4.9
38 Reviews
5
92% (35)
4
8% (3)
3
0% (0)
2
0% (0)
1
0% (0)
97% Recommend this product (37 of 38 responses)
By Mark
Massillon, OH
I now have them all!
March 27, 2021
I'm a huge Shimano fan of spinning reels. I have original thunnus 6000 and a couple of bait runners from 20 years ago. All great reels. Use them in the surf so they've been exposed to the salt and sand for a long time. Stopped using the original 6000 because it is so heavy. A couple years ago decided to start upgrading to the new CI4 thunnus reels. They are so light and smooth. I now have all the CI4 Thunnus. Each is dedicated to it's specific use. Mostly bait/live bait fishing. I use other Shimano reels for lures.
ProsMuch lighter than originals. Still same smooth reels.
ConsNothing
By joshua g.
Orange county, california
Great Reel
October 29, 2020
Use to use the older Baitrunner 12000D and upgraded to this bad boy. Wondering why I didn't do it sooner. Smooth baitrunner and strong drag. Can handle anything from bass, yellowtail up to easily 50+ tuna.
By Alexandre
Naples, FL
My favorite spinning reels
June 3, 2020
Incredibly smooth reels with no backlash. They last years and maintenance is simple. The bait runner system is fantastic. Favorite spinner, hands down.
By Joe
newark, de
Great reel
May 30, 2020
just like the old one but lighter and just as powerful. I use this reel for stripers
By Nick c.
Hawaii
Shimano thunnus
May 25, 2020
Exactly ask I ordered. I live in Hawaii and My order came in fast. Thanks and enjoy the product. Aloha🤙🏽
By Jarrid
Kailua, HI
The Best Baitrunner Spinning Reel On The Market!
March 29, 2020
This reel is incredible. Exactly what you'd expect from Shimano. Powerful, smooth, lightweight and versatile, dominating in all categories. The baitrunner feature is so simple to use and the various drag settings make it easy to match with the size of the bait you're using. I highly recommend this reel if you're seeking a Spinning Baitrunner Reel.
ProsSmooth Drag, Lightweight, Excellent Baitrunner Feature.
ConsNone
By Dan
Harleysville, Pa.
Great reel!!
March 28, 2020
This reel allows me to fish with live bait while throwing lures with another rod. Works like a charm!!
By Jeff
Roanoke VA
Great spinning reel
May 31, 2019
Bait runner is awesome!!!!!
By hui
staten island, new york
great for bait fishing
February 22, 2019
love this reel for striped bass fishing~!
By Angel
New York
The best shimano bait runner 8000
August 11, 2018
I use this mostly for saltwater bottom fishing montauk ny but will throw a plug on if the 20 pound bluefish are wh shimano tiralejo 12f nobody cast like me
By Grant R.
Hilltown, PA
Awesome!!
July 23, 2018
I was looking for a new 8000 size reel to replace an old Penn. After reading reviews and handling a variety of reels, I chose to go with the Thunnus CI48000. Wow, is all I can say. This reel functions better than any reel in my bag. I also purchased a St. Croix Mojo Surf 11' to pair up and it is by far the best combo I have ever used. If you are looking for a reel that is an absolute beast pick this up you will not be disappointed.
ProsLightweight, amazing dual drag system, everything about this reel rocks
Consnone
By Paul
North Miami, Fl
great offshore reel
November 25, 2017
Bought this with a loomis pro blue, use it in south florida for live baiting dolphin and tarpon. Handles the tarpon under the bridges in excess of 100 lbs and is great for drifting live bait offshore with the bait runner feature. it overmatches the schoolie dolphin but easily handles the larger gaffers. I would buy 10 more if they didn't update the models every few years making parts to previous models obsolete. I have a dozen shimano reels (more?) and take care of them. when they finally need parts, you can't get them a few years after they come out. Good news is if you take care of them, you can give them to your kids. Smooth and strong, good drag and love the bait runner feature. kids can put it in the rod holder and walk away...as they do, turn the crank and your fish is still on and they do not have to adjust the drag, just crank in your fish. I use it more than my stellas because they are several generations old and can't afford to have them break. not much of a drop off in performance.
Conseventually parts will not be available as newer generations of this reel come out
By Chris
San Diego
Super Easy
October 26, 2017
Used this reel for fly-lining Sardines and the bait-runner feature worked well. Caught some nice 20-30 Yellowtail and drag worked great. The clicking feature of the bait-runner is annoying, but does a great job of keeping just enough pressure to keep your line sung. it was especially helpful on a full boat with others getting all tangled up. I used the bait-runner on its lowest setting the entire time and it was fine for the larger sardines I was using, but for smaller anchovies I think the drag might me a little too much.
ProsEasy to cast, holds plenty of line, bait-runner feature, smooth drag, , as fool proof as it gets, great for my wife
ConsIts a spinning reel, so you feel a little wimpy
By Exkeydet
Lexington, VA
Best Reel for the Money!
June 1, 2017
I'd purchased a Thunnus C14 8000 about a year earlier for striper fishing and loved it, but wanted to go one size up for my annual Florida tarpon trips. The Thunnus 12000 "filled the bill" perfectly. Rugged, reliable and for what it's worth, a perfect match for my Shimano Telavera spinning rod. I'd never owned a "bait runner" reel before, now I wonder how I ever lived without one. I'm already planning to buy a second one!
By Phil H.
New Fairfield, CT
Pricey but worth it.
August 30, 2016
I use this mostly for saltwater bottom fishing (in Rhode Island), but will throw a plug on if the bluefish are around (they are fun to catch). Fished with this reel 8 straight days on the saltwater and don't see any signs of corrosion anywhere on the reel (I did give it a freshwater wash down after every trip). Casts great, and the retrieve is very smooth. So far the biggest fish I have caught was an 8 Lb. bluefish and a 6 lb. skate (but hope to get some bigger ones in the future).
ProsVery smooth Casts great
Consnone
By Luis
San diego
I have an 8000
August 9, 2016
Much similar to the baitrunner altough this one is lighter. I have both prefer using the baitrunner because wont hurtthe scratches catch a 100lb sailfish with it. No problema.
By David N.
Idaho
Super...
July 9, 2016
I Have several baitrunners dating back to the 4500A 16 years ago, which still works.... This is the best yet, the power grip is a great improvement and the infinite anti reverse is awesome.
ProsShimano Baitrunner super smooth infinite anti-reverse power grip
Consnot too crazy about the color, its like blue metalic. I would like to see like a brushed or satin silver finish and of course nothing ever wrong with black or charcoal
By Rodrigo
Easton, PA
best bait runner
March 27, 2016
this is the best bait runner out there. I used it for stripers and blues from boat on a 7ft rod
Prosquality
By Rodrigo
Easton, PA
GREAT REEL
February 5, 2016
I OREDER THIS REEL BUT AFTER FINDING OUT THE 8000 IS THE SAME BODY BUT HOLDS MORE LINE, I RETURNED IT AND PURCHASED 8000. DONE MIND THE EXTRA ONCE IN WEIGHT
ProsQUALITY
By Rick
Charleston, SC
Great drag system
September 24, 2015
I paired the reel with a med Terez rod. Makes a perfect setup for larger fish. Great Tarpon and Cobia setup. Super drag system. Love the live bait feature. Comfortable large handle. Own several 8000 and 12000.
ProsDrag system
ConsSeems to be over rated on .40 line capacity. Have never been able to get more then 275 yards as compared to rating of 320.
By Fred
Webster, FL
Great all around
June 2, 2015
Don't fish with live or dead bait often but when i do this reel is great. Plenty of power, smooth and if you into it-Looks sexy. When i switch to a lure it still works fantastic. Feels great on my St Croix 7.5 rod
ProsGreat all around go to reel
Consnone
By david
lake worth, FL
great reel
May 7, 2015
this reel is great for live bait fishing with the baitrunner feature
By david
,
awesome reel
May 5, 2015
this reel is awesome for live bait fishing the bait runner feature is amazing very expensive reel, might get another soon
By cristian
Lake worth, FL
Great reel
May 3, 2015
This reel is very strong and love the bait runner feature love it for live bait
By Michael
Boynton Beach, FL
awesome live bait reel
April 28, 2015
Really good drag overall solid reel
By Db
new york, NY
great reel
February 11, 2015
I have thunnus 6000 and bait runner 6000D. Looks pretty much same, both are very smooth.. But when I hooked the fish, Thunnus acting more smooth than baitnner.. also thunnus is lot lighter..
ProsLight weight
By Daniel
Pompano Beach, FL
Best Spinning Reel
January 28, 2015
Been switching my reels from Baitcasters to Thunnus's. All in all I am really a huge fan of both. I have the older Baitcaster that have the metal frame verse the Composite that is used in the Thunnus. The 12000\8000 Thunnus does still have some Metal in the Frame. This is the only downside to the Thunnus that I have hit so far. One of the reels I received the composite base was broken and I had to return for a replacement. This makes me worry about the long term durability of the new Thunnus. This does make reels much lighter, though. Time will have to be my judge on if the composite holds up as well as the metal for the older Baitcasters. As of now I am extremely happy with the reel and transition.
ProsEvery feature under the sun!
ConsLess metal and more composite.
By Michael C.
Bakersfield CA
Ocean Going Spinning Reel
November 7, 2014
It is beautiful, smooth, tough and your not going to do any better than this for a big spinning reel. I love the freespool lever.
ProsYou can cast jigs or bait care free with spot on accuracy. Retrieves line back fast and it is a blast catching big fish on a spinning reel.
ConsEvery cast puts a twist in the line. You cannot put the pole on the rail. The flouro topshots have a tendency to unravel off the spool.
By Kevin
Milton, DE
Great Reel
November 5, 2014
I have the 4000 on the Shimano TVS66M Trevala Jigging Spinning Rod. This setup is awesome, light enough to fish all day and powerful enough to bring in a rockfish.
By Christian
Orlando, FL
Awesome Reels
April 18, 2014
I love these reels! High quality as always from Shimano. Smooth drag and great baitrunner feature. I love these reels for surf fishing because I can set the reel on my rod holder, flick on the baitrunner switch and I don't have to worry about leaving the bail open or loosening up my main drag. Once a fish is on, turn the handle and the reel automatically switches from baitrunner mode to fighting mode. This allows me to set my main drag and not have to mess with it again.
ProsHigh quality, great looks, smooth drag
Consnone
By William
mt pleasant, SC
Used it today
March 16, 2014
I used this reel today with a GLoomis PBR844S Pro-Blue Saltwater rod. Fished for sheephead and black sea bass. I own the 8k version both are worth every penny.
By Chris
Milton, New York
Nice smooth reel
March 8, 2014
Very smooth reel and light weight for its size. Planning on getting a larger one for my surf rod.
Prossmooth, lightweight
Consa little expensive
By darwin
hayward, california
best bang for your buck
December 17, 2013
it works really good, really quiet and looks pretty nice
By Steve
Elizabeth, NJ
Best baitrunner reels
November 13, 2013
I purchased Thunnus 6000 to pair with my star rod Paraflex 10'. It is by far the smoothest reel I ever used. I learned through hard knocks with other live liners reels. Please do yourself a favor and skip other live liner reels and buy the shimano baitrunner. You get what you pay for.. Smooth, great casting and dependable reels. I have caught 40 inch Stripers off the pier with breeze. Highly recommend! I just wished I got the 8000.
By bruce r.
Miami,Fl
Excellent all around reel
December 28, 2012
I just used this reel for a night trip on a party boat Handled a big Kingfish easily Better drag than my bait runner 4500B Reel is super smooth and powerful Caught grouper(24") several good size yellowtail Reel is lighter than older model without sacrificing strength (did not fatigue me) Highly recommended!!
ProsGreat drag,smooth and powerful
ConsNo negatives here
By charles
west covina, ca
great reel. made in Malaysia.
December 13, 2012
i have the 8000 with 40lb braid. i had fun last summer hooking up barracuda and rock fish this fall.
Proslight but not very light stronger/good drag great retrieve
Consexpensive theres some roughness on the finish around the surface of the spool. i just rubbed it with rubbing compound used for auto paint. it went away,
By Aaron
Lake Hopatcong, NJ
Great Reel
October 17, 2012
I use the 8000 on my surf rod. Have used the baitrunner a couple times but mostly use it casting plugs. I live the weight of this thing and I've never had any issue with sand or anything getting where it shouldn't
ProsLightweight Good drag Stays clean
ConsExpensive
By chuck
west covina, ca
wow...one of shimano's best
September 11, 2012
Based on Shimano's and TackleDirect expert recommendations; i coupled this with a 7 ft 2 Terez med-heavy [30-80lb] rod and it came to be a wonderful combi. Used 30 lb braid and been catching barracuda, seabass, rock fish with it.
Prosfast retrieve + very good drag
Consnone

Page 1 of 1