5.0
81 Reviews
5
98% (79)
4
1% (1)
3
0% (0)
2
1% (1)
1
0% (0)
100% Recommend this product (81 of 81 responses)
By Masamiuza96744
Honolulu, hi
Talica 50II
August 14, 2022
This was my dream reel when I started fishing for pelagics on oahu. Little pricey but so smooth and strong love this reel.
ProsReally sensitive/smooth drag Lightweight for stand-up fighting All around best reel for pelagic fishing. Can't wait for the talica 80's to come out.
By Allan
North Hills , CA
It’s Shimano
August 14, 2022
I have the 12 , I bought this Talica 25 for big tuna, drag is smooth like butter , there’s a reason this reel was one of the best in the market!
ProsSmooth and overall top reel
ConsBrass gear compared to stainless steel with saltiga
By Jerome
Delray Beach, FL
A Must!
May 25, 2022
Hands down my favorite reel for pulling up big Muttons and Groupers of the bottom, heavy duty drag thats smooth. There is none better.Worthy every penny!
By Francis
Martinsburg, WV
Best you can get
May 1, 2022
These are hands down the best most powerful for the size reels you can get. They are pricey but well worth it. They will last a lifetime. I own two of these and have no regrets.
By Christopher
Cape Coral
Awesome Reels
April 21, 2022
Nothing compares to Shimano! Look to purchase a couple more! Fast shipping and great service from TD!
By Will
Creekside California
Good live bait Tuna reel
March 14, 2022
Got for live bait use while Tuna fishing. Reel is amazingly smooth
By jkedsnake
So. Cal.
Beast of a reel, without the unnecessary weight.
March 11, 2022
This reel is comparable to my Tiagra wides, except not as wide but bigger in diameter. much lighter also. very smooth crank.
Prosweight savings
Consnone yet
By Paul
Key West
Still the best
February 18, 2022
Would be better if they made a left hand retrieve, but it's still the best trolling and live lining reel there is.
ProsTrolling Live lining Smooth brass gears
ConsBrass gears not as durable
By RODRIGO
PA
LOVE ALL TALICA'S
September 9, 2021
all talicas are great! this is my first 10 2 speed and great reel!
By Allan A.
Los Angeles
The Best
August 27, 2021
I use the TAC25II with Super Seeker 2x4 for targeting big bluefin. Works well with flat fall and kite/balloon a flying fish.
ProsHi speed is good for tightening up the line quickly on a kite/balloon bite. The low speed is powerful when getting a large fish up and down. Smooth drag and cranking power.
By Kris
So Cal
Tuna Perfection
August 19, 2021
For west coast tuna, this reel checks all the boxes - Super smooth, plenty of drag, and casts better than any other lever drag 2 speed I have ever fished. The 16 gives me all I need in 50 or 60# class - but the muscle to bump up to 80 if needed. Light enough to hold at the rail all day. While the newest addition to my offshore setups, It is already my favorite and go to reel.
ProsLight Weight Great Freespool and casting ability Drag is smooth and strong Handles multiple line ratings with ease Drag and gear changes under pressure are quick, positive, and smooth
By Samuel
reading, PA
Awesome Reel
July 19, 2021
This is a great versatile reel, capable of handling yellow fin tuna to deep dropping. Reel is very smooth, very strong, and has quality written all over it.
ProsSmooth Quality Versatile reel
ConsPrice, but worth every penny
By Dave
Marlton NJ
Talica 16 Two Speed
July 15, 2021
Bought this reel for tuna chunking and matched it with a Shimano Terez. Haven’t used it chunking yet, but found it can be used for jigging, if you like. It’s a very nice smooth reel and has worked well so far.
ProsProvides a good amount of line capacity, even with 80 lb. power pro. Very smooth reel and light compared with some of the much heavier trolling style reels, although can be used to trol. Seems perfectly suited for the chunking I want to do.
ConsI used it jigging and found it can be used to jig, but I prefer a spinner. When the reel was spooled to full capacity, you have to use care when reeling in the line to be sure you don?t overfill the outside edges of the spool. The outside edges of the spool are the point the line begins to bind. This can be addressed by using care when reeling or by putting a little less line on the reel
By Blue H.
Grand Cayman
Fantastic Reels
June 10, 2021
I actually prefer these over the Tiagras.
ProsFast, well built and light
By Allan
Panorama, CA
One of the best reel
May 27, 2021
I got the shimano talica 12ii , my all around reel , from rock fish to pelagic and never let me down.
ProsVery solid reel , will last for a long time!
ConsThey will envy you seeing you have Talica.
By William
Rancho cordova
Best
April 13, 2021
Great reel for big fish. In a class all its own
Pros2 speed great workmanship top of the line mechanics
ConsSmaller than I thought
By Hunter
Ocean city Maryland
Light powerhouse
January 21, 2021
I bought 2 talica 16 2 speed and have them paired up on 6ft Connelly fishing rods. Great light trolling setup.
By Alex
FL
Talica 20 2-speed is a tank
December 30, 2020
I bought a pair of the 2-speed Talica 20s and loaded them with 80lb braid. This baby had no problem hauling in a big-boy Goliath grouper and the low gear was key. It's impressive how much drag and power this has, especially given the relatively compact size and light weight. Love this reel.
By Nathan
SUPPLY, NC
Great Reel!
December 13, 2020
I bought the 50 just because of the in per turn but it turned out to be one of the best offshore reels I have. Not only does it have great inches per turn but it is light and has great drag. The line capacity is the only bad part but I managed to put 400 yards of 130lb jerry brown hollow with a 150yd topshot of 130lb mono.
ProsDrag, In per turn, weight
Consline capacity
By Cecil
Lantana, TX
All-Time Favorite
November 16, 2020
I own an 8, 12, 16, and 20. Total quality throughout. Absolute tanks, can overpower any fish in the Gulf. Depending on your rod, the 8 and 12 casts easy. 2-speed is a definite plus for pulling fish quickly off the reefs.
Pros2-speed is a huge benefit. Smaller reels are easy to cast. Strong drag.
ConsNone
By Erick
CA
Corrosion
August 21, 2020
Reels sideplate and frame began to Corrode after 3 months of fishing. Handle came loose and I lost fish. Not happy.
ProsSmooth at first
ConsDon't last long
By Steve C.
Southern California
Excellent smooth reel
July 9, 2020
I have several TAC12II reels. I decided to purchase a TAC16II for the added line capacity, I'm fishing Southern California waters for Bluefin tuna in the 100-200lb class. I have caught several large tuna on this reel and I'm very happy with the reels performance. The TAC16ii is the same diameter as the TAC12II but it is wider.
ProsQuality components and smoothness when fighting a large fish..
By Alexandre
Naples, FL
Incredible lightweight but heavy duty reel.
June 3, 2020
I was very surprised just how good these reels are. They’re very lightweight for their class yet machined precisely and have no backlash. It’s like the next generation of reel which makes the old International and Tiara reels feel like antiques.
By ChuckD
Clayton, NC
Art!
April 10, 2020
This thing is stunning to behold and is a winch! Nothing but a positive experience. But don't brag about it too much or act like your love for it is what it is, or you will weird out your friends. Just fish with it and enjoy it!
ProsPerformance
ConsNone
By Tuna A.
California
Best of the best...
March 24, 2020
This thing is the smoothest reel I have ever felt! Not to mention it's excellent castablility and power! Sell everything you have and just fish Shimano!
ProsLight, powerful, smooth, high capacity, and comfortable
ConsNothing, worth the money!!!
By Emilio V.
Freeport Tx
This reel is a beast!!
March 2, 2020
I have this reel set up with a hundred pound PowerPro and a 300 pound wind on leader crimped to custom 500 pound deep drop leader. The rod is a Shimano talus bent but 150 to 250 class Rod. I hooked a 85 to 95 pound Warsaw grouper with a five pound weight on my deep drop leader in a water depth of 350 feet and I had the fish up with within 4 minutes. The low gear on this real feels like a tractor.
ProsAmazing!
By Henry
Florida
Shimano TAC16II
February 9, 2020
I have owned several of the Talica variants in the 12 and 16 sizes. They are extremely well made with phenomenal performance in a lightweight package.
By John
New Braunfels, Texas
Fantastic Reel
January 17, 2020
I have four Talica 20 reels. They have been flawless. I have used them on tuna, marlin, wahoo, and mahi. I have used 40 pound mono - 80 pound braid and everything in between with excellent results. Smooth and consistent drag. I love them. Lots of power in a small lightweight reel.
ProsSmall, lightweight, ergonomic
By G M.
Panama City, Florida
Powerful & very smooth drag
January 12, 2020
My new Talica 25 2-speed has a powerful and very smooth drag for bottom fishing as well as for trolling.
By Kenny
Columbia, Maryland
phew!
November 19, 2019
This is an amazing trolling reel, the 2 speed feature really helps when a fish charges the boat or when you need some crank power from low gear
By Kenny
MD
Nice reel
November 19, 2019
Pretty smooth. Feels like really rigid and smooth. personally like using these for tunas
By Todd
VA
unleash the power
June 4, 2019
I have the TACII 25 and this thing is a workhorse. Set the drag before you go because too much drag takes all the fun out of it. Adjustments are very easy and the reel has tons or torque to bring in that trophy. I haven't tried it bottom fishing yet but I would assume it can bring up big tiles and other beast from the depths.
Prostwo speed drag rating power/torque looks amazing!
By Ronan
33155,
Great bottom reels
February 3, 2019
I’ve had a Talica 20 for about a year now and it’s been great. Very durable, high quality, awesome drag, and plenty of line capacity. Perfect for bottom fishing for grouper and tarpon.
By Samuel
reading, PA
Awesome Reel
January 29, 2019
I own 2 Talica 25 reels and they are worth every penny. Spool the reel with 2/3 braid, 1/3 mono and you have the perfect setup for offshore tuna. This reel can stop a train in its tracks.
ProsLight weight, smooth, and powerful.
ConsThe strike position can get a little getting used to. It doesn't take much to go past the strike position if you are not mindful of your reel.
By David
Los Angeles
Great reel
January 7, 2019
Love this reel. The Tac16ii is the perfect size for me. I use it for fly-lining sardines to catch bluefin tuna. Filled with 80# braid, had no problem landing 50-150# fish. Awesome drag, very smooth. Casts very well.
Proslots of drag; 2 speed; reasonable line capacity
Consgets scratched up easily
By Kyle
St Petersburg, FL
FORGET ANYTHING ELSE
January 3, 2019
The one and done reel for saltwater fishing. 20-2 speed is great for everything from small snapper off the bottom, to big MAhi, wahoo, and has enough drag to pull Goliaths from the wreck.
By Mark
Texas
Great product
December 19, 2018
I have 5 of these reels plus two of the 16’s. Some of the reels are 6 years old and they remain perfect in every way. Easy to service, great to use and an all around awesome product.
ProsEase of use Resistance to salt water
ConsThe only possible one would be the lack of a casting drag option
By Capt B.
Venice, La
Perfect Jigging reel
October 11, 2018
Light weight and powerful. A vertical jigging dream. Cant praise the TAC16II enough!!!!!
By Capt B.
Venice, La
Perfect Power
October 11, 2018
I don't know of another lightweight reel that offers the perfect balance of heavy line capacity, smooth drag, and is still cast live baits with ease. The TAC50II has allowed my clients to quickly and effectively land fish that they never dreamed of!!! This year alone the TAC50II has put the breaks on marlin over 600lbs and Bluefin tuna up to 550lbs in 3000+ feet of water!!!!
By Capt B.
Venice, La
A true Work Horse
October 11, 2018
Over 600 days of fishing with the TAC25II and the reels have holdup unbelievably well!!!! We have caught everything from mahi to marlin. Yellowfin tuna up to 200lbs. Smooth and dependable.
By Edward
Hamersville, OH
Great reel!
August 22, 2018
This reel is awesome! Better than expected and super smooth!
By Tha K.
New Jersey
Excellent Reel
July 11, 2018
Great reel for both tile fishing and tuna fishing.
By Rolando
Miami, FL
The best!
June 7, 2018
These Tal?ca reels are the best. So light, smooth and powerful. Live this reel. Very well made
By Wayne T.
Auckland Nz
LAND BASED CASTING
May 19, 2018
Casts a mile and a lot stronger drag than the thorium 50.
ProsHuge drag Casts well
By Steve P.
St Petersburg, Florida
Best of the best
March 20, 2018
As a full time charterboat operator I need my gear to perform on a daily basis and never let my customers down. This reel coupled with super braid like Power Pro has changed the bottom fishing game for me. My customers are now landing with ease the larger fish that used to break them off quickly, thus helping me make memories for many anglers. The monstrous drag gives us the ability to stop big fish in their tracks and the 2 speed option the Talica offers gives us the ability to wrench those larger fish away from the rocks. Thanks goes out to the designers at Shimano for delivering such a powerful reel in a small package.
By Doug
Ocean City, NJ
Great Reel
February 22, 2018
Started fishing them last summer and they worked for everything. White Marlin, Tuna, Mahi, and shark. No problems and outstanding performance.
ProsLots of line and not too heavy
By Magdiel
Miami, FL
Great reel
November 9, 2017
Another great reel in the talica lineup. I have this one spooled with braid and I use it for my bottom rod on the reef and when drifting.
By JD
so-cal
great reel
September 11, 2017
awesome reel been using it for casting live bait to marlin.
Prosvery smooth and powerful has more drag then you will ever need.
Consnone
By Mike
San Diego, CA
Smooth, powerful, and go-to
September 7, 2017
Fantastic reel incredibly smooth and powerful. Loud clicker, comfortable size and handling. What more could you ask for. This is my go-to reel for fishing out here in So Cal waters.
By jim
Northeast canyons
tac II 25, / treez combo, If you fish stand up..sell your old gear and just fish this.
August 24, 2017
Shimano hit a home run when they paired the terez and tacII line up. The light weight and amazing power combined with the capacity that today's braided line gives you is a total game changer. When you land a big fish on one of these set ups, you will not go back to that heavy clunky gold reel you have no matter how reliable it is. IMO what makes this so great is the range of fish you can catch with this set up and still have it be sporty. Weather it is a 5 # mahi or a 500# marlin or giant tuna and everything in between these reels/rods have done it...not from a gunnel, not from a chair or battle station but stand up with a belt or harness. You simply don't fight the tackle anymore, you fight the fish. It may look too light weight but trust the ratings. Get one, load it with braid and a top shot of mono and really enjoy fishing. To be perfectly honest, I sold all my heavy gear and just fish with this now The 25 is perfect, for 90% of fish you catch, the 50 is required for the other 10%.
Prospower to weight ratio, capacity,
ConsWish they made 35 wide to fill out the line up gap Clicker is not as loud as I would like

Page 1 of 2
1