4.9
58 Reviews
5
93% (54)
4
7% (4)
3
0% (0)
2
0% (0)
1
0% (0)
98% Recommend this product (57 of 58 responses)
By Kevin
Bayamon, PR
Best of the Best
May 16, 2020
Legendary reel, smoothness second to none, and pleasant to fish with.
By Richard
Myrtle Beach, SC
awesome reel
May 4, 2020
Smooth as butter. Love the way it feels. Simply incredible to fish with.
By vang
sacramento, CA
top end reel
April 7, 2020
have this reel over a month now and been using it for sturgeon I can say that this reel really holds up. one of the best reels I've ever used, you won't regret it after you use it.
Proswell balanced, super tight water proof, and great drag system
Consnone
By Greg
Eden, UT
Not the Bulky Beast I Expected
April 1, 2020
Bought this because of the sale but expected it to be a heavy bulky beast. Come to find out it balances on my popping rod quite nicely and doesn't seem that heavy. It ergonomically much nicer than my Penn Torque 9s. Can't wait to start poppin'
By Matt
Okinawa
Beast of a reel
March 13, 2020
Excellent quality, this thing is probably the biggest. Spinning reel made. Will be a first for me to land a marlin on spinning gear.
ProsPrice Quality
ConsSize
By Han
Los angeles, california
Awesome power
March 12, 2020
Havent caught tuna on it yet. But pulling on powerful California yellowtail was smooth as it can get. Did not fall behind my ususal go to Avet conventional reel. Cant wait to get my 1st decent size Tuna this october on my 8 day trip.
ProsSmooth drag and powerful !!!
ConsNone so far.
By Han
Los Angles, CA
Great reel.
March 10, 2020
I am usually conventional reel guy in west coast. Wasnt sure about spinning reel. But contrary to my initial bias, it had more than ebough stopping power for yellowtail and smooth drag all the way through. Very impressed. Given less hassel of casting and with better casting distance with my older version of terez, i would highly recommend this reel.
ProsEasy casting and amazing smoothness
ConsNone so far
By Ribton
Palm Springs, CA
Watch out Blue Fin!
March 9, 2020
The line capacity is amazing. I have paired this baby with a Super Seeker 7ft. and this combo is deadly. This reel is worth every penny!
By Ribton
Palm Springs, CA
Awesome reel!
March 9, 2020
I already had the 30000, so when I saw the sale, I could not pass up the savings. Very smooth drag was thankful for the little extras that come with the reel. Has to be one of my best buys. Fun little reel!
By Ronnie
Saint Petersburg, Florida
Solid reel
March 3, 2020
Already have 2 Spinfisher V 10500’s and one 9500. They’re built like tanks and very reliable but definitely heavy. I ended up getting a Stella 30000 and it’s a quite a bit lighter than the penns. So far I’ve used it a couple times and it gets smoother and smoother the more I use it. So far a 80+ lb amberjack and it never broke a sweat.
By Jeffery G.
Mandeville LA
Best in Class!!!
January 23, 2020
I paired this reel with a Terez 7’2” and it became my go to rod went fishing for tuna with a live blue runner.
By Jorge f.
215 Manchester New Hampshire
Shimano Stella
January 16, 2020
Shimano Stella the best reel that I’ve ever owned tough as nails incredible smooth drag
ProsDurable great drag
By Juan D.
Florida
Very Smooth and powerful
January 16, 2020
Great pieces of gear to add to my fishing arsenal.
By Eric
PA
Great quality!
January 15, 2020
Feels as it should, super smooth. Can’t wait to use it on bft!
By Jim
Orleans, MA
Best Blue Fin Reel out there
December 17, 2019
The Stella 18k is by far the best spinning reel on the market right now. The weight, spool size, and smooth drag are perfect for fighting tuna from 50" to over 100".
ProsSmooth Great drag nice weight
By Daniel
DALLAS, TX
Best Spinning reel on the market for inshore and light offshore fishing
December 16, 2019
I am impressed. The reel balances on my 7'2" Terez perfectly, and does not feel nearly as heavy as I imagined a 15.6 oz reel would feel like. The reel cranks as smoothly as I have ever seen, and the gears are smooth and powerful. This reel looks good, feels good, handles good, and is nothing short of the perfect inshore/light offshore spinning reel. The drag is perfect for a reel this size, and is easily adjusted.
ProsSmooth action, very beautiful lines/design, power handle
ConsThe bale is not a true automatic flip, I find it best to flip it manually, like larger saltewater reels
By Chio P.
California (CA)
Awesome, top of line spinning reel.
February 6, 2019
Awesome, top of line spinning reel. I absolutely love this reel.
By Moto
Upstate NY
I wish I could wait for 2019 Stella SW 14000PG........
January 16, 2019
I am fine with 2013 Stella SW 8000PG. strong drag power, smooth retrieve, strong body I love it. But, I should have waited for 2019 Stella SW 14000PG...
Consneed better (X Protect) for line roller like 2019 model need Heat SINK drag system spool like 2019 model
By Tony
Boca Grande, FL
Smooth!
June 16, 2018
This reel is like butter! The 6000 is light enough to cast all day yet strong enough to land 200+ pound tarpon. I spooled it wit 50# Power Pro Super Slick. The drag is extremely smooth and allows for really putting the heat on fish. Love this reel. Just bought another one!
ProsTo many list
ConsPrice. This reel is expensive, but you get what you pay for.
By Chris
Mexico
Excellent Reel
June 3, 2018
Bought the 20000 and 14000 just uesed them for the first time in Panama for yellow fin tuna the 20000 landed Tuna to 100lb+ yellow fin no problem, and a 70lb Cubera Snapper along with other fish. Look, feel, drag gearing, durability all top class
Proslook and feel, smoothness of the drag, durability and power of the reel
Consnon - get what you pay for a top class reel
By Philippe
Hawaii
Great reel!
April 18, 2018
14k handles Hawaii jacks np, saving up for smaller 5k high gear
ProsQuality, smooth and big game np
ConsNone
By SoCal F.
Long Beach, CA
Great Offshore Spinning Reel
April 10, 2018
One of the things I love about this reel is how powerful it is for a spinning reel. Not only that it has a lot of drag, but the drag is really smooth. I have 80# of PP MaxC and pair it with a 8'3 popping rod.
By Dean F.
Bradenton, FL United States
Awesome product
March 31, 2018
Probably the best reels out there,one of mine recently spent five days at the bottom of the Gulf of Mexico before I got it back.It just needed a quick rinse and was as good as new.Unfortunately I had already bought this one to replace the one I thought I would never see again.
By Doug
Ocean City, NJ
Great Reel
February 22, 2018
Currently fishing a 14k and an 8k. Wonderful reels.
By Ulysis
Yigo, GU
Great reel
February 5, 2018
Super smooth real. Define type top notch quality!
By Christopher
St Cloud, FL
Simply The Best
November 30, 2017
This is the daddy of spinning reels, I have the 20000 for popping, and the 14000 for jigging smooth as butter, and as strong as an ox
Prosbeautiful designed reel. top of the range engineering, look after it and will last for a long, long time
Consnone
By Darin W.
Jacksonville, FL
Best Reel Ever Created.
August 8, 2017
I bought the 30000 series. LIterally a beast and comparable to some 50w conventional reels. This is perfect for what I do. SHARK FISHING. Haven't caught anything yet with it so hopefully my review can be better after I catch an 8fter on this reel.
ProsLight Weight Line capacity Bearings
ConsNONE
By Manuel
Reston, Virginia
Powerful Stella 10000
February 25, 2017
Best reel I ever owned! Not only a beautiful reel all around but build with the latest Shimano improvements / technology that makes the Stella a most have. I have the 10000 model and put it to the test last year fishing yellowfin tunas in the 60-100 # class. Incredible power for such compact reel. I am already saving to add the 18000 into my arsenal, more line capacity.
ProsBack up by Shimano customer service pricy but you are paying for a reel for life with 55lbs of drag (10000 model) it can handle big fish Engineering marvel in your hands Lightweight
By Jeremy
California
Best Spinning Reel I have ever owned
August 1, 2016
Love this reel. Best Spinning Reel I have ever owned
By Victor
ume√¬•, v√¬§sterbotten,sweden
Best on the market!
May 29, 2016
Shimano has allways delivered high quality tackle and this is the best they have! The stella series are a masterpiece the drag is supoer smooth and has never failed me on any size of reel. They will probably out live you with proper maintance, which they should for the price! If you are lookingto get the best reel out there and have it last forever this is the reel for you ! Worth every damn penny
By Victor
ume√¬•, v√¬§sterbotten,sweden
So worth it
May 29, 2016
Shimano has allways delivered high quality tackle and this is the best they have! The stella series are a masterpiece the drag is supoer smooth and has never failed me on any size of reel. They will probably out live you with proper maintance, which they should for the price! If you are lookingto get the best reel out there and have it last forever this is the reel for you ! Worth every damn penny
By Victor
ume√¬•, v√¬§sterbotten,sweden
Super reel
May 29, 2016
Shimano has allways delivered high quality tackle and this is the best they have! The stella series are a masterpiece the drag is supoer smooth and has never failed me on any size of reel. They will probably out live you with proper maintance, which they should for the price! If you are lookingto get the best reel out there and have it last forever this is the reel for you !
ProsSmooth,strong,durable,relieable and gorgeous!
ConsNone
By Victor
ume√¬•, v√¬§sterbotten,sweden
MOst have !
May 29, 2016
Shimano has allways delivered high quality tackle and this is the best they have! The stella series are a masterpiece the drag is supoer smooth and has never failed me on any size of reel. They will probably out live you with proper maintance, which they should for the price! If you are lookingto get the best reel out there and have it last forever this is the reel for you !
ConsNone
By Victor
ume√¬•, v√¬§sterbotten,sweden
Amazing reel
May 29, 2016
Shimano has allways delivered high quality tackle and this is the best they have! The stella series are a masterpiece the drag is supoer smooth and has never failed me on any size of reel. They will probably out live you with proper maintance, which they should for the price! If you are lookingto get the best reel out there and have it last forever this is the reel for you !
By Victor
ume√¬•, v√¬§sterbotten,sweden
Best reel i have ever used
May 29, 2016
Shimano has allways delivered high quality tackle and this is the best they have! The stella series are a masterpiece the drag is supoer smooth and has never failed me on any size of reel. They will probably out live you with proper maintance, which they should for the price! If you are lookingto get the best reel out there and have it last forever this is the reel for you !
By Victor
ume√¬•, v√¬§sterbotten,sweden
Best out there
May 29, 2016
Shimano has allways delivered high quality tackle and this is the best they have! The stella series are a masterpiece the drag is supoer smooth and has never failed me on any size of reel. They will probably out live you with proper maintance, which they should for the price! If you are lookingto get the best reel out there and have it last forever this is the reel for you !
By Victor
ume√¬•, v√¬§sterbotten,sweden
Best on the market!
May 29, 2016
Shimano has allways delivered high quality tackle and this is the best they have! The stella series are a masterpiece the drag is supoer smooth and has never failed me on any size of reel. They will probably out live you with proper maintance, which they should for the price! If you are lookingto get the best reel out there and have it last forever this is the reel for you !
By Victor
ume√¬•, v√¬§sterbotten,sweden
The best reel on the market
May 29, 2016
Shimano has allways delivered high quality tackle and this is the best they have! The stella series are a masterpiece the drag is supoer smooth and has never failed me on any size of reel. They will probably out live you with proper maintance, which they should for the price! If you are lookingto get the best reel out there and have it last forever this is the reel for you !
ProsPerfection
ConsNone
By Bajito
baltimore,MD
√įŇł‚Äė¬ć√įŇł‚Äė¬ć√įŇł‚Äė¬ć√įŇł‚Äė¬ć√įŇł‚Äė¬ć
March 10, 2016
I have couple different reels .. penn , daiwa, .. but since i try the stella instantly i can feel the difference .. reels so smooth.. cast a mile .. handle feels perfect on hand .. not too small .not too big..tons of drag.. i paired mine with a 11ft st croix surf rod .. perfect Highly recommended..√įŇłňœŇĹ
ProsTons of drag...super smooth..looks great on general
Cons1st thing ... price to high..not fully sealed [ not water proof]
By Ty
San Antonio, TX
Very functional reel
November 29, 2015
I splurged on this reel and my buddy told me they were worth it. I paired it with a 10'6" st croix legend surf rod for a long distance, surf/jetty lure rod. I used it this weekend and man this thing cast like a dream. I think I found my perfect combo. I threw lures a mile for a couple hours and never got tired. Using 30lb sufix 832 line, i was casting very far and able to work lure efficiently. Very comfortable reeling. Didnt catch a fish yet on it but i Know the drag is the best in the business
By ducnhonguyen
California
excellent spinning reel
September 20, 2015
easily to cast , strong enough for big game fishes
By Bart
Henderson, Nevada
Simply perfect!
September 10, 2015
Best spinning reel I have ever used and I have used a bunch. Caught three yellow fin tuna in the 20+ range the first time out with this reel and could not be happier with its performance.
ProsPerfect casting, excellent drag control and ultra smooth winding.
ConsNo cons I can see, except it is expensive
By cary
Roseville, CA
Stellar
July 12, 2015
Very happy with the reel, I've had it for two years now. It is a huge advantage to be able cast live sardines 30 to 40 yards off the boat for Tuna. This reel is also handy with ability to use 14000 spool as well. Plenty of drag to pull up to 100 pounders all day. Very easy to jig for tuna as well, damn near reels itself it's so smooth. Best day was 5 40 pound tuna in an hour. You can really turn the fish around and put the hammer to the fish head.
ProsEasy to maintain, power, big drag, easy to cast far, amity to change spools
ConsPrice only
By Eugenia
Pozzuoli, Italy
very smooth, very powerful
May 18, 2015
it is very smooth, very light and very strong. I use it from the beach and it is my favorite reel i have.
By JS
PR
Smooth as silk
March 23, 2015
This reel is the apex of my arsenal. I have several Shimano, Daiwa, and VS, reels. The 18000 SW is my go to in many situations! A monster crusher!
ProsDRAG, RETRIEVE, CASTABILITY, WEIGHT... ALL ARE A#1
ConsEXPENSIVE... BUT WORTH IT.
By cristian
, boynton beach, florida
Great investment
February 9, 2015
Had a big snook dropped the reel in the water and got it back, perfectly good shape
By Michael
,
Awesome reel
February 2, 2015
Great for casting to yellowfins and putting the heat on em
By Cristian
Lake worth, florida
Great
January 27, 2015
Love this reel very smoothe and very light
By Brian
lake worth , florida
WORTH EVERY PENNY!
January 26, 2015
The man who coined the phrase "money can not buy happiness" hasn't bought himself a Stella! Amazing gears and there isn't a better drag system out there. Mine has lasted me about 5 years and counting.
Prosdrag system
By richard (.
jacksonville, North Carolina
fantastic reel
January 12, 2015
Everything about this reel is phenomenal, and the purchase thru Tackle direct is fantastic.
ProsThe smoothest reel ever.
ConsThere is no cons. You pay for what you get.
By Tony
Hawaii
Stella swb 6000
January 10, 2015
Awesome reel but then again for the price it better be. Lightest 6000 I could find very smooth retrieve very precise product. Best reel I've ever used.
ProsQuality looks light weight
ConsHigh price? No oil port
By David
Rishon Le Zion, Israel
Best reel ever made for SW
October 2, 2014
Best reel ever made for SW
By Gustavo
S√£o Paulo - Brasil
Fantastic!
April 24, 2014
Fant√°stic!
ProsVery Professional
ConsAll perfect
By chris
NY
best spinner on the market
February 9, 2014
this is the ferrari of fishing reels. although very expensive, you will not be disappointed in its performance.
By Moreno
Lagos
Fantastic
December 20, 2013
Make bringing up fish from 100+ meters childs play.
ProsPower full and light weight!
By Marc
Tarpon Springs, FL
Nice reel all around
September 13, 2013
Excellent line lay massive capacity however it only gets 4 stars because the are some tolerance issues with the fitting of the rotor and shaft that allow for a little play. Still a very strong reel but could have been tighter with the tolerances.
Prosmassive capacity i got 550 yd of 150lb test power pro on it. Very smooth for a big reel.
Consexpensive and not quite as rigid as the company claims.
By wongkd
79,Market Road,95000,Sri Aman,Sarawak,Malaysia
Excellent Spinning Reel
August 2, 2013
I tried out this reels during a few past seafishing recently.It's very smooth and light and powerful.I can fight and bring in fishes easily with this reel ,like giant trevale and red snapper weight 3-4-5kg.
Prospowerful,smooth,and light for its size,cast easily.
Consa bit expensive
By Ben
Staten Island, NY
As smooth as silk ahhh...
March 8, 2013
After owning many of the 2008 stella's and now owning the new 2013 Stella. Shimano has proven the old saying, "If it's not broke don't fix it" dead wrong!
ProsTank strong, silky smooth ahhh...
ConsNothing

Page 1 of 1