4.5
111 Reviews
5
68% (75)
4
25% (28)
3
3% (3)
2
4% (4)
1
1% (1)
96% Recommend this product (107 of 111 responses)
By Keith R.
Fleetwood NC
Works Great!
November 8, 2020
Great reel for light tackle fishing
By Leon
Randallstown, MD
Great reels for Chesapeake Bay fishing.
November 2, 2020
I have 2 Penn Battle II (2500 & 3000) on Ugly Stick Lite Pro rods! Can't beat the combo!
ProsHT-100 drag is fantastic!
By Lao T.
River edge, NJ
Great Reel
November 1, 2020
I bought the Battle II 6000, and have been using it almost once a week for porgy, sea bass, fluke and now stripers, almost everything the sea has to offer here in North Jersey. I even tried it for cod in 150 feet water off Rhode Island. The reel is smooth and tough, with zero problem. I bought a Battle III, and will try to see if there is any difference.
ProsStrength
ConsNone
By F0urTw3nt33
Los Angeles, CA
Fantastic Little Reel Puts The Heat on Big Fish
October 31, 2020
I have one of these badass little reels filled up with 30lb powerpro. I use this reel every time I visit Florida for all of my inshore fishing needs. Snappers, snook, small tarpon, bonefish, redfish, making bait, spanish mackerel etc.... On the west coast I exclusively use it to throw light surface lures like waxwings and stickbaits to schoolie yellowtails and calico bass. I did one local half day trip out of Long Beach last year and landed 4 15-20 lb yellowtail on it. The deckies were casting heavy irons and each got one but just couldn't get the distance or accuracy to present to the breezing fish that I was able to with the light spinning gear. I had a sea lion grab one yellow by the tail and i fought him for it for about 15 minutes. I got the fish back from him after another sea lion came up and bit the fishes face, they proceeded to fight each other as I cranked that yellow in across the surface as fast as I could. A couple holes in the head and a couple in the tail with the meat perfectly intact. This little reel stood up to a 500+lb sea lion and didn't skip a beat! Couldn't ask for more, I disassembled the whole reel afterwards and I couldn't see any wear marks on any of the gears or anything like that. Put it back together and its still operating at 100%.
ProsSmall Strong Smooth Inexpensive A truly great value
ConsIf you don't already have this reel. That's a con.
By Joe D.
NJ
Great value
October 22, 2020
I have been a Penn guy for a long time and have tried out the majority of their reels. This reel is by far the best value. For the price this reel is made great and holds up well against bigger fish. My favorite part is how smooth the drag on this reel is.
ProsValue
By Ed
El Dorado Hills, California
So far, so good
October 18, 2020
Fished with it on several occasions… Leopard sharks and bat rays. Love the reel… Retrieves smoothly/quietly. Looking to buy another… Possibly a Battle II 6000
By Ken
Yulee, FL
Solid reel
October 17, 2020
This is an excellent reel for the money. It is smooth and have zero issues. I love Penn reels.
By John
LBI NEW JERSEY
Pennbattke4000
October 15, 2020
Great real with 30lb braid with 7/6 st croci medium rod on beach
ProsGreat for the money
ConsNone so far
By Mike G.
Texas
Penn Battle 2
October 14, 2020
I love the Penn Battle series of spinning reels, I belive Penn to be the most reliable spinning reels on the market.
By Peter
New York
Solid reel for general inshore fishing (4000)
July 25, 2020
I have the 4000 model and it is my go to for striper fishing throughout the northeast. It has taken quite a bit of abuse and caught many fish!
ProsDurable, great value, solid drag system.
ConsNot sealed - requires occasional maintenance.
By Cooper
,
Decent reel for the price point
April 11, 2020
I have a couple of reels at different price categories and this one fits right at it's price point. You can put a decent amount of braid on it and it's over all good striped bass reel
By Joey
South Jersey, New jersey
5000 series perfect ffrom stripers to tarpon
March 24, 2020
I just recently purchased the Battle 2 in the 5000 series for striper fishing in New Jersey. Great product for calm weather fishing, may not be the best for surf fishing because it isn't as sealed as some of the higher grade Penn reels. I have also done tarpon fishing with this feel and it performed great, enough drag to fight 100 lb + tarpon and made the experience more enjoyable.
ConsWater seal not as trustworthy as higher grade so may get damaged in surf fidhing
By Tylor
Bishopville, MD
Great reel
March 10, 2020
Great reel for inshore fishing. I have two of them. I use quite often for flounder fishing. Great for all around inshore and near shore.
By Shawn
West Yarmouth, MA
amazing reel
March 1, 2020
amazing reel for the price from the smaller 3000 to the big 8000 they work great and very versitial.
By John
Sky Valley, Ga
Good for the money
February 21, 2020
Good reel for the price.
ProsPrice
By Van
SoMD
A tank
January 13, 2020
These are tanks and they work well. They are pretty smooth and have good line capacity. I know several charter capts who use these religiously for bottom fishing and life lining.
Proseasy to maintain, tons of drag, carbon drag, all alum body that won't flex,
ConsThey are heavy.
By Van
SoMD
4/5 stars a little heavy but a tank
January 13, 2020
I have two of these and a 6k. They are a bit heavy but are solid reels. No flex and so far no issues with the grinding or loss or smoothing due to salt water intrusion. I know a couple of charter capts who use these for bottom fishing and live lining rockfish who swear by them. It has carbon drag with 25 lbs of drag that you'll never need but it's there.
ConsA little heavy.
By clayton
, Florida
Best. Reel. Ever.
January 13, 2020
This is honestly the best reel i have ever owned in my whole life. It has such smooth reeling and is great.
By Kenny
Columbia, Maryland
Love the reel
November 20, 2019
I have the 1000 that I use for inshore snapper, perch, and schoolie stripers this thing has been pretty faithful to me. It feels very light but i’m not sure if almost every 1000 reel feels like that but phew it’s an amazing reel from a great company
By Chuck D.
Clayton, NC
BTLII4000 is sweet!
September 13, 2019
The 4K reel is durable, has been fished saltwater for the last 3 years and is still flawless. Not as buttery smooth as other reels on the market, but it's always ready for a battle.
By Van
SoMD
Great for the price, a bit heavy though
August 19, 2019
I've got 3 of these reels, in rod reel sets, and we use them as our casters, bottom fishing and in a pinch have used them for trolling. They are good reels, a bit heavy but work well and a good values for the money. The Fury is also a good reel to consider when looking at these. It's a model down but also less expensive. There are smoother reels out there but the Penns are pretty tough and are easy to take care of. If weight is an issue then you might want to look for an alternative. Otherwise these are good long lasting reels that I've seen in a lot of charter boats.
Prosvalue for the money, tough and proven reels
Consthey are heavy
By Alex
,
Penn Battle II
July 21, 2019
I’ve used the fierce, sargus, battle and now the battle II as my lighter tackle and kayak reels. It does the job well, has a great drag and hasn’t failed me yet.
ProsPrice Drag Smoothness
ConsNone yet
By Adam
Bluffton, South Carolina
Great reel Penn never disappoints
June 9, 2019
I got this real in the 8500 series and love it. Paired it with a 12-foot battalion surf rod. One of my first bigger surf setups I use for casting dates for land-based shark fishing it has handled up to a 7'3" lemon shark no problem at all. Definitely recommend if you're looking for a great real but don't want to drop too much money on a Spinfisher V or Slammer in the same reel class.
By Mark
Iowa
Itching to use it.
March 18, 2019
Paired this up with the St. Croix TSRS90Mr Travel rod, can't wait to his the east cost beaches.
By Alex D.
PA
Penn Battle II
March 8, 2019
This reel is excellent, I highly recommend this reel.
ProsExcellent for the price
By george d.
Belfast Maine
The Penn Battle II is a great reel
March 7, 2019
This reel is a fine piece of work. I was hesitant at first because I've been using Penn 712 z's for ever, but one finally wore out so I ordered a Battle II 4000. It's the perfect replacement for the 712. I've got it on a 7' medium action Ugly Stick. Feels right, can't wait to get out on the water! Again this reel is well worth the money and I will be buying another soon. Hey, it's a Penn, gotta love it...George D.
ProsIt's a well made, smooth and solid reel.
Consno
By Chris
Lytle Tx
Amazing reel
February 11, 2019
Lightweight, durable and all around beast
By Shawn
Hollywood, Florida
Solid reel
February 4, 2019
This is my second 5000 size reel. I one for vertical jigging and the second for pitching out mullets at the jetties. Affordable reel that will handle big fish.
ProsHandle a 23 inch red grouper like a pro.
By Wayne A.
CA
Works great for Crab snaring on the West Coast.
January 30, 2019
Works great for Crab snaring on the West Coast.
By KP
NC
strong and lghtweight
January 28, 2019
Great for my 10 ft CTS 2 oz weight lure rod Holds enough braid and not heavy and doesn't break the bank
By Jim
Southwest Florida
Good reel for the money.
January 7, 2019
I own 3 of these reels to date and have had no problems.
ProsPrice, quality and Penn parts are very available.
By Chris
Fort Worth, Texas
Bulletproof Light-Tackle Reel
December 17, 2018
I use this reel for finesse saltwater fishing where it is exposed to sea water and sand. All i can say is that it is bulletproof! The reel is smooth and the drag can handle big fish like Jacks and Macks.
By Shotgun
Hayesville NC
Very very nice re
August 29, 2018
Excellent reel can’t wait to go fishing but every Penn reel I own they have been great
By Chris
oklahoma city, OK
Good for the money
August 4, 2018
Like everything you get what you pay for, and this is no exception. If you take care of it you wont have any issues.
By Jack
Virginia
Great reel!
July 7, 2018
Pen reels are great. They stand up to use day in and day out!
By jessie
waldwick NJ
Ok for the price of the reel but you HAVR TO MAINTAIN IT!
June 27, 2018
Cant overstate that this reel is good if you TAKE CARE OF IT. If you don't....well
Prosgood for the price
Consunlike most Penns maintenance needed
By Aaron
Coventry, Rhode Island
decent for the price
May 22, 2018
Durable reel , but really need to focus on taking care of it or else it will go quick.
By Marcos
San Antonio, PR
Sturdy, smooth and saltwater rated!
May 16, 2018
I use this reel for jigging tiny lures for snappers and groupers. The reel is built like a tank, is very smooth, have a decent drag and is very resistant to saltwater. I highly recommend this reel.
By Matt
New Jersey
Love This Reel
March 26, 2018
Bought the 5000 version and have used it from jetting fishing to taking the charter boats out onto the recks. Really holds its own.
Prosgood drag love the handle
By MIke
Tequesta, FL
Great offshore pitch rod
December 23, 2017
This has been a great reel for pitching to dolphin schoolies. Durable and reliable.
By lee
New York, NY
excellent reel!
November 12, 2017
this is a good, solid reel from a company that has been doing it a long time. The drag is smooth and the bail is solid. It's a great reel for the money, and certainly will the demands of a weekend warrior!
By Michael
Apollo Beach, FL
Great starting reel
July 8, 2017
I own a 3000, 4000 and 2 6000s and if you are someone looking for a reel to get started with look no further. The penn battle 2 is a great reel I've owned one for almost 4 year. Keep the reel well maintained with oil and grease and the reel will last you.
By daryl
knoxville, tn
great reel for the money
March 20, 2017
awesome reel, that handles tons of different fish
By Jeff
New Jersey
Penn BTLII4000 Battle II Spinning Reel
February 16, 2017
These Penn reels are absolutely amazing. They are tough, reliable, and made well. I use them constantly from April to November in intense salt water action.
By Brian
Stony Brook , New York
One of the best reels for the money
January 22, 2017
I own many penn battle reels, they're great reels for the money. The penn battle series is one of the smoothest fishing reels I've fished. I fish mine atleast twice a week and it holds up great! The only flaw of the reel is how easily the bail closes
ProsSmooth, durable, compact, light weight
ConsBail closes while casting
By Michael
Newnan, GA
Good reel for the price
January 17, 2017
Overall this is a good reel for the price but it's only a matter of time before it will be trash. I've had this reel for around two years and it still is in working condition but the spool is starting to pit due to saltwater fishing. I took the drag apart to grease the washers and notice the corrosion around the drag system. The screws holding the drag washers in place are soft and I stripped one out, I drilled the screw out to grease drag. The drag knob has a rubber seal on it to keep water out but it doesn't work, it better than nothing though. Ive greased the gearing of the reel a few time just be careful of the fragile plastic holding the parts in place. For the price it is a good reel but if your looking for a reel that will last along time this is not it.
By Ahmed
Doha, Doha
Multipurpose reel
December 20, 2016
I am using it in casting and light jigging , strong and smoth
By Walter
Florida
Great Reel, but
November 24, 2016
The battle 2 is a great reeel for your buck. great drag smooth and clean finish. One of Penns finest reels but, i have been receiving a lot of wind knots with this reel sometimes even when casting with the wind
ProsSmooth, good drag, clean finish
ConsA lot of wind knots
By Abbas
Aurora, OH
solid salt water reel
July 18, 2016
i love how solid this reel is. great drag and a lot of power. smooth retrieve. nothing to complain about. just a little heavy.
Prosgreat reel
Consbit heavy
By Kamran
Boynton, beach fl
Great reel
July 13, 2016
Nice compact reel that has smooth drag and the ability to cast a mile
By Jason
Centereach, Ny
One of the worst reels I've ever owned
July 8, 2016
This reel lasted less than a season. And Penn supposedly"beefed" it up? I bent the main gear and stripped all the teeth in less than a year. It seemed like a nice smooth reel when I got it. It did not last and did not stand up to the conditions it was marketed to.
ProsSmooth
ConsWeak Lasted less than a season Not sealed Weak internal parts.
By Anthony J.
NY
GREAT VALUE
July 3, 2016
I have always loved Penn reels. They're what my father used, only conventional and so were the first reels I fished with. When I started using spinning reels, I of course bought and fished with Penn spinfishers. Great reels, that I still have and use including spinfisher V's. When Penn introduced the Battle a few years back I decided to get one, a 6000 that my son still uses today. It is a good reel. Now that Penn came out with the Battle 2 I figured I would get one when I needed a new spinning reel. I recently purchased the Battle 2 and it is a very good reel and a definite upgrade over the original Battle. For the price, I don't think you can find a better saltwater spinning reel
ProsPrice and value.
By Haythum
Texas
Great reel one of the best.
June 26, 2016
I owned couple Battle 4000 series reels beside this one and that was the reason why i decided to buy this one on sale. i bought them after an off shore fishing trip. the captain of the boat had punch of Penn battles including at least 6 of the 4000 series. we used them to catch some pen fish as a bait for grouper. He had the reels on a matching 6'6" fishing rod with a long sting and 4 to 6 small hooks. We were catching minimum 2 on the string. As ridiculous as it sound and many would say bait laughing but, when you catch 3 or 5 pen fish the size of a big hand or bigger, it's a work and if the reel is not capable, you will wear your self out.
By Stephen
Holmdel, NJ
Great reel
June 8, 2016
Very nice reel smooth drag, Paired it with an 8ft Tica casts great!
Proslightweight, price
Consnone so far
By EdiBobek
Boston Ma
great reel
June 4, 2016
very smooth operation, I use it on my second rod for spinning artificial lures, also for flounder and squid
By Drew
Long Branch NJ
A must have
May 26, 2016
Smooth Drag. Great Deal
By boknows
J-ville FL.
Good reel excellent drag
May 20, 2016
Reel is built solid excellent drag. Reel is heavy so if you are planning on using it for the surf it will give you a workout.
Prosbuilt very well made.
ConsVery heavy 2-3 lb real.
By Jack S.
Virginia
Super smooth, reliable for any price
May 19, 2016
Works great for everything from panfish to small striped bass
ProsSmooth Lightweight Casts far No twists
ConsNone I can think of
By Will
Memphis, Tennessee
Penn Battle II 3000
May 17, 2016
This reel is super smooth and the drag is on point. Been using it for largemouth bass using flukes mostly but will try it out on redfish in Apalachicola this summer! Penn is a hard company to beat and thanks to Tackle Direct for putting these reels on sale!
By Aaron
Hanford Ca.
Much better reel now
May 16, 2016
I checked out the original battles a few years ago and didn't much care for them. Penn did a few tweaks to the reel and now the new battle 2 is a smoother nicer operating reel. A really good value at its price point.
ProsA smoother solid operating reel.
ConsHaven't found one yet.
By Buck R.
Wyoming, Pa
Great reel
May 11, 2016
I own 4 penn battle II reels. 4000 and 2500 series. Love them, enough said.
ConsPlastic back reel switch
By Justin
Darien gg
Penn BTLII6000 Battle II Spinning Reel
May 9, 2016
Great reel it is an excellent value for the money. Very smooth and a powerful drag.
By Jerreth T.
United States
Awesome reel
May 4, 2016
Awesome reel super smooth nice drag lots of power. Got it setup with a 11ft surf rod and it takes a beating and holds up in all the weather
By Gary
Grand Island,Nebraska
Great reel
May 1, 2016
I really like this reel. Its durability is awesome and i like how it casts.. Recommend this product to all fishermen out there
By Sherief E.
Bahrain
Great reel.
May 1, 2016
This is such a great reel. i didn't use it yet but from the structure and feel i can judge it. it's a high class reel that durable and built to last.
By Alex
Pozzuoli, Italy
Battle II Review
April 26, 2016
I use this reel for bait and I am very pleased. It's much nicer than my original Battle and the drag is awesome. I have caught fish up to 20 pounds so far and not a single issue with the reel.
By Jerreth
,
Strong and Smooth
April 26, 2016
Awesome reel, really smooth drag with a good bit of power. Also have a 6000 for surf fishing and it has handled all the elements of surf fishing just fine.
By Jon
Charleston, SC
Excellent reel
April 25, 2016
Great reel and great for the money. Very smooth when casting. smooth retrieve. Lightweight. Comfortable
Proslight. comfortable. smooth
By Brian
Mantua, NJ
Awesome
April 24, 2016
Very light looks awesome one my sons rod ! Great price for the reel
By Paul
Brigantine, NJ
Great reel at an awesome price!
April 22, 2016
Ordered two Penn Battle II 3000 to add to my boat fishing collection. Perfect size and weight for bay fishing. Delivery was very prompt with boxes all with factory seals.
ProsLight weight, low maintenance, all around salt water reel for 6-7 foot poles
ConsNone
By Mike
MD
Great Price, Solid Reel
April 21, 2016
Initial impression of this reel is great. Solid feel, smooth action. Allot of reel for the price.
By Corey
Milwaukee, WI
The Beast
April 15, 2016
04/15/16. First impressions on this reel (model BTLII8000) is that this is a well-built piece of equipment at a very competitive price. It's substantially-sized and heavy thanks to the metal body, but not overly so for a reel in this class. The action is smooth with just a hint of friction and the bail trip is appropriately stiff. I don't consider the bail trip to be a detractor at this point. I assume this will wear-in over time and I typically remove the auto-trip mechanism from my reels anyway to prevent accidental closure during casting. Based on first observations I am pleased with this purchase and am looking forward to using it. I haven't had a chance to log any hours on this reel yet, but it will be paired with a 10' St. Croix Mojo rod for surf casting. I'll follow up with further updates after more time on the water so for now I'll give it 4 stars.
ProsRetreival rate of 44" per turn Metal body construction Large line capacity
ConsNone so far
By Fairrul
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Muara
Excellent reel
April 14, 2016
Strong and tough reel!
ProsTanky reel
By Johnny D.
Mass
Not worth the money
April 6, 2016
Being a hardcore surf rat. The 2 I owned a 6000 3yrs old and a 5000 2 yes old. Both no good. Gears are stripped. Bearings are siezed. Penn's are NOT what they use to be. Spent $90 for all parts to rebuild and still no good. Nothing but paper weights. The new SS series don't hold well either. I've fixed ALOT of those within 4months of purchase.
ProsAwesome drag system smoothest of them all.
ConsNOT A HARD CORE PLUGGING REEL. For the bait boobd sure. Cast set in spike. Working tops. Plugs. Bucktails..... You will burn out these pieces of crap. Lost a lot of faith in Penn the last few years.
By John
woodbine, NJ
Battle Boy
January 30, 2016
Ive owned a few of these and they are great reels for freash or salt water, this one is great for a lightweight flounder rig but also doubles as my heavier freshwater stick. Works well with my gloms g2 6'6.
Proslight, strong
Conssometimes finish wears off when in heavy salt use but its expected
By Fred
Columbus
Battle 2
January 25, 2016
Very good reel. Have an 8000 that is very easy to control bought this for a jigging pole.
ProsPrice for the value. Good brand name
By sammy
los angeles ca.
GREAT PRICE .. GREAT DELIVERY SERVICE
December 22, 2015
I shopped around for this Reel and found the best price including delivery on Tackle Direct. I have purchased from them before and an always pleased with their service. It was at my doorstep exactly on the date they said it would be. I totally recommend them for your next fishing purchase. I know I will be buying from them again.
Prosgreat price .. xlnt delivery service.
By martin
, sarsasota florida
love my penn battle
December 17, 2015
I have had my Penn battle for almost a year now and it has yet to disappointed. great product!
By Peter
Philadelphia, PA
Amazing reel
December 8, 2015
This reel holds up under any situation. you can count on it where others fail. Use this reel for everything and never leave home without it.
Prosvery strong
By Thomas
Blacksburg, Virginia
Exellent Value
December 2, 2015
I have used the reel on my pier fishing rod as well as my surf rod. Very smooth action, excellent casting capability.... amazing value. Great job Penn.
By Kamran
Boynton Beach, Florida
Great reel
November 19, 2015
This reel is super smooth with great drag. Best saltwater spinning reel for the money
By Chris
Narragsett RI
It's a good reel
August 26, 2015
It's a good reel not great but good. I use these to chase after bonita And small bass and blues makes for a fun fight but still beefy enough to turn a running fish
ProsSmooth cheap and sturdy
ConsI still feel like it could be better but I'm never completely satisfied any how.
By Craig
Ringwood, NJ
Great Surf Reel
August 19, 2015
I have been using this reel for about two years now mainly for surf fishing for fluke and stripers. Have not had any issues and find it very smooth to use.
By Drew
,
Great improvements
August 12, 2015
This reel is great for the price, and a better version than the old battle. Great saltwater resistance and well worth the money.
By b p.
new york
well made and performed up to expectations
July 8, 2015
seems well made and smooth for the money as it works
Prossturdy well built reel was happy with my initial usage I am a newbie at this so no expert but was happy with my initial use had the opportunity to use it on two outings
Consnone really
By Andrew P.
Pine Beach, NJ
Penn battle 2 5000
June 26, 2015
This item was a early father's day gift to me from my wife and kids. The reel is very smooth in both operation and drag. The reel is very well built. Perfect size to go a long with the 9 foot star Ariel rod that I got with it. Reason for the 4 star rating is I haven't been able to truly test it out on any fish bigger than the single 20 inch striped Bass I caught with it.
ProsThe line rated capacity of 30 pound braid is right on at 300 yards. It leaves the ideal amount of spool left to help prevent wind knots from over filling the spool.
ConsNone so far.
By John
Morgantown, WV
Good reel
June 5, 2015
Great price. Light and smooth reel. Will be buying more for other rods.
By Fly A.
Tallahassee, Florida
Fragile and Poor Parts Support from Penn
May 18, 2015
I dropped the reel new out of the box when trying to secure it on a rod (completely my fault). It fell about 2-3 feet on to a wood floor and the bail attachment fitting shattered. I have never experienced such a fragile reel as this. Additionally, in trying to get the reel examined for any hidden damage and get repaired, the technician has been unable to get the replacement part(s) from Penn. The parts order has continuously had a status of "unavailable, on back order." So if the parts ever become available I may be able to see how well the reel actually works fishing, but for now I'm not holding my breath waiting for Penn to support its product.
By david
Miami
awesome reel
May 5, 2015
this reel is great for all types of fishing from peacocks to snook and to tarpon very strong just make sure you rinse
By Steve F.
Boynton Beach, "Flowda"
Reliable Reel
April 24, 2015
I have several Penn reels; a Fierce 4000, a Conflict 2500, a Sargus 1000, and this latest edition of the Battle II 1000. I like them all, although I have not used the Fierce 4000 that much and the Sargus 1000 is a little low end on the quality meter. I have been fishing this Battle II 1000 reel the most lately and it is currently spooled with Seaguar Kanzen 8 lb. braid and mounted on a 6' Fenwick Eagle EA60ML-MFS . Three days ago I landed a 24" Largemouth Bass in my neighborhood lake using a 1/2 oz. Megabass top water popper. See photo attached. The fish swallowed the lure so deeply I struggled to remove it and didn't have time to weigh the fish before releasing it, but it was all of 6 lbs., perhaps closer to 7.
ProsThis reel is very smooth, and when fully loaded casts quite far. The drag is consistent and reliable.
ConsHaven't experienced any cons yet.
By Thomas
Virginia
Excellent Product
April 21, 2015
Very smooth action. Excellent control. I was able to cast exactly where I wanted time and time again. Everything I need in a saltwater reel. Thanks Penn and Tackle Direct.
By Margaret
Poughkeepsie, NY
Great upgrade from the old Battle
April 18, 2015
I owned several of the first generation Battle, this reel is upgraded significantly, it's smoother and the drag is like silk.
By max
Redding, CT
Good reel
April 6, 2015
Pretty good reel. The 3000 series is perfect for inshore fishing in CT
ProsStrong Smooth
By Alex
Solomons, Maryland
It's a great reel for the money
April 2, 2015
This is a nice upgrade from the old Battle. it's smoother and has a much better drag. I paired it with a 10' St Croix Rod and it works great!
By Ray
Vineland, NJ
Love it!
March 29, 2015
Good for bait fishing or plugging. Casts extremely well.
By Terry
North Carolina
Great lightweight saltwater reel
March 19, 2015
Very nice reel for lightweight tackle. I use it for Spanish Mackeral fishing. I am very pleased with the quality and performance of this reel.
ProsNice drag system
ConsNone
By Mohamed
UAE
Battle II is a great option
February 11, 2015
The reel looks very nice, rigid and very light... The reeling and the drag experience is very smooth.
Pros- Very light - Robust - Fantastic design - Smooth reel and drag
ConsNothing so far
By Brian
lake worth , florida
way better than the old battle
January 26, 2015
this reel is so much better than the old version due to the drag systems and corrosion resistance.
Prosdrag, corrosion resistant
By Fred
Columbus
Penn spinning reel
January 25, 2015
Have had a chance to hook a fish with it but looks like it will last
ProsSmooth operation
Consheavier than expected
By Michael
Ottawa, Ontario
nice inshore reel
January 23, 2015
just got the reel, haven't used it out on the water yet, so can't comment on performance. But at first glance, I'm fairly happy with it. It's a bit heavy, but that's what you get with a full metal body. So, I'm expecting it to be somewhat durable. Looking forward to using it, I think it will be nice little reel to use inshore or for smaller/medium size offshore fish.
Prossolid water tight
By andre
Boynton beach, FL
Great improvement of the old battle
January 22, 2015
the old battle was a great reel until it comes in contact with saltwater. I have used this reel in saltwater and it is definitely better than the old batle
By Ben
Lake Worth, Florida
Not the best choice
January 21, 2015
I have a 4500 and it hasn't done me the best. I would recommend going out and getting a different reel.
By Kyle
Big Pine Key, Florida
battle 6000
January 3, 2015
My old 650 ssm finally quit on me so I decided to go with what many Fl Keys charter captains use, the Penn Battle. I like the reel. It is light enough to yellowtail with but can also be used to troll for dolphin.
ProsWork-horse of a reel
ConsDoesn't seem as smooth as my 650 was.
By Jonny F.
Atlanta, Georgia
Penn Battle II 4000
December 27, 2014
Super smooth drag, light weight and hold a ton of 20 LB braid! I can't wait to test this machine out on some big reds and trout this spring!
By Mark
, Virginia Beach
Good Value Reel
December 18, 2014
I have an 8000 series. It is good for me for Cobia and striper season in the Chesapeake bay. It is big and can handle the load. Nice an smooth. Great deal for the money. The 8000 isn't light tackle but better suited for bigger fish.
ProsPrice Smooth retrieve
ConsNot for everyday use, better suited for bigger fish
By Hong G.
New Market, Alabama
excellent for inshore applications
November 7, 2014
performs flawlessly, price tag is the major highlight of this workhorse, a keeper!
By Charles
Morrisville, PA
Great Reel for the Money
October 12, 2014
Great for Kayak fishing. As smooth as more expensive reels but not as painful to the wallet in cast it goes overboard.
By Rick
Nashville
New Redfish Standard
October 2, 2014
This 2500 Battle II has been perfect for Space Coast Redfish action. Big bulls ripping 100 yards at a run, were handled with smooth predictability. Loaded with 15 pound test braid, and mated to a 7' Duckett Ghost rod, this lightweight combo is easy to handle all day long, and a thrill to manage big fish with.
ProsLine capacity (220 yards of 15 pound braid on a compact package), smooth drag, light weight, Penn durability, outstanding value.
ConsHaven't used it long enough to uncover any weakness.
By David
Rishon Le Zion, Israel
Best saltwater reel for thos price
September 28, 2014
Best saltwater reel for thos price
Prossmooth,strong and built like a tank
Consheavy
By Matt
Warren, RI
Awesome Reel
August 3, 2014
Unbelievable reel! Penn has done it again with a great feeling and awesome performing product. By far the best reel I have ever owned. I will be buying the smaller models for freshwater next season. I paired this real with a ugly stik BWSG 1102 7' rod.
By michael
, king george, VA
PERFECT
July 18, 2014
Excellent reel for the money. Don't even consider any other reels. This reel will not let you down. It's a winch
Proscheap durable lots of drag

Page 1 of 1