4.9
43 Reviews
5
91% (39)
4
9% (4)
3
0% (0)
2
0% (0)
1
0% (0)
98% Recommend this product (42 of 43 responses)
By Tony
FL
Incredible Reel
January 17, 2022
Amazingly smooth reeling and drag... masterpiece.
By James
MA
Great Reel
December 23, 2021
This is a phenomenal reel. I have this paired with my ODM Jiggster rod. Has not disappointed me yet!
By Jason
san jose, CA
Super Smooth
November 13, 2021
I owned 2 of this reel, must say it’s super smooth, and strong
By Christopher
Homosassa, FL
Out performed my expectations!
October 25, 2021
I paired my Stella 5000HGC with the NRX 921S MR. We were catching some nice reds near Clearwater. After releasing a 35 in red a bull shark bit it in two! Following that, twice I hooked into what I believe were sharks due to the head shaking I could feel and my line ended up cut. One of them stripped out half of my line before I managed to turn it. The drag worked flawlessly on the long runs. After about 10 minutes of fighting it, we never saw it, the braid was cut. Both the reel and rod greatly exceeded my expectations.
ProsLightweight Smooth Powerful Drag
ConsPrice
By Cgar13
MI
First defective one I ever got
October 13, 2021
Love my Stella's. Received my 8000 HGC. When I get a new Stella, I will sit and crank it while watching TV to let in seat its self, Like a break in period. This one felt different and had a kind of clunk when the spool shaft would change directions from from up and down. I gave it a couple weeks and still did not feel right. Checked it against my other Stella's and found the end play of the spool shaft was quit a bit more than my other ones. Contacted TD and as always they were great to deal with. They sent me a return label and set up the exchange. I feel this reel did not get the correct shims and was just to loose. I'm sure the new one will be the usual Stella quality. Thx TD
ProsIt's a Stella TD was great to deal with as always
ConsThe one I received was a factory defect.
By Rick
HOUSTON, TX
Great Flagship Shimano reel
September 19, 2021
Shimano’s flagship reel, its super smooth and can handle the toughest of fish. It’s a great reel and it’s great for all offshore and inshore applications.
By Jose p.
California
Very smooth and strong
September 15, 2021
Very smooth and light perfect for popping and jigging. Paired to grappler you can cast all day.
ProsAlmost perfect spinning reel. Its so worth it!
ConsNo regrets.
By aaron
carlsbad, NM
what can i say
September 11, 2021
what can i say that you havent read or already know about shimano stella if you are reading this you have done your research... its the holly grail in reels enough said
By Tom
Sneads Ferry, NC
Great reel
August 15, 2021
Great Saltwater reels
By Darren
North Carolina
It's worth everything penny.
August 11, 2021
When comparing other high end spinning reels, nothing beats a Stella in my opinion. Smooth as butter. Super super smooth. When reeling in rigs/lures whatever it might be, heavy or light. Piece of cake. So much easier on your hands and arms so you are not getting worn out as easy. You get what you pay for. I have 2 5000 1 8000 2 1400 1 18000 and 1 20000. Why do I have all of these? I don't even use all of them. I use my 5000 and my 14000 majority of the time. I'll tell you why I have so many, my friend told me be careful buying such a nice reel. Once you buy a Stella, your going to buy another one and another one and another one. And that's what's happened to me. I got addicted to how nice they are. Sold all my penn reels. Stellas for the win. Nothing else compares. It's also the confidence in your gear while fishing. You don't have to worry about things breaking or messing up. After using rinse them down. Grease them up properly and pass em down.
ProsSmooooooooooth soooooo smoooooth
ConsOnce you buy 1 you might get addicted to how nice they are and buy more
By Chris
New Jersey
Best big game spinning reel
July 7, 2021
Best big game spinning reel in the business. Smooth and powerful handled tuna up to 95” this spring. Both the 18k and 20k spools are compatible with this reel body which is an added bonus.
By John
Rye, NH
Incredible
June 16, 2021
So smooth
By Ernie
Wildwood nj
Tuna
June 4, 2021
Best drag in the game for light tackle tuna popping
By Ernie
Wildwood nj
Best reel in the business
June 4, 2021
Best reel for offshore
By Adam L.
Tampa bay
Can't get any better!
April 28, 2021
Doesn't get any better than a Shimano Stella and the shopping experience from Tackle Direct. Received the reel in 2 days
ProsPerfect reel for casting to shallow water grouper. Paired with a Phenix Titan spooled with 80lbs maxcuatro that I received from Tackle Direct free with my points.. High drag low gear ratio, doesn't get better
ConsOther reels will collect dust
By David
Fairbanks, AK
Definitely Smoooooothhhh!
February 24, 2021
Smoothest operating reel I've ever used in over 50 years of fishing!
By Grant
,
smooth
February 22, 2021
I love a good shaman its very pricey but a great reliable and very smooth real I've caught many fish with it
By Blaze
Kaunakakai Hawaii
Awesome!
January 26, 2021
The drag on these reels are awesome! It's smooth can feel the difference from my other reels. If your looking for a reliable spinner this is it. Highly recommended
By Joel
Riverside, CA
14000XGC Stella
January 12, 2021
The reel is a beast and super smooth. The drag system is awesome and small to medium size pelagics don't stand a chance. Caught at least a dozen large Bonito on my last trip casting with a Coltsniper. Looking forward to hooking up on a large Tuna this coming season. Paired it with a Terez rod.
ProsSmooth and super strong
ConsThe price
By Sebastian
Naples, FL
Worth every penny
December 15, 2020
if you want a durable reliable reel this is the way to go it never fails me
By Cgar13
Michigan
Perfect setup
October 26, 2020
Bought this to pair up with a grappler 7’10” med/lite. This combo is the perfect balance. Reeling in plugs from 1oz to 3oz you feel no difference. Smooth cranking and drag. What else is there to say. It’s a Stella
ProsIt?s a Stella
ConsWould like the knob to be like the round knob on the twin power
By LEE
CONROE, TX
AWESOME REEL
October 17, 2020
SMOOTH AND GREAT STOPPING POWER. CASTS FAR AND NO LINE TWIST. BEST REEL I EVER HAD.
By Karl
San Francisco Bay Area
Forget Conventional
July 19, 2020
This reel will handle any saltwater game fish on the west coast. Paired with a Grappler J 5'3" XXH, it will allow me to hold the rod with my right arm and give me the extra leverage only bottom mount spinning reel can offer. I plan on using this combination when fishing for Bluefin tuna in San Diego. It will allow me to cast the bait to the target species!
ProsThe quality is unmistakable!
ConsNone
By juan
Charlotte nc
Perfect
July 5, 2020
a smooth and strong reel is just perfect
Consnone
By Johnson
oakland, CA
Work OF Art
June 12, 2020
Silky smooth reel.
By John
Coram, NY
Great Reel
April 27, 2020
Purchased the new Stella in the 6K size, liking it much better than my larger 10K so far. It fits most 7-9ft rods nicely, is light weight, great drag, and IPX8 rated. Shimanos platinum service is a big plus as well.
ProsQuality Sizing Drag Water Resistance Smooth
ConsPrice
By Eddie P.
Manomet
Best of the Best
April 11, 2020
Shimano Stella 4000 This is one of the very few out there right now. Luckily, i was blessed to get one. If you get the opportunity, jump on it. Smooth as silk. Small and powerful. Bring on the funnies !!!
ProsSmooth drag. Small and powerful piece of equipment. You cant purchase a better reel. You just can compare a Stella to anything !!
ConsHaven't found any yet.
By H H.
Harrisburg Pa
The best money can buy.
February 24, 2020
I’ve always wanted to buy one for years, this 14000 model is all I need for now I am saving For a 20000 model for big game fish like Tuna.
ProsNew and improved
ConsOnce you buy one you have to buy another.
By Dylan
Melbourne Beach, FL
Awesome Reel
February 12, 2020
Great reel probably the best on the market, I can't wait for the 4,5,6 k to come out
Prossmooth
Consnone
By Muhammad
Oman- salalah
Best reel out there BUT
February 4, 2020
I have 10000pgc , smooth underload as usual , but when i paired it with okuma distance 13' rod the line will get stuck between the rotor arm and line ruller so rapidly and with shakespeare agility 11,6 rod but with less occurances. Shimano such issues shouldn't be with ur flag ship one
By Dan
Stuart, FL
Stella 20000
January 22, 2020
Just bought 2 for bluefin this summer. Smooth as expected but heavy.
ProsLarge line capacity
ConsA bit heavier than expected. Jury is out whether the drag can sustain heavy pressure over time
By T B.
Florida
Must have
January 10, 2020
On life's journey if you get the chance spoil yourself...
ProsSmooth Silky Strong Longevity
ConsDidn't get another one 😣
By David
East Islip, NY
Amazing
January 5, 2020
Just got this reel and although I haven't gotten it wet yet I can't keep my hands off it. Smoothest reel I've ever touched.
ProsEverything except price
ConsPrice is steep but worth it
By Yohan
Bloomington, Indiana
Best Popping/Jigging Reel
December 3, 2019
This reel feels like owning a Ferrari. Shimano reels are all amazingly smooth from low to top tier. I always say invest in high quality gear and the Stella never disappoints. There are new features added to this amazing reel and I am so excited to test it in soon. I would recommend it to anyone who targets big fish like GTs, Tunas, etc...
Pros1) Aesthetically looking dope 2) New features added compared to old Stella 3) Price is unbeatable because I got a huge deal on Black Friday
ConsNone so far
By Kenny
,
Shimano's Flagship Reel
November 17, 2019
it's a stella! This reel can put the breaks on a 50in striper anyday. Fish after fish this thing will keep you impressed as the day you bought it
By Francesco
MIAMI, FL
Power pro Maxcuattro
October 9, 2019
In the specs it says 315 yards of 65 pounds power pro and I needed for vertical jigg so I tried spoiling it with power pro (maxcuattro) and the entire 500 yards fit perfectly. Love it.
By Francesco
Dominican Republic
Awesome reel
October 2, 2019
I love this reel just bought a second one! Don’t be afraid to spend your money into this reel
By Huy N.
GA
It's the beast
September 13, 2019
I was hesitated whether or not I should have bought this reel. I did some comparison between this one (the Stella SW 14000XG) vs TwinPower 14000XG which is at half price. I also did some research and even came across Alan Hawk where he showed some flaws of the 2019 model. Until a friend of mine recommended this reel to me. He told me if I bought this reel I would not worrying about losing big fish... well we all know we can lose any fish even with the best gears we have :) I decided to buy this anyway because I was too hyped even it broke the bank LOL. I haven't actually used it as I haven't had a chance to go offshore fishing up until now. I even haven't spooled it. However, what I can tell is I feel good because I own one like this. I live in Georgia and so ocean access is just a dream, but I know I will have chances to put it into heavy use at some point in time, perhaps when I am retired and buy a house close to the beach, and oh with a boat too, who knows LOL.
ProsIt's the Shimano flagship. Words cannot stress this enough. Do your own research before buying this or just simply go to Youtube and search for Shimano Stella and watch how it handle giants in the ocean.
ConsI don't know if it's a con but with 14000 size it's heavy at least to me, and it's absolutely for offshore fishing. So if your application is mostly inshore or nearshore, consider to get the smaller one in size.
By John
Coram, NY
Great Reel but Could Be Better
August 24, 2019
It’s a Stella, smooth, IPX8 rated, beautiful, refined reel. However for what was added some was also taken away. The back up anti-reverse was removed and the famous Shimano Anti-Reverse is now plastic vs metal.
ProsSmoothness Shimano Platinum Service Resale Value Build Quality Line Capacity IPX8 rating
ConsNo backup anti reverse Plastic Clutch downgrade Smooth Drag but not what it’s rated at Price Limited Sizes and gear ratios as of Aug. 2019
By Joe
San Diego, California
Shimano Stella 10000 Reel
July 3, 2019
Best Spinning Reel Ever! Just buy it and enjoy the best experience a spinning reel can provide you.
ProsFunction Quality Looks
ConsPrice
By greg n.
aptos california
2019 stella
March 27, 2019
tad lighter than previous, for extreme die-hards $$$$ not a issue.
ProsBest in the business, most will never move up to this level to go fishing but if your a die -hard who wants the best this series is as good as it gets, better tha
ConsStill extremely expensive
By Cyaco
Upstate NY
Just like Stradic FK to Sustain FI upgrade... Not significant improvement from 2013 Stella SW
March 19, 2019
Just like Stradic FK to Sustain FI upgrade... Not significant improvement from 2013 Stella SW. Another 2014 Stella FI to 2018 Stella FJ improvement. As I expected, I received 2019 8000HG in mid-March, 19 8000HG was lighter than 13 8000HG. InfinityDrive helps for lighter retrieve when you are jigging and fighting with a big fish. SilentDrive x XShip help for a smooth retrieve. XProtect for Line Roller is nice, but if you take care of line roller ball bearing, I don't think this is not significantly improved. XRigid Rotor and New Compact Rotor (8000 only) help for a lighter retrieve. My conclusion If you didn't buy 13 Stella SW 8000HG/PG, buy 19 Stella SW 8000HG/PG. It's a new concept 8000 reels. You can't use 10000/14000 spool. If you have 13 Stella SW 8000HG/PG, don't buy 19 Stella SW 10000PG/14000XG. The main reason., 13 Stella SW 8000HG/PG can use 19 Stella SW 10000PG/14000XG spools. That means you will get the HeatSink spool. I would just purchase19 Stella SW 14000 spool with 19 Stella SW drag knob for 13 Stella SW 10000PG/14000XG, then wait for 2026/27 Stella SW.
ProsIt's Stella, best reel in the world
ConsStill Expensive Not significant improvement
By Samuel
reading, PA
The Ferrari of Fishing Reels
January 29, 2019
I own the Shimano 10000sw and I must say the Shimano Stellas are the Ferrari of fishing reels. I go inshore/offshore fishing off New Jersey once a week and the Stella has not let me down.
ProsThe drag and the smoothness is exceptional.
ConsThe price

Page 1 of 1