4.8
90 Reviews
5
86% (77)
4
13% (12)
3
0% (0)
2
0% (0)
1
1% (1)
98% Recommend this product (88 of 90 responses)
By Brian
Chesapeake, VA
gold standard
April 13, 2020
It is the smoothest spinning reel I personally ever used. It seems almost friction free for the retrieve. It is super lightweight and fairly water resistant.
Proslight, smooth,flashy, smooth drag
Consnone
By Bernie
San Diego, Ca.
Largemouth bass, Peacock bass, payara and piranah
April 6, 2020
I am new to bass fishing, bought two of the 2500 for poppers and jerk baits for a 3 day fishing trip to mexico, El Salto lake, caught over 100 fish on one reel up to six pounds, Lightweight, great drag and very smooth. Then took reels to Colombia fishing for peakock bass, payara and piranah. The guide told me the reel looked to small. Over the course of five days fishing caught up to 30 peacock bass up to 15 lbs, reel worked flawlessly! Plenty of drag to keep the bass from going in the shallows or wrapping around underground tree branches. Biggest Payara was 15lbs, and again, the reel stopped the fish from getting into the current and swimming off. I just could not believe how such a small, lightweight reel performed! Also, I used max quatro 30 lb for largemouth bass and 65lb for peacock's. Got almost 100 yards on the spool, which was plenty! Rather than change out the line, I ordered extra spools from Shimano and delivered next day for free!
ProsGreat reel, pricey, but you get what you pay for!
By ChuckD
Clayton, NC
Amazing Feel
March 20, 2020
Light and powerful, amazing capability
By Van
SoMD
Love this reel
February 3, 2020
I have a bunch of FK Stradics and they are the best reel you can buy for under $200 if you can still find them. They are very light, have decent line capacity and are very smooth. As you can see from the 5k has a different handle. I am not sure if I like it more then the handles on smaller reels. The other handles are comfortable. So if you're considering a 4k or a 5k that and the line capacity are the biggest differences.
ConsThe FKs are getting harder and harder to find.
By christian
Islip, NY
Go to spinner
November 18, 2019
Use this for almost all of my inshore species. Fluke, sea bass, blues, stripers. The 4000 puts out a surprisingly high amount of drag
ProsQuality. Drag
ConsNone
By Russell S.
Cottonwood
too small of spool
November 11, 2019
I wished I had read specs before I purchased it as i need a larger spool.
By Tom
Massachusetts
Bad luck with this Reel
October 23, 2019
Bad luck with this reel, bring out for offshore trying after receiving this new Stradic C5000XG-K, it was very difficult to reel with little seabass and scup. The worst reel I has bought so far, Maybe just bad luck with a factory defect reel.
By Rick
Pittsfield, MA
Very smooth,great drag
October 22, 2019
very smooth, long casting reel. has a great drag and for a small reel can handle a ton of 20lb braid
Proslightweight, very compact, great drag
Conshear a slight clicking in the reel while retrieving sometimes, does not effect operation though
By Stuart
Daphne, AL
Solid inshore reel
September 19, 2019
Big things come in small packages - the 2500 size holds true to that saying. I've used the Stradic 2500 to catch just about all inshore fish, and does a jam up job. Light weight, smooth drag, and bullet proof...what more could you want?
ProsLightweight Smooth drag
By Corey
God's country, Michigan
Awesome reel....
September 11, 2019
These reels are pretty darn awesome... relatively light and very smooth. The only reason it didn't get 5 stars is because the bail on mine feels a little weak/loose. Not sure if it's just mine.or if it's normal. But either way it was able to handle a 35 inch pike, with no problems.
ProsSmooth reeling Awesome drag Relatively light weight
ConsLoose bail
By ChobeeBassChaser
Okeechobee
Stradics ROCK :) Best value for your $
September 10, 2019
Been using Shimano Stradic probably 15 plus years. Take good care of them saltwater use maintenance them annually. Replace them out every 5 years or so never a problem
ProsDurable, good saltwater protection, Great Value and quality for your dollars
ConsGot no cons for it awesome reels
By HankNyNj
NY & NJ
Great strong freshwater reel (maybe light weight TOG reel)
August 30, 2019
I bought as a reel to fish the local lake - works great - I"m going to try as a light takle TOG reel in the fall
Prossmooth drag looks great
Consnone
By Lester
Allentown, PA
Bulletproof
July 14, 2019
They've been around for a while for a reason. Because they are awesome. Been using them for years. This year caught my biggest fish to date with a Stradic, a 47 lb striper. Super light and super powerful. Awesome reels
ProsSuper light, smooth drag ,powerful, power handle on the 5000's is really nice
ConsWish the 4000's would come with the power handle also or at least a smaller version of the 5000 power handle.
By Ken M.
Mays Landing, NJ
Great reel in a small package
July 13, 2019
Very smooth and great drag. The larger handle fits great in my hand and is solid reeling in flounder even in deep water
ConsSo far none to report
By Jesse B.
Tifton, GA
Awesome Reels!
July 13, 2019
These reels are Awesome! I have 5 of these now and they are extremely smooth and have a ton of power! Highly Recommend
By RWB
Georgia
Great Reel
July 12, 2019
The Stradic reels are the best reel for the money. They are very durable and stand up to salt water.
By Steve
Stow,Ohio
BEST ONE YET
July 12, 2019
I have several Shimano spinning reels.This is the smoothest and overall best one.Highly recommended.TACKLE DIRECT made it a great buy,lowest price and quick delivery.
By LDS
NJ and Florida
Strong and smooth
July 12, 2019
I bought the FK 5000 because I love my FK4000, but wanted more line capacity and the bigger handle. It pairs nicely with the TFO 9' surf rod. Quality all the way.
Prossmooth operation, large handle is very comfortable.
Consnone
By Matt
Burlington, Ma.
nice smooth reel great value
July 11, 2019
Purchased do to cost and brothers recommendation
By Brandon
Roseville, CA
My second Stradic and Love it
July 10, 2019
I have the Ci 4+ when they first came out, and this is my second spinning reel purchase and have no regrets. Smooth drag, handles like a dream. Can't wait to get the FL in 3000 size!
ProsSmooth, handles flouro like a dream
ConsNone so far
By Seachaser
Atlanta
Smooth
July 10, 2019
Just received my reel and I’m very happy to have it. This is the first 2500 series I have owned but my 6th Stradic reel buy far the best reel for the money I have ever owned. Thanks for the great service you guys always provide.
By john
New Jersey
A Fantastic REEL!!!!!
July 10, 2019
Paired with a custom Bogan rod, Couldn't ask for anything more.
By Jian
Winchester, MA
Nice reel
July 10, 2019
It's so light, even lighter than other 4000 brands. The knob is big and easy to reel, casts far. So far so good.
By Bill
Mass
Nice and smooth
July 10, 2019
Reliable
By klampson
Carpinteria, CA
Great lightweight Reel
July 9, 2019
Super smooth, and nice drag. Spooled the reel up with 30lb braid to toss small bucktails and jigs.
By Jeff G.
Southeast Massachusetts
Smooth as silk
July 9, 2019
This is the perfect reel for a medium to medium light set up. I paired it with an 8’ St. Croix medium light rod and can cast a soft plastic 100+ Feet; no problem. Super smooth drag. Took a 42 inch 25 lb striped bass my first morning with this reel.
By David
Manhattan Beach, CA
5000 Stradic
July 8, 2019
Excellent reel! Plenty of line capacity, smooth drag, lightweight and powerful. Bought a 4000 and 5000 FK and love em!
By David
Manhattan, CA
4000 Stradic Smooth Drag
July 8, 2019
Admittedly a Shimano guy but that doesn't make me bias. A great product stands alone and this reel is undeniably a great product. Smooth drag, lightweight, powerful workhorse of a reel. Bought a 4000 and a 5000 paired with a Shimano Teramar but will soon be matching with a St Croix Avid Inshore
By M
Delco/South Jersey
Cost vs performance
July 8, 2019
This is a quality reel for the price range. Considering purchasing a couple more. Been using freshwater and saltwater.
ProsAll good
ConsNone
By Anthony
South Mills, NC
Stardic FK 4000
July 8, 2019
This reel is butter smooth and cast great. Shimano quality for sure and great service from tackle direct!
By JERRY
South Florida
Shimano Stradic ST5000XGFK
July 8, 2019
Great deal and great reel! Reel meets and exceeds all expectations. Flawless operation, caught a few big SW Fish on it and can attest to the smooth operation of all aspects of this reel. Price, delivery, and quality all as advertised by Tackle Direct.
ProsFunctions flawlessly
Consnone
By George M.
Connecticut
Shimano Stradic 4000XGFK
July 8, 2019
Casts well, good smooth drag, light weight. Overall nice reel. Can't wait to test it out on some false albacore, and bonito.
By Patrick
Houston, TX
Stradic 3000 and 5000
July 2, 2019
I have 2 Stradic 3000 for kayak fishing and a 5000 for surf fishing. These reels are solid. They’re going to do anything you need them to do for your inshore fishing needs. I was amazed at how compact the spool was on the 3000. Thought they packaged a 2500 in a 3000 box. To me that comes in handy when fishing out of the kayak. So far they are holding up real well to the saltwater.
ProsGreat quality. Good price to performance.
ConsNone
By Georgong I.
Long Island, NY
Great reel.
June 23, 2019
I will admit that I am partial to Shimano reels. I purchased the Stradic when it was first introduced. I still own and use those reels. My high regard for the Stradic has not decreased . The new Stradic FK is a moderately priced, high quality product. Great fit and finish. Casts and reels beautifully. Smooth and plentiful drag. I only wish they made one suitable for surf casting.
By Kevin
NJ
Shimano Stradic
June 21, 2019
Nice reel to bucktail fluke.
By Logan
Oviedo, Fl
Great reel
May 2, 2019
I have several 4000and 5000. They have held up well to the abuse.
By Matthew
,
Great reel
March 29, 2019
Have had this reel for over a year and it has been nothing but great.
By John
Seaford Delaware
great reel
February 25, 2019
have used stradics since the first models were introduced.always reliable
Prosexceptional smoothness and reliability
Consnone
By Clay
Hammock beach Florida
all purpose reel
February 20, 2019
I have owned several Shimano Stradic reels. The 5000 series is an excellent reliable reel for surf and inshore fishing. I have not found a better reel
By Nick
Miami, Florida
Classic design, smooth, and sleak.
January 31, 2019
This reel has a great retrieval with smooth drag and a great balanced weight. The best value around. The 3000 is a very versatile size allowing for an almost complete reel for all inshore fishing. I like combining this reel with a Star Stellar Lite Fast Taper 7'6" rod for a moderate price ranged killer combo. 10lb Power Pro!
By Brian L.
Sw Florida
Shimano 3000
December 21, 2018
As a charter captain the equipment I use is tried and testier. This reel is the beast of inshore fishing. Handles salt water excellent. The quality of the reel easily catching the average 5lb fish but can also catch the monster 20 lb’er when needed.
ProsDurable lightweight saltwater resilience quality built
ConsCost
By Brian L.
Sw Florida
Stradic 4000
December 21, 2018
I work as a fishing charter. Use these reels exclusively as they are the most durable and consistent quality were reel. . Will not buy anything else
Pros reliable. Quality built. Smooth. Consistent and drag. Handles salt water especially well.
ConsCost
By OBX351
VA
My favorite spinning reel
December 17, 2018
I've got three of these and love them!! Very smooth and consistent they are the best spinning reels I've ever used. I mostly use them for casting for schooling stripers but I've hauled in several 10 lb to 15 lb catfish as well. It's well made and very easy to maintain.
ConsThey aren't cheap.
By William
Panama city beach, Florida
Excellent reel
December 3, 2018
Hands down an excellent reel for the price. I own 4 of them.
ProsStable after time and use, strong and smooth drag
Consnone
By Exkeydet
Lexington, VA
AN OUTSTANDING REEL!
November 16, 2018
You can't beat the Stradic line for virtually every kind of saltwater fishing. I've owned several generations of Stradics, and this one is the best one yet. This is a mid-priced reel, but you get a lot for the money. It may not be the 'top of the line", but it comes very close.
By Captain H.
Stuart, Florida
Only reels I can get to hold up to everyday use
November 8, 2018
I LOVE my Stradic reels! I have them in a variety of sizes and use them for inshore saltwater in Florida. They're the only reels I can get to hold up to everyday use. If you take the time to clean them and then service them once a year, they'll last forever. Great line capacity and a drag that lets you put the brakes on fish when you need to.
By Griffin
Annapolis, MD
Fantastic Fishing Reel
November 5, 2018
I got the stradic 4000 to fish primarily for rockfish and it has been fantastic. I have used it countless different environments on countless different species and it has held up to all of them. This reel is extremely durable and tough. My reel has been completely submerged in saltwater several times in my 3 years of owning it and I have never had an issue with it. I would 100% recommend this reel to anyone.
By Danny
Punta Gorda
Super Tough!
October 11, 2018
I fish the salt almost every day and these reels are super tough. Crazy smooth and almost no wind knots.
By Neil
OR
Great travel reel
September 14, 2018
Light, smooth and reliable. and in this size....hopefully.... big enough for larger Jack Crevalle and Roosterfish.... But we shall see.
By Richard
Nantucket, MA
Best reel in the world
July 18, 2018
I used Penn reels for 50 years but their quality has gone to hell. A co-worker told me about Stradic, I bought the 3000 and its the best reef I’ve ever had. In 6 years no wind knots, no bail or mechanical problems, nothing and it gets used hard. I’ll never buy anything but Stradic from now on.
ConsNone whatsoever
By Tanner
Raeford, NC
Beautiful reel
July 2, 2018
The reel is smooth, clean and beautiful piece of machinery. Cast a mile and the drag setup is perfect. Highly recommend these series
By Muddyh20
suisun city, ca
Just get it!
June 22, 2018
Got it, love it, gonna get another!
ProsShimano quality.
By Steve
Cape Cod
Buttery Smooth
May 23, 2018
Only fished it a few times but this reel is buttery smooth!
ProsSmooth Light
By Marcos
San Antonio, PR
I love this reel!
May 16, 2018
I fish this reel in saltwater for inshore species. The reel is very tough, extremely smooth and the drag works like a charm. I spooled it with 20 lb test braid and it casts very well. You can't go wrong with this one!
By Dean
San Antonio, Texas
Favorite Stratic
May 11, 2018
By far the best Stradic they have made. Super tough, with a great drag system
By stephen
South Portland, ME
Great middle road
February 17, 2018
I own the 4000 and 5000 models. Mostly used for back bays for stripers. Smooth drag and easy maintenance. Holds up to the demands of the northeast. Shimano rules.
ProsShimano product. Well built consistently. Easy maintenance.
ConsNone so far.
By Mark
Raeford North Carolina.
Very smoth
January 29, 2018
The reel is super smooth and the service at Tackle Direct is always the best!!
By Stephen
Orange Beach, AL
Awesome reel for the money
January 10, 2018
Shimano has always been a good brand. The Stradic line is no different. I have the 5000 and the 3000 and absolutely love them. I use them inshore and nearshore fishing in salt and they are extremely smooth and just high quality.
ProsSmooth drag Price Looks Lightweight Corrosion resistance
ConsNone
By John M.
Venice, LA
Shimano Statidic 3000
December 7, 2017
lightweight and durable. good value
By Ron F.
West Palm Beach
Great reel for snook fishing!
November 12, 2017
Light ... powerful ... great reel for the serious fisherman.
ProsGreat value compared to similar reels.
ConsNone
By Donnie
, Goldsboro nc
Great built reel,stradics continue
November 7, 2017
Stradic line is a great line from Shimano. Use this vs ci4 for heavier fishing.
ProsDependable
By Shawn B.
Everett pa
Awesome reel
October 20, 2017
I may be too quick to give this 5 stars as I only used it 6 days on a recent salmon fishing trip, but it worked flawlessly
By Brent
Brighton, MI
Shimano Stradic ST3000HGFK
October 9, 2017
Super smooth, long casts, good drag. Have used this reel several times now Salmon fishing, glad I spent a few more dollars on this reel. Only problem is me, I bent the bail and just had to order a new one. Can't wait to get it back in action.
By Doug
Kenai, Alaska
Great Reel (C5000XG)
October 2, 2017
I use these for salmon, all kinds of salmon. I caught (and released) a 60 lb king in saltwater this season and the reel was fabulous. I spool with 200 yards of 30 lb Power Pro line and exclusively troll with a down rigger. I love trolling with spinning gear, it sits just right in the rod holders and people are never confused about which side goes up (or down). I catch hundreds of salmon per season on these reels, the only issue I ever had was the line roller seizing up (lack of maintenance).
ProsSmooth as silk, plenty of capacity, never been spooled.
ConsNone, you do have to service the line roller and wash out the reel after use in salt water.
By Baher M.
Springfield Gardens, NY
Strong reel
September 9, 2017
Strong reel
By Kai
Carpinteria, CA
Fantastic reel for the price
August 2, 2017
Shimano has made changes to the Stradic spinning reel series over the years, and the FK does not disappoint. It's extremely smooth and handles braided line nicely. Awesome inshore fishing reel. I've even used them to catch small yellowfin tuna.
By Bob C.
Rochester, NY
Casting champ
July 22, 2017
Like all the Stradic's I own, the 3000 is an excellent reel. If you are just dropping a bait over the side of boat or pier , there are a lot of spinning reels that work fine. If you are casting all day, save your money and buy a Stradic.
By Shayne
,
Good reel
July 22, 2017
Very nice reel did get my drag smoke once where there was it a ball of lint it looked like left so upgraded to carbon fiber drag and it's now smooth and a perfect small game reel
ProsLight Great craftsmanship
ConsFelt washers
By anita n.
Springfield Gardens, new york
great reel
May 14, 2017
I don't think I've ever read a bad review about the Stradic FK and now that I own one, I know why. very smooth and lightweight reel (I have the 5000fk). the HT100/Duradrag on the Penn reels are smoother though. this is not to say the shimano's drag is not good. i will upgrade the drag washers to carbontex washers and this should make it a lot better. but over all..awesome reel.
Prosvery smooth. light weight. decently smooth drag. looks awesome.
Consdrag could be smoother.
By Rick
WV
Love every thing about this reel!
May 12, 2017
I am very satisfied with this reel and I love the operation. I have Haven't found anything it wont handle. My fishing partners have used it once and have already want to place an order for theirs. Cant go wrong here! I choose the 5000 reel instead of the narrow 4000 and after using it had to order a 4000 after trying my wifes 4000. Still the same awesome reel. Way to go Shimano, great product.
ProsWater tight, smooth, metal body
Consnone
By STB
MV
Stradic 1000
December 28, 2016
Shimano stradic is a great reel. If you are looking for a great ultra light reel I highly recommend, can't go wrong. Was able to fill with 100yrds of 8lb braid.
ProsWon't be disappointed
By Hero
Texas City, TX
Super Smooth
October 17, 2016
Awsome Spinning reel. Very Smooth
ProsCast great smooth retrieve
ConsNone
By Jason
Centereach, Ny
Terrific reel
August 3, 2016
I owned a stradic before I bought my Saragossa. This reel took a beating in the surf and never failed.
ProsLightweight and durable.
Consnone.
By Mark
Brooklyn, New York
It's alright
July 20, 2016
need more line capacity that is my only issue
ProsVery smooth -
ConsLine capacity
By Julio A.
California
Great reel...
July 14, 2016
I really like how smooth and lightweight this reel is.
By Steve A.
Center Moriches, New York
Very smmoth, Excellent drag
June 20, 2016
The reel is just what I hoped for.Very light, very smooth, excellent drag and large , ergonomic handle.
ProsAll of the above
ConsNone
By Kyle
Galveston, TX
Excellent all around Spincast
June 6, 2016
This is an excellent all-around Spincast that I've used for light tackle saltwater fishing mainly redfish and speckled trout . No complaints at all !
By Mussarat
,
Very capable reel
June 1, 2016
Smooth, light weight and well built. Lives up to its reputation. The c3000 size is recommended for inshore use as it has much more line capacity than 2500 and weights the same. Paired it up with a daiwa ardito tr 763MHFS rod, and spooled with 20lb sufix performance braid, a light and well balanced combo which i use for everything other than offshore salt action.
ProsLightweight Large line capacity for its weight in c3000 size Smooth and capable drag Casts far Gets smoother with use
Consnone
By Victor
ume√¬•, v√¬§sterbotten,sweden
The FK
May 29, 2016
I have A LOT of fishing tackle being a previous store owner. The Fk is one of the reels i sold the most and i have not had a single return. It has super smooth drag and holds up in saltwater quite well wouldnt dunk it but spray and a bit of splash is just fine. It's a bit more work to do maintance compared to the older models and some simpler reels like penns spinnfisher v. But i would not hold that against it as the reel is a bargain at that price !
By Alex
torrington, Connecticut
amazing
May 23, 2016
Smooth, fast, and cranking power. Will be buying atleast 1 more
By Jake
Clinton, SC
Fantastic Spinning Reel
May 16, 2016
I owned the previous model of this reel (the white one), and was very impressed with this model as well. What most impressed me was the casting distance I can achieve with the reel. You will have no problem using this reel to cast to inshore fish on the flats or even in the surf.
ProsSuperb casting distance Strong and smooth drag
ConsNone
By Daniel
Locust Valley, NY
New Stradic lives up to its Reputation
April 10, 2016
Great reel, although i found the bail to get caught open a few times. hoping its not a reoccurring problem
ConsBail gets stuck
By max
Redding, CT
Super Smooth
February 19, 2016
this reel is really lightweight and super smooth. I have it paired up on a medium action St. Croix and its by far one of the lightest fishing rod combos I have ever held. The reel is very strong and smooth and well worth the money.
Prossmooth strong lightweight
By Charles
Haw River, NC
Super smooth and will cast a mile.
February 11, 2016
I used this reel all fall for red drum and trout. It will cast a 3/8oz jig head as far as you want, is light enough to cast all day and smooth as glass. It has enough drag to handle any upper slot red with ease.
Prossmooth and light
ConsNone so far
By andre
Boynton beach, FL
Major improvement
January 11, 2016
Stradic Fj was a great reel but this reel feels much more like a work horse.
By tim s.
new england
so far so good
November 18, 2015
so far an awesome reel - really smooth drag, lightweight, looks good. got this fall to pair with a 7' 6" loomis - really nice match - interested to see how this holds up after a few more seasons though as most my older stradics stopped working well after a year of use
Proslightweight, looks good, VERY smooth drag, good bail
Consnone yet
By Bonnie R.
New Smyrna Beach, F l
Shimonoseki spinning reel.
October 10, 2015
We liked the value of the reel on the website, it was shipped on time and packaged very well. We have used the reel in both salt and freshwater and it works well. We are very pleased and would recommend it to others.
ProsWorks smoothly and is good for salt of fresh water. It is priced well.
ConsHave not found any.
By Ty
San Antonio, TX
great spinning reel
October 7, 2015
Bought this for my wife along with a St Croix tidemaster rod, for her first rod and reel. Used for bay and jetty fishihg, Great combo. I dont think the stradic can be beat for the money. This is my 4rth stradic and they are tough and smooth little reels. No reason to look past a stradic if looking for this size saltwater reel.
Proseverything
By Marc
Tarpon Springs, FL
Best bang for buck
August 21, 2015
The new Stradic is very well built and extremely smooth. I prefer this reel over the ci4+ and it feels almost as smooth but with a more rigid frame.
By Chris
New Port Richey, FL
Great reel for great price
August 3, 2015
A beautiful new stradic, just as smooth as you'd expect from shimano. Must for any inshore fisher.
ProsLightweight, not much heavier than a CI4+, Plenty of drag, strong frame, and big drag handle which I like the most about this line of stradic's.

Page 1 of 1