4.5
40 Reviews
5
65% (26)
4
28% (11)
3
5% (2)
2
0% (0)
1
3% (1)
98% Recommend this product (39 of 40 responses)
By Kenny N.
MD
Solid entry level
December 26, 2019
really good starter combo for entry level performance
By JImmy
AUSTIN, TX
Nice Rod
December 4, 2019
Heavy rod but handles well. My main big rod
By Chuck D.
Clayton, NC
Pretty and Durable
September 13, 2019
I've had the 4K Combo for about 3 years. It has never failed me, and the cork on the rod still looks great. Catches fish.....and the rod considered a M for saltwater, would be closer to a MH for freshwater use.
By willy
WILLIAMSBURG, VA
Good customer service
April 11, 2019
Had this same combo for years and finally bit the dirt after many nice fish caught. Handled 30+ lb cobia better than 7000 series rod I also used Ordered the blue 4000 combo for wife's birthday Reel and rod shipped separate Reel arrived with a nick on the spool where it would directly scrape line constantly. TD sent me a return label, returned and replaced with no shipping cost to me. I was upset at first, but TD made it right with no questions asked. Happy customer
ProsBest inshore spinning combo for a tight budget IMO Great drag, good power New color scheme is sweet Easy maintenance
ConsNot completely sealed, keep it clean and maintained or buy a much more expensive setup
By OBX351
VA
Good for the price
December 17, 2018
I've got several of these combos in different sizes, 4000, 4500 and 5000, and I've been very happy with them. They cast well, work great for bottom fishing and even trolling in a pinch. I am sure I've overloaded the rod and have not broken any of the three that I have have. Several of my friends don't like the rods in these combos but for what I am doing they work fine. I use them on my dock for catfish and rockfish and on the boat with the kids to bottom fish, mostly stripers and catfish.
Prosgreat for the price very tough, a ton of charters use them for bottom fishing
Consthe reel is heavy
By OBX351
VA
Great value for the price
December 17, 2018
I've got several of these combos in different sizes and I've been very happy with them. They cast well, work great for bottom fishing and even trolling in a pinch. I am sure I've overloaded the rod and have not broken any of the three that I have have. Several of my friends don't like the rods in these combos but for what I am doing they work fine. I use them on my dock for catfish and rockfish and on the boat with the kids to bottom fish, mostly stripers and catfish.
Prosvalue for the $ a lot of bottom fishing charters in the bay area use them for a season or two which says a lot about how tough they are.
Consthe reels are heavy
By Tony
Glendora N.J.
Battle II Combo
October 21, 2018
600Series reel has exceptional drag system along with 9ft Battle Rod works great for plugging .
By Peter
Japan
High quality
October 10, 2018
Awesome surf combo and affordable. The penn battle 2 8k is really smooth and is probably one of the best reels that I’ve had.i highly recommend getting this combo👍🏼
By abner
florida, pompano beach
best combo
November 15, 2017
the best combos because i use it from inshore to offshore i would recommend this to other fisherman out there
By Chris
Birmingham, al
Great combo
October 15, 2017
I love the setup, very sturdy and extremely balanced. Shipping was quick and the packaging was pristine however when I received the rod it was missing the butt cap. I didn't notice the butt cap was missing being I had not used the rod and reel. Once I realized it was missing, I contacted tackle direct twice and thus far the missing butt cap hasn't been resolved.
By Chris
Hoover, AL
Solid combo
September 28, 2017
Received this rod and reel within days of my order. Came in two different packages which was fine being the rod was tightly packed in the oversized tube. Haven't gotten a chance to use yet but seems to be very well built with a nice balance for the combo.
ProsGreat packaging and quick delivery
By John D.
Northern California
Solid product at a great price
April 4, 2017
Great rod/reel for the price. The rod is a bit bulky, but not as bad as the cheaper whuppin stick rods. Quality you would expect from Penn.
By nicholas b.
Philadelphia PA
Haven't used but have another
December 29, 2016
Haven't used thisbrod yet but if it performs anything like my BTL 8000 it will be great...smooth retrieve and solid rod
By Michael
Cambridge , Maryland
Great Rod
August 16, 2016
I bought this rod after my ugly stik combo broke 3 times. This rod is 10 times better than the my old rod. I have taken this rod out on more than 50 trips and still going strong like it's brand new.
ProsDurable
Consnothing
By Alex
Pozzuoli, Italy
Albie setup
August 4, 2016
This is an alright setup, but I prefer my SSV setup.
By Alex
Miami
One of the Best
June 4, 2016
I really like this reel and the way it performs especially the gold on the reel. I have not serviced my reel in a year until the other day, but even before I did, it worked perfectly like new. I use this reel a lot and still works perfectly, the only dislike is the paint chips off and is not very difficult to do so.
ProsOverall Great Reel and Great Color
ConsPaint Chips Away
By Dylan
Eustis, Florida
Fantastic combo
May 27, 2016
I'm always hesitant when buying combos but this was a great buy. It's my go-to pole at mosquito lagoon
ProsWell made. great rod and reel. extremely durable as penn usally is. also very easy to clean after it gets salty
By Justin
Georgia darien
Penn battle 2
May 5, 2016
Great combo for the price. Excellent for salt water very durable have not had a battle fail yet
By Justin B.
Georgia darien
Penn battle 2
May 5, 2016
Great value for the money, extremely smooth for the price.
By Rob E.
A.C.
Nice light tackle combo
April 20, 2016
Pick this up for a lite tackle, plug and jigging rod. This is a great set up for early spring back bay flounder jigging with light bucktails. Also you can't be the price and your basically getting a free rod with this combo.
ProsQuality Price Penn customer service
By Todd
Hattiesburg, MS
great size combo
April 19, 2016
This battle 4000 spinning rod and reel is a perfect size for many targets. I use it for inshore and light offshore. So far, durable and corrosion resistant. Very light.
By Kevin
Greer, SC
Quality Spinning Combo
January 12, 2016
This was a well priced rod and reel combo that I picked up medium duty use. I threw some 50lb braid on it and it's landed me numerous fish thus far with no issues. The reel is very smooth and seems to be very corrosion resistant. The handle is beefy and fits well in your hand. The only issue I had was that after less than a year one of the rod guide's lost it's inner ceramic ring somehow. Luckily I have a great local rod repair guy that was able to put a new guide on for $5. I will probably get another of these combos eventually when I need another spinning combo.
By Elan
Goose Creek, South Carolina
Battle 3000 comboq
January 3, 2016
Bought this for my dad to fish in the lake on his property. I know that it's an inshore saltwater combo, but my dad isn't the most careful when it comes to taking care of his gear and is probably leaning next to a tree as I type this. Its spooled with 15lb Diamond Braid Brown (MOM-0120-1) and he happily reports that he can cast halfway around the world with it, compared to the Zebco 33 he used to swear by. But that's comparing apples to oranges. Only complaint he has is that it doesn't break down for storing in a suitcase for when he travels on business (which I don't consider a valid complaint as that isn't the intended uses of the rod)
ProsGreat casting Feels solid
ConsMade in China
By William A.
Charleston, SC
Penn Battle 4000
January 3, 2016
This is my second Penn Battle 4000, and I haven't had a chance to test this one out. But I'll give a review based on the first one, since I liked it well enough to ask for another one for Christmas. This combo will be used to replace a Master Fishing SP60/3201-Y. I haven't experienced the paint coming off that I've read about on other sites. I'm a terrible fisherman and haven't caught too many fish with this, keeper black sea bass, couple of sharpnosed sharks, and a trout without any issues. I have 20lb PowerPro braid on one and 30lb Jerry Brown on the new one. I am very confident that as long as I treat 'em right, they'll treat me the same.
ProsFeels sturdy Has a rubber/plastic band to help string braided line
ConsMade in China
By Mikey
Cutler Bay, FL
Just what I needed
December 22, 2015
Rod and reel were what I wanted/needed. Only issue I had was the separate shipping. Both shipped UPS, but for some reason the reel was dropped off at USPS for final delivery and showed up two days later???
By Jack
Brooklyn new york
Nice Combo
December 5, 2015
Nice light rod & reel. I used it to snag some bunkers. It was like TV bass fishing. I even caught small sea bass with it. I will use it more next season.
By Brian
Long Island, NY
Great Value
November 25, 2015
I've been fishing with Penn reels my whole life. When I'm in the market for a new setup, Penn is the first company I look at. Have not bought a new setup in a few years. Did my research. The award winning battle II combo was the best value for my surf fishing needs. There a too many unknowns that can go wrong while bringing in a big fish. This combo takes all of the guess work out of it. It's the Best value and most reliable fishing set up I've bought in a long time. Highly recommended.
By Rick8548
Juno Beach, FL
Penn does not warranty it's products
September 12, 2015
Snapped the top 14 inches off my rod reeling in a 30lb Bonito. Penn keeps offering non-warranty replacement at 45% off retail price for an inferior Prevail rod or wants me to mail back by Battle II Reel at my expense and purchase another Penn Battle II 8000 combo non-warranty replacement combo at 45% off retail plus tax and shipping. So after shipping my reel back at my expense and paying 45% off retail plus tax and shipping I'm saving $20.00 when I can just drive down to my local tackle shop and buy one there without all the hassle. It's apparent Penn does not warranty their products but will offer you a non-warranty replacement at an additional cost. I'll pass on the offer and will never purchase another Penn product. Your not the only fish in the sea so I will purchase a competitors rod with a better rating and at this point I don't care if I pay double as long as it's not a Penn.
ProsI had some until these problems. All the Pros has been eliminated
ConsPlenty. Read my comments.
By wesley
Benedict, MD
Great setup
June 24, 2015
Excellent combo for the money. I use it for flounder and hardheads. Smooth drag also!
By Marinike F.
Clifton t
Very nice
June 8, 2015
Very nice I will recommend to a friend
ProsI will recommend to a friend
By James L.
Summerville,South Carolina
Very high quality set
May 29, 2015
This is a very nice set put together by Penn. My experience with this set is very good. I have caught some sharks and a few redfish with this set up.
By Eugenia
Pozzuoli, Italy
Very good combo
May 19, 2015
Very good combo for all around fishing. I use it from the beach for blue fish and sea bass and on a boat for mahi mahi. it works very well. The reel is very smooth and the rod is very strong.
By Eugenia
Pozzuoli, Italy
Very good for spinning
May 18, 2015
very good for light spinning for sea bass and blue fish. i catch many big fish and have no problems.
By Alex
California, MD
Great all around combo
May 2, 2015
I use this combo off jetties and to chunk off the beach, very exceptional fishing combo. I highly recommend it!
By Justin
Miami
Battle 4000
March 4, 2015
Experience has been good so far with this combo. Handle Is comfortable and reel is smooth and fairly quiet. Used this to catch medium snapper, hoping to upgrade to a 8000 combo soon for bigger fish.
ProsPrice
By Travis
New Jersey
just bought this combo
March 3, 2015
i love it im running 20# braid on it great combo
By cristian
boynton beach, Florida
love it
February 9, 2015
This is one of my favorite setups to use for beach fishing with live pilchards for big snook
By Cristian
Lake worth, FL
great rod and reel
January 29, 2015
i got this rod and reel for my little cousing cause hes getting into fishing and he caught his first snook on it the other day
By Brian
Fayetteville, NC
Great Value
November 13, 2014
The reel is pretty smooth so far. I haven't had much of a chance to get it in any salt yet, but i'll work on that. The rod is a little stiff for its weight if you ask me, but all in all, it was a great combo for the money. If it lasts me until next summer, I may buy a few more. I'm loving that Penn is improving their products and getting back to where they used to be.
By H J.
Raleigh, NC
A Classical 'Good News, Bad News' Situation
October 18, 2014
OK, which would you like to hear first? The good news, you say? Well, here we go... Keeping in mind that I haven't had a chance to use the 2 reels I received, The Battle II's are an immediate contender for the title of any 'Biggest Bang For The Buck Award' solely based on the specifications for the products and my reasonably well-trained eyesight and other senses (I have fished for almost 50 years now, and was employed professionally as a full-time charter boat mate for over a decade). The fit, finish, and feel for these reels are all excellent. That, along with the revamped HT-100 drag system (increased from 15lbs up to 25lbs) and more than ample line capacity (Braid: 30/490, 40/390, 50/335), pretty much guarantees that they are destined to be one-half of a fish-stopping powerhouse in combination with a properly matched rod. That of course, naturally leads to the bad news portion of this review: The BTLII1225S70 rod that Penn pairs with these reels to make up the Battle II 6000 Combo is woefully inadequate as a partner to the reels themselves. As soon as I removed the 2 rods from the wrappers one word instantly popped into my mind: 'craigslist'. Don't get me wrong, I didn't expect much considering you're only paying $30 for the addition of the rod, and in the right situation --matched with a much less powerful and not-so-hefty reel-- I have no doubt that they would serve reasonably well. Think trout/redfish rod here. Mounting the Battle II 6000 reels on these rods would be tantamount to putting a 426 Chrysler Hemi engine in a Toyota Prius. It is a mis-match made in the opposite of heaven. Thankfully, there is a much better rod available from Penn, for only ~$30 more, that matches these reels perfectly, at least in my estimation. I did a quick bit of research, gritted my teeth, and placed an order for 2 of Penn's Rampage Series spinning rods. I settled on the RAMBW1530S70's, 7'0" rods rated for 15-30lb mono and 20-50lb braid. Now we're talkin'! I mounted the 2 reels on the newly acquired Rampage rods and I felt, somehow, that the universe was back in balance again. I now have a combo that just 'feels right', and one that --once filled with 300 yds of 40lb SpiderWire Stealth braid and a little backing-- I believe is a true stump-puller of a spinning combo that still only goes for ~$150. So, my advice in this case is to skip the combos and just buy the reels alone and match them up them with a properly sized rod of your choice. I am very impressed with the Rampage Spinning rods, but I have no doubt that there are other suitable partners for the reels that can be had at a comparable price. In other words, don't do as I did, do as I say... ;-)
Pros5 Stars For The Reels
ConsMinus 2 Stars For The Badly Mis-Matched Rods

Page 1 of 1