4.9
49 Reviews
5
92% (45)
4
6% (3)
3
0% (0)
2
0% (0)
1
2% (1)
98% Recommend this product (48 of 49 responses)
By Claude
Shelby Twp, MI
Great light tackle reel for bay and inshore
August 29, 2020
Bought the 4000 for our annual Florida trip. I replaced the bushings for bearings on the handle, spool support and pinion support. I paired this with the Teramar 7'4" medium, 20/b sufix 832 yellow braid and fluorocarbon leaders from 20 to 40lbs. Balances well and light. I pulled numerous snook from under the mangroves. Also locked the the drag and pulled several gag groupers out of the rocks and the reel stood up to the challenge. Used the reel hard for the ten days down there and never failed. I also used it to surf cast off the beaches with spoons and plugs. It did get splashed from the waves and at the end of the day I rinsed it and wiped it down. After the hard fishing it still feels like new and looking forward to using it again on the next upcoming trip.
Prosfeels good on light inshore combo. Good drag,
By Doc G.
Fox River Grove, Illinois
Still loving the Stradics
August 23, 2020
Got the new one and it is better than the old one, which is better than the one before. They just keep making them lighter, stronger, more durable, and w/ the same great performance as always. I have about a dozen of the Stradic family from the originals to the F, FG, C-14, J, and now the L and love them all!! Smooth, great uptake, and cast well.
ProsI agree why it was ICAST top spinning reel 2019
ConsYOU CAN'T FIND ANY MORE OF THEM - FREAKING COVID!!!
By Greg
Florida
Outstanding
June 5, 2020
Beautiful and smooth as silk
By Hyun B.
Maplewood, MN
Looks and Performs GREAT!
June 1, 2020
One of my favorite reels! love pulling crappies and white bass in with this!
By Bryon
Aylett, VA
StradicFL5000
May 30, 2020
Awesome reel. Using for Cobia in Chesapeake Bay. Very smooth with a great drag system. Highly recommend.
ProsLight weight Smooth drag
By jason
Shirley, NY
Best reel i own
May 9, 2020
i own mainly daiwa and penn reels and this is easily the nicest looking and feeling reel i own. it feels very refined compared to daiwa and Penn reels. its very smooth, but not as smooth as the daiwa saltist back bay. i put a silver Gomexus power knob and paired it with a 7' nexus rod. amazing light combo for jigging fluke, i highly recommend it to anyone that needs a light fluking reel
Proslight , looks amazing , smooth
ConsI wish it came in a lower gear ratio so it's easier to slow down the retrieve when jigging for fluke
By Cyaco
NY
Good for $200 range reels
May 5, 2020
Just like old Stradic FJ, FK, and others, Shimano offers a nice reel for $200 price range. If you are not looking to spend big money, I recommend this reel.
Prosinexpensive
Consmetal & plastic body. plastic rotor
By Sean
MA
Best Light Tackle Reel
May 5, 2020
I've been out with this reel a few times hunting for stripers/bluefish. It is lightweight, smooth and fun to use. I would recommend it to anyone.
By Manuel
Reston, Virginia
A must-have
April 28, 2020
After looking around for a reel for estuary fishing in Panama last year, when back to Shimano, my prefer brand. This reel is light (5000 XGFL) but with enough drag power and a solid body to fight big red snappers, big snooks and anything that ventures into estuary waters. In addition it really delivers long casts. I paired it with 40lb Diamond Braid Momoi and Yo-Zuri pink leader. Never failed me.
ProsEnough drag for big fish, solid body, light, good price for what you are getting.
ConsNone
By Jacob
Ocean City, MD
Best in the business!
April 21, 2020
I run 4000s on my St.Croix mojo inshore rods and it is a deadly combo. Highly recommend for stripers, red drum, cobia and many more.
By Jeffrey H.
Port Aransas, Texas
Redfish slayer
April 16, 2020
Great reel, worth the money and more. Solid piece of the puzzle.
ProsDependable, smooth and just fun to use.
ConsI need to buy more
By imadrunkie
Omaha,Ne
Nice set-up for Walleye!
April 14, 2020
Super smooth and the cast distance is insane! love it with my shimano curado rod!
By Brian
Tampa
better than FK
April 13, 2020
I had a FK, and the FL is even better. By design, it should be more durable. I had landed 4 20# amberjack and a 42 inch king mackerel on my 4000 size FL. It is my heavy inshore and light offshore outfit for Tampa Bay fishing.
Proslight, smooth retrieve
Consnone
By Justin
Florida
2500 size
April 13, 2020
2500 size paired with 8lb braid is perfect for ned rigs and balances well with ML rod
By Josh
Florida
Awesome Reel
April 13, 2020
Just what you'd expect in a new version of the Stradic. Light weight and super smooth.
By john c.
NY
Great Reel
April 2, 2020
Purchased this reel for my wife's float fishing setup. Smooth as butter, one solid reel! Definitely would by another!
By Ron
Bulverde, TX
Still the best reel buy extant
March 25, 2020
Looks like I get to write two reviews since I have both FL 4000 and 5000 purchased here. Have noticed Daiwas on sale on both sides of the big pond (as much as 50% off if you shop Japan). What Shimano did with the new 2019 Stradic even put their $400 Sustain temporarily out of business. I'm sure we'll see competing upgrades from Daiwa soon, and and a new long-stroke Sustain that will also fit '18 Stella spools. The Stradic really comes in 3 bodies with different spools. The 1000 (and 2000 sizes in Japan) are common with 13.5 mm stroke (fits S-27 spools); the 2500 and 3000 17mm stroke (S-20 spools), 4000 and 5000 19 mm (S-28 spools). Not only do the parts interchange between the matching bodies - should you want a 5000 handle on your 4000 - they interchange with the '19 Vanquish and '18 Stella. The differences between the 4000 and 5000 sizes is the handle knob, and 2020 spool on the 4000 v. 3020 spool on the 5000 - the first 20/30 is braid test, the second 20 is 200-yd spool capacity. In spite of that, have my 5000 spooled with 300 yards 30-lb braid. Started with not liking the flat tee handle on my 4000 - it seemed to catch everything - so swapped the tee knob for a round Yumeya knob, and since I wanted a spare spool, anyway, found the matching Yumea 1520 spool that downgraded the line capacity - my 4000 with reduced spool capacity still holds 275 yds 15-lb braid. Awesome reels, double points at TD add up - and write those reviews.
ProsStill the best $400 reel you can buy; crazy big drag and the guts to withstand it
By Kai
Carpinteria, CA
Stradic 4000
March 23, 2020
Don't let the size fool you, this reel is a total workhorse when spooled with spectra. Smooth gears and drag. Just purchased a 2nd one!
By Daniel P.
Louisiana
The best
March 23, 2020
I bought 6 of these to redfish with. Literally the best reels ever
By ChuckD
Clayton, NC
It Delivers
March 20, 2020
Tight feeling with power handle are great
By William D.
Lady Lake, FL
Absolutely Amazing
March 15, 2020
Smooth as butter Very long-casting Has held up well Lighter than most Sharp looks
ProsSmooth Long casts Relatively light Good longevity so far
ConsA bit pricey, but it?s still relatively inexpensive in comparative to some high end reels
By Cobb
Glenmoore, PA
Stradic 5000
March 2, 2020
Very smooth and lightweight size 5000 has a really nice power knob which helps when bottom fishing overall great reel and good for sea bass and tog.
ProsLightweight Sturdy Power knob Not super expensive
ConsNone so far
By Tyler
Virginia Beach, Va
Awesome reel!
February 26, 2020
I had a stradic 4000 for a few years and absolutely loved it. Reel is smooth as butter. I remember the first time fishing it I was in absolute awe. Only sold it to upgrade but I definitely recommend this reel.
Pros?Super smooth
By Salvatore
,
Solid reel
February 21, 2020
Cast amazing, very durable and very light
ProsLight weight
ConsNone
By Colby
Plantation, FL
great purhase
February 17, 2020
great reel, definitely worth the price. Only problem with these stradic's is the drag washers will wear out over time, but you can go to any local rod and reel repair shop to get carbon fiber drag washers that will last forever. But overall a great purchase and i am very happy with the reel
By Matthew
Ventura, CA
Bail Malfunction
February 13, 2020
Something wrong when you open and close the bail not quite sure what it is but it doesn't feel right should lock into place with ease before casting but it does not. Fished Shimano reels my whole life never had any issues so maybe I just got a bad reel from the factory but very disappointed in the reel I received.
By Skyraider
Eastern shore
best bang for you bucks
February 8, 2020
nice reel and lot cheaper than another hight end shimanos.
By Kai
Carpinteria, CA
My new favorite inshore reel
February 7, 2020
I have several older Stradics and like them a lot. I have to say that the new ones are a step above and worth the money.
By Jim
Salisbury, MD
Awesome reel!
February 7, 2020
I purchased this reel last year and loved it so much I bought another one recently. Very light reel but has no problem bringing in Chesapeake Bay Stripers and speckled trout. Highly recommend.
By Snook t.
Sebastian inlet
Mini stella
February 6, 2020
Reel is so smooth....hard to describe...wont be able to fish lures with anything less now...awesome shimano perfection..will spoil you at a great price point!
By CW
Oak Island, NC
bottom line it a Shimano
February 5, 2020
These are my go to for inshore Trout, flounder and Redfish.
ProsLight weight, heavy drag and smooth retrieve.
By Van
SoMD
best reel at or under $300
February 3, 2020
I was bummed that the old FK Stradics were discontinued, but I bought several before I bought two of these new 5ks. Originally I was not going to spend the extra $40 or $50 to get the new reel but I am glad I bought these. The new FLs have more line capacity, are lighter and have better water resistance than the outgoing FK 5k. The FL has more drag too but for me that doesn't matter.
ConsMy wife will kill me if I buy any more!
By Stephen
Portland, ME
Awesome reel
January 24, 2020
Super smooth, holds a fair amount of braid for its size, should work great for schoolies and inshore.
ProsSmooth, light & sexy
Consprice... but worth it
By Will
Lady Lake, FL
Wow.... from a owner of two stradic CI4s
January 18, 2020
This is, by far, the smoothest and longest casting inshore or freshwater reel I’ve ever used or owned. The drag setup is much better than some of the older models; it’s more of a progressive increase as you tighten it down, rather than basically being max-drag-or-nothing like some other reels I’ve fished. The max drag for this reel is quite powerful as well. All this in a very lightweight package is pretty impressive. I own an older Stradic Ci4 2500 and a relatively newer 3000, and this Stradic FL makes me want to get one for every inshore or freshwater rod setup I own. Caveat: I’ve only used it about 7 or 8 times now, but every other Shimano spinning reel I’ve owned has held up wonderfully, so I’d expect more of the same.
ProsLong Casting Nice Drag System Very Lightweight Looks Sharp as a Tack
ConsNone that I?ve found so far.
By Tony
Miami
Excellent Reel!
January 10, 2020
Being a life long Shimano user, this Reel does not disappoint. Smooth operation and very nice design!
By Tyler
Ocean city maryland
Great all around reel!
January 8, 2020
I originally purchased this reel with the intent of jigging for tog filled it with 300 yards of 20 pound power pro maxcuatro and put it on a jigging world nexus. It has been outstanding
By Chase
Quincy, MA
great quality
January 5, 2020
I am a huge fan of Stradics and they did not disappoint yet again. I have the 5000fl paired with a 7' Teramar. It is smooth and powerful. Ive used it for schoolie striped bass, lake trout, and LMB.
By Reginald M.
Atlanta, GA
Very smooth. Good for salt water.
December 17, 2019
Very nice reel for light salt water. Decent line capacity for the size of reel that it is.
ProsTough and smooth. Appears durable for salt water. Elongated spool casts well.
ConsIt is a relatively heavy reel for its size, but since I use it for light surf, it works fine.
By Tucker B.
Murlles inlet SC
The smoothness is reel
December 11, 2019
I’ve had the three thousand since about two weeks after they came out. I don’t say this about most reels, but this reel is amazing. I’ve caught up to 30 in reds on it and have been putting in work with light swim baits inshore, and it’s just as smooth as when I got it (extremely). I haven’t put it through bad conditions though such as sand and a lot of splash so no comment on that, and I don’t plan to. If you want an amazing inshore reel for reds or a super nice reel for throwing jerk baits to brown trout this is the best reel for your buck. The only reels that compare to this reels quality in the small game market are in the $500-$1000 range, ( Certate LT, and Stella). Overall an amazing reel and a great buy. Would and will buy again.
ProsSmooth. Durable. Great casting with braid and fluro ( LS spool design). Great carbon drag on 3000-5000, I haven?t used the 2500 down with the felt washers so no comment. No anti reverse switch, and one piece handle. Overall great value for what you are getting.
ConsNOT sealed, so you are not using this for surfcasting to bluefish in a rough surf. More for light surf, bay, or boat fishing. No anti reverse, I put this in both because I personally do not like an anti reverse switch (another port for water) but I know some people like it when they are hooking up their hook to their rod without messing with their drag or for getting that lure at just the right length from the rod tip for a cast. Either way that?s up to you.
By Dylan
Melbourne, Florida
Awesome Reel
December 10, 2019
Great reel for the price. New design is way better the the FK because they sealed the roller bearing so it won't make noises. Also this reel has a way better seal now.
ProsSealed roller bearing Smooth Light Water resistant
By avery
, florida
Best reel for the money
November 22, 2019
You simply cant beat the stradic when it comes to the price. Outdoes anything in its category.
By Jose
Provides RI
Best purchase this year
November 18, 2019
I bought a new saltwater rod for the striped bass fall run. I needed a red to complete the combo. I did a large research and decided to buy the new stradic. I can’t be more happy with my new reel. It feels so smooth but at the same time is really strong when dragging the fish. I’ll definitely recommend!
ProsSmooth and strong drag.
ConsNothing yey.
By Kenny
, MD
mini stella at an attractive price
November 17, 2019
This reel is the best bang for buck out there right now on the market. Shimano decides to add Stella parts to this reel and keeps it at a very great price.
By Ron
Bulverde, TX
best $400 reel you can buy...
November 9, 2019
but wait, it's a $200 reel. The reel take down guys on youtube seem to agree Shimano only sells 2 reels in the US: the Stella and the 2019 Stradic FL. With this reel, they've rebuilt the Stella using lower grade materials - composite flier instead of machined titanium, wear treated aluminum shafts instead of wear-proof stainless - many of the parts interchange.. Worm-gear drive, long spool oscillation for longer casts. Same overqualified roller bearing clutch, big drive gear to deliver more torque through the handle, finer and more gear teeth for less freeplay = less wear; low spindle deflection to let you use silly big drags. This is the baseline reel for anyone who truly needs to use more than 4-lb drag (a bunch if you've ever used a spring scale to set a drag). Can't submerge the reel overnight, but if you dunk it and keep fishing, no worries. If you really don't like the Tee handle grasp (me), easy to replace with a Yumea or JW round handle.
Prosit's the Stella Junior; long spool for longer casts, worm-gear oscillation, stiff spindle to use silly big drag settings; seriously lightweight - half the weight of other reels in the same capacity
Consfull-time anti-reverse - you decide if that's a con - it fished fine for me using manual bail or drag to feed trim line Line capacity is a size smaller than its rating, e.g. 4000 = 3000 (and still half the weight)
By Steezo
Block Island, RI
Do it. Buy it. Reel is awesome.
October 21, 2019
Took me a while to leave the domestic spinning reel line. I’ve seen the light. This new 5000FL is an amazing reel.
ProsLight, holds up in salt, great drag, casts a country mile. Sweet ball knob
ConsNone. Just buy it.
By Chase
Quincy, MA
so smooth
October 17, 2019
I have 2 and am considering a third. I use these primarily for freshwater but I use the 5000 for both. The 5000 has caught largemouth bass and stripers in many situations. The 3000 is my favorite freshwater reel ever.
By VT
California
A nice looking reel
September 18, 2019
Not only is it aesthetically pleasing, it preforms flawlessly. Smooth retrievals and great ASMR coming from the drag.
By Brad
Champaign, Illinois
My new Stradic 1000 FL
September 16, 2019
Just got my new Stradic 1000 FL. It is truly a beautiful reel, but the jury is still out. Just got off the water with it along with my Stradic 1000 FK and Sustain (2) 1000 FG. To be truthful i am a little disappointed. It is a very tight reel with zero gear play. Maybe too tight. It is not a smooth (under a load) as the other 2 reels. The only description I can come up with, is it feels "gravelly". Hoping that in time it will break in and get smoother. Maybe the larger sizes will be smoother.
Pros1.. Beautiful reel 2.. Reel has extremely tight tolerances. 3.. Casting distances are as good or better than previous model. 4.. Nice reel for the money. 5.. With X-protect this will be my go to wading ultralight reel.
Cons1.. At first use, reel is not as smooth as previous model (hopefully it gets smoother with use).
By Richard H.
Montana
First impressions
September 15, 2019
Its a stradic. So far so good, I do think the carbon drag is smoother. Still too new to say much more.

Page 1 of 1