4.9
49 Reviews
5
90% (44)
4
6% (3)
3
4% (2)
2
0% (0)
1
0% (0)
94% Recommend this product (46 of 49 responses)
By Dan
Rhode Island
Penn FTH30LD2 Lever Drag 2-Speed Reel
July 28, 2022
love the two speed feel espeially for wire line +/- umbrella rigs loaded with fish
By Rob
Glenside, PA
25NLD2LH
July 20, 2022
Great quality reel. Def going to be using this reel for many many years. Built great, nice weight, smooth reel. Very versatile size.
By Donald
Hernando Bch, FL
Fathom 40
May 11, 2022
Nice reel, great for fishing the middle grounds. Tackle direct is a great place to order any tackle needs.
By Donald
Hernando Bch, FL
Fathom FTH15
May 11, 2022
Is a great little reel, have caught some pretty big fish with this. The amount of drag is the best thing about this reel. Only own Penn reels for a reason.
By Derek C.
Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
Fathom 25NLD2LH
April 17, 2022
Only used once so far and really pleased with the reel, it made short work of a nice Cobia and several Amberjacks. I anticipate enjoying this reel a lot.
ProsAvailability in a left hand retrieve. Low gear. Price point
By Michael K.
CA
Great reel!
February 8, 2022
Exactly the reel I need for my tuna trip.
ProsPrice Strength
By Steve G.
Florida
Penn Fathom Lever Drag 2 speed
January 8, 2022
Quality product at a good price. Tackle direct is easy great company to purchase from.
By Mike
California
Slow Pitch Jigging Reel
December 26, 2021
Excellent! I pair this reel with Penn BATSPJII450C68MH Battalion II Slow Pitch Casting Rod.
By Endofparalysis
Little Italy
Great size
November 18, 2021
A lot of Reel with powerful drag in a small palmable size. I like it better than the speedmasters.
ProsPrice and Strength of the Drag
ConsDrag curve is Sharp! I would like better free spool.
By Ron
San diego
Very good reel
September 29, 2021
My favorite yoyo reel
ProsVery good
By Ron
San diego
Very good reel
September 29, 2021
My favorite reel for fly lining applications up to 40lb
Pros👍
By Anonymous
Eden ut
Great halibut reels
September 7, 2021
Cought lots of halibut high gear is awesome for retrieving 3# lead from 300ft. Low gear to bring in the Barndoor. Did not rock on the reel seat have the speed master also. Liked the penn better.
By Brandon
Los Angeles
Smooth as butter
September 5, 2021
Very happy with this reel. Workhorse and it is smooth as butter.
By PelagicSlayer
Chandler, AZ
Best 2 speed lever drag reel for the money
August 5, 2021
I have 4 of these Fathom reels. Penn reliability. Plenty tough for big tuna.
ProsQuality. Price.
ConsThe basic reel clamp provided does not have a hole off to one side to hook your lure. Not a big deal.
By Anonymous
Oklahoma city
Amazing!
August 2, 2021
Used this reel for the first time on a red snapper trip and it was super enjoyable. Cranked easily, free spool was super smooth, and the drag worked like its supposed to.
ProsSmooth, strength, quality, drag
Consnone yet
By Robert
Texas
Excellent reel and handles big fish with ease
June 8, 2021
Excellent reel and handles big fish with ease. The power of this reel is unreel. But the service at Tackle Direct is off the charts. Very professional and custom is the best.
By Mike S.
Kennebunk Maine
Haddock sayer
May 5, 2021
This thing ripped more haddock and pollock off jeffreys ledge then I could have ever dreamed, limited out on haddock and filled the box again with pollock and it never skipped a beat smooth at casting 450g jigs away from the boat and quick retrieve and when I hooked large doubles the low gear proved great to make the ground to get fish in the boat will definitely be adding to my fathom collection
ProsDurable Smooth Size Comfort
ConsNone
By Livinoutdoors_
Pasadena ca
WORK HORSE!
May 2, 2021
Just like my fathom 25N but now it a smaller compact size ! Perfect for my live bait set up! Love the 15NX
ProsSmall and compact
ConsNothing yet !
By Mike S.
Maine
Big power little package
April 15, 2021
Amazing products yet again from penn, have always loved penn products for jigging ground fish in Coastal Maine, these two speed reels run smooth as could be and with 33lbs drag to back it I hope to luck into a halibut this may to really give it the work out it deserves. Will absolutely be buying another reel in this series
ProsSize Weight 33lb drag
ConsNone
By Westly
Merritt Island, FL
Very NIce Reel
March 7, 2021
Great reel for trolling for pelagics. Light enough to fish all day but enough line capacity and drag for tunas up to 100lb. Spooled mine with 600yds of 65lb braid and a 150yd topshot of 40lb mono.
By Fred
Los Angeles, CA
Great Addition to the Fathom 2 Speed LD Line
February 14, 2021
Added the 15XNLD2 to my Penn Fathom 25NLD2 and 40NLD2 set of reels. Perfect size for fishing 20#-30# mono or fluoro targeting school size tuna and yellowtail. Also an ideal reel for slow pitch jig fishing. Light weight and narrow profile make it easy to hold. Can't wait to use it on offshore trips this summer.
By Endofparalysis
Hillsboro, OR
Big!
January 18, 2021
Picked one of these up thinking I was ordering a Left Hand reel. Disappointed now to find they don't make the 60 in a LH. What I'm impressed with is how compact it is for such a big reel. For comparison it is similar in overall size to the Talica 20ii but holds a lot more line.
By Tim
Carlsbad, CA
Solid 2-Speed Reel
November 3, 2020
After trying several other 2-Speed options, I found the Penn FTH25NLD2 Lever Drag 2-Speed Reel to be easy to use and very strong. I've caught several 50 - 100 lb tuna on this Reel and she didn't even flinch.
By Robert N.
Virginia Beach
Great reel
September 26, 2020
Holds a lot of line for deep dropping very comfortable too!
By marty m.
Tulare
WOW!
July 24, 2020
was everything I expected and hoped for, amazing free spool! Casts better than a jigmaster and is easier to operate than a Avet raptor! Just used it on a Rock-fish charter, can't wait to take it off-shore!!!
By Nathan
Los Angeles, CA
Penn got much better!!
September 18, 2019
I was always skeptical to use Penn brand for conventional reels and rods. But Fathom is very reliable and sturdy reel.
ProsDurable Smooth free spool
ConsKinda heavy
By Jackie
HONOLULU, HAWAII
Great Light weight kayak reel
August 19, 2019
i use this reel out here in Hawaii and its awesome
By DS272
Northern California
Great reel!
July 8, 2019
I was able to take the new reel out for its maiden voyage. Worked better than expected. Will be buying another in the near future.
ProsDrag system worked better than anticipated and having the two speed makes the reel perfect!
By Tony
SF Bay Area and San Diego
Great reel!
June 18, 2019
This reel may not look as fancy as some of the other comparable ones out there, but it is terrific. Very solid, powerful, *very* smooth. Two-speed in/out function is fantastic. I would definitely buy this again!
ProsSee above.
ConsLooks a little dull, but who cares, really!
By DJ A.
Florida
Not graphite its die cast alumin5
May 1, 2019
One of the reviewers claims the fathom 2 speeds are graphite. His name is Allen B I believe. As a huge fan of Penn reels, I wanted to make sure that false information wasn't being used in the very informative and trustworthy Tackle Direct product reviews.
By DJ A.
New Smyrna Beach, FL
Great reels with a great price!
March 5, 2019
I use penn squall 30vsw 2 speed reels for my trolling spread (8) and fathom 30ld2 (4) for bottom fishing. And my spinning reels for sight fishing are penn slammer III's (4). Over the last few years, penn has really stepped their game up! These fathom 2 speeds so far have been bullet proof. Over 2 years of fishing them offshore and zero issues. Always rinse your gear with fresh water and keep them properly lubricated. Thx penn!
By Ross
Macungie, PA
Awesome reels!
November 20, 2018
I have 2- Penn FTH60LD2 Lever Drag 2-Speed Reel, 2 - Penn FTH40LD2 Lever Drag 2-Speed Reel, & 2 - Penn FTH25LD2 Lever Drag 2-Speed Reel. These are great for their price!
By allan
nj
Not the biggest fan of graphite reels
October 16, 2018
You probably won't be able to see it, but graphite reels do flex, and every time it does it throws the gears out of alignment slightly, causing them to wear faster. A graphite reel will break before a machined aluminum one will for sure. I know graphite is extremely strong, but not in this case because graphite flexes just like in poles. Aluminum reels and even graphite fishing reels and rods generally last a while, but i would put my money on them. Having cousins with graphite reels complaining how when the caught a fish big enough, that the reel seized because of gears being out of place and eventually needed new internals quite fast.. This all being out of a few years use, but Nonetheless, much earlier problems than with an aluminum reel.
By sdc
Savannah, GA
Actually swiched order for FTH40NLD2
September 23, 2018
Using this for heavy jigging, bottom fishing and a little trolling. Filled it with 80lb PE. Good all around reel. If your going with a 1 rod setup, this is a good reel.
Pros2 Speed Narrow, good for jigging
ConsA little on the large size for some types of jigging
By Mark
Georgia
Great reel
March 14, 2018
Strong, light and the 2-speed works smooth
By Mark
La Habra, CA
Only reel for every fishing application
January 14, 2018
These reels are low-cost-high-quality machines. They can be used for any application such as live bait fishing, surface iron, yoyo, etc.
By Santiago
Miami, FL
Most versatile
August 11, 2017
Love this reel. Use it for trolling and bottom fishing. Nothing this reel can't do.
By Mark
Demorest GA
Great reel
April 2, 2017
Very small yet very powerful
By Justin
,
Great multi-purpose reel
January 13, 2017
I use these reels for everything in the gulf, from trolling for kings, to bottom fishing for snapper. They hold up great, and the 2 speeds are nice
By Charles
Frederick md
Plenty of power
August 24, 2016
I bought 4 of these for trolling for large striper and red drum.
ProsThey easily hold 500 plus yards of 65lb braid You can quickly retrieve lines in high speed when you need to get them out of the way when landing a large fish. Plenty of power in low speed to reel in large stripers.
ConsNon
By Aristides
Los Angeles, CA
Versatile and affordable
July 13, 2016
Great reel, currently using for heavy duty Yo-yo fishing, deep drop for grouper, and live bait for tuna. Holds plenty of line and I like the grear ratios. I have 400yds of 80# spectra on the bottom and top it with 50-60# mono.
ProsRight IPT on the ratio's and AFFORDABLE!
By David N.
garden grove, ca
not bad for mid grade saltwater reels
July 8, 2016
Doesnt have the refined manufacturing of my tyrnos 2 speeds or tlds but seems solid enough to handle smaller/midgrade tunas yellowtail and deep rockfish. The handle play is looser than i like. The release button for low/high gear seems flimsy. Lever is nonergonomic feels too small. One rod clamp bolt was a little hard to screw on the nut and clamp lug. I like the massive amount of drag and double dog AR, all aluminum frame decent bearings unlike avets. Going to have to keep up with maintenance due to the open drag assembly and easy corrosion of screw holes and other parts which i have on my fathom 30 star drag. Overall got it on sale for 197 and change. Tackledirect is awesome! Great deals and amazing selections! Thank u. Just filled with 80lb braid and will kill some tunas yoyo yellowtail too! Oh freespool is amazing smooth and out of box got over 20 seconds! Dont know how itll cast seems to be a heavy spool lots of inertia like avets but mainly ill use for live bait dropper loop and yoyo jigs.
ProsWinch like drags, all aluminum frame. SS gears. Double AR dogs. Amazing freespool. Good price for 2 speed.
ConsSo so build quality. Easy corrosion if not maintained. Non ergonomic lever. Tolerances are mediocore feels like my old senators.
By Max
Homer, AK
Perfect Lingcod and Rock fish reel
June 11, 2016
this reel is about the size of a shimano charter special holds a good amount of 65lb - 80lb spectra and is super light and has plenty of power. In my opinion the gear ratio is perfect in low and high speed. I have been using it in shallow water 20-50ft for halibut fishing and it has plenty of drag to slow down big fish.
Prossize and weight
ConsMade in china non sealed drag
By Max
Homer, AK
Perfect Halibut Reel down to 350Ft
June 11, 2016
this is the perfect Halibut Reel down to 350 ft. While Here in Homer I typically fish from 20 - 150 this reel holds enough line and is light enough to fish all day. for the price it really can't be beat.
Prossize and weight
ConsMade in china non sealed drag system.
By ryan
Norfolk, VA
Great Reel
May 14, 2016
It is a great reel very smooth I use it for the red drum and cobia. I recommend it to anyone who need a strong lightweight reel.
ProsSmooth,lightweight, cast great,drag
ConsNone
By Chris R.
Venice,Florida
Smooth reel
April 29, 2016
Its very smooth casting. And the drag is unbelievable. Very easy to switch from high to low. And it has a comfortable feel to it and light in weight as well. Im very happy with it. Thanks Penn
By Danny
St. Pete, Florida
Great reel at a great price!!!
April 11, 2016
Bought a couple of these reels for smoker kingfish/ blackfin tuna fishing off the gulf coast of Florida. The reel feels solid and smooth. Great line capacity for those 200+ yard smoker runs.
Pros2 speed is the way to go. Smooth, easy to adjust drag system. Great line capacity. Solid Feel
By john
alexandria, VA
Awesome Reel
April 4, 2016
Great workhorse of a reel. I bought for fishing off my kayak where i sometimes need a lot of power in a small package. This reel offers all that plus its a two speed to boot. Plan on buying more fathoms for my kayak.
By John
Sky Valley, Ga
Love 2 Speeds
July 3, 2015
Great multi purpose reel. Can catch small Goliath Grouper in low gear( 150lb) and also use for trolling for kings, wahoo, dolphin and sails. Love the versatility and the full metal body.
Pros2 speeds- light weight plenty strong

Page 1 of 1