4.6
46 Reviews
5
72% (33)
4
24% (11)
3
2% (1)
2
0% (0)
1
2% (1)
98% Recommend this product (45 of 46 responses)
By Sean
CONOVER, NC
90 works best for me
July 9, 2020
I also have two of the bigger models but no luck on them.
By Chad
EAST WAKEFIELD, NH
Draws violent typesetter strikes
May 6, 2020
Absolutely killer bait for catching big largemouth and smallmouth. Draws up some of the most violent typesetter strikes I've seen. They flat out destroy them! The 130 had produced some very large bass for be here in the Northeast.
ProsGreat quality components Only upgrade needed im is a Spring power swivel to stop line twist
ConsTwist line if you don't have swivel
By Cobb
Glenmoore, PA
Good bass lure
May 5, 2020
Great to use for bass and fun to watch them eat
By John
Carrollton, TX
Pure savage
April 20, 2020
Bass absolutely destroy it. I have heard countless numbers of people loving this bait.
By Jack
,
Excellent bait
April 11, 2020
My new favorite top water bait
By Joey
New jersey
Great and unique
March 25, 2020
Love the unique design of this lure. Fish can't resist the action but the pricetag is definitely on the higher end for lures in this market.
By Charlie
Newfields, NH
Whopper Plopper 90
March 7, 2020
I have had this lure for about a year and it has blown me away. The tail creates the noise and splash of an injured baitfish near the surface, drawing in bass. So far I have caught small and largemouth bass. This thing works well in clear and murky water from prespawn until late fall (Im in northern New Egland so it varies depending on where you live). I have gone out and bought 3 more in varying colors all work well.
Pros-very effective -splashes -rattles -variety of size and color.
Consif you are using a baitcaster it is fairly heavy so be mindful of backlash.
By Brent
Alton, IL
Good blowups
February 17, 2020
I like the whopper plopper it get some hellacious topwater blow ups! I wished they made a chrome colored one to mimic a minnow
By Mike
Cortland, OH
All the benefits and less bulky
August 5, 2019
Still the same great action as the larger ones without the finicky retrieve of the WP90 (which I have not experienced but have heard complaints about constantly). Thit functions great, has good fit and finish and sharp hooks. Hard to complain.
Pros-Less bulky than the its big brothers while being as simple to operate. I prefer this as I live in OH and we just don't have the monsters that they have down south. -Less expensive than other WPs -Good F&F -Consistent action
Cons-None
By Caro
Miramichi, canada
Very good for striped bass in shallow water
June 1, 2019
Very good for striped bass in shallow water ( 5 to 10 feet)
By Dylan
NC
Good size
May 19, 2019
Better for smaller setups but still catches big bass!
By Dylan
NC
Good size
May 19, 2019
Better for smaller fish and smaller gear setups but still has good action in the water
By Dylan
Elon
Favorite color
May 19, 2019
My favorite color for summer bass fishing. Great lure!
By Dylan
Elon
Good size
May 19, 2019
One of my favorite colors to use and is the perfect size/weight for my setup
By SC
Oklahoma
Plop plop plop plop boooooom!
April 7, 2019
The best prop style top water bait ever! No debate whatsoever. The bait will give you tales to tell. Dont know whats going to blow up on it. Hooks are sharp and strong out of the box but in my experience, seems to rust fast along with the split rings. I recommend the 110 and 130.
ConsHooks and split rings rust too fast in freshwater use
By Jonathan
Miami, FL
Good one for top-surface hunters
February 20, 2019
It has performed pretty good here at Costa Rica rivers for fish that hunts at the top surface, looking for insects.
ProsStable and excellent action
ConsIt needs maintenance for make sure there is no garbage and weed in the rotational tail
By Greg
Ohio
Whopper plopper
December 20, 2018
Received quickly and undamaged We have had a lot of rain and the river was high and fast moving but I had to tie it on and try it out. Evan in strong current you could see and here the plop. Can’t Waite to try it in better conditions. I will add to the review when the weather changes
By Doug
South Jersey
The best topwater lure
November 23, 2018
I've caught more on these, than all other topwater lures combined. Highly recommend, but wish the hooks were more resistant to rust from saltwater.
By Doug
South Jersey
The best topwater lures
November 23, 2018
These are expensive but work better than any other topwater lures I have used. Only wish that they would come with hooks that hold up better to saltwater... especially at the premium price.
By Ray
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Good stuff
October 21, 2018
Caught quite the few fishes. Great product
By TonyF
Farmingdale, NY
Great lure
September 26, 2018
I just found out about this lure last year and am very glad I did. I have used the bone and Loon color lures with success. It makes a nice disturbance as it's reeled in and attracts any fish that is near it. So far I have only used this at night.
By Mike
Bean town
Broke
September 2, 2018
Was broke and sinks when I cast it
ProsIf worked
ConsThrew away
By James S.
GA
One of the best topwater lures out there
August 31, 2018
Outstanding top water lure. Easy to fish and very effective
ProsIt catches fish
By James S.
GA
Great lure
August 31, 2018
Excellent topwater lure. The Loon color works great at any time of day or night
ProsCasts well, catches fish
ConsNone
By James S.
GA
Great addition to the WP line
August 31, 2018
A bit shorter and fatter than it's cousin the size 90, but it plops louder and for the entire retieve
ProsCasts a long distance, nice loud plopping sound
ConsNone
By James S.
GA
Plops louder than the size 90 model
August 31, 2018
Another great Wopper Plopper. Casts a country mile and gives a nice loud plopping sound for the entire retrieve.
ProsCasts great, nice loud plopper sounds
ConsNone
By Riyaz
Lusaka
Topwater madness
August 30, 2018
I think the 110 is the perfect size . Can fish this all day and produces results all the time 👍easy to work
ProsEasy to work Durable Great action Good hooks
By Riyaz
Lusaka
Deadly
August 30, 2018
Just received this item and the action is amazing 👌🏻 Small, compact and makes a hell lot of noise. Definitely going to drive the fish crazy
ProsCompact Good hooks
By Alex
Canaan, New Hampshire
Awesome top water bait
August 23, 2018
Right out of the package I caught three decent sized bass over 1lb in an hour with this plopper I own the 90 size also and the 75 in my opinion works better for where I fish
By Kadyn
,
Great Bait!
August 4, 2018
Good product produces lots of noise on the top of the water.
ProsCatches quality fish!
Consthe treble hooks are bad when you have to unhook the fish you catch.
By Mark
, NH
good bait
July 14, 2018
Productive bait, thought the 90's have a tendency to spin (the hole body rather than just the tail( and the price is double what it should be
By Jimmy
Texarkana, AR
Whopper Plopper 110
February 8, 2018
What can I say. I'm a buzzbait addict. I'll throw one any time the water is above 60 degrees. The Whopper Plopper, while technically not a buzzbait, is the lure I throw when they're short striking or swirling on a buzzbait. Throw it out past the strikezone, crank it a few feet, and let it sit right on top of the target, crank it again, and they'll kill it. Drives the fish nuts. I had 3 fish over 6 pounds this past season on a Monkey Butt and a Terminator. Can't wait until Spring.
ProsGreat action Durable Gets the bites
ConsNeed one in a Natural bream color.
By Jon
New Canaan, CT
Killer surface action
August 10, 2017
Creates a small wake that fish can't turn down. A must for your topwater collection
By Ethan
Nacogdoches,Texas
Good action
July 16, 2017
Make a lot of noise and will catch the fish
By Bill
Canton, Ohio
Get one
July 13, 2017
Was a bit skeptical about buying this bait, read a bunch of reviews, knew it was big on the circuits so I purchased one. Has been my big bass go to lure all season long. Very easy to fish and versatile too. Wind, chug, jerk etc, there is no wrong way to fish it. Bass just crush this thing! If you're not fishing this lure, you're missing some great bass fishing! Highly recommend!
ProsEase of use.
ConsNone so far.
By Heyward
AL
Awesome Top Water Bait
October 20, 2016
An amazing top water bait. Caught two fish with it in first 5 minutes of using it. The first fish weighed 5 lbs 11 ozs (in the picture). You can present this bait in many different ways, slow roll, jerks, buzzing it, popping, etc. I have gone fishing 3 more times with it and every time, it was the bait that I used when nothing else worked. It caught fish when nothing else did. It is very effective around cover. I use it mainly to fish in and around submerged hydrilla. I find the pop and pause presentation the killer. When I pause, I still gently move bait to allow the tail to slowly spin. It takes very little to make tail slowly spin while bait is virtually still. Love the bait, but you still have to find the fish! But if you find them, they will hit this bait!
ProsVersatility of presentation even though it's basically a buzz bait. You can make the bait make many different sounds and looks.
ConsWish it had an in between size. The 1/2 oz is great, and I like the 1 3/8 oz, but it just seems a big jump in size. One in the middle would be perfect..
By RG
Ga
Whopper Plopper 90
October 15, 2016
Catches FISH!!!!!
Cons130 to big, 90 to small, need something in between?
By Chris
Rhode Island
Fun lure
August 10, 2016
I have been fishing the plopper for a few weeks now, and it is a great lure. I have not been catching numbers of fish, but I have been catching bigger fish. I have caught a 4.5, a 5.75, and multiple 2.5-3 lb bass. Fun ti fish with aggressive strikes.
By Viktor J.
Howell MI.
Noisy Seducer
July 5, 2016
My experience with this item is very limited. So please take the following information with a grain of salt. I purchased both sizes and can honestly say, that these items certainly do attract large mouth bass. In our rather small lake (16 acres) there are bass present, that exceed 22 inches in length. This is a rather loud lure, that does attract fish. However, the Whopper Plooper should be fished slowly and carefully, because of it's great ability to project sound. If used with excessive force, it can actually scare bass away. I have not at this time tested this product at night. But can honestly see great possibilities in attracting large bass on a moonlit nights, or in (almost) total darkness.Since the Whooper Popper can be heard hard at task even at considerable distances. I feel this lure could be great asset for fishing pike or muskies, which are attracted to fast, loud moving objects. None which are present in our small lake.
ProsGreat fish attention seducer. Very well made. Cast reasonably well. Price not excessive for what the consumer receives. Very strong construction and nicely finished. Good thought out product! I like it!
ConsWould like to see it available in more colors. My favorite "Yum Yum Yellow!"
By Kenneth L.
Quakertown, PA
Great Lures and Great Price!
June 19, 2016
Hey these come from the King of Big Fish L. Delberg, how can you go wrong. I want to use these for the Fall run.
By Anthony
Manasquan, NJ 08736
Best Topwater Lure Made.
November 19, 2015
Amazing action, It makes you laugh how much water it throws off the back tail. Caught 2-30lb Stripers on the all black version 11-12-2015 (1) mile off the beach in NJ..Also you don't lose fish..The hooks are razor sharp and super strong it was developed for 70lb muskies.
Prosfloats. I have also trolled it behind the boat for fish..looks like a great tuna lure.
Consnot enough colors. need hot pink, and solid flor yellow.
By Justin M.
neosho mo
plopper
November 8, 2015
Very durable and does catch fish. Very good sound.
By Don B.
Shell Knob, MO
Great service.
October 31, 2015
I needed this bait for a fishing trip with short notice. Got the lures and caught fish to. Thanks TD. I will order again.
ProsI couldn't drive to the biggest chain store and got it any quicker.
By Chris B.
Chester New york
Whopper Plopper 130
October 28, 2015
Great top water action. Causes a big commotion whether ripped or slow retrieve. Had bass from 3-4 lbs and one that lure was bigger than hit this thing.
Proslove the racket this lure causes.
Consnone as of yet
By Brian m.
South Carolina
Striper
October 4, 2015
Works good on striper on top water
By Db
new york, NY
small popper
May 9, 2015
It is vry small poper. actually this is jerkbait than poper. slow retrive make great action on this lure that is why I call it jerkbaut than popper

Page 1 of 1