Track Orders
Don't know your order
number? Log in
1-888-354-7335

4.8
19 Reviews
5
84% (16)
4
16% (3)
3
0% (0)
2
0% (0)
1
0% (0)
100% Recommend this product (19 of 19 responses)
By Karl
Houston, TX.
January 20, 2019
11' Penn Battalion Surf Spinning Rod
Nice rod. Reasonably priced especially if you get it on sale. Decent quality guides. Light weight construction. Throws 4 n bait perfectly. Has plenty of backbone to handle large fish in the surf.
ProsQuality components
Consnone
By yong h.
Florida
October 20, 2018
The pole is very good
Better than expected
By Bruce
Elizabethtown, PA
June 6, 2018
Great rod
This site - Tackle Direct- is a great organization. I was in their beautiful NJ shop recently, and the people are top notch. I used the rod for the first time along the jetty at Brigantine- it cast very well - and good feel while the blue was chewing on my plastic sandeel. Just below the hook. I felt every chomp. I haven't landed a fish yet, but I'm really happy with this rod.
By Tom
Brooklyn N.Y.
May 24, 2018
New rod
Great service from these guys & gals at tackle direct. The rod is great & performed well have caught two fish so far .
ProsVerry light.
ConsIt could be a little faster in the tip.
By Gaetano
Staten Island, New York
May 2, 2018
Great rod for the money
I bought the 12' Penn Battalion to pair with my Van Staal VS300 and this rod is amazing I use it for throwing big chunks of bunker with 4-8oz of lead it has a lot of power and I defiantly recommend it for people that are on a budget or don't want to spend a lot because you can't beat the price.
ProsVery light yet has power behind it and the price is amazing.
By lee
New York, NY
November 12, 2017
fantastic rod. great value.
nice sensitivity for a $100 2 piece rod. Will make catching schoolies a blast, but will also give you the power to bring in a keeper.
By Jonathan
Southampton, NY
October 28, 2017
11' 2-6 oz model
Bought this to throw some lighter weights when fishing bait and throwing some heavier plugs. Bite detection is great and can sense every little bump, bounce and pull whether fish or bottom so its very easy to get a sense of what the structure is like. Loads well and casts great, but has plenty of backbone. Sweet spot is around 4 1/2 ounces and can cast 1 and 5 oumces pretty well too.Very happy with my purchase amd recommemd to anyone.
ProsLight, sensative, great bite detection easy to load
By DW
South Carolina Coast
October 15, 2017
Great Lightweight Surf Rod
I ordered the 1220S10 model with a 3/4 - 3 oz rating and it is absolutley perfect. I paried it with a Spinfisher 7500 LC and it is perfect for throwing light baits a long way. It is light enough to feel small bites from whting and pompano, but does have enough backbone to handle a red or shark. I gave this item 4 stars because it does not have a hook keeper on my model. However this only a slight inconvience on an otherwise perfect lightweight surf rod
By Chris
Williamsburg, VA
December 31, 2016
Perfect beginner rod for a bait chucker
Bought the 12 ft, 6 to 12 oz casting version to use during drum season and it performed very well. Some people do not like the way it loads, but it seems to work well with me. I had no issuing reaching the areas that I needed for a big NC drum. The first day I took it out, I landed a nice 40" drum (baby in my eyes) and it handled it with no issue. It is also very light which is a good thing to have if you are changing bait non stop.
ProsGreat color scheme (matches my Daiwa Saltist BG30H) Loads 8 oz and spot head with no issue Lightweight Good drum rod
ConsDepending on how you load your rods, this one may not be for you. Cast it first before buying.
By Johnny
Orlando Florida
October 23, 2016
Dream Rod
This by far is the best rod I have ever owned I paired it with a penn fierce II reel and this set up is a freaking dream perfect for the monster reds and pompano I get down in sabastion inlet.
By Alex
Pozzuoli, Italy
August 4, 2016
Bait rod
Perfect for 6 plus a piece of bait. Good backbone, sensitivity and components. I am a huge fan of all the Penn rods and I own a bunch of them. I highly recommend them.
By Jerreth T.
Greensboro, NC
July 3, 2016
Awesome rod
Awesome surf rod, I have it matched up with a fin nor lethal. Rod has alot of power but still sensitive to feel the bites, can throw bait a long long way this this rod. Will definitely order another one soon to add to the arsenal
By martin o.
raleigh nc
June 29, 2016
just hit the OBX for a trip and paired w a Quatum Boca 60
So far this thing has performed well. Cast like a dream and pulled is some blues off cut bait.
Prosstrong and flexible. Love the grip and reel seat.
ConsMADE IN CHINA...C'mon Penn. had I known I would have bounced to a local rod maker or a USA built rod. Bring it back home Penn!!!
By Bill
Kill Devil Hills, NC
August 30, 2015
Eight and bait
It can handle 8oz and bait all day. Also makes a great anchor rod for pin rigging. Exceptional for the price.
ProsGreat load to cast at 6 and 8 oz.
Consnone
By Cuban J.
NJ
June 7, 2015
A Beast
Amazing rod had some big fish and this animal brought them in like nothing. Also casts 3-6 oz weights very far. The rod is nice and light I can't say enough good things about this rod. It looks great and is good quality. So far caught some big blues in the 35"+ range and few big stripers with this rod no problem.
ProsLight, strong, looks great, good price!
ConsNone so far
By James R.
Uniontown, Pa.
April 9, 2015
penn batsf255012 12ft 2pc conventional surf rod
Very nice looking rod. I have paired it with an Akios Sportscast 666 shuttle reel. It will give you a lot of distance to reach the big ones.
ProsGood looking. Can't beat the price for such a quality rod. Great rod to use as a heaver.
ConsNone
By Adam E.
ny
March 18, 2015
great rod
crazy light
By Jeff
Rincon Georgia
February 19, 2015
Penn battalion surf rod
Excellent quality and workmanship
By Abdulaziz
saudi arabia
January 22, 2015
its nice items
its nice items that i toke it from your site and i well take more later

Page 1 of 1


Sign up for exclusive sales and offers
Be the first to know about product news, exclusive sales and events.
TOP RUBBER BAITS FOR SPRING STRIPERS
Fri, 26 Apr 2019
Striper fishing is lit up right now in New Jersey, and it’s just the start of the spring run. While there are varied tactics to catch bass via trolling, livelining, snag-n-drop, etc. jigging bass with soft baits is always an adrenaline juiced affair... Read More
In-Store Events & Promotions
Back Bay Kayak Fishing Seminar
at TackleDirect Retail Store
May 18, 2019
10AM - 11AM
New product reviews and guides
Contact Us
Call or visit our retail store today! 6825 Tilton Rd Bldg C
Egg Harbor Township, NJ
08234-4426, USA
1-888-354-7335 Toll Free US/CAN
1-609-788-3819 DIRECT INT'L
8am-6pm ET Mon - Fri
9am-6pm ET Sat
© 1997-2019 TackleDirect® All rights reserved