4.8
52 Reviews
5
87% (45)
4
12% (6)
3
2% (1)
2
0% (0)
1
0% (0)
100% Recommend this product (52 of 52 responses)
By Rod
No. Cal
Another Great Shimano Product
November 12, 2022
Was looking for the 501 but this 401 is equally as good. A bit lighter, great line capacity, and solid drag. The line counter is indispensable. The reel has excellent feel and is easy to handle. I recommend this reel as an alternative to the impossible to find 501 version.
By Jerry
Sacramento
Relentless
September 9, 2022
Good amazing and dependable reel
By Larry
Spring Hill, FL
Smooth
August 18, 2022
Great reel for the price well built Plenty of crank power
By Kevin
San Francisco
Best line counter reel
August 17, 2022
Best line counter
By Frank
Santa Rosa, CA
Quality reel
May 24, 2022
I have the 401 with line counter. Great for trolling salmon or bottom fishing. Strong smooth drag. Casts well even with the line counter. Its been a year with no problems.
By Justin
Mass
Love it
April 20, 2022
Just like the torium but with a level wind love it!!
ProsLevel wind lightweight
ConsNone
By V D.
Rhode Islans
TEKPGLCA
April 12, 2022
Perfect reel for wire and umbrellas! Beefy 35lbs of drag and low gear ratio!
Pros35lbs of drag
ConsNone
By Scott R.
Waynesville, OH
Shimano TEK600HGLCA Tekota Line Counter reel
February 27, 2022
Great product as always from Shimano!
ProsBuilt well, lots of line capacity!
ConsNone
By Ray
Northern ohio
Trolling reels
February 25, 2022
Great reels, 4 years of use and no problems. I have 10 of them
ProsWell built, counters work well , very smooth
ConsNon that I can say yet
By Ernest
Monkton, MD
Awesome reel
January 21, 2022
Great reel for trolling striper in the Chesapeake Bay
By Ryan S.
New Jersey
Great reel but…….
November 15, 2021
I like the looks and feel of the reel but definitely lacking in drag I use it to drag spoons and mojos up here in the upper East coast for bass Also use it for dragging umbrellas rigs That being said when you have the umbrellas on and a bass you gotta max this thing out like crazy and still over play it either he rod to get the fish in Wish they beefed up the drag
By Aaron
California
Great reel
November 1, 2021
I bought it for fishing deep and shallow waters in the ocean. I have used it twice and it works great. I have fished for rock cod in 400 and 150 ft and the reel is smooth and drag works great.
By Ted
SF Bay Area
Best Versatile Reel Made
October 23, 2021
For its price range it can’t be beat. Smooth drag, no jerking when with down riggers, or dropping a ball trolling, best cranking and retrieve rate per turn for its price range. Light yet strong it Pairs well with a wide range of my rods. Great for salmon trolling or inshore mooching. Handles 20-30lb salmon well. Vertical jigging inshore as well.
ProsPrice for gear ratio and retrieve Durable corrosion Resistant body material Smooth Star Drag Power Smooth Cranking Comes in level wind as well as non. Can get a optional line counter is clear and easy to read and doesn?t get in your way of fighting fish.
ConsTry locating them buy it when you see it or they?ll be gone
By Ivan B.
Washington
Great reel
October 3, 2021
More than pleased. Great for all salmon species. Will buy more of them.
By jeff
columbia river
Already catching salmon with the reel
September 28, 2021
love the tekota 500 line counter. Smooth reel with easily adjusted drag and lets me know where I'm fishing
By Michael
Burke, VA
Shimano Tekota 500 Lefty
September 21, 2021
I use the Shimano Tekota 500 bottom fishing for Black sea bass, flounder and bluefish in the Northeast. Paired it with a 6'6 MH Trevala.
By Ryan
Virginia Beach, VA
Good reel for the price
September 5, 2021
I definitely won't say this reel is great, but for the price it's very good. The handle knob weighs about 3oz, so you can shave some weight there. I swapped a Tranx paddle handle on to this one. Very noisy to cast with the non disengaging levelwind, but it does cast well.
ProsPrice
ConsLots of plastic
By Mike
Pacific NW (Washington)
Awesome Reel
September 1, 2021
Been working flawlessly. I have this for fishing salmon and it works great for trolling on the downrigger or dropping back on the river. Drag is smooth and the power handle s great.. Im actually replacing my Calcutta 400's with these because I like them so much.
By Steven
Coffman Cove, Alaska
Excellent reel!
August 26, 2021
Three years in the salt water and hasn't missed a beat! Great power and drag system.
By Matthew
Morris, AL
Awesome Striper Reel
August 25, 2021
Paired mine with 7'6" medium big game rod perfect for live bait, trolling, power reeling, etc... Reel is super smooth great drag... best reel I have owned for what I do! Now between me and my buddies we own probably 10 or more...
By MIKE
Oregon
Solid reel
August 10, 2021
Really good solid piece of gear. Love shimano reels. I have several tekota and use them all. Very reliable and sturdy. 4 stars for the gear ratio. I like the 4 to 1 on the older ones better. Just personal preference. Other than that, perfect.
By RBarr
South Carolina
Typical Shimano……Great!
July 28, 2021
I have several of these reals. They are rock solid. Smooth drags and easy to reset line counter. I use them for Stripers and they perform flawlessly. Will probably add more to replace some lower quality reels once they wear out. Also need to comment on Shimano’s customer service. A careless boater ran over one of my lines while I was trolling a d stripped the reel (only the 2nd time I had used it) at high speed! The clicker was useless after that. I contacted Shimano and was advised to send it to their SC service center. Turn around was quoted as 9 weeks, but I had it back in 4, good as new! Also now charge for the repair, just a $30. base charge. I have been using Shimano gear for decades and that won’t change.
ProsSolid build, smooth operation, reliable.
ConsNone noted.
By Anonymous
Oxnard, California
Outstanding Reel!!
May 26, 2021
Will be buying more of these
By Chris
Reading,PA
Very versatile
April 27, 2021
Purchased this reel for chunking the surf. Not really it's intended purpose but it casts very nicely holds plenty of line and has a great drag.
ConsWish it came with a paddle handle the power handle is really uncomfortable
By updateCategoryParentkevin
San Francisco
Salmon killer
February 23, 2021
Best line counter
By Jay P.
Maplewood, MN
Great Reel!
February 8, 2021
Perfect for Striper fishing!
By Troy
Middletown , NJ
Perfect for jigging and trolling
February 7, 2021
Love the line counter and level wind, and the Shimano quality!
By James
,
Great for Dropper
December 12, 2020
Excellent drag and capacity for fishing max depth with heavier lines. Levelwind is great for constantly dropping and retrieving for an entire day.
By James
,
Perfect Capacity and Weight
December 12, 2020
500 used for rockfish, it's got all the capacity for fishing max depth and 40lb leaders. Levelwind is a thumb saver when repeatedly dropping and winding all day. Light with great drag.
By Jeremiah
Battle Creek, NE
Great Reel
October 17, 2020
Work great for trolling, I would defiantly purchase again
By marc m.
WA
Shimano reel
October 12, 2020
Awesome LH Shimano reel with line counter. Reel is smooth and great drag on it..Has performed well catching a lot of Columbia River Chinook Salmon.
By Duck
Torrance, CA
Smooth reel
July 3, 2020
I am waiting to take it fishing, Due to Covid, my earlier trips were cancelled, but I loaded it with the braid line and I cannot wait to take it deep sea fishing for bottom fish. I am also going to take it Tuna fishing. With a drag rating of 24 lbs it is the same as some of my other larger reels. With the line counter now I can set my bait or jig exactly where the captain indicates the fish are showing up on the fish finder!!!
By Chuck
93601
Great product
May 17, 2020
Excellent reel with smooth drag and great feel. Match this to shimano talora great combo.
By Lee
Miami
Received the reel - it’s solid
March 30, 2020
Honestly haven’t taken it out yet , however I can say that I’m happy with the size / weight ratio & line capacity along with the new handle and updated tech stuff. That being said I do own the stradic, tranx, curado chip assisted, Calcutta , and rods . Shimano has never disappointed me in over 35 years of saltwater fishing .
By Van
SoMD
Great $200ish reel
February 12, 2020
I am slowly replacing my older Penn Senators and I am going to the Tekota for a variety of reasons, mostly because I don't need the capacity for the trolling we do. These are also good jigging and casting reels too.
Prosall aluminum body, great crank and handle, level wind, shimano quality
ConsFor a bit more money you can get into a Seigler or an Avet. Both of which I feel are better reels.
By jon
oceanport, NJ
great reel
October 22, 2019
Improved from pervious. Smaller but still has the same line capacity. Looks better than previous serious
Prosperfect for trolling mojos for stripers
Consn/a
By George
LI sound & beyond
Exactly what I expected
May 3, 2019
Very smooth, light & compact with enough drag for larger fish in LI Sound
By Lawrence
San jose
Very nice
March 13, 2019
Very nice reel, exactly what I ordered!
By Lawrence
Deltaville, VA
Smooth and fast
January 27, 2019
This is a nice addition to my fishing arsenal. Very smooth and fast.
By Darrell L.
Sacramento ca
Great reel
January 25, 2019
Great reel for salmon trolling
ProsGood drag.
By Innkeeper
NYC
Beautiful reel
January 19, 2019
I love this reel, it’s really smooth on retrieving and very light and also low profile
ProsSmooth and quiet retrieve, lightweight
ConsCan?t think of any
By Carl
Indiana
Top of the line, line counters
January 3, 2019
Life is short buy the best .
ProsHigh retrieval ratio,light weight, compact and smooth.
By Shawn
Mechanicsburg, PA
Great Reel
October 4, 2018
I love this reel. It has a compact design with plenty of power.
By Paul
Cape Cod
Great reel
September 6, 2018
I have 4 for stripers and blues around Cape Cod. They handle it all.
ProsGreat drag. Very smooth
ConsAfter 5 years had the level wind mechanism blow up on a huge shark hit. Took it off, plug the holes and it keeps rocking!
By KK
Long Island, NY
Great Reel
August 24, 2018
Reel used for saltwater trolling and jigging mainly, but fine for all types of fishing. Reel is very smooth, solid built and compact. Shimano quality.
By Weldon
Poway, CA
Great Reels !!!
February 29, 2016
I have two for west coast fishing. The Mdl 300 (got the optional Shimano single knob crank handle) with 50 # PowerPro w/25# floro topshot which is great for flyling sardines/anchovies for calicos in the kelp to schoolie yellows/albies in open water on a f/t-h/d 8ft Seeker trigger rod. The mdl 700 w/an after market long shank power handle with 65# powerPro tied right on to a 2 hook ganglon and a 6 1/2 heavy rod is great for deep water (300ft) rock codding. Both great reels and unlike many I like a level wind especially when cranking up 16 oz + of sinker and 10lbs + of fish from way down deep.
ProsThey work and are well made with no problems encountered so far after two seasons of use. But then again again they are Shimanos.
ConsNone
By Don
East Lyme, CT
Excellent Reel !
May 14, 2015
One of the best reels I own, Bar none! The Tekota and the Torium are bullet proof reels.
By Michael
Boynton Beach, FL
Great reel
January 28, 2015
Good reel for casting heavy lures for snook fishing
By Andrew
West River, MD
Wreck Fishing Reliability
January 3, 2015
Great reel for wreck and reef fishing. Holds a lot of braid so you can reach the deeper wrecks and reefs if you like fishing in 150-250 feet of water. Has the drag to lockdown on big tog and those monster blues which seem to love to hang out over the wrecks. Also capable of handling big stripers as well. Easy to maintain, have had no issues with birds' nest or any braid issue for that matter.
By Jose
West Hills, CA
The line counter is great for bottom fishing.
October 22, 2014
This reel is not great for casting but is my favorite reel for bottom fishing. Agree with other reviews, best application is when the captain announces at how many feet from the bottom fish are.

Page 1 of 2
1