4.8
30 Reviews
5
80% (24)
4
20% (6)
3
0% (0)
2
0% (0)
1
0% (0)
100% Recommend this product (30 of 30 responses)
By hyung
dunwoody, GA
light and strong
August 31, 2019
Light strong comfort
Proscheap
Consnothing for its price
By Rikki S.
Point Pleasant Beach, NJ
Great rod
April 10, 2019
Well built and beautiful. Perfect rod for casting larger/heavier lures for Northeast fishing. Blues, Striped Bass, and Tuna. Comfortable to fish with, plenty of power to handle 50+# fish, yet sensitive enough to feel the slightest pick up. I've got three different models and for the price, one of the best spinning rods available. Plus, the blue and black colors are a great compliment to an already great fishing rod !!!
ProsPowerful yet sensitive. Many models to choose from. Beautiful and durable.
ConsMaybe the butt could be a little longer in a couple of the bigger, 7.5' +, models but I'm fine with the feel for my size. 6'3" 210#
By Larry D.
Marco island Fla.
Great quality
April 6, 2019
Lost the first one within two days. Jumped out of a t-top rod holder in serious rough weather. Liked the rod so much immediately bought another one. Also acquired a 10 pack of bungee cords to secure all rods when up top.
By Lawrence
Deltaville, VA
This is a great rod
January 27, 2019
This is the second Shimano TLC80HBBL Tallus Blue Water Conventional Rod I have owned. I love it. I use it for Cobia, rockfish and red drum.
By Mark
CA
Shimano Talus Blue Water
November 24, 2018
This is an excelent saltwater rod without the higher price of my other Terez rods. This is a great value.
By Sparky J.
Milford, New Jersey
Excellent rod!!!
October 3, 2018
I purchased this rod Shimano Tallus TLC-70HBBL rod and paired it with an Avet mxl raptor, which is spoiled with 50 lb depth hunter power pro line. I primarily use it to troll heavy mojos to 32 oz. It handle s a 32 oz mojo, a 40lb plus bass in heavy current with ease. Plenty of power. The rod also has a beautiful deep cobalt blue finish. Can’t go wrong with Shimano Tallus!!!
ProsLight weight, plenty of back bone, well made..
ConsNone
By Tackle A.
Fort Bragg Ca
Best bang for the buck extremely tough!
July 16, 2018
I've been using this rod for all species in the Pacific Ocean mostly salmon lingcod and Halibut. Extremely powerful rod with nice sensitive tip. Yesterday wheel reeled in a 300-pound thresher shark on one of these rods it sustained an hour of heavy pressure and didn't fail.
By Mark A.
Northeast ... South Shore MA to Long Island
Best inshore rod
May 30, 2018
I paired this with a Shinano Thunnus 4000. Super fun on schoolies and a thrill on big bass and blues. Best investment I’ve ever made.
ProsLight, responsive, quality craftsmanship
ConsNone
By hyung
dunwoody, GA
Great for its price
May 7, 2018
Tip too thin but great for its price
By YellowtailTunaStriper
Las Vegas
Reel Nice
April 4, 2018
Tackle packed these perfect and I got them quick. I bought two and they are sweet! I bought the 8ft medium heavy and put my revo toro beast on it loaded with 40 lb power pro. This is my 20-40 lb fish setup. I also bought the 7 ft heavy with my new Penn 113n and this will be my 40-70 lb fish set up. I loaded my Penn with 65 power pro. I pulled in a 20lb striper on by toro beast with no effort. These road are truly perfect for me. Light, fast tip and strong.
ProsStrong, light and great guides.
ConsNone
By Ronald
Hopewell Junction, NY
Absolutely Love This Rod
March 9, 2018
I use this rod in the northeast for haddock, Pollack, cod, redfish and cusk. Has a great backbone, light, very easy to handle, and has good feel for the bottom. Easily pull up doubles even with a heavy jig! Have to sometimes use heavier jigs (Norwegian's 14-18 oz) on high current or rough days. I've even used my electric reel with no issue .. great rod! I even bought a 7ft MH for fluke, sea bass and porgies!!
Proslight weight, good touch and feel
Consprice
By chase
salem,va
Chesapeake bay cobia
January 26, 2018
i use this rod in the summer to throw 8 ounces and a croaker for cobia. with a seigler sg, this is a sweet setup. handles 50+ pound cobia np.
By Steve
St Pete Florida
Awesome rod!
December 27, 2017
I now have the 7 foot medium and 6'6 medium heavy both in conventional for grouper fishing in the gulf out of central Florida. I took this 7 foot medium out and paired it with an MXL Raptor, caught about 20-25 gag grouper my first time out with it. I have since put the hurting on a lot of snapper with this rod too. I had no problems digging 30+ inch gags off the bottom with this rod. I would say if you are going for much much bigger bottom fish then maybe go with the medium heavy or heavy tho. I love how light and sensitive this rod is and it balances perfect with an MX or MXL Avet. I will be buying another.
Proseverything is good about this rod
Consnone other than the fact i would like the option to have a trigger on the grip but not a big deal
By Brett
Theodore Alabama
Great Tarpon rod
November 21, 2017
I use the 7 ft medium heavy paired with a torium 20 for Tarpon and it works well and very durable.
ProsWell balanced rod and very durable.
ConsNothing
By ETHAN
South Carolina
Shimano Tallus blue water spinning rod
October 19, 2017
I live in South Carolina, and here when we alligator hunt sort of like what they do on swamp people, but we snag the gators with a rod and fight them with all our might on 120 pound braid for up to 4 hrs, and I will have to say that a 750 lb American alligator will beat any tuna or shark any day and that the tallus rod is some tough stuff it has caught 5 gators
By Don
Camarillo Ca
LIGHTWIEGHT
October 4, 2017
I now have 4 Talus rods and love them all, very lightweight with great backbone. easy to pull on big fish. Wahoo to tuna preformed excellent!
By Jason
Columbia, MO
Very strong rods
September 4, 2017
I bought two 6' 6" rods and paired them to Seigler SGN. I bought these for light inshore and offshore applications. These are shorter than the 7'0" rods I normally use in my kayak, but still long enough to work rod tip and line around front of the kayak.
ProsVery strong rods, reasonable price.
By Thomas
SAN DIEGO, CA
Great bang for the buck
August 29, 2017
Less quality components versus higher line Terez rods, but great rods for beginners or those that aren't as avid of fisherman.
By Don
Falmouth, Maine
Great Cod Rod at a great price!
December 19, 2016
I've been fishing the salt for 60 years. Everything from Giant Tuna to Flounders. Tons of gear, but wanted to try these new blue water series rods. You won't be disappointed! Light, strong, great action that allows you to feel the bite and set the hook.
By Rick F.
Long Island NY
Loooking for a right reel for this rod.
November 19, 2016
Can you guys please suggest a reel to accommodate this Shimano TLC70HBBL Tallus Blue Water Conventional Rod? Plan to use the rod for seabass, blackfish and stripers long island ocean New York.
By David
So Cal
Just what I was looking for
August 29, 2016
I am a bit fan of the Tallus blue water conventional rod's. I was in need of a bit more distance to cast out to the Yellowtail's here in So Cal. This has already proven to give me exactly what I was looking for.
By Craig
Ringwood, NJ
Cod Rod
January 12, 2016
After buying one of the lighter Tallus for deep water fluke i decided to buy this heavier one for cod and offshore seabass and such. I have only used it once but i love it!!! Heavy enough to handle the weight on rough days but the tip is light enough to feel the bite. Considering now adding to my Tallus collection and getting a MH
By Craig
Ringwood, NJ
Deep water Fluke Rod
January 12, 2016
This is the first over $100 rod i have purchased and love it! I use it mainly on party boats for fluke/porgies and seabass and its powerful enough to hand the weight needed on rough days but tip is light enough i can feel the bites. Great rod and plan on getting the heavier one for cod fishing.
By FishCap59
Smyrna, TN
Nice Upgrade
September 2, 2015
I bought this rod to replace a more expensive rod that self-destructed. I also wanted to see how the TC4 construction holds up to the strength of braided line. The rod has a fine taper to it. I have not had a chance to use it yet. However, this is a well made and nicely balanced rod. It feels good in the hand. The only draw back with this rod is the diameter of the rod at the reel seat. The diameter is smaller than other blue water rods and it barely allowed me to to tighten the reel clamp for a 60 series reel. With the braid line rating it has I may not need a 60 series reel. Time will tell if the reel is a match for the rod or whether I need to put a smaller reel on it. Also, there was no lure size rating given for the rod in the advertisement. I thought for sure that a rating would be on the rod, but there is no rating on the rod either. That would be a useful piece of information. It feels as though it could easily handle 8 ounces.
ProsWell made, stout rod
ConsReel seat size. No lure size rating given for the rod.
By jesse
cypress, california
strong rod
May 15, 2015
Shimano always makes great products. Tallus blue water is an awesome rod. the lenght is perfect and the butt lenght of the rod fits perfect under my armpit.
By mike
Palm Beach Gardens, FL
awesome rods, great components
October 12, 2014
hard to beat these, powerful, light and strong and great action, fuji guides and nice stainless seat.
Proslight
By Ron
milford de
Great Rod for ocean flounder
September 20, 2014
Stout, great for woking 4-6 oz jigs over ocean structure....just the right amt of backbone for "sticking: the flounder
ProsJust the right length and action
Consnone
By Mike
San Angelo
love it.
August 12, 2013
like everything about it. Has a soft tip to aid in feel and casting but then has good back bone when you get hooked up.
By greg
las vegas, NV
tallus blue water
August 7, 2013
I ordered the heavy 8 ft 50-100 braid. I thought this would be similar to my terez 8 ft 50-100 but the tallus is much stiffer. The Med Heavy would be closer to the terez 8 ft 50-100...Med Heavy at 40-80 braid. This med heavy will load up better for casting jigs/swimbaits ....I still like the heavy...it cast great, just a bit stiffer tip....faster action....I ordered the med havy for my daughters which I received today and these will be easier for them to cast..All the tallus rods are quality and a lifetime limited warranty. $100 cheaper than the terez'....
By Daniel E.
Palmdale CA
Beautiful rod
November 25, 2012
When I first pulled this rod from the delivery tube I thought it was the wrong rod. It looked to be small in diameter for a 200LBS class rod and as light as a feather. After a few minutes of looking at it's colors like the back of a bluefin tuna I feel in love with it. This rod is just what I was looking for and a whole lot more. I find myself going out to the garage just to look at this rod. I just purchased the reel for it and will be here in a couple of days. Thank you Shamano for making the best products on the market today. Thank you TackleDirect for making it so easy to order on line
ProsThis rod is perfect for all around white seabass, Halibut, and Rockfishing that I do out at Channels Islands sportfishing. Picture is of white seabass caught on Shamano rod and real.
ConsNothing it's perfect in all ways.

Page 1 of 1