4.5
97 Reviews
5
66% (64)
4
26% (25)
3
3% (3)
2
4% (4)
1
1% (1)
96% Recommend this product (93 of 97 responses)
By John
Sky Valley, Ga
Good for the money
February 21, 2020
Good reel for the price.
ProsPrice
By Van
SoMD
A tank
January 13, 2020
These are tanks and they work well. They are pretty smooth and have good line capacity. I know several charter capts who use these religiously for bottom fishing and life lining.
Proseasy to maintain, tons of drag, carbon drag, all alum body that won't flex,
ConsThey are heavy.
By Van
SoMD
4/5 stars a little heavy but a tank
January 13, 2020
I have two of these and a 6k. They are a bit heavy but are solid reels. No flex and so far no issues with the grinding or loss or smoothing due to salt water intrusion. I know a couple of charter capts who use these for bottom fishing and live lining rockfish who swear by them. It has carbon drag with 25 lbs of drag that you'll never need but it's there.
ConsA little heavy.
By clayton
, Florida
Best. Reel. Ever.
January 13, 2020
This is honestly the best reel i have ever owned in my whole life. It has such smooth reeling and is great.
By Kenny
Columbia, Maryland
Love the reel
November 20, 2019
I have the 1000 that I use for inshore snapper, perch, and schoolie stripers this thing has been pretty faithful to me. It feels very light but i’m not sure if almost every 1000 reel feels like that but phew it’s an amazing reel from a great company
By Chuck D.
Clayton, NC
BTLII4000 is sweet!
September 13, 2019
The 4K reel is durable, has been fished saltwater for the last 3 years and is still flawless. Not as buttery smooth as other reels on the market, but it's always ready for a battle.
By Van
SoMD
Great for the price, a bit heavy though
August 19, 2019
I've got 3 of these reels, in rod reel sets, and we use them as our casters, bottom fishing and in a pinch have used them for trolling. They are good reels, a bit heavy but work well and a good values for the money. The Fury is also a good reel to consider when looking at these. It's a model down but also less expensive. There are smoother reels out there but the Penns are pretty tough and are easy to take care of. If weight is an issue then you might want to look for an alternative. Otherwise these are good long lasting reels that I've seen in a lot of charter boats.
Prosvalue for the money, tough and proven reels
Consthey are heavy
By Alex
,
Penn Battle II
July 21, 2019
I’ve used the fierce, sargus, battle and now the battle II as my lighter tackle and kayak reels. It does the job well, has a great drag and hasn’t failed me yet.
ProsPrice Drag Smoothness
ConsNone yet
By Adam
Bluffton, South Carolina
Great reel Penn never disappoints
June 9, 2019
I got this real in the 8500 series and love it. Paired it with a 12-foot battalion surf rod. One of my first bigger surf setups I use for casting dates for land-based shark fishing it has handled up to a 7'3" lemon shark no problem at all. Definitely recommend if you're looking for a great real but don't want to drop too much money on a Spinfisher V or Slammer in the same reel class.
By Mark
Iowa
Itching to use it.
March 18, 2019
Paired this up with the St. Croix TSRS90Mr Travel rod, can't wait to his the east cost beaches.
By Alex D.
PA
Penn Battle II
March 8, 2019
This reel is excellent, I highly recommend this reel.
ProsExcellent for the price
By george d.
Belfast Maine
The Penn Battle II is a great reel
March 7, 2019
This reel is a fine piece of work. I was hesitant at first because I've been using Penn 712 z's for ever, but one finally wore out so I ordered a Battle II 4000. It's the perfect replacement for the 712. I've got it on a 7' medium action Ugly Stick. Feels right, can't wait to get out on the water! Again this reel is well worth the money and I will be buying another soon. Hey, it's a Penn, gotta love it...George D.
ProsIt's a well made, smooth and solid reel.
Consno
By Chris
Lytle Tx
Amazing reel
February 11, 2019
Lightweight, durable and all around beast
By Shawn
Hollywood, Florida
Solid reel
February 4, 2019
This is my second 5000 size reel. I one for vertical jigging and the second for pitching out mullets at the jetties. Affordable reel that will handle big fish.
ProsHandle a 23 inch red grouper like a pro.
By Wayne A.
CA
Works great for Crab snaring on the West Coast.
January 30, 2019
Works great for Crab snaring on the West Coast.
By KP
NC
strong and lghtweight
January 28, 2019
Great for my 10 ft CTS 2 oz weight lure rod Holds enough braid and not heavy and doesn't break the bank
By Jim
Southwest Florida
Good reel for the money.
January 7, 2019
I own 3 of these reels to date and have had no problems.
ProsPrice, quality and Penn parts are very available.
By Chris
Fort Worth, Texas
Bulletproof Light-Tackle Reel
December 17, 2018
I use this reel for finesse saltwater fishing where it is exposed to sea water and sand. All i can say is that it is bulletproof! The reel is smooth and the drag can handle big fish like Jacks and Macks.
By Shotgun
Hayesville NC
Very very nice re
August 29, 2018
Excellent reel can’t wait to go fishing but every Penn reel I own they have been great
By Chris
oklahoma city, OK
Good for the money
August 4, 2018
Like everything you get what you pay for, and this is no exception. If you take care of it you wont have any issues.
By Jack
Virginia
Great reel!
July 7, 2018
Pen reels are great. They stand up to use day in and day out!
By jessie
waldwick NJ
Ok for the price of the reel but you HAVR TO MAINTAIN IT!
June 27, 2018
Cant overstate that this reel is good if you TAKE CARE OF IT. If you don't....well
Prosgood for the price
Consunlike most Penns maintenance needed
By Aaron
Coventry, Rhode Island
decent for the price
May 22, 2018
Durable reel , but really need to focus on taking care of it or else it will go quick.
By Marcos
San Antonio, PR
Sturdy, smooth and saltwater rated!
May 16, 2018
I use this reel for jigging tiny lures for snappers and groupers. The reel is built like a tank, is very smooth, have a decent drag and is very resistant to saltwater. I highly recommend this reel.
By Matt
New Jersey
Love This Reel
March 26, 2018
Bought the 5000 version and have used it from jetting fishing to taking the charter boats out onto the recks. Really holds its own.
Prosgood drag love the handle
By MIke
Tequesta, FL
Great offshore pitch rod
December 23, 2017
This has been a great reel for pitching to dolphin schoolies. Durable and reliable.
By lee
New York, NY
excellent reel!
November 12, 2017
this is a good, solid reel from a company that has been doing it a long time. The drag is smooth and the bail is solid. It's a great reel for the money, and certainly will the demands of a weekend warrior!
By Michael
Apollo Beach, FL
Great starting reel
July 8, 2017
I own a 3000, 4000 and 2 6000s and if you are someone looking for a reel to get started with look no further. The penn battle 2 is a great reel I've owned one for almost 4 year. Keep the reel well maintained with oil and grease and the reel will last you.
By daryl
knoxville, tn
great reel for the money
March 20, 2017
awesome reel, that handles tons of different fish
By Jeff
New Jersey
Penn BTLII4000 Battle II Spinning Reel
February 16, 2017
These Penn reels are absolutely amazing. They are tough, reliable, and made well. I use them constantly from April to November in intense salt water action.
By Brian
Stony Brook , New York
One of the best reels for the money
January 22, 2017
I own many penn battle reels, they're great reels for the money. The penn battle series is one of the smoothest fishing reels I've fished. I fish mine atleast twice a week and it holds up great! The only flaw of the reel is how easily the bail closes
ProsSmooth, durable, compact, light weight
ConsBail closes while casting
By Michael
Newnan, GA
Good reel for the price
January 17, 2017
Overall this is a good reel for the price but it's only a matter of time before it will be trash. I've had this reel for around two years and it still is in working condition but the spool is starting to pit due to saltwater fishing. I took the drag apart to grease the washers and notice the corrosion around the drag system. The screws holding the drag washers in place are soft and I stripped one out, I drilled the screw out to grease drag. The drag knob has a rubber seal on it to keep water out but it doesn't work, it better than nothing though. Ive greased the gearing of the reel a few time just be careful of the fragile plastic holding the parts in place. For the price it is a good reel but if your looking for a reel that will last along time this is not it.
By Ahmed
Doha, Doha
Multipurpose reel
December 20, 2016
I am using it in casting and light jigging , strong and smoth
By Walter
Florida
Great Reel, but
November 24, 2016
The battle 2 is a great reeel for your buck. great drag smooth and clean finish. One of Penns finest reels but, i have been receiving a lot of wind knots with this reel sometimes even when casting with the wind
ProsSmooth, good drag, clean finish
ConsA lot of wind knots
By Abbas
Aurora, OH
solid salt water reel
July 18, 2016
i love how solid this reel is. great drag and a lot of power. smooth retrieve. nothing to complain about. just a little heavy.
Prosgreat reel
Consbit heavy
By Kamran
Boynton, beach fl
Great reel
July 13, 2016
Nice compact reel that has smooth drag and the ability to cast a mile
By Jason
Centereach, Ny
One of the worst reels I've ever owned
July 8, 2016
This reel lasted less than a season. And Penn supposedly"beefed" it up? I bent the main gear and stripped all the teeth in less than a year. It seemed like a nice smooth reel when I got it. It did not last and did not stand up to the conditions it was marketed to.
ProsSmooth
ConsWeak Lasted less than a season Not sealed Weak internal parts.
By Anthony J.
NY
GREAT VALUE
July 3, 2016
I have always loved Penn reels. They're what my father used, only conventional and so were the first reels I fished with. When I started using spinning reels, I of course bought and fished with Penn spinfishers. Great reels, that I still have and use including spinfisher V's. When Penn introduced the Battle a few years back I decided to get one, a 6000 that my son still uses today. It is a good reel. Now that Penn came out with the Battle 2 I figured I would get one when I needed a new spinning reel. I recently purchased the Battle 2 and it is a very good reel and a definite upgrade over the original Battle. For the price, I don't think you can find a better saltwater spinning reel
ProsPrice and value.
By Haythum
Texas
Great reel one of the best.
June 26, 2016
I owned couple Battle 4000 series reels beside this one and that was the reason why i decided to buy this one on sale. i bought them after an off shore fishing trip. the captain of the boat had punch of Penn battles including at least 6 of the 4000 series. we used them to catch some pen fish as a bait for grouper. He had the reels on a matching 6'6" fishing rod with a long sting and 4 to 6 small hooks. We were catching minimum 2 on the string. As ridiculous as it sound and many would say bait laughing but, when you catch 3 or 5 pen fish the size of a big hand or bigger, it's a work and if the reel is not capable, you will wear your self out.
By Stephen
Holmdel, NJ
Great reel
June 8, 2016
Very nice reel smooth drag, Paired it with an 8ft Tica casts great!
Proslightweight, price
Consnone so far
By EdiBobek
Boston Ma
great reel
June 4, 2016
very smooth operation, I use it on my second rod for spinning artificial lures, also for flounder and squid
By Drew
Long Branch NJ
A must have
May 26, 2016
Smooth Drag. Great Deal
By boknows
J-ville FL.
Good reel excellent drag
May 20, 2016
Reel is built solid excellent drag. Reel is heavy so if you are planning on using it for the surf it will give you a workout.
Prosbuilt very well made.
ConsVery heavy 2-3 lb real.
By Jack S.
Virginia
Super smooth, reliable for any price
May 19, 2016
Works great for everything from panfish to small striped bass
ProsSmooth Lightweight Casts far No twists
ConsNone I can think of
By Will
Memphis, Tennessee
Penn Battle II 3000
May 17, 2016
This reel is super smooth and the drag is on point. Been using it for largemouth bass using flukes mostly but will try it out on redfish in Apalachicola this summer! Penn is a hard company to beat and thanks to Tackle Direct for putting these reels on sale!
By Aaron
Hanford Ca.
Much better reel now
May 16, 2016
I checked out the original battles a few years ago and didn't much care for them. Penn did a few tweaks to the reel and now the new battle 2 is a smoother nicer operating reel. A really good value at its price point.
ProsA smoother solid operating reel.
ConsHaven't found one yet.
By Buck R.
Wyoming, Pa
Great reel
May 11, 2016
I own 4 penn battle II reels. 4000 and 2500 series. Love them, enough said.
ConsPlastic back reel switch
By Justin
Darien gg
Penn BTLII6000 Battle II Spinning Reel
May 9, 2016
Great reel it is an excellent value for the money. Very smooth and a powerful drag.
By Jerreth T.
United States
Awesome reel
May 4, 2016
Awesome reel super smooth nice drag lots of power. Got it setup with a 11ft surf rod and it takes a beating and holds up in all the weather
By Gary
Grand Island,Nebraska
Great reel
May 1, 2016
I really like this reel. Its durability is awesome and i like how it casts.. Recommend this product to all fishermen out there

Page 1 of 2
1