4.6
79 Reviews
5
67% (53)
4
29% (23)
3
3% (2)
2
1% (1)
1
0% (0)
99% Recommend this product (78 of 79 responses)
By Vinny
EAST BOSTON, MA
Good reel for the money
March 12, 2020
You won't find a better reel at this price.
By Scott
Thompson, CT
Decent reel for money
November 15, 2019
Used them Striper fishing this year landed multiple fish 40+ lbs no issues or complaints
By Steven
Fresh Creek, Bahamas
Great reel for the money!!!
March 1, 2019
I have been using these reels for bait while offshore, they are a little big for the task so I added a popper and had a nice Blackfin inhale the bait. No issues getting the football to the boat!!!
By Richie
, royal palm beach
Affordable reel
January 25, 2019
Bought when on bogo and can’t complain for what I paid . Just wish they were a size smaller
By Chris G.
Miami, FL
You Won't Find Another Quality Reel At This Price Range!
December 25, 2018
This reel is a workhorse! Great price range and quality!
ProsPrice Quality
By John
Rockwall, TX
Great Reel
September 14, 2018
i bought two of these reels during the Bogo Deal. The reels and drag are both smooth. Good reels for the price.
Prossmooth drag good value
Conswish there was a smaller size available for the BOGO offer.
By Ruben
Jacksonville, FL
Better than I expected
August 31, 2018
Purchased 4 during the Bogo Deal. Had them spooled with 20lb mono and put them on surf rods. They are smooth and easy to handle. My 8 year old has no issues working the reel.
By Michael L.
La habra
Nice!
August 2, 2018
Haven't landed any big fish yet but feels smooth and handle is nice. Had a seal take a fish that was hooked up and drag felt great!
ProsCheap, good handle, good drag
ConsNone yet
By Bryan
Dutchess, New York
Affordable Fin Nor
July 9, 2018
Great reel. Holds plenty of line. Performed nicely. Drag was smooth. Gonna make it my go-to reel for casting to strippers and blues. Can’t wait to hook a monster to see how it performs on larger fish. Handled 10 to 15 pounders pretty flawlessly
By Todd
Dorchester, MA
Great Economical Reel
July 8, 2018
Purchased as part of a buy 1 get 1 free offer. Good reels for the price. They appear well built and handle smoothly. I would consider purchasing again if I am in need of additional reels.
ProsPrice Well Built
By Britt
Santa Cruz
Great reel
July 8, 2018
For the price this reel seems well constructed and has a good stopping power drag system.
By Mark
Crisfield, MD
Great product
July 8, 2018
Bought as a back up. First day out I had to use it as my Penn broke. Performed flawlessly. For the price (a 1/3 of my Penns), I will have to think hard about buying another Penn over these reels. I was rock fishing.
ProsSeems well made.....well balanced on a 6.5 rod.
ConsThe bail could be smoother, but OK as is.
By Justin
Coventry, RI
Quality seems hit or miss.
July 7, 2018
I ordered two of these. One was buttery smooth and is still working beautifully after months of regular use. The other had a clunking sound when reeling right out of the box, which developed into a loud squeak/screeching sound and binding up after only one outing making it basically unusable.
By William K.
winbid62@cox.net
Heavy duty reels at a great price
July 7, 2018
2 for one what a great price thanks!
By Bryan
New jersey
Mega lite
July 7, 2018
Smooth retrieval.
By Rob
Parlin nj
Good stuff
July 7, 2018
It's comfortable and nice and smooth
By Bruce
Cape Canaveral, Fl.
Very pleased
July 6, 2018
Much better quality and size than I exspected for the price. The bonus was the BOGO, WHAT GREAT DEAL.,! TAckle direct does it again.
ProsDesign, quality, drag rating and line capacity.
ConsNone so far.
By John
Newport RI
Excellent
July 6, 2018
Smooth operation, excellent drag with over 300yds of 30lb braid this is excellent reel that can be used in several applications. I set it up for top water action and so far love everything about this reel.
By Keith C.
Southern California
Very good product
July 4, 2018
The Fin-Nor MLS40 Mega Lite is a very good product, well built. Quality materials were put in this reel, the kind of quality to come to expect from Fin-Nor,
ProsVery smooth, nice handle, strong drag system,
ConsNone at this time.
By Ray M.
Holmdel ,, NJ
Great bay reel
June 30, 2018
So far so good has handled blues, fluke etc in the bay no issues. Using 12 lb test drag is working well and smooth Nice reel glad I bought this size for in the bay.
ProsSize Drag pretty smooth
ConsNone so far
By Dennis N.
Medford Lakes NJ
Great Product - Great Proces
June 27, 2018
Lightweight and smooth performance......
By Brian
Callahan, FL
Great Reels
June 25, 2018
Had these reels for a while now and they are great. Haven't had any issue with them. The are abused in saltwater multiple times a week. Great reels for a decent price and simple to maintain.
By mark
cape charles va
Mega lite Fin-nor 40
June 25, 2018
Love this reel,super smooth,great drag, have landed some nice speckles(trout) with it so far, along some medium reds without any problems.
Prossmooth great drag
By Jim
Milton Wi
Fin-nor MLS40 Mega lite spining reel
June 24, 2018
The reel preformed well no complaints
By steve w.
jax fl
so far working good
June 23, 2018
used it a couple of times working great its still new
By TK
SAN DIEGO, CA
Value based quality
June 22, 2018
I seldom use spinning gear and got these primarily for friends and family so they wouldn't ruin my casting gear while they borrowed my stuff to fish. But, these reels have a nice drag and pulling power for yts and tuna. No issues killing some tasty critters in a very economical, yet high quality, reel.
By Jim
Ventnor, NJ
Good Reel for a Great Price
June 20, 2018
have had the opportunity to use this real a couple times. Casts good and is light. Have it on a Penn Batalian Rod. (9 ft). Was able to land a couple smaller blues. The BoGo offer was great as this gives me the opportuntiy to set up a few rods while surf fishing. Looking to bring these with me for some peir fishing in NC in a couple weeks. GREAT DEAL.
Proslight weight drag great price
Consnone yet
By Leo F.
Los Angeles
Fin-Nor
June 7, 2018
nice reel
Proslight, smooth
Consnone
By Santiago H.
santiagoh25@yahoo.com
Great Reel
May 28, 2018
Great Reel. Loaded it with braid line and feels smooth and light
By Dave C.
West Chester pa
Fin nor reel
May 15, 2018
Good back up real for friends while visiting, some flex at the reel seat. Not expensive
By Craig
West coast
Good value
May 12, 2018
Great reel for rockfish. Using these as spares and for inexperienced fisherman
By Jason W.
Las Vegas, NV
Nice reel better in a BOGO
May 12, 2018
Very quality reel and very smooth.
ProsLightweight Inexpensive Smooth casting
ConsNone to date
By Randy
Chester, MD
Great Deal!
May 11, 2018
I took advantage of the 2 for 1 deal and was pleasantly surprised. The reels are going to be perfect for I what I need them for. They are well constructed and will hold a lot of line. Now I need to pair them up with 2 new rods. Great service from Tackle Direct!
By Mark
cape charles va
super reel
May 10, 2018
I caught two 40" reds the first time i used this reel and had no problem at all getting them on the boat.love it and it is now my go to reel.
Prossmooth,super nice drag
Consnot one yet.
By joe b.
venice florida. (salt water fish only)
fin-nor mls60 cp
May 10, 2018
I loaded the reel with 60 lb suffix momo line. The reason for such heavy test line of this spinner is due to the use. I use it on salt water reefs in the gulf of mexico. You have to keep the line on the bottom and it comes in contact with abrasive rocks and coral. This cause ware on line which will break if you use like a 20 or 30 lb. test. With using the 60lb it has a tendancey to unravel off the spool if you want to cast it away from boat. The un-raveling cause line to grab reel or hang up or trip retriever which cause a miss cast. You have to take extra caught when you have to cast reel. the reel itself has functioned pretty good on retrieving of the snapper, porgies, grunts, and sea bass. I have caught some undersize grouper but no legal size grouper has been reeled up. I do believe it will handle a keeper size grouper. I have not tested it fully yet. I plan on trying to land an American Red Snapper with it. If it handles an American Red snapper successfully, it will stand up to my test expectation. I have it matched up with an Ugly stick rod.
ProsLite and comfortable, smooth reeling
Consdoes not handle 60lb test or heavier very well. it unravels off spool when you fillip bail to cast.
By Jeff
Deland, Florida
Fun-nor
May 10, 2018
Love these reels. Smooth drags and great casting
By Marvin
whittier calif
fin-nor spinning reel
May 9, 2018
Shipping was fast and on time as promised.Product seems to be very good for price.Haven't had chance to use yet but will use in a few months.
By HECTOR F.
DEL RIO, TEXAS
very good reel
May 9, 2018
very resistant reel. good materials and very good brake. I recommend it!
Prosprice, brake, material, weight.
Cons So far I have not found it.
By JC
Florida
Exceptional Reel
May 9, 2018
I’m a die hard Penn user and decided I needed a couple of pier reels. A friend told me about these Finn-Nors. I’ve used them quite a bit and have to say I’m more than happy with the product. I’ll be getting two more of them for my kayak. Very Satisfied Customer!
ProsLight reel No squeaks or creeks when reeling Easy to wash and clean
By Denny
Medford, NJ
Great Fin-Nor Spinning Reels ! Smoooth as silk......great prices @ Tackle Direct....
May 9, 2018
I matched them up with a 4 Penn Spinning rods rated 12-20 .... Smooooooth as silk......great prices @ Tackle Direct....
By Jack
Point pleasant New Jersey
Fin-Nor MLS60CP Reel
May 9, 2018
Great reel, very smooth and can’t beat the price.
By Brandon
st James, mo
my friend likes it
May 9, 2018
I haven't had a chance to use mine yet but I gave one to a friend and he likes it. He told me it is smooth and is a good reel
By Paul
Silverhill, AL
Love those 2 for 1 specials.
May 7, 2018
Great reel, better yet I got two for the price of one. Thanks TackleDirect this means more fishing!
By Kitchenpass
Freeport, Tx
Worth the price
May 6, 2018
Ok, first- I bough mine while they were having a 2for1 sale. It was a no brainer. My boat buddy has 3 and we’ve reeled in everything from 15# Snapper to 20# Kings (line peelers). We had a helluva time with a 33# Ling, but we did land it. Probably lost a little life on the drag on that one, but we just got tired of playing the fish and cranked on the drag to get it close enough for the gaff. So, when I saw these on sale, I naturally bought two. I rigged one and am keeping the other as a spare, in case one of my Penn Spinfishers goes down during the season.
By Robert
Orlando fl
Great deal
May 6, 2018
Great deal and happy with it so far. Seems to Preform just fine. Not a heavy duty offshore reel even though the drag is so high. But 30lb class seems to be right for it.
By SOFLO A.
Fort Lauderdale
SOFLO Angler
May 6, 2018
Live in SOFLO yet I alway buy from TackleDirect. Prices are great and goods ship out on time. Hope to put this reel to the test very soon.
By Jorge
Santa Paula, CA
Great price
May 2, 2018
I got a pair of this on sale for 2for $60 I keep one and one for my wife..we went Surf fishing to give them a try..works great for surf perch and small sharks even a California halibut we caught a 25" one with that reel with no problem..
ProsGreat price,,strong reel
By Bobby G.
Cape Coral, FL
Great Snapper Reel!
May 1, 2018
Got the 2 for 1 deal from Tackle Direct and matched them on some medium action Ugly Sticks I found on clearance. I got two great setups for less than the price I would normally get one reel! Reel is perfect for the job, dropping down for snapper in S.W. Florida. I've had Fin-Nor in the past and had great luck with durability hopefully these will hold up the same.
By Scott
Long Island
Nice reel
April 30, 2018
A little heavy but well made like all Fin Nor reels.
By Mike B.
MA
Nice and Light
April 28, 2018
Smooth reel, perfect for Inshore & Surf
ProsLight Smooth Great Handle
By GusNY
gusnyny@yahoo.com
Well built budget reels (2 for 1 deal)
April 27, 2018
I was first introduced to Fin-Nor reels on a charter out of Clearwater, FL. My first reaction was wow these are pretty light and smooth. I typically fish Shimano stradics and was impressed at the performance of Fin-Nor reels. When I saw the 2 for 1 deal with tackle direct I jumped on it. 2 quality reels for $60 almost didn’t make sense. 23lbs of drag for $30 per reel!?! You know what to do. Jump on this deal the reel is smooth and solid.
ProsLight, built well, price.
ConsWould have preferred a round or oval handle but not a deal breaker.
By bernard
gouldsboro, pa.
... Rather Large Reel...
April 26, 2018
...Hi There!!!! ... I didn't realize how large this reel is... I got caught up in the product name, Mega Light Ad and $price$... I'll probably use it when I 'Sport Fish' target fresh water Channel Cats and Carp! It feels good and appears to be a good quality. Time will tell when sitting in the boat with the acid rain up here. Semper Fi! Godspeed!! <')\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\><
Pros...The 'Product Name'..............
Cons....for me..?... rather large!
By jean d.
so -cal
great reel for the price
April 25, 2018
very light and tough at the same time , has plenty of drag to pull on big fish and for the price your not worried about hurting the reel.
Proslight and tough
By Christopher
Montauk
Great Reel. Great price, for a powerhouse
April 25, 2018
I started using this for freshwater fishing taken to court, the drag is very smooth, now I am using it for catching gigantic striped bass from the surf and blue fish. This will be my all around go to reel from now on. -chris the charterboat mate
ProsSmooth drag, big spool, great bail system, salt water resistant.
ConsHaven't found one yet
By RickyKamm
Nashville, TN
Nice reels
April 22, 2018
Was skeptical at first but went with the bogo deal. What do I have to lose, right? Well out of the package was a nicely built reel. No slop or loose parts. I spooled with 50lb power pro. Rod is a 10â‚" MHF surf rod. Let me tell you, reel feels smooth and cast smooth. The drag is great. Iâ‚"m almost tempted to order another reel while the bogo deal is still active. Just means Iâ‚"ll have to buy more rods.
By John
Islamorada, Florida Keys
Love This Reel
April 22, 2018
Getting ready for Mahi season down in Florida Keys. This is a great addition for the cost to be properly armed for the hysteria of a big school.
ProsGreat drag, smooth.
By Danny W.
Fl
Great reel for the mony
April 22, 2018
Got this reel on the bogo deal, great sturdy reel for not having a metal frame
By Vu
,
Nice looking reel
April 21, 2018
Reel look smooth and heavy duty.
By chas527
keansburg nj
fin-nor reel
April 21, 2018
not the best reel.but good enought
By Johnny N.
77396
good reel
April 21, 2018
great reel for the price!
By Michael B.
Haddon Township ni
Great reel and value
April 21, 2018
Great teel very smooth good gear ratio for working lures smooth drag. Plenty of line capacity with braid. Also a like reel for it's size.
By Mike
Dawsonville Ga.
Great reel
April 20, 2018
Just what I wanted. Great service and shipping.
By Daniel
Boston
Great deal!
April 19, 2018
Really nice reel and even better deal!â‚"
By Melvin
Costa Rica
Nice product at an excellent price.
April 17, 2018
No used yet but it looks like high quality, nice line capacity and drag system.
ProsPrice, capacity, weight
Consnot used yet
By Scott
CT
Great deal
April 17, 2018
Seems to be a decent reel. Ordering a couple more this week.
By Kevin
Half Moon Bay, CA
Great reel
April 16, 2018
There's a ton of great reels in this price point and this one is no exception. If you like black and red this is your reel lol.
ProsSmooth Pretty finish Solid drag
ConsWon't impress any gold diggers
By Jb
Sattelite Beach, FL
Best reel you can find, look no further!!!
April 15, 2018
I was watching this reel for a bit and finally decided to get them since my reels that I truly appreciate and still working good (PENN Pursuit II 5000) are going into their fifth year of abuse and catching well over 100â‚"s of bull reds and other fish species like red snapper, sharks, jacks, triple tail, stingray, tarpon, barracudas and more. This reels are a bit of step up of my penns without spending a lot of money and on top of that TWO FOR THE PRICE OF ONE!!! Thatâ‚"s a sale to not pass up!!!
ProsBig comfortable power handle Bearings makes the reel smooth Good line capacity
ConsA little heavier than other 5000 series
By Julio G.
Miami, FL
Great reef
April 15, 2018
You canâ‚"t beat the price and the great quality. Paired with carnage 6â‚"6â‚ jigging rod. I love it. Iordered 4
ProsSmooth, fast retrieve
ConsNone
By VTHuntFish
New Haven, VT
Great Buy
April 14, 2018
Well built and seems rugged, will use on a couple surf rods and expect that I will have no complaints especially considering the 2 for 1 offer from Tackle Direct
ProsLight and Strong
ConsCould be just a little more balanced when reeling - NOT a showstopper
By Bill
Vero Beach Fl
Great surf reel
April 14, 2018
Took advantage of the Tackle Direct BOGO on this reel. Spooled it with 30# braid and paired it with an 8â‚" Star rod I carry when I walk the beach. Snook and sharks in the surf this spring! As always, great service from TD
By croxfishsr
San Pedro CA.
great reel for the price
April 14, 2018
Little heavier than their name implies but still a good deal and they work great.
By Mike S.
Savannah GA
Very smooth and strong
April 14, 2018
This reel is all that I expected. Very smooth drag and easy to use. FinNor makes solid tackle!
By Ermin j.
Florida
Not so smooth
April 12, 2018
I got two of this reels and they are anithing but smooth .I have 3 quantum smoke for almost 4 years and still very smooth. I donâ‚"t recommend this reels they are very loose.
By justin
Spring Hill, FL
MegaLite 60
April 12, 2018
1st time buying from tackle direct. TD didn`€™t even have the item in stock and the description stated it will take extra days to ship and I still got it in 4days. Fantastic first impression of TD. Will definitely purchase from them again. Haven`€™t used the reel yet but it doesnt feel like a cheap reel and for $59.99 I got 2 reels with the BOGO deal. Now y wife and I can start hitting the surf and skyway together.
By Carl
GA.
Unexpected Value
April 7, 2018
I received mine today and was very surprised at how well built and smooth these Reels were . Spooled up one and grabbed a 10 ft surf rod and took some casts at our community lake it preformed perfect , For the money its a steal , Will be giving it workout in Florida next week .
ProsSmooth , lite ,
Consnone
By Jack
Northeast Florida
Own 3 now
December 14, 2017
This is the best reel on the market. Expensive reels are dandy, but this reel is better. Its light, inexpensive, and performs like a top shelf reel. At first, you may think its cheapo... but this reel can take abuse. I surf cast with it and mine has been submerged many times. Covered in wet, salty beach sand. I like how its inexpensive so if i lose it or break it, im not feeling bad. This reel has the "it paid for itself" vibe. Mines not showing any signs of failure. By far the best reel ive used. I have a $300 fancy reel that siezed up within a month. I also have a 30 year old 8000 size reel thats still working (somewhat). If you cant a good saltwater reel than can take abuse and get the job don, megalite is it. Robust and lightweight, this reel (size 60) is a great match on a 9' surf rod. My setup has brought in many fish. If you buy any other reel instead, make sure its a Fin-Nor Lethal.
ProsLightweight Durable Performs like a high-end reel
ConsStores dont sell it, gotta buy online (if it was in a store, theyd be sodt out)
By matt
Fort Myers, Fl
Simple and effective
November 9, 2017
Have to say theres been 2 posted reviews here for 3 months, gotta be more people buying this product than this, BECAUSE IT'S PRETTY AWESOME ! I'm not a saltwater drone that swears by anything Penn makes.Stay away from cheap Penn's. This Fin nor has a sweet drag, it's very smooth, the bail flips crisp. This model has 5 bearings, less is more and less hassles with breakdowns and seizing up. I have literally over 30 reels in my house, Daiwa is my main spinners but when they break I throw them out, usually bearings. I'm impressed w the Lethal's, not at all by regular Quantum products but they do share common part numbers/bearings. With Penn reels you can buy parts online easily, well Fin nor is just as easy and easy to work on, unlike Daiwa and Shimano. Price is right, it's a tight package, you will like.
ProsParts can be found on line, simple design.
Cons I would like an aluminum frame but don't want to pay. No complaints yet.
By Edz A.
Iloilo City, Philippines
Great reel for a great price!
January 26, 2017
One of the big names on fishing gears, Fin Nor, now with an affordable spinning reel. Used for bottom fishing in saltwater environment here in the Philippines, the reel's drag stays smooth and with its light weight body, fishing till dusk will not tire you.
Prosrigid light body and strong aluminum spool for heavy bottom fishing!
Consnone
By Gian
Oceanside , CA
Awesome Reel
June 24, 2016
I bought this Fin Nor reel because I was looking for something light and easy to cast all day without getting tired. I used this reel and it's smooth as silk, cast after cast. I fished it at a local lagoon and caught a 24 inch Barracuda with no hassle at all, I want to test it out on some bigger fish and see how it handles.I would highly recommend this reel to anyone who likes to cast cranks, spoons, swimbaits, and spinnerbaits.
Proslightweight, smooth cast and retrieve. Great Price
ConsNone

Page 1 of 1