4.6
78 Reviews
5
68% (53)
4
28% (22)
3
3% (2)
2
1% (1)
1
0% (0)
99% Recommend this product (77 of 78 responses)
By Scott
Thompson, CT
Decent reel for money
November 15, 2019
Used them Striper fishing this year landed multiple fish 40+ lbs no issues or complaints
By Steven
Fresh Creek, Bahamas
Great reel for the money!!!
March 1, 2019
I have been using these reels for bait while offshore, they are a little big for the task so I added a popper and had a nice Blackfin inhale the bait. No issues getting the football to the boat!!!
By Richie
, royal palm beach
Affordable reel
January 25, 2019
Bought when on bogo and can’t complain for what I paid . Just wish they were a size smaller
By Chris G.
Miami, FL
You Won't Find Another Quality Reel At This Price Range!
December 25, 2018
This reel is a workhorse! Great price range and quality!
ProsPrice Quality
By John
Rockwall, TX
Great Reel
September 14, 2018
i bought two of these reels during the Bogo Deal. The reels and drag are both smooth. Good reels for the price.
Prossmooth drag good value
Conswish there was a smaller size available for the BOGO offer.
By Ruben
Jacksonville, FL
Better than I expected
August 31, 2018
Purchased 4 during the Bogo Deal. Had them spooled with 20lb mono and put them on surf rods. They are smooth and easy to handle. My 8 year old has no issues working the reel.
By Michael L.
La habra
Nice!
August 2, 2018
Haven't landed any big fish yet but feels smooth and handle is nice. Had a seal take a fish that was hooked up and drag felt great!
ProsCheap, good handle, good drag
ConsNone yet
By Bryan
Dutchess, New York
Affordable Fin Nor
July 9, 2018
Great reel. Holds plenty of line. Performed nicely. Drag was smooth. Gonna make it my go-to reel for casting to strippers and blues. Can’t wait to hook a monster to see how it performs on larger fish. Handled 10 to 15 pounders pretty flawlessly
By Todd
Dorchester, MA
Great Economical Reel
July 8, 2018
Purchased as part of a buy 1 get 1 free offer. Good reels for the price. They appear well built and handle smoothly. I would consider purchasing again if I am in need of additional reels.
ProsPrice Well Built
By Britt
Santa Cruz
Great reel
July 8, 2018
For the price this reel seems well constructed and has a good stopping power drag system.
By Mark
Crisfield, MD
Great product
July 8, 2018
Bought as a back up. First day out I had to use it as my Penn broke. Performed flawlessly. For the price (a 1/3 of my Penns), I will have to think hard about buying another Penn over these reels. I was rock fishing.
ProsSeems well made.....well balanced on a 6.5 rod.
ConsThe bail could be smoother, but OK as is.
By Justin
Coventry, RI
Quality seems hit or miss.
July 7, 2018
I ordered two of these. One was buttery smooth and is still working beautifully after months of regular use. The other had a clunking sound when reeling right out of the box, which developed into a loud squeak/screeching sound and binding up after only one outing making it basically unusable.
By William K.
winbid62@cox.net
Heavy duty reels at a great price
July 7, 2018
2 for one what a great price thanks!
By Bryan
New jersey
Mega lite
July 7, 2018
Smooth retrieval.
By Rob
Parlin nj
Good stuff
July 7, 2018
It's comfortable and nice and smooth
By Bruce
Cape Canaveral, Fl.
Very pleased
July 6, 2018
Much better quality and size than I exspected for the price. The bonus was the BOGO, WHAT GREAT DEAL.,! TAckle direct does it again.
ProsDesign, quality, drag rating and line capacity.
ConsNone so far.
By John
Newport RI
Excellent
July 6, 2018
Smooth operation, excellent drag with over 300yds of 30lb braid this is excellent reel that can be used in several applications. I set it up for top water action and so far love everything about this reel.
By Keith C.
Southern California
Very good product
July 4, 2018
The Fin-Nor MLS40 Mega Lite is a very good product, well built. Quality materials were put in this reel, the kind of quality to come to expect from Fin-Nor,
ProsVery smooth, nice handle, strong drag system,
ConsNone at this time.
By Ray M.
Holmdel ,, NJ
Great bay reel
June 30, 2018
So far so good has handled blues, fluke etc in the bay no issues. Using 12 lb test drag is working well and smooth Nice reel glad I bought this size for in the bay.
ProsSize Drag pretty smooth
ConsNone so far
By Dennis N.
Medford Lakes NJ
Great Product - Great Proces
June 27, 2018
Lightweight and smooth performance......
By Brian
Callahan, FL
Great Reels
June 25, 2018
Had these reels for a while now and they are great. Haven't had any issue with them. The are abused in saltwater multiple times a week. Great reels for a decent price and simple to maintain.
By mark
cape charles va
Mega lite Fin-nor 40
June 25, 2018
Love this reel,super smooth,great drag, have landed some nice speckles(trout) with it so far, along some medium reds without any problems.
Prossmooth great drag
By Jim
Milton Wi
Fin-nor MLS40 Mega lite spining reel
June 24, 2018
The reel preformed well no complaints
By steve w.
jax fl
so far working good
June 23, 2018
used it a couple of times working great its still new
By TK
SAN DIEGO, CA
Value based quality
June 22, 2018
I seldom use spinning gear and got these primarily for friends and family so they wouldn't ruin my casting gear while they borrowed my stuff to fish. But, these reels have a nice drag and pulling power for yts and tuna. No issues killing some tasty critters in a very economical, yet high quality, reel.
By Jim
Ventnor, NJ
Good Reel for a Great Price
June 20, 2018
have had the opportunity to use this real a couple times. Casts good and is light. Have it on a Penn Batalian Rod. (9 ft). Was able to land a couple smaller blues. The BoGo offer was great as this gives me the opportuntiy to set up a few rods while surf fishing. Looking to bring these with me for some peir fishing in NC in a couple weeks. GREAT DEAL.
Proslight weight drag great price
Consnone yet
By Leo F.
Los Angeles
Fin-Nor
June 7, 2018
nice reel
Proslight, smooth
Consnone
By Santiago H.
santiagoh25@yahoo.com
Great Reel
May 28, 2018
Great Reel. Loaded it with braid line and feels smooth and light
By Dave C.
West Chester pa
Fin nor reel
May 15, 2018
Good back up real for friends while visiting, some flex at the reel seat. Not expensive
By Craig
West coast
Good value
May 12, 2018
Great reel for rockfish. Using these as spares and for inexperienced fisherman
By Jason W.
Las Vegas, NV
Nice reel better in a BOGO
May 12, 2018
Very quality reel and very smooth.
ProsLightweight Inexpensive Smooth casting
ConsNone to date
By Randy
Chester, MD
Great Deal!
May 11, 2018
I took advantage of the 2 for 1 deal and was pleasantly surprised. The reels are going to be perfect for I what I need them for. They are well constructed and will hold a lot of line. Now I need to pair them up with 2 new rods. Great service from Tackle Direct!
By Mark
cape charles va
super reel
May 10, 2018
I caught two 40" reds the first time i used this reel and had no problem at all getting them on the boat.love it and it is now my go to reel.
Prossmooth,super nice drag
Consnot one yet.
By joe b.
venice florida. (salt water fish only)
fin-nor mls60 cp
May 10, 2018
I loaded the reel with 60 lb suffix momo line. The reason for such heavy test line of this spinner is due to the use. I use it on salt water reefs in the gulf of mexico. You have to keep the line on the bottom and it comes in contact with abrasive rocks and coral. This cause ware on line which will break if you use like a 20 or 30 lb. test. With using the 60lb it has a tendancey to unravel off the spool if you want to cast it away from boat. The un-raveling cause line to grab reel or hang up or trip retriever which cause a miss cast. You have to take extra caught when you have to cast reel. the reel itself has functioned pretty good on retrieving of the snapper, porgies, grunts, and sea bass. I have caught some undersize grouper but no legal size grouper has been reeled up. I do believe it will handle a keeper size grouper. I have not tested it fully yet. I plan on trying to land an American Red Snapper with it. If it handles an American Red snapper successfully, it will stand up to my test expectation. I have it matched up with an Ugly stick rod.
ProsLite and comfortable, smooth reeling
Consdoes not handle 60lb test or heavier very well. it unravels off spool when you fillip bail to cast.
By Jeff
Deland, Florida
Fun-nor
May 10, 2018
Love these reels. Smooth drags and great casting
By Marvin
whittier calif
fin-nor spinning reel
May 9, 2018
Shipping was fast and on time as promised.Product seems to be very good for price.Haven't had chance to use yet but will use in a few months.
By HECTOR F.
DEL RIO, TEXAS
very good reel
May 9, 2018
very resistant reel. good materials and very good brake. I recommend it!
Prosprice, brake, material, weight.
Cons So far I have not found it.
By JC
Florida
Exceptional Reel
May 9, 2018
I’m a die hard Penn user and decided I needed a couple of pier reels. A friend told me about these Finn-Nors. I’ve used them quite a bit and have to say I’m more than happy with the product. I’ll be getting two more of them for my kayak. Very Satisfied Customer!
ProsLight reel No squeaks or creeks when reeling Easy to wash and clean
By Denny
Medford, NJ
Great Fin-Nor Spinning Reels ! Smoooth as silk......great prices @ Tackle Direct....
May 9, 2018
I matched them up with a 4 Penn Spinning rods rated 12-20 .... Smooooooth as silk......great prices @ Tackle Direct....
By Jack
Point pleasant New Jersey
Fin-Nor MLS60CP Reel
May 9, 2018
Great reel, very smooth and can’t beat the price.
By Brandon
st James, mo
my friend likes it
May 9, 2018
I haven't had a chance to use mine yet but I gave one to a friend and he likes it. He told me it is smooth and is a good reel
By Paul
Silverhill, AL
Love those 2 for 1 specials.
May 7, 2018
Great reel, better yet I got two for the price of one. Thanks TackleDirect this means more fishing!
By Kitchenpass
Freeport, Tx
Worth the price
May 6, 2018
Ok, first- I bough mine while they were having a 2for1 sale. It was a no brainer. My boat buddy has 3 and we’ve reeled in everything from 15# Snapper to 20# Kings (line peelers). We had a helluva time with a 33# Ling, but we did land it. Probably lost a little life on the drag on that one, but we just got tired of playing the fish and cranked on the drag to get it close enough for the gaff. So, when I saw these on sale, I naturally bought two. I rigged one and am keeping the other as a spare, in case one of my Penn Spinfishers goes down during the season.
By Robert
Orlando fl
Great deal
May 6, 2018
Great deal and happy with it so far. Seems to Preform just fine. Not a heavy duty offshore reel even though the drag is so high. But 30lb class seems to be right for it.
By SOFLO A.
Fort Lauderdale
SOFLO Angler
May 6, 2018
Live in SOFLO yet I alway buy from TackleDirect. Prices are great and goods ship out on time. Hope to put this reel to the test very soon.
By Jorge
Santa Paula, CA
Great price
May 2, 2018
I got a pair of this on sale for 2for $60 I keep one and one for my wife..we went Surf fishing to give them a try..works great for surf perch and small sharks even a California halibut we caught a 25" one with that reel with no problem..
ProsGreat price,,strong reel
By Bobby G.
Cape Coral, FL
Great Snapper Reel!
May 1, 2018
Got the 2 for 1 deal from Tackle Direct and matched them on some medium action Ugly Sticks I found on clearance. I got two great setups for less than the price I would normally get one reel! Reel is perfect for the job, dropping down for snapper in S.W. Florida. I've had Fin-Nor in the past and had great luck with durability hopefully these will hold up the same.
By Scott
Long Island
Nice reel
April 30, 2018
A little heavy but well made like all Fin Nor reels.
By Mike B.
MA
Nice and Light
April 28, 2018
Smooth reel, perfect for Inshore & Surf
ProsLight Smooth Great Handle
By GusNY
gusnyny@yahoo.com
Well built budget reels (2 for 1 deal)
April 27, 2018
I was first introduced to Fin-Nor reels on a charter out of Clearwater, FL. My first reaction was wow these are pretty light and smooth. I typically fish Shimano stradics and was impressed at the performance of Fin-Nor reels. When I saw the 2 for 1 deal with tackle direct I jumped on it. 2 quality reels for $60 almost didn’t make sense. 23lbs of drag for $30 per reel!?! You know what to do. Jump on this deal the reel is smooth and solid.
ProsLight, built well, price.
ConsWould have preferred a round or oval handle but not a deal breaker.

Page 1 of 2
1