Track Orders
Don't know your order
number? Log in
1-888-354-7335

4.9
47 Reviews
5
89% (42)
4
6% (3)
3
4% (2)
2
0% (0)
1
0% (0)
96% Recommend this product (45 of 47 responses)
By Capt S.
Bonita Springs
Penn Reels
September 8, 2019
I’ve been a guide for 37 years and all I use is Penn Reels
By Toby
Louisiana
Lovin' it!
April 10, 2019
This Penn reel is a great investment in my & my children's fun! The drag is powerful and smooth. I really like the round knob handles that are supplied now instead of the old paddle of yesteryear. I may eventually upgrade to an aluminum knob but that will be down the road a bit. With Penn's reputation for longevity, I look forward to handing this one down to my son. I currently use a 45 GLS I purchased about 30 years ago...so I have every intention of seeing this one get handed to my Grandchild.
ProsStrong & smooth drag Good line capacity strong reliable construction it may outlive you...
By Brian F.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Clash 6000
February 18, 2019
Have Clash 2500 that accidently handled cobia up to 45lbs. Needed to upgrade. Awesome reels.
ConsNone
By Michael
Aiken, SC
Fantastic Reel
February 16, 2019
You can count on quality and reliability from Penn reels and this one hits the mark. Smooth operation and great feel gives excellent touch while fishing.
ConsThe picture shows a round handle knob but the reel came with the regular rectangular knob.
By Robert
San Pedro Ca
haven't used it yet
February 13, 2019
reel feels great, and im sure it will perform just fine
By Keenan
Rio Grande, PR
Great for the price
January 2, 2019
A bit heavy, what what 6000 is not. smooth reel. will buy again
By Richard
CA
Penn what else can I say!
December 9, 2018
Wow super smooth reel. I just love fishing with this reel. Thank you tackle direct!
By Sonny
Houston
Awesome reel
November 1, 2018
Love it!! Going for the Slammer 3 next
By Racman
cape cod mass
Awesome reel
August 6, 2018
reasonable priced and has been a great striper and bluefish reel
By Curt
Sheffield, MA
Awesome reel for price!
June 23, 2018
Great reel. It's light, it's got a strong bail, and the drag is very smooth. Another dependable Penn reel. This is not a sealed reel so common sense dictates that you don't submerge it in salt water. Just rinse it off and keep it clean it will last quite awhile. A great reel as long as you don't need to worry about saltwater intrusion.
ProsLight, good drag
ConsNot sealed.
By Jurgen K.
Virginia Beach
Great saltwater reel
June 21, 2018
Perfect reel coupled with an Allstar Paraflex 7' medium spinning rod it can tackle most of the local species we fish for on the Chesapeake Bay.
By Brian
Portsmouth, NH
love this reel
May 29, 2018
The Clash is my go to reel for inshore striper fishing. It is smooth, durable, lays line very well and is super light. I match it with black hole 701L and can fish all day without fatigue.
Prosvery light, durable,
Consnone after well over 100 hours of fishing it in 2017.
By Robert
Staten Island, New York
Best Plugging Reel I've Owned In Years
March 3, 2018
I split my fishing time between the NY/NJ surf and Captiva Island. I need a reel that's going to subdue cow stripers, gorilla blues, bull reds, monster snook, jack, spanish mack...you get the picture. This is THE reel for the job. Spooled with 30lb superline, it is smooth casting, fast retrieving, and has a drag that tires fish out fast. I've been a Penn fisherman my whole life. This is one of the best Penn reels I've ever owned
ProsDrag Weight Capacity Handle (Rubberized is great in cold fall fishing)
ConsNone
By Michael
Apollo Beach, FL
Outstanding Reel
July 8, 2017
I've used the Penn Clash since it first came out and it still remains my favorite reel. I also own the a Slammer but I pick the clash for inshore and offshore. Best reel you can buy for the money you wont be disappointed.
Prossmooth drag very light can spool a lot of line
By Daniel
Locust Valley, NY
Smooth Drag, Powerful reel
April 16, 2017
Purchased the CLA2000 and its held up great striped bass fishing. Powerful and smooth!
By Tyler
Florida
Great
January 9, 2017
I have the 2500 size and have fished it heavy for a year. It still works good. Only issue I'm having is wind knots, I'm using the rated braid # and I can't keep a full spool
ProsSmooth Good drag Light
ConsWind knots
By Nicholas
Pittsburgh, PA
Excellent Drag
November 16, 2016
This reel has a very smooth and strong drag. The reel was used for massive rays in Ocean City with the drag cranked to max and the reel handled the stress, heat, and extended runs like a champ. The reel has no issues with casting, no wind knots. The reel also took 500yds of Berkley 65lb Pro Spec line when I spooled it, I was very impressed. The reel has an excellent spool capacity and with 30lbs of drag plus a machine brass gear, this reel is a winner as far as mid priced reels go.
ProsDrag, line capacity, ease of use, castibility, weight for the size.
ConsNone.
By Nicholas
Pittsburgh, PA
Excellent All Purpose Reel
November 16, 2016
I have used this reel for chunking on my 12ft Avid Surf and the line comes off with ease, no wind knots either. I then turn around this winter and threw the reel on a 7ft 9in Okuma Cruz and had no problem throwing musky crankbaits, I was thoroughly impressed by the power of this reel. The drag works very well too. I should note that the reel took 300yds of 65lb Sufix 832 with ease in case any one wants any ideas about the line capacity.
ProsDrag, castibility, cranking power for a spinning reel, solid construction, line capacity.
ConsNone.
By Kyle
nantucket, MA
Powerful reel, drag sticks right out of the box and started making noise after 3 weeks of use
October 15, 2016
Would be awesome if the drag was smooth like other reels
By Alex
Pozzuoli, Italy
Fluke and Light tackle
September 18, 2016
Perfect reel to use for fluke and lighter striper fishing. Holds a nice amount of line and has a very nice drag. Matches perfectly with my 7' Mojo surf. That setup has brought in more fish than anything else this year and its still going strong. I have dunked it by accident twice and there hasn't been an issue. A+
By Alex
Pozzuoli, Italy
My favorite Penn ever
August 4, 2016
Just got this earlier this year and I am impressed! Super smooth, awesome gears and comfortable handle. Performed well all spring and I am looking forward to the fall.
By Terry
Dana Point Harbor, California
Catches west coast bluefins !
July 29, 2016
Drag worked great on a 100# class bluefin ! It's casting and reeling ability worked out perfect for surface poppers. I am not a spinning reel fan, so I was surprised. The reel did well on long fights.
ProsDrag
ConsI missed my 2 speeds !
By José l.
South padre island texas
Great reel
June 13, 2016
Súper smooth put 240 yds Of 65lb power pro Great for surf And boat reel
ProsSúper smooth, strong
ConsN/A
By Herb
Fort Myers, FL
Awesome
June 12, 2016
Awesome reel! Super smooth and has ability to land big fish!
By Herb
Fort Myers, FL
Awesome
June 12, 2016
Awesome reel! Super smooth and holds a ton of line!
By Mark
Demorest, Ga
Very nice reel, smooth drag
June 1, 2016
Very nice reel, smooth drag
By John F.
Sky Valley, Ga.
Light Reel that performs like a heavy weight
May 22, 2016
Have caught grouper, snapper, trout all on this reel. Was able to enjoy casting to trout all morning and then go offshore when the wind died down and muscle grouper out of the rocks. Light enough for my little boy to use all day and strong enough to catch all kinds of fish. Love it
ProsLight weight, smooth strong drag
By John F.
Sky Valley, Ga.
Strong, Smooth, Fun
May 22, 2016
Love the reel. Hooked into a 14lb. STRIPER, handed it to my 8yr. Old son and watched as he landed his largest fish to date. He was thrilled to catch it and I was happy the drag performed the way it did. Would recommend this reel to even if it wasn't on sale but being on sale makes it a no brainer.
ProsLight weight, great drag,
ConsNone
By Alan
Georgia
Penn Clash 3000
May 19, 2016
Have only had this reel for 3 weeks. It is very smooth with a good drag. Time will tell on durability. Price was also very good from Tackle Direct.
By Tim
Florida
Great Reel
May 16, 2016
I purchased two for inshore salt water fishing. I spooled one with 15 lb and the second with 20 lb braid. The line capacities were very accurate. I paired the reels with St. Croix Mojo medium inshore rods The outfits both cast like a dream are rugged yet vey light. The gearing is very smooth and the drag is a proven design. I've use them on one fishing trip (caught Spanish Mackerel) so far and time will tell about durability but I've had good experience with Penn Slammer and Battle II reels. I believe the Clash compares very well with some of the more expensive Shimano reels. I will be buying more over time to replace my older inshore reels.
ProsTotal design for light weight and good drag system; the reel is very attractive as well. Good value for the money - at least at the Tackle Direct price.
ConsNone that I can find
By John
Nothern Virginia
Awesome Reel
May 7, 2016
Very smooth with plenty of stopping power. Handled a 42lb cobia with no problem
By Cabe
Rome, GA
Great reel
April 28, 2016
Reel is smooth and exceptionally strong. Would buy this again.
By Noeafpj9
Gulf coast, Texas
Pennfection!!!
April 27, 2016
I have been a huge fan of the battle, but Penn has gone and blow that reel out of the water. This reel is perfectly balance, has super smooth drag, and the Eva foam handle feels amazing when playing around with those bigger fish.
ProsLight weight Balanced Smoothest drag around Very appealing
ConsPrice
By Derek
Sarasota, Fl
The Tarpon reel I've searching for!
April 25, 2016
I put this on my 8 foot St. Croix Avid inshore rod and absolutely love it! The light weight and smooth operation make this a great overall reel.
By Joe
Tampa,Florida
Light and dependable
April 23, 2016
Great smooth action real . Casts live bait as well as artificial with accuracy. I highly recommend this quality reel.
ProsLight , strong and smooth
ConsNone
By Chris
LBI
Great reel
April 19, 2016
Everything I need for all day fluke fishing and throwing some poppers at some hungry spring stripers. Great quality from Penn at a great price.
By NTXfisherman
FORT WORTH, TX
Light weight and smooth!
April 18, 2016
It was either this or a Shimano Stradic 5000 FK. I ended purchasing the Penn Clash 5000 series mainly for its sealed drag system. Matched up to a Mojo 10'6 and works perfectly! Such a light combo for all day plugging! The few ounces the Clash has in weight over the Stradic makes Mojo less tip heavy and well balanced! IMPORTANT: Make sure to add the washers provided (IF NEEDED) to insure correct line lay!!
ProsLooks great, light weight, line lay is great
By Brett
Westminster, MD
Great Light Tackle Reel
January 22, 2016
Fantastic light tackle reel with a super smooth drag
ProsLight, smooth drag
By Darren
, Cape Coral, Florida
My new favorite!
January 18, 2016
When I first played with the reel, I thought it to be a little stiff, or rigid for lack of a better word. Since spooling it up and wetting the line, this reel is amazing! The more I use it, the smoother it gets! Smooth and balanced, ,but solid as a rock at the same time! I will report back when I catch one big enough to make the drag sing!! Good fishing everyone!
ProsFeels well built, solid, yet smooth as silk! Easy on the eye also!
ConsNONE YET!
By Arthur
617
Good headline
December 20, 2015
Wow!! Like buying a new car. Have a penn 650ss. No comparison. Great reel!!
By Anthony P.
Long Island
Really nice reel. Great on boat or beach.
December 10, 2015
Really nice reel. Great on boat or beach.
By Brian
Miami, FL
Light, sturdy and smooth
December 9, 2015
I've had the reel now for over a month and I love the line lay, cast ability, smoothness and over all studiness and feel. I would highly recommend this reel. I paired it with a Star Rod seagis 10-20 7' and 15# diamond braid and My two biggest fish to date is a 25" yellow tail snapper and a 3.5 ft King fish. Drag is extremely powerful and the reel didn't even break a sweat. I am surely going to replace my other two spinfishers with clash reels. Btw, you can fish all day and not get tired cause this reel doesn't weight anything.
ProsLight Cast ability Smooth Line lay Drag Hold a lot of braid Looks awesome Reliable
ConsNone yet
By Albert
Florida
Light and smooth
December 3, 2015
Reel is light with a very smooth drag. Excellent for fishing all day without wearing you out.
By John
Northern Jersey
Very smooth reel
December 2, 2015
I've used this reel four times so far and have enjoyed it. The slow oscillation lays the line evenly on the reel and helps with casting distance. The reel is very light but just feels solid.
By Willie
Cream Ridge, NJ
Greatest Spinning Reel Penn as Made
November 20, 2015
This reel is overall powerful and light and is one of the best reels i have every used.
By WRC
OBX
Not impressed so far
November 17, 2015
Just purchased last week wast talk out of the stradic b/c of the small bail. My son purchased and cheaper shimano and it is much smoother.
By Thomas
Lavallette, NJ
Excellent reel
November 8, 2015
Finally the reel we have all been waiting for from Penn. Super solid performance, and build quality. Smooth drag, excellent line lay, and overbuilt! Cant get much better than this for the price. 5 stars!

Page 1 of 1


Sign up for exclusive sales and offers
Be the first to know about product news, exclusive sales and events.
WEST COAST YELLOWTAIL, YELLOWFIN, AND BLUEFIN FISHING REPORT
Tue, 5 Nov. 2019
Spirits were high, as the yellowfin counts earlier in the week were "limit style". Last weekend had an old buddy in town who wanted to fish, so we jumped on a two day trip out of Oceanside. Spirits were high, as the yellowfin counts earlier... Read More
In-Store Events & Promotions
In-Store Only Anniversary Sample Sale
Starts Nov. 1st
New product reviews and guides
Contact Us
Call or visit our retail store today! 6825 Tilton Rd Bldg C
Egg Harbor Township, NJ
08234-4426, USA
1-888-354-7335 Toll Free US/CAN
1-609-788-3819 DIRECT INT'L
8am-6pm ET Mon - Fri
9am-6pm ET Sat
10am-4pm ET Sun (Retail Store Only)
© 1997-2019 TackleDirect® All rights reserved