4.7
18 Reviews
5
78% (14)
4
17% (3)
3
6% (1)
2
0% (0)
1
0% (0)
89% Recommend this product (16 of 18 responses)
By Brent
Miami, FL
Reasonable for the price but stick to Star or Shimano if you plan to fish lures most of the time
February 15, 2020
I picked up the 7'6" version of this rod that throws 1/2 to 1-1/2 oz because the rod felt more rigid than the inshore Star and Shimano Terramar rods that throw similar weights. I also liked that the handle felt fairly thin for what the rod could throw. The rod feels sensitive for bait fishing, and I can feel small taps from small inshore species like grunts and juvenile snapper. This sensitivity is facilitated by the rod tip (amount of rod blank with the first 4 guides on it). However, it's the sensitive rod tip that makes it a less ideal lure rod. The tip bends so easily that it absorbs lure action, and you get less feedback when working lures. The sensitive tip also seems like it belongs on a different rod when working lures. The tip bends much sooner than the rest of the rod and looks like it's going to break off the rod before the rest of the blank starts to bend. This is not what I consider a fast blank. It hasn't broken though and as I use it more the action of the rod may be more suited to my tastes.
Prosprice bait fishing looks awesome light weight
ConsWeird blank action lure fishing
By Charles
, Florida
Another winning rod from Penn
September 12, 2019
Great for casting light to medium lures and baits. Provides for long distance casts time and time again
By Scott
Minnesota
Well made, good quality.
June 15, 2019
I have two other of this rod. Needed one more for customers to use. It is a good rod for $100. The only negative thing would be the hook hanger is on top of the rod and once in a while braid line will flip over the top of that and get hung up. The hook hanger design should be changed.
By Bryan
Corp Christi, TX
Great rods at great prices
April 23, 2019
Nice rod (15-30#) with plenty of backbone for hauling fish up over the jettys; paired with Spinfisher 5500 size reel.
By Anthony
Montgomery Texas
Penn Battalion matched to Penn 6500LL
December 13, 2018
Great rod and reel combination, the rod is light with good balance. I have several Penn fishing rods, all are well made with excellent reviews. I will use this setup fishing Tuna in the Gulf out of Texas, this will work great for the Black and Yellow Fin Tuna, chunking and fly lining Kings.
ProsBalance, Weight and value, hard to beat. Thanks TD
ConsNone
By James
FL
Inshore rod
May 12, 2018
Lighter than what I needed. Will use for 40 series reel
By SEATAG
South Jersey
Wahooo
March 23, 2018
This is a awesome rod paired with a Ocean Master OMC4000, 250 yards 50LB Powerpro. I put fish in the box with this rod. Next time in the canyon I hope to hook a small yellow fin tuna. I know its capable, Great all around combo for wreak fishing, Blues, Flounder, Strippers, Drum, Won't be disappointed. Happy Fishing
By Jim
CAPE CORAL, Florida
BATIN1017S70
March 21, 2018
Matched this rod up with my Penn Spinfisher 4500....Grea combo for Snook & Tarpon off my dock & inshore use!
By ANDREW
Glenolden , PA
Fluke Killer
January 14, 2018
Used this rod all last year bucktailing for fluke and jigging blackfish. Super light and sensitive, casts a mile with 1.5oz jig n gulp comes in handy when casting up current. Hands down favorite fluke rod!
By mm
Ga
Nice rod
May 26, 2017
Great action and very comfortable in your hand
By Jacob
Virginia
Can't beat it with a stick !
April 22, 2017
Paired with Spinnfisher Vs5500 and Clash 5500 for cobia, dolphin and bull reds. Incredible!
ProsAll
ConsNone
By Kamran
Boynton beach, Florida
Great rod
October 8, 2016
Great stiff rod that is good for live bait and heavy lures
By martin o.
Raleigh NC
paired w a shimano stradic for inshore
June 29, 2016
cast like a dream from the deck...have yet to hit FL or NC inshore. may throw at some largemouth just to fish it before I hit Bluewater.
Proslight and flexible
ConsMADE IN CHINA!!! I may opt out of Penn altogether and look for locally made products!!!
By Matthew
Liberty twp, OH
Great Rod!!
December 13, 2015
I have paired this rod with my light tackle setup (4500 series reel, and 20lb braid) it has so many applications and is a necessity for anglers who are trying to catch the fish that do not typically bite the heavier tackle. It has been great for the Southwest Florida Kingfish bite!!
By Matthew
Liberty twp, OH
MUST HAVE!!
December 13, 2015
If you need a rod for those big Snook and Grouper this is the rod, I have paired it with a 6500 series reel (40lb Braid). This rod gives you the casting ability and sensitivity to get your baits to the hard to reach spots under bridges and docks!!
By Jeff
Ocean City, New Jersey
Great all-around rod.
July 25, 2015
Perfect for almost any inshore applications from striped bass to brown sharks or flounder. The only reason i don't give it 5 stars is because braid has a tendency to get looped over the hook holder when casting
By Robert
CT
Great rod
December 28, 2014
Great look and feel to this rod, nice cork split grip. I paired it to a 712z, I can cast all day for fluke and schoolies, comfortable weight and balance. Very happy with my purchase.
ProsLight, balanced, flex
ConsHaven't found one.
By Arthur M.
titusville fl
Rod with real backbone.
November 27, 2014
For the price, I know people say that all the time. But this is just a great rod. Matched up with a good reel and you will not be disappointed
ProsReally every about this rod is a positive
ConsNone

Page 1 of 1