4.9
32 Reviews
5
91% (29)
4
9% (3)
3
0% (0)
2
0% (0)
1
0% (0)
100% Recommend this product (32 of 32 responses)
By fishyonado
Michigan
TEK800 is a great reel for long lines
September 12, 2019
Plenty of room on the spool for PowerPro backing and 500’ of 45lb BloodRun SuperCopper.
By Jon A.
Cape May NJ
Shimano Tekota 800
January 30, 2019
I made my first time purchase of the Shimano Tekota 800 reel from Tackle Direct in the winter and it instantly made me want to go fishing! We got striper fever off the NJ coast and bought another reel. Ya don't necessarily need this reel but if ya want to up your game and the fish to prove it -- go for it ! It is a beaut reel and will take care of business! Thank you TD for taking care of my tackle needs!
By John
Huntington, NY
Great Reel with versatility
August 30, 2018
I have had one of these for several years and wanted to add another one so I did. This is a terrific reel for striped bass and blue fishing. You can use it for all types of fishing , trolling, jigging, live lining or chunking. Love the smoothness of the drag and crank. Love the level wind. Great when casting bait when chunking or eeling, Great value of the mone.
ProsExcellent reel
By anthony
florida
i love this reel
July 27, 2018
I was catching 6 ft bull shark off bridge 2 that night with 40 lb mono reel was screaming but held up nicely
By Joshua G.
San Jose, CA
Very reliable 10+ years no issue
May 15, 2018
Had this particular model for a long time had to review it since it’s been through so much. Handled bay rays in SF bay to 65 pounds, tons of sharks to 20-30 pounds; also got my bigger salmon up to 18 pounds on this reel as well. Not exactly what it’s intended for but I’m sure the larger models will fare for a lifetime. Lol pretty much used it as a beater and loaner reel. Can’t kill it, wonderful reel.
ProsVery versatile
Cons reel handle little small to grip
By Peter
E. Longmeadow, MA
Excellent reel.
November 1, 2017
Great quality. Very strong and smooth. Large line capacity and consistent performance
By Rick
VA
Excellent reels
December 23, 2016
Well worth the investment for trolling rods. THe level wind makes it easy to guesstimate line out to help with depth estimation when your trolling for stripers. These are my second tekota purchases, totalling 10 in all.
By weldonk
San Diego, CA
Perfect Reel for Deep Water Bottom Fishing
December 5, 2016
I have mine paired with a stout 6 1/2 ft boat rod for deep water (250 ft and deeper) for big rock cod or lings in SoCal where a 16 oz sinker is a must. Great cranking power with 65 lb Power Pro braid. Get rid of those old big Penns and get one of these.
ProsVery solid reel mechanically and yet not too big/heavy and with a level wind line lay on the spool is no problem
ConsWhile it has an excellent handle I got an after market 5 " handle w/power grip for deep water cranking.
By Weldonk
San Diego, CA
A Solid, Well Built Reel
December 5, 2016
Paired with an 8ft Seeker Inshore rod with 20 lb mono leader + 50 lb braid it's my go to outfit for fishing for calicos in the kelp with bait off SoCal.. If I want I can also cast a 1/2 oz-3/4 oz jigheaded swim bait a mile it's that smooth running of a reel. If I also get a pickup on a 20 + yellowtail or schoolie Albacore it can handle that too.
ProsSmall, solid, smooth drag and casts a flylined anchovy or sardine with no $#%@&* overruns. I like that I can freespool and let the bait swim around and then on the pickup engage the lever clutch,let the circle hook do it's thing and it's "fish on." Handles braid well.
ConsNone
By Dan
Pa
Shimano!
February 20, 2016
Very nice reel used a few weeks ago for tog. Performed well.
By Tom
Guam
Great reel
February 12, 2016
I have owned and used two Tekota 800 reels for six years. I bought them as strong reels with levelwinds as I often take very inexperienced people wahoo and mahi fishing. They have held up GREAT. I run 65 lb. braid on these reels and they hold miles. This because we could always tangle with a marlin. Hasn't happened yet, but we did land a 168 lb. sailfish recently. Surprisingly, these Tekotas knocked out my Saltist and Accurate bottom fishing reels. These Tekotas are just so smooth and strong, and I found it much easier to drag up the big grouper and snapper with these larger Tekotas than on the somewhat smaller but higher gear ratio Saltist and Accurate reels. And not having to use your sore thumb to levelwind abrasive braid all day is a plus. The levelwinds are strong and have never been challenged by big fish and big weights 800 feet down. I maintain my reels very well, soak in rainwater after every trip, partially disassemble and grease often, and these reels are still functioning like new. There is enough plastic on this reel to get scobbed up in hard use, but none of that stuff is structural. They still look good. I would not choose these reels for marlin or really big tuna, but these reels have the power and capacity to handle anything swimming up to maybe 200 lbs. And not having to constantly remind kids and rookies to thumb the line on retrieve is worth a lot.
By Frank
Longport, NJ
Great Reel!
December 21, 2015
This reel is a workhorse! It is light, has plenty of drag and a nice low gear ratio. The low gearing allows you to easly land big fish without pumping the rod like a mad man. The levelwind is a bonus when dropping and reeling for seabass in 100' of water. With a levelwind, you don't need to worry about line lay and IMO it helps prevent backlash. I've owned the Tekota TEK500 for 4 years now and have nothing but good things to say about it.
ProsReliable, low gear ratio, light weight, levelwind, line capacity, ect..
ConsNone.
By Rodrigo
Easton, PA
GREAT REEL
November 17, 2015
U USE TWO OF THESE REELS TO TROLL BUKER SPOONS ON WIRE WITH TONY MAJA RODS.... WORKS GREAT
ProsVERRY SMOOTH
By Rodrigo
Easton, PA
GREAT REEL
November 17, 2015
GREAT REEL BUT RETURNED MINE FOR THE 800 TO TROLL WIRE
By Tim S.
Inverness, FL
Great small drop reel
August 18, 2015
Very smooth and strong. I'm very happy with my purchase of 4 of them. Very user friendly.
By John
Lake Saint Clair
Great Reel
May 6, 2015
Great trolling reel. Smooth gears.Very happy with the performance of this reel so far.
ProsSmooth gears Quality Design
ConsPrice
By Tommy
Dixon, Ca.
Great Reel
April 22, 2015
This is one of my favorite reels. No Reel does everything, but this one comes close for what I use it for. It's a great general purpose boat reel...
By andre
boynton beach, florida
great for casting
January 13, 2015
This reel is designed for trolling. I have been using it to cast lures as light as 3/4 ounce. Many online reviews say this reel doesn't cast well but I reccomend this reel for casting
By Zak
Jackson, NJ
Recommend for fluke fisherman
January 6, 2015
Robust reel, use for striped bass & fluke
By John
California
Shimano TEK600
September 20, 2014
Very smooth fishing reel from a reputable company. Very easy to cast with this reel. I use it primarily for mooching for salmon.
ProsSmooth retrieve, cast well, durable.
ConsLine capacity may be limited for other applications. The drags are not quite as good as some other fishing reels of the same class.
By Darrell L.
United States
good deal
September 18, 2014
very good reel for its price.
By DARRELL L.
United States
great reel for trolling for samon
August 7, 2014
easy to keep track of depth of lure
By Jack
Brooklyn, NY
Great Reel!
July 1, 2014
Top notch level wind, smooth as butter! Can't get a better reel for the money.
ProsQuality, Price
By Matt
Where the fish are. Lake Erie
Shimano Tekota
May 22, 2014
Very nice reel and the drag system is smooth. I would have to say it is one of the best line counters out there
ProsSmooth drag system. Every turn of the grag has a click so you can set it just right.
ConsNone
By Don
East Lyme, CT
Bullet proof !
February 8, 2014
Great reel in the salt; never a problem, just rinse it every time and fish !
By scott
concord,ca
great reel!
January 16, 2014
first time out caught a 40 lb sturgeon. made my other sturgeon reels obsolete.
Proseasy casting,fast retrive.
Consnone.
By Christopher
Port Hueneme, CA
Awesome reel
January 15, 2014
This reel could easily sell for 2-3 time the list price with its performance and stability
By Doug C.
Killeen, Texas
Great Reel
November 20, 2013
Used both my TEK600 and my TEK500 on Bull Reds this past week down on the Galveston Bay, TX. We got 35 of them in a couple of half day trips. I got about 10 of the 35 on my reels. Both reels performed perfectly and "handled those big 25-30# fellers that didn't want to come aboard." We caught and released all but two that had been bitten by sharks, If you want a first class reel that isn't too expensive, either one of these will do fine. I used mono on another trip but I kept breaking off my main line so I swithched to 65# braid with floracarb leader which worked great. You can't go wrong with one of these. PS: I also have a TEK700 that I love.
ProsEverything works great.
ConsA lever drag might be easier to apply when you are fighting a big fish, but for the money, the star drag works fine.
By Craig
Duluth, GA
Excellent value
November 10, 2013
So far so good. I'm using the reel in fresh (shallow) water where knowing where the lures are behind the boat is very important to avoid snags while trolling. Line counter solves that. Holds up well to 30+ inch stripers.
By BeBe
Suwannee, fl
Reel
July 6, 2013
Great reel! Good drag and light enough for women and youths.
By John
Mobile, Al
Just1More
April 5, 2013
Outstanding reel. I own 4 of the these and use them for bottom fishing. They have hauled in 30# snapper to 200# sharks without an issue. Great for the kids because of the level wind function.
By Jan
Norway
A top quality line counter reel!
September 29, 2012
I have been using 6 Tekota 600lC's for more than 4 years now. Fresh water trolling and some saltwater trolling. This is a high quality and reliable reel. The reel feels solid, but light for the size and materials used. The line counter is very reliable and easy to operate. Very good drag which is easy to adjust. High maximum force. I'm using them for all seasons - even in cold winter with snow . I never had any problems. The reel seems very durable. They still look like they are new. I also use the Daiwa 47LCA. The Tekota is much more expensive. Despite I like the Daiwa too, I prefer the Shimano Tekota. It feels more durable with better materials used in the construction. Is it worth the extra money? Yes I think so.
ProsQuality Smooth operation Durable Drag Line counter
ConsExpensive

Page 1 of 1