4.8
257 Reviews
5
88% (226)
4
10% (25)
3
1% (3)
2
1% (2)
1
0% (1)
98% Recommend this product (251 of 257 responses)
By Justin
Baton Rouge, LA
Love this line
March 24, 2014
Very smooth and easy to work with. Knots tie very well and it seems to add a little to casting distance.
Prossmooth, durable.
By Keith B.
United States
The PowerPro Super Slick braid is an excellent fishing line.
March 13, 2014
This braid really works great when deep trolling! It is quiet and smooth through the guides.
By Windy
Belmont, NC
Great casting line
February 28, 2014
I was able to get 300 yds 50# line on a fairly small reel. Hopefully gonna gig me up a big cobia!
ProsStrong and thin
By Tom
north carolina
power pro slick 40 #
January 30, 2014
I have not spooled it yet but used it on a friends surf rod last fall. Loved it
Proscastability, low stretch, no memory
Conscost
By Mike
Tampa, Florida
Excellent combo of strength and cast ability
January 29, 2014
Used in combination with a mono backing you can economically fill a spool and provide strength and cast ability to your favorite reel. I caught a nice bass yesterday. The braid got my lure out there with little or no stretch and maintain sensitivity to feel the bite.
ProsHigher tensile strength with higher reel volume
By Simon
st-colomban, quebec
Awesome
January 20, 2014
I was a big fan of Sonic Braid for a while, onto Powerpro now, the super slick lines are worth it, especially if your casting from beaches or dont have a boat like me. The extra investment immediately equals extra distance. Try it out for yourself.
ProsCasts smooth and far
ConsPricier than other lines, but in my situation where you dont own a boat and sometimes casting from the tip of rock, the extra distance pays for itself.
By Chris
Florida
Excellent product
January 9, 2014
The only braid I use is Power Pro. It has never let me down.
By James L.
Staten Island, NY
PowerPro Super Slick
December 26, 2013
I have had very positive results using the power pro. I rig it with a topshot of mono for bottom fishing and have increased my hookups. Great Product.
By Dustyn
Kealakekua, HI
Good stuff!
December 2, 2013
This newer super8slick line is a big improvement from the original power pro line. The line feels a lot smoother going thru the rod guides!
By bassachusetts
Salem, Ma.
good stuff
November 26, 2013
Running 30 lb and 50 lb on 4k & 6k penn sargus reels and plan to use on my next reel purchase
ProsStrong, smooth, absorption and abrasion resistant, sinks fast
ConsColor fades
By Ghazi
Saskatoon, SK
I Just Love It
November 18, 2013
I have been using braided for a while now & I have used many other brands till i found power I have no issues with this braid while fishing. I just love how this braid lays down on the water.
By tim
ny, ny
great line, better as it wears in
November 8, 2013
great line, better as it wears in
Prosgreat line, better as it wears in
Consgreat line, better as it wears in
By WJ T.
Lenoir City, Tn
Blue is the best color for Braid
November 2, 2013
I fish exclusively for Rock Fish or Stripers. The spot where I fish has fairly clear water. I have found that it is important to find a braid line that these fish cannot see or they will not take any lure? I really like power pro super 8 slick Marine Blue because it seems to me to help catch more fish? It is the really good braid because if you use the 50lb test line it is equivalent in size to15 or 20lb test of other lines yet still has the strength of 50lb test? These fish are very particular when they feed and I have to constantly keep different lures and baits to keep them interested, but my Marine Blue Super 8 Slick Braid can stay the same?! TackleDirect always has it in stock and they ship it to me quickly. I appreciate that? Thanks, sincerely, WJ Townson.
ProsThis is a very strong line with good endurance. It also does not back-lash like monofill, floracarbon, and other such lines.
By Capt s.
Mobile Al
the best line you can buy,,
October 18, 2013
it's the best line you can buy,,
ProsIt has the same strength as mono and you can put about almost half again of line on your reel,
ConsThe only two things negative about this line is, the price, and don't back lash it, it's a Bi***ch to untangled with out damaging it,,
By Sovang
Havelock, NC
Strong line
October 8, 2013
Very strong but thin line. Casts beautifully with my setup. Haven't had my line break for any reason. BUT I have lost a rig because the knots do not hold very well! Almost lost a waxwing because of it! I found it in the water after a long search. I learned figure 8 knots and a uni will not come loose after a while. I now use a modified uni knot. Will buy only regular PP from now on
ProsStrong line
ConsLost a rig and lure.
By Nadia
Raeford, NC
Great string for inshore
October 5, 2013
I use this string on my bait-casters/ conventional reels for larger/ hard runners were my 10 pound would brake. So far I have not had any fish brake this string. Will be using it for albacore here in a bit.
ProsGreat quality, Nice deep color, Smooth, super thin to get so much string on the spool, the list goes on.
Consprice but worth it. I personalty like the yellow color more but need the different colors to know which reels have what string. Could use a larger selection of color.
By Alexander
NC
great for flounder
October 5, 2013
I purchased this string for my spinning reels but also ended up using it on two of my bait casters. This is my go to inshore line and I have no complaints.
ProsSuper smooth, Lays well on my penns, Looks great, casts like a champ.
ConsPrice. But worth it
By craig b.
nj
Braid Fans!
October 2, 2013
I am a beginner braid user, only experience with suffix, early power pro and maybe one other. i can tell you though, that this power pro super slick 8 is the stuff. much slicker than the suffix and a ton better than the original power pro. its easy to tie knots, mates up well to mono shock leaders, casts insane and doesn't generate too many casting knots unless you try to really whip it. it's important to spool it up properly and tight to limit any unwanted knots. my experience is that you get this with any of the braids, but less with this stuff.
Prosgreat casting, feel every nibble, easy to use
Consstill get wind / cast knots once in a while
By LD
United States
Great stuff
October 1, 2013
awesome strength and durability I broke down a 150lb Tarpon in 20 min. no problem.
By LD
United States
awesome
October 1, 2013
great casting, superior durability
By John K.
Chicago illinois
Power pro Super Slick line is fantastic
September 10, 2013
The line is better than I expected. It lays flic on the spool with either conventional or spinning gear. It is super smooth and casts like a dream
By aaron
Virginia Bch, VA
a great casting braid
September 4, 2013
I got the super slick in a 20lb test and it performed amazingly. I have several reels laced up with power pro and the super slick is now my favorite. smooth casts, good sensitivity and durable. this line made fishing all day on the James River a delight.
By Michael M.
New Smyrna beach Florida
Best casting line out there
August 22, 2013
Cast extremely well right out of the box and does not get wind knots . My clients expect top of the line products that's why I use super 8
By Fred
ohio
Braided line
August 19, 2013
Good strengh and it allows me to carry more line on reel
Constough sometimes to get a knowt that does not slip
By Tanktruck
Wisconsin
Knot strength questionable
August 8, 2013
This is the third spool of this line I have used on open faced spinning reels. Using the Palomar knot, I have experienced numerous break-offs that appeared to be related to poor knot strength. I did not measure the breaking force required to break this line, but I expect that it is not the same over engineered rating that is built into the other brands I have tried. I don't see any advantage to the extra cost in using it based on strength. There is some indication that the line spooling figures (how much to spool up) isn't realistic. Based on pound test figures, extrapolated from line diameters, the amount figures don't match up with the actual spool capacity. Over spooling results in line wads jamming up in my St. Croix Rage spinning rod eyes. After de-spooling the line to the reel manufacturers recommendation, it worked as well as a good grade of mono. I have since switched preferred brands of line, but, I will use this line until it wears out. I use a different knot that I devised that has not failed as did the Palomar knot. the good things this line does, is it is quiet, as opposed to regular Power Pro, and the casting distance is very good. But, all in all, there's better line for the fishing that I do. In use, I found that if it gets a loop knot from casting, it gets weak and breaks easily when pulling it out, it broke at that point. This resulted several times while using a force that would not break the line in an un-knotted line..
ProsCasting distance is very good. Quiet
ConsSpool Quantities don't match the values expected Poor knot strength Weakened by knots from over runs, etc.
By Anthony
hawaii
15# superslick
July 17, 2013
awesome line! very light and strong. can cast twice as far and i thing its easier on the gear also.
Prosnice colors
Conswish it was available in red too
By Why n.
Ct
Great product
July 2, 2013
I have used this line for years best there is.
By Fredrika
Daytona Beach, FL
A great line
June 19, 2013
I prefer this over regular PowerPro. I can cast further, it is so smooth and seems to fly of the spool.
By Fredrika
Daytona Beach, FL
Lives up to it's name
June 19, 2013
This line is very slick as the name promises. I find myself casting further than with regular PowerPro. The first day of using it, it slipped off my fingers a couple of times, but I got used to it very quickly. Tying knots like the uni knot or the albright, I make a couple extra wraps for a more secure knot.
ConsWished it came in more colors.
By Nick
Australia
PowerPRO
June 10, 2013
Packs on really tight and doesnt fade over time reasonably priced to
By Nick
Australia
PowerPRO
June 10, 2013
Packs on really tight and the colour doesnt fade over time
By Nick
Dorchester, MA
Excellent Line
June 8, 2013
One of the best line i used so far. Smooth and slick
By Luke
NC
Using for shakey head fishing perfect !
June 7, 2013
Cast farther with 1/8jig head .. Great line no problems and found the fish ... Good day great line!
ProsCast great .. Smoother than other braid .. Hooked!
Cons0
By Fishsticks C.
Martha's Vineyard, MA
Quieter than regular Power Pro
May 27, 2013
I spooled this line on the four Calcuttas that I use for everything from fluking to jigging for sea bass to chunking for striped bass. It feels nice, handles well, has all the great qualities of regular PowerPro line, and is much quieter going through the guides.
By Chris
Milton, New York
Excellent line
April 12, 2013
Love this line. Does not bind or sing like original power pro.
By João C.
são bernardo do campo, Brasil
powerpro slick
March 22, 2013
Longlife, fishing every week in saltwater.
Prosreliability. supports the value indicated
By Tsung T.
Taiwan,R.O.C.
terrific!
March 8, 2013
I will come back to this site regularly just for this
By Tsung T.
Taiwan,R.O.C.
terrific!
March 8, 2013
I will come back to this site regularly just for this
By Richard
Harare, Mashonaland
Amazing line
February 14, 2013
Power Pro Super Slick is the finest line I have used . I have found it to be very strong ,does not tangle or knot or curl ,casting is a dream . I fish in high weed conditions and have not had it break once . Make sure you have the drag set or you will break your rod when you get the big one, that is how strong this line is.. In clear water I use a no vis leader and found I get more bites .
By Mohamed H.
Sharjah, Sharjah
sleek line
January 19, 2013
sleek as expected
Prossleek as expected
By Tsung T.
Taiwan,R.O.C.
will definately buy it again
December 17, 2012
I will come back to this site regularly just for this
By Maza
Finland
Excellent line
December 1, 2012
Excellent line for Jerkbait fishing.
ProsColour
By Tang C.
Taiwan
I will come back to this site regularly just for this
November 13, 2012
excellent deal!
By Michael
Houston, TX
This line is "Slick"
November 10, 2012
I ordered this 1500 yard spool of 65# test for my Finn-Nor off shore spinners. This line is great!. I made a reel spooler and spooled it under about 15-20# of tension packed nice. Before spooling I backed each reel with electrical tape worked like a champ. This line cast much better than mono and no wind knots. Power pro has a good web site with all the info you need to learn knots and spooling specific needs for this line . I use this line in lighter weight for my lighter spinning reels and bait caster.
ProsCasting, strength, spool packing
ConsNone so far
By Tsung C.
Taiwan,R.O.C., Taiwan,R.O.C.
terrific!
November 10, 2012
Would highly recommend this for any fishing experts out there
By Jwp
Nj
Nice n smooth
November 5, 2012
great stuff
By Michael
Houston, Texas-USA
Super Slick line
November 4, 2012
I bought two (2) spools of 30# x 300. Replaced the 20# mono on my penn 5000 spinner and my 34 year old ambassador 6000. This line is great!. I made a reel spooler and spooled it under about 15-20# of tension packed nice. Before spooling I backed each reel with electrical tape worked like a champ. This line cast much better than mono and no wind knots. Power pro has a good web site with all the info you need to learn knots and spooling. I ordered a 1500 a spool of 65# test for my Finn-Nor off shore spinners.
ProsCasting, strength packing
Consnon so far
By Brian W.
Alexandria, Virginia
Smooth Line.......
October 28, 2012
I first got super slick when it was first released. To be honest I did not love it. Most of my reels are spooled with #50 power pro so the waxiness of the super slick was an adjustment. But honestly this is super smooth braid. It cast effortlessly and is easy to work with. Tying knots is much easier than standard braid. I use a #20 fluorocarbon and I have been snagged and the flouro will snap in half before the knot ever thinks about slipping. I was afraid of that due to the waxiness of the line. I love it on my Calcutta 400 TE and 400 bsv as well as many others. The marine blue is great hi viz as well. #40 lb marine blue is my go to line from snakeheads and blue cats to stripers and blues.
ProsSmoothness , quit, easy for knots, hi viz
By Justin
Annandale, NJ
Slick indeed!
October 16, 2012
This is the first time using this line and I am very satisfied. Strong as the original yet casts a great distance further. I was concerned that my knots would not hold as well due to how slick this line is, but they hold up just fine. Great stuff.
ProsStrong Slick! Great array of colors Durable
By buddyclaude
Gulf Breeze, FL
powerpro-super-slick-braided-line-65lb-1500yds
August 27, 2012
I used this to replace a braid from a tuff competitor as it was too waxy, sticking together on the spinning reel spool, degrading casting. This product has a wax like coating but is thinner and much less sticky. It is nicely limp and my casts using a 90 g lure increased by 15-20 feet (about a 5-10% increase). The blue color does not bleed on fingers etc
Prosthin, not sticky compared to other brand. Strong, low stretch as with most braided line. Stable blue color

Page 5 of 6
5