4.9
120 Reviews
5
91% (109)
4
8% (9)
3
0% (0)
2
1% (1)
1
1% (1)
98% Recommend this product (117 of 120 responses)
By Chad
California
Smooth as butter!
October 3, 2021
Purchased as a gift for my brother and he loves it. Said it’s the best spinning reel he has!
By Quoc
Hayward, CA
Light weight to use as Tuna setup
September 14, 2021
Been using this reel everytime head out for tuna fishing trip
By Craig
,
best bang for your buck
January 12, 2021
i have four of these reels and they are extremely durable, super smooth, and an overall dream to fish with day in and day out.
By Kevin
Farmingdale, NY
Beast!
January 9, 2021
We have danced with this one a lot. We have three and use them to jig, pop, etc... great versatile unit
By Brandon
Florida
The new Saragosa is the best
December 8, 2020
I bought the all new Saragosa 6000 and it's the best spinning reel that I have ever owned! I can cast small baits with it just as good as my ci4 4000 and it is built really well 5 stars all the way!
ProsEverything
ConsNothing
By Larry L.
Doylestown, PA
Seragosa .... The Legend for a Reason
August 22, 2020
The Saragosa SW spinning reals are one of the best reels regardless of price. They are smooth, have great line capacity, great drag system, and are built to be rigid and water proof (essentially unless you submerge it for a while). I own in 8000, 20000, and 25000 sizes and absolutely love them!!!!! If you want a fantastic saltwater reel stop looking and buy a Saragosa.
ProsRid god construction, awesome drag system, water proof, great line capacity and SMOOTH.
ConsMay be a little more expensive then some bargain reels ... but worth the money!
By Robin
Sand Springs, Oklahoma
Awesome saltwater spinning reel!
August 11, 2020
I bought the Saragosa 20000 for offshore fishing at the rigs in Grand Isle Louisiana. The first fish I caught was a 36 pound Cobia. I didn’t realize what I had until I got it to the boat. My new Saragosa handled that hard fighting cobia like a champ!! I caught sharks, 30 pound bull reds and a quite a few red and gray snapper as well. I was extremely pleased with the performance of my Shimano Saragosa. I’ll be replacing two SW Penn reels with additional Saragosa’s for future trips offshore!!
ProsSuper smooth drag! Lightweight for its size.
By Carlos
Houston, TX
Reliable and tought
August 6, 2020
You will be getting an all around, solid consistent and very reliable reel.
ProsGreat reel for the money. dont be afraid to put it to the test.
ConsRemember is not the shimano flagship but it get the job done.
By Thanh
Egg Harbor Township, NJ
Really amazy reell
June 25, 2020
I ordered 6000 instead of 5000. They're slightly different by a little. Fantastic reel for a 9 ft rod for jetties or surf fishing
By Corey
Connecticut
Jack of All Trades
May 20, 2020
The 6000 is a great all-around reel for stripers, blues, albies, fluke, black sea bass, porgy, and tog.
By David
Kennesaw, GA
Great reel
May 18, 2020
Worth every penny. Smooth as can be! Matched my 6000 w powerpro maxquatro and it’s like a dream
By Manuel
Reston, Virginia
It is about power
May 16, 2020
This is a powerful reel from Shimano. Solid, powerful. I own the 10,000 and the 20,000. Will get another 20K. For offshore I paired it with Shimano Tallus Bluewater, unbeatable.
ProsGreat price for a fantastic reel. Shimano integrated some key features from high end Stella into the Saragossa, maintaining the price.
By Larry
Doylestown, OA
Saragosa Reels are Fantastic!!!!
March 20, 2020
Saragosa reels are fantastic reels. Smooth, light weight with large capacity and plenty of drag. I have an 8000 and three 25000 reels and absolutely love them. All the reels have Maxcuatro line to maximize line capacity. This is specifically important for the 25000 reels since they are setup to catch bluefin and yellowfin tuna and other big game fish and need the extra line capacity Maxcuatro provides. I use FG knot to attach either mono or fluoro top shot to the reels. Highly recommend and think Saragosa spinning reels are some of the best reels made.
ProsSmooth, light weight, strong, with plenty of line capacity and drag. They will last for years and years of saltwater fishing fun.
ConsThey are more expensive then some other reels but the Saragosa reels are worth the extra cost.
By steve
Cape cod
Great reel
March 16, 2020
Bought an 8000 for fishing cape cod canal works great smooth reel extremely happy
By Vince
Austin, TX
Power House
March 12, 2020
This is a superb reel, buttery smooth as typical for Shimano reels, but also very powerful. I've landed multiple tuna out of the Gulf coast with this beast. There's no noticeable flex in the rotor when handling large fish, and it will bring the big ones in. The drag is smooth and strong and responsive, and you won't break the bank like getting a Stella. Highly recommended!
ProsPricing vs Quality Powerful drag Powerful torque on fish Looks beautiful
ConsDoesn't have the rubber around the spool to seat braid, but that's a minor inconvenience
By Adam
Suffolk, VA
Shimano Srg8000SW
March 10, 2020
Best reel for fishing for cobia excellent durability
By Cobb
Glenmoore, PA
Very nice
March 3, 2020
Best bang for your buck shimano reel very smooth light and strong, also I’ve accidentally ducked mine on several occasions and it is still very smooth
By sgholmes
orange beach, alabama
Workhorse of a reel
February 14, 2020
I will definitely be buying more of these in the future. They deal with saltwater better than others I've bought in the past. I have this 6000 on an 8ft Shimano Teramar and makes one heck of a do it all rod when I'm offshore/nearshore.
Proswell sealed good drag
By Van
SoMD
Get the 6000 if you're considering the 5000
February 5, 2020
The 6000 is just 1/2 heavier, it has the same gear ratio with a bit more retrieve, maybe owing to the larger spool. and has a good deal more line capacity. It's also the same price.
By Reese
,
Very smooth
January 31, 2020
I have an 8000 Saragossa and this thing is smooth and powerful. There are nicer versions such as the Stella and tp XD but this thing gets the job done great for pitching and jigging
ProsSmooth Durable Reasonably priced
ConsOn the heavier side
By Van
SoMD
Stradic's big, heavy duty brother!
January 13, 2020
These are great reels. If you like the stradic but want heavier duty reel, this is the one to get.
By Shadow C.
South Florida
Great reel
January 12, 2020
I have a few of these reels and really like them. I believe the design is an improvement over the previous model with this name. For overall spinning needs inshore and offshore. Smooth drag, good line capacity, even better when used with braid. If you need more drag and have the funding, the twin power will fit the bill.
ProsSmooth drag, line capacity, low maintenance.
ConsCost
By Allen G.
BRENHAM, TX
Fantastic reel
December 18, 2019
I'm really impressed with this reel. I ordered the Saragosa SW8000 model. Very smooth. I love it. The only surprise is that it is a little heavier that I thought it would be . I originally thought I would put it on an older St. Croix Mojo inshore rod, but now planning on putting it on a 7 ft Terez. Shipping by Tackledirect was prompt and arrived without delay.
By cam
NJ - New Jersey
Great reel
November 20, 2019
I've caught large striped bass to 9' sharks on this reel & it performs very well. Not obnoxious in size or weight but feels built like a tank. Great smooth drag and very versatile.
By christian
Islip, NY
Tuna Setup
November 18, 2019
Best Tuna spinning reel at this price point. Holds more than enough line and puts out a good amount of drag
ProsValue
By Kenny
,
Outstanding reel
November 17, 2019
The drag on this reel is smooth. gears are smooth, looks great, what else do you want from a reel this thing can't provide? I have the 8000 and it puts the works on them stripers, smaller tunas, sharks, and anything that's not a behemoth lol
By Soon Y.
Flushing, NY
Saragosa 8000
October 16, 2019
LIGHT, POWERFUL, SMOOTH!!!
By Jim
JAX Beach, FL
10,000 for FL snapper fishing
July 14, 2019
Bought 2 10,000 for the FL red snapper season. Did the job and put the brakes on decent bottom fish. Handled 25lbers with live baits at 125 ft of water and 15lbers on the jig. Had both on penn Carnage jig rods. Thanks Tackle Direct!
ProsLight weight reel with smooth high lb drag.
By Kmoose
Gulf of Mexico
8000 Shimano Saragosa
June 30, 2019
The Saragosa is one of my favorite offshore spinners for general offshore use. It is as smooth and capable as Shimano’s higher end line and has proven to be just as durable in all my applications. Before purchasing you should know that the bail is 100% manual and requires you to flip it back over after you cast. I don’t see this as a negative but if you are used to an auto bail engagement it will take some time to get used to it.
ProsWaterproof/sealed bearings and drag system
ConsNone
By Christian S.
FL
Dropped it in the surf, like nothing happened!
June 7, 2019
Butter smooth, well build, casts far. I also dropped it in the surf by error, got water and sand, just rinsed it afterwards and keeps working like nothing happened. Worth the investment!
By Luke P.
South Carolina
Saragosa 8,000 and 20,000
May 20, 2019
The Saragosa 8,000 is great for jigging because it is lightweight and has good drag. The Saragosa 20,000 is great for big poppers because it has great capacity.
By Drew
Margate
Great Reel
May 16, 2019
Solid construction, smooth drag and good value.
By Kevin
Weston, FL
Solid Reel
May 14, 2019
No doubt one of the best reels out there. Great parts, looks awesome, and overall just an amazing reel for the price. 👌
By Philthy
Staten Island, New York
Quality product at a great price
May 3, 2019
This reel has many features, parts and Design of shimano's higher-end expensive reels.
ProsSmooth drag smooth retrieve Gray castability
ConsNone so far
By Felipe a.
San Carlos mx
El mejor
March 23, 2019
Sencillamente por su calidad , desempe?o y precio es el mejor carrete en el mercado
By DJ A.
New Smyrna Beach, FL
Nice, smooth reel
March 2, 2019
Four stars because I'd like more drag and line capacity. If I could buy again, I'd get the equivalent in a Penn Slammer III...
By Bill T.
Long Island
Super disappointed in the quality of workmanship
February 10, 2019
Bought this reel with hi expectation. Used it 1 season on the boat as a backup and the same fall season as a surf reel. It preformed ok nothing special but the finish started to delaminate in a couple spots. Never dropped or abused I take very good care of my gear. When sent f9r clean and grease at thee d of the season it brought to the attention of Shimano rep was basic Ly told “its paint on a fishing reel that’s what happens” WHAT??
By Gil
sacramneto, calif.
awesome reel
December 24, 2018
i got this reel a few weeks ago but haven't experience any catch yet. perfectly match with the okuma nomad or the lamiglas insane10 footer rod. mainly use it for strippers or some sturgeons and will be travelling for future catch hopefully. i was debating of getting the van staal 150. they weigh about the same the van stall is slightly smaller but luckily my buddy wanted it too and this was on sale for 269 if you buy 2 reels plus it came with a mustard 6in filet knive. it was a just better deal and its shimano sw.
By Kyle
Cape cod Mashole
Best bang for your buck.
October 19, 2018
Amazing reel and price. I use the 10k at the cape cod canal as my jogging reel. This reel can handle a lot.
ProsPrice.
ConsNone.
By Bri
MA
Durable
September 23, 2018
I have not had the Saragosa 5000 long but it has taken a beating. Sand, accidentally dunked a few times, and lots of drag pulling hookups. I am impressed and I am looking forward to knowing if it stands the test of time.
ProsSmooth and tough. Enough drag to keep you in the game.
ConsPersonal preference but I wish it had a bailless feature from the factory.
By Rodney B.
Florida
Shimano Poducts Are Great
September 14, 2018
I have recently changed out all of my vertical/ speed jigging gear. Since July I have purchased 2/6000 and 1/8000 Shimano Sargosa spinners. Also added another Trinidad 16N. All of the reels are on new Shimano Trevela rods of various lengths. There is a lot of good gear out there but I am brand loyal to Shimano and where it fits in to my price point ( max I can go). Love the Shimano drags. I have never had an equipment failure while using and the maintainence has been close to nothing. All of my new tackle was purchased from Tackle Direct. Their selection is great.
ProsIt is a Shimano
ConsAmazon Prime has spoiled me with shipping cost and the timeliness of the deliveries If I buy a rod/rods from you I don't want to pay another $7.00-$12..00 for a cardboard tube for shipping. My local tackle shop is free delivery.
By Brandon R.
Miami, Florida
Great All Purpose Reel
June 27, 2018
Recently purchased a Saragosa 10000 for jigging and as a general boat rod/reel combo. It’s lightweigt and compact but still has good line capacity on braid and can put the breaks on some decent sized fish making aggressive runs. Easily handled some large Bonita, Kings and Mahi on its first day out on the water. Would definitely recommend as an all purpose rod or for vertical jigging.
ProsLightweight Well built Good amount of drag Good line capacity Smooth reel
ConsDefinitely not cheap Would prefer slightly higher line capacity No notching or plastic/rubber on inner base of reel to secure initial line knot to
By Felice C.
NYC
Shimano is great
June 1, 2018
This is the best Shimano spinner for the money, It shares many identical parts and features of the very pricey Stella. I love this reel
Prossmooth durable killer drag great pricing
Consnone
By SNOOK T.
Vero Beach, FL
LIGHT, POWERFUL, SMOOTH
June 1, 2018
Just purchased this awesome reel! This 6000 on my st croix avid vis80hf is the absolute best setup I have ever owned, it might be overkill for slot size snook, but when you have a keeper you want to get it to the hand as fast as possible and this reel is the winch for the tow truck, lol you wont be disapointed!
ProsFor the money so far it cant be beat. From my experience with penns, cabos, and okumas, this is Shimano smooth, light, powerful.
ConsI'll let you know in a year if it holds up to the big snook, reds, and tarpon. But the true test is the BIG Jacks!!! If it stays solid I'll buy some more.
By Ernani
Rio de Janeiro, Brazi
Improved drag!
April 12, 2018
The old Gosa, with an improved drag!
By mike z.
mtzacierka@yahoo.com
Power house
March 25, 2018
Bought reel for a trip to fl. Put reel on a custom rod and l was more then pleased. Handled everything from 40 pound grouper to sailfish and barracuda with ease!!! Has very fast line retrieval to get fish or the bottom to prevent the toothy critters from eatting your dinner!!
By John
Hatfield, Pa
Great reel!
March 8, 2018
Smooth action and the handle is perfect for gloves. Nice and light.
By wes
mass
can't be beat for the money
January 12, 2018
great inexpensive reel to chase after small tuna
Proscost
By Greg
New Jersey
Great for all inshore
December 18, 2017
I don't own many spinning reels but after fishing with many professionals and seeing them use the reel I decided to give it a try. I love the smooth feel, great drag and even the look. It is a little heavier then I anticipated but not too heavy that I wouldn't buy another. FYI the bail does not flip after you cast or let line out. You have to manually close it. I got used to that in one trip. I reccomend this product for sure. I use it for blackfish, fluke and Stripers in NJ
ProsSmooth, look, power
ConsHeavy, bail doesn't flip after you cast automatically
By Rudy
Jax, FL
Smooth and high quality
December 11, 2017
Purchased for jigging, very smooth reel, great price and high quality. Fast shipping from tackle direct and options. Works great with braid although I had to place some tape to prevent braid from spinning.

Page 1 of 3
1