4.7
212 Reviews
5
76% (162)
4
22% (47)
3
0% (1)
2
0% (1)
1
0% (1)
98% Recommend this product (207 of 212 responses)
By Winston
,
Farthest casting minnow lure in my experience
February 20, 2021
Ordered the 6in Floating (Blue Mackerel). Casts farther than the Bomber Longshot and Xrap-12. I feel like the weights inside shift more smoothly than the other minnow baits. Just give the lure a little shake with the rod to ensure all the weights have gone to the tail end for casting. Good action with stock treble hooks. Might replace the back treble with a 5/0 VMC Single Inline Hook to get more action.
By Nick
,
Good bait
February 15, 2021
Does the job. Nice action
By Paul
Ship Bottom, NJ
Excellent lure for most conditions
January 3, 2021
Easy lure to cast and works well with slow retrieve.
ProsLow cost, casts well
ConsHooks could be stronger.
By Sean
PLYMOUTH, MA
Must Have
December 28, 2020
Great lure, a must have for saltwater. Catches many different species, great action.
ProsPrice Good Action
ConsPaint will wear, no big deal
By Mattoc
Ortley beach
Great night lure
December 17, 2020
Great cast ability and action. Works well with blues and stripers and great for snook and tarpon in Florida
By Mattoc
Ortley Beach NJ
Striper crusher
December 17, 2020
These Daiwa lures work great for most salt water fish with great cast ability and action
By gabe
saco, ME
best striper lure
December 15, 2020
one of the best striper lures on the market i love this lure
Consi wish it woud cast beter
By X
NC
Great product
December 3, 2020
Great product just like the SP bullet version. This gives more action than the above and is great for finding fish in the sound/marshes.
By vmp
NY
Great Lure
December 3, 2020
This lure is one of the tried and true lures for Stripers. I call it a fish finder. Solid lure.
By HOWARD
Boston, MA
great lure....
July 17, 2020
perfect for casting into the canal....
By Captain
Boston, MA
This is the one that will always catch stripers
July 12, 2020
This is the perfect lure for the canal
By captain
Boston, MA
this is the one..
July 12, 2020
If you fish the cape cod canal this is the lure that will get it done
By Rob
Cape Cod
Great
June 16, 2020
Great lure, my go to for spring/early summer. Always catches fish!
By Frank
Staten Island
Great lure
June 15, 2020
Will catch bass and blues when the big bunker are around.
ProsSwims Great
ConsHooks are thin and will bend
By JohnnyT
Benicia, CA
Halibut killer!
June 12, 2020
Have been putting together an arsenal of trolling lures for my local kayak halibut fishing. Tackle direct has been one of my resources for this. Selection is good, and most of the items I purchased came to my door on the timeline expected.
Proslifelike, great action, works!
By Gaetano
New York
Great lure
June 12, 2020
Good color
By Lllfish
NJ
Diawa lures are tops
June 3, 2020
Well made / realistic
By Ed
Cape Cod, MA
Staple for New England Fishing
May 28, 2020
Always gets a strike
By THOMAS
PLYMOUTH, MA
Nice color when the pogies are around
May 21, 2020
Sinking action is nice for targeting fish bellow the bait ball
By ANGEL M.
TRUJILLO ALTO, PR
Verry good lure...
May 18, 2020
For predators in the shallow tropical reefs, like barracudas, snappers and hogfish its irresistible. Its floats and call predators in the area.
ProsPerformance.
ConsFor $5.99, nothing.
By Anthany
Philadelphia, PA
Favorite
April 29, 2020
My go to color, always catches
By Captain
Boston, MA
Great little knife
April 24, 2020
This is our new favorite lure for stripers.. Its early in the year and they were small but we caught and released a bunch of them.
By Captain
Boston, MA
great striper lure
April 24, 2020
This thing is perfect for catching stripers from the rocks. We tried the Sand eel color and the blue mackerel. Both caught fish.
By Ryan
New Jersey
great lure
April 18, 2020
The sp minnow is a staple lure i always have it with me and always catch fish with it. however, you will need to upgrade the hardware to better quality
ProsSounds great swims great look great
Consonly con is hooks arent the best
By Alberto
Costa Rica
Go to lure
April 9, 2020
This is my go to lure when I know big fish are around. SP Minnows have more than proven effectivity, and having that extra weight really helps covering a lot of area.
ProsSwim action like few other plugs
By J
Columbia, MD
Must have lures for stripers. Make sure you swap out the hardwares.
April 9, 2020
VMC x4 1/0 for belly and 3/0 inline single for rear. works great.
By Joe
Medford, NJ
MUST HAVE
March 25, 2020
Most widely used striper and bluefish lure in the northeast. It is an absolute classic and must have in every tackle box. It's my favorite striper lure and a great surf lure.
ProsGreat action
By Joey
South Jersey, new jersey
Go-to striper lure
March 24, 2020
This is my go-to striper plug all season round. Perfect for back back or surf casting and can cast for distance. Always a staple at any bait shop when asked about what the fish are hitting.
By Cobb
Glenmoore, PA
Great bait
March 4, 2020
works for trolling and can be used inshore and offshore works for all kinds of species
ProsWell made and versatile
ConsExpensive
By Tylor
Bishopville, MD
Great bait
February 26, 2020
Great for inshore and offshore fishing. Can troll this bait effectively and also use for inshore fishing applications.
By Germain
ME
Great Mackerel imitation
February 8, 2020
Great when the bait of choice is Mackerel, striped bass, bluefish, and more!
By Robert
East Hampton, NY
Cast a mile
January 21, 2020
Best casting minnow plug I have ever owned. Great for the Surfcasting in the Northeast.
By TDM
RI
Excellent lure!!
January 21, 2020
Great casting lure with integrated weight design Excellent action even in Roughwater Fish right out of the package no need to change hooks or anything else
ProsExcellent action Great casting lure
ConsNone so far
By George
Meriden CT
Swimming plug
January 20, 2020
It's a fish catcher !
ConsCould use split ring in nose .
By clayton
,Florida
Awesome lure
January 13, 2020
This lure is the best for inshore gamefish. This lure has held up from a fight with a tarpon and lots of snook
By Matt
New York
Great bait
January 13, 2020
My go-to bait for spring striped bass
By Eric S.
Just outside Ocean City Md.
Surf, bayside and fresh water!
January 9, 2020
Made very well, allot went into the details, eyes, scales and the blending of colors. Has three nice size ballbearings that can easily be heard. Treble hooks are very sharp.
ProsI haven't had a chance to take it out yet. But I'm sure this lure will do very well surf fishing, Bayside and fresh water.
By Rich
Hillsborough, NJ
Blue and striper killer
December 27, 2019
If nothing is biting this is my go to lure. Stripers love the action and colors when bunker are around and slam it on medium retrieve.
ProsNone
By Jim
Orleans, MA
One of my go-to striper lures
December 17, 2019
Like the title says! I've landed 20" to 50" stripers on this. You really can't go wrong trolling or casting it
By DAVE W.
FL - Florida
PERFECT COLOR FOR MY AREA
November 25, 2019
THIS LURE HAS GREAT ACTION AND I WILL PURCHASE AGAIN........
ProsEVERYTHING
ConsNONE
By Kenny
,
That side to side tho!
November 18, 2019
Sp minnows action looks really good under water, these have put me on a lot of stripers and blues. Always keep 2 in my plugbag incase i lose one
By Christian
Ansonia, CT
Good Color
November 6, 2019
These could benefit from beefier split rings and hooks. Other than that, they cast great and have awesome action.
By Brandon
Roseville, CA
Awesome color and quality hardware
October 30, 2019
Haven't caught anything on them yet. But they swim well, and have great action. Just getting into surf fishing so we'll see how this all goes. Otherwise happy with what I have
By Bob W.
NC
Beautiful ! Nicely detailed
October 25, 2019
Very nice details and color. Casts better than expected. Good action. might try some freshwater fishing with it as well.
By Rik
Virginia
Works
October 8, 2019
Got this for shallow stripers, bass like it as well...
ProsGood action & pause
ConsNone
By Michael
Elgin, SC
Excellent plug
September 14, 2019
My new choice for river stripper!
By Jos� L.
Costa Rica
Mala calidad
September 13, 2019
Compre un par de estos se�uelos por los comentarios lo primero que not� fue los triples muy d�biles y el primer d�a que los prove uno de ellos se parti� por la cola con la primera picada un total desperdicio de dinero, tiempo y esfuerzo No lo recomiendo por completo
ProsEl precio es barato comparado a otros similares
ConsMuy mala calidad los triples d�biles y si te muerde un pez de buen tama�o se parte por la cola no lo recomiendo mejor pagar un par de d�lares m�s por un mejor se�uelo de m�s calidad
By Alex
Lusby, Maryland
Must have minnow lure
July 22, 2019
Of all the minnow lures I own, this one holds a special place in my heart. Great casting distance and action. Just upgrade the hooks and split rings.
By Fernando
Sea of cortez Baja
Awsome lure
May 30, 2019
There is a great variety of minnows however the personal dspm is the best one I have ever tried and with which I have obtained many captures
By Fernando
Baja California
excellent long cast lure
May 30, 2019
It is a very resistant lure and something that I like very much is that it does not get stuck easily in stones or algae, It is a lure that you must try
By James B.
Hazlet, NJ
great lure
May 18, 2019
Exactly what I was looking for
By Emery
Melrose, MA
catches fish
May 17, 2019
This plug casts well, has resilient paint, and its action just catches fish. The hardware change is necessary (don't forget split ring upgrades too). It even hangs well in the current without rolling or surfacing. I recommend green Mac color.
Proscasting distance, paint jobs, action
Conshardware
By lee
nyc
great daytime color!
May 14, 2019
great plug, swims great, but do yourself a favor and upgrade the split rings and hooks if you're targeting larger fish.
By Steven
Long Island
Nice plugs but replace your hooks and split rings. Stock hardware is not up to the job
May 12, 2019
Title says it all. These are great plugs, but the hooks and split rings need to be replaced because the stock hardware does not hold up against larger fish.
ProsNice plugs casts great, swim well and hold better in current than a bomber.
ConsStock hardware is not up to the job
By Steven
Long Island
Great plugs, but weak stock hardware. Change hooks and split rings before fishing
May 12, 2019
Title says it all. These are great plugs, but the hooks and split rings need to be replaced because the stock hardware does not hold up against larger fish.
ProsSwims well, catches fish
ConsChange out the hooks and split rings, they are not up to the job
By steven
Long Island
Great plugs but stock hardware is not up to the job
May 12, 2019
Title says it all. These are great plugs, but the hooks and split rings need to be replaced because the stock hardware does not hold up against larger fish.
Prosswims well, catches fish
Consweak hooks and split rings. replace hardware before fishing
By John
Flanders NJ
Sp minnow
April 8, 2019
These lures are consistently productive. Cast well,hold up well and catch a wide variety of fish. Priced well also.
By cesar g.
Colombia
great color
February 22, 2019
It really permits the long casting, plus his color was awesome for giant peacock bass.
By Jonathan
Miami, FL
Great action
February 20, 2019
Useful from nearshore, for targetting any fish.
ProsGood attractive colors
ConsLighter for casting
By chad
Mid Atlantic east coast
Versatile lure!
December 5, 2018
I like using this from my kayak in low light and murky water in bays and marshes. I don't know why guys complain about the hooks. The factory hooks are solid!
By chad
Mid Atlantic east coast
Great action!
December 5, 2018
Very nice undulating action. Draws in hungry stripers in back bay marshes.
By SANG I.
New york, NY
Casts well and very durable
November 4, 2018
It’s got quality hooks and swim action is pretty good. Bone color pretty universal in catching fish
By Mike S.
Harrisburg PA
Great Casting Lure for Striped Bass
October 19, 2018
This lure has proved to be a striped bass killer. I like to use the shallow diver when they stop hitting surface plugs as they seem to begin taking baits right under the surface.
ProsCast a country mile. Great color selections.
ConsSomewhat pricey.
By Brent
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
A must carry
September 28, 2018
This is a lure that you should carry whether you fish the salt or fresh. Snook love it; peacock bass want to kill it. Just make sure it's walking side to side rather than up and down on the jerk. Once it won't jerk left and right anymore, retire it and open up a new one. There's a slight sound difference in the newer production ones. Not sure how big of an impact this will have if any. Used to have a dull sound. Now a bit sharper.
ProsGood price, everything wants to eat it
Consnot good for largemouth
By TonyF
Farmingdale, NY
One of my Go To lures
September 26, 2018
I always carry a bone colored floating SP whether I fishing off the sand or on the kayak. It cats pretty well for a minnow type lure and also trolls well behind the kayak. I have modified most of my SP's with single inline hooks so releasing fish is easier.
ProsCasts well
By Michael
Charleston, SC
Now I see why it’s so popular
August 26, 2018
No matter where you look for a lure, red head with a white body is a must for any lug bag.
ProsJust a classic bait.
By Michael
Myrtle Beach, SC
Becoming a personal favorite
August 26, 2018
The blue mackerel and the red head colors are always a solid bet!
ProsSharp hooks
By Michael
Charleston, SC
Insane performance
August 26, 2018
One of those lures you have to own, casts like a dream and some of the best hooks I’ve seen on a lure!
ProsImpressive hardware
By Tom M.
Brooklyn N.Y.
Nice fish catcher for the price.
July 9, 2018
These lures catch fish. Work great out of the package. But better when upgraded.
ConsHooks & split rings are a little on the light side.
By Terrence M.
Cape Cod Ma.
Striper killer
July 6, 2018
See previous review on same lure, different color. I like this color under low-light and night time. It has really good "flash" when worked properly..
By Terrence
Whitinsville, Massachusetts
Striper killer
July 6, 2018
love this plug in several colors. Casts like a bullet and has great action, esp. when "popping" the rod tip.
ConsThe finish is good but not great durability. The older models had inferior hooks, we just swap them out with 4x Owners.
By KK
Long Island NY
Great Swimming Plug
June 27, 2018
SP minnows swim well in all sizes and even in rougher seas and current. Decent hardware on newer models. Best casting minnow type swimmer.
By Ryan D.
Rhode Island
The most versatile saltwater bait on the market.
June 13, 2018
Nothing in my opinion can produce more striped bass in more conditions than the Daiwa SP minnow. These lures were created specifically for stripers and they did a fantastic job!
ProsLong Casting Great Movement
By DOC-GC
raritan bay
reelentless
June 9, 2018
this plug is a must have at night for your plug bag. they out perform any scandinavian swimmer 75% of the time. had 13 keeper bass in one night on this plug, never changed it all night.
Proscast like a rocket, swims great and rattles
By Ted M.
NJ
SP Minnow Sand Eel 6 3/4"
June 9, 2018
Swims well. Cast good
By Ted M.
NJ
SP Minnow Sand Eel
June 9, 2018
Cast great and swims well. Good color.
ProsWell made, good hooks.
ConsNone so far.
By Jose C.
Massachusetts
Great action
June 6, 2018
The way it swims and the power of the hooks makes it perfect for medium and big fish.
By Chris
Manorville, NY
Great plug for saltwater gamefish
May 15, 2018
These plugs are good not great. They would be five star if diawa stepped up their hardware. The hooks and splitrings that come on there are an absolute joke. One fish over 10lbs and these hooks would straighten right out or break. Upgrade to 2/0 vmc 4x hooks and 5.5 heavy duty split rings and these lures straight up kill! They cast pretty well and have a nice tight wobble swim pattern that gets the attention of any striper or blue that may be near by.
ProsCasts well Decent value for the money Catches fish
ConsHooks and splitrings
By Dan M.
Clark, NJ
Not much to add
May 14, 2018
Casts great and catches fish. Nough' said.
By DB
Newton, MA
Don't Leave Home Without It
May 6, 2018
There is a reason this lure has won itself a place in every anglers tackle box, because it works. The Daiwa SP minnow is the perfect light weight plug that will still cast a mile and tantalize even the most finicky bass. This lure is also a great value for money.
ProsCasting distance, value for money, wide range of colors, excellent action.
ConsFrankly you get what you pay for in terms of the hooks and split rings. Its worth replacing them especially if you are going to target larger Blue Fish.
By Lee
NY NY
Another great fish catching color
May 6, 2018
This plug catches fish. It swims a little deeper than a bomber and will cast a mile. Great great great swimming plug.
By Lee
NY NY.
Works so well I bought 4 more
May 6, 2018
This is my favorite SP Minnow color. I find that it’s flash of silver on the retrieve really entices a strong strike. And, it’s super durable!
By Lee
NY NY
A must own
May 6, 2018
Casts a mile. Great action and very durable plug. SP minnows flat out work.
By Jonathan
Blooming Grove, NY
In my surf bag always
April 15, 2018
This is a great lure for casting to distant water that is not cluttered with weeds. Most of my success with this lure has been with striped bass. I am usually fishing the floating version over shallow (less than ten feet) water that has a good amount of current, and I've caught schoolies to fish around twenty pounds on this lure. I've never had an issue with the hardware, but I totally understand thoughts on replacing the hardware. Colors I've used are bunker, school bus, green mackerel, and blue mackerel. I have one that is dark purple, but haven't yet tried it. Seems like it would work well at night.
ProsGreat swimming action! It works on striped bass. Color doesn't seem to matter.
ConsIt's not weedless, so don't fish it where you find debris or flotsam.
By Frank
Ri
Sp
April 15, 2018
Great lure with great action always a go to
ProsGreat action
By Baja D.
Ensenada Baja California- Mex
Great looking Bait
March 24, 2018
Looks great I need to try it out -Hard to beat the price
Prosfinish -weight
Consnone
By KK
Long Island, NY
Great Swimmer
March 15, 2018
SP Minnow has been good producer for striped bass from surf. Action is good and lures hold well in strong current and bigger surf. Cast well for swimming plug. Preferred swimmer for getting few feet down below surface.
By George
CT
nice lure
March 12, 2018
Nice lure. I used it before for striped bass and blue fish. Casts well and it has nice action. It is not as good as Rapala X-Rap SXR. X-Rap casts a little better in my opinion and you get a nice action even if you reel in slower.With the Daiwa SP you need to reel in a little faster to get nice wobble. I got it from Tackle Direct for less than half of the price of the Rapala. Blue fish destroy most of the lures so it is better to have few extra cheap lures when blues are around. Good deal. Thank you Tackle Direct.
By Dave M.
AsburyPark, NJ
Tacklebox staple
March 7, 2018
Have had great luck for Stripers!
By Sam
Greater Los Angeles
No regrets.
February 28, 2018
It's an excellent quality lure. I bought this over Lucky Craft because of the lower price point. No regrets.
By Sam
Greater Los Angeles
Excellent quality
February 28, 2018
It's an excellent quality lure. I bought this over Lucky Craft because of the lower price point. No regrets.
By Sam
Greater Los Angeles
Like LC, but at a lower price.
February 28, 2018
This is a quality lure at a lower price point than Lucky Craft. Very happy with the purchase.
By stephen
South Portland, ME
Great plug, deserves better hardware
February 17, 2018
Love the action on all these plugs. Mostly like the floating version, but suspended is fine too. Wish they would give them better hardware to begin with like yo Zuri or Shimano so I didn√Ę‚‚¨‚"Ęt have to change em out right away.
ProsAction,size variation, color options, castability.
ConsHardware is crap.
By Emmitt
Cape May, NJ
One Of The Best Lures On The Market
February 17, 2018
The SP Minnow has grown to be one of my favorite lures to click on my TA clip. Catches both Stripers and Bluefish with ease. Even have caught Weakfish on them before! I've become so addicted to throwing them that I own just about every color of the DSPM15F, which is total overkill, but I can't help it. If you haven't checked 'em out, I highly suggest doing so.
ProsCasts great, swims great, very durable.
ConsStock hardware is a tad weak. Easy solution is to switch out split rings (whatever brand you prefer), and hooks (VMC).
By jimmy
rockaway beach
DSPM 13S
February 5, 2018
Catches fish and comes in various colors, sizes, and weights
ProsReasonably priced
By Ryan
Pascoag, RI
The best all around saltwater lure on the market!
February 5, 2018
Awesome bait that can be used in every situation from the beach to the Cape Cod canal it will not let you down.
By Ryan
Pascoag, RI
The most versatile saltwater bait on the market.
February 5, 2018
Awesome bait that can be used in every situation from the beach to the Cape Cod canal it will not let you down.
By Timothy M.
Queens Rockaway NY
Great action lure
February 4, 2018
These lures i have caught many striped bass pass fall swimm great excellent action
ProsSwims excellent match the hatch
ConsRear hook should be single or tail hook
By HKJonathan
New York, NY
Love the larger size
January 9, 2018
The smaller SP has been one of my favorite lures. The larger size version is even better with beefy 4x kooks and split rings right out of the box (no more need to replace the hooks). They cast great and swim great as well. Highly recommended
By Rod
Congers, New York
Game changer
January 9, 2018
when you need that minnow style action that casts like a bullet and can be retrieved in moderate current when other minnow styles plus just isn't enough. I like the floating 6 inch for the beach in dark silver or white colors
By Igor
NY
Daiwa Salt Pro 6" Minnow Lure
January 7, 2018
Good lure for blue fish.
By nicholas
Scituate,Massachusetts
Great lure
December 31, 2017
Highly recommend this lure I use this all summer in Massachusetts and it slams stripers.If nothing else is working I can always count on a sp minow to work
By ali
KINGSVILLE, TX
GTs Love this lure.
December 20, 2017
Highly recommend it.
By Ryan
Rhode Island
LOVE SP Minnows
December 15, 2017
This is hands down my favorite all around Striper and Blue fishing plug, I have had countless fish on these lures on many color patterns and sizes.
ProsThe shifting weight system makes for easy long casts.
By TOD26
New Jersey
sinking lure
November 15, 2017
These lures can fly through the air with the right setup. They have a better action in the water that comparable lures of the same variety. It is great that they sink to about 3-4 feet when you are retrieving. This can definitely increase your hookups over time.
Prossinking, long distance casting
By Sam
NJ
Awesome lure
November 13, 2017
The hooks and split rings are wimpy, but once swapped out for sturdier rings and some VMC inline singles, they're built to catch.
ProsGreat action, great profile, can cast a mile, sturdy, and even the paint holds up well.
ConsNone. Ever.
By lee
New York, NY
i keep coming back for more.
November 12, 2017
I love the larger profile. Great casting lure and helps cull out the bigger fish.
By lee
New York, NY
bigger and just a great!
November 12, 2017
all that you love about an SP minnow but with a larger profile. Fantastic!!
By lee
New York, NY
great lure at a great price
November 12, 2017
SP minnows have become a favorite of surfcasters because they cast great (particularly for a swimming plug) and they catch fish. They also can take a lot of abuse on the rocks and keep on swimming.
By Gregory
Manasquan, NJ
Best minnow lure on the market
November 9, 2017
Enough said, the reviews and ratings for this plug are great and this plug is even better
By Elihu
Hamilton nj
A must have plug
October 25, 2017
great over all plug just have to upgrade hooks and split rings
Consnone
By Matthew
Smithtown, New York
Great lure
October 11, 2017
I have caught a lot of fish in this lure. Great in rough of calm surf. Twitch your rod tip in calm conditions to get a strike.
Pros Reliable, catches fish and casts great
By anita n.
Springfield Gardens, new york
Great lure
September 26, 2017
awesome lure for travelly and other game fish
Prosgood action. works well
Consnone so far
By Tony L.
Cape Cod South Wellfleet Mass
Great fop ocean side
September 6, 2017
I find that the 63/4 salt pros work great when there's a big heave on the beach. Even if the fish are eating smaller bait where it would normally call for a 51/8 sp they hit this one it just fine. I'm sure it's because of turbulent water making the lure look smaller. We have a lot of rough water on Cape Cod at this time of year and the 63/4 is just what the doctor ordered.
ProsCasting, swimming...
ConsHooks and split rings...
By Daniel S.
Middlebury, CT
Sp Minnow
August 22, 2017
This is the lure I've reached for so much this season! Landed a lot of nice keeper bass and big blues on it.
ConsStock hardware is junk you should change it out for stronger split rings and hooks.
By Bill B.
San Jose, Ca.
SP Minnow Lure
August 15, 2017
i really like this lure, it casts very well and catches strippers.
Prosgreat lure, cast far and catches fish, happy with it.
ConsThe hooks and rings are not the best and some what pricey, cost alot but what can you do.
By Bill B.
San Jose, Ca.
SP minnow lures
August 15, 2017
i really like this lure, one of the best lures on the market, very pleased with it.
ProsGreat Lure, cast great and very good for catching strippers.
Conslittle bit pricey, but what can you do.
By Poncho
pacifica, california
DEM BONES!!!
August 3, 2017
just finished landing a 15lbs Hog off the Pacific Coast wit that BONE SPMinnow 17F. Striper Candy!
By Kai
Carpinteria, CA
Halibut like them
July 31, 2017
I've caught several CA Halibut from the surf this summer using Salt Pro Minnows. Just no legal ones yet.
By Brian
Portsmouth, NH
once again lure of the year for me
July 13, 2017
The SP minnow in bone and mother of pearl during the day has been my top producing lure again this year. I remove the rear hook and replace the front treble with a 2/0 VMC.
Proscast a mile great action not expensive
By Christopher
Brooklyn, NY
Improvement on Great Lure.
June 23, 2017
Love the extra distance in this size. SP Minnows are deadly for Striped Bass.
ProsExtra distance, high quality rings and hooks. No need to to change them up.
ConsNone
By Jesse
Holmdel, New Jersey
Good Upgrade, but has some faults
June 3, 2017
The 17S series have gone through a big upgrade that the original 15S lacked but at the same time, you lose some points. But over all I give it a 4 out of 5 star for usage. Pros - Casting Distance has improved (with no wind) Swimming action also improved and easier to swim through hard rips in the water. Bigger Plug means bigger Fish Hooks are not like the old thin bendable hooks. they are much beefier and will hold that new PB (personal best), that you have lost in the past. Cons - Casting Distance has dropped when casting against the wind - Because of the thicker and larger Build, it is hard for the plug to cut Through the wind unlike the 15S. Overall great plug to use.
ProsCasting Distance has improved (with no wind) Swimming action also improved and easier to swim through hard rips in the water. Bigger Plug means bigger Fish Hooks are not like the old thin bendable hooks. they are much beefier and will hold that new PB (personal best), that you have lost in the past.
ConsCasting Distance has dropped when casting against the wind - Because of the thicker and larger Build, it is hard for the plug to cut Through the wind unlike the 15S.
By Keith
W.Mass
Thumbs UP.
May 5, 2017
The bigger the plug the bigger the fish. Next to my Danny's this is in my surf bag.
ProsCast.
ConsRocks tear them up.
By Lawrence
new milford, CT
Nice lures
March 10, 2017
nice lures, Need to change the hooks and rings, factory hooks are weak
ProsGreat lure, good action
ConsNeed to change out low quality hooks and snap rigs
By Jon c.
New Canaan, CT
Bigger is better
February 17, 2017
New larger models cast so far with the outstanding results. You must own one
By Luis O.
Atlantico
Muy bueno
January 27, 2017
Se√¬Īuelo muy equilibrado en el lance largo y ademas de excelente nataci√¬≥n, son mis preferidos para la pesca de r√¬≥balo.
By 617
rthurgts@hotmail.com
Very good
January 24, 2017
Nice looking lure. They really stepped it up.
By Cristian
Lake worth, FL
Great lure
January 11, 2017
This is a great lure ecspecially the sinking feature, you can use this from fresh to salt water
By Jon
Long Island, NY
Excellent Plug
December 1, 2016
This lure has great action and casts really well for a Minnow plug. The only issue is the stock split rings and hooks must be replaced to handle anything larger than a schoolie.
ProsCasting, action, it works!!
ConsStock hardware, not through wired.
By Glen
Oakland, CA
Staple in the bay area
September 30, 2016
The larger model is used by almost everyone I know in the surf during the striper run. This model works great in the bay and at night to avoid 'shakers'. Casts really well.
By Guy
New Hartford, NY
Excellent action in the surf
September 26, 2016
The Daiwa 6" Salt Pro Minnows are effective in the surf because of their suspending characteristic. They stay in the strike zone longer than a full floating or full sinking minnow imitation. Sometimes it takes just a twitch to draw a strike from a striped bass. The weight distribution system also extends their casting distance.
ProsReasonably priced and durable.
By Alex
Pozzuoli, Italy
Awesome
September 16, 2016
I got my hands one one of these and I must say, extremely impressive. Casts like a bullet and catches fish like nothing else. Larger than the standard model and perfect for slightly more moderate conditions. A+
By Jason
Centereach, Ny
Sinking
August 5, 2016
I use the sinking in deeper water where I need to get down when the fish are hanging low. This lure produces well in deep drops and in channels. All the models of SP minnows work exceptionally well. Use the sinking in deeper water and you'll catch more fish.
ConsFactory hooks need to be upgraded.
By Jason
Centereach, Ny
#1
August 5, 2016
This is my number one lure to throw. I don't even take it off my line most of the time. Casts great! Amazed at the size of the fish ill catch on this lure.
ProsCasts well, catches fish
ConsFactory hooks need an upgrade.
By Jason
Centereach, Ny
SP MINNOW
August 5, 2016
This has become a stable on the beaches of long island. And my go to lure in the fall for bass on the south shore, If the fish are around the will hit this lure almost every time.
ProsCasts well
Consstandard hooks are a bit weak.
By Jason
Centereach, Ny
Great lure for bass and blues
July 8, 2016
This lure is many times the first out of my plug bag. Decent casting and great action. I've had bass to 20lbs fall to this lure. Change out the hooks and split rings as they tend to be weak.
ProsGreat assortment of colors Decent casting Versatile under different conditions Inexpensive
ConsHooks and split rings are weak.
By Hombre
Delaware
Daiwa Salt Pro Minnow
June 22, 2016
This lure has been very productive for me this year. I mainly fish at night from jettys and beaches and this is my go to lure. A slow retrieve in the current with a few twitches and hold on! I use the floaters and change out the split rings and use VMC 9626 4X 2/0 hooks.
Prosfloaters great lure
Conssplit rings hooks
By Aaron B.
New York
Cast very far
June 17, 2016
I'm surprised as to how long I can cast this lure, even though am only using 16lb mono, was able to cast the lure far to cover more and more space. Quality was good considering its not JDM. Swims and suspends well. Not that heavy when reeling in from a far cast, which was a plus, because it lessened the fatigue especially when casting all day long. Overall nice swim action and casts very far.
ProsSwims nice and casts very far
ConsPaint finish easly scratched
By Darith
Attleboro , Massachusetts
Perfect
May 4, 2016
Love the colors and design !
By Alex
Pozzuoli, Italy
Must Have Surf Fishing Lure
April 26, 2016
The Daiwa SP Minnow is a must have surf lure. Casts great, awesome action and catches fish. I upgrade the hooks to VMC 9626 and the split rings to 90lb Spro.
By Craig
Ringwood, NJ
Catches Stripers from NH down to DE
April 25, 2016
I have used various colors and styles from the beached of NH down to DE and produces fish. As others have mentioned the hardware on them is not the greatest so i replace the hooks.
By Kevin
greenlawn, NY
killer night plug
April 9, 2016
first plug out after dark blurple color just replace the hooks with vmc 2/0 and your set
Prosgreat action and cast a mile for a little swimmer
Conshooks are garbage
By james
arverne, NY
Catches Fish
March 25, 2016
Always have one in my bag. Casts well , affordable, catches fish,, first time trying the laser green
Pros$ price
ConsInferior Hooks
By IAN L.
St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada
also an excellent trolling lure for freshwater!
March 24, 2016
Most of these reviews concern surf casting for striped bass - I haven't done any of that but inland in the Great Lakes region this is an outstanding trolling lure for introduced Pacific salmon spp., Steelhead, Brown Trout, and Lake Trout - here again, the durability and strength of the lure withstands powerful strikes and thrashing about, and its action, rattle and flash are particularly effective in attracting widely scattered fish in open water. Yo-Zuri beats Rapala every day in this situation. The lure is also good for Muskellunge.
ProsQuality, durability, lively wobble-action, flash and realism.
ConsAn expensive lure - it's use should be avoided in snaggy areas.
By CARL
STURGEON BAY, WI
Proven Fish Catcher
March 12, 2016
Have fished many colors and weight variations - floating, sinking, slow sink and fast sink bullet. All productive in appropriate applications. Standard floating model has become an affordable staple in nearly every north-eastern surf-casters plug bag. Black, bone / white, mackerel, chicken scratch, wonder-bread / pearl, sardine, shiner, translucent green, sand-eel - have all caught fish for me. Sinking and Bullet models work better in moderate - heavier current, sweep, and/or wave action and the Bullets seem to need faster retrieve or current do get the S swimming action going - regular SP minnows wiggle tighter and will do so at slower retrieve. Mackerel and bone / pearl (white) SPs and Bullets, with upgraded hard-ware have caught bass up to 25lbs for me in Cape Cod Canal and all colors (esp. Blurple, white, chicken-scratch at night) have produced for me at night from South County Rhode Island breachways to North Shore Mass. and NH seacoast sand beaches and rocky shorelines. Replacing factory hardware with stronger (3-4X VMC, 2/0 or 3/0) hooks and split rings is necessary for targeting bigger fish, especially in current, but may slow down the lures action, which may be desirable to some - opinions vary. SPs do track better and stay stable in heavier current conditions than many lighter weight "Finnish"/ minnow plugs. SPs also cast much better (internal weight transfer) than many similar sized plugs.
ProsCastability Stability in rough water Fish-catching action & color patterns
ConsNeed to upgrade factory hard-ware or risk losing nice fish
By Erich K.
Wading River, NY
Gotta have a few SPs in the bag
March 3, 2016
SP minnows are always in my surf bag, can't go wrong
By Db
new york, NY
new sp
February 25, 2016
I think it is newer version. I love the size for my local water. same action, and same castability
By Joshua K.
Alexandria, Virginia
Chesapeake Bay Must Have
January 29, 2016
The diawa salt minnow is a staple for my fall striper fishing. When fish are feeding in the top 10' of the water column a hard jerkbait can be a great option, especially if bluefish are in the mix. While I throw many brands of jerkbaits for bay rockfish, the 6" suspended diawa salt minnow stands out in its ability to catch quality fish. As a light tackle guy I appreciate It's castability, action, finish and hardware. You can jerk and reel to cover water quickly or slow down and jerk-jerk-jerk reel and it practically dances in place staying in the strike zone longer. One of the major draws to this bait is its size, rock fish and sea trout are not afraid of big baits so increase your chances of catching big fish by throwing a big bait! If your not sure what color/finish to go with try the green laser or bone.
By Anthony
Tomsriver
Catch fish
January 10, 2016
Caught a ton of fish on a sp lure
By Anthony
Tomsriver
Catch fish
January 10, 2016
Catch more fish with sp then any other lure
By Matt
Hampton, Ohio
Fantastic
December 4, 2015
They never fail to catch fish, the hooks are not the strongest and need to be replaced but other than that it is perfect. I caught a 70 pounder on one this year, my third biggest bass.
Conshooks
By Matthew
SMITHTOWN, NY
Must have
October 17, 2015
I use this lure every time I go. Cast way better then a bomber. You can use in calm water or rough. Lure will help you catch more fish.
ProsCasts well
ConsHooks are a little cheap. Replace with stronger. Had a nice almost straighten the hook.
By Hernan
Nayarit, Mexico
Nice lure! Muy buen se√Ö‚Äěuelo!
September 25, 2015
Nice MINNOW, great colors, perfect for my surf fishing in Mexico! Muy padre currican, bonitos colores, perfecto para mi pesca de orilla en Mexico!
By Steve
Albany, CA
My top-scoring lure
September 12, 2015
The SP Minnow is easily my top-scoring lure for Stripers. It casts well, and the finish really stands up to the scouring of the surf.
By gerardo
MEXICO, DISTRITO FEDERAL
good lure
September 7, 2015
good looking lure, very nice materials and good looking for fisherman and fish
ProsPrice, materials
Conson windy days youll have a Little of trouble casting
By Joseph
Baltimore, MD
Great Action
July 14, 2015
The SP minnow has a very lifelike swim and casts a mile.
By Kyle
Nantucket, Massachusetts
Casts great into the wind, great lure for bass and bluefish
June 13, 2015
Very east to cast far, great lure.
By Jeremy
Brooklyn, NY
Must have. Very light
June 12, 2015
Great lure, must have, but not great on windy days.
ProsGreat action
ConsBad in wind
By otto
New Jersey
Daiwa DSPM15F Salt Pro 6" Minnow Lure
June 4, 2015
A must have lure. Dont go fishing without a few.
By udon
Providence, RI
Not impressed
June 2, 2015
Not impressed with the lure. Outstanding casting distance is the only upside. Action of the lure absolutely sucks. No action whatsoever.
By Jeremy
Lumberton nj
Killer lures
May 29, 2015
These lures have great action and can be tweaked with your retrieve style to really get the bass and blues to strike. Factory hardware is weak and ok for smaller fish but on blues 10lb and up and stripers 15lb and up your gonna wanna swap to stronger split rings and hooks,
By Dan
NY
Effective Lure
May 28, 2015
Saw results with the SP minnow on my first couple trips this season.
By Daniel M.
CT
Swims perfectly
May 21, 2015
The SP's always swim really nice making them attractive for the fish to hit. Weight is perfect for the extra distance on each and every cast.
By jonski
New canaan, CT
Spring time winner
May 19, 2015
looks like the bait in hold over rivers. the perfect lure
By Jonski
New Canaan, CT
Great lure with Killer action
May 19, 2015
perfect for taking spring stripers.
By Dan M.
Hartford, CT
Thumbs Up!
May 18, 2015
I bought 4 and couldn't be happier. A++
ProsGreat Action & Cast A Mile
ConsRepalce the rings & hooks.
By Eugenia
Pozzuoli, Italy
Very good
May 18, 2015
very good lure for bluefish and sea bass. i always catch fish when i use this lure.
By Reginald
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Awesome lure
May 10, 2015
Purchase the Laser Green Shiner to try it out, my only regret was I only bought one! Bottom line, fish have no chance with this thing.
ProsGreat casting distance, great appearance
ConsI only bought one :(
By Alex
California, MD
Great Lure for Stripers!
April 26, 2015
Very productive, just need VMC Hooks.
By Alex
Solomons, Maryland
Great lure, bad hooks.
April 2, 2015
This is a great lure, but the hooks are very weak (I learned that the hard way). I have a few with me at all times.
By Mark
Pinole, CA
Striper catchers
March 4, 2015
These lures cast very well. They have a nice action on most retrieves. The finish is very tough. bottom line is they catch fish!
ProsGreat finish. Hooks don't need replacement before use. great action.
By Travis
bayville, NJ
a must in your plug bag
March 3, 2015
caught tons of fish on these lures my favorite colors are bone and black and purple
By Paul
Branford ct
Great lure
February 12, 2015
Cast like a bullet cuts wind and catches fish Outfished other 6" similar plugs 10/1 great for night time slow rolling in current i change the hooks to vmc 2/0
ProsCast well good colors nice action
ConsHooks
By Db
Nj
great swimmer
January 24, 2015
I have floating version also. both required to replace hardware.. like vmc or owner treble hook. this lure swim very well and motion is amazing.. I believe this sinking version swims better than float version.. just my opinion
ProsGreat motion. . Affordable price..
ConsHardware weak for big dtriper. But easy enough to change
By Db
NJ
great lure
January 22, 2015
I purchased one last summer, it hooked some fish but kept dropping, after, I read some complains about the stock hook I replace the hook and ring with VMC 4x treble 1/0 with owner HD 4.. after replacing hardware, it turns out to be great lure.. I ordered one again and switch the hardware immediately..
Prosgood swimmer, cheaper than yojuri darter.
Consstock hardware is garbage. that is why it is 4 star.
By Eric
Cherry Hill, NJ
Excellent
January 17, 2015
The SP is a great swimming lure. The rings and trebles are weak so change them out for something beefier. I use just one treble in the middle and leave the tail hookless. You won't miss any fish due to this and you will lower your chances of getting yourself hooked.
By Leon
Tonsupa, Ecuador
Minnow Lure
January 13, 2015
Great finish!
ConsNeeds heavier rings and hooks.
By Leon
Tonsupa, Ecuador
Salt Pro Lure
January 13, 2015
Great Lure, good finish.
ConsNeeds heavier rings and hooks.
By brad
hyannis, MA
awesome swimmers
January 2, 2015
One of my favorite swimmers in my bag.. they work excellent day and night
Conshooks/ splitrings
By HKJonathan
New York, NY
Great lure but weak hooks
December 24, 2014
This along with the Yozuri Mag Darter are my go to lures for surface plugs. The SP has great swimming action and really casts well. The only reason why I didn't give it a five star rating is because of the well known issue of weak hooks and split rings. I replaced my with VMC 4x hooks and Rasco split rings.
By Christopher
Point Lookout, NY
Great plug for the price
December 24, 2014
much action on the Bone, nothing yet on Laser Shiner, but I fished it too late in season. good action on a slow retrieval with brief pauses. hooks and rings should be replaced.
By Charles
Middletown, RI
Great lure, replace the hooks!
October 7, 2014
This lure is a consistent producer, in calm to knee high waves. Anything bigger they get banged around and swept by the waves so I switch to a needlefish. Big fish love them too but don't forget to swap out the hardware. Bottom line: if a lure's biggest problem is that the fish they catch are too big for the hardware is that really a bad thing?
ProsCasts very well, relatively inexpensive (even when considering the hardware needs to be swapped out). More than enough color selection. BTW I've had zero problems with a rear siwash instead of a treble.
ConsI read the all the comments about weak hardware but chose to ignore because I landed a few big stripers under ideal conditions on the stock hardware. I figured that the hooks were strong enough. WRONG. I lost two big stripers that opened up the treble. REPLACE ALL THE HARDWARE! Put VMC hooks on with upgraded split rings.
By Nicholas
Peabody, MA
my GO-TO lure for NE Stripers
October 2, 2014
I prefer the blue mackerel color during the day for pattern reasons, but any low-light or night situations.. color doesnt seem to matter. If there are fish around, they will bite this lure. Always my first plug out when i first arrive at a spot. GREAT searching lure.
ProsCasts like a bullet even into headwinds. Price is reasonable. Awesome finishes. (Hint: take off the back treble hook for a much more side-to-side erratic action)
Consboth hooks and split rings need to be replaced out of the package unless you're only catching schoolies and micros, a keeper size fish will straighten the stock hooks.
By Kristi
,
Awesome!
September 24, 2014
Great lure for massive stripers! Just make sure you change the hooks and split rings with VMC 9626 hooks.
ProsAction Catches fish
ConsHooks and split rings
By Alex C.
United States
Awesome plugs
September 19, 2014
They catch fish simple as that. I work at Tackle direct and this is the first thing i show people when they want a lure for striper. The second thing i tell them is to CHANGE THE HOOKS. 1/0 vmc with 150 lb spro split rings. im looking forward to fishing the new bullet.
ProsCasts great , catches fish ,
Conshooks suck, i buy to many of them
By james
arverne, NY
DPSM
August 10, 2014
Have caught many bass and fluke with the black/purple and bone color from the surf. I use the floating and sinking versions.
Proscasts exceptionally well price catches fish!
By MIke
PA
Daiwa SP minnow sinking.
August 9, 2014
Cast very well and caught a blue fish in a short time.
By Jaime
West Haven, CT
Must have lure!!!
July 14, 2014
Great lure for stripers, but pretty much anything here in the New England waters will bite this lure.
By Bonefishr
johns Island, Sc
Great baitfish Imitation
May 26, 2014
This lure looks like what fresh water fisherman have used successfully for years only in a salt water size. It casts well and runs true.
ProsCompact, easy to cast. Nice finish.
By Mike
New York
Nice
May 23, 2014
Very fluid in the water. Nice overall swimming action.
By William B.
Shelton, Connecticut
A MUST HAVE!
May 1, 2014
If you fish for stripers you must have!
ConsHave to change Hooks
By Brendan
NY
Great lure!
April 4, 2014
Great overall lure! Casts like a missle and has a nice tight wiggle. Stripers and bluefish love this thing. I would have given it 5 stars if the split rings and hooks weren't junk. Make sure you switch out the split rings and upgrade the hooks to at least 1/0 VMC 4X hooks.
By Joe
NY
Good casting swimmer
March 30, 2014
This is one of the best (farthest) casting lipped swimmer. Action is good also and does alot of catching. Paint holds up decent. Only concern is the split rings and hooks need to be changed before use. I have had on several new lures the rings pull right out.
ProsCasting distance Action
ConsSplit rings and hooks
By Jeff
sandwich, MA
Awesome plug
March 24, 2014
One of my most productive swimmer, casts excellent. The finish on them and the hooks are not very good. I change the hooks out for 3/0 4x vmc trebles.
ProsCasts great Catches fish
ConsFinish easily scratched up Hooks & split rings are weak
By tim
connecticut
Great lure, crappy hooks
February 14, 2014
this is a great lure if you take the time to replace all the split rings and replace the hooks with vmcs. the hooks that come standard will straighten on a large bluefish or striper. beefed up with the right gear though they work well and are nice to surf cast because of their length.
Prosgood actions, casts well.
Consstandard components
By Victor
Sweden
A beaty
February 5, 2014
This lure looks as good as it fishes. Casts perfectly even in some wind! Great darting action that doesnt fail.
ProsCasts well, strong gods, amazing finish.
By Jeff P.
Maryland
Good Striper Lure
January 20, 2014
Excellent Plug for off the surf when fishing for Stripers!!
ProsThey swim true right out of the box!
ConsNone
By stephen
sag harbor, NY
Don't leave home without
January 19, 2014
You can catch anything from a dink to a 50lber on these plugs. They swim like nothing else out there, and are just as good if not better than the red fins. Pop the tail hook off and beef up the belly trouble and you have a plug that will dance around like the best kind of surf candy.
Consthe hooks and split rings are made poorly, load them up with some 4x VMC trebles and steel split rings and you're set. It will also add weight to the already light body. Would be killer if these were 2oz and over.
By Corey
Westchester, NY
Casts and swims well
January 17, 2014
Didn't get to use it much yet, but it casts great and swims very well. Can't wait to use it this this season.
By alex
sewell, NJ
wont leave home without one in my plug bag
January 14, 2014
this is a great plug. it casts great and swims good too. just you HAVE to change the split rings and hooks they suck you WILL loose a nice bass if you dont
Proscasts good
Consbad hooks
By Nick
Scituate, MA
Top Producer!
January 5, 2014
I'm kind of alarmed that this is the first review for the SP minnow. This was hands down the top producer in my bag this year. Chicken scratch/green mackerel during the day, blurple laser shiner at night. The action seems to be simply irresistible for the stripers. The casting distance is great, either with a 9' surf rod or a 7' inshore rod. And it's only $10!!! Only fall back is the hooks...put some VMC's on there, and maybe just a siwash on the tail (I find I really don't need a treble on the back).
Prostop producer
Consweak hooks
By Joseph
Carrollton, VA
Great lure
January 2, 2014
Love the graphics and color scheme. Very lifelike.
ProsCasts very well. Great action.
ConsA little pricey, but worth the money.
By Colin
Wallingford, PA
SP Minnow
December 19, 2013
Great lure with a great action, and it definately catches fish. But beware of the hardware it comes with, a schoolie could straighten its hooks. I replace them with owner split rings and vmc hooks.
By Brian
Connecticut
Great lure but..
December 13, 2013
Would love to see the hooks and split rings upgraded.. Otherwise these are great fish catchers that cast surprisingly well!!
ProsNice colors and finish Casts great Stripers and blues love them Great price
ConsWeak hooks and split rings
By TN
Commack, NY
Striped Bass Candy
December 8, 2013
The Bass could not get enough of this lure this year. The design is fantastic, one ounce in weight but the ball bearings inside allow it to be casted far. Smoking hot action when reeled in make the Stripers go crazy.
ProsGreat action, easy to cast
ConsTackle shops run out of the correct colors.
By tim
new york
bass crusher
November 21, 2013
bass crusher
Prosbass crusher
Consbass crusher
By Shane
Birmingham, Alabama
Great Lure!
November 2, 2013
I use the Daiwa SP for King fishing and have caught blue fish, large Spanish, and Crevelle off them as well. They are about half the price of Yo Zuri and product similar results.
Pros-durable -great hooks -paint finish holds up well to abuse
By Ray
South Jersey
Must have item
October 18, 2013
These lures are great! Vibrant colors that attract stripers. Easy to cast.
By Gary
Emerson, nj
Awesome lure
October 15, 2013
Very cool colors, I can't wait to fish these lures.
By Ben
Providence, RI
Lives up to the hype
October 1, 2013
This swimmer is exactly what's been advertised. It has great action and is very loud. I have not modified it out of the box as many do, but have had no trouble with the factory hooks so far. Looking forward to using it more this fall.
ProsGreat action; loud rattle
Consnone
By Scott D.
Pacifica
Striper Slayer
August 15, 2013
Awsome colors that stripers love. Lure casts well.
ConsHooks need to be upgraded to 4X. I had a couple that bent...
By Howard
LI Sound
Daiwa Salt Pro Minnow
June 13, 2013
Great lure. It attracted many big fish. Easy to cast and fish with. If you go for the big ones, this a must have.

Page 1 of 1