4.7
21 Reviews
5
71% (15)
4
29% (6)
3
0% (0)
2
0% (0)
1
0% (0)
100% Recommend this product (21 of 21 responses)
By Daniel
Baltimore, Maryland
Quality reel
September 10, 2019
Overall, I have used this reel heavily the past few weeks for catfish and carp. It has held up wonderfully. My only concern could be the possibility of fouling the mechanism with mud
By Baja W.
conroe,tX
ALWAYS manually close your bail.
September 4, 2019
Good God, you're standing there for 45 seconds if you get a good cast off, what are you doing with your fingers?
By Harrison
,
Awesome!!
May 21, 2019
After tons of research, this is the best live liner for the money. Went with the 4000LL and could not be happier. On my 3rd year now and still feels great. Not new, but great. The price range allows you to purchase another if necessary. This reel has handled multiple 20-30" red drum.
ProsLive Line. Gears. Size
ConsDrag could be heavier
By James
SWANSEA, MA
Great Reel!
March 2, 2019
Love this reel and its a great price! FYI DT's customer service is awsome
By Don
LaGrange
Good live liner reel for the $
December 30, 2018
Penn makes great reels for heavier n harsh environment situations. These reels are half price if thunnus and do well.
By Bruce
Elizabethtown, PA
First time using a Live Liner
May 9, 2018
This is part of my first serious surf fishing rig. I couldn't be happier. Great casts & smooth retrieve. The coolest thing is the live liner feature. It's easy to set, and gives you a great way to give the fish a little time to run before realizing he's being followed.
ProsLive liner feature. High quality construction.
Consnone
By jaime s.
Orlando
Penn FRCll6000
February 16, 2018
This reel is awesome, first time using a live liner and it I was very Kool
ProsSturdy and worth every penny
ConsNone
By jacob
maine
Great Reel
November 27, 2017
great reel for the money. i use this for stripper down in maine and it has no trouble at all. drag is smooth and so is the reeling.
By Alan
Bland, VA
Penn is Fierce
July 16, 2017
I have been using this reel for about a year now...be it on the ocean or back up in the river. Cats or sharks this reel is killing it. I mainly use it on my kayak with a short 6 ft rod. This thing is absolutely great!!! and the live liner feature is great if I am playing on the bottom and waiting lol
ProsLive Liner Very smooth built for Braid
ConsI do not have more!
By Jim
Milton Wisconsin
Penn FRCll 4000LL
February 8, 2017
The reel is just what we were look for to replace some older competitor bait feeder reels
ProsI like the rubberized stripe so you can tie braid direct to reel
By Josh
Vero Beach, FL
Fierce works well
July 30, 2016
Fierce works well but I like Spinfisher better. Fierce seems to jam the bail every now and then. It's still a good reel and the bail nuances happen with every reel but just prefer my Spinfisher. However, for the price, Fierce is a great deal and I'd buy it again.
By Dave
Peoria, AZ
Great Reel
July 5, 2016
Everything I expected.
By david
louisiana
about time penn gets in to this type of reel
June 17, 2016
great reel for any type of fishing fresh and salt and a price that will not break the bank
Prosit is a penn and the live liner works great
Consvery quite when a fish is running
By Joe
Pennsburg, PA
Strong product
June 7, 2016
This item works well for me as a mahi and tuna reel for the weed lines. Whether winding in a circle hook and bait or a casting lure it is very versatile.
By jim
Milton Wi
Penn fcrII2500ll
May 18, 2016
The reel worked very well with the 7ftmh squadron rod I put it on
By Randy
Des Moines, IA
Best Baitrunner Available
May 11, 2016
This Penn real is awesome. I've been using bait runner reels for Walleye and Bass fishing for many years. When the Walleye are hitting light, the baitrunner feature is perfect. And, this is the only decent baitrunner left on the market that's sized right for this fresh-water fishing. The quality of Penn Reels is outstanding. I have three of these in my arsenal! If you buy one, you won't be disappointed!
ProsBaitrunner or as they call it "Live Line" feature really helps catch fish when properly used. The size is perfect for fresh water fishing. Very smooth working reel! Great Price!!!!!!
ConsNone that I'm aware of
By Vishal
Tallahassee fl
Penn fierce II 6000 LL. Great reel!
May 6, 2016
Bought FRCII6000LL after reading reviews for all the Penn spinning reels. People comparing it to clash but heavier. I paired it with It with Shakespeare Ugly Stik Tiger Rods 7' 20-50lbs medium. Perfect combo!! Took out this past week in the keys. I balloon drift fished a live ballyhoo with the live line switch on. Took line on waves action on boat. Good news was it worked perfectly allowing the ballyhoo to take line freely. Bad news was I caught 5 barracudas. The reel owned them really good. I then switched to yellowtailing on this rod and it was perfect. This reel and rod combo allowed me to rip the yellowtail in before losing it to the man in the grey suit.
ProsHandle size is perfect Handles everything your throw at it Got soaked in salt water from rough seas but still smooth
ConsHeavy
By Thomas
PA
Lighter Live Line drag
April 22, 2016
I bought this item after great reviews on other tackle distributor websites. Tackle Direct had the best price of any body including the manufacture's. So i thought I'd buy it. Great shipping and customer service. The reel has a smooth retrieve and they bail closes nicely with the turn of the handle. The only thing that I wish would have been better was the lightness of the live line drag. I turned it to the lightest setting and found hat it was still not as light as I thought it should be in the 2500 series model. I have two 4000 series in the Baitrunner and they both have lighter live line drags. Thats the only reason I didn't give the reel 5 stars.
By Bob
Ocean City, NJ
Looks like Penn quality is back!
March 25, 2016
Vey smooth with little wobble. Live liner feature will save rods used by "dead pole" guests. That is if I let them use it.
By ksr
malaysia
hardy reel
March 24, 2016
used it in saltwater and freshwater, hold up good, keeps a lot of line, fantastic. built with quality materials.
By Darrel
Cottonwood, Az.
Finally!!
February 17, 2016
I started fishing a long time ago with an old baitcaster, no magnets, no anti-reverse, but it had a bait clicker. Zebco 202 was very new, mono line and cast forever with no backlash, and a bait clicker.Finally a spinning reel that casts great and has an adjustable line release to let live bait roam, and biting fish run so you can pick up the rod and slam home the hook! Might be an old thing, but it's sure new in this part of Arizona, and very welcome.

Page 1 of 1