Track Orders
Don't know your order
number? Log in
1-888-354-7335

4.8
85 Reviews
5
85% (72)
4
14% (12)
3
0% (0)
2
0% (0)
1
1% (1)
98% Recommend this product (83 of 85 responses)
By Russell S.
Cottonwood
too small of spool
November 11, 2019
I wished I had read specs before I purchased it as i need a larger spool.
By Tom
Massachusetts
Bad luck with this Reel
October 23, 2019
Bad luck with this reel, bring out for offshore trying after receiving this new Stradic C5000XG-K, it was very difficult to reel with little seabass and scup. The worst reel I has bought so far, Maybe just bad luck with a factory defect reel.
By Rick
Pittsfield, MA
Very smooth,great drag
October 22, 2019
very smooth, long casting reel. has a great drag and for a small reel can handle a ton of 20lb braid
Proslightweight, very compact, great drag
Conshear a slight clicking in the reel while retrieving sometimes, does not effect operation though
By Stuart
Daphne, AL
Solid inshore reel
September 19, 2019
Big things come in small packages - the 2500 size holds true to that saying. I've used the Stradic 2500 to catch just about all inshore fish, and does a jam up job. Light weight, smooth drag, and bullet proof...what more could you want?
ProsLightweight Smooth drag
By Corey
God's country, Michigan
Awesome reel....
September 11, 2019
These reels are pretty darn awesome... relatively light and very smooth. The only reason it didn't get 5 stars is because the bail on mine feels a little weak/loose. Not sure if it's just mine.or if it's normal. But either way it was able to handle a 35 inch pike, with no problems.
ProsSmooth reeling Awesome drag Relatively light weight
ConsLoose bail
By ChobeeBassChaser
Okeechobee
Stradics ROCK :) Best value for your $
September 10, 2019
Been using Shimano Stradic probably 15 plus years. Take good care of them saltwater use maintenance them annually. Replace them out every 5 years or so never a problem
ProsDurable, good saltwater protection, Great Value and quality for your dollars
ConsGot no cons for it awesome reels
By HankNyNj
NY & NJ
Great strong freshwater reel (maybe light weight TOG reel)
August 30, 2019
I bought as a reel to fish the local lake - works great - I"m going to try as a light takle TOG reel in the fall
Prossmooth drag looks great
Consnone
By Lester
Allentown, PA
Bulletproof
July 14, 2019
They've been around for a while for a reason. Because they are awesome. Been using them for years. This year caught my biggest fish to date with a Stradic, a 47 lb striper. Super light and super powerful. Awesome reels
ProsSuper light, smooth drag ,powerful, power handle on the 5000's is really nice
ConsWish the 4000's would come with the power handle also or at least a smaller version of the 5000 power handle.
By Ken M.
Mays Landing, NJ
Great reel in a small package
July 13, 2019
Very smooth and great drag. The larger handle fits great in my hand and is solid reeling in flounder even in deep water
ConsSo far none to report
By Jesse B.
Tifton, GA
Awesome Reels!
July 13, 2019
These reels are Awesome! I have 5 of these now and they are extremely smooth and have a ton of power! Highly Recommend
By RWB
Georgia
Great Reel
July 12, 2019
The Stradic reels are the best reel for the money. They are very durable and stand up to salt water.
By Steve
Stow,Ohio
BEST ONE YET
July 12, 2019
I have several Shimano spinning reels.This is the smoothest and overall best one.Highly recommended.TACKLE DIRECT made it a great buy,lowest price and quick delivery.
By LDS
NJ and Florida
Strong and smooth
July 12, 2019
I bought the FK 5000 because I love my FK4000, but wanted more line capacity and the bigger handle. It pairs nicely with the TFO 9' surf rod. Quality all the way.
Prossmooth operation, large handle is very comfortable.
Consnone
By Matt
Burlington, Ma.
nice smooth reel great value
July 11, 2019
Purchased do to cost and brothers recommendation
By Brandon
Roseville, CA
My second Stradic and Love it
July 10, 2019
I have the Ci 4+ when they first came out, and this is my second spinning reel purchase and have no regrets. Smooth drag, handles like a dream. Can't wait to get the FL in 3000 size!
ProsSmooth, handles flouro like a dream
ConsNone so far
By Seachaser
Atlanta
Smooth
July 10, 2019
Just received my reel and I’m very happy to have it. This is the first 2500 series I have owned but my 6th Stradic reel buy far the best reel for the money I have ever owned. Thanks for the great service you guys always provide.
By john
New Jersey
A Fantastic REEL!!!!!
July 10, 2019
Paired with a custom Bogan rod, Couldn't ask for anything more.
By Jian
Winchester, MA
Nice reel
July 10, 2019
It's so light, even lighter than other 4000 brands. The knob is big and easy to reel, casts far. So far so good.
By Bill
Mass
Nice and smooth
July 10, 2019
Reliable
By klampson
Carpinteria, CA
Great lightweight Reel
July 9, 2019
Super smooth, and nice drag. Spooled the reel up with 30lb braid to toss small bucktails and jigs.
By Jeff G.
Southeast Massachusetts
Smooth as silk
July 9, 2019
This is the perfect reel for a medium to medium light set up. I paired it with an 8’ St. Croix medium light rod and can cast a soft plastic 100+ Feet; no problem. Super smooth drag. Took a 42 inch 25 lb striped bass my first morning with this reel.
By David
Manhattan Beach, CA
5000 Stradic
July 8, 2019
Excellent reel! Plenty of line capacity, smooth drag, lightweight and powerful. Bought a 4000 and 5000 FK and love em!
By David
Manhattan, CA
4000 Stradic Smooth Drag
July 8, 2019
Admittedly a Shimano guy but that doesn't make me bias. A great product stands alone and this reel is undeniably a great product. Smooth drag, lightweight, powerful workhorse of a reel. Bought a 4000 and a 5000 paired with a Shimano Teramar but will soon be matching with a St Croix Avid Inshore
By M
Delco/South Jersey
Cost vs performance
July 8, 2019
This is a quality reel for the price range. Considering purchasing a couple more. Been using freshwater and saltwater.
ProsAll good
ConsNone
By Anthony
South Mills, NC
Stardic FK 4000
July 8, 2019
This reel is butter smooth and cast great. Shimano quality for sure and great service from tackle direct!
By JERRY
South Florida
Shimano Stradic ST5000XGFK
July 8, 2019
Great deal and great reel! Reel meets and exceeds all expectations. Flawless operation, caught a few big SW Fish on it and can attest to the smooth operation of all aspects of this reel. Price, delivery, and quality all as advertised by Tackle Direct.
ProsFunctions flawlessly
Consnone
By George M.
Connecticut
Shimano Stradic 4000XGFK
July 8, 2019
Casts well, good smooth drag, light weight. Overall nice reel. Can't wait to test it out on some false albacore, and bonito.
By Patrick
Houston, TX
Stradic 3000 and 5000
July 2, 2019
I have 2 Stradic 3000 for kayak fishing and a 5000 for surf fishing. These reels are solid. They’re going to do anything you need them to do for your inshore fishing needs. I was amazed at how compact the spool was on the 3000. Thought they packaged a 2500 in a 3000 box. To me that comes in handy when fishing out of the kayak. So far they are holding up real well to the saltwater.
ProsGreat quality. Good price to performance.
ConsNone
By Georgong I.
Long Island, NY
Great reel.
June 23, 2019
I will admit that I am partial to Shimano reels. I purchased the Stradic when it was first introduced. I still own and use those reels. My high regard for the Stradic has not decreased . The new Stradic FK is a moderately priced, high quality product. Great fit and finish. Casts and reels beautifully. Smooth and plentiful drag. I only wish they made one suitable for surf casting.
By Kevin
NJ
Shimano Stradic
June 21, 2019
Nice reel to bucktail fluke.
By Logan
Oviedo, Fl
Great reel
May 2, 2019
I have several 4000and 5000. They have held up well to the abuse.
By Matthew
,
Great reel
March 29, 2019
Have had this reel for over a year and it has been nothing but great.
By John
Seaford Delaware
great reel
February 25, 2019
have used stradics since the first models were introduced.always reliable
Prosexceptional smoothness and reliability
Consnone
By Clay
Hammock beach Florida
all purpose reel
February 20, 2019
I have owned several Shimano Stradic reels. The 5000 series is an excellent reliable reel for surf and inshore fishing. I have not found a better reel
By Nick
Miami, Florida
Classic design, smooth, and sleak.
January 31, 2019
This reel has a great retrieval with smooth drag and a great balanced weight. The best value around. The 3000 is a very versatile size allowing for an almost complete reel for all inshore fishing. I like combining this reel with a Star Stellar Lite Fast Taper 7'6" rod for a moderate price ranged killer combo. 10lb Power Pro!
By Brian L.
Sw Florida
Shimano 3000
December 21, 2018
As a charter captain the equipment I use is tried and testier. This reel is the beast of inshore fishing. Handles salt water excellent. The quality of the reel easily catching the average 5lb fish but can also catch the monster 20 lb’er when needed.
ProsDurable lightweight saltwater resilience quality built
ConsCost
By Brian L.
Sw Florida
Stradic 4000
December 21, 2018
I work as a fishing charter. Use these reels exclusively as they are the most durable and consistent quality were reel. . Will not buy anything else
Pros reliable. Quality built. Smooth. Consistent and drag. Handles salt water especially well.
ConsCost
By OBX351
VA
My favorite spinning reel
December 17, 2018
I've got three of these and love them!! Very smooth and consistent they are the best spinning reels I've ever used. I mostly use them for casting for schooling stripers but I've hauled in several 10 lb to 15 lb catfish as well. It's well made and very easy to maintain.
ConsThey aren't cheap.
By William
Panama city beach, Florida
Excellent reel
December 3, 2018
Hands down an excellent reel for the price. I own 4 of them.
ProsStable after time and use, strong and smooth drag
Consnone
By Exkeydet
Lexington, VA
AN OUTSTANDING REEL!
November 16, 2018
You can't beat the Stradic line for virtually every kind of saltwater fishing. I've owned several generations of Stradics, and this one is the best one yet. This is a mid-priced reel, but you get a lot for the money. It may not be the 'top of the line", but it comes very close.
By Captain H.
Stuart, Florida
Only reels I can get to hold up to everyday use
November 8, 2018
I LOVE my Stradic reels! I have them in a variety of sizes and use them for inshore saltwater in Florida. They're the only reels I can get to hold up to everyday use. If you take the time to clean them and then service them once a year, they'll last forever. Great line capacity and a drag that lets you put the brakes on fish when you need to.
By Griffin
Annapolis, MD
Fantastic Fishing Reel
November 5, 2018
I got the stradic 4000 to fish primarily for rockfish and it has been fantastic. I have used it countless different environments on countless different species and it has held up to all of them. This reel is extremely durable and tough. My reel has been completely submerged in saltwater several times in my 3 years of owning it and I have never had an issue with it. I would 100% recommend this reel to anyone.
By Danny
Punta Gorda
Super Tough!
October 11, 2018
I fish the salt almost every day and these reels are super tough. Crazy smooth and almost no wind knots.
By Neil
OR
Great travel reel
September 14, 2018
Light, smooth and reliable. and in this size....hopefully.... big enough for larger Jack Crevalle and Roosterfish.... But we shall see.
By Richard
Nantucket, MA
Best reel in the world
July 18, 2018
I used Penn reels for 50 years but their quality has gone to hell. A co-worker told me about Stradic, I bought the 3000 and its the best reef I’ve ever had. In 6 years no wind knots, no bail or mechanical problems, nothing and it gets used hard. I’ll never buy anything but Stradic from now on.
ConsNone whatsoever
By Tanner
Raeford, NC
Beautiful reel
July 2, 2018
The reel is smooth, clean and beautiful piece of machinery. Cast a mile and the drag setup is perfect. Highly recommend these series
By Muddyh20
suisun city, ca
Just get it!
June 22, 2018
Got it, love it, gonna get another!
ProsShimano quality.
By Steve
Cape Cod
Buttery Smooth
May 23, 2018
Only fished it a few times but this reel is buttery smooth!
ProsSmooth Light
By Marcos
San Antonio, PR
I love this reel!
May 16, 2018
I fish this reel in saltwater for inshore species. The reel is very tough, extremely smooth and the drag works like a charm. I spooled it with 20 lb test braid and it casts very well. You can't go wrong with this one!
By Dean
San Antonio, Texas
Favorite Stratic
May 11, 2018
By far the best Stradic they have made. Super tough, with a great drag system

Page 1 of 2
1


Sign up for exclusive sales and offers
Be the first to know about product news, exclusive sales and events.
WEST COAST YELLOWTAIL, YELLOWFIN, AND BLUEFIN FISHING REPORT
Tue, 5 Nov. 2019
Spirits were high, as the yellowfin counts earlier in the week were "limit style". Last weekend had an old buddy in town who wanted to fish, so we jumped on a two day trip out of Oceanside. Spirits were high, as the yellowfin counts earlier... Read More
In-Store Events & Promotions
In-Store Only Anniversary Sample Sale
Starts Nov. 1st
New product reviews and guides
Contact Us
Call or visit our retail store today! 6825 Tilton Rd Bldg C
Egg Harbor Township, NJ
08234-4426, USA
1-888-354-7335 Toll Free US/CAN
1-609-788-3819 DIRECT INT'L
8am-6pm ET Mon - Fri
9am-6pm ET Sat
10am-4pm ET Sun (Retail Store Only)
© 1997-2019 TackleDirect® All rights reserved