Track Orders
Don't know your order
number? Log in
1-888-354-7335

5.0
50 Reviews
5
100% (50)
4
0% (0)
3
0% (0)
2
0% (0)
1
0% (0)
100% Recommend this product (50 of 50 responses)
By Todd
VA
unleash the power
June 4, 2019
I have the TACII 25 and this thing is a workhorse. Set the drag before you go because too much drag takes all the fun out of it. Adjustments are very easy and the reel has tons or torque to bring in that trophy. I haven't tried it bottom fishing yet but I would assume it can bring up big tiles and other beast from the depths.
Prostwo speed drag rating power/torque looks amazing!
By Ronan
33155,
Great bottom reels
February 3, 2019
I’ve had a Talica 20 for about a year now and it’s been great. Very durable, high quality, awesome drag, and plenty of line capacity. Perfect for bottom fishing for grouper and tarpon.
By Samuel
reading, PA
Awesome Reel
January 29, 2019
I own 2 Talica 25 reels and they are worth every penny. Spool the reel with 2/3 braid, 1/3 mono and you have the perfect setup for offshore tuna. This reel can stop a train in its tracks.
ProsLight weight, smooth, and powerful.
ConsThe strike position can get a little getting used to. It doesn't take much to go past the strike position if you are not mindful of your reel.
By David
Los Angeles
Great reel
January 7, 2019
Love this reel. The Tac16ii is the perfect size for me. I use it for fly-lining sardines to catch bluefin tuna. Filled with 80# braid, had no problem landing 50-150# fish. Awesome drag, very smooth. Casts very well.
Proslots of drag; 2 speed; reasonable line capacity
Consgets scratched up easily
By Kyle
St Petersburg, FL
FORGET ANYTHING ELSE
January 3, 2019
The one and done reel for saltwater fishing. 20-2 speed is great for everything from small snapper off the bottom, to big MAhi, wahoo, and has enough drag to pull Goliaths from the wreck.
By Mark
Texas
Great product
December 19, 2018
I have 5 of these reels plus two of the 16’s. Some of the reels are 6 years old and they remain perfect in every way. Easy to service, great to use and an all around awesome product.
ProsEase of use Resistance to salt water
ConsThe only possible one would be the lack of a casting drag option
By Capt B.
Venice, La
Perfect Jigging reel
October 11, 2018
Light weight and powerful. A vertical jigging dream. Cant praise the TAC16II enough!!!!!
By Capt B.
Venice, La
Perfect Power
October 11, 2018
I don't know of another lightweight reel that offers the perfect balance of heavy line capacity, smooth drag, and is still cast live baits with ease. The TAC50II has allowed my clients to quickly and effectively land fish that they never dreamed of!!! This year alone the TAC50II has put the breaks on marlin over 600lbs and Bluefin tuna up to 550lbs in 3000+ feet of water!!!!
By Capt B.
Venice, La
A true Work Horse
October 11, 2018
Over 600 days of fishing with the TAC25II and the reels have holdup unbelievably well!!!! We have caught everything from mahi to marlin. Yellowfin tuna up to 200lbs. Smooth and dependable.
By Edward
Hamersville, OH
Great reel!
August 22, 2018
This reel is awesome! Better than expected and super smooth!
By Tha K.
New Jersey
Excellent Reel
July 11, 2018
Great reel for both tile fishing and tuna fishing.
By Rolando
Miami, FL
The best!
June 7, 2018
These Tal?ca reels are the best. So light, smooth and powerful. Live this reel. Very well made
By Wayne T.
Auckland Nz
LAND BASED CASTING
May 19, 2018
Casts a mile and a lot stronger drag than the thorium 50.
ProsHuge drag Casts well
By Steve P.
St Petersburg, Florida
Best of the best
March 20, 2018
As a full time charterboat operator I need my gear to perform on a daily basis and never let my customers down. This reel coupled with super braid like Power Pro has changed the bottom fishing game for me. My customers are now landing with ease the larger fish that used to break them off quickly, thus helping me make memories for many anglers. The monstrous drag gives us the ability to stop big fish in their tracks and the 2 speed option the Talica offers gives us the ability to wrench those larger fish away from the rocks. Thanks goes out to the designers at Shimano for delivering such a powerful reel in a small package.
By Doug
Ocean City, NJ
Great Reel
February 22, 2018
Started fishing them last summer and they worked for everything. White Marlin, Tuna, Mahi, and shark. No problems and outstanding performance.
ProsLots of line and not too heavy
By Magdiel
Miami, FL
Great reel
November 9, 2017
Another great reel in the talica lineup. I have this one spooled with braid and I use it for my bottom rod on the reef and when drifting.
By JD
so-cal
great reel
September 11, 2017
awesome reel been using it for casting live bait to marlin.
Prosvery smooth and powerful has more drag then you will ever need.
Consnone
By Mike
San Diego, CA
Smooth, powerful, and go-to
September 7, 2017
Fantastic reel incredibly smooth and powerful. Loud clicker, comfortable size and handling. What more could you ask for. This is my go-to reel for fishing out here in So Cal waters.
By jim
Northeast canyons
tac II 25, / treez combo, If you fish stand up..sell your old gear and just fish this.
August 24, 2017
Shimano hit a home run when they paired the terez and tacII line up. The light weight and amazing power combined with the capacity that today's braided line gives you is a total game changer. When you land a big fish on one of these set ups, you will not go back to that heavy clunky gold reel you have no matter how reliable it is. IMO what makes this so great is the range of fish you can catch with this set up and still have it be sporty. Weather it is a 5 # mahi or a 500# marlin or giant tuna and everything in between these reels/rods have done it...not from a gunnel, not from a chair or battle station but stand up with a belt or harness. You simply don't fight the tackle anymore, you fight the fish. It may look too light weight but trust the ratings. Get one, load it with braid and a top shot of mono and really enjoy fishing. To be perfectly honest, I sold all my heavy gear and just fish with this now The 25 is perfect, for 90% of fish you catch, the 50 is required for the other 10%.
Prospower to weight ratio, capacity,
ConsWish they made 35 wide to fill out the line up gap Clicker is not as loud as I would like
By david t.
California
Fish shimano
August 5, 2017
Just fish shimano, that's all I can say. And maybe f you're gonna be goin after big fish, fish Talica. 2 speed 25s and 50s are all you need. They hold a ton of little me, and yes go with the recommended power pro. Power prep has figured out a smaller diameter with the same strength. Check out max Quattro.
ProsAll
ConsNone
By David
grand terrace, CA
The Best
July 28, 2017
These reels are the best. They can handle just about anything. Smoothwind, good cast ability. Heavy drag for a fairly small reel. Holds a lot of braid.
ProsDrag and line capacity.
By hyung
dunwoody, GA
Heavy duty
July 26, 2017
I spooled with 60lbs mono and fished red snapper amd grouper on the party boat in Panama city, FL. It was powerful and nice looking reel.
By Robert
NY
One of my top two favorite reels.
July 16, 2016
I first used this reel while on a shark fishing trip down in Islamrada Fl. Without any difficulties we were pulling in 200 to 250 lb lemon sharks. After that I was hooked just on the power this reel had. Needless to say, I went out and purchased 3 diffent model sizes and fitted them on matching Terez rods.
ProsPowerful , light, and smooth.
ConsNeeds a bigger Handel on the larger reel options.
By Mike
norco CA
Fish Beware
July 29, 2015
Went Fishing out of San Diego CA . Tuna, Yellowtail and on live bate 30 plus pounds. Reels worked great.
ProsGreat drag control. Lots of power with the two speed reel.
By jean
Aliso Viejo CA
great little reel with backbone
July 9, 2015
its my to go rod and reel combo when fishing kelp patties offshore.
By Richard H.
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308
The best reel I own!
April 30, 2015
I have used this reel on several fishing trips and replaced all my reels with the talica reels.
ProsThere are many!
Consnone
By Brian
CA
Best 2 Speed Reel
April 7, 2015
Smooth drag and quick gear switching from high to low when reeling in your fish.
By Andy
Bronx, NY
Smooth as butter!!
April 5, 2015
Recently purchased 16 2 speed Talica and I must say that the reel is beyond smooth and lighter than I expected.
ProsBest out there!!
ConsNone
By Keith
Belford, NJ
Excellent Tilefish and Tuna Reel
January 1, 2015
Very smooth operation and drag. Plenty of power and plenty of line capacity.
By Keith
Belford, NJ
Excellent Tilefish and Tuna Reel
January 1, 2015
Very smooth operation and drag. Plenty of power. Plenty of line capacity.
By BaH
Woodinville, WA
Awesome Reel
October 9, 2014
I pair these with trevala rods and use the 12's and the 8's for albacore off the coast of Washington as well as lingcod. I also use the 12's for halibut. Smooth with plenty of drag, the Talica ii is now the only lever drags reels I'll use. Yes they are pricey but you really do get what you pay for.
ProsSmooth Drag Weight Handle
ConsPrice
By John C.
Orange, Ca
Excellent tuna reel
October 4, 2014
Took my new talica tac1211 2 speed lever drag on my new Phenix my rod and I was amazed with its power. Excellent Drag system! Great reel balance for casting live baits. Caught a bunch of wft and skip jack on my first trip without any glitches. Looking forward on using it again soon.
ProsNice looking reel, excellent drag, light, great balance for casting live bait
By Xiaoyi
St Petersburg, FL
Fantastic Reel!
September 24, 2014
This is a great reel for anything that swims on the westcoast of Florida. Its smooth, lightweight and compact for its power, and casts great. We use it for everything from flatlining for kingfish, jigging for blackfin tuna and amberjack, and bottom fishing for grouper and snapper. Whatever you can throw at this little reel it will handle it with ease. Highly recommended!
ProsLightweight and compact for its power, great freespool, fast retrieve but very powerful low gear too
ConsNone!
By Loren
Long Beach, CA
Shimano Talica 16
September 17, 2014
Very nice 2 speed reel but you get what you pay for. Any reel that costs $500 should be awesome and this is no exception to that rule. The 8, 10, 12 and 16 are great but not a big fan of the 20, 25 or 50. Over priced for the amount of drag you get.
By Brian
California
Nothing bad about this reel.
June 30, 2014
Well balanced and the two speed is great for hauling in the big fish.
By Jose
West Hills, CA
Super powerful and very smooth.
June 21, 2014
I love this reel, a little on the heavy side but it compensate for the drag power. I am thinking about getting another on the single speed size 8.
ConsNot made in the U.S.
By JUAN
PUERTO VALLA
EXCELENTE CARRTE
June 3, 2014
EXCELENTE CARRETE POTENTE Y LIGERO, CON LA VELOCIDAD BAJA NO NECESITAS CASTIGAR TU ESPALDA, EL CARRTE LO HACE TODO.
Pros2 VELOCIDADES, LIGERO.
ConsPRECIO
By Keith
Belford, NJ
Great Reel
April 29, 2014
This reel works great for both tuna and tilefish
ProsVery smooth operation and drag, plenty of guts to handle big fish.
By Keith D.
New Jersey
Excelent reel
April 25, 2014
Very smooth drag and smooth operation with plenty of power.
By jerrry
clayton, NC
awesome reel
March 18, 2014
this is my most used and abused reel. it has handled everything ive ever thrown at it. I have used it on everything from commercial grouper fishing to a 250lb Bluefin tuna. I'd love to know the amount of fish this little reel has pulled over the rail.
Prossmall and light for its strength. durable. its a shimano
By chris
NY
great overall reel
February 8, 2014
replacing all of my 50's w/ this reel. tons of power in a small package.
By Dustyn
Kealakekua, HI
This as an awesome all around 2speed reel!
December 2, 2013
This is a great 2speed reel that is small and light but can bring in big fish!
By A G.
Red Sea- Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Top Reel From Top Store
November 10, 2013
The reel is perfect for all kind of fishing. Nothing in water can beat this reel. You never need another one maybe for the rest of life. I have purchased previously Penn rod. TackleDirect sent me both brand new ones fast shipping, reel is in sealed box. They even earned me a discount points for future purcheses. Thank you TackleDirect. Always my favourite store .
ProsSealed brand new and fast shipping.
ConsNothing to mention.
By David
Solana Beach, CA
Nice tuna rig
July 22, 2013
Just got the reel out for tuna in So Cal. One 40lb blue fin later I am very happy with the rig. The powerpro line let me get my bait out past others and to the feeding zone. Only 3 tuna caught that trip. Tuna lit up the reel a few times. Very smooth drag. Had it paired with the 8" terez rod. The combo gave good give and helped offset the braid to floro shock transfer. Rod a bit mushy for a jig but for live bait it tosses the chovie very nice. Put 65lb powerpro and 6 ft leader of flouro on it. Might have been a bit heavy on the line for picky yellow tail but with a bite on the 40lb floro worked good.
By stephen
United States
Amazing Reel!!!!
July 19, 2013
Amazing Reel!!!!
By Brian
Westport, CT
Strong looking and functioning reel.
May 29, 2013
Great reel, really happy. Lever drag works well, very smooth, easy setting indicators. Feels great, good weight, looks really good too. Smooth operation all the way around.
By Sergey
Russia
Shimano TAC16II 2 Speed Lever Drag Reels
December 2, 2012
Good 2 Speed Lever Drag Reels for fishing in Northern countries.
By EDUARDO
MIAMI, FL
ITS THE BEST REEL IN THE WORLD
September 19, 2012
I am very impressed with THIS REEL
ProsITS EASY TO USE
ConsNONE
By Jon
Cape May, NJ
Talica 20 and 25
September 18, 2012
Bought both reels and paired them with Trevala jigging rods. They appear to be a really quality item. Used them once so far on and overnight tuna trip. No tuna, but they handled a huge thresher shark and a big hammerhead with no difficulty at all. Drags are smooth. Setting drag is easy. I have other quality offshore reels and these match up favorably with the best of them. With braid line you can load them up with enough capacity to handle just about anything we find on the east coast short of a true giant blue fin
Proseverything
Consnothing
By Steve
Fishers, Indiana
Talica12II
July 15, 2012
I received this reel from Tackle Direct in lighting fast time. I could not ask for a finer reel for its intended purpose. I will buy from Tackle Direct again!
ProsLight weight and excellent free spool
Consnone

Page 1 of 1


Sign up for exclusive sales and offers
Be the first to know about product news, exclusive sales and events.
WEST COAST YELLOWTAIL, YELLOWFIN, AND BLUEFIN FISHING REPORT
Tue, 5 Nov. 2019
Spirits were high, as the yellowfin counts earlier in the week were "limit style". Last weekend had an old buddy in town who wanted to fish, so we jumped on a two day trip out of Oceanside. Spirits were high, as the yellowfin counts earlier... Read More
In-Store Events & Promotions
In-Store Only Anniversary Sample Sale
Starts Nov. 1st
New product reviews and guides
Contact Us
Call or visit our retail store today! 6825 Tilton Rd Bldg C
Egg Harbor Township, NJ
08234-4426, USA
1-888-354-7335 Toll Free US/CAN
1-609-788-3819 DIRECT INT'L
8am-6pm ET Mon - Fri
9am-6pm ET Sat
10am-4pm ET Sun (Retail Store Only)
© 1997-2019 TackleDirect® All rights reserved