4.8
11 Reviews
5
82% (9)
4
18% (2)
3
0% (0)
2
0% (0)
1
0% (0)
100% Recommend this product (11 of 11 responses)
By Jameson
San Diego
POWERFUL!
July 13, 2020
First off this brand has taken off and are absolutely destroying the competition. The Makaira lineup put out a tremendous amount of drag throughout all the reel sizes allowing you to put the brakes on big fish with a reel 1-2 sizes smaller than other brands. I fish the 50WII SEa and have 720 yards of 130# hollow and 100 yards of 150# mono. I use this as my flatfall set up. This reels puts out 65# drag at strike and 85# at full. These numbers aren’t even heard of in other brands and the ones that are putting this much drag out are doing so in there 80W and 130 size reels. Bottom line if you’re looking for a two speed reel then Makira lineup is the way to go.
ProsDrag Cranking power (gear ratio)
ConsNone
By Jake
California
Mak 20
June 26, 2020
Smooth and powerful drag, incredibly smooth gear mesh under load. Much better than my Avets.
ProsEverything
ConsHelp me think of one.
By Eric
CA
WOW
May 26, 2020
I dont think I have ever felt a better reel!!! Its built with best possible components and its drag is ridiculous! I have almost every top of the line reel and this one is best of all the rest. Talicas have a ton of side load but the makaira completely eliminates it! Dauntlesses have a little bit of side load but still doesn't come close to the makaira.
ProsIts not just built like a tank, this is a tank!
ConsNothing
By Isaia
Fullerton, California
Great Reel!
April 14, 2018
I have the Makaira 50 paired with a United Composites Invictus and believe me when I say this reel can handle some unbelievable fish! The drag leaves me speechless and the casting, for a larger reel, is smooth as butter! Iâ‚"ve put it through the test with some big cows behind San Clemente and so has my wife!
ProsSmooth Casting Excellent Drag
ConsLimited colors depending on your reel choice
By wes
mass
sweet reels
January 12, 2018
super sweet reel. nice sized reel with lots of power. I bought these after using my friends. I had to get some for myself
Prosgreat reel
Consnone yet
By Kai
Carpinteria, CA
No flies on this reel
August 18, 2017
I used to think Okuma reels were total junk, but that was 20 years ago, and I admit they have come a long was! This reel is a premium high performance machine. If I could give it six stars I would!
ProsPerfect offshore reel!
ConsNone
By Dan
Charleston, SC
I love this reel
May 7, 2015
Perfect reel for what I do - which is fish for sharks off the beach. Loaded up with 60lb hollow and 150 yards of 50lb mono topshot, I have this mounted on a carbon tuna popper which allows me to cast and muscle in a big fish. Just landed a 200lb sand tiger on this yesterday. Liked it so much, I bought a Mak 10 SEA for my surf rod. So smooth and gorgeous.
ProsExtremely smooth, well built, plenty of drag, castable, two speed
ConsIt wasn't free.
By Michael
Boynton Beach, FL
sick reel
April 30, 2015
great reel for live bait fishing
By Jeff
Pensacola, FL
premier craftsmanship
May 8, 2014
I have not had the opportunity to use this reel as off yet but upon initial inspection I will have to admit its mechanical piece of art. The freespool is smooth and endless. The 2 speed mechanism seems smooth and easy to operate, the handle position and grip are comfortable. The build quality seem precise with nice anodizing. So far I will have to agree with Alan Tani's review simply awesome. Thanks Tackle Direct.
ProsEvery aspect of the reel upon initial inspection.
ConsI have not had an opportunity to utilise.
By John O.
Riverside, CA
Seems like a great reel
December 1, 2013
As usual, dealing with TD has been a flawless experience. The reel itself seems fine; the free spool is as good as one of those custom jobs. I also like the low low gear. Cant wait to get it in the water.
By Mohamed H.
Sharjah, Sharjah
Ultra Strong
January 19, 2013
once i received my reel i like to keep fishing with this reel only i did not use it yet, but i have check it, its very strong and ultra free spool, with strong cranking power with T bar handle, this reel is awesome
ProsUltra Smooth, cranking power Lightweight very nice color
ConsNothing

Page 1 of 1