4.6
74 Reviews
5
69% (51)
4
24% (18)
3
5% (4)
2
0% (0)
1
1% (1)
95% Recommend this product (70 of 74 responses)
By Chuck D.
Clayton, NC
Conflict is smooth, casts great
September 13, 2019
I think this reel is very smooth, can handle with sufficient drag. It is light. Haven't had any of the problems that others have expressed with it seizing up....has always performed for me on a 8 1/2 foot old school ugly stik custom.
By Terry
Sugar Land
harleytlf
June 9, 2019
Fished 2 Penn Conflict 3000's side by side with a $49.00 Okuma Stratus 6 in the surf. The Penns felt like boat anchors and both were seized up the next morning requiring an hour each to tear down and clean. The $49.00 Okuma required only a rinsing and is still going strong after 4 more adventures in the surf. Don't wast your money on the Conflict... my son now has 2 $140.00 catfish reels!!! ***RATING WOULD BE LESS THAN ONE STAR IF THAT WAS AN OPTION***
Pros???
ConsHeavy? They would be a great deal if you paid for reels by the pound.
By mario
Staten Island, NY
Nice sturdy reel for the money
March 21, 2019
Picked these up as my guest reels on the boat. Well worth it.
By Todd
Dorchester, MA
Penn Quality
July 8, 2018
It's a Penn Reel and I've yet to be disappointed by any of the Penn reels that I have. As others have said, smooth drag and feels good on the rod. So far has lived up to the quality I expect from Penn products.
ProsSmooth Good Quality
By mike
Texas City ,Texas
Penn cft5000
May 25, 2018
great reel. used it this past week on a 50-80 class rod free lining jumbo shrimp to catch big bull reds in texas.Has a smooth drag and easy to flip or cast with 40lb. mono
Prossmooth drag and great size handle.
Consnone so far
By Travis
Covington, GA
love mine
February 23, 2018
we ordered this reel for a friend and he says he loves it as much as we do ours they hold up to some big spoonbill we snag
By mike
Coral Springs, FL
Awesome real
January 26, 2018
Great reel. Smooth drag. wish i bought more.
By Adventure M.
Southwest Florida
Nice but .......
December 6, 2017
Good reel but a little heavy for the size but it is a Penn and it will last. Tackle Direct has outstanding service
ProsWell made
ConsA little heavy for a 3000 size reel
By Paul
Fairfax, VA
Good reel for the price
November 28, 2017
Used it once so far and it's worked flawlessly for stripers. Great drag and solid action with no body flex. We'll see how it holds up in the long run.
By David M.
Highlands Ranch, CO
Highly recommend
November 26, 2017
Used for winter king salmon in Alaska and am very happy with my purchase. Great reel!
By Rik
Virginia
Great Reel...
November 26, 2017
Typical Penn quality, smooth reliable retrieve & good pricing...
By Mel C.
San Antonio, Texas
The Penn Conflict is an outstanding reel in every respect.
November 25, 2017
Price wise the Conflict series is between the Battle II series and the much higher priced Slammer series of spinning reels. Action, drag and ruggedness makes the Conflict series a great buy.
By Captain Y.
Indian River DE
Good looking reel for the price
November 25, 2017
The conflict 3000 by Penn is a good looking light weight reel for the cost. It handles well but out of the box the bail needed oil and the internal grease was too dense and caused it to be more difficult to operate than it should be. I stripped the grease out and replaced it with quantum hot sauce grease and it performed in a optimum capacity. Itâ‚"s a very fast gear ratio and you have to consciously slow yourself down to work smaller jigs and lures properly. Iâ‚"ve only had it a few weeks so another review should be made after giving it some time to break in and see how it endures some regular use.
ProsLight weight, solid construction.
ConsGear ratio too high for the type of reel. Original lubes were not the best application. Drag ok but not great. Too soon to review properly.
By Double
Galveston, TX
Exactly as advertised
November 21, 2017
Haven't had a chance to put on rod and field test yet, but came exactly as advertised and should hold up well if it is like my similar Penn spinning reels.
By Doug K.
Westborough, MA
Great Price
November 19, 2017
Replacing two Penn Battle II reels with these and hoping for better results. The Battle II reels both seized up last season even with what I considered proper rinsing, etc. Fishing for Striper in the N.E. off Cape Cod. These look like they'll work nicely but I'll let you know if I find otherwise. Tight Lines!
By Catch D.
Fairfax, VA
Good reel for the price
November 19, 2017
I got this reel when they had a two for one special and for that price it has been great so far. Heavier than the other big name reels but it looks and feels pretty solid and tough.
ProsAll metal body, smooth
ConsLooks like same would get inside pretty easy
By Bryan
Brick nj
Penn Conflict
November 19, 2017
Great reel... they really hold up well to the saltwater corrosion. Very strong with an a great ratio.
By Derrick W.
Tampa, Fl
Great Reel
November 18, 2017
This reel I it's class is top notch. Light weight, durable, enjoyable to fish with the whole day. Can't find at flaws with this gem.
By Brandon
st James, mo
typical penn
November 18, 2017
Sturdy...smooth...high quality...everything one would expect from Penn
ProsLine capacity.....smooth...strong...
ConsNone
By ocnjfishhguy
toms River, NJ
....Not Salt Water Approved in my Boat!!
November 18, 2017
...This is a great reel....... but............it is NOT a saltwater reel! Penn always was the Father of Saltwater INSHORE reels..... Not no more!!! Rinse, clean and oil this sucker before you put it up! Semper! Fi! Godspeed!
Pros....fresh Water.........
Cons....Don't get it saltwater wet!!!.......
By Chris
Hoover, AL
Great spinning reel
November 6, 2017
This is one solid little reel with some big drag. Very, very pleased with this purchase!
ProsGreat drag for this little reel. Size I ordered is 3000.
By George S.
Amityville, NY
Penn Conflict spinning reel. 5000
October 28, 2017
Awesome Penn reel, my second one. Solid, smooth and dependable
By Santiago
Miami, FL
Favorite Reel by far
August 11, 2017
I love this reel. Light, fast, and so so so so so smooth. I own a lot of spinners but love this one the most. Don't let anyone tough it either while out fishing on the boat!!!
By James
Commiskey indiana
Outstanding Reel
July 27, 2017
I bought a 3000 to replace a old 2500 shimano reel I had for a few years and absolutely love it. Incredibly smooth and very worth every penny in my opinion. Would definitely recommend it!
ProsIncredibly smooth and worth every penny.
By Gil
McAllen, Texas
PENN CONFLICT 6000
July 23, 2017
I have purchased this reel just recently, but I have already put it to the test against big king mackerels! I love this reel! It is very smooth, casts far, has extremely good and smooth drag, and it actually held 450 yards of 40 lb braid! All in all I am very pleased that I purchased this reel and I don't think you can get a better bang for your buck!
ProsCasts far Smooth Drag Line capacity Fast retrieve
By Steve S.
Ft. Myers beach
Great charter fishing reels
July 6, 2017
I've been guiding for over 30 years and Penn Conflict reels hold up better than any other reel that I have ever fished with.
Pros5 Star
ConsNone
By TTL
Arlington, TX
Best bang for the buck
June 14, 2017
Does everything you need. Very solid reel with nice drag system. Only complaint is that its slightly heavier than most of the shimano reels in the same size, though its not heavy to where it'll wear you out.
By jake
Tampa, Florida
Conflict 8000
January 23, 2017
Overall this reel is larger than I expected but does way more than I intended to use it for. For the price the reel is a great buy, has great brakes, and looks awesome.
By John
Minneapolis, Mn
Terrific Value
October 13, 2016
Finishing up a season with the 2000 here in Minnesota and I'm extremely impressed. This is a rock solid reel with a flawless drag, It handles 10# braid or 8#mono with equal ease, and within a couple of casts I forget it's there. I particularly appreciate its weight and heft, as it balances really well with the 6' 6" to 6'9" rods I prefer for walleye jigging and bass finesse presentation. I find too many of today's high tech, high end, reels too light to balance well with most rods. My Penns, however, bring a outfit's weight right under my hand. Doing this removes weight from the rod tip and increases sensitivity.
ProsSolid. Silky. Bullet proof.
By Kamran
Boynton beach, florida
This is the one
July 13, 2016
This is a great reel. Has a super strong drag for such a small reel and can cast more than a mile.
ProsSmooth drag and a great casting
ConsA bit pricey
By Kamran
Boynton beach, florida
Great all around
July 13, 2016
This is nice super light and compact reel. Great for anything inshore. Butter like retrive with the capability to cast a mile
By Makintyre
Vero beach , Florida
Great for the price
June 2, 2016
It's a great reel for its price I mean you can't really go wrong with a penn
ConsPaint chips Easley
By Matthew
Fort Worth, TX
Compact, small and light weight
May 20, 2016
Tough Penn construction and can crank up fish.
ProsLight weight
By Robert
North Florida
Penn Conflict 3000
May 1, 2016
Excellent reel for inshore variety. Loaded with 15lb Spider Wire and mated to the Berkley inshore rod. Great set up!
By Van
New Jersey
Penn conflict 2500
April 30, 2016
Awesome reel for back bay jigging flounder . Ultra light super smooth and plenty of power . Love the way it holds up against saltwater also just rinse after each use and ready for the next trip !
ProsLight , plenty of drag , very durable
By Stan
Clifton NJ
Great
April 29, 2016
Great spinning reel, little heavier but I will recommend to buy
By Adam
Santa Maria, Ca
Great Product
April 12, 2016
Good strong reel with great looks and value
By James
Charleston
New reel
December 28, 2015
Very light weight reel with a very smooth and strong drag. Perfect reel to fish the salty water of the coast of the Carolina.
By Tony
Pasadena, MD
Nice reel
December 1, 2015
This reel casts nice even with braid line on the spool. The reel has a smooth retrieval and a nice drag system to withstand larger fish in the Bay. The reel is not heavy like other reels in it's class.
By Anas
Springfield Gardens, NY
good reel
November 30, 2015
I would give this reel 5 stars ...it is a great all strong reel but the paint chips off very easy
Prossmooth and good looking
Consbad paint
By lucky
Brooklyn N.Y.
conflict 8000
October 29, 2015
Is a heavy duty reel very strong and smooth I also love the low key stealthy look it's different from all the rest but the only thing I'm not feeling is the big grip on the handle feels kind of awkward penn could not really help me with this handle so I tried the handle from the battle 6000 and it works only if penn can make different handles for these reels to accommodate it's customers .
ProsStrong
ConsHandle is uncomfortable luncky.
By Drew
,
amazing inshore reel
July 28, 2015
I use this reel for my local spillway fishing and it is very strong and works very well. Never fails on me, just rinse good after use if used for saltwater!
By Jeff
Ocean City, New Jersey
Great reel at a great price.
July 25, 2015
Great overall reel at a good price. The conflict is very durable, smooth and saltwater resistant. I have had the conflict 4000 for a year and have not experienced any problems with it so far.
By Roland
New York, NY
LOVE THIS REEL
May 12, 2015
This is a fantastic reel for the price. Excellent for everything from Tarpon to Grouper to jigging for Tuna. Built super tough, and especially when paired with braid (I use 65 lb Power Pro on this) the line sails off the reel when casting long distance. Highly recommend the Conflict.
ProsSmooth cast and retrieve Can pack a lot of braid onto this
By Brian
lake worth , florida
conflict 5000
May 9, 2015
I'd recommend the 8000 size for big snook but this is a really good reel for smaller snook and many inshore species. I have used it for the last year and the gears have never failed me even with all te salt I put them through
By Brian
lake worth , florida
penn conflict 8000
May 9, 2015
great gears and almost entirely open. you can see the gears and the vents allow salt to be pulled out when put in. overall great reel and it is a must for jig-throwers and snook fisherman
By david
Miami
awesome reel
May 5, 2015
this reel is great for bridge fishing for snook and tarpon and jakcs only problem is the holes salt builds up in there if you dont clean it
By Alex
lake worth, fl
penn conflict
May 4, 2015
Great big inshore reel. the line capacity is great for bigger fish like tarpon
By Margaret
Poughkeepsie, NY
Great reel for the money
April 18, 2015
My Conflict 6000 was put through a lot of abuse last year, it was dunked, splashed and everything in between. It is still running like the day I got it. It has a very smooth drag too.
By jim
lewisburg Pa
a+
April 17, 2015
I have been fishing with penn reels all my life,from fresh water to salt,i have no completes.
Prosthe Conflick is rock solid,very smooth drag,have no problem with braid,going to buy a 3000 for Steelhead !
Consnone
By max
Redding, CT
Great Reel
April 6, 2015
Nice step up from a battle. Durable, lighweight and strong. Incredibly smooth
Prosstrong sleek durable lighweight
By Alex
Solomons, Maryland
Great reel for kayak trolling!
April 2, 2015
The 6000 is a great reel for kayak trolling, paired up with a Penn Allegiance II, it's an unstoppable combo!
By Mike
Tuckerton ,NJ,
My new favorite!
March 27, 2015
I purchased this reel about one year ago and it is great. Landed many fluke and yellowtail snappers on this little powerhouse. It is way smoother than my spinfishers and definitely recommend it.
ProsLightweight Smooth Powerful
ConsNone that I've found yet
By cristian
boynton beach, florida
heavy, but great all around reel
February 9, 2015
this reel is pretty heavy but this thing has caught me tons and tons of snook and will be ordering another one soon
By Dean
Cedar park, TX
Great Reel
February 6, 2015
I purchased this reel along with a Avid series rod from St. Croix. The guys at take direct recommend the rod and reel combo and it's my go to salt water rig.
By Wee K.
Singapore, Singapore
Strong & Reliable
January 28, 2015
Arrived on time, TD has never failed me. Due to monsoon season, managed to use this reel only this month. 3 times out and every time a great experience. Large enough to hold more lines and great BB to give the smoothness to reel. Drag is excellent, much better than similar priced Shimano & Daiwa that I have owned. Will be ordering a smaller unit soon for better diversity during my offshore trips.
ProsSmooth Strong drag Nice color
ConsSlightly larger than some other brands but makes it up with a durable tough body.
By Patrick
OCEANSIDE, CA
BEST
January 27, 2015
this reel has been perfect i use it to fish huge 100 pound cow nose rays
By andre
Boynton beach, FL
great inshore reel
January 25, 2015
This reel is very strong and light. Very comfortable handle and great drag. The holes allow salt to get in so rinse this reel well and grease it.
By Db
NJ
LIGTH REEL
January 23, 2015
I use 5000 model for inshore and jetty fishing I owned battle for many years, and this reel feel very similar to battle. simple and reliable.. One advantage, conflict is lot lighter than battle .. loved so far.. no problem so far
ProsLight weight. simple to use and reliable.. no issue at all + look very cool
By David
Rishon Le Zion, Israel
Good saltwater reel
January 23, 2015
Good saltwater reel for seabass
By John M.
Mandeville, LA
Easy smooth drag
December 27, 2014
Really nice drag
ProsNice retrieve and great drag
ConsA little heavy
By Chris
Boynton Beach, FL
Great Reel
November 18, 2014
This is an excellent reel for most bridge fishing as well as pier fishing. I mostly fish flare hawks as well as cobe jigs and it has handled many 40 in snook. Overall I love it and i would recommend it for any fisherman.
ProsFast Smooth Durable Heavy Drag Line Capacity
By vincent
new smyrna bch, FL
penn conflict 8000 spinning reel
November 18, 2014
very nice reel super comfortable handle and cranking power and the black out look is badass
Conslittle on the heavy side
By Austin
,
Nice
October 28, 2014
Great
ProsSolid
ConsNone
By Robert
Pleasantville, New Jersey
Great reel
October 28, 2014
I've been using this since May mostly surf fishing and has performed without out an issues. I've used on a dead stick with bait and throwing plugs all fall. For the price you can't go wrong. I currently have this reel paired up with St. Croix Mojo Surf 9'. Perfect for long plugging trips.
ProsLight Smooth Heavy bail wire, no accidental bail snaps. Easy to service
By HKJonathan
New York, NY
Great lure
October 27, 2014
I bought two of these reels after reading some of the review of the Spinfisher V and the problems with that models gears. The Conflict doesn't profess to be water resistant and I don't treat this reel as if it is. The reel is very smooth with a good and smooth drag. If your take apart the reel,you will see that Penn was a bit stingy witt the grease so you may want to relube these with some good marine grease. The one wish I have is that I wish that is that the bail is too easy to open and close. In some of the models of Penn reels, you must close the bail manually. I think this is not a bad feature and I wish this model had that feature. The one other drawback is the EVA handle. I wish Penn had used a more durable material.
By Jonathan
Southampton, NY
Conflict 5000
September 3, 2014
Very nice reel, I have it paired to my 10' IMX Surf rod and spooled with 300 yards of 20lb Fireline. It casts well, smooth and more than enough drag. Handle 4 big blues very well. I really like the eva form handle, time will tell if it will hold up in the salt, but it should since some rods use eva foam for rear and fore grips. Very much like its little brothers, the battle, sargus and fierce. Same design and concept, but with extra bearings, a little more drag, a little lighter all depending on same size models throughout the lineup and line capacity rings. Not sure if its worth the extra $30-$40 over the battles because of an extra bearing or two, for a beginner that extra cash could go to a better rod or lures, but I'm a Penn junkie and had to have the reel.
By FNU L.
Daly City, California
Amazinf reel
April 10, 2014
Penn Conflict. Hands down. This is a very good reel. I like it better than the Penn Battle, which I thought was the best value for the money after this reel. It was well built and designed for saltwater due to the metal design andtightly sealed. Another good reel to stock in our gear list.
ProsDurable More drag and line capacity than the Battle.
ConsThe line capacity in the 8000 is less than the line capacity in Penn Battle 8000.
By mike
Lowell, Ma
Conflict 6000
April 5, 2014
Nice reel, however with the spool being cut to loose a few weight. I find while retrieving the line, sand and salter enter the reel which causes more cleaning time, and may cause the reel to break down faster. I would use the extra money to buy the SpinfisherV. I have the 6500LL, which is an awesome reel.
ProsGreat casting distance, and look great
ConsMore cleaning time due to the spool's holes.
By Mike
Lowell,Ma
Penn Conflict 6000
April 4, 2014
This is an okay reel. It looks really nice, and feels rugged. However, with the spool being cut to lower the weight of the reel, I find it easier for sand or saltwater to enter the reel as you retrieve the line. For this reason, I believe it may cause the reel to break down quicker. I would use the extra money to buy the SpinfisherV. I have the Spinfisher 6500LL, and it has been an awesome reel for the money. Easy to maintain, and water tight.
ProsGreat casting distance, feels rugged, and look great.
Conssaltwater and sand enter the reel through the spool hole, which cause more cleaning time, and may cause a quicker break down of the reel.
By Andre C.
Boston mass.
penn cft 4000
March 22, 2014
the reel is phenomenal.great casting reel smooth retrieve!and very strong absolutely love it!!!
By Wyatt
Naples
Penn conflict
January 7, 2014
What a step up, as if you thought own couldn't get any better they did! Awesome reel had it out an put it to the test in the backwaters already. Awesome just awesome
By bassachusetts
Salem, Ma.
preorderd
November 26, 2013
Looks good. Penn could have gone a bit heavier on the drag for this big a reel but time will tell
By bassachusetts
Salem, Ma.
can't wait
November 26, 2013
ultimateangeling.com has a great service breakdown tutorial on this reel. Looks good. Pre ordering two soon.
ProsVerry serviceable

Page 1 of 1