4.6
81 Reviews
5
72% (58)
4
23% (19)
3
2% (2)
2
1% (1)
1
1% (1)
98% Recommend this product (79 of 81 responses)
By Brian
Phila, PA
Excellent
March 6, 2020
Excellent reel at an excellent price. Does the job for me from boat, jetty, beach. No complaints.
ProsIt fits my budget and my fishing habit.
ConsNone so far.
By Michael
Sarasota, FL
Didn't Last
December 16, 2019
Bought this item last year for myself as a Christmas gift to Me and unfortunately it didn't last a year. Just this past weekend, I was reeling in a 5lb fish and the gears started slipping. I figured it might be an easily replaceable plastic gear in the cranking handle area, so the next day I took it apart. I'll admit i was relieved to see the gears were not plastic, however I found that the main spiraling piston gear on the main shaft lost most of its upper gears/screw-turns and this was causing the slippage I was feeling when reeling in the fish the previous day. I looked for the replacement part on the schematic for this reel but it cost $15.99, before shipping and taxes. Considering I paid $19.95 for the reel at purchase, it really isn't worth me taking it apart anymore to fix it myself.
ProsLooks nice, and runs smooth when it was working
ConsDidn't last, and I wish it had a clicker when the drag was being pulled out. It seems like only my Penn spinning reels do that though. It's just nice to know you are getting taken out with line when you have a rod in a rod holder and have a drag set lite.
By CharlieD
Kissimmee Florida
Smooth as glass
November 8, 2019
been out saltwater fishing like 5-7 times with these reels and I couldn't be happier. I always was & lube after each use and always work like new.
Prosbest bang for your buck
ConsNa
By Russ
Tampa FL
Great reel @ great price
October 29, 2019
Used it to haul is some fish already and seems to be holding up fine . Gotta really crank down the drag when needed tho.
ProsVery nice looking . Matched up with my rods beautifully.
ConsNot sure how long it will last.
By john n.
Maryland
Totally Impressed
October 29, 2019
I bought the first one because it was only $20. I did not expect much from a zebco spinning reel, but was I ever wrong. This reel is smooth and solid. After using it for about a month, I bought 2 more and outfitted two of my lighter surf rods with them. I have not caught anything huge yet, just a few rays and couple of catfish, one about 10 pounds, but the reels performed flawlessly. They retrieve 37" of line per turn of the handle. A huge plus when cranking fast moving surf baits. I like them so much that I now own 6 of them. I have them set up with 8 to 30# lines and use them for just about everything. I have one set up for steelhead this spring. Cannot wait. Strongly recommend these reels. I have them on an 8' ugly stick, on two 10' sea lion rods and on 2 10' diawa rods. My ugly stick pairing is my go to set up for casting lures. The others are all rigged for live bait or cut bait. I am looking for a 12' rod light enough for this reel to feel balanced.
Prossmooth bearings quick retrieve smooth drag zero movement on the anti-reverse light weight handles saltwater well decent line capacity $20
ConsI wish that they sold one for a similar price, that was just one size bigger. I want more line capacity and a little more drag for heavier saltwater species like sharks.
By Leonardo
Doral, FL
Great reel
October 23, 2019
Very good reel for the price, I'm using it for pier fishing on saltwater and it's holding ok. I opened one for service and it's well lubricated. With proper care I can see this reel lasting for many years. At $20 it's a real steal.
ProsSmooth. Aluminum frame (strong). Came well lubricated. Quiet drag. $20.
ConsA little on the heavy side. (I prefer it that way for saltwater use, pier and surf fishing).
By Derek
Ohio
Just OK
October 15, 2019
It works but nothing special. Not near as smooth as you would expect for having "11 " bearings.
By LUIS
Lakewood, NJ
Nice Reel for the price!
October 8, 2019
very nice reel for tackle small to medium size fish very smooth too.
By Ronnie
Lubbock Tx
A very good reel
October 3, 2019
The price was great fast shipping and shipping rate was good and it got here fast
By PEL
Gulfport, Ms.
great price
September 19, 2019
So far so good. I use this reel to cast popping corks for salt water fishing . It was handling a jack crevalles until my braid broke from the mono backing. Landed some good size reds and yesterday a good size flounder with this reel. Landed a bunch of small specks and white trout without any problems.
By George D.
Florida
GREAT REEL FOR THE MONEY!
September 12, 2019
CASTS AND REELS IN FAST(36"/TURN). DRAG AND CENTER ROD IS LIKE A $50 DOLLAR REEL. EVERYTHING ELSE IS LIKE A REEL OVER $100. UNBELIEVABLE REEL FOR $20 DOLLARS. I HAVE HAD NO PROBLEMS THROWING A 180 WHOPPER PLOPPER AND RETRIEVING IT AND KEEPING MY FISH AWAY FROM THE LAKES TAME FISH EATING ALLIGATORS !
ProsEVERYTHING
ConsCENTERPOST RATTLE WITH RAPID RETRIEVE OF 1 OZ LIPLESS CRANKBAIT!
By Chuck D.
Clayton, NC
Smooth and Did the Job!
September 12, 2019
Easy to cast and lightweight. Did not disappoint, and saltwater did not cause any issues. Rinsed and still smooth.
By Wayne
Lewes Delaware
This reel at this price is amazing.
September 11, 2019
I purchased 5 of these reels for fishing rods that I made. The rods are 4'6" and made for 15-20 LBS test and 1 -4oz lures. I matched these reels to them and the rod is perfectly balanced. I put 20lb braid on them and fished them over the labor day weekend. The results were great we caught Flatties and Blacksea Bass. The reels were smooth and with the 14 lb drag system did a great job of landing our catches!
ProsSmooth operation well crafted can handle the salt environment reverse release switch will hold 300 yards of braid
Consnone
By Todd
Holly Pond, Alabama
Great reel at an even better price
September 4, 2019
This reel is very smooth, haven't caught anything big yet, but hoping to soon. Fast shipping and great price. Will be doing business again soon with Tackledirect!!!
By Mike
Southeast Arkansas
Light as a feather
September 4, 2019
Good long casts and it is so light you can barely tell it is on your rod. I bought a pair when they went on sale and was so impressed with those i purchased another pair. It's a good reel for the price whether you're an experienced angler or a beginner.
ProsLight, good casts with line rated 1-15 lbs
ConsNone yet so far
By Robin L.
Texas
Great Buy
September 4, 2019
I was looking for extra reels to keep in my boat house for quests to use. Ordered 1, then ordered a second one. It's sturdy, well made. Perfect!!!
By Tony
Los Angeles
Working good
August 26, 2019
I've used it couple times so far and it feels good. Smooth , lite weight and strong ..
By Mahmoud
Portland, OR
Good Quality
August 26, 2019
good price for good quality
By Joseph M.
Totowa, NJ
Money Well Spent!
August 21, 2019
Purchased this to use as my backup reel but I use it more than my primary setup. Can't go wrong for the price. Reel is super smooth - Very pleases with my purchase.
ProsPrice Performance Price
ConsNothing yet....
By Jako M.
Parkland, FL
Great for Pier Fishing
August 15, 2019
Great for pier fishing had on a dead mullet on the bottom and a shark or ray missed the hook by an inch i have it spooled with 40lb braid backing and 15lb mono top shot
By Chuck D.
Clayton, NC
Smooth and light
July 29, 2019
Nope, not describing a refreshing beer but rather the TH50 reel from Quantum. Everything looks good, is tight, and looks ready to fish. Though not technically marked as a saltwater reel, it doesn't appear any less durable than a Penn Fierce or Penn Pursuit. So, my plan is to keep it coated with WD40 and will mist it after using in saltwater. This reel is smooth, cannot feel any resistance when reeling. I am pleased, it's my first venture into the Zebco/Quantum family of reels. Holds a bunch of line, and if you're running braid, the band on the reel eliminates the need for a backer. The handle grip is not oversized like you would see on traditional saltwater reels, but if that's the only thing I need to overlook then I'm ok. The price is hard to beat also, at $19.95 if the thing craps out, it's not a huge investment. I think freshwater catfishing, inshore for drum, striper and sheepshead, to light surf that this reel will be find in all the various applications. With 14 lbs of drag, you may be fighting bigger fish longer, but the oiled felt drag should do the job. Get one before they're gone....it doesn't appear that the Throttle II has a 5-series. So this may be a good chance to purchase $60 quality at a discount with advanced features, capable line capacity, and light weight for this class of reel. This is not a Stella or a Torque, but if you're on a budget and you need to sneak an extra reel without the wife noticing, this is an excellent choice.
ProsLight weight, line capacity, smoothness
ConsHandle grip is small for salt applications
By Faz
Bronx, NY
Best value for money.
July 20, 2019
Build quality is really good. Nice and smooth reel. Happy with the purchase.
By Ernest
Philadelphia
Great for the price
July 10, 2019
Seems really smooth
By David
NY
Excellent reel for the price
July 9, 2019
smooth, nice reel
By Maryann
California
TH50 Throttle Spinning Reed
July 8, 2019
It's a great spinning reel for the price. No issues with using it.
By Myles
Savannah Ga
Love reel so far inshore
July 5, 2019
What a deal! Bought two put 20lb braid and landed two of my biggest seatrout with ease. Works just fine very smooth and very light in weight.
ProsLight weight
ConsDo not have any as of yet
By Rob
03060
Already caught a striper
July 3, 2019
Nice real. Great sale.
ProsCheap enough to allow others to use and not worry about. Nice enough to use myself.
ConsNone
By Robert
CRISFIELD, MD
Great Price On a Quality Reel
July 3, 2019
Fantastic back up reel.
By Kerry G.
MI
Very good
June 30, 2019
For the price there very good
By REDOAK
Statesville, North Carolina
Quantum TH50 Throttle
June 23, 2019
I've not used this reel so far. But I am looking forward to using this reel soon. The new design and materials used will allow me to use this reel for many years. I have an extensive background in mechanical devices and this far exceeds what I have purchased in the past. I will most likely recommend and I'll also be adding another one to my arsenal.
By Jim
Lincoln Ne.
quantum fishing reel
June 23, 2019
It was a present for my son and he likes it very much.
By Capt C.
Florida
Nothing Better on the Market for the Price!
June 23, 2019
If you can find any reel as capable and well built as this on the Market, Buy It, because I should have bought 3 or 4 at this price! There are only a few good fishing products made in China, This One of Them! Capt. Cas
ProsQuality for Price!
ConsHaven't had it long enough to work the bail and bearing hard enough, but for this price, I'll through it away and buy another brand new one!
By Bob
Seattle wash
Quantum throdle 50
June 23, 2019
Great reel for the price nice smooth working reel plan to fish the rivers for siliver sLon up here northwest
ProsSmooth drag can't beat it
ConsNone
By Russell
South America
Excellent buy
June 22, 2019
Great reel at affordable price
By Ronald K.
GA
Very smooth,
June 20, 2019
Great smooth reel.
Prossmooth great value
Consnone
By henry c.
Miami Florida
Quantum
June 19, 2019
The Quantum throttle spinning reel does not disappoint. Sturdy durable and well made.I use for patch reef fishing,Yellowtail and even for pitch baiting for Dolphin.Awesome reel.
ProsDurable and fast.
ConsI need two more.
By Dale Y.
Nc
Excellent product
June 19, 2019
Very well built reel I used it for muskie fishing trip caught a 48 inch reel stood it's ground no problem the price you can't find it cheaper.....5 stars
ProsBraid works very well on it ..
ConsCouldn't find any problem with quality or performance...
By Leeman
Low country South Carolina
Bargain reel
June 18, 2019
This is a tight spinning reel. Drag performs well. I spooled 300 yards of 30# power pro on each of the two reels I bought and paired it up with cadence spinning rods. Makes two great combos for under a $200.
ProsGood braid capacity. Good bargain reel.
By Randal B.
FL
Good reel for the money
June 18, 2019
Terrific for Yellowtail and trout
ProsInexpensive, smooth, and great drag
ConsNot lubricated from factory -- need to lue
By Crom89
Texas
Good solid reel
June 17, 2019
I lined it 25lb. Stren and put it on a 7 ft. Spinning rod. I used a 6oz. Sinker and cut mullet to surf fish with 20mph wind coming at me. I was able to make decent cast about 50 yards against the wind and surf. My only complaint would be that it needs a stronger drag. I suggest a longer pole too.
ProsGood casting Smooth reeling
ConsI would like a stronger drag.
By Dave T.
Richmond,Va
SWEET REEL
June 17, 2019
I called my old boss & he bought one too & loves it~!
By Tiffany
NJ
Nice reel
June 14, 2019
I bought a couple of these when they are on sale and my fiance really likes them. They are not extremely heavy duty but they are enough. They work very well. I will continue to buy these in the future.
By William p.
Meridian MS.
Great spinning reels.
June 7, 2019
I own at least 40 spinning reels. These quantum throttle 50's are awesome. These reels feel so smooth when casting and reeling in. Took these on a 5 day fishing trip and left my normally used reels packed. I have paid a lot more for most of my other reels and now these reels will be my favorites. I highly reccomend the reels. I just ordered 2 more. Thanks Tackle Direct.
ProsVery smooth casting. Comfortable in the hand. It was a pleasure to use. Very quiet.
ConsNone
By Max
Emmett, Idaho
What a deal
June 7, 2019
I purchased this on sale for $20 with low expectations. Thanks to tackle direct, I recieved it very fast, and in perfect condition. Reel seems excellent for the price I payed. It doesnt have some of the nicer features you will find on a shimano, but it competes right along with my Sahara 3000fe. Very satisfied.
ProsSmooth. Large capacity. Good drag system.
ConsSingle piece non adjustable handle.
By Jong
Columbia MD
Very good
May 28, 2019
This reel is very good.
By Jason
Mississippi
Good deal
May 26, 2019
Smooth and a great deal for specks an red.
By john
Boston
Great value
May 25, 2019
I bought this reel to use as a back up and am very pleased with it. Appears to well made everything tite very smooth. Have caught a few small schoolie stripers with no issues, very smooth. I just noticed this reel on sale even cheaper, I am going to buy another one.
Pros11 ball bearings, very smooth, THE PRICE !
ConsNone yet time will tell.
By Sean
NY
Great reel for the price
May 1, 2019
This is a great reel for the price, I use it primarily for king salmon fishing and it performs great against long runs.
By Daniel
Monticello new york
Throttle is an awesome reel
April 7, 2019
Best spinning reel on the market smooth drag large spool
ProsLasts forever
ConsYou get very tired from catching to many fish lol
By Mark
Tampa
So far so good
April 5, 2019
Great price
By JUAN S.
Port Saint Lucie Florida
Great product great price
April 4, 2019
Good quality for the price
By Chad
Mount Dora, Florida
Smooth
April 3, 2019
Have not used this reel yet but looks well built and is very smooth.
By Jason E.
California
nice reel
April 1, 2019
simple and effective
By Pete
Sacramento
Excellent Reel
April 1, 2019
This is an excellent reel for the money. I would have given it five stars but haven’t had it long enough to know durability.
ProsExcellent reel for the money
ConsNone known at this time
By Jon
Maryland
Appears to be a good deal
March 22, 2019
Bought 10 to use for chumming/ live lining for strippers/ Rockfish will need to revisit after this summer
By bebop
Huntingdon PA
GREAT REEL!!!!!
March 10, 2019
Smooth operating reel!!!! Worth every penny!!!!!!!
ConsNONE
By J P.
New Windsor MD
Great buy!
March 7, 2019
Bought TH 40 & TH 50 GREAT pair up!!
By J P.
New Windsor MD
Great buy!
March 7, 2019
Ideally the best buy for the lowbuget fishermen 😁
By Pete
PA
Will rate again
March 6, 2019
Gave a three only because I haven't used it yet (-1 star), and I'm not sure if the drag should sound so low or not (-1 more star). For the price, I'd probably buy this reel again because it actually is a pretty nice reel for a spare, back up, or knock-around reel. I'll try to give an update review after using it.
ProsPrice Feels strong Looks great
ConsDrag sound is very low (possibly a defect) Handle doesn't fold
By Daniel
Lancaster, VA
Great reel for the price
March 3, 2019
Used reel for bass fishing on 3 trips, no problems. Reel is smooth and solidly built. Pulled in multiple 3to 4 lb bass with ease
ProsBuilt solid, great price
By Jose M.
York,Maine
throttle reel
March 2, 2019
I purchased this reel and still have not put too use as its still cold and snowing in maine. But like all my quantum reels i already own i know i wont be disappointed.. just wish it was spring so i can start my fishing season...Thanks Tackle Direct....
By Altin
Massachusetts
Quality over the Price
March 2, 2019
For 10+1 Berring reel $24,99 not ez to beat Quantium Throttle give channce try and leave your coment back
By Alexander S.
NYC
Cant beat the price for the power
February 28, 2019
Use this for flounder fishing and bass at night, holding up great so far only been fishing it for about a year.
By Christopher
, Milton FL
Better than penn
February 27, 2019
I do rod and reel repair a man brought me one to Clean and grease I liked it so I ordered one best reel I have ever bought sold all my penns only have quantum now better cost wise and all
By Stregis
Canada
Great value with 10+1 bb
February 26, 2019
I bought this because of the Quantum name and sale price. When received I saw the high quality. Runs smooth and strong. Great drag and reverse function which I know few want anymore but this old timer thinks its great. Working part-time to have a Stella but this is great.
ProsFlawless reverse button well positioned
ConsReverse button is plastic.
By Sean H.
FL - Florida
Great Reel of the $$$
February 26, 2019
I've used this reel to catch 14 in trout , up to a 35 lb amberjack. Great drag, super smooth, and for the price ?? come on !! this was a great buy !!
ProsDrag Rugged Smooth
Consa little heavy
By Joey B.
Houston Tx 77037
Great reel
February 24, 2019
Bad bad real for the price ,,, Bad meaning good,,
By Ruben
Jacksonville, FL
Solid Reel
February 22, 2019
Nice solid, smooth reels. I use it for saltwater. I wish it would of came with an oval handle.
By Travis
Cozad Nebraska
Quantum TH50 Spinning Reel
February 17, 2019
Quantum makes a quality product for a low valued spinning reel. A very smooth reel and enjoy using it all day when I am on the water.
By Richie
Royal palm beach, FL
Great inshore reel
February 1, 2019
These reel are great for inshore fishing and they are at a great price
By Richie
Royal palm beach, FL
Great reel
February 1, 2019
These are great reels for your money
By Mostafa N.
ALEXANDRIA , EGYPT
great design reel
January 31, 2019
thanks to quantum for perfect design and more thanks to tackle direct for far prices i used this reel for lure salt water casting it is just for the jop
By Henry A.
IL
Great reel.
January 13, 2019
Very nice reel for the money very smooth would buy again.
By Ada
Winter springs, Florida
Nice reel
January 2, 2019
On first Day caught a shark, great reel handles nice.
By George H.
Miami, Florida
Great reel for the price
January 1, 2019
Love this reel. I use it for inshore and it’s always on point
By Henry A.
IL
Nice reel.
December 27, 2018
Happy with this reel very smooth well made would buy again.
ConsNone.
By Dave
Pasadena
Smooth drag
December 22, 2018
I haven't fished it yet but did put line on it and it casted and operated very smoothly. I anticipate to be happy with this reel although time will tell how it holds up in brackish water.
ProsCast great smooth operation and drag.
By Howard R.
New Jersey
Good basic reel
December 21, 2018
So far so good. Its a good basic inexpensive reel. No frills and less add on's to break. I wish I had a chance to fish it more before the requested review. I purchased several for the people I invite to fish on my boat to use. Therefore the simpler the better.
ProsBasic reel- smooth operation - drag seems smooth simple operation Not a lot of unneeded stuff Easy for newbys to use
By Capt W.
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Quantum TH50 Reel
December 20, 2018
I purchased this reel to replace one that a relative managed to destroy when I took him fishing. For the price it is a good value. I spooled it up with 20 yards of mono backing, 125 yards of 14 lb. braid and a long fluorocarbon leader. This is used for salt water fishing, basically casting and general use. So far, so good.
ProsPrice Capacity
ConsBail is a bit tight and may loosen up with use.
By Jessie
nj
.We use these for pier fishing all the time.
December 13, 2018
My buddy has three of them, and seeing as how i do most of my fishing from off a boat, and how if i buy another reel my girlfriend might disown me, i use his every once in a while. I have a couple of Penn spinners, but it disappoints me to say the Penns take a lot of maintenance. I have used both his cheaper model from a different store more tuned to freshwater and they have worked great.
By Christopher D.
North Bay,Ontario
Inshore 10 Walleye in less then 20 Minutes.
October 27, 2017
A friend of mine gave me this spinning reel to try.It was the most comfortable and smooth spinning reel i have ever used in about 15 years. We do a lot of Inshore and off shore fishing.This is not only good reel for first timers,but also a reel for advanced and pro's alike. It kills the higher end reels with the right Jerkbait like the 128 Jackle line. My friend and i in Northern Ontario caught 40 Walleye between us in under an hour. Looking forward in the new line of Quantum Reels for 2017-18. A++++++++++++
Consn/a

Page 1 of 1