4.3
124 Reviews
5
48% (59)
4
35% (44)
3
15% (19)
2
1% (1)
1
1% (1)
93% Recommend this product (115 of 124 responses)
By ANGEL M.
TRUJILLO ALTO, PR
Great line at economic price.
April 7, 2020
I use the Hi-Seas product for many, many years in different type of characteristics. From line for spearguns in 300lbs of resistant to little tackle fishing in a small river. The brand are synonym of HI quality. The Grand Slam 20lbs is not a exception. For spinning in the surf are the best.
ProsQuality and price.
ConsNone
By kl
NJ
Hi-seas 15 lb line
March 30, 2020
Received 2 of these free with reel purchases and put them on 2 of my freshwater outfits. I like the line so far(its cold still) seems to have decent stretch and low memory on my bait casters
By Edward
Kingman. Az
Like the way the way it handles cast good and good hook set
January 1, 2020
Worked well on my baitcaster good hook set minimum stretch.
By Dan
Alaska
Great line for the price
December 25, 2019
I see no flaws and impressed with price
By Ford
Greensboro, NC
Great product
June 20, 2019
Very happy with this line
By john
Boston
I'm happy with this line for the price.
May 25, 2019
I used this line (20 lb.) on a 5000 size reel six or seven times and have had no issues. Cast pretty good. Hooked a few schoolie stripers. A tiny bit stiff but well worth the price.
Prosthe price
By Rich
Melbourne Florida
Great Line
April 26, 2019
This Hi-seas line is so sensitive to and great for the value.
ProsVery sensitive for great feel on the bite.
ConsNone
By BRIAN
Cleveland
Great line
April 18, 2018
Performs well for all around use
ProsCastability, Suppleness Strength
By Brian
Cleveland
Great Line
April 18, 2018
Tried it out didn't catch anything but cast well spools well.
Prosnone
By Robert
Orlando fl
Seems like it will do.
April 15, 2018
Works just like it should. No complaints
By Nelson
Long Island, NY
Good fishing line
April 2, 2018
Very good fishing line at an affordable price. Got one as a free sample last year when I bought a fishing reel and was surprised at the quality. - Been a fan ever since!
Prossmall diameter to lb test ratio low stretch very good abraision resistance limp with low memory great value for the money
ConsNone
By Joseph
Tampa, FL
GOOD SERVICE GREAT PRICE tangle free line
April 1, 2018
I use this line for light fishing in canals located on Tampa. Redfish, trout and snook.
By David
Pasadena, Maryland
Everything you would want in a mono line.
January 7, 2018
Limp, controlled stretch and strong knots.
By The G.
Forked River NJ
Free line
December 19, 2017
Price was right. It was thrown in with the purchasing of a spinning reel.
ProsLow cost
ConsNone so far
By Santiago
Miami, FL
Free line
August 11, 2017
Tackledirect sent me this line free when ordered 3 reels. Used it on a shimano reel and line so far is working like a charm. Have caught yellowtail and even dolphin on 15lb test.
By David
north of boston, ma
for free great line
July 19, 2017
it was free with reel what else is there to say
Prosfree
Consnone
By Bob H.
OR
Suprised
July 6, 2017
This was a free add on to my order. I thought it would be okay, turned out better than I expected. I used it to top shot my rock fish reels and it has been performing well. Lingcod is a little tough on it though, seems to get nicks a little easier than the Seagard I usually use.
ProsHolds the knots well
ConsLine abrasions seem to happen more frequently. Have to check your leaders.
By Gordon
bay area, CA
This came free with my reel purchase
May 2, 2017
Seems like pretty decent 15 lb mono.
By Paul N.
Kent,Wa.
Average mono, nothing special
March 8, 2017
Comparable in diameter and flex to other mono.
By Ben
Reedville, VA
Great Reasonably Priced Line
January 23, 2017
This is a good monofilament that won't break the bank. It is supple, strong, and nick resistant. It is brand-new for me and will go on all my spinning reels for spring .
By Todd L.
Long Island, NY
excellent product
December 21, 2016
Great value, like the way it casts out off the reel. Compared to other mono on the market the knot holding is superior.
By John G.
NY
A Freebie with my reel purchase
December 16, 2016
The line looks good,especially as an add on to my Okuma reel purchase. I'll be using it this spring/summer during my kyak fishing.
By David M.
Jericho, NY
Very Good
August 14, 2016
Quick delivery. Customer service was great
By Arthur M.
Montauk, N.Y.
Excellent
July 3, 2016
Leader works and behaves as advertised - very good and easy to work with.
By Trisha
Nevada
Good line
March 10, 2016
Nice color
By Christian
Modesto California
Good fishing line
February 24, 2016
Very nice fishing line, cast very well low memory on it
By james f.
Rockaway Beach NY
GS MONO
February 14, 2016
Use it for snappers in the bay, and to tie leaders for light tackle
ProsPromotional gift
Consit would be nice if Tackle Direct could throw in some Braid in when sales are offered
By Erik
rocky point, New York
Decent stuff
January 20, 2016
Was given a spool of this line for free with my purchase of a reel from tackle direct. I dont use mono very often, but this stuff is ok, especially for being free! I will throw it in my bag and use it for backup if i ever get spooled or need a light leader for something.
ProsFree Decent quality mono
ConsI hardly ever use mono Line diameter vs pound test
By James
GoM
Hi-Seas is actually good line.
January 11, 2016
I am used to using braid with either flouro or a shock leader, but sometimes I do use mono when it calls for it. Most times I will use mono for just party boat fishing and like the line to be as light as possible without sacrificing power and abrasion resistance, especially since I mainly target Grouper in the GoM. This line is actually pretty nice. I never really gave it much of an after thought as I saw some on TV being pushed, but after using it and spooling it on a modified Accurate DPX2-500, I found the line to be pretty good in Diameter, the breaking strength seemed to be higher than stated, and it easy not as stiff as some of the other lines out there. To get the job done, this is actually a decent or dare I say it, good line. When I do use Mono, I usually use either Seaguar Senshi, Momoi Daimond, rarely, H/C, and Maxima. I would rank this line near the top tier.
ProsStrong Abrasion Resistance ABS looks to be stronger than stated
ConsNone really, wish it could be a tad thinner in diam.
By Mark
Tallahassee, FL
Good Quality
December 23, 2015
I used it to fish sheephead, and flounder. This product is strong enough.
By Laurence A.
Louisville, Ky
good mono for the $
November 12, 2015
Good caring characteristics, excellent knot strength.
By Chuck
Ascension Island, South Atlantic Ocean
Great Line
September 30, 2015
The price is right, abrasion resistant, and not too much memory.
ProsThe price is right, abrasion resistant, and not too much memory.
By Shep
Ft.myers FL
Great product!
September 18, 2015
I don't use mono very often but when I do I like grand slam, its very reliable and u can't beat the price
By William
Stony Brook, NY
Good line for my new reel
August 4, 2015
Great line for my new reel.
By John
Morgantown, WV
Good line.
June 5, 2015
Good line. Low memory and tight knots. Casts great.
By John
Morgantown, WV
Good line.
June 5, 2015
Good line. Low memory and tight knots. Cast great.
By John
Morgantown, WV
Good line!
June 5, 2015
Good line. Low memory and tight knots.
By Thomas
Lavallette, NJ
Good performance
May 30, 2015
I use this with my Abu's. Casts a mile!
By Trent
Newport Beach, CA
Decent line
April 25, 2015
No problems whatsoever- typical Mono
By Larry C.
Long Beach, NY
Great mono!
April 6, 2015
Put this line on my bait caster for fluking, very good line. Low memory, good with knots, strength is as advertized, I would buy again
ProsLow memory, good with knots, strength is as advertized
ConsNone
By Keith
Coral Springs, Florida
Good value
January 21, 2015
Works as it should, smooth and strong.
By Wes P.
Darien, CT
Standard Mono line
January 2, 2015
Seems like a good line. Use it under my braid .
By Tom
New Jersey
Holds its own.
January 1, 2015
River fishing for catfish this line works very well.
By Erik
Davis, CA
Nice line--can't beat the price.
December 25, 2014
This line was free with a purchase. I like the look and feel--very supple.
ProsFree Very supply feel
Consnone
By Leon
Atacames, Ecuador
Line
December 18, 2014
Great free gift for light leader use.
By Leon
Atacames, Ecuador
Back-up
December 18, 2014
Good light back-up as leader material.
By Dave
Bellmawr,N.J.
not too shabby
December 6, 2014
used it for flounder fishing with 8 oz and it held up fine with pulling up flounder up to 4 lbs.
By Christian
Boynton beach, FL
Great line
December 5, 2014
I got this line when I bought my reel. I fished it for a while and it was unbelievably strong.
ProsStrong,durable,and stretches when you need it.
By Ln
Bonita Springs, FL
Free Line Rules
November 22, 2014
Extra bonus with new reel
By Fred C.
VA
Grand slam
November 18, 2014
Good as any mono.
ProsFree
ConsHaven't found any, yet.
By ILYA
NY
Ice fishing line
November 14, 2014
I'm using this brand for few years already, good quality fishing line
ProsIf you want to catch more fish buy thin strong in water invisible fishing line
By Bob
Mississippi
Hi-Seas Grand Slam
October 27, 2014
Am using this as leader line for a speckled trout rig. Line is supple, and very clear. Only thing better is fluorocarbon, but for the price, this line is hard to beat.
By Junior
Saint Lucia
strong line
October 24, 2014
works very wel on my pen 8500 ll reel and casting distance is great.
Prosstrong line .
By Bob
Boonton, N J
Grand Slam works
October 10, 2014
As strong yet supple a mono as any I've used.
By Eric
, Stephens City, Virginia
Good inexpensive line
October 9, 2014
Received this line as a free gift with an order. Liked it well enough to purchase more. Nothing stands out as spectacular but good all around mono.
ProsAffordable Performs well
By Daniel
Locust Valley, NY
Solid Mono
September 25, 2014
dependable mono leader for light applications
By Danny
UNION CITY, CA
Durable High Quality Line
September 17, 2014
This line is quite stiff compared to other line that is the same weight. However, I have not had any problem with breakage.
By SC
Austin, TX
Seems like a solid line
September 17, 2014
I received this as part of a promo but overall I seem impressed with the quality of the line. I haven't had a chance to test it out but it looks like quality materials.
By Robert
fawnskin , California
Good Stuff
August 21, 2014
Not to stretchy like other monos
By Dustin
, Delaware
Ok Line
August 15, 2014
Got this line fee. I use it to make small rigs with circle hooks on the end. Not high end line but does what I need it for.
By Dustin
, Delaware
Ok line
August 15, 2014
Got this line fee. I use it to make small rigs with circle hooks on the end. Not high end line but does what I need it for.
By Joe
Bradenton, FL
Good line
July 31, 2014
Works good even better that i got it for free
By Christopher
RUMFORD, RI
Really great line if you are not going to use braid.
June 25, 2014
Strong but sensitive line. I'm very happy with this line.
ProsQuality and price.
By Dave
Palm beach fl
Grand slam line
June 16, 2014
Catches fish
ProsCheap
By Ryan
Dover, DE
Great filler line for small reels with briad
May 28, 2014
I use this line as filler line when spooling my smaller reels with braid such as Penn Battle 2000-4000's. I have no complaints but then again the braid is doing all the work. It saves you money on braid.
ProsSaves you money on braid when used as filler line
By Mahmoud
Khobar, Eastern Province
High Quality Mono Line
May 18, 2014
Received this as a gift with purchase and have used it on inshore reel, I feel it is a good line and I've had no issues with it.
ProsGood quality
ConsNone
By Ron
Annapolis, Md
great bait fish line
April 29, 2014
This line has proved it's strength to me now that I've used many different lb's for different apps.
By Lamar
Graceville Florida
Grand Slam
April 24, 2014
Used the Hi seas Grand Slam on my fierce 4000 an it was awesome. Good casting line and super strong. I used the 15 pound clear and didn't have no problem with the casting or when I hooked up with that 5 pound sheep head. It gave a good tug but really held on when I was reeling it up to the top of the peer. I highly recommend buying this product.
By Kevin
California
Line
April 23, 2014
It was Free... So I can't really complain. I was whatever though. I am not a big fan of yellow line, and I felt that it was affecting my fishing.
ProsIt was free
ConsLine was yellow.
By Hong G.
New Market, Alabama
useful mono for backing
April 2, 2014
i use this as backing on my reel, inexpensive mono line
By Nick M.
Philadelphia
Not bad mono
March 27, 2014
Not bad line for free. Would use it again
By Andre C.
Boston Massachusetts
grand slam
March 22, 2014
this is great line I use it for backing for my braid!
By Jim
Landrum, SC
Good
March 22, 2014
Good line but a little stiff for my preferred list.
By Alfonso S.
Miami
Good mono without a twist
March 19, 2014
I use this line for light leaders. No twist and great abrasion resistant.
ProsNo twist Great abrasion resistant
ConsNon.
By Ron
Pleasanton, CA
Free line
January 21, 2014
After receiving this free with a reel purchase I had my doubts, but thought I would try it out. Wow was I wrong, the line is better than what I currently use in the 15 lb class. I have actually just purchased more Hi-Seas line. Check out their flro camo leader !
By Simon
st-colomban, quebec
Memory Problems
January 20, 2014
I got the 15lb version as a freebee for another purchase, so decided to throw it onto a light rod. After a half-hour of casting, I was fed up with the memory problem, it just wouldn't get off the spool.
ProsThe price..I guess
ConsMemory problems, this is a slinky on a spool.
By Abdulrahman
Isa Town, Bahrain
Average Line
December 31, 2013
I got it as a gift but it did not attract me that much. I don't like floating lines.
By Michael
Pontiac, IL
Consistent Quality
December 31, 2013
I've loaded this onto two Bass sized bait-casters. I'm happiest with the low memory this line seems to have. Time will tell if this characteristic changes, but as of now I feel it to be "Great value/Low price"
By Ed
Branson, MO
Hi-Seas GSM-F300-10CL Grand Slam 10lb 300yds Clear Spool
December 26, 2013
Good line.
By Carl L.
Jaco, Costa Rica
good quality line
December 19, 2013
Happy to us the line seems to be good quality.
Prosnone yet
Consnon yet
By Mike
The Villages, Fl
First time using...
December 11, 2013
Initial results are favorable...ties and knots consistently...needs to be stretched more still getting some twisting and loops on retrieving...
By Patricia D.
Staten Island, New York
strong
December 7, 2013
has a good stretch to it and is very strong
Prosstrong, good stretch
Consnone
By Meas
Philly
Mono
December 3, 2013
I like this mono line as I use it for spot, kingfish, croakers and other smaller saltwater fish. Also use it for perch and catfish fishing on the Delaware river. Typically, I notice that mono line wears out a lot faster when fishing in saltwater. However, I haven't notice the same wear progression with this line. To be specific, it wears but the line is much tougher. I would purchase this line again.
By Mark A.
Arlington, Tennessee
Value and Quick Delivery!
November 29, 2013
The Hi Seas mono-filament sold and delivered by Tackle Direct (priced just under 7 dollars for 300 yards and delivered quickly) is yet another example of the quality tackle and great service from my favorite retailer. I will continue to purchase and recommend Tackle Direct to my friends!
By Brandon
Troutman, nc
Nice line, for the first time using it
November 5, 2013
Never use this brand before but, it worked great!! I got this one for free but, I would buy it!!!
By Dynamite
Medellin,Colombia
Line with memory
October 9, 2013
Line with memory but with good resistance
By Nadia
Raeford, NC
Came free with my reel and happy to use it
October 5, 2013
This string came free with my reel but I am still using it. On my two pens that are not braid ready i use this string as the mono backing. and again I use it as my leader for small fish in clear water
Prosit was free :P good color, strong. great for backing, great for fresh water fish,
By Ralph
No Va
Best Value
October 1, 2013
Good value for the $$$. Long lasting.
By Donald
Gibbstown, NJ
Good line
October 1, 2013
Bought this (8lb) for a Penn Fierce to use for puffer fish. Outstanding line. It doesn't retain a memory. Strong knots also . Fast shipping as always. Thanks TD
Prosgood value line
By Jorge B.
Lake Elsinore,CA
Excellent Quality At A Great Price Equals A Grand Slam!
September 17, 2013
I got this line free as a promotional offer by Tackle Direct! One of the many reasons I choose to buy from Tackle Direct; their great promotional offers. I spooled up my workhorse inshore reel, my Jigmaster 500, and headed out on a 1/2 day trip out of Newport for rockfish. The line offers extra durability and is extremely abrasive resistant. Line memory is minimal with excellent knot strength. Not only would I jump at any offer that includes a free spool of Hi-Seas Grand Slam fishing line but after trying this high performance line I will be purchasing it because of its exceptional value!
By Alex
ny, NY
Not bad
July 27, 2013
I've been using it as a light leader and it holds up fine
By Michael
Pontiac, IL
Nice inexpensive line.
July 14, 2013
Working without issues so far. Spools nice and I have not experienced memory problems as of yet.
ProsLow price.
By Gennady
Ashdod, Israel
Nice line
July 9, 2013
Haven't tried it yet. Got together with a new reel. Looks a nice line. A bit strange 15Lb only for such a diameter, but have to be tested in real condition to have a solid opinion.
By adam
el cajon, CA
Good line at a value
July 2, 2013
I change my line every other trip so the price is a plus
ProsPrice
Consline is not uniformed I can feel l bumps in the line.
By Charles L.
Steelton, PA
Great line
June 27, 2013
Excellent all the features are what is claimed by manufacturer to land the big ones... Sturdy construction and designed to do the toughest fish in the sea. I recommend this line with high honors! CML
By Rob
Cherry Hill, NJ
breaks easily
June 5, 2013
Since I got the line for free with a purchase I figured I would give it a try on one of my surf poles. I really am not sure what the problem was but I had the line break twice on me while casting and lost 2 rigs. I immediately stopped using it and took it off the spool and put braid back on.
Prosit was free with purchase
Consdid not work well with my surf fishing application
By Bob
HIghland Lakes, NJ
nice line 1st time using this brand
May 31, 2013
Line is nice, no major issues with the line so far.
By Lin O.
Virginia Beach, VA
Great Line for the price
May 27, 2013
Great line for casting. I have this line on my Avet and I love it. Smooth for casting. Extra fast shipping too. L.O. Virginia Beach, VA
Proslightweight, price
Consnone
By "Papa" Y.
Indian River DE
OK Mono - not great
May 21, 2013
Grand Slam mono holds up great in the salt environment but has some flaws that outweigh the benefit. Price is good, quality is fair.
Prosdependable knot strength, some abrasion resistance.
ConsTerrible memory problems, especially in cold water and cold air it tends to get stiff and coil with a mind of it's own. I no longer spool up with it, just use it for top shot on braid or base line for spooling up with braid.
By joe
CA
Free
May 20, 2013
can't be bad for free
By Roland
New York, NY
Decent Inshore Line
May 17, 2013
Received this as a gift with purchase and have used it on inshore reels in SW FL. Standard clear mono that I've had no issues with. Decent bang for your buck.
ProsCheap
ConsCheap
By Nicholas
Melbourne Australia
Great
April 1, 2013
Great mono line Not expensive and high quality
ProsQuality
Consnone
By dane f.
lusby, maryland
line
March 18, 2013
Good line.
By Tim
Garner, NC
Hi-Seas 15lb.
March 17, 2013
Very good line for tough salt water applications.
By Ron
houston
ok
March 9, 2013
Decent line nothing special. Does not stand out, or perform any better or worse then other brands.
By Tsung T.
Taiwan,R.O.C.
It's free of charge
March 8, 2013
best deal in town
By Jason
Singapore, Cassia Crescent
mono line.
March 6, 2013
free mono with purchase of reel. A decent line.
By Joe
Rahway
What I expected
February 28, 2013
Good line, I have used it in the past, it does what it is supposed to do
Prostexture, it is tough and resilent
By JP
Chesapeake Bay
Good price.
February 28, 2013
This mono holds up as good as any I have used and the price is good.
By Mario
Tullamarine, Victoria
Great line
February 23, 2013
Happy with performance
By steven
,
grand slam mono
February 17, 2013
seems decent enough
By Hong G.
New Market, Alabama
inexpensive mono
February 16, 2013
got it free w/ reel purchase, it's excellent for most inshore applications, and held up pretty well too!
Prosinexpensive (or free) abrasion resistant
Consnil
By Tsung T.
Taiwan,R.O.C.
best deal in town
February 11, 2013
It's FREE OF CHARGE
By Mark
Demorest, Ga
Good line for the money
February 8, 2013
Good all around line
ProsStrong and low visabilaty
By Alon
Petach Tikvah, israel
good line
December 12, 2012
use this with my penn fierce for saltwater fishing. work very well
Proscame free with a reel i purchased
By Paul
South Louisiana
Tough Line
November 9, 2012
Used this on my Penn 550 ssg and had great success.
ProsStrong Easy to tie knots
By Neil
Jericho,NY
Hi seas GSM
November 5, 2012
I only used it for backing. It looks good and seems strong.
By Zeeshan
Dubai
15 LB line monoline
October 31, 2012
good
By bob
montgomery, al
High SeasGSM-15CL Grand Slam15 lb
October 12, 2012
If I had designed a 15 lb mono line that was clear, strong and and flexible, I would call it Grand Slam. This line touches all the bases that a fisherman needs, to have confidence in his equipment!
ProsSpooled on smoothly, cast out smoothly and quietly. Knot strength and tight knots.
By Cato
Norway
Great fishing line
August 18, 2012
Got this line together with my Penn Spinfisher 650 Ssm spinning reel, and this monofilament works great. Good value for money.
By Master B.
New York, NY
It was free!!
August 15, 2012
Honestly, I got this free with my order. I typically use sunline floro or power pro braid, so this really wouldn't pop up on my radar otherwise. But it's turned out to be a decent, strong line. Pick some up, see for yourself. It's inexpensive.
ProsIt was free!
ConsNone
By Mike
Melbourne, Australia
Hi-Seas Grand Slam 15lb
August 5, 2012
Good line with little stretch. Works well on overhead reels.
ProsEasy to cast
By Jonathan
Southampton, NY
15lb Test
July 30, 2012
Received a free 300 yard spool last summer with my purchase of a Penn Sargus from Tackle Direct. I wasn't expecting much since it was given as a promotion, but after I tried and was unhappy with a different brand, I gave it a shot. Casts well for mono, strong, resists abrassions pretty well and has good stretch. Landed two mid 40" Stripers with it, which were over the 15lb rating. I was impressed and now use their other brand of lines and leaders.
By A B.
C/U IL
I like this mono
July 26, 2012
I have found nothing to complain about while using any Hi-Seas products. I read a review about Quattro Plus Low- Vis Camo leader and use it in Costa Rica with great results trolling, and shore fishing. My guide was very happy with as well , so it was I left behind . Now it is first choice when buying new line.

Page 1 of 1