4.4
58 Reviews
5
52% (30)
4
41% (24)
3
5% (3)
2
0% (0)
1
2% (1)
97% Recommend this product (56 of 58 responses)
By Alex
Lusby, Maryland
Smooth little reel
July 22, 2019
For $40 you can’t beat it. Smooth and has a nice drag too.
ProsPrice, drag and it?s light
ConsThe line wraps around the bail arm sometimes unlike my other bailed spinning reels.
By Scott
new port richy Fl.
Great reel very smoth
January 6, 2019
bought these reels to take up north to my family cabin. They are to replace 20 year old reels.
ProsVery smooth on spool up with 15 lb braid put about 15 yards of 10 lb mono and held 150 yards 15 lb braid just perfect
ConsHave not been able to try them out yet
By Sunny K.
Barnegat Bay, NJ
Good Value for the $$ 40b
November 14, 2018
I paired this 40b with an 8' Ugly Stick with 12lb line and use it on the jetty. Small blues and fluke <3lbs is the norm. Reel works great, I love Okuma reels. I must have half a dozen. Never had a problem with any of them.
ProsGood value.
By Andrew
Jacksonville, Florida
Perfect inshore salt water reels
September 14, 2018
Bought this item n have had tremendous success fishing inshore for Drum, Croaker n Red fish. Would highly recommend and would purchase again.
By Proud P.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Great for Beginners
September 13, 2018
My daughter, who just turned 10, decided that she wanted to learn how to fish with her daddy. At first, I bought her a cheap rod and reel set from Target, but she quickly outgrew that reel, so I decided to get the deal from TackleDirect with these Okuma Avenger reels! Buy one get one free was a deal I could not pass up and it was a great decision! The ease of operation, fluid and free action on this reel helped my daughter reel in faster and cast out further. She has yet to catch something, but it is all in time!
By Ed P.
Marion,Michigan
Okuma Av-35b reels
September 13, 2018
Thanks for reminding me that these reels were not delivered. Wish I would have received them and been able to give my opinion. Love your products and prices, just need to deliver.
By Julio
Miami, FL
cannot beat this for the price
September 12, 2018
smooth as silk and high retrieve. Very well made and a great reel for the money
Prosretrieve line capacity
By Capt M.
Bradenton, Florida
Great reel for the money!
September 11, 2018
I have used my Okuma reels on several charters and found them trouble free for my clients .
By Doug H.
James Island S.C.
My new reel
September 10, 2018
This is a very smooth reel,drag is excelent.my only real concern is the handle,and how long it will last
ProsSmooth,good drag system
ConsHandle is weak
By jim
Milton Wi
Okuma av35b spinning reels
September 10, 2018
The reels work just fine for fishing with slip bobbers I've got some other Okuma reel and have had no problem with them
By Capt p.
Fla
These are tough little real's!
September 10, 2018
These little reels are worth every penny. My granddaughter and I now have matching sets. We have already caught over 25 Sea trout and three redfish in East Central Florida. I should've double down on my order, great value.
By Ruben
Jacksonville, FL
Good reel for the sale price.
August 31, 2018
Purchased 2 of these reels and had them spooled with 15lb braid. I put them to use on my boat as boat reels so that I wouldn't have to worry about boat rash on my more expensive reels. They did pretty good fighting slot reds between 18-27 inches. Only concern is that I felt like I was going to break the handle arm while really in reds in the upper slot range. For the price they are not bad at all. I still ended up buying 2 more in the event I end up breaking some. I wouldn't pay the retail price for them.
ProsGood looking smooth reel.
ConsWhen fighting bigger fish there was a lot of extra bend in the reel arm and reel handle.
By thomas
Hickory, NC
First impression right out of the box
August 23, 2018
Very smooth operation, and you can turn the anti-reversion feature on and off. all parts fit good, no wobble in the spool, or the spool halo. Good looking reel that comes to hand naturally, and the handle just feels good.
ProsSeems to be well made for the price, and has features only available in more expensive reels. Good reel for the money.
ConsThe point where the bail release lever cams into play, IE; the point where the bail closes is at the 9 o'clock position. In order for the bail to close, spool halo needs some speed to be built up so that the bail release lever can be tripped. If you open the bail close to the release point, it will be difficult to trip the release lever when you start reeling. This can be distracting to a new fisherperson, and an inconvenience to experienced anglers. Hence a 3 star, not a 4 I would give it otherwise. Would not recommend for a new, young angler .
By John
Venice,ka
Okuma AV 35
July 27, 2018
Light and powerful for its size
By David W.
North Topsail Beach, NC
Trying it out
June 3, 2018
Bought this and another reel for lite lining offshore while bottom fishing. I believe it will do a good job. Good price, and good quality. Gave 4stars, if it does the job, it will be 5stars.
ProsPrice Quality
ConsNone yet
By Joseph
San diego, CA
It catches fish
May 27, 2018
Got this reel for bay fishing spooled it wit the free 15lbs.hi catch mono. Took my 8 year old son sam pier fishing he dropped down a gulp swimming mullet and bam fish on. He was struggling and it was pulling drag after a 5mins fight he landed a 25 inch halibut. Thanks for a quality reel when it counted. Joe san diego.
ProsSmooth drag, great casting , smooth winding.
By chefsternburgh
Bluffton SC
Okuma AV 35 Avenger
May 21, 2018
Was skeptical at first I have always used Shimano Reels and they hold up really good to saltwater use So my overall first impression was not to buy and go with the Shimano I'm very happy with this reel first time out it performed very well I was impressed I would most defiantly buy another one
ProsPrice Point is very good for the average angler,
Cons I dont have any as of yet
By Vic
Hamilton,Ohio
Okuma AV-30B Avenger B Series Spinning Reel
May 18, 2018
Excellent spinning reel 6 ball bearings and one roller bearing pretty smooth for under $30.00.The quality and performance of this spinning reel is outstanding. Five stars &#11088;&#65039;
By Brian
Cleve
Used with High Seas 20
April 18, 2018
Great reel for price smooth drag good pick up
By Brian S.
Cleveland OH
Great Value
April 18, 2018
Caught Spanish trolling Dusters
ProsWorked perfectly
Consnone
By Joseph
Tampa, FL
GOOD SERVICE GREAT PRICE GOOD REEL
April 1, 2018
This OKUMA works effortlessly and smoothly; the drag adjustment is very fine and it clicks; so you know just how tightly to adjust
By Al
Hawaii
What a bargain!
March 18, 2018
I filled the spool with 8 strand braid, and this reel casts like a champ. I'm getting as much distance as I do with my Shimano Stradic reels(6), but at 1/5 the cost! The retrieve and drag are smooth, and the 7 bearings are performing very well. Don't get me wrong, I will still use my Stradics, but the Okuma AV-40b Avenger B Series will be my standby reels, and are what I will recommend to my less serious fishing buddies. Great reel at an awesome price!
ProsCasts a country mile with 8 strand braid Uniform drag. Used it for the first time last week and a good sized Sierra Mackeral put it to the test. 7 bearings provides smooth operation Big spool Attractive-looks expensive
ConsA faint click at every rotation of the hand crank. At the price, I can live with this.
By Mohamed
Khobar, Khobar
Extra soft drag - affordable
March 8, 2018
I got the AV-55B, and the moment you take it out from the box you see the real quality and casting materials of the reel. Excellent drag force. I will update this review upon catching sizable fishes with it.
By Flatlander
St Auggie Fla.
Gr8 low cost reel
January 20, 2018
I fish mainly the intracoastal waterway in n/e Florida, feeder creeks and the flats. With the Okuma AV40b I have caught everything from sailcats to bull red bass. I am retired so I'm more than the weekend warrior, they get used. There are 4 in my arsenal right now, with one as a back up, if I ever need it. I load these with 20lb power pro and they work flawlessly on 7' medium light graphite ugly sticks. I can't see paying high dollars for a reel, this one Is a work horse and lasts. Just give them a light spray with fresh water when done for the day.
ProsSolid hook set Smooth drag Gr8 longevity No line twist or excessive wear
ConsNone
By Mikey
New York, NY
Good reel
December 26, 2017
So far a fine reel. There's a little wobble and it takes a couple of spins before the drag catches but I think its because how I spooled it. The true verdict is how this reel will hold up in a couple of years. But its strong enough to reel in double hooked keepers of stripers.
By The G.
Forked River NJ
Great deal
December 19, 2017
Nice compact spinning reels. On sale for $28 was too good to resist. Perfect for light tackle spinning reels in the bay.
ProsOn sale price was excellent
ConsNone yet
By Sam
NC
Great reel and a great price
December 7, 2017
Iâ‚"ve been using Avengers for years, starting as a temporary replacement for a nice Shimano that needed servicing at an inconvenient time. The 35b I bought then has became my go to rig, even over SSVs and Battles Iâ‚"ve bought since. Spooled with 20lb Super Slick PP, it has landed dozens of drum, Spanish, blues, false albies, and bonito. My brother in law even landed a 41â‚ red drum with it this summer. I had to rebuild the bail roller ($5 in parts this summer) but it has otherwise been flawless. Itâ‚"s a great reel regardless of price, and itâ‚"s price just makes it better.
ProsSmooth drag Lightweight Quiet It just works Inexpensive
ConsQuiet drag is not ideal for trolling
By Mohamed
Khobar
Small & strong
July 20, 2017
Light weight & strong reel. It is small in size however the full metal body looks very durable. will keep testing it & update the review
By David
north of boston, MA
good little reel for the price
July 19, 2017
I use it for sabiki rigs for mackerel, works fine that what I bought it for. Pretty light weight but fine for what I am using it for.
Proscheap. light weight
Consfor the price none.
By tipless b.
ri
great price for a good reel
June 30, 2017
I have been buying okuma since my penn s started needing rebuilds. I thought for the price they could be one and done, but much to my surprise they hang in there pretty well. I just make sure to fill them will grease when I get them and they keep going.
By Brian
Philadelphia Pa
Great for the price
June 14, 2017
Unfortunately I have not been able to get on the water since I've gotten these reels. But after lining them and playing around with some tackle, they certainly seem very smooth and well made. I'm looking forward to getting them wet!
By Derrick I.
Panama City, Florida
Great buy
June 8, 2017
Nice reel for the price. Great quality, smooth action.
By Sean
Allen, Texas
Good reel
May 11, 2017
good quality reel, fast shipping
By Ben
North Carolina
Works great
April 5, 2017
I got 2 of them, and they are great for catching Rock, or Stripped bass. Work exactly as advertised
ProsBest reel on the market for the money
ConsNone yet
By Corey
Pennsylvania
Perfect reel
March 12, 2017
Great reel for a great price. Yeah its not high dollar quality but for the price you cant beat it. I have a couple i use in saltwater for big striper and and cobia.
By Paul N.
Kent, Wa.
Silky smooth operation and drag.
March 8, 2017
It is still Winter and haven't used it on the water yet but it appears to be very well engineered and built.
By Pete B.
Florida
Beating them like I stole them.
March 1, 2017
I have beating them off shore in Gulf Of Mexico on Lane Snapper, Trigger fish, and even a few Grouper, I will see how they hold up over the next couple of months. wish the bail would open in any position for free spooling.
By Dfree
The South
One of teh Best Inexpensive Reels Around
December 18, 2016
While I have yet to use this particular reel, I have several others just like it in various sizes. I bought one years ago on a whim. For as inexpensive as it is, it has proven to be one of my more dependable reels. I have caught yellowtail snapper, trout, flounder and big reds with these reels and they have performed as good as some other reels I have that are considerably more expensive. These make excellent "first" reels of loaners for guests on your boat. I use them on my kayak a lot as I don't worry so much about them taking a dunking.
ProsInexpensive Durable Works well (if maintained)
ConsNone considering the price
By John G.
NY
Solid Reel
December 16, 2016
This reel appears to be very solidly built. I plan on pairing it with a 7ft Hurricane rod to do some kyak fluke fishing next spring/summer.
ProsSolid, well built
By Metal F.
Massachusetts
Great performance and features
July 27, 2016
This reel has a surprisingly good quality of construction for the price point. Anti reverse is instant. Mechanics feel solid. Incredibly good value for an entry level reel. Okuma products are really exceeding my expectations these days.
By Skip P.
South Texas
Well worth the money
June 20, 2016
Great trout and bay reel, smooth retrieve and comfort in your hand . I will buy a couple more.
By James
Costa Rica
Great, use for sabiki!
May 11, 2016
Have purchased several, use with 20# fluorocarbon for sabiki rigs!!
By Alex
Pozzuoli, Italy
Light tackle reel
May 1, 2016
I did like this for the first few months I used it. But it developed issues with the anti reverse and drag. I would definitely not get this if you fish saltwater.
By charles b.
Marion ky
Okuma AV 40
April 18, 2016
Have been fishing several times and I am more impressed each time I use this reel. This is the first Okuma reel I have purchased and will get some more of them. Spooled with 8 lb mono works great on bass and bluegill
ProsSmooth as silk great drap
By Christian
Modesto California
Great reel
February 24, 2016
excellent reel for that price, great for light fishing ; a good buy
ProsVery good looking reel
By Dan
NE Florida
Affordable quality
January 9, 2016
I am not a professional fisherman, I fish typically once a week for a few hours, when I retire soon, that will increase but even with that I don't see any reason to to purchase ridiculously costly reels and rods for a hobby. I own both Okuma Epixor and Avenger reels and like them both, they are smooth with adequate drag for inshore and freshwater fishing in Florida. As long as I rinse them after fishing in brackish water and oil them periodically they work flawlessly. For my money the Avengers are my favorite normally they are about $35 - $40 for the AV 40 which is my favorite but when Tackle Direct put them on sale at Christmas time, I couldn't resist purchasing a couple more along with my favorite clear tipped rod. I can fish a lot break and afford to break equipment at that price, if it gets stolen, I haven't lost the farm. I think Okuma makes a good quality, reasonably priced reel that performs very well. Like I said, I am no professional.
ProsReasonably smooth Adequate drag for freshwater and inshore fishing in Florida Durable with a modicum of maintenance
ConsYou cannot hear the line peeling off on the bait casters when a fish takes it. So if you are fishing multiple rods you may miss a hit.
By Dave
Maine
Okuma AV-40 reel
December 25, 2015
Out of the box it feels like a pretty solid reel. Plan to use it fishing from kayak, light saltwater use.
By Shep
Ft.myers FL
Nicce real for the price
September 18, 2015
I was surprised at how smooth the real was in the drag. I'm very happy with it
By Mark F.
Jefferson Wis
Very nice Reel
August 19, 2015
for a the money a very good value
By marlon671
Bay area, CA
Awesome and smooth reel
January 24, 2015
Received this item as a birthday present along with a 9' ugly stick€ Very smooth reel. Used for pier fishing (crab snaring) and it holds up pretty well. reels smooth even with 2 dungy crabs on the receiving end!
Pros-Great value for the money
Consnone
By Rob
North Carolina
Well done!
December 8, 2014
The price on the items was unbeatable. TD processed the order expeditiously. The items arrived well boxed and in pristine condition.Everything worked as expected and I found no flaws or imperfections. I expect they will do fine once put to the test on my next surf fishing trip. Well done!
By Scott
Port Hueneme, CA
Great Reel
November 29, 2014
Great reel for the amount. I was looking for an extra rod/reel at an affordable price and tried this little reel. I was frustrated at first until I realized where the free spool lever was. Now it works perfectly. I just use for pier fishing for crab bait.
By robin w.
Queensbury,n.y.
fishing reel
September 19, 2014
i love this reel
By William
Martinsburg, WV
Solid Reel
June 19, 2014
This is a great reel for the price. I've used them to catch a wide variety of fish and I have not seen any issues with the reel from the saltwater.
By Jason
Morganton, NC
Good Reel for the Money.
February 27, 2014
I have one of these reels paired with a 9ft surf rod and it is a good deal for the money. The drag is good. The reel does not hold as much line as what it is advertised to hold though. I am very careful not to dunk this reel when I am surf fishing as I don't want to press my luck with it being water tight but it has stood up to a dozen surf fishing outings so far. I do clean and oil it after every trip out.
ProsGood reel for the money Good drag
ConsDoes not hold the amount of line that it is advertised to hold. Bail wire is kinda delicate
By Dave
South Carolina
Great reel, Great price point
December 2, 2013
Great reel that won't break the bank. Use it for saltwater redfish and can hold up to the abuse.
By Ed
United States
Okuma Spinning Reel
June 25, 2013
Excellent quality for the price. Very smooth action.
By OMAR
JEDDAH, JEDDAH
Okuma
February 4, 2013
A most for big games.....easy to handle and manipulate...much lighter than other reels from the same category
Proseasy to handle quality/price
Consnothing

Page 2 of 1