4.7
30 Reviews
5
80% (24)
4
13% (4)
3
3% (1)
2
0% (0)
1
3% (1)
90% Recommend this product (27 of 30 responses)
By Jason
Louisiana
Great reel
December 16, 2019
Ma12 Fit 330 yard of 50lb j braid with room for a top shot. Opened it up and it had a greased carbon fiber drag washer and a spring loaded dog with zero back play in the handle. Easily pulled 18lbs of smooth drag at strike and no handle bind. Really impressed
ProsStrong smooth drag
ConsWith there were a lower gear single speed
By Lj
Panama City Beach
Sturdy and compact
October 15, 2019
Love that it is a bit smaller than other two speed reels. Very durable and stout
By Rob
Niantic,Connecticut
Ma12
June 23, 2019
Bought the ma12 a year ago and love it. The reel is so versatile I use it for fluking to striper and everything in between. The reel is solid fit and finish is awesome. The only con is that it doesn't come in a 8 or 10 so I could use for fresh water.
By Luke P.
South Carolina
Marquesa 50 II Open Top.
May 20, 2019
This is a great trolling and bait because it has good capacity and insane drag.
By Bernie
Florida
Great While They Last
February 18, 2019
I used these reals on a charter boat (they have 12 0f them) and found the drags and gears smooth. I liked them a lot and bought two for my boat. I haven't used mine yet. I was dismayed when I chartered this year and found that all twelve of the charter boat reels had broken down, Several had been returned to the factory for gear problems and every one of them had experienced broken plastic handles. Careful inspection of the handles should convince anyone that the design is faulty. I will use mine until they give trouble and replace them with another brand, as I do not believe the Finors can ever be made to last. It is a shame because they are good looking, great functioning reels during their short lifetime..
ProsGood looks and smooth operation.
ConsPoor longevity
By Ron
Tiverton RI
Fast and easy! Great price .
September 15, 2018
Shipping was quick ant what a great deal!
By Billy
Mesquite, TX
What's Not In The Description - Centrifugal Cast Control
March 13, 2018
This little MA12 and at least through the MA20 size open top single speed reels have a four pin centrifugal cast control system built it. That's something you never see in the description on any site. This reel is extremely easy to cast. I've practiced casting the little MA12 with all 4 weights on the braking system and can cast a one ounce lure without ever thumbing the spool until splash down with absolutely zero backlash. If you want a bit more distance you can take the weights off two opposing pins for less centrifugal breaking. Fit and finish on all the Marquesa reels I have is splendid and I own several from the little MA12 up to the MA50. Enough of the good and time for the bad. This may make no difference to you but it is of extreme annoyance to me. THEY ALL make a rather loud clicking sound on retrieve from the secondary anti-reverse system. They have spring tension pawl that produces a clicking sound on retrieve. After reading an online review of the little MA12 where the writer complained of the loud clicking sound and he basically removed the secondary anti-reverse pawl and spring from the reel because the sound bothered him so much. Feeling the same way about the clicking noise I did this to an MA12, MA16 and MA20 which leaves you relying only on the AR bearing. I've used the reels quite a bit since and have had no AR bearing failure on any of them. If you decide to do this so so at your own risk as I'm pretty sure the manufacturer would recommend against it. That out of the way the retrieve on these reels is blissfully silent now. I WOULD NOT do this on the larger reels for fear of AR bearing failure. My sizes MA30 through MA50 get very little use because I HATE the clicking sound. Once I got the smaller three models silent I love them and highly recommend them. The centrifugal breaking is a big plus and I have always wondered why this feature is never in the product description as it is a good selling point. I do not think the frames with the top bar have it and I'm not sure if the two speed models have this feature so before you buy one for the centrifugal breaking feature look at an exploded view of the model you are interested in to be sure it's there.
ProsSmall and well made little lever drag. Silent retrieve but only AFTER a slight modification. Again if you do this do it at your own risk. Outstanding centrifugal cast control at least on the smaller single speed open top models. The fit and finish on the reel is fantastic and that goes for all the Marquesa reels I have bought. More than ample drag for a reel this small.
ConsThat horrible clicking sound on retrieve from an "out of the box" reel is a HUGE con for me. But it can be dealt with in minutes on the smaller reels. When I fist got my MA12 I drilled out the knob attachment to install a custom offset jigging knob. I decided since I had to drill out the factory knob to do this I wanted to buy the entire handle and knob assembly so I ordered one directly from Zebco (Who owns the Fin Nor brand). It took them almost a year and several emails before I finally received the replacement handle assembly so you may have some trouble if you need parts in a hurry. This wasn't a big deal for my case as I simply wanted the original assembly as a "just in case" thing. My custom knob / handle assembly is still on the reel and working great so it was not parts I had to have right away. I do however believe the parts should have been shipped in weeks and not months. That said you may never actually need a replacement part. I have yet to have anything break on any of them and they have seen some heavy use.
By Chuck
Portland, Oregon
Nice reel
March 3, 2018
Great reel, took to CR for sails, tuna and mahi mahi. Never missed a beat.
ProsFit and finish is awesome
ConsNone
By John
Dallas, TX
Strong reel
August 9, 2017
Great little reel for dropping and tossing live baits. Plenty of drag for Kings, snappers & Jacks.
ProsSmall & light.
ConsTakes a little practice to cast.
By Michael
Oregon
First choice
August 3, 2016
I have 4, two speed reels and this is the one I prefer to use. Reliable and consistent drag system allows you to add just what is needed. Reliable performance instills confidence every time I pick it up.
By Michael
Klamath Falls, Oregon
YOU CAN FEEL THE QUALITY
August 3, 2016
This is by far one of my favorite reels. The true feel of a quality piece every time I pick it up. Smooth operation and the drag can be added easily and in the proper increment.
By Terry
galesburg, MI
light and strong
November 30, 2015
trolling and deep dropping
Prosnice quality build, smooth and powerful drag holds plenty of braid
Consno belt hooks
By Christopher
Cochran, GA
Great reel
October 8, 2015
Use the 50 for trolling for dolphin. Reel looks awesome and works the same. Very smooth drag. It will handle a big bull dolphin or wahoo.
ProsLooks great, strong smooth drag, good line capacity for offshore trolling.
By Tommy P.
Dixon, CA.
Little Powerhouse
May 21, 2015
Small, Powerful & Good Lookin'... Don't let the size of this Reel fool you. With 45 lbs. of drag, this reel is a powerhouse...
By Thomas
New Iberia, Louisiana
Good all around reel
May 4, 2015
I use this reel for jigging tuna and grouper as well as chunking for yellowfin. Works great, a little noisy but not noticeable on the water. Smooth and strong. Good drag system and awesome capacity
By Trent
Newport Beach, CA
Not impressed
April 25, 2015
Looks good, but feels cheap in your hand.
By Michael
,
Outstanding reel
January 27, 2015
Awesome reel for live baiting super smooth drag and high max drag awesome reel to add to your arsenal
By Andrew G.
Michigan
Fin Nor MA12
October 31, 2014
I have three of these reels. They excellent light tackle reels. I fish light tackle for Mutton Snapper and other reef fishes (including Red Snapper on the Gulf). I have never had a problem with these reels. The drags are first-rate. On one occasion, one of MA12 was just sticking a bit in free spool. I wrote Fin Nor (expecting a referral to an approved repair facility/dealer); instead, they replaced the reel with no questions asked (the reel that was sticking a bit, was more than two years old!). This surprised me, but it also demonstrates they stick behind their equipment. You really cannot ask for more.
ProsSee review comments.
ConsNone.
By Billy
Texas
What The Specs Don't Say (Cast Control)
May 2, 2014
The open top single speed Marquesa models have a centrifugal cast control designed in. This is something you can see in an exploded view but I have never seen this listed in any description on any site. I only own the little MA12 at this time and it is as easy to cast as any freshwater bait-cast reel I own. Even the novice should be able to cast this reel with baits of 1 ounce and over. A real pleasure to use.
ProsBuilt in centrifugal cast control makes this reel all but impossible to backlash. Cosmetics, fit and finish are second to none. Reel is smooth and offers plenty of drag for it's size.
ConsAt 20 ounces this reel is heavier than comparable reels in it's size class. Wish it had a totally silent anti-reverse but it's not overly loud by any means
By Pablo Z.
Ecuador
😄👍
August 6, 2013
😄👍
By Scott B.
Riverside, CA
Great Reel
June 22, 2013
This is a finely built reel! Attention to detail was obviously in mind when this was designed.
Prossmooth simple operation ergonomic drag lever and crank handle
By Debo
Vero Beach,FL
Solid Reel
May 27, 2013
Great for jigging!
By William
Cranston, RI
Awesome reel
May 25, 2013
Got 4 of these reels for free with Santiago purchases. They are great! Lightweight and very smooth lever drag. Will use for stripers and jigging. For around 500 yards of JB non-hollow, which I was happy with.
ProsBuild quality Lever drag feel
ConsNone
By John
Edison, NJ
Realy Good
May 23, 2013
I have been using this reel since theday that I recived it. This reel is very easy to cast with and I like the preset strike drag weight.
By wm h.
morristown minn.
bought the 30 11 last summer for fall tuna fishing WM h of mn.
April 12, 2013
caught two yellow fin over 80lb and over 100 black fin. reel worked great smooth drag . pered with a fin nor jiging rod.
Prosi like the two speed workes great . when shifting into low you dont even know you have a fish on
By craig
New Prt Rchy, FL
Buy this
April 9, 2013
Absolutely love it. This will be my snapper reel.
By Ang
Singapore
Strong durable reel
March 29, 2013
2speed reel with it's strong drag,no regrets purchasing this finnor reel.
By Ron
DFW
Compact Power
March 23, 2013
Love this little reel, came with my bigger Fin nor real, not sure if it is worth 319. But since it was a bundled deal, well worth buy the big reel and get this one for free. Handles very well nonetheless.
ProsThe feel ez drag setting Better to buy the bigger Santiago reel and get this one for free.
ConsNot sure if I would pay 319.95 for this reel.
By Tom
Vienna, ME
Welcome back fin-nor
March 11, 2013
Very nice lightweight reel for my vertical jigging
ProsNicely made smooth operation
By J C.
San Diego, CA.
Buyer beware!
November 5, 2012
First of all, I bought the two for one deal where I received a free Marquesa with the purchase of a Santiago > $400. After I purchased the Santiago 12, it took about two months to receive the Marquesa 20-2 from Tackle Direct due to unavailability/back order. They offered substitutes, but I wanted what I had orignally purchased. When I finally received and used my Marquesa-2 for the first time, the spool and speed changing gears locked up and jammed. I sent the reel to a Fin Nor (owned by Zebco) repair facility in Tulsa, Oklahoma and it took them over three months fix and return it to me. I got some t-shirts and hats, advertising Fin Nor, from them to try to console my frustration with the repair facility and their product.It didn't. This Chinese made product looks solid on the outside, but the internal quality is questionable. I won't ever buy another Fin Nor reel again even if it cost only a penny.
ProsLooks good on the outside.
ConsReels are heavy, service facilty is awefully slow with repairing and returning broken reels, reels are undependable. They're made in China.

Page 1 of 1