Review Summary
4.8
17 Reviews
5
82% (14)
4
18% (3)
3
0% (0)
2
0% (0)
1
0% (0)
100% Recommend this product (17 of 17 responses)
By MEMO
MEXICO
ROCKSTAR REELS
January 2, 2020
Happy with my purchase of a pair of TLD30s. I have already used them before and are the best for rude battles. I hope to unleash them on a good marlin or tuna.
ProsPrice
Consnot yet
By Cam
New Jersey
Solid
November 20, 2019
Will hold enough line for most fish you'd come across. Good drag and loud clicker. 2 Speed comes in handy with Tuna and other large fish.
ProsStrong Line Capacity Drag 2 Speed
ConsGraphite body No Casting
By Kenny
MD
The ultimate budget reel
November 19, 2019
This reel is a bigger step up from it's other variant the TLD, this upgrade handle really makes it more comfortable for when you need to kick it into high gear and burn that line in
By John
Destin Florida
Awesome service with a great product!!!!
September 12, 2019
Heading out for a 3 day trip, needed additional tackle, these folks had what I needed, put everything together for me, great pricing, great delivery, made the trip in time, results fish in the boat!!!! I have never written a review before but these folks really deserve it, 7 out of 5 stars!!!!!!
By Ford
Greensboro, NC
All around
June 20, 2019
Great all around reel
By Arne
Michigan
Well made, easy to use
January 18, 2019
All around great real
ProsFunction
ConsNone
By Nathaniel
Marathon, FL
Awesome Reel!
December 27, 2017
This reel is absolutely awesome! It comes extremely well greased in the box and is incredibly smooth. The drag works excellent and is very smooth. It has ample line capacity which is awesome. It is extremely durable and you can feel how well built this reel is - would definitely recommend!
By woomstr
Boca Raton, FL
TLD 30II, TLD50LRSA,
July 5, 2017
I have two of each, they are my main trolling rods. 50's are on Crowder 50-80 and running 80lb mono. 30's are on Crowder 30-80 running 40lb mono. I run the 50's with large bait, deep behind the boat and the 30's in closer with lighter bait. Great overall reels, easy to maintain, heavy drag when needed. The Big lever drag is right at your fingertips. Great value for a moderate priced reel.
Proseasy to maintain, step g frame, lovecrhe easy grip handle forvthe flight!
Consplastic drag knob.
By Jake
Florida
Great reel for the price
June 28, 2017
I have never been disappointed with any Shimano products and this reel is no exception. I was looking to get a two speed lever drag but didn't want to spend too much. I am extremely happy with my decision. I primarily use this reel for shark fishing and trolling for wahoo.
ProsVery powerful and smooth drag
By Justin
Charleston, SC
Great reels. Great Price
August 31, 2016
I bought 7 TLDs over 12 years ago and have abused them ever since. They've never let me down. Reliable, but affordable reels that you can count on.
By andre
Boynton beach, FL
Great affordable trolling reels
January 11, 2016
Great large trolling reel without breaking the bank
By Zackary
Dana Point, Ca
Virtually indestructible
October 11, 2015
I have owned several of these reels for many years. They have served me well as dedicated trolling reels. Used with 60 and 80 lb tackle and have never failed me or anyone I have handed of fish to on them.
ProsSimple to maintain and take a beating and keep on ticking
ConsClicking without clicker engaged. Some people get annoyed, doesn't bother me
By Loren
Long Beach, CA
Shimano TLD 30 II A
September 17, 2014
Great 2 speed reel for under $300. Works great for trolling or bottom fishing. Works great for fishing 40 - 50 pound mono.
By f s.
Salinas Ecuador
I agree
March 18, 2014
The best Gear
ProsI am a boat Captain and recently on a Charter my guest from Boca Raton fla caught a 1200 pound Black Marlin on a tld 50 w/ a taulrus rod the best gear I have fished with.
Consthe screws for the tie downs break easily
By Patrick
Hampton, N.H.
Unbelievable bang for your buck
February 24, 2014
I use a pair of 50LRSAs for mainly sharks and bluefin tuna on standup rods. I fish them alongside a pair of Penn international 50s and a pair of Penn 70 Vs. The Shimanos fish just as smooth as the Penns, they rattle less than the Penns, and they are easier to work on for maintenance. Along those same lines, the Shimano TLDs dont get scratched and dinged like the Penns do. I traveled to mexico for some fishing last spring and I brought my Shimano TLD 50s because they fish just as nice as my other reels and I didn't need to worry so much about them getting damaged in transit, or damaged by my guides. I highly recommend these reels if your are trying to get into big game fishing on a budget, or want some awesome reels that wont make you cry if you bump them against something or drop them.
ProsSmooth action, price, ability to handle 80lb test line on the LRSA, drag lever size and placement, and overall quality.
ConsThe drag adjustment knob is plastic and should be metal. It feels kinda cheesy and doesn't seem as sensitive as it could be.
By Fred
Columbus
TLD 30
January 5, 2014
Excellent reel for smaller fish all the way to the big boys. consistent drag control with two speed abilities. great reel for the money
By Bartosz
Dubai
Great value for money
December 19, 2012
Best reel for the money. Powerful enough to handle all the big pelagics we have.
ProsSturdy, durable, ease of use, price
ConsDesign, is not very pretty

Page 1 of 1