4.9
24 Reviews
5
92% (22)
4
8% (2)
3
0% (0)
2
0% (0)
1
0% (0)
100% Recommend this product (24 of 24 responses)
By Catching t.
Smith river
Amazing reel for the price
June 3, 2020
My first reel besides what comes on combo poles I have bought. Very happy with this 4500 spinfisher vi reel. I use it for surf, hetty, pier, river, lake and its caught fish in all of them. Its paired with a ugly stik tiger lite pole
By Henry
Pensacola, FL
Great Reel
April 25, 2020
I had a 5500 on my jigging rod for awhile before I started using it on my med-heavy casting rod for bonita, works amazingly well on both.
By Brai
Singapore
Great Reel for weekend fishing
April 23, 2020
beautiful & solid reel. worth buying and can't wait to fish
By Jeffrey H.
Port Aransas, Texas
Great addition to my kayak
April 16, 2020
Bought 2500 combo, put slick v2 with it in black. Looks so cool
ProsGreat quality, dependable
ConsNone, love this reel
By Francis
Maspeth, NY
Great reel for the money
April 11, 2020
super smooth and i love the bail less
By Joe
Medford, NJ
Upgrade from the Spinfisher V
March 24, 2020
I've had the Spinfisher V 5500 for about 5 years and it has stayed in great condition and caught me a bunch of fish, but I've recently upgraded to Spinfisher Vl for a trip to Costa Rica this winter. This reel is a major upgrade especially when it comes to the drag system. The drag system is a major upgrade it is much smoother and stronger. The reel is solid in all other aspects and I'm excited to continue fishing with it as the spring stripers roll through.
ProsStrong drag system durable looks good
Consas always with Penn reels it's a little heavy.
By MIke
Tequesta, FL
Great Spinning Reel
March 4, 2020
Love this reel. I have the 6500 size model. This is the perfect size for offshore fishing in south florida. Love that the reel is completely sealed for more corrosion resistance.
By pete
Radford, Virginia
Bought for my brother
February 8, 2020
I bought this Penn reel for my brother. He has been fishing it for months and loves it. Tried to trade him one of my Penn spinfisher V's but no go. I'll have to get my own , and I can't wait, great reels.
ProsRock solid reel
ConsNone
By Sleepster
Lowell, Massachusetts
Rugged, durable, an absolute workhorse!
January 25, 2020
I own both the SSVI6500 and the SSVI6500LC and I've been very impressed. It's well built and extremely durable. The HT-100 carbon drag system is smooth under heavy loads. The rotor spins smoothly with little resistance for a reel that has plenty of seals to keep water out. It's water-resistant rated IPX5 which means it can take dunks and splashes like a champ. The SSVI6500LC its a bit larger than the SSVI6500 to make room for the taller long cast spool and is slightly heavier. I don't know why Penn designed the SSVI6500LC with a plastic clicker gear. Everyone knows plastic clickers will get shredded when big game fish goes on prolonged runs. The standard SSVI6500 has a metal clicker and has a loud metallic "Ting-ting-ting" sound which is very audible and helpful when targeting trophy fish during windy conditions or on a boat while the motor is running.
ProsHT-100 carbon drag system, IPX5 water resistant seals, Long cast spool with super slow oscillation delivers superb line lay.
ConsWeight, plastic clicker gear
By Ray S.
Tampa FL
They keep improving!
December 2, 2019
I have been fishing with these reels for over 40 years. They are tough and hold up to salt water exposure. The reels are stronger, lighter, water proof and smoother action with the extra bearings. I will keep purchasing them as long as I fish.
By Kenny
Columbia, Maryland
Penn!
November 20, 2019
You can’t go wrong with these new spinfishers. They’re an outstanding entry level performance reel next to the battle 2. Perfect for the jetty setup that you wont care about banging up
By Ty
,
Nice but just one tinyyy complaint
October 4, 2019
The Penn Spinfisher VI 4500 is just an all-around good size and nice reel to have not too big and not too small its a very smooth reel I havent had any main problems yet but my one complaint is the paddle handle its just kinda tiring fighting in a nice fish with a nice reel but a not so good handle usually with Penn reels the power knob comes into play around the 5000 sizes I would say go up to a 5000 but I personally prefer smaller reels but thats my only complaint but thats not that big of a deal to knock a nice reel over a handle so I highly recommend this reel
Prossmooth reel reasonably priced
Conspaddle handle
By Charles
, Florida
Another winning reel from Penn
September 12, 2019
Excellent workmanship with a power full drag. Feels like a reel that costs twice as much.
By Steven F.
New York
My inshore go-to
September 3, 2019
What can I say about Penn reels that anglers haven't already said? If you fish, then Penn reels have been in your vocabulary for a while. The spinfisher line has always been a great series, but the new models in the VI are above and beyond expectation. Great line lay, no wind knots, bail is solid and the drag is smooth. What more can you ask for? Love the products. Lots of great stuff to say. I own 3 models the 2500, 4500bls, and the 6500bls. The bailess models I use for surf fishing (but I do not wetsuit with them, I mostly use them for beach and jetty applications where they won't get soaked too bad..really wish they were fully sealed like my Van Staal) and the small 2500 is my fluke, porgy, weakfish, tog etc inshore special go to in any application in my kayak reel.
ProsGreat line lay, no wind knots, bail is solid and the drag is smooth. What more can you ask for? Love the products. Lots of great stuff to say.
ConsWish they made a FULLY SEALED model for paddle board and kayak fishing in case the reels get dunked, hard splashed etc..
By Alex
Lusby, Maryland
Happy so far - waiting for something bigger
August 3, 2019
I’m in love with this reel since taking it out of the box. It’s very smooth and has a great drag. Its super easy to adjust to a bailless reel (I’ve been using one for 5 years). I’ll be pairing it with my Tsunami Airwave Elite 9’6 for casting lures in the Chesapeake bay.
ProsEverything
ConsNone
By HOWARD B.
OREGON
Penn SPIN FISHER VI SSVI5500 Spinning reel
July 3, 2019
Price was right, delivery was prompt, reel functions as it should, very good quality, extremely happy with the Penn design and quality.
By Tommy
NJ
Excellent reel!
April 24, 2019
Smooth, solid, tough as nails. Penn hit a home run with the new SSVI. This review is for the 5500 longcast. These reels are built to withstand the saltwater elements. Fully sealed to keep water and sand out. Easy hose spray hose down at the end of the day.
By Stephen
Portland
Love it!
April 1, 2019
Always an ssv guy, but this is better!
ProsSet live line options,better seals, penn.
By Thomas
Bethany Beach, DE
Bullet Proof Surf Reel
March 26, 2019
This reel is a little heavy compared to my Shimano, 5500 ULTEGRA reels. The weight difference is negligible as the Penn, is more solidly built. I have an ULTEGRA, that has not been used much, in for service as it retrieves rough under load. I believe the Penn, Spinfisher 5500 LC has a better drag and a more sturdy build. With reasonable care this reel should last a long time.
ProsQuality build, smooth drag
By Steve W.
Toronto, Ontario
Absolutely awesome reel!
March 4, 2019
I have 3 generations of Penn Spinfishers, and this one is by far the best. Smooth but audible drag. Withstands a lot of abuse from both the elements and dunking in saltwater. It really is an amazing reel for the price.
ProsLove the audible but finely adjustable drag. It doesn't slip like some reels. If I had to choose again, I'd likely select the 6500 Live Liner.
ConsManual bail is a bit of a nuisance until you get used to manually flicking it over, but a very low issue in my opinion unless you are a hard core caster of artificial baits.
By Michael
Pelham, NY
Fantastic Reel!
February 15, 2019
Reel is a beast, great for chunking bunker for bass and blues. Tank of a reel!
By Matthew
Grand Haven, MI
best value reel
January 26, 2019
best value reel a classic you can trust. fished them on guides boats forever and have them in my personal arsenal.
By Michael
Mount Pleasant, SC
Penn Spinfisher VI SSVI5500LC
January 10, 2019
I tried this on my 8ft Terramar Inshore while I waited on my order to arive. But now it's on my Tsunami 932xh it's a good match size and power wise to this rod but would easily still be a good fit on up to an 11foot medium or 10 heavy rod, I wouldn't put it on a medium light or less unless you somehow managed to find an 11+ foot which you can probably get a better setup anyway. Anyway for the reel it's built tough enough haven't seen any signs of water getting in or any other problems like that. Have yet to notice any signs of beach,boat, or truck rash yet, and while I don't masochistically throw my gear around, I certainly don't baby it eaither. It does cast a mile without having to go super light on your line. The only problem I have run into with it is that the spool is so tall and it makes so many passes of decent tight line lay when you close your bail and start putting line back on after a cast you'll end your cast with the line coming off of the top of the spool while your rotor is on the entire other end of the spectrum. When you reel up and start laying line over the gap in lays it can cause both distance as well as wind knot problems on your next cast. But it has an anti reverse switch which I flip to get the line lay back more to where it should be, before reeling up.
ProsTough Value for money spent.
By Lonnie B.
Panama City Florida
Penn Spinfisher vl
December 21, 2018
Great reel. A lot of improvements over the spinfisher v.

Page 1 of 1