4.8
88 Reviews
5
80% (70)
4
17% (15)
3
2% (2)
2
1% (1)
1
0% (0)
98% Recommend this product (86 of 88 responses)
By Walter
Maryland
Still Smooth after Four Years
September 3, 2022
With a 36 inch retrieve per crank and smooth performance, good reel for inshore fishing at a reasonable price. Be sure to add some backing when using braid.
By Luis A.
CIUDAD DEL CARMEN, CAMPECHE
perfecto para orilla ( perfect for shore)
July 1, 2022
ligero, fuerte, resistente al agua salada, freno de arrastre excelente (light, strong, salt water resistant, excellent drag brake)
Prosbarato (Cheap)
Consninguna (None)
By Ron
Mercer Island, WA
Wonderful reel
May 21, 2022
Great Reel, however, I set this up for salmon, and they make this reel scream, love another 5-7lbs of drag to bump up the total drag. But for the price point, I knew that might be the case.
By William
Joppa, Maryland
Very smooth
May 3, 2022
I bought this because I wanted another spinning reel that I could depend on. Ive been buying Shimano reels for almost 30 years and I still have 5 of my light action reels. I took this reel to the OBX and it cast and retrieved smooth as butter. I'll be taking it out to catch some black sea bass and cod in a few weeks. I'm sure it will make pulling those fish on the boar alot easier.
By Harry P.
Delco PA
Great service and easy to deal with
April 20, 2022
Good product at a fair price and great service on this purchase and other previous orders
By Liem
Grand Prairie, TX
best value buy
April 4, 2022
This thing is beautiful! Well made and reels like butter....smooth and quiet. Took it out several times already and have not had any problems. Feels like a very high-end reel at a great price.
By Mason B.
Shoreview, MN
Great saltwater reel!
March 1, 2022
Being someone who fishes saltwater twice a year, I wasn't about to blow $200+ on a new reel, so I went with this one in the 4000 size, and as per usual shimano didn't disappoint. The drag is very strong, smooth, and consistent. I like the large handle, and it is very smooth. Excellent reel overall.
ProsSmooth Comfortable, Large handle Good line capacity Strong, consistent drag
ConsMust be thoroughly rinsed and maintained after each use in saltwater since it isn't sealed
By paul
CALIFORNIA
Good Economy Reel
February 3, 2022
Better than I expected for $75. I purchased this for a spare rig to loan out when friends or family join me to fish and don't have their own gear. I paired it with an $80 13 Fishing Rod and they both function really well. The only drawback is this real is heavy by today's standards but noob's don't know the difference.
ProsDecent Drag. Performs better than I expected for a $75 reel
ConsHeavy
By Henry A.
IL
Nice Reel.
December 29, 2021
Nice reel strong drag and smooth the price wasn't bad would buy again.
ConsNo cons.
By Capt R.
New Jersey
Great Reel for the price
November 25, 2021
Smooth and sturdy reel, excellent drag and holds up to being left aboard the boat all Summer. I can't ask for anything more than that for the price.
By Mel
Houston, TX
Good reel for the price
November 16, 2021
Got the 3000 and paired it with a 7’6M rod. Very smooth and solid reel.
By delong
flushing, NY
sweet
October 10, 2021
my back up reel,always left in my truck,never used,but feel safe go fishing with it !
By Jibu
Bedford, Texas
one of the best reel for the price
October 5, 2021
one of the best reels for the price. super smooth, lightweight, and compact for the size. enough crank/drag for all inshore species. well balanced with a 9/10ft.
Proscompact, lightweight, smooth, line lay
Consno water ingress protection so use carefully inshore.
By John
OAKDALE, NY
Smooth
August 20, 2021
Love this reel , smooth , consistent . Never an issue from fluke to hard fighting bluefish the reel handles everything well.
ProsGreat reel for the price
By Anonymous
Orange Beach, Al
Great spinner!
August 8, 2021
Smooth drag, would recommend!!
By Clayton C.
Florida
Great saltwater spinning reel
July 4, 2021
I have used other reels but this is my preferred saltwater inshore reel. I use 10 pound Braided line with a mono leader and catch large redfish, trout, sheepshead, tripletail, grunts, sea bass and others with no problem. I have even caught 30 pound black drum with this set up. Smooth, light, durable and affordable reel that I highly recommend.
By Anonymous
Hampton MN
Great Reel
June 28, 2021
A Solid deal
By Capt G.
Alabama
Great reel, great price!
June 6, 2021
The Sedona is a great reel better great price I have four of them and they perfect for my needs.
By David K.
Al
Great reels
April 16, 2021
I got this reel and have used it a few times and like all Shimano’s I’m very satisfied with it. I’m surf fishing with it and it cast long distance very well and is very smooth. I would recommend it to anyone.
ProsCast very good and really smooth.
ConsNone
By Exkeydet
Lexington,VA
Great Reel for the Money
April 2, 2021
For what its worth, I own (6) Shimano Sedonas. They are every bit as nice as reels selling for twice the price.
By Pavel N.
New York
Very good Reel.
March 23, 2021
Very good Reel.
By Will
West Coast
Shimano Sedona 8000FI is a great reel
March 7, 2021
This is not a premium priced reel but it performs very well. It has a lot of pulling power and it's silky smooth. Just beware that there is no water-tight sealing washers anywhere on this reel to prevent saltwater from entering, so if you just use it on on a pier or on a party boat without any risk of splashes, this one is simply hard to beat for the price. Typical Shimano Hagane gears that can take lots of abuse. Perfect for crabbing.
ProsLots of power.
ConsNot splash proof.
By James
Lexington, VA
I own FIVE of them; what does that say?
March 2, 2021
These are great reels for the money. Nothing fancy, but they work well and I've found them to be very reliable.
By Nathan
NC
Great Reel!
December 14, 2020
nice reel, very smooth, very good price
By Todd V.
Florida
Shimano sedona 4000x
November 30, 2020
Shimano quality at a great price. Landed a 35 " redfish on the reels first trip out. Performed flawlessly,drag nice and smooth and the reel was great.
By Jake
Lakin, KS
Shimano Sedona
November 25, 2020
I own 4 of these reels paired with various rods. I believe it's as good or better than anything else in the price range. Great bang for the buck!
By Joe
newark, de
great reel
October 5, 2020
great reel for the price
By Clayton s.
Jupiter fl
Great reel
July 29, 2020
The reel preforms just fine but the only problem I had was i was trying to replace the knob and it was bolted on so I couldn’t replace it.
By Tommy B.
Southeast Minnesota
Sweet Little Spinning Reel
July 21, 2020
To be honest, this is the first reel I have ever spent this much money for, always going for the economy models that just "get you by." What a difference quality makes. This little thing is so smooth in all respects, from pick-up and gears (like butter) to drag. I paired it with a St. Croix Ultra Light trout rod for a small stream trout catcher combo.
ProsLightweight (I got the tiny 500) Smooth Nice little drag
By pv
209
6000
June 22, 2020
Nice reels and i got them on a deal. Used for striped bass and worked fine.
ProsGood beginning reel
ConsReel seems to flex a little when reeling in.
By Sam
CA
Affordable Beast
May 29, 2020
Shimano bounding out the gates with this affordable beast. At 6000, the Sedona does a quality job of pulling any heavy creature. Halibut, lings, stripers, crabs you name it, it's been caught. After half a year of use, it's banged up, but still works fine with regular maintenance The bail is not the smoothest one I've used as sometimes the bail does not want to lock closed.
ProsStrong for its cost Classic spin reel design
ConsHeavy/bulky personal bail issue
By Jackson
Mill Valley, CA
Sold Reel
May 29, 2020
Super smooth and good drag. So far I have no complaints. Bought the 8000 for crab snares and big baits and its holding up well
By Don
Wisconsin and Florida
Shimano se8000fic
May 20, 2020
Great reel for the sale price. Use it for 4 ft to 5ft black tip shark fishing heavy but sturdy . I clean and oil after every salt water use.
ProsGreat price and good looking , feels solid .
ConsHeavy
By Papa
Milledgeville
Great reel
May 11, 2020
Well made very smooth action
By Papa
Milledgeville
Great reel
May 11, 2020
Very well made reel, very smooth.
By Joe
New Jersey
Best Reel for the Money
May 8, 2020
I bought the 8000 size for surf fishing, my penn reel broke so I had my eyes on this one, this reel is super smooth. Very light weight for a reel this size, and it feels like it’s made from super durable materials. Very impressed with this, might have to switch all of my spinning reels to this reel.
By Joshua H.
Port saint Lucie, Florida
Amazing reel for the price!
May 8, 2020
I'm a die hard Shimano fan, I've always owned stradics and used them as my work horses , have landed alot of salt water fish but the Sedona is my new prize and can't wait to try it out.
ProsPrice, performance, durability, quality
ConsNone that I know of
By Manuel
Reston, Virginia
Another Shimano first
May 4, 2020
I own a Shimano Sedona 1000 for about 8 years. I caught largemouth, smallmouth, shads, carps, snakeheads, crappie, white and yellow perch, 21" striper, catfish...He handled it all with no problem. Cleaning and greasing after each season and will last you forever.
ProsMy 1000 is small but a workhorse; fair price for what you are getting; ample line capacity; Shimano's traditional lightweight
ConsNone
By Dale
Columbus Ga
Smooth reel
May 2, 2020
Got a chance to use this on a lighter shimano rod a few weeks back. Was a back up for bottom fishing grouper. Pulled in about an 18 Pounder with no issues. Also handled well on 2 sharks around 100 - 150 lbs. going to pair it up with a heavier rod and know by experience it will work well on AJs using a popper or trolling
By Brian
Laguna Beach, CA
Great real for price
April 12, 2020
This reel has worked great for the surf fishing down here in Southern Baja, Mexico. Cant beat the price.
ProsGreat Price
By ChuckD
Clayton, NC
Tough, workin’ (wo)man’s reel
March 30, 2020
Drag is decent with Hagane. A little heavy but understandable
ProsHagane
Conswt
By ChuckD
Clayton, NC
Light
March 30, 2020
If you’re looking at getting a taste of high end Shimano, this is a great place to start. Hagane and light.
By Hung N.
Peabody, MA
Smooth and very quiet.
March 23, 2020
Very good reel, surprisingly smooth and very quiet.The price is reasonable, for this quality, awsome! Tackle direct is fast shipping and very efficiently, 👍
ProsSmooth, quiet.
ConsNone
By John
South Berwick, ME
Great Reel for the price
March 9, 2020
Got two of these for a Friends Birthday and he will love them off his Boat.
ProsAffordable
By John
Carrollton, TX
Great reel
March 4, 2020
I got this reel because I needed a salt water fishing reel and this one was half off. It is by far the most sturdy and plain awesome reel I have ever had.
ProsSuper sturdy
ConsNothing
By Duck
Torrance, CA
Great Deal
February 28, 2020
i bought this reel last year for Surf casting in Southern California. It cast smooth and the reel components are tight. No wiggling of the handle and no partial spin back of the reel. Drag is also smooth when pulling on a Barred surf perch or Corbina out of the surf.
By Dang
Nguyen
Cheap
February 24, 2020
For the price, it is ok. Don’t expect the quality or performance of an expensive reel. Can’t abuse it like the more expensive sealed reels.
By Jose
Lakeland, FL
Sturdy
February 21, 2020
Good value for the money
By Reese
Johns island, SC
Okay but better options
February 7, 2020
This reel is okay for the price but they’re better options like for 20$ more the Sahara is great
By Chuck
Massachusetts
Great value
February 2, 2020
This reel is being used as part of a surf casting combo paired with an 11 foot medium action surf rod. The reel has great line capacity, smooth action and smooth drag. I can throw for distance very easily and the balance is terrific.this reel is a terrific performer at a great price.

Page 1 of 2
1