4.6
52 Reviews
5
67% (35)
4
25% (13)
3
8% (4)
2
0% (0)
1
0% (0)
94% Recommend this product (49 of 52 responses)
By Manuel
Granada Hills, CA
Great for Rock Species and Yellowtail
November 27, 2018
My go to jig for bottom fishing. get to the bottom and bounce or jig it back up on the retrieve.
ProsRubber skirt pulse in the and look life like realistic.
ConsKind of pricey but worth it Rockets to the bottom. If you looking for something slower i would try the lucanus flat fall.
By William C.
Texas
Fish Love this Lure.
August 25, 2018
Used for first time on 8/18 & 8/19th on 24 hour off shore trip out of Port Aransas ,Texas.Fished for Vermillion Snapper at night.Very deep water and strong current so added a 10 oz weight .First try,,Snapper hit on way down,2 pounds.Caught 4 more in less than an hour.Under sizi Amber jack hit it also..too small to keep.Have another color in the 5 oz and now have the 7.5 0z to try out on Red Snapper in September.Amazing!
ProsEasy to use..just drop to bottom and retrieve slowly. Fish hook them self. Designed to add as much weight as needed. Variety of weights and colors,
ConsHooks are small so may have trouble if a 12 pound fish hits it..
By Will
Orlando, FL
FISH MAGNET!
July 30, 2018
Being a jigging fan, and a Shimano fan, I had to get these. Shimano didn't disappoint when it came down to quality, as usual. Now for the part of catching fish well.....These jigs are fish magnets, they catch pretty much everything that sees it. I've hooked Snappers, Groupers, Bonito, tons of bait fish, and the list goes on, I even hooked a couple of small sharks as well! Chartreuse/White has been the "golden ticket", but both Pink and Chartreuse shrimps are great as well. When the bite slowed down, I added two small strips of squid and they become deadly! Fellow fishing enthusiast, if your curious about these, please give them a try, TD has the best selections on these.
ProsFish Magnets, they catch pretty much everything that sees it. Add a couple of strips of cut squid and you'll have a deadly bait!
ConsA bit pricey, but you get what you pay for! The skirts can break after 1-2 trips of use and their a bit difficult to change.
By Elliott
Sussex, UK
One of the kings of kabura...
May 20, 2018
I've developed almost an addiction to Kabura fishing thanks to the Lucanus jig. Having bought all the kit bar the LJV Calcutta (because I'm a lefty) when it came out, the Lucanus system has gone around the world with me. I fish the Lucanus alongside other kaburas such as the Shout Answer and Duel Salty Rubber as well as some more esoteric and difficult to get hold of JDM jigs. There's no doubt in my mind that the Lucanus is at the top of the pile when it comes to non-sliding Kabura jigs. They work in the blistering heat of the Straits of Hormuz right through to the sometime frigid English Channel. Deadly when fished as designed but even speedsters such as queenfish and GT's have taken my Lucanus jigs when sped up and fished midwater. There's a lot of talk about difficulty in replacing skirts and this is true to some extent on the 150-200g variants. Practice makes perfect here though and once you've twigged it, it becomes second nature (there is a useful video on Shimano NZ's YouTube channel that is helpful). The skirts do get chewed up routinely, but spares are reasonably priced and having stocks of spare skirts and assist hooks is essential. Talking of the hooks, the availability of these is not great and so I pick them up whenever and wherever I can find them, although making your own is simple and recommended if you're using the bigger versions for bigger fish, with bigger hooks being advisable than the largest size offered by Shimano. With all Kabura's flouro colours work the best for me the world over and so the two shrimp and the pink/white colours are my go to starters. Ridiculously simple to fish, gets great results and works globally - what's not to love about the Lucanus?
ProsWorks everywhere in the world I've taken them. Simple to fish, not taxing on the angler and just a flat out fun way to fish. You can keep the lure in the strike zone for as long as you need to. Out fishes virtually all other fixed (non-sliding) Kabura jigs, including the JDM crowd, Great colour and size ranges. Well priced spare skirt sets. Can be fished in the roughest of ground with a much lower loss rate than other metal jigs.
ConsThe jigs themselves are expensive, there's no denying this. Shimano discontinued the system's Tescata rods ages ago - you really do benefit from having a purpose built Kabura rod to fish these lures, as they allow you to see the bites develop before winding the fish on. I can't see a USDM Kabura rod available for sale from any manufacturer, so you may want to look at JDM options if your new to this style of fishing, The availability of spare hooks is not consistent, so buy when available or make your own.
By Baher M.
Springfield Gardens, NY
Amazing Lure
May 10, 2018
Work perfect, and Green/Gold is amazing
By The C.
MD
Great for black sea bass in the NE
December 26, 2017
I took the 5.25 oz jig and I was getting the most consistent action with black sea bass. I jigged it slow (like it was recommended) and it would be an almost immediate hit near the bottom. It did catch one bluefish that broke the bottom part where the skirt is attached to... High price tag hurt... But decided to get another.
ProsIt works well. I was skeptical about the small size hooks, but it wasn't an issue. It catches fish.
ConsExpensive and it can break on a bigger fish. The bluefish that broke off the skirt part of the jig was 10lb+.
By jamie
LOS ANGELES, CA
SoCal Rock fish
December 21, 2017
They slay on charter boats.
By G W.
Boxboro, MA
Expensive lure but really catches black sea bass
December 21, 2017
Rarely get stuck and easy to repair when it catches too many fish
ProsWeird but effective
By Marty
San Jose del Cabo, BCS
Lucanus Chartreuse Shrimp
October 3, 2017
I'm a kayak fisherman, targeting shallow water reefs in Cabo. The Lucanus jig is my secret weapon, especially in chartreuse. It works great for catching Cabrilla and Pargo. Don't know why they prefer chartreuse but that's been the hot ticket for me.
ProsEasy to use. Produces well. Doesn't snag on the rocks much and usually can be shaken loose.
ConsExpensive. Tails get beat up and are tricky to replace.
By Chris
Birmingham, Alabama
The absolute best bait for trigger Fish in the Gulf.
July 10, 2017
Love this bait. Benn using it for years to land monster Trigger and Red Snapper in the Gulf. It's amazing that this bait has an almost 100% hook up percentage. Purchase the extra hooks because those Trigger fish will eventually break through the braid that holds the hooks and trust me, you don't want to stop using this bait because you are missing a hook.
By Chris
Wildwood, NJ
These things catch seas bass
June 27, 2017
Headline says it all
ConsExpensive when lost on a snag
By Jeff T.
California
great looking jig
June 19, 2017
Haven't been able to get out on to Monterey Bay yet due to wind but my buddy used one last year dropped three times and hooked up on ling cod each drop. Good back up if you can't find any live bait.
By Ahmed
Doha, Doha
Lucanus (Kabura)
December 27, 2016
Very good design and quality , waiting for testing it
By Donald
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Shimano Lucanus 2oz
September 18, 2016
A great jig for fishing northern California bottom structure. Black rockfish and cabezon love these jigs. Big lings too
By Bernhard
San Diego, CA
Great jig for bottom fishing
July 7, 2016
The Lucanus jig is a great jig for bottom fishing. It doesn't get hung up in the rocks too easily because of the small footprint and the hooks more on top of the jig. The 5-1/4 oz jig has the large assist hooks so fish stick, on the small size jigs I had to change out the hooks.
ProsIt get's lots of bites.
ConsOnly negative - the cost is really high.
By Brent
Kenai Pen. Alaska
Who would have thought it would work on
March 6, 2016
I purchased these for catching rockfish and lingcod. I would never had thought it would produce so well on halibut. I found this out while fishing in 120' of water. At the edge of a rock pile. (where the rock met the sand. We started hooking halibut as we came off the rock. We decided to extend our drift, and it worked on every drift. Rockfish & ling to the edge of the rocks and halibut after. Great lures.
By chuck
Southern Cal
effective jig
January 9, 2016
caught big size sculpins with this jig.
Prossinks - dives fast colorful to attract the fish
Consnone
By Chuck
Los Angeles, California
very effective
August 27, 2015
I caught sand bass, calico bass and sculpins with these jigs. I used light colors when the water is dull/dark and early morning but darker colors [red-brown] when the sun is up. Somehow it produces bigger fish than other jigs.
Proseffective
By Angelo
San Francisco
Awesome jigs
July 21, 2015
Works great when fishing with rock fish and lingcods.
By myong
Long Island, NY
Strong and Sharp!
July 1, 2015
great for fluke and seabass.
Prosbeautiful jig.
By Db
new york, NY
heavy metal
June 2, 2015
Lucanus is domething totally new. To me. I stil don't fiquare out how to fish this but sometime the fush csme up with it.
By Dustin
Eulonia, Georgia
expensive but works.
May 30, 2015
I like this jig. but I can catch just as many Black Sea bass with less expensive bucktail jigs.
Proscatches lots of Black Sea bass
Consexpensive. the silicone skirt doesnt last long.
By Galo
Ecuador
great product
May 29, 2015
great for slow and speed jigging
By Galo
Ecuador
Great product
May 29, 2015
Works great for a lot species
Prosworks great for speed and slow jigging
By Mico
Rose Hill, Plaines Wilhems
Great Madai Jig
May 28, 2015
Works perfectly & relatively few snags. The most important aspect that needs attention is the fishing rod that needs to be very sensitive so as not to miss any bites.
By Db
new york, NY
very cool
April 20, 2015
Strange looking lure catches fish. small hook dress with little squud strip also very efdective.. I experience less snagging than treble hook
By Daniel
PA
Shimano
April 6, 2015
Shimano, Nuff said. Great finish,fishes well.
By Dee
Murfreesboro, TN
Great!
January 9, 2015
Fish catching machine! Great on multiple species, but big reds and flounder especially love them.
By Andrew
West River, MD
Too Expensive but they catch
December 6, 2014
Odd looking beasts, but the Luncanus jigs catch fish! Black Sea Bass really like these, especially anything with chartreuse in the color. Way too expensive, and when you are over the reefs/wrecks, you're going to lose tackle, so these are tough to buy at such an expensive cost. But they work....
By Jeff C.
Bay Area, California
Great jig for rockfish limits
September 26, 2014
Love this jig. Within minutes of hitting bottom and start jigging, it was FISH ON! Rockfish love this thing. Hit limits within a short amt of time. I only gave it 4 stars because it's is a pricey jig, especially if you get a snag, lose it and have to replace it. Take good care of it, and it'll be fish on every time.
ConsPricey, especially when you lose it.
By Leo
San Francisco, CA
Rock Cod Magnet
September 16, 2014
It works! Actually, It attracts rock cods like crazy in a normal cloudy/half sun san francisco bay weather. And you may catch your limit with in an hour once you master the technique which is not hard either. Just drop it in the water, retrieve a couple feet and let it drop again..boom, there is your catch. And the best thing is, it gives your more fun than shrimp fly or squid bait on those party boats.
By Steven
Melbourne, Victoria
Top Snapper Jig.
July 30, 2014
This Is one of those things that just WORKS. I don't know why but every year in Port Philip Bay in Victoria the Shimano Lucanus jigs are out and constantly catching good fish! Sometimes while using the Lucanus jig I find it even out fishes bait. I like to let it hit the bottom, Give the reel 3 winds then just lift the rod tip towards the horizon then point the rod tip back down toward the water and the jig will just flutter down. The fish seem to love this jig but be carefull as the hooks are sticky sharp as I found out the hard way, They are of the assist style and they work too good!
By daniel
Brasil
Effective but fragile
July 16, 2014
It's very efficient fishing in low speed sea currents... I've used it on about 200ft od depth, without aditional rig. Just touch the ground, reel about 9ft and get the bite... The only negative is about the skirts, it is almost totally ripped out after 3 fishes... need to be constantly replaced... Fishing redfish. about 4lbs
Prosvery effective, very attractive to redfish.
Consskirts are fragile....need constantly replacement.
By nathan
milpitas, ca
Lucanus Jigs
June 24, 2014
I have used this jig mainly for rockfish after making a few adjustment. I live in and fish in northern California and fish in two areas for rock fish Pt. Sur and Half Moon Bay. In both areas I have been successful with this lure. I found two colors that seem to work better than all of the others Chartreuse/white and Dungeness Crab. Both lures a track Ling Cod and other rock fish I use the 200g size since we are fishing in 200 ft of water most of the time. In Half Moon Bay the water is shallower and I drift the lure bouncing off the rocks making sure to pop it quickly to keep from hanging up and found this method to be very productive in both area's it can be fish vertically tip with a little strip of squid. This area also seem to be less sensitive on color. I'm very satisfied with this product and have started investigating the use of the smaller sizes. I would recommend this lure to others if you can afford losing one every now in then, remember "rock fishing".
ConsPrice and installing new skirts the rubber band is very difficult to position with the new skirt.
By Andy
Vancouver, BC
Awesome product for bottom fishing
June 24, 2014
It really works and sinks much faster than regular rig set. It is a brand new way to catch rockfish and lingcod.
Consa little bit expensive.
By steven
white plains, NY
Amazing finish
May 15, 2014
this is the lure i am most excited to use this season, finish on it is amazing, skirts might get destroyed easily so i will be ordering a pack. but overall this looks like a fish catching machine.
By Jim
East Florida
great jig
May 8, 2014
Working very well on sea bass. I might need to get bigger hooks to target grouper.
By Windy
Belmont, NC
Looks just like a squid
February 28, 2014
Can't wait to drop these down and hopefully pull up a tilefish or grouper.
ProsLooks just like a squid. I like the small assist hook arrangement.
By Christopher
Port Hueneme, CA
Great!!!
January 15, 2014
These jigs perform great! It's like crack for lings!
By Alan
Eagle Point, OR
Somthing different
January 6, 2014
This is a cool addition to bottom fishing arsenal . I use them off OR coast on rocks and lings and are pretty fun on light tackle.
ProsSomething with different profile than the usual diamond jig
Consa little bit expensive for bottom dropping
By Rosalie S.
United States
Christmas gift!
December 23, 2013
I am not a fisherman but my son and my two grandsons are. My grandson picked this out and I am sure he will get a lot of use during fishing season.
By Daniel
Vienna, VA
jig review
November 20, 2013
Slow day of fishing only got 1 fish off lure
By marty
naugatuck ct
good for black seabass
November 11, 2013
works good
By chris
perkasie pa
Grate
October 21, 2013
sea bass and fluke love them
By Tamer
S Plainfield, NJ
V goood
August 7, 2013
V gooood
By Todd
Brisbane, Australia
Quality easy to use Jig
June 30, 2013
Well constructed quality Jig. Simple to use, drop out the back of boat and either let the motion of the boat provide action to the Jig or apply light jigging action. I often use this jig on a second line and let the rocking of the boat provide the action whilst I take manual control of the main line. The hooks look small but appear to hook relatively large fish with the occasional double hook-up.
ProsWorks well.
ConsOne small con but not a big issue: the skirts are held in place by rubber band, have had one stripped but overall the skirts seem to hold in place ok. Price.
By Leandro
SAO PAULO, SP
Shimano Lucanus Jig
April 5, 2013
This jig have a great visual and good movement. Very versatile.
By ram
texas
nice
February 4, 2013
great jig
By ram
tx
nice
February 4, 2013
pretty cool desighn
By steen
denmark
Shimano JLC 200g Lucanus Jig
January 25, 2013
This is probably the nicest performed squid I've seen. I can not understand again why you put so small hooks, but these are very easy to change and they could not also just do it in a size 16-18 oz then I would be happy.

Page 1 of 2
1