4.7
28 Reviews
5
79% (22)
4
14% (4)
3
4% (1)
2
4% (1)
1
0% (0)
96% Recommend this product (27 of 28 responses)
By Andrew
Philadelphia, PA
Awesome All Around
May 17, 2020
I use this mainly for surf and jetty fishing in NJ and it has proven to be extremely well made and durable. No problems to report whatsoever.
ProsGreat reel that isn't terribly expensive. Very durable on the beach.
Consn/a
By Vince
Austin, TX
So good I bought 2!
March 12, 2020
I bought the Gosa first, and after reading some online reviews, I purchased a 10000 Spheros, and then a 8000 because it was so good. The only difference between the Gosa and the Spheros is a bearing and the finish! I took the 10000 out on a tuna trip out of Galveston and it handles chunky football blackfin no problem, and horsed in a nice 70lb yellowfin as well. Still super smooth, still great drag as the Saragosa, but at a cheaper price. Highly recommended!
ProsAffordable! Smooth drag Nice power when reeling fish in
By Van
SoMD
If you like the Saragosa consider this reel
January 13, 2020
The Spheros is a great saltwater reel that is a step down but similar to the Saragosa. But if you need to save money the 5k Spheros is almost $70 cheaper than the 5k 'gosa.
By Tucker B.
Murrles inlet SC
Fish killer
December 11, 2019
Hey guy and gals. Gonna leave my review for my Spheros SW 8000. I have had mine for about a year a half, and have used it for every thing from bait and chunking 40lb redfish to pitch baiting mahi in the gulf. I can say that this is one tough son of a gun. If you are looking for an all around do all heavy reel this is it, pitch bait, big mutton, poppers, vertical jigging, etc, this is your reel. I have a couple Saragosas 6000 and 10000, these are great reels for specific tasks, but the lower gear ratio really makes the spheros an all duty reel. The lower price tag is nice as well, compared to the 250-300 I paid for the gosas. If you are specifically looking for a pitch bait or vertical jigging tee check out gosas. Hope this helps anyone who’s looking for this info. Keep on fishing.
ProsSmooth, and stays that way as long as you don?t beat it to bad. Durable. Sealed well. Good line lay. Excellent even drag pressure on big fish. Overall great reel for the money.
ConsI had to put a little grease in mine when I got it but other than that none.
By Blake
Wilmington, NC
Great Reel
February 13, 2019
This reel is one of my favorite. I plan on using it for bull Reds and cobia this summer. I Can't wait to try it out.
By Captain H.
Stuart, FL
Tough enough to tame Florida's most sought after gamefish
November 9, 2018
What I love about these reels is their durability, line capacity and drag system. I fish these reels on G. Loomis E6X rods and 30 pound Power Pro braided line, and use them for everything from tarpon, big snook and big permit to sailfish, cobia and dolphin. They are an all-purpose reel that will put the beat down on tough gamefish. The manual bail is nice in that it prevents wind knots in the braided line. I mostly use the 6000 series, but also the 8000's, and there's only the rare occasion that I have to chase fish. The line capacity is outstanding, the drag system, even after two or three years of daily use is smooth as can be. I do maintenance on these reels once a year and they've held up and are still in use today, which is more than I can say for any other reels I've owned. Simply put, when you buy this reel, if you take care of it, it will provide a lifetime of fishing memories.
By Stefan
Outer banks
Solid reel
July 24, 2018
I've owned this reel for one year and love it. Felt like a had to do a reveiw on it after landing a keeper cobia off the pier, I felt in control the whole fight and was impressed with the cranking power. Great reel for the money.
By Brian
Portsmouth, NH
disappointed after all the good reviews online
May 29, 2018
this reel wobbles right out of the box. Reading on one of the striped bass sites I see others have faced the same issue. I am going to return it if possible.
Prossolid ar clutch - smooth
Conswobbles - 5k has very small spool for a 5k reel size. I would have gotten the 6k if I realized how small it was.
By Domingos V.
Luanda, Angola
Very nice tackle
December 11, 2017
I use the 20000 with Terez rod and recommend it, very good and strong ... I already fished big fish with it ...
By jason
miami
spheros
April 27, 2017
6000 is perfect for a 50lb jigging rel. great drag
Pros$$
By Juan
San Andr├┬ęs island, Colombia.
Light and smooth!.
April 16, 2017
This reel is light and smooth. Not too much drag but enough for great captures.
By Ben
West Palm Beach, FL
Good reel
October 12, 2016
Smooth reel, we will see how long it lasts though.
By Jon
eastern shore, Md.
Great quality!
June 30, 2016
Have yet to put this reel (10000) against a good test, so far only 3-4 ft. sharks. Reel is smooth and the drag is serious.
Prosline capacity
Consnone found yet
By max
Redding, CT
Good reel
March 1, 2016
i was able to use this reel on a charter kayak trip. Its a pretty good buy. Strong and durable reel and Shimano really improved it from the last version. Not as smooth as the saragossa though.(much cheaper)
Prosdurable and lightweight, strong
By Mark
Enterprise, AL
Best Value for a quality Spinning Reel
January 4, 2016
A great value in the offshore spinning reel market.
Proslight weight Great drag
ConsNone so far.
By Anthony
Long Beach Island
Smoothest reel I've ever used
December 2, 2015
Bought this reel for a plugging setup for striper fishing this season and I have to say its the smoothest reel I have ever used and hasn't disappointed me when reeling in fish. Great buy I highly recommend investing in this reel.
By Jimmy
Massapequa Park, New York
Great value
November 7, 2015
I was using the 5000 Daiwa Procyon on my 9' Lami SS as a light surf set up for smaller Striped Bass with the occasional keeper until it had to be sent in for service. I have the 5000 Shimano Saragosa SW and really like the reel so I decided to replace the Daiwa with the Spheros even though I know I am not comparing apples to apples. I have used the Spheros a few times and have caught Striped Bass to approx. 34". The reel is nice and smooth, casts well and does a nice job managing the 30lb braid I have spooled on it. I really like this reel. I only wish it was just a little bit lighter.
ProsExcellent value. Nice drag. Good line mgt.
ConsWish it was just a little lighter.
By Albert B.
Kaneohe, Hawaii
shimano spheros sp10000sw
August 26, 2015
Purchased the shimano spheros sp10000sw from TackleDirect.com and am thoroughly happy with this reel. Very smooth and it's ease of retrieve is remarkable with a load. No strain whatsoever when reeling in a fish. I love the X-ship and X-shield on this reel, awesome features for a salt water reel. Thanks again, tackledirect for an easy, and always pleasant transaction! Super customer service!!!!!
Prosease of retrieve and super smooth. Very powerful low gear ratio.
Consnone
By Alan
phoenix, az
Great reel for multi species
August 3, 2015
I have three of these and use them for everything from tarpon to tuna live bait or lure . Shimano quality is unmatched and should be a staple for getting fish on your boat
By david
lake worth, FL
Great reel
May 7, 2015
this reel is great for big snook and even smaller offshore fish
By Michael
Boynton Beach, FL
Sweet reel for live baiting
April 28, 2015
Really good drag overall solid reel
By Db
new york, NY
great value
March 19, 2015
Great value reel. Shimano reel is one of the mist smooth reel this saltwater reel also very smooth. there is little switch allow the reel back and force with out any effort. very good fir the price
By Alon S.
Israel
great reel
March 3, 2015
I love this reel. After reading Alan Hawk's review and getting a recommendation from him I decided to get this reel, and its awesome. It holds plenty of line, casts great and has a manual bail which I love.
By Luis
McKinleyville, CA
Spheros SW 10000
February 15, 2015
This reel can handle anything! I love it!
ProsSHIMANO!
By andre
Boynton beach, FL
Great saltwater reel.
February 2, 2015
This is a great reel for jigging, live baiting, or casting lures. Great for many presentations
By David B.
ישראל
great for boat jigging
January 25, 2015
great for boat jigging
By James B.
Carson California USA
This Shimno model # SP5000SW
October 21, 2014
This Shimno Speros sp5000sw is great fishing reel for local and island fishing Calico bass and Sand bass big bonito,also 10 to 15 pound class yellowtail you can use this reel for offshore fishing catching smaller side 10 to 15 pound class yellow fin tuna or Dorado.I will fill it up with 30 pound power pro braid line tied a 20 or 25 fluorocarbon at lease two feet leader. You can tied live bait hook or lure of your choice also this reel can long cast long ways. We just need to add water let's go fishing
By C W.
NY
Always trust Shimano
October 1, 2014
perfect ! on the 10 ' rod

Page 1 of 1