4.9
57 Reviews
5
91% (52)
4
9% (5)
3
0% (0)
2
0% (0)
1
0% (0)
96% Recommend this product (55 of 57 responses)
By Nick
Sunrise, FL
AMAZING
November 3, 2022
AWESOME PRODUCT
By David
Houston, TX
Lets be honest, This is not a poor mans sport!
October 21, 2022
This reel has every option Shimano could think of and everything you could need.
ProsDrag Design Lightweight All the fancy bells and whistles
ConsPrice for all the fancy bells and whistles
By Nick
Florida
Great reel
October 14, 2022
Awesome reel
By Kenny
Houston, TX
This reel is a beast for its size.
August 31, 2022
I love this reel.
By Luis A.
CIUDAD DEL CARMEN, CAMPECHE
poderoso (powerful)
August 9, 2022
sin duda es el carrete referente de shimano, es una belleza en dise?o, tecnologia, materiales. este carrete inspira y hace sentirse poderoso. (Without a doubt, it is the reference shimano reel, it is a beauty in design, technology, materials. this reel inspires and makes you feel powerful.)
ProsSW super suave muy fuerte poder de arrastre increible el clicker tiene un sonido hermoso sellado (SW super soft very strong incredible pulling power the clicker has a beautiful sound sealed)
Consninguna (none)
By Jeffreyn
Oak island, NC
Great reels
August 7, 2022
The reels are a Workhorse and will get the job done.
By Nick
Randolph, MA
Amazing reel
July 27, 2022
Best saltwater reel I ever had. Super smooth, drag is amazing, quality build reel!
By Brennan
PA
Best high end reel
July 25, 2022
One of if not the best high end spinning reel on the market.
ProsQuality
ConsPrice
By miller
Florida
you should probably buy it
May 24, 2022
love this reel. i caught 4 reds on it in one hour and had no issues.
By Brian
California
Solid reel
April 17, 2022
You can't go wrong with a Stella! Not the cheapest reels out there but you get what you pay for. Put this on a Shimano Tallus and have no complaints.
ProsSolid construction Completely saltwater safe
ConsPricey
By Bill k.
Wall, NJ
Best reel ever
March 16, 2022
Got it for Christmas and its the smoothest spinner I own for tuna fishing.
By kl
nj
20k & 10k
February 19, 2022
We have used these 2 reel sizes for our tuna jigging loaded with 65lb & 50 PP Max on 80lb & 60lb grappler jigging rods. Great set ups, hard to find better, IMO.
Prosgreat balance and feel, super smooth
Consits not diamond crusted for the price. it is after all only 3 more ball bearings then the twin power for 1/2 price.
By Trung N.
Cypress Tx
Good
February 7, 2022
Very smooth and very good reel
By Tam T.
Louisiana
Awesome as always
February 7, 2022
Shimano Stella never let me down!! Smoothest and strongest spinning reels. I have 4 of them and going to get more… as long as you take care of them reels they will hold their value…
ProsLast long and strong drag ? reliable shimano reel
ConsNone
By Tony
FL
Incredible Reel
January 17, 2022
Amazingly smooth reeling and drag... masterpiece.
By James
MA
Great Reel
December 23, 2021
This is a phenomenal reel. I have this paired with my ODM Jiggster rod. Has not disappointed me yet!
By Jason
san jose, CA
Super Smooth
November 13, 2021
I owned 2 of this reel, must say it’s super smooth, and strong
By Christopher
Homosassa, FL
Out performed my expectations!
October 25, 2021
I paired my Stella 5000HGC with the NRX 921S MR. We were catching some nice reds near Clearwater. After releasing a 35 in red a bull shark bit it in two! Following that, twice I hooked into what I believe were sharks due to the head shaking I could feel and my line ended up cut. One of them stripped out half of my line before I managed to turn it. The drag worked flawlessly on the long runs. After about 10 minutes of fighting it, we never saw it, the braid was cut. Both the reel and rod greatly exceeded my expectations.
ProsLightweight Smooth Powerful Drag
ConsPrice
By Cgar13
MI
First defective one I ever got
October 13, 2021
Love my Stella's. Received my 8000 HGC. When I get a new Stella, I will sit and crank it while watching TV to let in seat its self, Like a break in period. This one felt different and had a kind of clunk when the spool shaft would change directions from from up and down. I gave it a couple weeks and still did not feel right. Checked it against my other Stella's and found the end play of the spool shaft was quit a bit more than my other ones. Contacted TD and as always they were great to deal with. They sent me a return label and set up the exchange. I feel this reel did not get the correct shims and was just to loose. I'm sure the new one will be the usual Stella quality. Thx TD
ProsIt's a Stella TD was great to deal with as always
ConsThe one I received was a factory defect.
By Rick
HOUSTON, TX
Great Flagship Shimano reel
September 19, 2021
Shimano’s flagship reel, its super smooth and can handle the toughest of fish. It’s a great reel and it’s great for all offshore and inshore applications.
By Jose p.
California
Very smooth and strong
September 15, 2021
Very smooth and light perfect for popping and jigging. Paired to grappler you can cast all day.
ProsAlmost perfect spinning reel. Its so worth it!
ConsNo regrets.
By aaron
carlsbad, NM
what can i say
September 11, 2021
what can i say that you havent read or already know about shimano stella if you are reading this you have done your research... its the holly grail in reels enough said
By Tom
Sneads Ferry, NC
Great reel
August 15, 2021
Great Saltwater reels
By Darren
North Carolina
It's worth everything penny.
August 11, 2021
When comparing other high end spinning reels, nothing beats a Stella in my opinion. Smooth as butter. Super super smooth. When reeling in rigs/lures whatever it might be, heavy or light. Piece of cake. So much easier on your hands and arms so you are not getting worn out as easy. You get what you pay for. I have 2 5000 1 8000 2 1400 1 18000 and 1 20000. Why do I have all of these? I don't even use all of them. I use my 5000 and my 14000 majority of the time. I'll tell you why I have so many, my friend told me be careful buying such a nice reel. Once you buy a Stella, your going to buy another one and another one and another one. And that's what's happened to me. I got addicted to how nice they are. Sold all my penn reels. Stellas for the win. Nothing else compares. It's also the confidence in your gear while fishing. You don't have to worry about things breaking or messing up. After using rinse them down. Grease them up properly and pass em down.
ProsSmooooooooooth soooooo smoooooth
ConsOnce you buy 1 you might get addicted to how nice they are and buy more
By Chris
New Jersey
Best big game spinning reel
July 7, 2021
Best big game spinning reel in the business. Smooth and powerful handled tuna up to 95” this spring. Both the 18k and 20k spools are compatible with this reel body which is an added bonus.
By John
Rye, NH
Incredible
June 16, 2021
So smooth
By Ernie
Wildwood nj
Tuna
June 4, 2021
Best drag in the game for light tackle tuna popping
By Ernie
Wildwood nj
Best reel in the business
June 4, 2021
Best reel for offshore
By Adam L.
Tampa bay
Can't get any better!
April 28, 2021
Doesn't get any better than a Shimano Stella and the shopping experience from Tackle Direct. Received the reel in 2 days
ProsPerfect reel for casting to shallow water grouper. Paired with a Phenix Titan spooled with 80lbs maxcuatro that I received from Tackle Direct free with my points.. High drag low gear ratio, doesn't get better
ConsOther reels will collect dust
By David
Fairbanks, AK
Definitely Smoooooothhhh!
February 24, 2021
Smoothest operating reel I've ever used in over 50 years of fishing!
By Grant
,
smooth
February 22, 2021
I love a good shaman its very pricey but a great reliable and very smooth real I've caught many fish with it
By Blaze
Kaunakakai Hawaii
Awesome!
January 26, 2021
The drag on these reels are awesome! It's smooth can feel the difference from my other reels. If your looking for a reliable spinner this is it. Highly recommended
By Joel
Riverside, CA
14000XGC Stella
January 12, 2021
The reel is a beast and super smooth. The drag system is awesome and small to medium size pelagics don't stand a chance. Caught at least a dozen large Bonito on my last trip casting with a Coltsniper. Looking forward to hooking up on a large Tuna this coming season. Paired it with a Terez rod.
ProsSmooth and super strong
ConsThe price
By Sebastian
Naples, FL
Worth every penny
December 15, 2020
if you want a durable reliable reel this is the way to go it never fails me
By Cgar13
Michigan
Perfect setup
October 26, 2020
Bought this to pair up with a grappler 7’10” med/lite. This combo is the perfect balance. Reeling in plugs from 1oz to 3oz you feel no difference. Smooth cranking and drag. What else is there to say. It’s a Stella
ProsIt?s a Stella
ConsWould like the knob to be like the round knob on the twin power
By LEE
CONROE, TX
AWESOME REEL
October 17, 2020
SMOOTH AND GREAT STOPPING POWER. CASTS FAR AND NO LINE TWIST. BEST REEL I EVER HAD.
By Karl
San Francisco Bay Area
Forget Conventional
July 19, 2020
This reel will handle any saltwater game fish on the west coast. Paired with a Grappler J 5'3" XXH, it will allow me to hold the rod with my right arm and give me the extra leverage only bottom mount spinning reel can offer. I plan on using this combination when fishing for Bluefin tuna in San Diego. It will allow me to cast the bait to the target species!
ProsThe quality is unmistakable!
ConsNone
By juan
Charlotte nc
Perfect
July 5, 2020
a smooth and strong reel is just perfect
Consnone
By Johnson
oakland, CA
Work OF Art
June 12, 2020
Silky smooth reel.
By John
Coram, NY
Great Reel
April 27, 2020
Purchased the new Stella in the 6K size, liking it much better than my larger 10K so far. It fits most 7-9ft rods nicely, is light weight, great drag, and IPX8 rated. Shimanos platinum service is a big plus as well.
ProsQuality Sizing Drag Water Resistance Smooth
ConsPrice
By Eddie P.
Manomet
Best of the Best
April 11, 2020
Shimano Stella 4000 This is one of the very few out there right now. Luckily, i was blessed to get one. If you get the opportunity, jump on it. Smooth as silk. Small and powerful. Bring on the funnies !!!
ProsSmooth drag. Small and powerful piece of equipment. You cant purchase a better reel. You just can compare a Stella to anything !!
ConsHaven't found any yet.
By H H.
Harrisburg Pa
The best money can buy.
February 24, 2020
I’ve always wanted to buy one for years, this 14000 model is all I need for now I am saving For a 20000 model for big game fish like Tuna.
ProsNew and improved
ConsOnce you buy one you have to buy another.
By Dylan
Melbourne Beach, FL
Awesome Reel
February 12, 2020
Great reel probably the best on the market, I can't wait for the 4,5,6 k to come out
Prossmooth
Consnone
By Muhammad
Oman- salalah
Best reel out there BUT
February 4, 2020
I have 10000pgc , smooth underload as usual , but when i paired it with okuma distance 13' rod the line will get stuck between the rotor arm and line ruller so rapidly and with shakespeare agility 11,6 rod but with less occurances. Shimano such issues shouldn't be with ur flag ship one
By Dan
Stuart, FL
Stella 20000
January 22, 2020
Just bought 2 for bluefin this summer. Smooth as expected but heavy.
ProsLarge line capacity
ConsA bit heavier than expected. Jury is out whether the drag can sustain heavy pressure over time
By T B.
Florida
Must have
January 10, 2020
On life's journey if you get the chance spoil yourself...
ProsSmooth Silky Strong Longevity
ConsDidn't get another one 😣
By David
East Islip, NY
Amazing
January 5, 2020
Just got this reel and although I haven't gotten it wet yet I can't keep my hands off it. Smoothest reel I've ever touched.
ProsEverything except price
ConsPrice is steep but worth it
By Yohan
Bloomington, Indiana
Best Popping/Jigging Reel
December 3, 2019
This reel feels like owning a Ferrari. Shimano reels are all amazingly smooth from low to top tier. I always say invest in high quality gear and the Stella never disappoints. There are new features added to this amazing reel and I am so excited to test it in soon. I would recommend it to anyone who targets big fish like GTs, Tunas, etc...
Pros1) Aesthetically looking dope 2) New features added compared to old Stella 3) Price is unbeatable because I got a huge deal on Black Friday
ConsNone so far
By Kenny
,
Shimano's Flagship Reel
November 17, 2019
it's a stella! This reel can put the breaks on a 50in striper anyday. Fish after fish this thing will keep you impressed as the day you bought it
By Francesco
MIAMI, FL
Power pro Maxcuattro
October 9, 2019
In the specs it says 315 yards of 65 pounds power pro and I needed for vertical jigg so I tried spoiling it with power pro (maxcuattro) and the entire 500 yards fit perfectly. Love it.

Page 1 of 2
1