4.7
31 Reviews
5
77% (24)
4
19% (6)
3
0% (0)
2
3% (1)
1
0% (0)
97% Recommend this product (30 of 31 responses)
By Tyler
Delaware
Workhorse
January 20, 2020
I’ve used my 12’ Prevail for years and wouldn’t trade it for anything. Fast action and fairly stiff (but not broomstick stiff), awesome rods for throwing bait plus a heavy sinker and plenty of power to handle whatever you might encounter.
By Kenny
Columbia, Maryland
Honestly a great entry level rod
November 19, 2019
I like the handle on this rod it feels really good, the tip is pretty fast. After upgrading this has become the loaner rod which is the best way to get beginners into the feel of a performance rod
By htpattereson
at;anta
Great Rod
June 18, 2019
Just what I wanted works Fine!!
By John
Claremore , Oklahoma
Great rod
December 26, 2018
I have had a few surf rod before and this one is the best one I have had in a long time. The long handle is really nice when you need to get your bait way out there.
By Henry A.
IL
Great Rod .
December 22, 2018
Great rod great price very well made happy with this purchase.
By Erick
CT
Great Rod
November 3, 2018
It can handle what it says it can handle.
By Andrew
Jersey Shore
Great beginner surf rod
July 27, 2018
I have nothing bad to say about the Prevail. I have handled stripers, monster bluefish, and one big-ass sting ray with this rod with zero issues. No rod separation, no creaking, plenty of backbone. I rarely cast more than 2oz plugs, so i have not found the upper limit of its casting ability, but it will comfortably throw 1oz Mag Darters with no problems. It is my go-to nine times out of ten, and you will be hard pressed to be it for under $100.
By Paul
Silverhill, AL
Penn Surf Rod
May 5, 2018
It puts pampano on the table! Need I write more? Great rod.
By jaime s.
Orlando
Penn surf rod
February 16, 2018
Meet all my needs and expectations, great surf rod for the price
ProsPrice
ConsI wished I would`€™ve got it sooner
By Jack S.
FL
Love the Prevail
August 5, 2017
I own 3. Going to eventually buy 2 more. Bad reviews are for people that abuse their gear. Period. This rod is very nice for the price. Literally my favorite thing on earth is my 9' Prevail equipped with a Fin-Nor Megalite 60. Its the most versatile outfit I own out of about 20 complete spinning outfits. I have a rod for everything including a 4wt fly rod to a 13wt saltwater fly rod. From a 5' ultralight with a 250 spinner to a 12' Prevail and a Fin Nor Lethal 100 (10,000 size). I mostly to saltwater fishing nearly excludsively surf fishing. Transitioning from mountain streams and lakes to open ocean. It's not how much money your gear cost. I've seen $300 rods break just as easy as $5 rods. Mainly it's how to care for your gear. I have rules. Never let the tip hit the ground (mainly when disarmed and leaning against a wall). Never store with the line reeled tight (hooked on an guide). Never leave in a car. Always wash good after saltwater (make sure water isn't inside of the blank when washing disarmed). Join the rod pieces with the quarter turn method and always wax the ferrules. Never overload the rod (if it's rated for 4oz, don't try to whip out 8oz as hard as your can). Don't set the hook with a hand above any guides (hands in the hand grips only because you risk overloading just the top section). Those simple rules will let a rod love a LONG time. My dad gave me a rod he got in the 80s and it's still catching shark. The same care goes for reels. I have a Shakespear Sigma 80 2200ck model from the early 90s that STILL comes with me on the beach for catching pompano. Replaced the crank candle 4 months ago. So with that rant, care for your gear and it'll last a long time. The Prevail has a great action. The seat can have flex but that's because the butt section isn't reinforced. I personally like the entire blank having flex. Flex isn't a cheap feeling. That fluid and dynamic action lets the stress of hooking something big unload all the way to the butt cap. Graphite reel seats are my favorite because metal ones are often over tightened AND believe it or not break easier because the lack of flex causes the metal to "crack" and break. I keep two worm-clamps and some zip ties JUST for this. Nothing is worst that a busted seat and a reel at your feet while hooked up on a fish. Never have I see a graphite seat break (except for a pole my buddy kept in his car in south Florida year round but I think he tossed a tackle box or groceries on top of this reel.) The slim blank has a minimalist look yet the details on the gear shrink and aluminum butt cap fitted with a rubber shock butt... super intellectual look. The blanks wraps and dark red and black finish is nice to look at. The action is nice. The heavy action 12' isn't sensitive enough for smaller fish like whiting. Don't get the 12' unless you need it for larger fish like shark and, striped, and tarpon. Once hooked up, small fish feel big and big fish feel as excepted on the fight. The medium weight is where the money is. I haven't tried to light weight versions. I probably won't because I'm not on the gulf. That's be a great rod for calmer waters. The guides are kinda generic. Typical low budge rod guides. Not sure of the brand. I haven't lost an insert yet. The guides are smooth. Braid hasn't cut into the guide yet. They haven't gave me problems. None of them are loose or spin. The overall feel of the guides is smooth on the cast. If you lose a tip guide insert, you mishandled the rod. I use my 9' to sling plugs and poppers on the beach and I whip them out there all hard and stuff. I'll buy more. I'd rather get 3 of these than one fancy top shelf rod. I catch a lot of fish with this rod. Heck, the other morning my girlfriend and I couldn't get our rods in the sand spikes. We were hooking up within seconds our shrimp hit the water. Pompano rigs with 5oz sputniks. 25 fish in 2 hours. Majority of the time was putting more bait on and explaining to tourist that the sting rays won't kill them. And we had to take a break to drink our beer... So if you are a beginner, budget minded angler, or pro... get one of these rods in your life. I haven't seen a bad review that wasn't the factories fault. Also TackleDirext know how to ship rods. Some of these A-holes on seller sites thru Amazon or other crap dealers don't put enough packing... and that means when the underpaid package handler working at FedUPS is rough, that tip guide is gonna get some pressure put on it. Not with tacklesdirect. Got 5? Rods from them.
By BigE
Sacramento california
Gets the job done
December 14, 2016
I bought the penn prevail with the blacktiph combo and the rods does good with the penn 8500 spinfisher spooled with 30LB backing and 65 power pro for main line use this for sturgeon and heavy current when I need throw large baits and sinkers has good backbone for hauling in them heavy fish
ProsThrows heavy baits with no problem , and is incredibly light weight with plenty back bone to have a strong hook set into those lunker size fish ,
ConsHeavy and kinda off balance >WHEN< you add those bigger reels Good rod but wouldn't be my first choice And made in China really penn Would I said worth the money if you think so I'd rather wait the extra while to save up for a better rod ,
By Paul s.
New jersey
Nice rod
April 6, 2016
I fished this rod and I am pleased with the handling and feel
By Jim
Murrieta, CA
Good rod
August 1, 2015
I paired this rod up with a Penn Fierce 5000 and it's very nicely balanced. I'm using it for fishing off the rocks and jetty at a lagoon near me and it performs well. Long casts, loads up well with a 1oz weight and a fishfinder rig with live bait.
ProsLight, good action and balanced nicely with my Fierce 5000.
ConsIt's rated to handle up to a 2oz lure but I don't get the casting distance I want with that much weight.
By b p.
new york
good for the money
July 8, 2015
well made and performed as expected
Proswas a good combination with purchase with the spinning reel am new to surf fishing and I thought I did pretty good for my first time out as to distance and location using in south America
Consnone
By Christopher
Long Beach, NY
Love this rod for 90% of my S.Bass fishing
May 24, 2015
9’ Med. Great rod. Penn replaced a defective Spinfisher rod with this one. I’m glad it broke. This is a better rod.
By Albert S.
United States
Big rod
May 17, 2015
Nice bid rod for my Penn SSV9500. The rod casts heavy rigs well beyond my expectations. Wes notvsure about the rubber grip, but it truely does grip better when wet over my othrr cork handle surf rods. Purchase is always a breeze, and arrives ideally before posted date.
ProsLight well built, nice feel
ConsNone I have found
By Alex
California, MD
Very nice rod at it's price
April 25, 2015
I use the Penn Prevail for chunking, I personally like it a lot. I have caught nice fish and some occasional sharks with it.
By Db
new york, NY
quality
February 9, 2015
I fished this rod for 2years still great shape and no problems so far.. Worth the price as all penn rod does..
Prosaffordable
By Db
Nj
solid choice
January 26, 2015
The rod is very light. But back bone has great strength. Great affordable rod
ProsLight weight
By Eric
Cherry Hill, NJ
Casts far
January 17, 2015
Has a great feel and casts far. Can't beat the price. If you throw plugs this rod will tire you out quick though.
By Peter
Philadelphia, PA
Great rod right off the bat
January 6, 2015
I just received this rod and even though I havent been able to use it yet I can just see how well it is built. I would defiantly recommend this to anyone who is looking for a quality rod.
ProsCome in two parts Great grip feel
ConsRod seat it just injection plastic
By JukeJoint
Raleigh, NC
Very nice for the price
December 22, 2014
I got mine on sale so why not give it a try....despite other reviews online, this one did pretty well on a CALO trip, lots of fish and huge rays up to 50lbs, did just fine. Not the best out there but a great rod for the price, I'd buy it again.
ProsValue
By Christopher
RUMFORD, RI
Excellent rod.
September 4, 2014
Talk about bang for your buck. This rod is affordable and has most of the features you will find on rods twice or even three times the price. Great weight and feel to the rod. You can't go wrong with this rod especially for the price.
ProsSolid Lightweight Well built
By Stacy
New Franklin, OH
Power house of a rod!
August 9, 2014
For the price of this rod, you cant beat the quality. The strenght of this rod impressed me very much. I definitly put it to the test on this trip we went on. From shark fishing to getting hooked up to about a 30-40# ray that was fight to using it for an anchor set-up for pin rigging of the pier. Handled every situation with out a worry. Smooth smooth casting and sensitivity was good too. Weight for lenghth and strenghth of this rod is great. Very light rod but strong
ProsStrong and versital. Smooth casting and cmofortable feel. Very light weight for the size and strenghth.
By Kenny
New York
Great rod
December 22, 2013
The rod is light ,flexible and has a great handle.
By j
Salem, Ma.
looks nice
November 7, 2013
Wonkey. Tip broke in a week. Returned to dicks.
ProsNice red details
ConsCheap guides and seat
By Kayden
Austin, TX
Prevail Surf Spinning Rods
September 5, 2013
Great casting distance, I've caught 40lb black drum, 30lb bull reds, and 30lb sharks off that rod.
ProsCasts really far, great pulling power.
ConsNone
By b
Cherry Hill, NJ
Great ROD!
June 5, 2013
I am involved with many facets of fishing. Freshwater, kayak fishing and now recently Surf fishing. When I first started I tried to go the cheaper route and getting cheaper rods, The rods were heavy and did not have the right action I wanted. I found the Penn Prevail rods and figured for the price I would give it a try. I wish I would have just found the penn prevail first, but then again I might not have anything to compare it to and wouldn't appreciate what a great rod it actually is. Very light. Durable and quite beautiful. I bought a second one- that's how much I love this rod!
Prosprice, build, aesthetics.
Consnone whatsoever
By William E.
Franklin, Va
A winner!
December 1, 2012
Good looking, light as a feather, handles up to 6 ounces well. Performs just as well as my $200 St Croix
By William E.
Franklin, Va
prevail 9ft surf rod
December 1, 2012
Good looking, light as a feather, great action for throwing up to 5 ounces. Performs just as well as my $200 St Croix.
By William E.
Franklin Va
Great rod
November 29, 2012
Good casting distance. Great action. Great looks and weight.
ProsQuality price

Page 1 of 1