4.9
63 Reviews
5
89% (56)
4
11% (7)
3
0% (0)
2
0% (0)
1
0% (0)
98% Recommend this product (62 of 63 responses)
By Paul
Island park, NY
4500 is fantastic
September 3, 2022
Can use for a variety of fish. Very durable
ProsWorth the price
ConsNone
By Manomet M.
Massachusetts, USA
A Trustworthy Workhorse
August 31, 2022
I bought the 2500 size to put on my freshwater finesse rig. I spooled it with 20 lb braid to an 8 lb fluorocarbon leader and it has been great for drop shots, wacky rigs, and small jerkbaits. It has a strong drag and is made out of high-quality components. I plan to get a 5500 for my inshore set up.
By Whip
Savannah, GA
Reliable
July 31, 2022
Smooth drag and flawless performance, even better than the previous generation
By Joseph
Media, PA
WOW
July 28, 2022
This is a GRAND SLAM reel at this price point. The 4500 is a great multi-purpose size, enough to hoist double-digit fluke from the Shrews and handle hefty stripers off of Block Island. You can take it and jig bait fish with sabiki and immediately swap rigs for blues, trout, stripers, flounder. Typical bullet-proof Penn quality, Tackle Direct has outstanding retail level support as far as shipping, questions, etc...so don't hesitate to buy here!
Prosgreat price multi-functional Penn Quality
By HUGH
Great Bay
Has been bulletproof
July 20, 2022
I am loving this reel for the back bays, I have caught fluke, bluefish, weakfish, sea robins, and even a giant snub nosed ray on this reel. The drag is great and it casts great when throwing metal at those toothy blue fish when you see the birds working the bait. Over all a great addition to the arsenal.
By Frank
Lords Valley, PA
Excellent for Large Striper
July 1, 2022
My wife bought me this for Christmas and I've caught several stripers on the surf with the 6500. Drag ran perfectly and reel is proving to be a tank!
ProsPenn Quality
ConsNone
By Tom
James Island, SC
Penn Spinfisher
June 20, 2022
Awesome reels, a great reel to use at the jetties for Big Spot tails. I will also be using them for Tarpon soon. Overall a great reel that I paired with an Ugly Stick rod.
By Frank
Lords Valley, PA
Excellent Reel
June 7, 2022
I used this to pull in a few stripers this May on a 9' medium action rod. All were over 44". The fish were really hard on the reel. Ripped tons of line off through 15-20 minute fights on the surf. In the end we got everyone of them on the beach!
ProsSmooth Strong Reliable
ConsNot fully sealed
By Dan
ROCKPORT, MA
Nice and Smooth
May 11, 2022
I'm really enjoying this reel on my 9' St. Croix Mojo Surf and it's been great over the past 3 seasons. I've landed some nice slot sized Stripers here in the North East and it has handled larger fish well. This is my first bailless reel and it's working well for me. Can't beat the price point when comparing to other bailless reel brands!
ProsSmooth
ConsNone so far
By William
Georgia
good:)))))))))))
May 11, 2022
i really lke so much
Prossoo good not bad
Consme reallylikeso no cons
By Ron D.
Staten Island, NY
Great Reel for Surf-Casting Lures
May 10, 2022
I bought this reel on the recommendation of an experienced surf-caster who uses it to throw lures for stripers and blues. I load it with 30-lb. PowerPro and have taken it out on a few trips. It's paired with a 9' Tica Dolphin Surf, I also purchased here. Though I've not caught fish yet, the reel is very high quality for a good price and is well suited to the task.
ProsLight, sealed system, good quality (the protestations of those who rag on Penn notwithstanding).
ConsNo spare spools for the IV series! Only the V. If you want to have spare spools, get the V.
By Philip
Nj
The best ever
February 7, 2022
Strong a life time of fishing with this one
ProsSmooth and strong
ConsNeeding a bigger handle
By Ernest
Monkton, MD
Super solid reel
January 24, 2022
Wonderful reel. Has stood up to summers jigging for rockfish and winters catching jacks, bonnetheads etc
By Chris
Swansea, MA
slammer 9500
January 22, 2022
i got a 9500 to go target bluefin tuna. i used 100lb power pro maxquatto, it took 500 yards of the stuf with dacron backing the last model had the slammer drag in it, i wish this one did too, but the ht100 had no problems pulling in a rec size tuna. the handle is also comfortable
Prosprice point for these reels is great.
Consthey are a little heavy, but there is a model for everything you could need.
By Tommy
Georgetown, DE
Best baitrunner
January 15, 2022
Best bait runner style reel love it
By Steven
WA
Solid product
December 7, 2021
Casting is awesome and with large line capacity I target large fish with it.
By Tony S.
Louisville KY
Great Reel
September 6, 2021
Needed a saltwater reel to bounce jigs and jerk baits off of the rocks and pier. This was the ticket.
By Donald
Houston, TX
Sturdy and dependable
July 29, 2021
I bought the 5500 Long Cast version about a year ago and have used it for soaking bait and throwing .75oz + lures in the surf and from the jetties in the gulf. Been consistently using 30lb. braid on 10' and 11' surf rods. After each trip I gently rinse with warm water and shake dry. I have had no mechanical issues and no wind knotts. I have not dunked it yet but I can not argue with my experience so far. The distance is great and the reel is smooth and feel powerful. Compared to other similar reels it might feel weighty but not enough for me to complain about. I'm not sure I would want to repeatedly cast with the larger versions but the 5500 is perfect for my application. If you wish to try a long cast and like the Spin Fisher line this is a no brainer.
ProsMechanically sound and sturdy as with most Penn offerings
ConsThe larger sizes might be heavier than wanted if using for long lure casting sessions.
By Bruce
State College, PA
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE these reels
July 22, 2021
Great feel, smooth cranking, strong and well worth the investment. Dropped in sand, rinsed it off and no issues. I always reccomend these reels to friends.
By Shevy
San Francisco, CA
Best Saltwater Reel I Have
April 13, 2021
The Spinfisher does it all, I have used it in so many applications, this is the most versatile saltwater reel out there. Is IPX5 sealed and has the HT-100 drag system, I have 4500 size paired with 30lb Power Pro braid. Accidentally dunked it in saltwater months ago and I have no issues. Holds a ton of line, is super strong, and casts a mile, and isn't the smoothest but it's still pretty darn smooth, and most of all IT LASTS. The Spinfisher has caught me fish surf fishing for surfperch, bottom fishing for rockfish and lingcod, plugging the shores of SF Bay for stripers and halibut, and has caught me some huge sharks and rays including a 90lb stingray.
ProsVersatile Strong Casting Durability IPX5 Sealed HT-100 Drag System
ConsHeavy
By Scott
Placida, FL
Great reel
April 13, 2021
A nice reel with trusted Penn quality. Excellent drag, and lots of it. Very smooth operation. A little heavy.
ProsSmooth operation and good drag.
ConsA little on the heavy side.
By Tommy
Jamison, PA
Tank of a reel
April 9, 2021
Bought this for fighting sharks on the beach. It’s is definitely on the heavy side but that was expected.
ProsHigh line capacity Strong drag system Live line feature will come in handy
ConsSuper heavy
By Waleed
Springfield Gardens, NY
Best saltwater reel ever
March 19, 2021
I have 4500 reel and it’s perfectly balanced between speed drag power and weight Very strong reel and fully sealed against saltwater Recommend
ProsLight weight Strong drag Sealed
ConsNone
By William
Aransas Pass, Texas
Awesome reel
March 8, 2021
This reel is everything that I expected it to be. Traditional PENN quality.
By Gymrat
Ohio
Rugged metal frame reel
March 8, 2021
Smooth drive great drag and waterproofing
ProsGreat drag
ConsLittle pricey
By Bocapilot
West Palm
Favorite reel
February 23, 2021
Really like all my penn reels. The 2500 are light strong smooth. Tackle Direct shipped fast
By Winston
,
Good spinning reel for surf fishing
February 20, 2021
Used it for light tackle surf fishing in Southeastern Florida. Had enough drag to handle small/medium jacks. The seals kept water and fine grain sand out of the drag and body. Splashed by a couple of waves on the jetty. Only negative aspect is that you can't fill the spool up to maximum capacity or else it is prone to wind knots (at least in my experience). Once it is filled 2/3rd of the way, no more wind knots have formed.
By James
Edgewood, MD
Everything you would expect from a Penn reel.
February 19, 2021
Great reel, very smooth retrieve. I have a variety of Penn reels that I have bought over the years, this one being the latest is quickly becoming one of my favorites. I have the 2500 on a med heavy St. Croix mojo yak rod. I primarily use it for crank baits and spinner baits. I will definitely buy a few more of them in deferent sizes.
ProsVery well made, smooth retrieve.
ConsNone..
By Karim
Weymouth MA
My favorite reel
February 7, 2021
Light weight waterproof the best $150 reel
By Michael
Drexel Hill, PA
Terrific reel
December 27, 2020
Purchased recently. Have used in surf and on jetty. Smooth casting, looks nice and while I don’t plan on dunking it in the surf, the seal help me feel a little better for those splashes. Always plan on rinsing after each use though. Will review again after more use.
By DJ A.
Merritt Island, Fl
Good, solid spinning reels
December 14, 2020
I have a 4500 and a 6500HS. I really like the live liner set up on these reels. Pulled out many 35-40+" Snook out from under bridges and docks. Keep them rinsed and lubed and should last a lifetime....
By Nathan
NC
Great Reel!
December 14, 2020
Very durable and a great value.
By GD
MA
Smooth
August 5, 2020
Casting is a dream!
By GD
MA
Great reel
August 5, 2020
Love this new Live Liner - using it up in the Boston Harbor area and already have a 50" striper on it letting live pogies do their thing
By MIKE
corpus christ texas
!!!!!
August 5, 2020
Best spinning reel I've ever owned!!!
Prossmooth, sealed bearings, long lasting
Cons..........
By Dan
NY
Awesome!
July 9, 2020
Reel looks and feels great, will review again in a couple months.
By Adam
Claiborne, MD
Smooth
July 6, 2020
This is the best reel I've ever owned.
By pv
209
7500lc
June 22, 2020
Really good reel for the price, i cant complain. Might not be shimano light or smooth but it gets the job done and feels really sturdy and makes me not scared to get a few scratches. Caught striped bass and sturgeon using this reel.
By Zach
Massapequa Park, NY
Smoothness in Gold
June 9, 2020
This has got to be one of the smoothest spinners Ive ever owned from Penn, maybe from anyone. This reel can crank out medium sized bass offshore and it can turn around and pull in nice bass in the freshwater. I take it on my kayak or on my boat. This has got to be one of the most versatile reels around!
By Catching t.
Smith river
Amazing reel for the price
June 3, 2020
My first reel besides what comes on combo poles I have bought. Very happy with this 4500 spinfisher vi reel. I use it for surf, hetty, pier, river, lake and its caught fish in all of them. Its paired with a ugly stik tiger lite pole
By Henry
Pensacola, FL
Great Reel
April 25, 2020
I had a 5500 on my jigging rod for awhile before I started using it on my med-heavy casting rod for bonita, works amazingly well on both.
By Brai
Singapore
Great Reel for weekend fishing
April 23, 2020
beautiful & solid reel. worth buying and can't wait to fish
By Jeffrey H.
Port Aransas, Texas
Great addition to my kayak
April 16, 2020
Bought 2500 combo, put slick v2 with it in black. Looks so cool
ProsGreat quality, dependable
ConsNone, love this reel
By Francis
Maspeth, NY
Great reel for the money
April 11, 2020
super smooth and i love the bail less
By Joe
Medford, NJ
Upgrade from the Spinfisher V
March 24, 2020
I've had the Spinfisher V 5500 for about 5 years and it has stayed in great condition and caught me a bunch of fish, but I've recently upgraded to Spinfisher Vl for a trip to Costa Rica this winter. This reel is a major upgrade especially when it comes to the drag system. The drag system is a major upgrade it is much smoother and stronger. The reel is solid in all other aspects and I'm excited to continue fishing with it as the spring stripers roll through.
ProsStrong drag system durable looks good
Consas always with Penn reels it's a little heavy.
By MIke
Tequesta, FL
Great Spinning Reel
March 4, 2020
Love this reel. I have the 6500 size model. This is the perfect size for offshore fishing in south florida. Love that the reel is completely sealed for more corrosion resistance.
By pete
Radford, Virginia
Bought for my brother
February 8, 2020
I bought this Penn reel for my brother. He has been fishing it for months and loves it. Tried to trade him one of my Penn spinfisher V's but no go. I'll have to get my own , and I can't wait, great reels.
ProsRock solid reel
ConsNone
By Sleepster
Lowell, Massachusetts
Rugged, durable, an absolute workhorse!
January 25, 2020
I own both the SSVI6500 and the SSVI6500LC and I've been very impressed. It's well built and extremely durable. The HT-100 carbon drag system is smooth under heavy loads. The rotor spins smoothly with little resistance for a reel that has plenty of seals to keep water out. It's water-resistant rated IPX5 which means it can take dunks and splashes like a champ. The SSVI6500LC its a bit larger than the SSVI6500 to make room for the taller long cast spool and is slightly heavier. I don't know why Penn designed the SSVI6500LC with a plastic clicker gear. Everyone knows plastic clickers will get shredded when big game fish goes on prolonged runs. The standard SSVI6500 has a metal clicker and has a loud metallic "Ting-ting-ting" sound which is very audible and helpful when targeting trophy fish during windy conditions or on a boat while the motor is running.
ProsHT-100 carbon drag system, IPX5 water resistant seals, Long cast spool with super slow oscillation delivers superb line lay.
ConsWeight, plastic clicker gear
By Ray S.
Tampa FL
They keep improving!
December 2, 2019
I have been fishing with these reels for over 40 years. They are tough and hold up to salt water exposure. The reels are stronger, lighter, water proof and smoother action with the extra bearings. I will keep purchasing them as long as I fish.
By Kenny
Columbia, Maryland
Penn!
November 20, 2019
You can’t go wrong with these new spinfishers. They’re an outstanding entry level performance reel next to the battle 2. Perfect for the jetty setup that you wont care about banging up

Page 1 of 2
1