4.9
204 Reviews
5
93% (190)
4
5% (11)
3
0% (1)
2
0% (1)
1
0% (1)
99% Recommend this product (201 of 204 responses)
By Brody
Jupiter
Great reel
September 22, 2022
Had this reel for over a year now and have had no problems with big snook and even some mahi. Still super smooth and no loud noises even after some close encounters with saltwater and even some sand.
ProsLight Casting distance Great for the elements
By SAM
TX
SMOOTH
September 20, 2022
WORKS GREAT, SMOOTH AND PLENTY OF DRAG. SOLID REEL
By Thomas
New Hampshire
Great Reel
August 30, 2022
This is a great reel. The action is smooth and the unit very light. Highly recommend this product.
By Mike
Osburn, ID
Excellent smallmouth reel.
August 26, 2022
Have over 15 trips on this reel. It has boated in excess of 200 fish. Tough reel ,great drag, exceptionally light and well balanced. Everything you would expect at this price point.
ProsDrag system Weight and balance Ergonomic handle
ConsIt a Shimano. There's very rarely a con.
By Malik
Neptune, NJ
Handles all the Jersey Inshore fishing needs.
August 25, 2022
I purchased the 5000 paired with GLoomis GCX Inshore 7'6 rod. This reel allows me to cast a great distance while I'm fishing the Inlet. It handles blues, fluke, stripers, sea bass, black fish, and porgies with no problems. I bought another 5000 to pair with a 9' surf rod to see what it can do.
ProsQuiet, smooth, strong, well made, price was right, and looks great.
ConsNone so far.
By Jerry
Pa
Reel
August 16, 2022
Great reel always wanted one.
By THE K.
NJ
Great Reel
August 12, 2022
Works well for bucktailing Fluke, casts well and plenty of power
By Luis A.
CIUDAD DEL CARMEN, CAMPECHE
es shimano (it's shimano)
August 9, 2022
vale cada centavo, es de las mejores opciones para usar un carrete compacto en la pesca de orilla sin sacrificar poder de arrastre y capacidad de linea (It is worth every penny, it is one of the best options to use a compact reel in shore fishing without sacrificing drag power and line capacity.)
Prosligero suave silencioso materiales de calidad capacidad de linea (light smooth silent quality materials line capacity)
Consninguna (none)
By Johnny W.
Eden, MD
Great reel!
August 1, 2022
Great feeling reel, very smooth retrieval. Couldn’t ask for a better product for the money!
By Eric
Gulf Coast
Stradic
August 1, 2022
Excellent reel. Liked it so much I bought this as my 2nd.
By Alex
Nashua, NH
Best reel for the money!
July 25, 2022
SO smooth and strong, durable. and great price range. I caught tons of 20 pound ripping Salmon and Steelhead on this Reel. Will be buying a second soon in different size to have 2.
ProsPrice Smooth Strong
ConsNone
By Bob
Fall River, MA
Extraordinary Reel
July 17, 2022
Smoothe as Silk, but rugged and tough. Strong reel. Great Value! As always from Tackle Direct.
ProsLightweight and smooth with superb drag.
ConsNone
By Joshua
Ft Walton Bch, FL
Stradic 4000
July 5, 2022
Quick/reliable delivery. Go to reel for inshore fishing when compared to others at the same price point.
ProsPrice Smooth
By Adrian
Houston, TX
Smooth as butter
July 4, 2022
I’ve had the reel for about 2-1/2 years and it is still as smooth as the first day I purchased it.
By ingrid
San Francisco, CA
great reel reliable service
June 15, 2022
Thank you TD for the fast delivery of my much anticipated reel. I will be ordering another very quickly.
Prosaffordable price
Consnone
By Dean O.
Waimea, hawaii
Stradic 5000
June 13, 2022
Nice reel for whipping
By John P.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
shimano stradic 2500 hgfl
June 12, 2022
Web order 1213181 Ordered shimano stradic 2500 hgfl on 16 may 2022 and received 19 may 2022. Great service from TackleDirect. However this reel had a different problem from the shimano stradic 1000 hgfl I reviewed before. This 2500 FL reel made a bearing noise. It had no grease on drive gear at all. The pinion gear had grease on very bottom next to where bottom bearing is located . Also had a huge amount of grease below the pinion gear on the main shaft assembly. Removed the grease from the pinion gear and properly greased the pinion gear and drive gear. Bearing sound greatly reduced. Handle has small amount of play not present in 1000 hgfl reel with only a slight grinding noise on top pinion gear bearing.
ProsLove the feel of this spinning reel with not much play in gears or handle. Balances well with a spinning rod unlike the shimano stradic C14+ .
ConsProper oil and grease maintenance from factory are not applied on this reel or most of Shimano Stradic spinning reels bought before Would only recommend this reel if it had proper maintenance from factory or dealer before sale.
By David
Greenville, OH
Great reel
June 3, 2022
Bought the 3000 size reel, as I felt it is was the best size and capacity combination for what I planned on for the reel. It is very smooth when reeling and exactly what I was looking for. I would not hesitate to purchase this reel again.
By WAYNE
TULSA, OK
GO BUY NOW
May 31, 2022
Hands down the best reel I own. Just picked up a 4000 as well. Already hooked into something below a dam (likely snagged a gar) and it ripped 100 yards of braid off the reel like a hot knife through butter. This reel is smoother than C Lo Green
By Justin
Lighthouse way
Good spinning reels by Shimano
May 28, 2022
Great reels for anytime and any type of fish. Caught shark to small mouth bass on this one in a 3000 size. Would buy another when it's time. Great Shimano products
ProsGood smooth reel
By Phil
Ny
Just as expected
May 27, 2022
Smooth and high quality
By Phil
Ny
Just as expected
May 27, 2022
Smooth operation, great quality
By Jason
Temecula, CA
Great reel super smooth
May 26, 2022
Great light weight reel with very smooth reel power
By Frank
Santa Rosa, CA
Takes the heat
May 24, 2022
STC5000XGFL: After two years this reel has been through a lot and is still going strong. Salmon, lingcod, halibut, and white sea bass to thirty pounds. Very smooth drag keeps the fish buttoned.
ProsQuality parts used.
ConsAfter some time, the reel has started to make some noise when reeling in, but still brings in the fish.
By Tom
Vienna, ME
What can I say? Had 1, loved it. Bought Another
May 13, 2022
Well made, a pleasure to fish with. Just the right size for my mid-weight fresh water trips. Recommended!
ProsQuality build, smooth, light
ConsNONE!
By Tyler
New Jersey
Cant beat it for the price
April 26, 2022
For the $200-$250 range there is nothing better. This reel is incredibly smooth and lightweight. Fighting 20-30 pound striped bass with ease.
ProsLightweight Good price Well Made
ConsNone
By S
Yahbay Bay
Buttery smooth
April 18, 2022
These reels are great - this review is for the 1000 - love the balance even on a reel this small. Still has decent drag so can't wait to try this out finessing big fish.
By Josh
Kentucky
Quality
April 13, 2022
I have 4 stradics in different sizes. Excellent reels!
By WILLIAM
Yardley, PA
Really great reel
April 6, 2022
Bought the Stradic FL in 1000 and 3000 and they do not disappoint! They're light, smooth, and extremely well made. You can definitely feel the difference between entry level reels and these premium reels from Shimano.
By John P.
Fayetteville NC
shimano ST1000HGFL Stradic FL spinning reel
April 5, 2022
Open Bail and you can still rotate the handle and spool assembly with bail still up. Bail assembly rotates and locks up without tripping bail as with 1000F, 2500 FA or 2500 FB spinning reels This will be the last Shimano spinning reel made in Malaysia that I will buy. Had to shim all shimano reels due to loose handles. Had to grease and oil this reel Shimano Stradic 1000hgfl, Shimano Stradic C14 1000F, Shimano Stradic C14+ 2500FA, Shimano Stradic C14+ 3000FA, Shimano Stradic C14+ 2500FB and Shimano Symetre 3000FI. due to lack of proper servicing from factory. It is high time Shimano takes responsibllity and avoid outsourcing their Stradic Reels
ProsGears are great
By Tim
Pennsylvania
Great little reel!
March 30, 2022
This thing is a great smooth reel! Stradic is classic and this new one is great!
By Jason
New York
Favorite inshore reel
March 28, 2022
Very smooth and incredibly light. This is my second one. A lot of drag for a small reel. Just about perfect.
ProsIncredible drag and light
ConsNone
By Anthony
SAN BENITO, TX
Best Reel
March 25, 2022
This is my favorite reel of all time. I have purchased multiple Stradics, and will continue to do so. Light, smooth, and durable, hands down my favorite.
By Matt
South Texas
Too Nice
March 25, 2022
I have the 4000 and 5000, you'll notice that the handles are different. The 4000 has a t shaped handle while the 5000 has a 'power ball' style and let me tell you, the ball on the 5000 has instantly made it my favorite reel! It's so comfortable to reel, not to mention how absolutely smooth the stradic series is! Im using the 5000 on a 12' Okuma Rockaway with 40# Momoi Diamond braid and it is a killer combo! I tend to wade pretty deep into the surf, and even if the reel gets fully submerged in saltwater, a quick rinse with the hose at home and I have no worries about rust! At the $200 price point, the Stradic series is the best there is!
ProsComfort Rust prevention Smoothness Looks Great
Cons5000 is the largest size in the series
By Ham94
Fort Myers, FL
Favorite Reel
March 23, 2022
nothing comes close to this as its super light with enough drag.
By Bob D.
Fall River, Ma
Awesome Reel!
March 15, 2022
This is a small WINCH! Smooth as silk. Flawless drag. And of course, I got a great deal at Tackle Direct. As always. 😁
By AJ
California
Stud reel
March 13, 2022
Smooth, rigid, light… long casts… +2 shims for me for perfect line lay out the box…
ProsLight rigid
ConsAdded washer?s to adjust line lay?
By James
BIG SPRING, TX
Great finesse bass reel
March 7, 2022
I use this with 10 pound line for throwing finesse lures. Very smooth
ProsVery smooth, easy to cast
ConsNone
By CPP
New Jersey
Stradic Spinning Reels are Tried and True Workhorses
March 7, 2022
I've bought the 1000 series (for trout and bass), the 3000 series (Summer flounder, Spanish mackerel, Bluefish), and the 5000 series (caught 20lb Striped Bass from the surf, 5lb Tautog off the jetty, and 15lb Snook under the Juno Beach pier). Exceptionally smooth and powerful for their size and even though the reels were dunked by rouge waves in the surf, I rinsed it thoroughly in fresh water several times and found it did not corrode after inspecting it 6 months after the fact. Difficult to find a comparable reel regarding to quality, strength, price point.
By Tom
Charleston
Stradic reel
February 27, 2022
Awesome light tackle reel. Smooth drag and applies plenty of pressure when needed. Casts great and Smooth retrieve.
By Matthew
South Texas
Smoothest Reels I own!
February 27, 2022
I have both the 4000 and 5000 series Stradics, and these are easily the smoothest reels I've ever owned. After a day on the beach I give them a quick rinse with the hose before I pack them away and they hold up against the saltwater like a pro. I have them paired with a 9' and 12' Okiuma Rockaway respectively and they have become my favorite combos to use, both easily able to pick up pompano and bull redfish alike! I highly recommend the Stradic!
ProsGreat Saltwater resistance super smooth feel
By Tsing
Nashville
Best reel i have ever used
February 24, 2022
Super smooth and light. Great drag and retrieval rate. Love the large knob on the STC5000SCFL. I wish I had started with this reels instead of wasting my hard earn money on other make and model when I started fishing at the pier in the gulf a few years ago.
ProsSuper smooth Very light Great drag Awesome retrieval rate
ConsNone
By Scott
Waynesville, OH
Shimano STC5000XGFL Stradic FL Spinning Reel
February 24, 2022
Great reel! Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a quality spinning reel. Another quality product from Shimano as always!
ProsSmooth casting & smooth retrieving! Saltwater compatibility
ConsNone
By Jeffrey
Manalapan, NJ
Comes as advertised
February 19, 2022
Very light and smooth. Would have preferred a larger knob but thats just personal preference. Highly recommended!
ProsLight and smooth
ConsKnob
By Philip
Pleasantville P.A.
Stradic 1000FL
February 10, 2022
Love,Love,Love this reel for Trout, Panfish or sm. Bass.
ProsLive the clicking/Precise drag, it casts a mile and plenty of power for a small reel.
ConsNONE
By Jeremy
nj
smooth
January 28, 2022
I have 2 3000's and 1 2500, great reels. 4000 is coming soon for palegics... I wouldn't hesitate to buy more unless I get some freak breakage
Prossmooth strong
Consnone
By Matt
NJ
Super smooth reel
January 28, 2022
Super smooth, light and strong. Paired with a Tsunami SaltX 9'6" rod for a cast all day light tackle surf/Jetty combo
By Matt
NJ
Super smooth reel
January 28, 2022
Smooth, strong and casts like a dream. Paired with a Powell 7'2" medium light rod for an 11oz combo.
By nestor
Florida
light and smooth
January 27, 2022
light and smooth
By nestor
Florida
best light reel ever
January 27, 2022
best light reel ever

Page 1 of 5
1