4.9
111 Reviews
5
91% (101)
4
7% (8)
3
0% (0)
2
1% (1)
1
1% (1)
97% Recommend this product (108 of 111 responses)
By Corey
Connecticut
Jack of All Trades
May 20, 2020
The 6000 is a great all-around reel for stripers, blues, albies, fluke, black sea bass, porgy, and tog.
By David
Kennesaw, GA
Great reel
May 18, 2020
Worth every penny. Smooth as can be! Matched my 6000 w powerpro maxquatro and it’s like a dream
By Manuel
Reston, Virginia
It is about power
May 16, 2020
This is a powerful reel from Shimano. Solid, powerful. I own the 10,000 and the 20,000. Will get another 20K. For offshore I paired it with Shimano Tallus Bluewater, unbeatable.
ProsGreat price for a fantastic reel. Shimano integrated some key features from high end Stella into the Saragossa, maintaining the price.
By Larry
Doylestown, OA
Saragosa Reels are Fantastic!!!!
March 20, 2020
Saragosa reels are fantastic reels. Smooth, light weight with large capacity and plenty of drag. I have an 8000 and three 25000 reels and absolutely love them. All the reels have Maxcuatro line to maximize line capacity. This is specifically important for the 25000 reels since they are setup to catch bluefin and yellowfin tuna and other big game fish and need the extra line capacity Maxcuatro provides. I use FG knot to attach either mono or fluoro top shot to the reels. Highly recommend and think Saragosa spinning reels are some of the best reels made.
ProsSmooth, light weight, strong, with plenty of line capacity and drag. They will last for years and years of saltwater fishing fun.
ConsThey are more expensive then some other reels but the Saragosa reels are worth the extra cost.
By steve
Cape cod
Great reel
March 16, 2020
Bought an 8000 for fishing cape cod canal works great smooth reel extremely happy
By Vince
Austin, TX
Power House
March 12, 2020
This is a superb reel, buttery smooth as typical for Shimano reels, but also very powerful. I've landed multiple tuna out of the Gulf coast with this beast. There's no noticeable flex in the rotor when handling large fish, and it will bring the big ones in. The drag is smooth and strong and responsive, and you won't break the bank like getting a Stella. Highly recommended!
ProsPricing vs Quality Powerful drag Powerful torque on fish Looks beautiful
ConsDoesn't have the rubber around the spool to seat braid, but that's a minor inconvenience
By Adam
Suffolk, VA
Shimano Srg8000SW
March 10, 2020
Best reel for fishing for cobia excellent durability
By Cobb
Glenmoore, PA
Very nice
March 3, 2020
Best bang for your buck shimano reel very smooth light and strong, also I’ve accidentally ducked mine on several occasions and it is still very smooth
By sgholmes
orange beach, alabama
Workhorse of a reel
February 14, 2020
I will definitely be buying more of these in the future. They deal with saltwater better than others I've bought in the past. I have this 6000 on an 8ft Shimano Teramar and makes one heck of a do it all rod when I'm offshore/nearshore.
Proswell sealed good drag
By Van
SoMD
Get the 6000 if you're considering the 5000
February 5, 2020
The 6000 is just 1/2 heavier, it has the same gear ratio with a bit more retrieve, maybe owing to the larger spool. and has a good deal more line capacity. It's also the same price.
By Reese
,
Very smooth
January 31, 2020
I have an 8000 Saragossa and this thing is smooth and powerful. There are nicer versions such as the Stella and tp XD but this thing gets the job done great for pitching and jigging
ProsSmooth Durable Reasonably priced
ConsOn the heavier side
By Van
SoMD
Stradic's big, heavy duty brother!
January 13, 2020
These are great reels. If you like the stradic but want heavier duty reel, this is the one to get.
By Shadow C.
South Florida
Great reel
January 12, 2020
I have a few of these reels and really like them. I believe the design is an improvement over the previous model with this name. For overall spinning needs inshore and offshore. Smooth drag, good line capacity, even better when used with braid. If you need more drag and have the funding, the twin power will fit the bill.
ProsSmooth drag, line capacity, low maintenance.
ConsCost
By Allen G.
BRENHAM, TX
Fantastic reel
December 18, 2019
I'm really impressed with this reel. I ordered the Saragosa SW8000 model. Very smooth. I love it. The only surprise is that it is a little heavier that I thought it would be . I originally thought I would put it on an older St. Croix Mojo inshore rod, but now planning on putting it on a 7 ft Terez. Shipping by Tackledirect was prompt and arrived without delay.
By cam
NJ - New Jersey
Great reel
November 20, 2019
I've caught large striped bass to 9' sharks on this reel & it performs very well. Not obnoxious in size or weight but feels built like a tank. Great smooth drag and very versatile.
By christian
Islip, NY
Tuna Setup
November 18, 2019
Best Tuna spinning reel at this price point. Holds more than enough line and puts out a good amount of drag
ProsValue
By Kenny
,
Outstanding reel
November 17, 2019
The drag on this reel is smooth. gears are smooth, looks great, what else do you want from a reel this thing can't provide? I have the 8000 and it puts the works on them stripers, smaller tunas, sharks, and anything that's not a behemoth lol
By Soon Y.
Flushing, NY
Saragosa 8000
October 16, 2019
LIGHT, POWERFUL, SMOOTH!!!
By Jim
JAX Beach, FL
10,000 for FL snapper fishing
July 14, 2019
Bought 2 10,000 for the FL red snapper season. Did the job and put the brakes on decent bottom fish. Handled 25lbers with live baits at 125 ft of water and 15lbers on the jig. Had both on penn Carnage jig rods. Thanks Tackle Direct!
ProsLight weight reel with smooth high lb drag.
By Kmoose
Gulf of Mexico
8000 Shimano Saragosa
June 30, 2019
The Saragosa is one of my favorite offshore spinners for general offshore use. It is as smooth and capable as Shimano’s higher end line and has proven to be just as durable in all my applications. Before purchasing you should know that the bail is 100% manual and requires you to flip it back over after you cast. I don’t see this as a negative but if you are used to an auto bail engagement it will take some time to get used to it.
ProsWaterproof/sealed bearings and drag system
ConsNone
By Christian S.
FL
Dropped it in the surf, like nothing happened!
June 7, 2019
Butter smooth, well build, casts far. I also dropped it in the surf by error, got water and sand, just rinsed it afterwards and keeps working like nothing happened. Worth the investment!
By Luke P.
South Carolina
Saragosa 8,000 and 20,000
May 20, 2019
The Saragosa 8,000 is great for jigging because it is lightweight and has good drag. The Saragosa 20,000 is great for big poppers because it has great capacity.
By Drew
Margate
Great Reel
May 16, 2019
Solid construction, smooth drag and good value.
By Kevin
Weston, FL
Solid Reel
May 14, 2019
No doubt one of the best reels out there. Great parts, looks awesome, and overall just an amazing reel for the price. 👌
By Philthy
Staten Island, New York
Quality product at a great price
May 3, 2019
This reel has many features, parts and Design of shimano's higher-end expensive reels.
ProsSmooth drag smooth retrieve Gray castability
ConsNone so far
By Felipe a.
San Carlos mx
El mejor
March 23, 2019
Sencillamente por su calidad , desempe?o y precio es el mejor carrete en el mercado
By DJ A.
New Smyrna Beach, FL
Nice, smooth reel
March 2, 2019
Four stars because I'd like more drag and line capacity. If I could buy again, I'd get the equivalent in a Penn Slammer III...
By Bill T.
Long Island
Super disappointed in the quality of workmanship
February 10, 2019
Bought this reel with hi expectation. Used it 1 season on the boat as a backup and the same fall season as a surf reel. It preformed ok nothing special but the finish started to delaminate in a couple spots. Never dropped or abused I take very good care of my gear. When sent f9r clean and grease at thee d of the season it brought to the attention of Shimano rep was basic Ly told “its paint on a fishing reel that’s what happens” WHAT??
By Gil
sacramneto, calif.
awesome reel
December 24, 2018
i got this reel a few weeks ago but haven't experience any catch yet. perfectly match with the okuma nomad or the lamiglas insane10 footer rod. mainly use it for strippers or some sturgeons and will be travelling for future catch hopefully. i was debating of getting the van staal 150. they weigh about the same the van stall is slightly smaller but luckily my buddy wanted it too and this was on sale for 269 if you buy 2 reels plus it came with a mustard 6in filet knive. it was a just better deal and its shimano sw.
By Kyle
Cape cod Mashole
Best bang for your buck.
October 19, 2018
Amazing reel and price. I use the 10k at the cape cod canal as my jogging reel. This reel can handle a lot.
ProsPrice.
ConsNone.
By Bri
MA
Durable
September 23, 2018
I have not had the Saragosa 5000 long but it has taken a beating. Sand, accidentally dunked a few times, and lots of drag pulling hookups. I am impressed and I am looking forward to knowing if it stands the test of time.
ProsSmooth and tough. Enough drag to keep you in the game.
ConsPersonal preference but I wish it had a bailless feature from the factory.
By Rodney B.
Florida
Shimano Poducts Are Great
September 14, 2018
I have recently changed out all of my vertical/ speed jigging gear. Since July I have purchased 2/6000 and 1/8000 Shimano Sargosa spinners. Also added another Trinidad 16N. All of the reels are on new Shimano Trevela rods of various lengths. There is a lot of good gear out there but I am brand loyal to Shimano and where it fits in to my price point ( max I can go). Love the Shimano drags. I have never had an equipment failure while using and the maintainence has been close to nothing. All of my new tackle was purchased from Tackle Direct. Their selection is great.
ProsIt is a Shimano
ConsAmazon Prime has spoiled me with shipping cost and the timeliness of the deliveries If I buy a rod/rods from you I don't want to pay another $7.00-$12..00 for a cardboard tube for shipping. My local tackle shop is free delivery.
By Brandon R.
Miami, Florida
Great All Purpose Reel
June 27, 2018
Recently purchased a Saragosa 10000 for jigging and as a general boat rod/reel combo. It’s lightweigt and compact but still has good line capacity on braid and can put the breaks on some decent sized fish making aggressive runs. Easily handled some large Bonita, Kings and Mahi on its first day out on the water. Would definitely recommend as an all purpose rod or for vertical jigging.
ProsLightweight Well built Good amount of drag Good line capacity Smooth reel
ConsDefinitely not cheap Would prefer slightly higher line capacity No notching or plastic/rubber on inner base of reel to secure initial line knot to
By Felice C.
NYC
Shimano is great
June 1, 2018
This is the best Shimano spinner for the money, It shares many identical parts and features of the very pricey Stella. I love this reel
Prossmooth durable killer drag great pricing
Consnone
By SNOOK T.
Vero Beach, FL
LIGHT, POWERFUL, SMOOTH
June 1, 2018
Just purchased this awesome reel! This 6000 on my st croix avid vis80hf is the absolute best setup I have ever owned, it might be overkill for slot size snook, but when you have a keeper you want to get it to the hand as fast as possible and this reel is the winch for the tow truck, lol you wont be disapointed!
ProsFor the money so far it cant be beat. From my experience with penns, cabos, and okumas, this is Shimano smooth, light, powerful.
ConsI'll let you know in a year if it holds up to the big snook, reds, and tarpon. But the true test is the BIG Jacks!!! If it stays solid I'll buy some more.
By Ernani
Rio de Janeiro, Brazi
Improved drag!
April 12, 2018
The old Gosa, with an improved drag!
By mike z.
mtzacierka@yahoo.com
Power house
March 25, 2018
Bought reel for a trip to fl. Put reel on a custom rod and l was more then pleased. Handled everything from 40 pound grouper to sailfish and barracuda with ease!!! Has very fast line retrieval to get fish or the bottom to prevent the toothy critters from eatting your dinner!!
By John
Hatfield, Pa
Great reel!
March 8, 2018
Smooth action and the handle is perfect for gloves. Nice and light.
By wes
mass
can't be beat for the money
January 12, 2018
great inexpensive reel to chase after small tuna
Proscost
By Greg
New Jersey
Great for all inshore
December 18, 2017
I don't own many spinning reels but after fishing with many professionals and seeing them use the reel I decided to give it a try. I love the smooth feel, great drag and even the look. It is a little heavier then I anticipated but not too heavy that I wouldn't buy another. FYI the bail does not flip after you cast or let line out. You have to manually close it. I got used to that in one trip. I reccomend this product for sure. I use it for blackfish, fluke and Stripers in NJ
ProsSmooth, look, power
ConsHeavy, bail doesn't flip after you cast automatically
By Rudy
Jax, FL
Smooth and high quality
December 11, 2017
Purchased for jigging, very smooth reel, great price and high quality. Fast shipping from tackle direct and options. Works great with braid although I had to place some tape to prevent braid from spinning.
By Jonas N.
Malaysia
Saragosa 10.000 drag pressure problems
November 10, 2017
Have used the Saragosa 10.000 now for a season on our charter boats in Kula Rompin for Sailfish (www.rompin-sailfish.com) In the beginning the reel performed perfectly, but after about 100 Sailfish fights the drag pressure decreased a lot during fast runs from Sails. Otherwise no problems and a very smooth reel
ProsSmooth, great looking reel, handle is great
ConsDrag pressure decreases a lot during long and fast runs from Sailfish
By Matt
Pompano Beach, FL
Great reel
October 10, 2017
I use this reel for one of my jigging setups. It has a very smooth action and feels great. I will be buying more of these reels.
By Gregory
Maryland
AMAZING
September 14, 2017
This is the best saltwater reel I've used in a long time. I have 4 of the 6000's and 2 20000's paired onto Shimano Terez rods for the boat and let me tell you...best boat set up in the world. Smooth as butter and can handle anything. Indestructible and just all around great product!
Prosweight, strength, durability, ease of use, finish
ConsNONE!
By Phil C.
Brooklyn, New York
Saragosa SRG6000SW Fabulous Reel
September 3, 2017
I have this reel paired up with my Tsunami TSAWEBC-701MHJ Airwaves Elite Braid Casting Rod. Awesome match up. I use this combo for both inshore and offshore fishing, primarily for strippers and cocktail blues. It performs very well, it's sealed, light weight, extremely smooth drag, I've had no issues with this reel since I got it. I'm sure that I can probably use this reel with one of surf fishing rod and it will still handle extremely well. Can't say I surprised at all! I have two other Shimano reels Shimano's ULCI45500XSB Ultegra CI4 Plus XSB Surf Spinning Reel. I'd highly recommend any of the Saragosa spinning reels.
ProsLight weight, handles extremely well, sealed, smooth drag
ConsNone, I can fish this reel all day!
By William
Delran, NJ
SRG6000SW
July 31, 2017
I have this reel paired with a St. Croix VIS80HF Avid Inshore and love the combo. It is super lightweight combo that can catch big fish, but its light enough for me to throw lures all day. I have been historically a Penn guy so I was not used to the manual bail, but after using it a few times and not getting broke off from the bail slamming shut I fell in love. Super smooth drag.
ProsSuper smooth drag light weight Manual bail
Consnone
By An R.
Seattle, WA
Great reel
July 14, 2017
Like all Shimano reels, this reel is compatible with a 10,000 size spool which eats a ton of line, when spooled up with 40lbs slick 8 power pro, its more than enough to get long casts and adequate line capacity when fishing for smaller tunas, without having to worry about getting emptied. Super stiff body and super smooth. great backup to a Stella or Twin Power.
Prosinterchangable with a 10,000 size spool, solid and stiff body
Consquite heavy!
By Harry
Nottingham, PA
Great Reel, Great Cost, Grest Service
May 15, 2017
Got the reel in two days with free shipping! Got the reel for striper fishing. Work great with my St. Croix AVID MH Inshore rod.
By TC
Jacksonville FL
Shimano Excellence
April 16, 2017
Great offshore reel. Sealed, smooth gears, Matched with Trevala TVS=58XXH jig rod. Great combination. Performed exceptionally well with red snapper, cobia and amber jacks. You will not regret having this in your setup.
ProsSmooth, solid
ConsManual bail
By mark
OuterBanks Nc
Shimano SRG8000SW
February 12, 2017
Very smooth feeling reel will be used for YFTs.
By Doug K.
Cape Cod, MA
Great reel for Striper
January 24, 2017
Been using the Saragosa SW5000 for 3 years now and it's never failed. Great response and perfect for Striped Bass.
ProsLight Weight Reliable
By BRENDAN
GALES FERRY, CT
Great reel for the price!
January 5, 2017
I have a 6000 paired up with a 10' rod for the surf that I have been using for the past 4 seasons. This reel has been dunked numerous times while deep wading and still shows no water intrusion. The line lay is perfect, drag is smooth and I have had no issues controlling stripers up to 45lbs with it. I fish a lot of boulder fields where getting control of big fish quickly is crucial and the Saragosa 6000 has no problems putting the brakes on them. I highly recommend this reel!
By Leon p.
High point nc
Power house
November 10, 2016
I shark fish on the regular . It winches in a big black tip with no effort . Love it ! I fished it summer and fall before my review
ProsBang for buck
ConsNone
By Leon p.
High point NC
Badass reel
November 10, 2016
Don't under estimate the reel for the price . Zero disappointments . It will do anything the rod you match it with is capable of doing . I've used it summer and fall before making my review
ProsIt's a shimano
ConsNone
By Brian
FL
Great offshore reel
July 30, 2016
I have the Saragosa in the 6000 and 8000. They are great for pitching at dolphin and cobia and also are a superb reel for jigging up snapper and grouper. Smooth drag and solid construction make this reel feel like it will last a long time. I couldn't be happier.
ProsSmooth Drag, lightweight, solid
By Ara
Cairo, Egypt
Great reel
July 17, 2016
I have used the 25000 and the 10000 both great reels, it seems it was a mistake from Shimano making such a strong reel with this price.
By Jason
Centereach, Ny
Best reel I've ever owned
July 7, 2016
Smoothest most durable reel I've ever owned for harsh saltwater conditions.
ProsSmooth durable great drag
By Chris
venice, FL
Great Reel
June 6, 2016
This reel has awesome line capacity. Loaded with braid and havent found much that will over power it. Great feel, smooth drag reacts like a reel costing much more.
Prosline capacity,smooth drag,great value for the money
By Michael
Butte, Montana
Great reel at good price point
May 18, 2016
I am out here in Montana and I wanted some heavy duty gear to go paddlefishing. Tackle direct recommended this one and it couldn't have performed better. I was fishing in the Missouri River. Our group caught 7 fish with this reel, biggest 90 lbs. The drag was great and could stop any fish we hooked. The retrieval rate was also excellent and really helped cover water fast.
ProsRetrieval rate, smooth drag
Consnone
By Charles
Haw River, NC
Power with a lock down drag!!
February 11, 2016
Used this reel late summer and early fall to catch big bull reds. It has enough drag to stop a big bull red before he even gets started making his run. It has the power to turn his head and winch him to the boat.
ProsStrong and powerful
ConsA bit heavy
By Agustin
Roswell
Shimano 10000
January 13, 2016
Small and strong reel i got the 20000 for tuna fishing but it was over kill for redsnaper and jacks i got lot more fun pulling red snaper and jacks with this combined with my shimano tipej rod it is perfect
ProsVery good price for salt water sealed reel
ConsIts scratches very easy just like my shimano talica
By Don
East Lyme, CT
Excellent reel
December 25, 2015
A good heavier reel for the salt...great for those hefty bluefish and bigger stripers..love this reel.
By Jimmy
Massapequa Park, New York
Great reel
November 7, 2015
This has been my go to reel this season and it been very good to me. I have taken a good number of keeper sized Stripers including one to 48" and it has performed great. It is very similar to the Spheros I have and the only differences I can tell from using is the Saragosa is a little smoother and faster.
ProsDrag Line mgt Durability (have gotten it wet quite a few times w/o issue)
ConsA little lighter would be nice
By Nouman
Cary, NC
powerfull and smooth
October 13, 2015
It feels solid, casts excellent, has great drag. Versatile reel, Strong smooth drag. I have used it for jigging, trolling, live bait, and bottom fishing. With all the species I have gone after with this reel a solid performing reel is important. Handles Gags, sails, Dolphin and Kings well.
Pros- Very Strong - Very smooth drag - Can handle any species. - perfectly sealed
Cons- price can be a but high for average angler.
By Abdulrahman
Isa Town, Central Governorate
Best Reel Owned
August 30, 2015
I started fishing using China reels back then and then shifted to Okuma then Penn and now im using Shimano which is the best and with no chance of comparison This reel is tough and smooth> Plus it is water resistant.
ProsSmooth Tough Quality Light Weight
ConsNill
By vincent
Hattiesburg, MS
awesome for the price!!
August 20, 2015
I have recently switched 90% of my reels to all saragosa sw with the exception of a stradic fj and a saragosa 4000f. the reels are smooth, durable, pretty lightweight and can take a beating. I've got the 5000, and a couple of 6000. will be adding a 10k and 20k for heavy jigging soon.
Prosgreat value smooth durable
By Db
new york, NY
saragosa
August 14, 2015
Prett y cool reel it has manual bail. well balanced reel for the price
By Db
new york, NY
good reel
August 12, 2015
Nice reel for the money it is manual bail which I loved it.. very reliable. Not as smooth as my bait runner
By Patrick
, Paducah Kentucky
Fantastic Real
August 6, 2015
Best reel i have owned in a long time. Own 4 currently, looking to double that!
By Kyle
Nantucket, Massachusetts
Great reel
July 25, 2015
Very smooth casting and retrieving. Holds a ton of line. I got 500 yds of 65 lb powerpro on no problem
By Pete
Cabo San Lucas
Great Reel
July 19, 2015
I landed a 150lb Stripper Marlin today. Reel was flawless.
By Nick
apollo Beach, FL
AMAZING Reel
July 2, 2015
I have bought a bunch of spinning reels in the 150 dollar range and I have to replace them every year. I bought this reel and it is built to last. Super smooth, Super tight tolerances. Love it.
ProsGood line Retrieve Rate
ConsDrag could be a little stronger.
By Steve
South Korea
Outstanding Reel
June 25, 2015
This reel as previously mentioned lives up to the Shimano aspect in every sense; well under a 1000 and even under 500 - The drag system takes a beating and keeps on giving. The rigidness of construction gives you the confidence to put all the power needed to bring in the most demanding species without flex in handle or frame. With every little attention to detail; maintenance is simple - sealed construction means less time spent lubricating and internal cleaning due to ambient conditions and saltwater. Using high strength, small diameter Japanese line, I do wish the line capacity was a little bit more. Those feisty yellow fin in the 100lb class will pull a lot of line on the initial run. Have had my reel stripped to 7/8 on several occasions
Prosconstruction, drag, looks, performance
Consline capacity
By Jesse P.
Sierpe, Costa Rica
Quality product
June 13, 2015
I have used this reel and the SRG5000 for over a yearl and both have held up well. The drag system is the best I have ever used and I have had no problems. Be aware the bail is manual, Shimano doesn't tell you that in any literature but if that's no concern, this is a reel you should consider.
By Sheldon
Baker, Florida
outstanding reel
May 29, 2015
I use 100lbs test line on this reel it works great . I have been catching yellow fin tuna between 80 to 160lbs . off a drillship in the Gulf Mexico
By Eugenia
Pozzuoli, Italy
Great reel
May 18, 2015
Powerful reel it is abused and is like the day I bought it. Very smooth and I have not had any issues.
By cristian
Lake worth, FL
great reel
May 3, 2015
this reel is one of my favorite spinning reels has tons of drag and great quality besides no line capacity
By daniel
san diego, CA
BEST BANG FOR THE BUCK
April 27, 2015
PURCHASED FOR TUNA POPPING. GOOD SIZE DRAG FOR SUCH A LIGHT REEL.
ProsCOST AND PERFORMANCE
By Cristian
Lake worth florida
Great line cap
April 22, 2015
Very fast and strong reel I think everyone should have one in their garage
By Robert
Largo, FL
Great Reel
April 10, 2015
This reel is great and is considerably more than I anticipated. With the statistics at its side, it has a lot of high end value for a reel being under 1000 dollars much less being under 500 dollars. You get a high amount of drag with an extremely high amount of line capacity for a spinning reel.
ProsGreat reel for the price. It's made of true quality materials and you can tell you are using a high end reel when fishing with it.
ConsBulky, can get heavy if you intend to cast with it a lot.
By TB
Massachusetts
Gets the job done
March 23, 2015
This reel gets the job done. Lightweight and silky smoothe on cast and retrieve. Enough drag power to fight just about any fish.
ProsLightweight Ample Drag Smoothe Sexy
ConsNot a Stella
By Db
new york, NY
very cool
March 4, 2015
Awesome quality. . Smooth drag just like shimano smooth.. this is great surf reel under$ 300
ProsGreat price
By Michael
,
Awesome for under 300
January 28, 2015
One of the best vertical jigging reels for the price.Awesome max drag
By David
Rishon Le Zion, Israel
Best spinning reel for this price
January 23, 2015
Best spinning reel for this price
Prosvalue for price
By Michael
Ottawa, Ontario
big reel
January 17, 2015
Just got mine in, and it feels like a solid reel! the 20k sure is a big reel though! It will be great when targeting serious BIG fish, but for anything else, I would probably recommend the 10k. I will get the 10k after this, and than I'm set ") Would feel confident targeting big tuna, marlin or big GT with this. Might be a bit heavy for all day popper fishing.
Prossolid reel strong drag water sealed
Consbit heavy, but it's 20k...so, if you want something lighter...go with a 10k
By Jesse P.
Costa Rica
Bad bail
January 17, 2015
I opened the box, took out the reel, opened the bail, turned the handle and the bail would not close automatically. As an owner of a charter fishing business for over 20 years, I have probably purchased over a hundred new reels and this is the first time one didn't work when it came out of the box. Not very impressive. However, if I'm willing to prepay shipping and pay Shimano $25, their warranty will take care of repairs. Seems to me like a $270 reel ought to work when new.
Merchant Response:The reel works fine. They are manual bails, they aren't supposed to flip over automatically.
By Tony
Hawaii
Saragosa 20000
January 10, 2015
Nice reel nice price. Casts far I am using this reel for cut bait dunking. Smooth feeling very dependable reel. Little heavy for my taste.
ConsVery heavy and don't care for cam oscillation system. Prefer the aero wrap
By Michael
CRANSTON, RI
Beautiful Solid Reel
January 4, 2015
Bought this Saragosa 6000sw last year and just want to say I've caught stripers, blues, tog, and one each of an albie and bonito, all from shore. The reel is awesome, casts beautifully and long, I use 30 lb braid, and there is no wobble at all in this reel.
By Blaine
Wilton Manors, FL
sick reel
December 31, 2014
Sickest reel. My friends have FJ's and are totally jealous of this beast.
By brian
Boston, MA
Smooth
November 19, 2014
A hefty reel that is extra smooth with a sturdy drag. Filled with 300yds of Suffix 382 braid. The drag adjustment is fine and when you crank down the pull is even without any catching. Looking forward to landing something sizeable with this reel.
By Andy S.
St. Augustine, FL
Excellent Performer
September 28, 2014
I have been a long time Shimano reel user and TackleDirect customer. This reel is a top performer, just like all of my other Shimano reels.And TackleDirect is a top performer when it comes to buying fishing gear. All of my purchases have been easy, on time and I have always gotten the quality I expect. Shimano and TackleDirect make great partners.
By Loren
Long Beach, CA
Shimano Saragosa 5000SW
September 17, 2014
I'm very happy with this reel. I like to use it for fishing plastics or even jerk baits in the ocean. This reel also works great for throwing spoon lures in the ocean. I put 300 yards a 30 pound braid with a 25 pound fluorocarbon leader. Not a big fan of coffee grinders but they are useful in some applications especially spoons.
By Christian
Orlando, FL
Power Houses!
August 21, 2014
These new Saragosas are nothing but total power houses! They are built like tanks, excellent drag and sealed. They look great and perform just the same. I own a 25000 size and a 6000 size and will be buying more for my saltwater setups.
ProsQuality, smooth drag, plenty of power. They are also sexy reels!
ConsNone
By Bob
Tampa Bay
Saragosa 1000 for Tarpon
July 6, 2014
I have used the Saragosa 1000 on Tarpon this season. It has preformed smoothly and has held up for the entire season. I use 50# braid with the drag screwed pretty tight. I previously used the previous model which worked fine but the new model seems more comfortable and a bit lighter. I also believe the drag is smoother. Tarpon in this area run mostly 80# to 110 #.
ProsLight, good quality, double drag.
By Ray
Brookline, NH
great reel for the money
June 18, 2014
Reel is heavier and bulkier than the 1800 but the drag is smooth and I am looking forward to the first BFT on it this season
By Dan
Kingston, MA
So far so good 10000SW
May 21, 2014
I have been very impressed with this reel so far this season at the CC Canal, casts far, good drag, and very smooth
By Gregory
Demarest, NJ
Great Reel
April 25, 2014
This reel is great for offshore standup fishing. I would recommend it to a lot of people.
By Brian
Fayetteville, NC
What a quality reel should be!
April 12, 2014
This is my first large-size spinning reel. I have a couple of the smaller Shimano Ci4+'s on trout rods for light inshore setups, and I love how they perform. I'm tired of less-expensive reels failing on me. I will be putting this reel to use hopefully on some tarpon, king mackerel, and whatever else wants to participate!
By aaron
Virginia Bch, VA
shes a looker.
April 2, 2014
looks even better out on the pier. I bought this for my 9 year olds pier setup. easy to use and handles fish well. I've always been a shimano fan. I have an older 8000 saragosa that's been outstanding for my 10" surf rod reel. I almost want to change it out to the new SW but there's no point. saragosa's are a great reel. the only word of caution I have is that the bail is manual. I prefer it that way.
By Yan
New York
Nothing even close in this price range.
March 23, 2014
signature shimano smooth. Powerful gears. Perfect line lay translate to longer casting and less line trouble. Sealed drag and body so it's highly water resistant if not totally water proof. Shimano really hit it out of the park with this one. 5000 & 6000 size is 16 oz, not 20 plus oz.
ProsSmooth and powerful gear. Perfect line lay. Sealed drag and body.
By Phillip
Greece
Great reel
March 22, 2014
A very reliable reel at a great price. I use it for jigging and am very satisfied. Bravo Shimano!
ProsLooks great, price, casting, solid frame, waterproof, reliable.
ConsDrag. It could be better.
By Yan
Brooklyn, NY
Nothing even closed at this price level.
March 21, 2014
Signature Shimano smooth. Perfect line lay. Sealed body and Drag so it's highly water resistant, what more can you ask for a $250 reel. 5000 & 6000 size are about 16oz , not 20+ oz.
ProsSmooth, Powerful, Perfect line lay. Sealed body, Sealed drag. Light Weight.
ConsDrag knob tighten up by itself once you lowered the drag to certain minimum level. But that's no issue since this is not a freshwater finesse reel.
By harry c.
collingswood nj
love to try the srg6000sw
March 7, 2014
shimano is a great reel ,I have a 8000oc and love it
By Chris
New Matamoras, OH
Just amazing
March 5, 2014
For the money the best reel out there I have had a chance to use.
ProsPower house
ConsMax drag should be near 50
By Chris
Long Island, NY
Shimano Saragosa SW
February 1, 2014
Only been able to put this reel through 1 month of heavy abuse so far but this reel has caught more big striped bass than I can count without the slightest flaw. Strong drag, big comfortable handle and almost entirely sealed so I'm sure it will hold up to the saltwater better than any other Shimano reel I've previously owned.
ProsSealed Big comfortable handle
By louati
, TUNISIA BIZERTA
Awesome Reel Design And So Strong To Fish GT And Tuna
January 12, 2014
Awesome Reel Design And So Strong To Fish GT And Tuna
By Brendan M.
NY
Thank you Shimano!
January 8, 2014
Finally! A waterproof reel that can be used in the surf and has alot of the bells and whistles that the higher priced models boast and won't break the bank. Shimano really thought this one out. I tested out it's claim to be waterproof by submerging the reel in a 5 gallon bucket of water overnight and when I took it apart the next morning to check for water intrusion, the internals were completely dry! It really is waterproof. I would not recommend going swimming in the surf with this bad boy for extended periods but dunking it here and there shouldn't be a problem. That's what Van Stalls and Zeebass are for anyway. The line lay on this reel is perfect as well. I spooled my 6000 up with 30lb Suffix and was able to get 275 yds on it without overfilling. That is more than enough line for surf fishing here in the northeast. The reel is light for it's size, weighing only 16.4 ounces and it matches up beautifully with surf rods ranging from 9' to 10'6''. Casts well too! I don't think there is any other reel on the market right now that can match the Saragosa SW's features and at this price point.
By Kody
St. Petersburg, FL
Worth the coin
January 7, 2014
Matched this with a shimano waxwing 8' heavy, and have to say I absolutely love it. Smooth with incredible drag strength. frame is solid and with the entire reel sealed I don't have to worry about saltwater spray. I completely overpowered 40-50 lb black drum with this combo. Can't wait to try it on Tarpon in the Spring in Tampa Bay. I have a Diawa Saltist, and Penn Spinfisher V as well and have to say this is now my go to reel for big inshore species and pelagics offshore.
By Craig
Hobe sound, FL
Real step up from Saragosa F
December 8, 2013
All the latest from shimano in this new version. Looks and feels great. Has most of the same specs line, drag, .... as "f" model. It does weigh more, but has a stronger, beefier, more balanced feel. Have not fished yet, can't weight.
ProsAll the best/latest from shimano in a new package Great "new" looks
ConsPrice increase from f model, (but you have to pay for all the added features) Weight increase over f model
By Sam
MA
Fish slaying murder weapon
December 7, 2013
Love the improvements of the new gosa! Hated the old ones but this seems like a quality reel for a bargain.
By Kevin J.
Ewing Nj
new 2013 Saragosa SW
November 1, 2013
Great reel out of the box and onto the boat. Lightweight, manual bail, and great looks makes this one for the books for Shimano I plan on purchasing the 8000sw for work fishing Jersey Bass, the water resistant feature is idea for the surf. Big features that has the Stella at number one has been incorporated into the SW..
ProsEverything! Price is on the mark.

Page 1 of 1