4.9
54 Reviews
5
93% (50)
4
7% (4)
3
0% (0)
2
0% (0)
1
0% (0)
100% Recommend this product (54 of 54 responses)
By Luis A.
CIUDAD DEL CARMEN, CAMPECHE
facil de usar ( Easy to use)
August 9, 2022
es un carrete que facilita lanzar se?uelos a larga distancia, sin embargo no debes de confiarte de que no se haran nudos. (It is a reel that makes it easy to cast lures at long distances, however you should not trust that knots will not be made.)
Prosla asistencia DC para lanzar ligero capacidad de linea (DC assistance to launch light line capacity)
Consel poder de arrastre (drag power)
By Michael
Georgia Mountains
Nice Baitcaster
July 19, 2022
This is a nice baitcast reel and I really can't add anything new to all of the other reviews. This is my first DC reel and I will probably only buy these in the future.
ProsUser friendly
ConsCan give an impression that birds nest can't occur. Can also mess your casting reel form up if not careful.
By Gerardo
Montevideo, Uruguay
Super super smooth
June 20, 2022
Just test it and performs GREAT. I also use a Shimano SLX DC (same size and gear) and can't find differences. May be the Curado is made with better componentes, but that will be notice it several years form now.
By Josh
Campbellsvlle, KY
Quality
April 13, 2022
As would be expected from Shimano. quality!
By Thomas
New Jersey
Best Casting Reel
February 1, 2022
This reel with the DC chip is UNBEATABLE. Highly recommend this reel if you have the cash.
By Joseph
NJ
Curado DC
December 21, 2021
Awesome reel! One of my favorite reels to use in my arsenal. DC tech is hard to beat for most anglers.
By nicolas
Armenia, ColombiA
Just amazing
September 15, 2021
Everything about this reel is amazing, the dc technology allows the angler to really push the limits. I have use it for peacock bass and it worked great.
ProsDc technology Smooth drag Smooth retrieve
ConsNone
By Allen
Gallatin, TN
Amazing!
September 9, 2021
By far my most favorite real ever. If you don’t mind the price tag, it is so worth it. Smooth as silk and the dc keeps the birds nest away. Can’t beat it!
By Hugo
Florida
Awesome
September 9, 2021
Great Casting distance out this reel, you dont need to do anything other than cast and retrieve the reel do the hard part for you. It is a fresh water reel but I been using it mainly for salt water. I been able to catch Jacks, snappers, snooks, bass and even hooked into a pretty decent size tarpon. It performs flawlessly every time.
ProsNo backlash, cast farther that most DC.
ConsNone, even the price is reasonable for what you get
By Joshua
Valley Lee, MD
Get your dials set first
July 19, 2021
My first outing I was not impressed; However, that was entirely my fault. I didn’t read the instructions for setup. Since then I’ve dialed it in correctly and have had zero issues. Great reel I would buy again!
ProsGreat baitcaster to start with or just to have for lure weights that can offer problems backlashing.
By Robert
chicago, Illinois
Amazing product
June 4, 2021
high quality reel
By TL
Plano,Tx
no more birdsnests
May 19, 2021
This reel is amazing. Easy to set up and works as advertised.No problems even on windy days.
Proseasy set up long trouble free casts hooked on the dc sound
By Tom
Spring, TX
High Performance
March 11, 2021
I'm impressed with this reel, especially at this price point. Super smooth casting, feels great in your hand, and that digital braking just sounds cool.
By Dave
East Tennessee
Working great
February 10, 2021
I am able to go all day without a backlash now! I need to buy another one!
By Anonymous
Port Aransas, Texas
Best of the best
February 8, 2021
Hands down the best bait cast reel there is on the planet the technology Shimano put into these reels is truly incredible
Consnone
By Kent R.
Skiatook, Oklahoma
Curado 150 DC
February 7, 2021
I own 16 of these reels. They can’t be beat for the price.
By Kevin
ROSEBURG, OR
Revolutionary Technology!!!
February 2, 2021
Just ordered my 2nd Shimano Curado DC. It will soon be on ALL of my rods. Unbelievable casting distance with very minimal thumb. If ANY! Plus it's smooth as silk. I steelhead fish in the PNW and put my gear through the wringer. These reels are perfect!
By Christopher
Elkhart, IN
1st Shimano Reel
January 29, 2021
I decided to get this reel after talking with friends about how great the brand is. After I received it, I had to try it out the same day. Remember, in northern Indiana in January, it’s really cold and snowy here. When I took it out to try, it preformed very well, and would recommend it to anyone else who would want to get it. My lures that I have tried out just sailed from the rod. I probably casted close to 50+ yards without a lot of force.
By Bobby
, California
Shimano workhorse
January 23, 2021
Own several Curado DCs in all 3 speeds. Very versatile and reliable workhorse. Enjoy the DC sound. Just one small backlash in a couple years of fishing them.
Prosversatile reliable no backlashes great bang for buck
Consnot as light as super high-end reels but also not heavy
By Roger
NC
So smooth
January 21, 2021
Very smooth and light weight great addition glad I Purchased two of them!!
ProsLight weight Very smooth Very smooth
ConsNone
By Joe
newark, de
awesome
November 24, 2020
i love this reel casting is amazing u really don't have to thumb will buy more
By Blayne
Austin, TX
Compact, light, and durable
August 13, 2020
This reel is a powerful thing. The DC cast does provide some additional line control. However, it's not a guaranteed cast - the user is still involved in preventing back lashes. Casting into the wind and with light baits is improved. There is a distinct electronic noise that distinguishes it from it's non-DC cousin. I've owned it for nearly a year and fished in only salt water conditions. This reel is holding up very well.
Proscasting ease, durability, precision, light
Conselectronic noise is a little off-putting, but I'm just trying to come up with something for a con
By Chris L.
Winder, Ga
Looks and Performs GREAT!
June 2, 2020
I loved it so much that I had to get another ONE!!!
By Dale
HICKORY, NC
Can't get much Better!
May 12, 2020
I purchased this expecting to have issues with the RATS NEST i normally got when using a Baitcaster but this thing is amazing! Don't get me wrong I have left the thumb off a couple of times and get a mess but overall it is a great real if you remember the basic! Highly recommend! Shimano makes QUALITY - I am also a cyclist as well and would not buy anything but Shimano!
ProsSHIMANO QUALITY Ease of use Great Technology
ConsPricey
By Manuel
Reston, Virginia
Carefree casting
May 10, 2020
I picked up baitcasting reels late in my life. After much practice and understanding of the mechanics of the reel I became fairly good at it. However, that didn't prevent from time to time to get a bird nest. This reel eliminated this problem for me so I can concentrate in fishing and not getting bird nests. It is a fantastic reel.
ProsIt does what it says; settings for different line (braid, mono, flouro)
ConsNono
By marshall
lemont, IL
amazing
May 4, 2020
if you are thinking about buying one just do it you would not regret it
By ChuckD
Clayton, NC
Another standout!
April 10, 2020
Does everything have to be digital? In this case, Shimano was on the mark with yet another great Curado. Easy, smooth, one a beginner will like.
ProsGreat drag for fresh
ConsMay not give you enough if you get a real big one on
By Reese
,
Great reel
January 31, 2020
I have been using this reel for about a month now in the left hand variant because I’m used to lh spinning reels and this thing is great. Super smooth with easy to use drag system love it. Shiva o has never produced something I’ve complained about.
By Tj
Georgia
Fantastic reel
January 18, 2020
Shimano always steps their game up and using the DC technology in their Curado series is fantastic. I purchased the 8:5 ratio for flipping and pitching. The DC helps with skipping the jig for less back lash for newer fisherman.
By Kenny
MD
Widely known great reel
November 20, 2019
The curado has a good history with many others. While I've used this one with the DC it makes it so much easier for beginners to learn to cast not to also mention that super satisfying sound
By camron
Olathe, KS
Great reel
November 8, 2019
I have had it for a year and have had no problems. It’s very smooth and can cast light lures very far.
By Michael E.
Encinitas
Love that backlash protections!
October 24, 2019
I just finally got my hands on one of these and couldn't be happier! Lightweight and seems strong.
ProsSuper light, smooth as butter and a GREAT sound when casting!
ConsThe freespool setup is different that conventional reels. Just pay attention to that. I'd like to see it build as a pure saltwater reel.
By seth
palmyra, VA
New Favorite Reel
July 16, 2019
Well, I use to used a lot of baitcasters when I was younger. As I got older, I not really knowing switched to spinning reels. Shimano came out with this reel and I was immediately wanting to try this reel because of the DC control. So I bit the bullet and order one. Practiced in my yard for a few days and then went to the lake that weekend. And I have to say wow this reel is smooth. I would recommend this reel to anyone wanting to learn to throw a baitcaster or even a pro who wants a piece of mind.
ProsSmooth Easy to learn Strong drag
Consnone
By Brandon
Sacramento, CA
Best Bang for the Buck Shimano Out there.
June 19, 2019
DC reel for $250? Yes please... comparatively to the Metanium DC it is a little heavier and not as smooth, but it will still cast a country mile, skip casting on setting 4 is amazing. Curado K for 180, Chronarch for 279. So Yes the Curado DC is a great buy.
ProsDC 150 Size spool Easy of Use
ConsWish it had low gear ratio
By daniel w.
harleysville, Pa.
Easy control!!
June 18, 2019
This reel is the easiest that I have to control. Whether I am casting, flipping, or switching lure weights. I highly recommend it!!
By Van
GA
dc reel for below $400!
June 1, 2019
I wanted this reel as soon as it was released, but it took me a year to finally come around and get one. It is very smooth and hard to backlash if on the correct settings. I absolutely love this reel.
By Joe
Gregory, SD
Curado DC
April 27, 2019
Try out my new shimano DC today. It’s was awesome, I love every bit of it. Hardly have any backlash I even used it on a windy day. It the first casting reel that I can cast with confidence. I’m gonna buy me another one.
By Daniel H.
Tennessee
Good
April 23, 2019
Very good casting reel
ProsNo thumbing to control the drum
By Mike
Michigan
Great for any level fisherman.
April 7, 2019
I dare you to try and get a birds nest on this baitcaster. The only thumbing necessary is when your lure hits the water. GREAT REEL. I spooled it with 15 lb power pro braid. I have a few friends that have also got this reel. The only negative that they have told me is that you can birds nest it sometimes only if you have it spooled with fluorocarbon.
By william
New Jersey
Shimano always made good freshwater gear
April 4, 2019
Way back 30 years ago plus and when I was younger my family lived a considerable amount further away from my fathers boat in Atlantic Highlands than i do today, so freshwater fishing was my main way of fishing, and my shimano was my go to company. Still have some of my old reels in the garage that still work smooth till this day that are older than my son and daughter.
By DC
HNL HI
Awesome reel it does what it says ,
March 26, 2019
I recently got the Curado 150 dc xg also the Rods , split an Casting, spinning it’s a 10 ***************** star it’s do awesome it was really windy I put it on 2 it amazing that I got two strikes less than / minutes 20 it’ was papio Barracuda, ono, all in total of 52 minutes good fight made me an him tired lol I highly recommend to get this reels an Rods , in the market, screw the spinning reels it’s bull crap Curado 150 dc 150 dc xg get it you’ll be happy lije I am I ordered couple more Rods an reels
ProsIt does it?s job like the reviews says
ConsGetem worth the monetary down the road you will never regret it
By Geofrey
Henderson, NV
Favorite Reel
March 22, 2019
Hands down my Fave
By Jim
St. louis
Awesomen
January 26, 2019
By far, my favorite reel. It is smooth, and easy to cast far and accurately, simple to use, and less tiring on my body after a day or chasing bass. The only downside is the price. But, if I divide its price by the number of casts per day, it is a bargain because of how much it enhances my fishing experience.
By Craig G.
Calif.
to early to tell i have not fished it yet. the rivers blown out .
January 21, 2019
i cast on the back lawn to get a feel for it . seems ok .no blow ups that's why only four stars.
Proswe will see!
Conslike i said. we will see.....
By Sean
Iowa
Curado DC
January 20, 2019
Palms well, really like on cold days when wearing gloves.
By B P.
Texas
Happy Customer
November 28, 2018
The reel is as advertised very smooth and cast a mile very pleased with the purchase.
Prosvery smooth and cast a mile
Consprice
By Jason
Metairie, LA
Great Reel
November 23, 2018
Great reel. Get the spool tension set right, and you can cast this thing a mile with no backlash. You do have to thumb the spool before the lure hits the water.
ProsEasy to cast with few backlashes.
ConsNone
By Robin
Northern California
Shimano Curado DC HG
November 12, 2018
My first Shimano casting reel and I understand the hype. This reel is amazingly smooth. Like nothing else I've tried at this price-point. It does take some adjustment and fine tuning to get the maximum casting distance w/out backlash but once dialed-in, it's an absolute pleasure to cast.
By Rodney H.
Jonesboro ga
Best Baitcasting Reel
November 1, 2018
5 star rating. I normally use Abu Garcia reels but the Cuardo dc is the best reel I've ever casted!! With the 4 levels of casting anyone who has ever used a Baitcasting reel will be highly impressed with this reel. From casting under docks to casting a country mile is only a click or 2 a way.I was so impressed with this reel it's the only baitcaster that I use.
Pros1. Casting 2. Backlashing a minimal 3. Price 4. Quality built
By Lawson T.
Tennessee
Smooth
October 11, 2018
This reel is super smooth. You can cast it so much farther than any other reel I’ve ever used. It is effortless!
ProsSmooth, lightweight
ConsNone

Page 1 of 2
1