4.7
58 Reviews
5
79% (46)
4
17% (10)
3
2% (1)
2
2% (1)
1
0% (0)
98% Recommend this product (57 of 58 responses)
By Sam
CA
Affordable Beast
May 29, 2020
Shimano bounding out the gates with this affordable beast. At 6000, the Sedona does a quality job of pulling any heavy creature. Halibut, lings, stripers, crabs you name it, it's been caught. After half a year of use, it's banged up, but still works fine with regular maintenance The bail is not the smoothest one I've used as sometimes the bail does not want to lock closed.
ProsStrong for its cost Classic spin reel design
ConsHeavy/bulky personal bail issue
By Jackson
Mill Valley, CA
Sold Reel
May 29, 2020
Super smooth and good drag. So far I have no complaints. Bought the 8000 for crab snares and big baits and its holding up well
By Don
Wisconsin and Florida
Shimano se8000fic
May 20, 2020
Great reel for the sale price. Use it for 4 ft to 5ft black tip shark fishing heavy but sturdy . I clean and oil after every salt water use.
ProsGreat price and good looking , feels solid .
ConsHeavy
By Papa
Milledgeville
Great reel
May 11, 2020
Well made very smooth action
By Papa
Milledgeville
Great reel
May 11, 2020
Very well made reel, very smooth.
By Joe
New Jersey
Best Reel for the Money
May 8, 2020
I bought the 8000 size for surf fishing, my penn reel broke so I had my eyes on this one, this reel is super smooth. Very light weight for a reel this size, and it feels like it’s made from super durable materials. Very impressed with this, might have to switch all of my spinning reels to this reel.
By Joshua H.
Port saint Lucie, Florida
Amazing reel for the price!
May 8, 2020
I'm a die hard Shimano fan, I've always owned stradics and used them as my work horses , have landed alot of salt water fish but the Sedona is my new prize and can't wait to try it out.
ProsPrice, performance, durability, quality
ConsNone that I know of
By Manuel
Reston, Virginia
Another Shimano first
May 4, 2020
I own a Shimano Sedona 1000 for about 8 years. I caught largemouth, smallmouth, shads, carps, snakeheads, crappie, white and yellow perch, 21" striper, catfish...He handled it all with no problem. Cleaning and greasing after each season and will last you forever.
ProsMy 1000 is small but a workhorse; fair price for what you are getting; ample line capacity; Shimano's traditional lightweight
ConsNone
By Dale
Columbus Ga
Smooth reel
May 2, 2020
Got a chance to use this on a lighter shimano rod a few weeks back. Was a back up for bottom fishing grouper. Pulled in about an 18 Pounder with no issues. Also handled well on 2 sharks around 100 - 150 lbs. going to pair it up with a heavier rod and know by experience it will work well on AJs using a popper or trolling
By Brian
Laguna Beach, CA
Great real for price
April 12, 2020
This reel has worked great for the surf fishing down here in Southern Baja, Mexico. Cant beat the price.
ProsGreat Price
By ChuckD
Clayton, NC
Tough, workin’ (wo)man’s reel
March 30, 2020
Drag is decent with Hagane. A little heavy but understandable
ProsHagane
Conswt
By ChuckD
Clayton, NC
Light
March 30, 2020
If you’re looking at getting a taste of high end Shimano, this is a great place to start. Hagane and light.
By Hung N.
Peabody, MA
Smooth and very quiet.
March 23, 2020
Very good reel, surprisingly smooth and very quiet.The price is reasonable, for this quality, awsome! Tackle direct is fast shipping and very efficiently, 👍
ProsSmooth, quiet.
ConsNone
By John
South Berwick, ME
Great Reel for the price
March 9, 2020
Got two of these for a Friends Birthday and he will love them off his Boat.
ProsAffordable
By John
Carrollton, TX
Great reel
March 4, 2020
I got this reel because I needed a salt water fishing reel and this one was half off. It is by far the most sturdy and plain awesome reel I have ever had.
ProsSuper sturdy
ConsNothing
By Duck
Torrance, CA
Great Deal
February 28, 2020
i bought this reel last year for Surf casting in Southern California. It cast smooth and the reel components are tight. No wiggling of the handle and no partial spin back of the reel. Drag is also smooth when pulling on a Barred surf perch or Corbina out of the surf.
By Dang
Nguyen
Cheap
February 24, 2020
For the price, it is ok. Don’t expect the quality or performance of an expensive reel. Can’t abuse it like the more expensive sealed reels.
By Jose
Lakeland, FL
Sturdy
February 21, 2020
Good value for the money
By Reese
Johns island, SC
Okay but better options
February 7, 2020
This reel is okay for the price but they’re better options like for 20$ more the Sahara is great
By Chuck
Massachusetts
Great value
February 2, 2020
This reel is being used as part of a surf casting combo paired with an 11 foot medium action surf rod. The reel has great line capacity, smooth action and smooth drag. I can throw for distance very easily and the balance is terrific.this reel is a terrific performer at a great price.
By Saltfishing
Delaware
Not ergonomic
January 25, 2020
The bail is too close to the reel handle and hits your knuckles, even with a longer foam boat rod handle.
By Jeff
Fortson, GA
Big reel
January 13, 2020
Didn’t realize how much larger an 8000 would be to my 6000. Super strong reel and feels like you can catch whatever you want with no limits. So far only caught some bull reds with no issue.
By Van
SoMD
Good value reel
January 12, 2020
I probably would have passed on this reel except that it was almost 50% off. I gave it 4/5 stars based on the $54.99 price. The reel is very smooth and has a ton of line capacity. The handle is comfortable for an 8k size it's not very heavy. We'll use it for bottom fishing stripers, reds, cobias and big catfish in the Chesapeake.
ProsThere are better reels for around $100 but not for $55.
By Alex
Cape cod, ma
Great product
January 11, 2020
I have had 5000 for 3 seasons now. It has been an awesome reel. Smoother over time, I took a bad spill with it on my boat and bent the shaft slightly and it still works fine. My one complaint would be the drag washers. After 5 albies or so the felt drag washers were smoked and I had to upgrade to carbon washers
ProsValue, smooth, tough!
ConsFelt drag washers
By Jackson
CA
Nice deal
January 8, 2020
I bought this reel for the deal. I've used it once and like the drag, very smooth
ProsSmooth drag
By BobK
Merritt Island, FL
Great Deal
December 21, 2019
Can’t beat the price, the reel is well worth it. Bought it because of the higher drag and ability to turn some of the bigger fish or get them off of the bottom.
ProsSmoothness and line capacity Higher drag
ConsNone yet
By Larry
PA
Good reel at a good price
December 5, 2019
Hooked and landed a 5 foot shark using this reel. I'd say the drag worked pretty good.
By Rob
Virginia
Great reel for throwing heavy lures into the surf
November 26, 2019
I spent a week down in the Outer Banks in November and paired this reel with a 9ft Heavy action Salmon/Steelhead rod. It has a good feel when sweeping or popping plugs for strippers. Smooth drag and a decent line ratio retrieve. Very satisfied with my purchase.
By Joe
Philadelphia
Quality and value
November 26, 2019
I ordered two of these reels to use as “ loaner reels” when I take friends fishing. I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the reel for the cost.
ProsGearing, line lay, drag and line roller.
ConsHaven?t found any yet
By Pk
Charleston, SC
Excellent quality and price
November 24, 2019
I use these for surf fishing and they are durable and worth the price.
ProsSmooth operation Large line capacity High quality for price Is a Shimano reel!
ConsNone
By Marius
Victoria, NULL
Great reel
November 19, 2019
Great reel for the price..smooth feeling
By David
New orleans
Shimano ftw
November 19, 2019
What can I say? It's Shimano! Reel is smooth drag is nice. Handles fish with ease
ProsQuality budget reel for the price can't go wrong
ConsNone at the moment
By Greg
Shark River NJ
Good Reel
November 19, 2019
Been catching some nice sized striped bass with this reel and am very pleased with its performance.
By Ortega O.
Jacksonville, Florida
Good, solid reel for small tarpon
November 18, 2019
This reel was a good value proposition. Only time will speak to durability but seems well made. Unfortunate that it does not have braid retainer on the spool
By LUIS M.
NJ
Good reel for the price!
November 18, 2019
The looks and the performance is nice for the price.
By JIm
Oh.
great reel at a great price
November 9, 2019
Purchased this reel for my wife for Christmas, as soon as I opened the box , I knew I had to order a second reel for me.
By Brandon
Roseville, CA
Awesome deal for awesome reel
October 30, 2019
Paired this with a Penn Prevail 10' Surf Rod. Casts my daiwa salt pro minnows a mile. Spooled with Power Pro 40lb braid. Good combo and price was a steal.
ProsSmooth
ConsCheap $
By Tyler
Port Charlotte, FL
Absolute Unit
October 18, 2019
I haven’t been fishing very long and was borrowing my buddy’s gear to figure out what I wanted. He was a Shimano guy and that led me to this purchase. I bought the 4000 and I take it everywhere I fish, beaches, piers, canals, etc. I’ve dunked this in saltwater and lazily rinsed it when I got home and there are no signs of wear. I paired it with a Penn Squadron 7ft rod and I’ve caught everything from Lizardfish to 3ft black tip. I highly recommend this reel for anyone who wants a decent reel for cheap.
ProsHolds plenty of 20lb braid Catches fish Never had line twist problems
By LUIS
Lakewood, NJ
Good reel for price
October 9, 2019
Great reel and is very smooth.
By Gary
Redondo Beach
Been meaning to return this for a larger size
September 12, 2019
I actually didn’t look at the models before purchasing this so I got a really small 4lb test reel when I wanted more like a 12-15 lb test
ProsNice
ConsNever used it
By Drew
Ashburn, Virginia
Durable reel for good value
September 4, 2019
I use this reel for all light freshwater and inshore saltwater fishing. The 2500s are on my freshwater setups targeting smallmouth, largemouth, and the occasional trout and the 4000s are used to cast to cobia and drum. Same performance as reels 2-3x the price
By JORGE B.
11435
Shimano sedona
July 13, 2019
VERY GOOD PRODUCT, SHIMANO THE BEST
By Ken
Western Mass
Awesome Reel
July 10, 2019
What a great reel for this price and along with the free reel. Couldn't be a better deal. Great customer Service. Will buy again,
By Philip
New Hampshire
Nice reel
June 11, 2019
I'd give it 5 stars but I haven't caught anything with it yet. Casts nice and reels smooth. Hope to get something on it soon.
By Matthew
Burbank, CA
Awesome budget reel
June 6, 2019
I purchased the 500 size and spooled it with 2lb test. It’s paired with an 8ft Ultralight rod to throw super light mini jigs. The reel is lightweight with a nice drag for the price tag.
ProsLightweight Affordable
By Dave
Baltimore
Great value
May 12, 2019
It lives up to its reviews. Quiet, smooth, and sting.
ProsQuiet. Smooth.
By Chad
NC
Smooth
May 1, 2019
So far i am liking the Sedona. It is smooth and drag is good. It is a little smaller than similar 6000 size reels and holds slightly less line. I have it paired with a 9'6 and it casts great. Havent had anything test it's drag yet, but so far i am happy, especially for the price.
By Bear
Charlotte NC
Shimano is bullet proof as usual.
April 30, 2019
Very smooth little reel. Impressive quality for price point.
By Kristopher
PACE, FL
Great reel with a great price
April 1, 2019
This reel is very affordable and suprisingly smooth! The only thing I'd change is the plastic pieces, but for the price it's perfect.
By Edward
Ellijay, GEORGIA
Another fine Shimano product
February 16, 2019
The Sedona has always been a workhorse type reel but the newer one is a dream to fish with. Works great in inshore salt water but remember to rinse the reel. This is my third Sedona. Have replaced all but one with the new reel. Still a workhorse.
ProsGreat drag Smooth ball bearing drive Works great with braid.
ConsNone
By vincent
Texas
Great price grear reel
January 8, 2019
Just what I need for salt water fishing. AWESOME
By Eyecatcher
Hibertus, WI.
Smooth
December 27, 2018
Reel is as expected. Smooth and balanced. Perfect for my med/fast action rod.
By Scott
Rogers Ar
Nice reel
December 23, 2018
Very nice reel for the money. Works great for catfishing.
By James
Venice, La
Great Reel For The Price.
December 21, 2018
The reel is great for the price.
By Exkeydet
Lexington, VA
Great Reel for the Price!
November 16, 2018
You can't beat the Sedona line for virtually every kind of freshwater fishing. I now own three of them, and all have served me well. This is a modestly priced reel, but you get a lot for the money. It may not be the 'top of the line", but it comes very close.
By Jessie
nj
Looks nice
November 4, 2018
i would definitely get one at this price with this much drag for snagging bunker or coctail blues for bait when i am sharking.
By Jeremy
Mechanicsville, MD
Awesome reel
March 12, 2018
These reels are exactly what I wanted for my jigging setup. Great look and line capacity. I can't wait to test them out soon.
ProsQuality Line capacity
ConsNone
By Leo
Los Angeles Ca
Nice reel!
December 20, 2017
This reel is strong and smooth. Itâ‚"s worth the price. I want to buy another one for my other rod.
ProsSmooth and strong,
ConsNone

Page 1 of 1