catching Stripers off the beac in the 15-20lb range and I cant say enough about this reel. But One, You'll love it!
ProsLine Capacity Smooth Drab. Well balanced Smooth cranking
Conshaven't found any yet!!!
By Devon
Melbourne Beach, FL
perfect reel for saltwater
June 30, 2019
I bought the 3000 size to pair with a 7 foot star rod which is a perfectly balanced work horse for saltwater.
By Harrison
Myrtle beach
Best value!
May 20, 2019
The 2500 is just a perfect reel all around. Talked my self into the BG over the stradic and was very happy with my decision. First trip out and very impressed catching trout effortlessly. This reel is just as good as the high dollars especially for the smaller inshore fish.
ProsSuper smooth and design
ConsLack of Drag and odd sizes
By A D.
Ocean Isle Beach
Good construction and good value
May 19, 2019
Much bigger and stronger than the BG4000. Great value.
By Moose
Florida
2500BG for Inshore
April 30, 2019
Used primarily for inshore/flats fishing in Florida and works really well. Smooth drag and casts very far. It's been dropped underwater, in mud and only been rinsed after and is holding up great.
ProsVery smooth and solid, feels like a much more expensive reel.
By EDWARD G.
FLORIDA
Smooth as silk
April 4, 2019
bought the 8000 and matched it wit an Ocean Master 12 ft heavy strictly for surf casting on the gulf of Mexico Anna Maria to Lido Beach...amazing distance and smoothness ..400 yards of 80 pound power pro...catching blacktips, sailcats, bonnetheads,houndfish..and sand sharks...no problem with this reel...just keep on top of it ..it is not waterproof ...also have a 6500 model and a 5000 model ..
Prossmooth reliable and strong..
Consneeds periodic maintenance...
By Gary
Victoria , Mahe
Value for Money
April 2, 2019
Overall good quality reel. Shipping was quick too. Only draw back would be the weight, a little on the heavy side. But good gear none the less
By Joshua
Surfside, Florida
Amazing value
March 19, 2019
Bought the 4500 as an all-arounder for south florida.....surfcasting, inshore and party boat fishing The reel is solidly engineered.
ProsSolidly engineered, smooth, price
ConsNone.
By Christian
Concord, Ontario
The Best Reel I've Ever Owned
March 6, 2019
I've been using a Daiwa Samurai as my main Freshwater reel for over 15 years now, so when I went surf fishing in Costa Rica, I turned to Daiwa again. This reel was well-rated and highly praised, so I thought, "why not?" By far the best reel I've ever owned; its smooth as silk, looks wonderful, feels wonderful and the drag is super smooth, with no issues. Its a 5000 with 65 pound Sufix 832 braid and paired with my rod, it can cast around 100 yards or so (perhaps even farther; need to better my technique!). The retrieve, as mentioned, is super smooth and it isn't that tiring to reel in, which I thought it would be at that size.
ProsGreat line capacity, smooth.
By Hunter
Jupiter, Florida
Great Reel at an Amazing Price
February 18, 2019
This is a great reel. I have caught many fish with this reel. I have the 8000 size and have it spooled with 20 pound monofilament. It is a great value. It has a lot of drag and line capacity, at a very light weight. It is also very smooth.
ProsGreat Price
Consnone
By Teckram
plaine magnien, Grand Port
good reel and fair price
February 17, 2019
i've used this reel for offshore with my tsunami elite blue water nothing can beat them specially the reel, so powerful with the drag system as well as smooth drag.
By Elias
Sebastian Inlet
Best $100 reel on the market
January 13, 2019
Awesome smooth reel that holds up to saltwater fairly well despite it being not sealed. Here in FL I witnessed a guy bring in an almost 6 foot Blacktip shark off the rocks with a popper and he was using a 4000 size BG! I couldn’t believe that little reel did it though it took almost 35 min. Almost spooled him but these reels are workhorses from what Ive seen and experienced.
ProsSuper smooth and still smooth after a year. Very easy to take apart and clean. Holds up well to saltwater for a nonsealed reel. Smooth powerful drag and big gears.
ConsSizing is larger than most reels of the same size. T handle knob is riveted on instead of screw.
By Fahad
SARASOTA, FL
4500
December 30, 2018
light weight
By Timothy
caravonica, Queensland
BG2000
December 27, 2018
Awesome little reel. extremely good for the price
By Henry A.
IL
Great reel.
December 19, 2018
Very good reel for salt water or fresh water happy with this reel would buy again.
By Matt G.
Alabama
Incredibly smooth for a great price.
December 17, 2018
Ive been transitioning my spinning reels over to BGs over the last couple of years. I was using a much more expensive reel from another manufacturer, these are less than half the price and are better reels. For the price, I dont think these can be beat.
By MACIO T.
FL
BG-3500
December 17, 2018
Super happy with this series of reel! Surprisingly smooth and durable! Great drag sensitivity as well...just a solid good looking reel that will last a long time if you just take care to service it as you should...
ProsSmooth! Tough! Durable
ConsWish it had an aluminum ball type handle...after a lot of retrieving the handle kinda rubs my fingers raw...
By Niko
,
A+
November 3, 2018
Smooth right out of the box and an absolute work horse. If you’re looking for something solid for the money I don’t think you can go wrong with this reel.
By Chandler
Valdosta, Georgia
Great product
November 3, 2018
Great spinning real for trout and redfishing
By don
suisun city, ca
BG6500
October 26, 2018
I recently received my 6500, I planned on using it for pier crabbing. Needed something with drag and strength to handle the dead weight. Tested it out on sturgeon, 4 oversized easily to the boat. Ordered a second one yesterday. Crabs don’t stand a chance!
ProsBuild quality + Smoothness + Price +
ConsNone so far.
By Brian
Chesapeake, VA
best value
October 11, 2018
For the sub $200 reel category, this is the best spinning reel on the market. It blows the Penn Battle out of the water in smoothness. Side by side, it feels like a Shimano Stradic. I actually bought the BG as a Stradic replacement when I lost a Stradic/Teramar combo to the ocean in my kayak. The drag is incredibly smooth.
Prosvalue, smoothness
Conscould have heavier drag settings
By Thomas
Cresskill, NJ
Good Value
August 17, 2018
Reel is light weight, extremely smooth and well constructed. Bail spring could be stronger. Overall a very good value
ProsLight weight Well constructed Smooth retrieve Affordable price
ConsBail spring could be stronger
By Bradb
Surrey bc
Good reel but defective drag?
August 8, 2018
Bought this reel casting 150lbs braided with 14 oz weight for sturgeon caught 3 fish with it all under 5 feet ... Theres no reason this reel should of broken so soon....
ProsGreat reel up until this issue
ConsDrag broke?? Wont tighten just keeps spinning
By Michael
Downey, CA
In love!
July 30, 2018
This review will probaly have a little bias but I absolutely love this reel, i wanted to test it out on a pier, loaded a sabiki rig on my surf rod and caught 7 decent size bonita and boy it was fuuuun! Bg 8000 perfect surf/jigging/offshore/inshore reel.
By MikeH
Douglassville, Pennsylvania
Outstanding reel
July 26, 2018
This reel is quite possibly one of the best on the market, at this price point.
ProsSmooth.....well built.....large capacity.....nice drag.
ConsNONE
By MikeH
Douglassville, Pennsylvania
Outstanding reel
July 26, 2018
I believe that this reel, and the others in this series are quite possible the best reel for the money at this price point.....great drag, and extremely smooth. I now have 3 different sizes in this series.
ProsSmooth.....large capacity.....great price.....nice drag.
ConsNONE
By ELIAS D.
Puerto Rico
Tremendo
July 2, 2018
Muy bien construido y balanceado. Un producto de esa calidad por ese precio solo se puede describir con una sola palabra WOW. Les puedo asegurar que tiene un drag brutal ya que pesque una barracuda de 4 pies con el.
Consninguno
By Benjamin
Decatur, GA
Very smooth!
June 26, 2018
This is a great reel for the price. Incredibly smooth, and built to last. I will definitely be buying more of these in the future!
By ray
NY
excellent price and performance for a quality reel
May 27, 2018
very smooth drag and weight is just awesome. my new fluke and scup reel!!
By Rick
Longwood, FL
Best reel for the money
April 26, 2018
This is my fourth Daiwa BG reel I've purchased. Fantastic reel, oversized spool and super smooth! I have this BG4000 paired with a St. Croix Mojo Inshore 7' med heavy rod & 30lb yellow braid. Best reels at the $100.00 price point. I will be buying more.
ProsCost Well built Smoothness Spool capacity
ConsNone, so far
By Yacov
brooklyn, new york
Great reel
April 23, 2018
Work really well! I catch allot earopen sea bass on him !
By Orlando
P. R.
Excelnet
April 15, 2018
Thank you very much, more than grateful and. ontento. Long live fishing
By Danny
New Jersey
great reel
March 14, 2018
i have this reel in 2 sizes never had any problems with them . smooth and reliable
By Peter
Connelly Springs, North Carolina
Review
March 8, 2018
Great Reel for the money. Much better than some $200 reels that I've fished with. Definitely worth the money.
ProsLooks and spool size.
ConsWeight.
By Morris
Harrisburg, PA
Received broken reel
February 6, 2018
Received BG1500 with broken internal gears. Reel grinds and does nor oscillate. Contacting TD now. to get exchange. Will update review once I get a working reel.
ConsReceived broken
By stonefly71
OhIo
Update
February 2, 2018
I fished this reel heavy last year for Hybird stripers(100) plus fish and not one single problem with it . I thnk I'm going for little bigger one on next order.
By DMB
GA
Excellent reel
January 26, 2018
Smooth & easy to use
By Omar
Lodge Hill, St Michael, Barbados
Worth 4 times the price
December 23, 2017
I love this reel, this is my Second BG and im pretty sure there's gonna be a third in my collection!!!
ProsWell built Value for $$$$ worth way more than what i paid Durable - (Had to dive off a boat into the ocean to get this and it didnt even sneeze at it.)
ConsSlightly more drag would be perfect, but its negligable!!!
By Pedro Z.
Uberlandia, Minas Gerais
Great cost-benefit
November 27, 2017
High performance reel with low cost. Very smoth
By Jimmy S.
Massapequa Park, New York
Great value
November 26, 2017
This reel saw a lot of action in the Spring when we had a good run of big Bluefish. Excellent cranking power. It had no problems handling Cocktails to low teen sized fish.
ProsPrice Cranking power Line management Casts well
ConsNot as smooth as more expensive reels No seals
By lawrence
tolar, TX
Great Value reel
November 25, 2017
Bought a 5000 for casting lures, very smooth, no handle slop and smooth powerful drag.
ProsPrice
ConsNone
By Meteb A.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Excited
November 8, 2017
Oh I'm so excited to use it, just unboxed it I'm so impressed by its weight and smoothness I can't wait to catch something on it I got BG 8000 to pair with SEA GATE MH boat Rod 7" I'll fix it this weekend and fish using it. so far I haven't used it yet, I will update you with my catch and photos. :)
ProsPrice weight smoothness works great inshore and offshore
Consnothing
By tom
New York City
outstanding reel
October 27, 2017
Has been landing me black fish, skate and blues very comfortably. The bail needs to be manually reset after casting , which may be better but took me a short amount of time to get used to.
By Mathew
Wappingers Falls, NY
Great reel
October 12, 2017
Unbelievably smooth reel for the cost. I use this reel on the cape cod canal.
ProsSmooth Price
By Jake
, Nantucket, Ma
Great Reel
October 10, 2017
In my opinion this reel is the best bang for your buck. Great construction and quality for the price. Only reason I gave it 4 stars was i wish the spool were just a little taller for better casting distance.
By Sebastien
Seychelles
Daiwa BG a 'reel' surprise
August 24, 2017
Ordered this reel from tackle direct, shipping was fast and got the reel in time for a fishing trip. This reel will surprise you for the money paid. Great drag and best of all works well for bottom fishing snapper or jigging trevally. Have been using it inshore around the Seychelles and has worked great so far.
ProsGreat drag and smooth flow
ConsNone so far...
By Luis s.
Michigan
Very smoth reel...exelent quality for the price...big capacity of braid..i used for jigging and vey strong reel
August 23, 2017
I tested it for jigging and very strong reel..very smotj and light weight reel..5 star thiss reel..very good Price and exelent quality..
ProsSmoth and strong contruction reel
ConsNone
By Christopher
Deltona
Best reel money can buy
August 18, 2017
I have had this reel for a few months and fished it a nice amount with no problems what so ever it to me is the best quality you're going to get with this price range I highly recommend this reel to anyone who is wanting a high quality reel for a small price.
ProsVery smooth drag, it's cheap for its quality, very smooth to reel and the weight of the reel is very light it has a deep spool which is great for holding more line
By jaime s.
Orlando,fl
Awesome reel
August 17, 2017
This has to be one of the best reels for the price!i even got another bg and it was awesome, I recommend this "BG"REEL
ProsGood price for a reel! Work horse
ConsNone
By Stonefly
Ohio
Great reel
August 4, 2017
So far it's been a great reel.I don't fish salt but it works great for fresh river Hybrid stripers.
ProsGood drag,
By alex
Ontario, Canada
Excelent reel
July 30, 2017
If you are looking for a multiple tasking reel, both solid, light and with a big line capacity, then go for the 4000!! I fish saltwater and freshwater, and this reel is perfect for any type of fish not over 8-10kg. No matter if you're looking for big bass, pike, musky, catfish, stripped bass, snaper, grouper, small jacks or small GTs, this reel is going to handle smoothly if you use it properly
ProsSwiss Army Reel!
By Steve S.
Florida
I'm replacing my Penn Battles with these!
June 4, 2017
These reels hold up to tough saltwater fishing longer than the Penn Battles. They are they only spinning reels I use now. But just like any saltwater reel, they need to be taken care, cleaned & re-greased Capt. Flounder, www.reelsmartsaltwaterfishing.com
By Jeff
Palm Beach, FL
Great reel for a great price
June 2, 2017
This reel has received good reviews all over the place and they seem to be true so far. The reel is super smooth and holds a lot of line with smooth drag. I've only used it a couple times so I will need to see how it holds up over time.
By Michael
Archer, FL
Like Butter!
June 1, 2017
This reel is as smooth as any reel at any price.
ProsSuper smooth. Both action and drag. It's not a shimano.
ConsNone
By Sean
NJ
Great reel, great price
April 13, 2017
Perfect reel for the price, smooth and well balanced.
By Kev
Jensen Beach FL
Smooth and durable
January 26, 2017
I've been using the 4500 size bg commercial fishing for Spanish mackerel here in FL. So far this season this reel has brought in 1000's of lbs of mackerel and has seen more abuse than the average fisherman would put a reel through in a lifetime. It is still buttery smooth to crank and the drag has not changed in smoothness since it came out of the box. Highly recommended. There is no better reel in this price point period!
By St J.
Orange County, CA
What a deal
January 14, 2017
Picked up a 5000 for Yellowtail fishing Catalina Island in spring and summer. Had a chance to get out at the very tail end of the 2016 season. It was lights out hit limits (average 10lbs) and caught and released until we exhausted ourselfs. This reels was such a pleasure to use. It was not even a challenge for the reel in any capacity. I'm sure you could bring in some seriously huge fish with these reels. I can't even imagine how powerful the 8000 series must me. All in all this is way more reel than the price is suggesting. This easily feels like a $200-$300 class reel, just impeccable quality. I'm going to pick up a 2500 soon for my bass rod. A+ for Daiwa.
ProsQuality Cost Looks
ConsNone
By Mitchman
Cape Cod
Great quality reel for the price!
December 22, 2016
I have not had a chance to use the reel yet but my initial impressions are this reel feels like the best in its class! The spool is deep and holds a ton of capacity. I like the all metal design except for the lightweight carbon rotor. Daiwa packed a lot into this package and I can't wait to use it!
Pros-Fit and finish -Line capacity -High Quality gears
Cons-A little heavy for its size but its not really a big deal
By Ed A.
Roseville, California
A NEW REEL FOR A CONVENTIONAL REEL USER
December 21, 2016
I'm used to fish using conventional reels on all my fishing trips until I tried this affordable spinning reel. It has the quality of the expensive reels on the market today in terms of smooth drag, tough on saltwater, almost indestructible aluminum body.
By Alex
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Great Reel!
December 6, 2016
I bought this reel recently and it is crazy smooth. Not to include the reel has a lot of power when reeling in fish. The smoothness and the power combined together make a great reel that makes it super easy to reel in big fish. The reel is also light so that is another pro.
ProsLight Smooth Lots of Power Cool Look Waterproof Drag
ConsCan turn the drag knob about 4 times before it reaches max drag.
By Brian D.
Watervliet NY
Nice Reel
November 23, 2016
Smooth good line lay and casts well. Retrieves easily and the handle is comfortable. Light weight but powerful. Great reel for its price range..
By Eddy
Miami, Fl.
Really great
November 2, 2016
Bought a 6500 after reading Alan Hawks glowing review and never had a better deal. Caught big snook and flounder and permit and Spanish mackerel. The reel is very smooth and great drag, I like fishing it.
ProsSmooth, great drag, great price.
Cons
By Michael M.
Texas
Best Bang for the Buck
October 24, 2016
The Daiwa BG2500 is possibly one of the best top-end reels available for the price. I have Quantum-PT Cabos, which are excellent, but the Daiwa BGs (Black Gold) have a couple of interesting features that shine in quality spinning reels designed for salt water. In addition to the BG2500, I also have a BG4500 and recently put both to the task. I did use 15 lb braid on the 2500, (30 lb braid on the 4500) which is my first use of braid on spinning tackle. On my recent trip to the surf down past the 4WD sign on Padre (Texas), I hooked into a jack of respectable size in the heavy surf which put the BG2500 through a decent drag test. I was impressed with the smoothness of the drag through both the high-speed line rips as well as the slower tugs. There wasn√Ę‚‚¨‚"Ęt the slightest hint of line jerking or jumping so common with other reels. The fish tired as quickly as I did but the little BG2500 really showed its stuff. I also hooked up a tug boat (either a big red or black drum) on the BG4500 that had me wondering if I had any stamina left to hold that joker, but it decided to head for other waters after five minutes and spit the lure without so much as a wink. After these first two tests, I must say I am absolutely impressed with the Daiwa BG2500 (and the BG4500). You can spend a lot more on spinning reels, but dollar for dollar I believe the Daiwa is the best buy.
ProsThe spool brake and braided line ready spool, the smooth drag, ease of disassembly, clening and lubing....just about everything.....
ConsA tad less easy to disconnect the auto bail on the 2500 than the larger reels, but not a big deal.
By Joe
Long Island, NY
Excellent reel - especially at this price
October 11, 2016
I purchased the 4000 size BG and took out on trip for false albacore. I figured this would be a good test. I caught 4 allies on this reel and I was so happy with the way the drag performed. Very smooth. Next trip I took the reel out for some back bay stripers. The reel handled amazing on bass up to 15 lbs. Hoping to get some bigger ones on it in the future!
ProsInexpensive, built very well, Nice smooth drag, light weight
Consnone so far at this price.
By Jacob s.
Saint Cloud
Awesome
September 28, 2016
Worth every penny water sealed drag lots of line capacity can't ask for much more
By C
San Antonio, Texas
Great reel for any situation and doesn't break the bank!!!!
August 22, 2016
I recieved my BG 8000 and man am I impressed. This is my first Daiwa reel (usually a Shimano&Penn guy) but once i saw this come out at ICAST 2016 I had to order one. It has all the quality features of a Penn Battle II and then some. More bearings/bigger spool/air rotor/Digigear/Higher drag power at about the same exact price and Daiwa has been known as a quality fishing company for decades worldwide...WHAT'S NOT TO LOVE?! The line capacity on this thing is insane and the braid ready spool makes it even crazier. Spool this with some Kastking braid and you'll be able to reel in just about any fish there is out there. With 33 lbs. Of drag, there is plenty of stopping power to wear down any fish. Definitely won't be nervous when i hook up a blacktip or tiger while surf fishing. As for any reel, just be sure to provide good maintenance and it should last a lifetime just like the old school BG. The 7 bearings make this thing super smooth and the black and gold make a very attractive reel. The digigear ensures the teeth of the gear will line up better and the anodized body helps prevent corrosion. The air rotor cuts down some weight on this heavy duty reel while also making it look very unique. This thing has a ton of torque and will be the number 1 reel on the market since it is such a great deal. Keep an eye out for this product, it's gonna blow up! #TeamDaiwa #DaiwaProud
ProsBraid Ready Spool High line capacity Anodized Attractive look Manual bail system Drag power Price Bearing count
ConsNONE

Page 1 of 1