4.9
55 Reviews
5
95% (52)
4
4% (2)
3
2% (1)
2
0% (0)
1
0% (0)
100% Recommend this product (55 of 55 responses)
By Joe B.
NY
Hook ‘em
August 8, 2022
Perfect size for back sea bass !
By Matthew
RI
Perfect seabass hooks
March 11, 2022
2/0 for seabass 1/0 for porgies sharp and holds the tip very well.
By Carl
Tampa, Fl
Gamakatsu 98419 Octopus Hooks - 9/0
December 4, 2021
Great quality thin-wire hook in larger sizes.
ProsGreat hook for deep water. large-sized Grouper. Thinner wire in the deep water seems to give me better hook ups when the fish are finicky. I also use these to rig larger (300+) slow pitch jigs again when fish are being a little picky. Very corrosion resistant. Extremely Sharp!
ConsNone.
By Mike
Egg Harbor Township, NJ
The best
November 22, 2021
Best hooks on the market at a normal price
By Daniel
Texas
Best hooks I’ve ever used
October 1, 2021
I use these to catch everything from largemouth, to trophy red fish and stud alligator gar. Very solid hooks. Sharp and can always depend on them.
ProsDon?t bend Extremely sharp
By Michael
Georgia Mountains
The Best
September 26, 2021
Hands down, Gamakatsu are the best hooks there are.
By Michael
Georgia Mountains
Well Made
September 21, 2021
Gamakatsu hooks IMO are the best one can buy. These are no exception.
By GN
Southern CA
Great Hook
September 16, 2021
This hook I bought for inshore bass fishing in southern California
ProsPerfect for small live bait fishing
ConsNone
By GN
Southern CA
Great Hooks
September 16, 2021
I bought these for inshore fishing in Southern California, they work great for small live baits !
ProsStrong light for live bait fishing.
ConsNine
By Kaden
PA
The best
August 26, 2021
the best octopus hooks
By Al
NV
GAMAKATSU OCTOPUS HOOKS 8/0
July 4, 2021
Great hooks using for many years now highly recomend!!!
By Al
NV
GAMAKATSU OCTO HOOKS
July 4, 2021
Have been using gamakatsu hooks for over 20yrs now great hooks for many types of fish I use these for catfish & stripers highly recomend!!!
By Derek
, Marysville
Great hooks
April 5, 2021
Good to have for a floating work by zoom wacky style
By Greg
NC
Very Sharp!
March 16, 2021
Very sturdy, very sharp and well made
By Kevin
Brooklyn, New York
Nice Ooctpus hooks
October 24, 2020
Great price for a package of Octopus hooks. Strong & sturdy!! Get em'!!
By Tiwanicki
Barnegat NJ
Great Hooks
March 13, 2020
I use these hooks for most of my inshore fishing and am very happy with performance, durability and price.
ProsQuality Performance Durability
By Adam
Suffolk, VA
hooks
March 10, 2020
excellent hooks for live bait
By Reese
Johns island, SC
Great hooks
February 7, 2020
Really good hooks i used them for a long time with no complaints. There’s really nothing else to say
By Van
SoMD
You won't find a sharper hook
February 6, 2020
Gamakatsu make the sharpest hooks I've ever bought. They are also strong and last.
ConsThey are expensive and not quite as strong as Mustad hooks.
By Michael
Mattoon, IL
Great alternative to circle hooks
September 2, 2019
Gamakatsu Octopus 7/0 hooks I used for a lake sturgeon rig that I was actively fishing, as opposed to using a rod holder. Very happy with the hook ups.
By Bryan
South Amboy, NJ
Hooks
December 26, 2018
Nice and sharp
By Robert
Lowell, MA
Great for Bait!
November 29, 2018
I use these hooks exclusively when chunking bait. They are very strong and dependable and I have never had one bend out on me. They are very sharp and tend to stay that way.
ProsStrong Sharp Dependable
ConsNone
By Steven
Houston, TX
Well Made Hooks - Gamakatsu 98418!
November 22, 2018
Very impressed with Gamakatsu Hooks! Have used these hooks on King Fishes & Sharks.
ProsWell Made, Sharp & 4X Strong.
ConsPricey but worth it.
By Jessie
waldwick, nj
very sharp but had a few fish straighten these out on me.
August 26, 2018
prefer eagle claw for bigger fish.
Prosprice is good
By Thomas
Coram, NY
Great hooks
March 10, 2018
Use them for fluke teaser.
By Chris
Manorville, NY
It's all I use for live lining eels
October 11, 2017
Very sharp right out of the package. Finish is durable and won't rust too quickly. Great hooks.
ProsSharp Doesn't rust quickly
ConsI've had a few snap in 1/2 on big fish
By John L.
Seaford Delaware
sharp and dependable
July 11, 2017
my standard rigging hook
By Rick
VA
Good price
April 6, 2017
Hard to find elsewhere and just what I needed for striper chunking.
By Arthur
nc
Sharp
November 20, 2016
Great light duty hooks. Super sharp. Good for rigging sand fleas
By Alex
Pozzuoli, Italy
Bluefish hooks
August 4, 2016
I use these exclusively for bluefish. super sharp and strong. I love them.
By V R.
Rhody
Good fluke teaser hook.
July 23, 2016
Used this with 4" gulp shrimp as teaser and works great. Probably would upgrade a size for larger fluke .
ProsGreat hooks no bends when used with pliers.
ConsNone
By Glenn
Wilmington, NC
4/0 Octopus hooks
April 11, 2016
Good value. Gamagatsu makes a good hook.
ProsGood Value
By Joe
NY
best on the market
May 25, 2015
Best general live bait hooks. Extremely sharp and worth the money
Prossuper sharp right from the package holds edge very well strong
Consnone
By Db
new york, NY
straight eye
April 7, 2015
Straight eye hook, I used for rigging sluggo. especially bally hook. exellent hook
By Jim
Howe, Texas
Excellent Bait Hooks
March 14, 2015
I use these with a snell for bait rigs targeting panfish. The upturned eye puts the hook point right in the line of pull with maximum exposure. The wire is light but plenty strong for how I use them.
Pros- Sticky sharp - High percentage of hookups
By charles
west covina, ca
This got the fish !
February 20, 2015
went reef fishing in the Philippines last December. My cousin says they use size 8 hooks. Brought and used this and wallaaa - I'm catching doubles and often but they're not. These Gamakatsu are really sharp and precise. Yeah, shared and even left some for them. So I bought a bunch lately to bring again next month.
By andre
Boynton beach, FL
great j-hook for live bait
January 26, 2015
this is a great hook for live baiting big baits. the offset eye is great for snelling or tying a loop knot
By Raymond
Hot Springs Ar.
One of the best that I've used.
December 21, 2014
First this hook comes in that Japanese hook size. It is different from the sizes we are used to by being just a bit larger than the next size down in those sizes we are used to. I get there from Tackle Direct because I know of no other place which stocks the 9/0 that I use. Because of that size differential they are just a bit larger than the regular size 8/0 that we are used to, but it gives me a wider gap that allows me to use the larger bait that I need. I use this size for heavy duty cat fishing in an aria where 40-60Lb cat fish are caught regularly and 90 is not unheard of. Some of the trot line fishermen here use 7/0 regular trot line hooks in SS. These hooks/w the 30 degree down bend in the eye allow for easy snelling to a leader. The points are needle sharp. And I have never had one rust.
ProsOff set so less losses. Black chrome so no rust. Needle sharp points.
ConsThey are not free...LOL...
By Tony
Pasadena, MD
Great Hooks
October 19, 2014
These are the only hooks I use in saltwater. They are very sharp and don't dull easy. They hold up well to multiple fish and uses in saltwater.
By Gary
Hinesville, Georgia
All I use
July 10, 2014
I use these hooks on my surf rod for small sharks 2-5 foot. I've never had one come out or straighten. Setting the hook is very easy. Once that point hits the corner of the fishes mouth they pretty much hook their selves.
ProsUltra sharp, never rust and good hook sets.
By Johnny
Keyport, NJ
best hooks around
June 1, 2014
Can't beat the Gamakatsu hooks
ProsSharp and durable
Consa litte pricey
By Jason
Morganton, NC
Nice hooks
February 26, 2014
Love these hooks, I use the 3/0 hooks from the fishing piers. These hooks are very strong and super sharp.
ProsStrong Sharp
Consnone
By Jason
Morganton, NC
Nice Hook
February 26, 2014
Love these hooks, I use the 1/0 hooks from the fishing pier. These are strong hooks and very sharp.
ProsStrong Sharp
Consnone
By Jason
Morganton, NC
Nice hooks
February 26, 2014
Love these hooks I use the 5/0 from the fishing pier. Super sharp hooks and very strong.
ProsSharp Strong
Consnone
By Colin
Wallingford, PA
Gamakatsu Hooks
January 21, 2014
these octopus hooks are extremley versitale from 3/0 for fluke to 10/0 for shark. They are sharp, strong, and a one of the most common hooks I use.
By Bucktail B.
Atlantic Highlands, NJ
Gamakatsu is the best
June 10, 2013
Stays sharper and doesn't rust like the other hooks.
By Jonathan
Washington, NJ
Sharp and strong!
May 21, 2013
Sticky sharp right out of the package and very strong. Best hook in my opinion.
By Marvin
Hamden, CT
east set 10/0's
March 29, 2013
these hooks set easy... i use them to chunk bunker for big stripers and these are the best. 10/0's in the fall
Prosprice function
By Marvin
Hamden, CT
easy set
March 29, 2013
these hooks set easy... i use them to chunk bunker for big stripers and these are the best.
Prosprice function
By Hong G.
New Market, Alabama
my go-to hooks for all applications
February 16, 2013
razor sharp, and pretty tough material (doesn't break or bend easily), these gamakatsu octopus hooks are very versatile making them suitable for most fishing applications...i could even recycle and use them again on my next fishing trip if the sharpness remains!
Prostough material razor sharp corrosion resistant consistent in performance
Consnone

Page 1 of 2
1