4.6
19 Reviews
5
84% (16)
4
5% (1)
3
0% (0)
2
5% (1)
1
5% (1)
89% Recommend this product (17 of 19 responses)
By Matt
NY
Smooth like butter
December 3, 2020
Daiwa does it again.. great reel. Super smooth. Highly recommend
By Mike B.
Tampa, Floirda
Favorite reel - 5000 Daiwa Ballistic LT
July 11, 2020
Buttery smooth. So light, yet tough. Have caught 31.5 inch grouper, 29 inch Red Snapper, and a few big AJ on the first trip out. Got a jigging handle for it and can't think that a Stella would be any nicer. Get one. I want a 6000 now.
ProsLight, smooth, not that expensive
ConsNone
By Lou M.
Marlton NJ
Love it
July 4, 2020
Lightweight, great drag, extremely smooth. Not much else to say. It's an awesome reel.
By Will
Lady Lake, FL
Ballistic LT 6000
January 18, 2020
Ultra, ultra lightweight for a 6k reel. Smooth and long-casting as well. Great value for such a light 6k reel
ProsOne of the lightest 6k reels available Long-casting Good value
ConsNone so far
By James
Indianapolis,, IN
Daiwa Ballistic
December 3, 2019
Have the 3000 and use for finesse application with 4 to 6 pound fluro. It lays the line very well without twists or wind knots. Given the small line I back off the drag which is smooth and reliable. Casts Ned Rigs accurately and with distance even into moderate wind. Also have a Shimano CI4 which is also a great real. Perhaps this reel is slightly smoother if that is possible, and does have a stronger drag although for how I use them this is not an issue.
ProsSmall and very light Silky Smooth Casts for distance and with accuracy Smooth and reliable drag
ConsFor many applications The Daiwa Fuego can match this real at a much lower price, although a clearly heavier.
By Kenny
,
This things on another level
November 18, 2019
Until the Stradic FL came out, this was the best reel in its price range but now Shimano had to upgrade their stradic up to even compete with this reel in this price range. The ballistic is such a phenomenal reel and this is coming from a shimano fan boy
By Kyle
Meansville, GA
5000 Balistic LT.
July 20, 2019
First impressions were great, well packaged and on time. Put an entire 300yrd spool of 30ib braid on it and spent a week in Daytona, fishing hard all day in the surf. The reel handed amazing, and the more I fished the reel, the better it got. The sealing on this reel is amazing and kept all of the salt water and the sand out. 10 out of 10. Keep it up Diawa!!!
ProsWell sealed, super smooth, hard drag, and looks great
ConsA little pricey
By Nick B.
NEW YORK
Squeaky , grinding noises after a couple of bigger blues . WTF
May 28, 2019
I did my research and discovered amazing results and reviews fo the Daiwa ballisric 6000 I live on Long Island and have put this reel on my 9'2" custom Lami hoping to catch a few 25 to 30 pound stripes. After hooking into my first 10 pound blue , the reel started squeaking as if it had no answer to the impact of the fight.( my Lami performed flawlessly) Im kinda bummed because this real is light and smooth yet i feel cant handle the bigger saltwater fish. I am gonna take it for service and keep you guys posted, Hopefully I got the only lemon in the bunch and the rest are as flawless as the reviews say. I wish also they came with a beefier handle in the 6000 sized model. Thanks for letting me state my opinion.
ProsLIGHTWEIGHT AND SMOOTH
ConsNOT AS STRONG AS ADVERTISED. IN FACT PRETTY WHIMPY
By Joe P.
NY
Power in a small package
May 25, 2019
I recently purchased the Daiwa ballistic LT and i couldn't be happier with the performance of the drag on the BLSLT6000-C .This spring I've caught stripers up to 36lbs and numerous blue fish without a problem and the reel only weighs 11 oz . since getting this reel I have decided to get a 5000 and a 3000 size reel to use for fluke and false albacore in the fall.
ProsGreat dependable drag , lightweight and magseel
Consnone
By Timothy
Salley, SC
Amazing Reel
May 20, 2019
I have the 6000 which I use for offshore vertical jigging and pier fishing for snook. The reel is amazingly light. It has more capacity and about the same drag as the saragosa 8000, but it weights half as much. !!! It is also very smooth and freespinning. The 6000 is between a bg 5000 and 6500
ProsSmooth Lightweight Superior to competitors
ConsMagseal makes you send it to Daiwa for it to be serviced.
By Johnny
Monterey California
Awesome
March 12, 2019
This real is the truth light and solid pulling in stripe bass and large perch off the beach
ProsLite and solid
Cons4000 is smaller the bg 4000
By scott w.
PA
awesome reel
February 14, 2019
very light and smooth. will buy another.
Proslightweight/ mag sealed
By Don
LaGrange nc
Love this reel. The 1000 on a 6'6 star seagis med light and have fun. Ballistic is dominating in my area.
December 8, 2018
Ballistic reels are great. Mostly have 2500s but a 1000 on a star seagis ml 6'6 rod and weighs nothing and can handle most all inshore species .
By Ann
Goldsboro
Best spinning reel made for inshore salt or fresh water. Even though called a freshwater reel it's built to withstand salt.
November 18, 2018
Diawa made a great reel again. Even the original heavier ballistic reels are great . I sold most other reels like ci4s when the LT ballistic hit the market.
By SAEJIN
HICKSVILLE, NY
Light and tough
July 14, 2018
I use this reel for jigging gulp. This 5000 sized reel is lighter then most regular 3000 sized reel. Drag is smooth and it is able to pull good sized fish into the boat.
By Jerry y.
jeromeyang811@gmail.com
Twisted line!
March 16, 2018
Very poor for casting jigs.. I tried for 2 days and finally gave up. Ended up going back to shimano sustain the 3rd day while on the San Juan. The line just kept twisting up with loops causing several birds nests and cutting the line to clear the tangle. If I could return reels I would do it in a heartbeat. Very disappointing.
ConsWaste of money
By Olcay
T¼rkie
Müthiş
December 25, 2017
Bu makina neden t¼rkiyede halen yok ve ne zaman gelicek neden hep en gec kaliniyor
By Dan
Long Island, New York
Very Light, Surprisingly Strong
November 17, 2017
Very smooth, super light and handles large fish well.
By Donnie
, Goldsboro nc
Love ballistic reels. This new model is very light . .4 oz lighter than stradic ci4+2500
November 5, 2017
Just bought 2 2500s and love them. Lighter than ex models and $30 more but well worth it.

Page 1 of 1