4.8
83 Reviews
5
88% (73)
4
11% (9)
3
0% (0)
2
0% (0)
1
1% (1)
98% Recommend this product (81 of 83 responses)
By Garrett
Emmaus, PA
Best saltwater spinning reel
September 16, 2022
For the price this is hands down the best saltwater spinning reel you can get. Just use, rinse with freshwater, repeat
By Jody
North Carolina
No more Penns for me
July 20, 2022
I have purchased many Penn reels and the reel life has gone in the crapper. I still have some old Conflict and Spinfishers that are working but all of the new reels have purchased in the last year are awful. Especially the latest one a Penn Slammer 3. I used it for one weekend and now it is loud and when the handle is turned it grinds. Again, this was used for one weekend from a boat and was never dunked or even sprayed with saltwater. I always wash and dry all of my reels at the end of each day. It's not like these are an inexpensive investment.
ProsHolds great amount of line
ConsQuality and durability are awful
By Pyro C.
Snyder, TX
5500
February 28, 2022
I now have the 5500 and 6500 Slammer III reels and absolutely love them. On the prowl for a 3500 and 4500 now but getting harder to find
By Zhang
Texas
Good
January 26, 2022
Good for the big fish
By Chris
Swansea, MA
Hammer
January 22, 2022
Used a 6500 standard for the first half of my year at the canal last season, swapped out the knob for the EVA. hammer of a reel, more drag than i could hold on too when i paired it with my 11ft 3-10oz black hole heavy surf 2
Prosdrag power. durability
Conssome people may say that it is heavy, for me i find that this is the max of what i like to use at 24oz, but for what it does and for the rod i use it is balanced very well.
By Alex
CA
Well made.
January 21, 2022
Also bought the 5500. Can't go wrong with Penn Slammer3. Solid reel and well made. Great service from Tackle Direct. Thanks you.
ProsSolid.
ConsNone
By Alex
CA
Excellent reel
January 21, 2022
Another great Penn reel. Also bought the 4500. Well made, strong drag and smooth.
ProsWell made.
ConsNone
By ChuckD
Clayton, NC
Slammer III 4500
January 9, 2022
Great surf reel with stout build and overpowering capabilities
ProsStrength, build quality drag
ConsDrag does not ever get completely resistance free
By ChuckD
Clayton, NC
Slammer III 4500
January 9, 2022
Reel was flawless fishing it in the surf. Didn’t hook up on anything but I can attest that it felt smooth, was comfortable all day fishing with it and it paired well on a 10’ battalion surf (first gen). Not a whole lot to dislike.
ProsDurable, penn tough
ConsDura drag is strong so if you want to dial in a loose drag, that type of setting still gives a fair amount of resistance. I believe this was addressed in the III model
By Pyro C.
texas
SLAMMER NO DOUBT
December 18, 2021
These Slammer reels are phenomenal. I fished for so many years with my old Penn SS reels and these Slammers are such a step above.
By Alabama F.
Gulf of Mexico
Penn SLAIII4500 Slammer III
October 14, 2021
Great reel for surf fishing.
ProsHold a good amount of braided line. Drag can handle fish above reel size with no flexing or torque issues.
ConsNone
By Ron
Nc
Penn slammer3 5500 reel
October 14, 2021
very good reel, planning on getting another one soon.
Prosvery good reel , great drag.
Consnone
By Mike
Phildelphia
Penn slammer
October 14, 2021
Works great real smooth
ProsPrice
ConsA little bulky for the size
By Matthew
NJ
Awesome except...
October 13, 2021
The drag. High end is quite strong but low end stays pretty tight like pulling braid cutting your hand tight.
ProsEverything except
Conslow end drag
By Tim M.
LI, NY
Needed another for Florida
September 27, 2021
I've been using a SLAIII6500 to fish the surf of the south shore of LI for the last 3 years. I bought the SLAIII5500 for fishing the Atlantic coast of Florida. The IPX6 rating will come in handy standing in wait deep water throwing lures.
ProsIPX6 rating. Solid construction.
By Angello
Florida
Great reel
September 22, 2021
Great real couldn’t be more happy very smooth well built handles big blacktips no problem
By Matthew
Chesterfield, VA
Great Price
August 13, 2021
Great reel for anything you could want to do.
By Texas I.
New Braunfels, Texas
My go to reel
July 24, 2021
My all time favorite reel. I paired the 5500 to a slow pitch jigging rod to fish Texas Gulf red snapper, another 5500 paired to a popping rod to fish redfish and trout from the jetties or surf, a 4500 for my inshore and a 7500 on my 12' surf rod. These reels are real work horses and I don't have to worry about my gear failing and just enjoy fishing.
ProsDependability, salt resistant (don't have to tear them apart every other outing to maintain), smooth, lightweight, feels good in your hands.
ConsNone
By John
South East Florida
Penn slammer
July 10, 2021
Very solid reel love the design and look of the reel. Great drag and line capacity with a smooth drag and great retrieve.
ProsSmooth strong drag and line capacity
ConsVery pricey. Heavy
By Alaric J.
30189
Nice Reel!
June 14, 2021
Super-fast delivery. Reel not only looks great, but is very smooth and feels solid/durable. Love the high speed for faster reeling. Overall very pleased with this purchase.
By Sam H.
North Pole,Alaska
Penn Slammer 10500
June 3, 2021
I am still waiting for the King Salmon season to open up here in Alaska.But I am sure that this Penn Slammer will do me alot of good.The Chinook is a big heavy fish that don`t quit a hook up,they just go and go so I have alot of confidence with this reel!
ProsWaterproofing and a super strong drag! Plus Penn sends an extra knob handle with the reel!
ConsDon`t think there really is a con on this model.But the talk is that Penn`s center shaft is alot thinner and weaker than other reels.
By jim
,
BLOWN AWAY
April 21, 2021
AMAZING ON THE FEEL AND ACTION. SUPER SMOOTH. TURNS LIKE BUTTER. LOOKING FORWARD TO GETTING BIGGER SIZES. GREAT QUALITY FROM PENN.
By RJ
Florida
Slammer
March 31, 2021
Great reel. Best offshore reel for all around use
By Nicholas
FPO, AP
My Favorite reel
March 16, 2021
My favorite reel. Tough, durable, sealed, strong, smooth. All at a good price point that won’t break the bank, or break your heart if (God forbid) something catastrophic happens to it
By Kimo
Maui
Great reel
March 13, 2021
Beast of a reel, can hold some serious braid and big time brakes
By Robb
HAMPTON, GA
A Monster
March 12, 2021
Durable and light enough. Not the lightest but not bad either for the line capacity and size, drag, etc.. I think it is like just under 2 grams heavier that the 5500, so I went with the bigger reel for my use, glad I did. I now have 3 of them. ( 420yrds of 50, 500yrds of 40 and 600yrds of 30 ) I just switch them out on a Penn Battalion 8 footer I have. The rod can slang 5 ounce lures and it rated for 30 to 80lbs braid so it works perfect for me. So depending on my target, switch reel on pole and fish.
Prosgreat all around versatile reel. not much heavier than the 5500. Line capacity.
By jon
eastern shore, md
Solid reel
March 9, 2021
Paired a 3500 with a mojo inshore 7'6" H rod. Spooled with 20# power pro and this combo feels like a dream. Should be able to target just about anything inshore with this setup.
By VT11
Chicago
Had to adjust the stack washers
December 28, 2020
Was winding my braid too close to the base. Went to just one skinny washer. Otherwise, as smooth as my Stella 4000.
ProsBuilt like a smooth tank.
ConsLine stacking at the bottom.
By Robert
,
WOW!!!!
December 17, 2020
I purchased the 4000and it is the perfect size for all fishing. I havent caught anything huge yet but im sure it can handle some large fish. The knob is the best thing about it. Feels powerful.
Prossolid , great size , the handle makes it feel like a much larger reel. In a good way.
ConsPrice
By Sebastian
Naples, FL
amazing
December 16, 2020
good live bait reel
By Nathan
NC
Great Reel!
December 14, 2020
Well made and durable.
By JOAQUIN L.
ECUADOR
Heavy duty and beautiful design!
November 26, 2020
Very strong reel, I love the feeling in my hands!
ProsDURABILLITY
ConsWEIGHT
By David
, San Francisco, California
Great Surf Fishing Reel
November 22, 2020
I am very happy with my Penn 5500, its very smooth, feels solid, has a great handle on it that fits my hand well and is a pleasure to use on my 11ft 2-6 oz rod. I highly recommend it and for the price I really don't think you can go wrong, a good quality reel. I would definitely buy another one. What I really like about it is the "feel of it", its feels strong, has no wobble or side play in the spool and feels balanced. In my opinion Penn has done a great job and its made my fishing experience more "enjoyable".
ProsNice color, good price
ConsNone
By D B.
Ft Myers, Fl
What a nice reel and that drag wow!
November 19, 2020
A fish fighting machine! The Slammer III series of reels I think are the best reels Penn has made in several years. And I own Clash, Spinfisher, Squall, Squall 2 speeds, Internationals and still put the Slammer III on top. My go to Inshore, mainly for snook fishing, is the 4500. The drag on the 4500 is equivalent to drags on other reels, 2 to 3 sizes larger! Smooth as silk too. If you're in the market for a new spinning reel, look no further, buy a Slammer III! You will not be disappointed!
ProsBiggest pro has to be that drag! And I've had 100yds+ of line pulled under heavy drag and the drag never faded at all. Waterproof too. Proved that myself lol! Also well balanced and a really comfortable handle too.
ConsCan't honestly think of any cons. Sat here for a second and tried and couldn't think of anything negative to say about these reels.
By 617
Boston.
A tough reel.
October 28, 2020
Strong reel for its money. Retrieves very fast. I use it at cape cod canal. It can take a beating. Well worth the money.
ProsYou can tell it?s heavy duty. But not heavy on your hands.
By Alex A.
San Fernando, California
Great reel regardless of price
October 1, 2020
I’ve read reviews stating that this reel is good for the price . I just want to write that this reel is great regardless. To me putting “ for the price” leaves some question as to whether spending more will get you a better reel for what the specs of this reel are. Well that’s crap. This reel is great !! Awesome drag , line capacity, balance and handle comfortable. I paired it with a Phenix Black Diamond 30-80 PSW-S 700XH . So much fun catching yellow tail, Bonita an pacific blue fin.. Only problem is, now I have to buy another one because family keeps wanting to use mine . Happy Fish’n
By Chris
Buford, GA
Favorite ever!
September 30, 2020
These slammers are my go to and absolute favorite. I run twin 5500s and 6500s. Surprisingly smooth and stout. Highly recommended
By David
PITTSBURGH, PA
Stood up to misuse!
August 13, 2020
I got this reel for its high speed retrieve to target wahoo on a West Coast long range boat. I was very happy with the feel, but since I fly in my gear I only had a 7ft rod and couldn’t compete on distance with the local boys and their 8ft one piece rods. On one cast I let my bomb sink too deep and got bit by an 80lb grouper! Turning the handle was tough for the last 100ft, but I choked up on the handle and gradually worked it to the boat. The reel stood up to this misapplication, winching a grouper straight up and down. Next trip I’ll pair it with an 8ft 2 piece heavy popping rod and see what happens.
By Joshua
Sumrall, Mississippi
8500 Hs
May 26, 2020
Could've gone down a size but I can handle the 8500 fine. So far the reel has done well, only time on the water can tell how it will hold up with time. It does tend to wobble a lot when you reel it, not sure if it's a balance thing. Lots of drag for jigging around structure where you might need to manhandle a grouper out. I wouldn't hesitate to tie into #100 class yellowfin with this reel either. All around nice spinning reel that should last for years to come.
ProsNo plastic gears Sealed body Tons of drag
ConsTends to wobble real bad for me and it a little harder to use.
By Brian
Chesapeake, VA
Heavy built, smooth
April 13, 2020
Unlike a lot of reels on the market today, this one can actually handle its rated drag pressure. It is well built with a solid frame.
Prossmooth, strong drag, good line lay
Conssomewhat heavy in weight for it's class for some of the models
By Joey
New jersey,
Best feel of any reel
March 25, 2020
Absolutely love this reel. Feels great in hand and handles tough fights with ease. Used it for tuna jigging in Costa Rica and it was perfect for the job
By Joe
Medford, NJ
Strong reel
March 23, 2020
I have the 7500 paired with a Daiwa jigging rod. It's a super strong reel for the price range with tons of torque and power. Up here in the northeast its a great rod for jigging for tuna and for shark fishing, but I also took and down to Costa Rica, jigged for amberjacks, grouper, roosterfish, tuna, and snapper. All around strong reel.
ProsVery Strong drag and a very sturdy reel. Also holds a lot of line.
ConsLike all Penns they are a little heavy.
By Shawn
West Yarmouth, MA
amazing reel
March 1, 2020
have owned the slammer 5500 for last year and i used it for various fish off of cape cod for striped bass to porgy and brown shark it worked amazing on all the fish if i had to recommend i would very outstanding and versatile reel
By Tylor
21813
Great reel
February 21, 2020
Great reel for inshore and near shore fishing.
By Junior A.
Captiva Island l, Fl
An absolute beast!
January 19, 2020
I currently own 2 8500HS, 8500, 2 4500 and a 6500. My favorite inshore fishing is for snook. I use the 4500 spooled with 30lb sufix832 on a custom 8' rod. And a 7' penn carnage rod. These reels absolutely tame snook! By far the best drag system available on a reel. Perhaps some of those $800 and up reels are better but I'll never know! And if fishing from my kayak, they seem waterproof to me because I've had a few dunks. Of course not really an issue if fishing from boat or land. If I had to choose one spinning reel to fish with, it would be the Slammer III. Thank you Penn! And the Clash reels are excellent reels too btw. Penn has really stepped their game up over the last few years....
ProsAmazing drag and easily withstands the occasional dunk kayak fishing.
ConsThey are relatively a little heavy but I really don't notice it. Im switching from one of my clash reels to a slammer is really the only time I notice the weight difference.
By Dylan
Palm Bay, Florida
Great reel
December 2, 2019
A workhorse of a reel and very smooth. Love that it’s sealed but not a big fan of weight, way heavier than my Clash
ProsSmooth, good drag, cool looking
ConsHeavy
By DJ A.
Florida
Offshore beast
November 19, 2019
I have 2 of these reels on custom 8ft rods. Primarily used for sight fishing while offshore trolling. Cast at a weed mat or see a lot of birds etc. Cast a big chugger, zip, zip boom fish on! And an unbelievable catch at that...a wahoo! Peeled off maybe 200yds, 65lb suf832 braid. And wahoo can hit ur bait at over 60mph. It was a blast and tasted great!
By Kenny
,
Im a shimano guy but...
November 18, 2019
This reel is an absolute monster for the price vs it’s competitors. The amount of drag on this thing is enough to rip the rod out of your hand given big enough fish is on. This is possibly one of the best Penn reels for price/performance ratio in the mid-upper range
By Nat
Nashville
Get one .......
October 2, 2019
guys and gal's this is one tuff reel for the money ..... smooth drag for the long running kings or lock it down on the blues and flip them over the rail ...... yep pack them with 500 + yards of Braid for the long runners or 250 to 300 to lock that drag down ..... max that drag and pack the line on to hold it and your going to find there tuff on fish and anglers ..... i have a old 560 still kicking and pick up a 4500 and 6500 ...... both holding 600 + with a rod to match .....
Prossmooth reeling smooth drag
Consnone
By James
Livingston , NJ
Awsome reel
August 26, 2019
Great reel. strong, smooth and just a beast of a reel.

Page 1 of 2
1